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The Specific Ownership Tax
By Katie Ruedebusch

In place of property taxes, Colorado citizens pay

the specific ownership tax (SOT) on their vehicles.

This issue brief provides an overview of the SOT,

describes how the SOT is calculated, lists the SOT

exemptions, and describes its collection and

distribution.

Overview

The Colorado Constitution requires the General

Assembly to prescribe a method for classifying and

taxing motor vehicles and other moveable

equipment through a graduated SOT.1 The SOT

was first enacted in 1937.2 The tax is assessed on

motor vehicles annually, with certain exemptions,

and is calculated based on a vehicle’s age and

original value. Revenue from the SOT is

distributed to cities, counties, school districts, and

special districts in proportion to property taxes

levied by those entities. Calculating SOT

Calculating the Specific Ownership Tax

Two calculations are necessary to determine the

SOT based on the vehicle’s value and age.

Value. The taxable value calculation, shown in

Table 1, uses the class—or weight, in the case of

trucks—of the vehicle to determine the percentage

of the Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail

Price (MSRP) that applies to the SOT.

Age. To account for depreciation, the SOT tax rate

decreases as the vehicle ages until it hits a flat rate

in the tenth vehicle year, as shown in Table 2 (on

page 2).

Formula. Once MSRP and vehicle class are

determined, it is possible to calculate the SOT

owed on a vehicle. For example, the taxable value

of a passenger vehicle is calculated at 85 percent of

the MSRP because it is a Class C vehicle.

Table 1
Taxable Value by Motor Vehicle Class

Class Description Taxable Value

A
Truck, truck tractor, trailer, or semitrailer classified as an interstate
commercial carrier and used to transport persons or property over public
highways

< 16,000 lbs. = 75% of MSRP
> 16,001 lbs. = actual purchase price

B
Truck, truck tractor, trailer, or semitrailer classified for personal use and
not used to transport persons or property over public highways

< 16,000 lbs. = 75% of MSRP
> 16,001 lbs. = actual purchase price

C
Motor vehicles not included in Class A or Class B
(largely passenger vehicles)

85% of MSRP

D Utility trailer, camper trailer, multipurpose trailer, and trailer coach 85% of MSRP

F
Special mobile machinery not used for agricultural purposes and
self-propelled construction equipment

85% of MSRP if available or 100% of
its original retail delivered price

Source: Sections 42-3-106 and 107, C.R.S.

1Colo. Const. art. X, § 6. 2Section 42-3-101, et seq., C.R.S.
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Table 2
Tax Rates by Model Year

Source: Section 42-3-107, C.R.S.
*Whichever is greater

MSRP is determined by year of manufacture and

does not change, regardless of a change in

ownership. If the Class C vehicle had an MSRP of

$30,000, the following calculation applies to find

the taxable value:

$30,000 MSRP x 0.85 = $25,500

If that vehicle is three years old, that taxable value

is then multiplied by a tax rate of 1.2 percent:

$25,500 x 0.012 = $306

This calculation results in a SOT assessment of

$306 for a three-year-old vehicle with an original

MSRP of $30,000. The rate will drop in subsequent

years until reaching a flat rate of $3 in the tenth

model year.

Exemptions

Current law exempts the following vehicles from

SOT:

 owned or leased government vehicles;

 mobile homes;

3Sections 42-3-104 and 105, C.R.S.

 certain agricultural vehicles;

 vehicles owned or leased by certain veterans

(disabled, Purple Heart, Medal of Honor,

Prisoner of War, or Pearl Harbor veterans);

 active duty military members assigned to a

duty station in Colorado; and

 classified personal property owned or leased

by an individual or organization exempt from

Colorado ad valorem taxes.3

Collection

For Class A vehicles (interstate commercial

carriers), the SOT is due no later than January 1 of

each year and is collected by the Department of

Revenue. The SOT for the remaining vehicle

classes is collected by counties at the time the

vehicle is registered by the owner each year. Fleet

owners may pay the tax in installments, and car

rental agencies may collect the SOT equivalent of

2 percent of the rental payment from renters. If a

vehicle owner disposes of the vehicle during a

registration period, the unused portion of SOT is

credited back to him or her. Collections vary

based on the age of the Colorado’s vehicle fleet and

other general economic factors.

Distribution

SOT revenue from Class A vehicles is apportioned

to counties according to the number of state

highway miles within their jurisdiction. SOT

revenue from all other vehicle classes is collected

by counties. After the county has collected the

SOT, the county treasurer distributes it to the

county and other local governments, including

cities, school districts, and special districts based

on the proportion of the property taxes levied in

the prior year. Thus, a school district that receives

50 percent of all the property taxes collected in a

county, including the property tax attributable to a

bond redemption or an override mill levy, would

receive 50 percent of the SOT collected in the

county.

Year
Class
A - B

Class
C

Class
D

Class
F

1 2.10% 2.10% 2.10% 2.10%

2 1.50% 1.50% 1.50% 1.50%

3 1.20% 1.20% 1.20% 1.25%

4 0.90% 0.90% 0.90% 1.00%

5 0.45%
or $10*

0.45% 0.45% 0.75%

6-9 0.45%
or $10*

0.45% 0.45% 0.50%
or $5*

10 + $3 $3 0.45%
or $3*

0.50%
or $5*


