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October 15, 2018 
 
Members of the Colorado General Assembly 
c/o the Office of Legislative Legal Services 
State Capitol Building 
Denver, Colorado 80203 
 
Dear Members of the General Assembly: 
 

The Colorado General Assembly established the sunset review process in 1976 as a way to 
analyze and evaluate regulatory programs and determine the least restrictive regulation 
consistent with the public interest.  Since that time, Colorado’s sunset process has gained 
national recognition and is routinely highlighted as a best practice as governments seek to 
streamline regulation and increase efficiencies. 
 
Section 24-34-104(5)(a), Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), directs the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies to: 
 

 Conduct an analysis of the performance of each division, board or agency or 
each function scheduled for termination; and 

 

 Submit a report and supporting materials to the office of legislative legal 
services no later than October 15 of the year preceding the date established 
for termination. 
 

The Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform (COPRRR), located within my 
office, is responsible for fulfilling these statutory mandates.  Accordingly, COPRRR has 
completed the evaluation of the regulation of hemodialysis technicians.  I am pleased to 
submit this written report, which will be the basis for COPRRR’s oral testimony before the 
2019 legislative committee of reference.   
 

The report discusses the question of whether there is a need for the regulation provided 
under Section 108 of Article 1.5 of Title 25, C.R.S.  The report also discusses the effectiveness 
of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment in carrying out the intent of 
the statutes and makes recommendations for statutory changes in the event this regulatory 
program is continued by the General Assembly. 
 

Sincerely,  

 
Marguerite Salazar 
Executive Director 



 

 
 

2018 Sunset Review 
Regulation of Hemodialysis Technicians 
 

SUMMARY 
 
 
What is regulated?   
Hemodialysis technicians provide direct patient care in dialysis treatment clinics. Their duties include 
preparing and maintaining dialysis equipment, initiating dialysis, and monitoring patients during 
treatment. 
 
Why is it regulated?  
Attaining national certification assures that hemodialysis technicians possess the basic knowledge and 
skills to provide safe and competent care. 
 
Who is regulated?   
There are a total of 82 licensed dialysis treatment clinics in Colorado. Since Colorado regulates dialysis 
clinics, rather than individual technicians, the exact number of technicians in the state is unknown, 
but according to data from national credentialing bodies, there are over 500.  

 
How is it regulated?   
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) licenses dialysis treatment clinics. 
As a condition of such licensure, a clinic must demonstrate that all hemodialysis technicians it employs 
hold national certification and work under the supervision of a licensed physician or a licensed 
professional nurse. CDPHE verifies the credentials of hemodialysis technicians before granting initial 
licensure to a dialysis treatment clinic and during routine on-site inspections, which occur every three 
years. 

 
What does it cost?  
The cost of regulation is rolled into the licensing and renewal fees for dialysis clinics. CDPHE receives 
between $200,500 and $217,000 in licensing fees from dialysis clinics per year.   
 
What disciplinary activity is there? 
From fiscal year 12-13 to fiscal year 16-17, CDPHE received a total of 45 complaints against licensed 
dialysis clinics.  None of the complaints contained allegations against hemodialysis technicians.  
 
 
 

 



 

KEY RECOMMENDATIONS 
 

Continue the regulation of hemodialysis technicians indefinitely.  
As the front-line providers of care in dialysis clinics, hemodialysis technicians must possess the proper 
education and training to safely perform routine dialysis tasks and to know when to alert the 
supervising nurse or physician to any concerning changes in a patient’s condition. Therefore, regulation 
is justified.  The regulatory environment has changed, however, since the General Assembly first 
imposed regulation on hemodialysis technicians. The federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services now requires hemodialysis technicians to be certified. Now that there are explicit federal 
standards in place, the utility of continuing to subject Colorado’s hemodialysis technician statutes to 
sunset review is unclear.  While the specific requirement that hemodialysis technicians work under 
physician or RN supervision is unique to Colorado law—federal rule imposes no such specific 
requirement—the typical administrative structure of any licensed dialysis clinic means that such 
supervision is inevitable, and no stakeholders reported finding the supervision requirement unduly 
burdensome.  The past two sunset reviews—this one, and the one conducted in 2011—have identified 
no issues with the competence of hemodialysis technicians that would warrant additional regulation.  
CDPHE surveys have revealed that Colorado dialysis clinics are employing hemodialysis technicians who 
are properly educated, certified, and supervised.  The regulatory framework at both state and federal 
levels assures that hemodialysis technicians will continue to work under supervision in tightly regulated 
environments.  

