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This issue brief provides an overview of federal and 

state laws related to gender pay equity and a 

summary of past legislative efforts by the Colorado 

General Assembly on the topic. 

 
Federal Data and Laws 

According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 

the median weekly earnings of women who 

worked full-time in wage and salary positions 

were 82 percent of men’s in 2017.  However, this 

pay gap varies by age group, race, occupation, 

educational attainment, and numerous other 

factors.  The Equal Pay Act of 1963 and the Civil 

Rights Act of 1964 prohibit pay discrimination 

based on gender for employers engaged in 

interstate commerce. 

Equal Pay Act of 1963.  The Equal Pay Act of 1963 

prohibits employers from discriminating between 

employees on the basis of gender.  Male and female 

employees must be paid at the same rate for equal 

work on jobs that require “equal skill, effort, and 

responsibility, and which are performed under 

similar working conditions.”  The law specifically 

exempts differential payments that are made 

under a system that is based on any other factor 

besides gender, including seniority, merit, and 

quantity or quality of production.1 

Civil Rights Act of 1964.  Among many other 

provisions, the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits 

employers with 15 or more employees from 

discriminating against any individual with respect 

to his or her compensation because of the 

individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national 

origin.  The Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act of 2009 

                                                        
129 U.S.C. § 206 (d). 
242 U.S.C. § 2000e. 

amended the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to specify 

that each discriminatory paycheck resets the 

180-day limit to file a discrimination claim under 

the law.2 

 

Colorado Law 

Wage equality regardless of sex.  In 1955, the 

Colorado General Assembly passed a wage 

equality law that prohibits employers from paying 

employees differently solely based on the gender 

of the employee.3  The director of the Division of 

Labor Standards and Statistics within the Colorado 

Department of Labor and Employment (CDLE) is 

responsible for the enforcement of this law. 

Discriminatory or unfair employment practices.  

Under Colorado law it is considered to be a 

discriminatory or unfair employment practice for 

an employer to discriminate in matters of 

compensation against any person otherwise 

qualified because of disability, race, creed, color, 

gender, sexual orientation, religion, age, national 

origin, or ancestry.  This section of the law also 

prohibits employers from negatively retaliating 

against any employee who inquires about, 

discloses, compares, or otherwise discusses the 

employee’s wages.4  

 
Remedies 

Employees who have been victims of 

discriminatory or unfair employment practices 

may seek remedies, which may include back pay 

or compensatory damages, through various 

avenues depending on the circumstance.  These 

include filing complaints with the U.S. Equal 

3Section 8-5-102, C.R.S. 
4Section 24-34-402, C.R.S. 
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Employment Opportunity Commission or the 

Colorado Civil Rights Division or filing a lawsuit 

in court.  Employment discrimination claims must 

be filed within certain timelines, which vary based 

on the avenue and circumstance. 

 

Past Colorado Legislation 

The Colorado General Assembly has considered 

several bills related to the gender pay gap. 

Colorado Pay Equity Commission.  The Colorado 

Pay Equity Commission was created in 2010 

through House Bill 10-1417.  Its responsibilities 

included educating Colorado employers about 

issues or practices that may contribute to pay 

inequity, and encouraging employers to 

implement equal pay best practices that the 

commission compiled based on working with 

business groups and educational institutions.  The 

General Assembly allowed the commission to 

sunset on its statutory repeal date in 2015, 

following a sunset review during the 2014 session. 

House Bill 15-1133 and Senate Bill 16-096 sought to 

continue the commission; however, both bills were 

postponed indefinitely. 

House Bill 16-1001.  House Bill 16-1001 would 

have required businesses with more than 

50 employees that bid on and were awarded state 

contracts to be in compliance with equal pay 

standards outlined in the bill.  These standards 

included, among others, complying with federal 

pay equity laws, not disciplining employees for 

sharing compensation information with other 

employees, and including salary range 

information for available positions in any job 

postings.  The bill was postponed indefinitely.  

House Bill 16-1166.  House Bill 16-1166 sought to 

make seeking salary history information from a job 

applicant a discriminatory or unfair employment 

practice, unless the employer had provided a 

salary range for the open position.  The bill was 

postponed indefinitely. 

House Bill 17-1269.  Prior to the passage of 

House Bill 17-1269, certain employers who are 

exempt from the provisions of the National Labor 

Relations Act, including the U.S. government, 

Federal Reserve banks, any person subject to the 

Railway Labor Act, and select others, were also 

exempt from the provision of state law prohibiting 

employers from engaging in discriminatory or 

unfair employment practices against employees 

who share wage data.  The bill removed this 

exemption.    

House Bill 18-1378.  House Bill 18-1378 would 

have expanded Colorado’s gender-based wage 

discrimination prohibition law to, among other 

changes, prohibit employers from paying 

employees of different genders differently for 

substantially similar work, unless the difference is 

based on specific job-related criteria, such as a 

seniority or merit system.  The bill would have also 

permitted impacted employees to bring a civil 

action to pursue remedies outlined in the bill; 

implemented certain disclosure and 

record-keeping requirements for employers 

regarding promotion opportunities and wage 

information in job listings; and directed CDLE to 

enforce certain provisions of the bill.  The bill was 

postponed indefinitely. 

 
Laws in Other States 

All states, with the exception of Alabama and 

Mississippi, have state laws that prohibit paying 

employees differently based solely on gender.  

While many state laws generally mirror the 

language found in federal law, several provide 

additional protections to employees, including 

prohibiting employers from reducing other 

employees’ wages to comply with the law and 

requiring employers to keep records of wages.   

 

Additional Resources 

For more information about the data used by the 

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, visit: 

https://www.bls.gov/opub/reports/womens-

earnings/2017/home.htm. 

The 2014 sunset review report for the Colorado Pay 

Equity Commission can be found at: 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8bNvcf083ydU1

BodmxOZmFFMWc/view. 


