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THE DEATH PENALTY  —  WHO DECIDES, JUDGE OR JURY?
by Colette S. Peters

Thirty-eight states, including Colorado, have the
death penalty.  Colorado has had the death penalty
since 1890, though it was repealed from 1967-1974.
Until 1995, juries determined the sentence in capital
cases.  In 1995, three-judge panels became the
deciding body.  Colorado currently has five men on
death row, and a three-judge panel sentenced three of
those men.

On June 24, 2002, the United States Supreme
Court ruled  Arizona's death penalty unconstitutional.
The U.S. Supreme Court concluded that if a
defendant's sentence can increase based on a finding
of fact, then that fact must be found by a jury. This
Issue Brief provides a summary of how the death
penalty is decided in Colorado and other states.

Colorado Law

Three-judge panel.  Prior to 1995, the death
penalty was imposed by a unanimous jury.  In 1995,
the Colorado General Assembly instituted the three-
judge panel.  Under the statute, when a defendant is
convicted by a jury of a class 1 felony (committed on
or after July 1, 1995), a panel of three judges conducts
a separate sentencing hearing.  The panel determines
the sentence of death or life in prison, unless the
defendant is under 18 years of age at the time of the
offense or is mentally retarded.  In these
circumstances the state cannot impose the death
penalty.

The three-judge panel consists of the judge who
presided at the trial and two additional district court
judges designated by the Chief Justice of the Colorado

Supreme Court.  The panel must convene within
60 days of the verdict.  In addition to hearing evidence
presented by both the defense and the prosecution, the
three-judge panel must consider the transcripts of the
trial.  The panel must unanimously decide to impose a
sentence of death based upon the following questions:

T Has one aggravating factor been proved?
T Do sufficient mitigating factors exist which

outweigh any aggravating factors?

In order to impose the death sentence, the panel
must unanimously find one aggravating factor that
mitigating factors do not outweigh.  Possible
aggravating factors include, but are not limited to:  

! the defendant was already in prison, convicted
for a class 1, 2, or 3 felony;

! the defendant has a class 1 or 2 felony on his
or her record;

! the defendant killed a peace officer,
firefighter, judge, elected official or federal
law enforcement officer;

! the defendant killed a person who was
kidnapped or being held hostage;

! the defendant was party to an agreement to
kill the victim;  or 

! the defendant ambushed the victim or used an
explosive device.1  

1. For a complete listing of aggravating factors refer to Section
18-1.3-1201 (5), C.R.S.
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Possible  mitigating factors include, but are not limited
to:  

! the defendant's age; 
! the defendant's capacity to understand that

what he or she did was wrong; 
! any unusual and substantial distress that the

defendant may have been under; or
! the defendant was a lesser participant in the

crime than his or her accomplices.2 

Colorado's death row.  Colorado currently has
five inmates on death row.  A three-judge panel
sentenced three of those individuals.  Since 1995,
three-judge panels have sentenced five individuals to
life imprisonment. 

The Death Sentence in Other States

Capital sentencing decisions.   Thirty-eight
states, including Colorado, have the death penalty.
Like Colorado, five states rely on a single judge or a
panel of judges for sentencing.3  In three states, juries
provide a recommendation to a judge and the judge
makes the final sentencing decision.4  Thirty states rely
solely on a jury, and each of the thirty states requires
a unanimous decision in order to impose the death
penalty.5 

Federal Case Law

In Walton v. Arizona (1990), Walton challenged
Arizona’s death penalty law claiming that Arizona’s
sentencing scheme violated the Sixth Amendment right
to a jury trial.  Under Arizona law, the judge was
allowed, without a jury, to find aggravating factors
necessary to sentence the defendant to death instead

of life imprisonment.  The U.S. Supreme Court held
that Arizona's sentencing structure was compatible
with the Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial in capital
cases because aggravating factors were sentencing
considerations and not elements of the crime. 

However, in 2000, in a non-death penalty case in
New Jersey (Apprendi v. New Jersey), Apprendi
challenged his enhanced sentence for possession of a
firearm because the sentencing judge, and not a jury,
found that his crime had been motivated by racial
hatred — an element of the crime.  The U.S. Supreme
Court ruled that if a defendant's sentence can increase
based on a finding of fact (including an aggravating
factor), that fact must be found by a jury, beyond a
reasonable  doubt, in order to be consistent with the
Sixth Amendment.

Ring v. Arizona.  The U.S. Supreme Court
addressed the conflict between the Walton and
Apprendi decisions in Ring v. Arizona.  On a 7-2
decision, the Court ruled that it was unconstitutional for
a judge to find additional facts that would increase a
defendant’s sentence when those facts include
elements of the crime.6    The Court held that a
defendant is entitled to a jury determination of any fact
on which the law conditions an increase in his or her
maximum punishment, overruling Walton in relevant
part.

In Arizona, one judge conducts a separate
sentencing hearing.  Like Colorado, the judge may only
impose the death penalty if he or she finds at least one
aggravating factor and that no mitigating factors are
substantial enough to call for leniency.  

2. For a complete listing of mitigating factors refer to Section
18-1.3-1201 (4), C.R.S.

3. Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, and Nebraska.

4. Alabama, Delaware,  and Florida.

5. Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois,
Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi,
Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New
York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania,
South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia,
Washington,  Wyoming and Missouri.

6. Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg delivered the opinion of the
court.  Justices Stevens, Scalia, Kennedy, Souter, Thomas, and
Breyer concurred. Justice Scalia, Kennedy, and Breyer each
wrote separate concurring opinions.  Chief Justice William H.
Rehnquist and Justice Sandra Day O'Conner provided a
dissenting opinion.