 

METHODOLOGY 
 

As part of this review, Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform staff interviewed 
CDPHE staff, federal regulators, and representatives of dialysis clinics; and reviewed federal laws and 
Colorado statutes and rules. 
 

MAJOR CONTACTS MADE DURING THIS REVIEW 
 

American Renal Associates 
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 

DaVita 
Health Services Advisory Group, End Stage Renal Disease Network #15 

Fresenius 
 

What is a Sunset Review? 
A sunset review is a periodic assessment of state boards, programs, and functions to determine 
whether they should be continued by the legislature.  Sunset reviews focus on creating the least 
restrictive form of regulation consistent with protecting the public.  In formulating recommendations, 
sunset reviews consider the public's right to consistent, high quality professional or occupational 
services and the ability of businesses to exist and thrive in a competitive market, free from 
unnecessary regulation. 
 
Sunset Reviews are prepared by: 
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies 
Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform 
1560 Broadway, Suite 1550, Denver, CO 80202 
www.dora.colorado.gov/opr 
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Background 
 

Introduction 
 

Enacted in 1976, Colorado’s sunset law was the first of its kind in the United States.  
A sunset provision repeals all or part of a law after a specific date, unless the 
legislature affirmatively acts to extend it. During the sunset review process, the 
Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform (COPRRR) within the 
Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) conducts a thorough evaluation of such 
programs based upon specific statutory criteria 1  and solicits diverse input from a 
broad spectrum of stakeholders including consumers, government agencies, public 
advocacy groups, and professional associations.    
 
Sunset reviews are based on the following statutory criteria: 
 

 Whether regulation by the agency is necessary to protect the public health, 
safety and welfare; whether the conditions which led to the initial regulation 
have changed; and whether other conditions have arisen which would warrant 
more, less or the same degree of regulation; 

 If regulation is necessary, whether the existing statutes and regulations 
establish the least restrictive form of regulation consistent with the public 
interest, considering other available regulatory mechanisms and whether 
agency rules enhance the public interest and are within the scope of legislative 
intent; 

 Whether the agency operates in the public interest and whether its operation is 
impeded or enhanced by existing statutes, rules, procedures and practices and 
any other circumstances, including budgetary, resource and personnel matters; 

 Whether an analysis of agency operations indicates that the agency performs 
its statutory duties efficiently and effectively; 

 Whether the composition of the agency's board or commission adequately 
represents the public interest and whether the agency encourages public 
participation in its decisions rather than participation only by the people it 
regulates; 

 The economic impact of regulation and, if national economic information is not 
available, whether the agency stimulates or restricts competition; 

 Whether complaint, investigation and disciplinary procedures adequately 
protect the public and whether final dispositions of complaints are in the 
public interest or self-serving to the profession; 

 Whether the scope of practice of the regulated occupation contributes to the 
optimum utilization of personnel and whether entry requirements encourage 
affirmative action; 

                                         
1 Criteria may be found at § 24-34-104, C.R.S. 



 

2 | P a g e  
 

 Whether the agency through its licensing or certification process imposes any 
disqualifications on applicants based on past criminal history and, if so, 
whether the disqualifications serve public safety or commercial or consumer 
protection interests. To assist in considering this factor, the analysis prepared 
pursuant to subparagraph (i) of paragraph (a) of subsection (8) of this section 
shall include data on the number of licenses or certifications that were denied, 
revoked, or suspended based on a disqualification and the basis for the 
disqualification; and 

 Whether administrative and statutory changes are necessary to improve agency 
operations to enhance the public interest. 

 
 

Types of Regulation 
 
Consistent, flexible, and fair regulatory oversight assures consumers, professionals 
and businesses an equitable playing field.  All Coloradans share a long-term, common 
interest in a fair marketplace where consumers are protected.  Regulation, if done 
appropriately, should protect consumers.  If consumers are not better protected and 
competition is hindered, then regulation may not be the answer. 
 

