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This issue brief provides an overview of federal and 

state family and medical leave laws, including an 

overview of state paid family leave programs. 

 

Federal Law 

Family and Medical Leave Act.  The U.S. Family 

and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA) provides 

an eligible employee with the ability to take a total 

of 12 weeks of leave during any 12-month period 

for specified circumstances.1 

FMLA applies to most employers with 50 or more 

employees.  An employee must have worked for at 

least 1,250 hours with his or her employer during 

the prior 12-month period and have at least 

12 months of service to be eligible for leave.  

Employers may provide leave under FMLA as 

either unpaid or paid time off, and may require 

that an employee use accrued vacation or sick time 

during leave in certain instances. 

Circumstances covered under FMLA include time 

off: for the birth, adoption, or foster placement of a 

child; in order to care for a spouse, child, or parent 

who has a serious health condition; because of the 

employee’s own serious health condition; and 

because of an urgent need due to an immediate 

family member’s active duty service. 

Tax incentives.  In 2017, the federal Tax Cuts and 

Jobs Act created a tax credit for businesses that 

provide qualifying paid family and medical leave 

to eligible employees.  The tax credit is in effect for 

tax years 2018 and 2019, and covers 12.5 percent to 

25.0 percent of the wages paid to an employee on 

leave.2 

                                                        
129 U.S.C. § 2601, et seq. 
226 U.S.C. § 45S. 

Colorado Law 

Colorado Family Care Act.  The Colorado Family 

Care Act adds an employee’s civil union or 

domestic partner as a qualifying immediate family 

member for the purposes of the FMLA, if the 

partner has a serious health condition.3 

Domestic violence.  Colorado law permits an 

eligible employee to take up to three days of leave 

in any 12-month period if the employee is a victim 

of domestic abuse, stalking, sexual assault, or 

another crime with a domestic violence 

component.  The leave may be paid or unpaid and 

must be used to seek a civil protection order, obtain 

medical care or mental health counseling, make the 

employee’s home secure, or seek legal assistance.4 

 

States With Paid Family Leave Laws 

Six states have established paid family leave 

programs. 

California.  In 2002, California created a paid 

family medical leave program that is designed to 

provide temporary disability insurance coverage, 

with up to six weeks of partial wage replacement 

benefits within any 12-month period to eligible 

employees who take time off work for care for a 

family member with a serious health condition.  

The wage replacement benefits under the program 

may also be used during leave taken to bond with 

a child within one year of birth, adoption, or foster 

placement.  Wage replacement benefits currently 

range from $50 to $1,252 per week and are 

approximately 60 to 70 percent of wages earned 

prior to the leave period.  The program is 

3Section 8-13.3-201, et seq., C.R.S. 
4Section 24-34-402.7, C.R.S. 
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administered by the State Disability Insurance 

Program and is funded through employee payroll 

deductions.5 

Massachusetts.  In 2018, Massachusetts created a 

paid family and medical leave program that is 

designed to provide partial wage replacement 

benefits of up to $850 per week for eligible 

employees who take time off work to care for 

themselves or a family member with a serious 

health condition; to bond with a child within one 

year of birth, adoption, or foster placement; or due 

to conditions related to a family member’s active 

duty service.  Individuals are generally eligible to 

receive up to 12 weeks of benefits per year; 

however, this may be extended under certain 

circumstances.  The program is funded through 

employee and employer contributions, though 

employers with fewer than 25 employees do not 

have to pay the employer share of the contribution.  

It is administered by the newly created 

Department of Family and Medical Leave.  Benefits 

under the program are scheduled to be available 

beginning in 2021.6 

New Jersey.  In 2008, New Jersey created a family 

leave insurance program that provides up to six 

weeks of partial wage replacement benefits to 

eligible employees who take time off work to care 

for a family member with a serious health 

condition, or to bond with a newly born or adopted 

child.  An employee may receive two-thirds of his 

or her average weekly wage, up to the current 

ceiling of $650 per week.  The program is 

administered under the Temporary Disability 

Insurance Program and funded through employee 

payroll deductions.7 

New York.  In 2016, New York created a paid 

family medical leave program that is designed to 

provide partial wage replacement benefits for 

eligible employees who take time off work to care 

for a family member with a serious health 

condition; to bond with a newly born or adopted 

child; or due to conditions related to an immediate 

family member’s active duty service.  Eligible 

                                                        
5Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code § 3300, et seq. 
6Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 175M. 
7N.J. Rev. Stat. § 43:21-37, et seq. 

employees are currently able to receive up to 

55 percent of their average weekly wage, up to a 

maximum of $746, for up to 10 weeks.  By 2021, 

benefits increase to up to 67 percent of their 

average weekly wage, up to a maximum of 

67 percent of the state average weekly wage, for up 

to 12 weeks.  The program is funded through 

employee payroll deductions and administered 

under the state’s workers’ compensation 

program.8 

Rhode Island.  In 2013, Rhode Island created a 

temporary caregiver insurance program that 

provides partial wage replacement benefits for up 

to four weeks per year to eligible employees who 

take time off work to care for a family member with 

a serious health condition, or to bond with a newly 

born or adopted child.  Weekly wage replacement 

benefits are equal to 4.62 percent of an employee’s 

quarterly wages, with a current range of $84 to 

$795 per week.  The program is funded through 

employee payroll deductions and administered 

under the state’s Temporary Disability Insurance 

Program.9 

Washington.  In 2017, Washington expanded a 

paid family and medical leave program that is 

designed to provide up to 12 weeks of partial wage 

replacement benefits, up to $1,000 per week, for 

eligible employees who take time off work to care 

for themselves or a family member with a serious 

health condition; to bond with a child within one 

year of birth, adoption, or foster placement; or due 

to conditions related to a family member’s active 

duty service.  The program is funded through 

employee and employer contributions, though 

employers with fewer than 50 employees do not 

have to pay the employer share of the contribution.  

Additionally, employers may choose to offer a 

separate paid leave program that, if benefits 

exceed those provided under the state plan, 

removes the requirement that the employer 

contribute to the state plan.  Benefits under the 

program are scheduled to be available beginning 

in 2020.10 

8N.Y. Work. Comp. Law § 200, et seq. 
9R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-41-34, et seq. 
10Wash. Rev. Code § 49.78.010, et seq. 