As regulatory programs relate to individual professionals, such programs typically 
entail the establishment of minimum standards for initial entry and continued 
participation in a given profession or occupation.  This serves to protect the public 
from incompetent practitioners.  Similarly, such programs provide a vehicle for 
limiting or removing from practice those practitioners deemed to have harmed the 
public. 
 

From a practitioner perspective, regulation can lead to increased prestige and higher 
income.  Accordingly, regulatory programs are often championed by those who will be 
the subject of regulation. 
 

On the other hand, by erecting barriers to entry into a given profession or occupation, 
even when justified, regulation can serve to restrict the supply of practitioners.  This 
not only limits consumer choice, but can also lead to an increase in the cost of 
services. 
 

There are also several levels of regulation.   
 
Licensure 
 

Licensure is the most restrictive form of regulation, yet it provides the greatest level 
of public protection.  Licensing programs typically involve the completion of a 
prescribed educational program (usually college level or higher) and the passage of an 
examination that is designed to measure a minimal level of competency.  These types 
of programs usually entail title protection – only those individuals who are properly 
licensed may use a particular title(s) – and practice exclusivity – only those individuals 
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who are properly licensed may engage in the particular practice.  While these 
requirements can be viewed as barriers to entry, they also afford the highest level of 
consumer protection in that they ensure that only those who are deemed competent 
may practice and the public is alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) used. 
 
Certification 
 

Certification programs offer a level of consumer protection similar to licensing 
programs, but the barriers to entry are generally lower.  The required educational 
program may be more vocational in nature, but the required examination should still 
measure a minimal level of competency.  Additionally, certification programs 
typically involve a non-governmental entity that establishes the training requirements 
and owns and administers the examination.  State certification is made conditional 
upon the individual practitioner obtaining and maintaining the relevant private 
credential.  These types of programs also usually entail title protection and practice 
exclusivity.  
 
While the aforementioned requirements can still be viewed as barriers to entry, they 
afford a level of consumer protection that is lower than a licensing program.  They 
ensure that only those who are deemed competent may practice and the public is 
alerted to those who may practice by the title(s) used. 
 
Registration 
 
Registration programs can serve to protect the public with minimal barriers to entry.  
A typical registration program involves an individual satisfying certain prescribed 
requirements – typically non-practice related items, such as insurance or the use of a 
disclosure form – and the state, in turn, placing that individual on the pertinent 
registry.  These types of programs can entail title protection and practice exclusivity.  
Since the barriers to entry in registration programs are relatively low, registration 
programs are generally best suited to those professions and occupations where the 
risk of public harm is relatively low, but nevertheless present.  In short, registration 
programs serve to notify the state of which individuals are engaging in the relevant 
practice and to notify the public of those who may practice by the title(s) used. 
 
Title Protection 
 
Finally, title protection programs represent one of the lowest levels of regulation.  
Only those who satisfy certain prescribed requirements may use the relevant 
prescribed title(s).  Practitioners need not register or otherwise notify the state that 
they are engaging in the relevant practice, and practice exclusivity does not attach.  
In other words, anyone may engage in the particular practice, but only those who 
satisfy the prescribed requirements may use the enumerated title(s).  This serves to 
indirectly ensure a minimal level of competency – depending upon the prescribed 
preconditions for use of the protected title(s) – and the public is alerted to the 
qualifications of those who may use the particular title(s). 
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Licensing, certification and registration programs also typically involve some kind of 
mechanism for removing individuals from practice when such individuals engage in 
enumerated proscribed activities.  This is generally not the case with title protection 
programs. 
 
Regulation of Businesses 
 
Regulatory programs involving businesses are typically in place to enhance public 
safety, as with a salon or pharmacy.  These programs also help to ensure financial 
solvency and reliability of continued service for consumers, such as with a public 
utility, a bank or an insurance company. 
 
Activities can involve auditing of certain capital, bookkeeping and other 
recordkeeping requirements, such as filing quarterly financial statements with the 
regulator.  Other programs may require onsite examinations of financial records, 
safety features or service records.   
 
Although these programs are intended to enhance public protection and reliability of 
service for consumers, costs of compliance are a factor.  These administrative costs, 
if too burdensome, may be passed on to consumers. 
 
 

Sunset Process 
 
Regulatory programs scheduled for sunset review receive a comprehensive analysis.  
The review includes a thorough dialogue with agency officials, representatives of the 
regulated profession and other stakeholders.  Anyone can submit input on any 
upcoming sunrise or sunset review on COPRRR’s website at: 
www.dora.colorado.gov/opr. 
 
The functions of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) 
as enumerated in Section 108 of Article 1.5 of Title 25, Colorado Revised Statutes 
(C.R.S.), shall terminate on September 1, 2019, unless continued by the General 
Assembly.  During the year prior to this date, it is the duty of COPRRR to conduct an 
analysis and evaluation of the regulation of hemodialysis technicians pursuant to 
section 24-34-104, C.R.S. 
 
The purpose of this review is to determine whether the currently prescribed 
regulation of hemodialysis technicians should be continued and to evaluate the 
performance of CDPHE.  During this review, CDPHE must demonstrate that the 
program serves the public interest. COPRRR’s findings and recommendations are 
submitted via this report to the Office of Legislative Legal Services.   
 
 
 

Methodology 

http://www.dora.colorado.gov/opr
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As part of this review, COPRRR staff interviewed Division staff, reviewed program 
records, interviewed representatives of dialysis clinics, and reviewed federal laws and 
rules and Colorado statutes and rules. 
 
 

Profile of the Profession 
 
Dialysis2  is the most common treatment for end-stage renal disease (ESRD), which 
occurs when a person’s kidneys can no longer effectively remove impurities, salts, 
and excess water from the body.   In dialysis, a machine performs the function of the 
kidneys.  A tube is inserted in the patient’s arm, via a catheter, graft, or a fistula,3 
which is connected to a hemodialysis machine.  The patient’s blood is pumped out of 
the body and into a filtration device called a dialyzer, which removes impurities from 
the blood.  The cleansed blood is then pumped back into the patient’s body. 
 
Although some dialysis patients undergo treatment in the home, most patients receive 
treatment in an outpatient dialysis clinic three times a week.  Each session lasts from 
three to four hours.   
 
Hemodialysis technicians, also called “patient care dialysis technicians” or “patient 
care technicians,” are the primary care providers in dialysis clinics.  Colorado law 
defines a hemodialysis technician as any person who provides direct care to dialysis 
patients and who is not a physician or a licensed professional nurse (RN).  The duties 
of hemodialysis technicians typically include: 
 

 Monitoring and recording patients’ vital signs before, during, and after 
treatment; 

 Cleaning and maintaining equipment, including dialyzers; 

 Observing and continually assessing patients during treatment, and taking 
emergency measures if needed;  

 Administering drugs and local anesthetics (under the supervision of a licensed 
physician or RN); and 

 Educating patients on home dialysis, if appropriate.  
 
The federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) set standards for 
dialysis clinics and clinic personnel, including hemodialysis technicians.  
 
Under CMS rule, prospective hemodialysis technicians must complete a training 
program addressing specific topics.  Most dialysis treatment clinics offer training 
programs on-site.  A typical training program is 90 days long and consists of a didactic 
portion, where the prospective hemodialysis technician learns basic anatomy and 

                                         
2  There are two types of dialysis: hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis.  This report focuses exclusively on 
hemodialysis, so all uses of the term “dialysis” refer to hemodialysis.  
3 Fistula: A surgically created connection of an artery to a vein.  
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principles of dialysis, followed by a clinical portion, where the prospective technician 
shadows an experienced RN or certified technician.     
  
Federal rule also requires hemodialysis technicians to be certified either under a state 
program or under a national certification program.  Colorado does not offer its own 
certification program, so prospective hemodialysis technicians must gain certification 
by passing one of three national credentialing examinations.   
 
Patients with ESRD must undergo dialysis for the rest of their lives, unless they 
receive a kidney transplant.  However, because the demand for donor kidneys far 
exceeds the supply, potential kidney recipients typically face a considerable wait 
before becoming eligible for a transplant.4  According to data from the United States 
Renal Data System, in 2015, there were nearly 500,000 Americans receiving dialysis 
treatment.5   
 
Both the incidence (the number of new diagnoses) and the overall prevalence (the 
number of people living with any stage of the disease) of ESRD increased from 2009 to 
2015, due to an increasing U.S. population, the aging of the population, and the fact 
that people with ESRD are living longer.6  This trend seems to support an ongoing 
need for hemodialysis technicians.    
 
According to CDPHE’s website, in August 2018, there were 82 licensed dialysis centers 
in Colorado,7 having a total number of 1,346 dialysis stations.   
 
 
  

                                         
4 According to data from the Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network, as of May 2018, there were 95,143 
people on the waiting list for a kidney transplant; in 2017, 15,222 kidneys were donated.  Source:  U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services.  Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network.  Retrieved on May 
30, 2018, from https://optn.transplant.hrsa.gov/data/ 
5 United States Renal Data System. 2017 USRDS Annual Data Report: Executive Summary. Retrieved on September 
10, 2018, from https://www.usrds.org/2017/view/v1_00.aspx 
6 United States Renal Data System. 2017 USRDS Annual Data Report: Executive Summary. Retrieved on September 
10, 2018, from https://www.usrds.org/2017/view/v1_00.aspx 
7 Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.  Health Facility Demographic Information: End-Stage 
Renal Facilities. Retrieved on July 31, 2018, from  

http://www.hfemsd2.dphe.state.co.us/hfd2003/homebase.aspx?Ftype=esrd&Do=list 
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Legal Framework 
 

History of Regulation 
 
Before the creation of the hemodialysis technician regulatory program, the Colorado 
Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform (COPRRR) conducted four separate 
sunrise reviews8 of hemodialysis technicians.  While the 1992 report recommended 
establishing standards for hemodialysis technician education programs, the 1994,  
1995, and 2006 reports recommended against imposing any regulations on 
hemodialysis technicians, finding it unnecessary since hemodialysis technicians 
worked under supervision in highly regulated environments (i.e., dialysis clinics).   
 
The General Assembly established basic requirements for hemodialysis technicians in 
2007, with the passage of House Bill 07-1131 (HB 1131).  The bill was a grassroots 
initiative brought forth by dialysis patients, who supported uniform training and 
certification requirements for hemodialysis technicians.    
 
Rather than creating a traditional licensure or certification program, HB 1131 made 
the new requirements for hemodialysis technicians part of the state’s regulation of 
dialysis clinics. The bill established that after January 1, 2009, dialysis treatment 
clinics licensed by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
(CDPHE) must ensure all hemodialysis technicians they employ are credentialed by a 
national credentialing program and working under the supervision of a licensed 
physician or licensed professional nurse (RN). The bill also directed the State Board of 
Health to adopt rules establishing a process for CDPHE to verify that all hemodialysis 
technicians meet those requirements. 
 
At the time the General Assembly passed the bill, the federal Centers for Medicare 
and Medicaid Services (CMS) had no specific certification requirement, requiring only 
that hemodialysis technicians meet any applicable state requirements and be 
generally qualified to perform their duties. In April 2008, however, CMS revised its 
regulations to mandate that hemodialysis technicians meet specific education and 
certification requirements.  The revised CMS rule also laid out specific content areas 
that education programs for hemodialysis technicians must cover. 
 
Following the 2011 sunset review, the General Assembly extended the regulation of 
hemodialysis technicians for seven years and added language clarifying that CDPHE 
verifies hemodialysis technicians’ credentials whenever it conducts a routine survey 
of a dialysis clinic.   
 
 
 

                                         
8 A sunrise review is a comprehensive study of a currently unregulated profession or occupation that recommends 
to the General Assembly whether regulation of such profession or occupation should be imposed to protect the 
public. 
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Legal Summary 
 
The federal laws governing hemodialysis technicians are located in Title 42 of the 
Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.), section 494.140, and Section 108 of Article 1.5 
of Title 25, Colorado Revised Statutes (C.R.S.).  
 
Under federal law, all hemodialysis technicians must:9  
 

 Meet all applicable state requirements for education, training, credentialing, 
competency, standards of practice, certification, and licensure in the state in 
which he or she is employed; 

 Have a high school diploma or equivalency;  

 Have completed a training program—approved by the medical director and 
governing body and directed by an RN—that focuses on the operation of kidney 
dialysis equipment and machines, providing direct patient care, and 
communication and interpersonal skills, including patient sensitivity training 
and care of difficult patients. The training program must include the following 
subjects: 
 

o Principles of dialysis.  
o Care of patients with kidney failure, including interpersonal skills.  
o Dialysis procedures and documentation, including initiation, proper 

cannulation techniques, monitoring, and termination of dialysis. 
o Possible complications of dialysis.  
o Water treatment and dialysate preparation.  
o Infection control.  
o Safety.  
o Dialyzer reprocessing, if applicable. 

 

 Be certified under a state certification program or a national commercially 
available certification program within 18 months of being hired as a dialysis 
patient care technician. 
 

Colorado law requires hemodialysis technicians to be credentialed by a national 
credentialing program and to work under the supervision of a licensed physician or a 
RN who has training or experience in dialysis treatment.10   
 
State law exempts from the certification requirement people providing dialysis care 
either to themselves or to friends or family members, as long as such people provide 
the care free of charge and do not represent themselves as hemodialysis 
technicians.11   Participants in a hemodialysis technician training program may work 
as hemodialysis technicians as long as they are under the direct supervision of a 

                                         
9 42 C.F.R.§ 494.140. 
10 § 25-1.5-108(3)(a), C.R.S. 
11 § 25-1.5-108(3)(c)(I), C.R.S. 
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physician or RN with dialysis training or experience. The supervising physician or RN 
must be on the premises and available for prompt consultation or treatment.12 

 
Section 25-1.5-103, C.R.S., grants CDPHE the authority to regulate dialysis treatment 
clinics.  Under Colorado law, licensed dialysis treatment clinics cannot allow anyone 
to work as a hemodialysis technician unless he or she has obtained the required 
credential, 13  except that people enrolled in a hemodialysis technician training 
program may work as hemodialysis technicians for up to 18 months without being 
certified.14  Clinics must comply with this requirement as a condition of licensure, and 
CDPHE is responsible for verifying clinics’ compliance.15   
 
To this end, dialysis treatment clinics must maintain records documenting the 
credentials of all the hemodialysis technicians they employ.  At the time of initial 
licensure, re-licensure, and upon request, clinics must provide to CDPHE a list of all 
the technicians on staff, their dates of hire, and the name of each applicable 
certification organization. For employees who are enrolled in a hemodialysis 
technician training program and are not yet certified, clinics must provide the date 
they entered the technician training program. 16  
  
If a dialysis treatment clinic fails to ensure its technicians meet the certification 
requirement, CDPHE can revoke, suspend, or impose conditions on the clinic’s 
license.17  Typically when CDPHE finds a clinic is not in compliance with applicable 
laws and rules, it issues a public report citing the clinic for deficiencies.  The clinic 
then has a specified time period within which to correct the deficiencies. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                         
12 § 25-105-108(3)(c)(II), C.R.S. 
13 §§ 25-1.5-108(3)(b), C.R.S. 
14 § 25-1.5-108(3)(c)(II), C.R.S. 
15 § 25-1.5-108(4), C.R.S. 
16 6 CCR § 1011-1-5.6.2, Standards for Hospitals and Health Facilities, Chapter XV, Dialysis Treatment Clinics. 
17 6 CCR § 1011-1-2.9.3, Standards for Hospitals and Health Facilities, Chapter II, General Licensure Standards. 
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Program Description and Administration 
 
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) is vested with 
the authority to regulate dialysis treatment clinics in Colorado.  As a condition of 
licensure, such clinics must ensure that all hemodialysis technicians are credentialed 
as required by state and federal law.  
 
When the credentialing and supervision requirements were first implemented, CDPHE 
charged dialysis treatment clinics a separate $200 fee to support the program.   
However, CDPHE found that the cost to administer the program was low and did not 
warrant maintaining a separate fee.  Consequently, the cost of the program is rolled 
into the licensing and renewal fees for dialysis clinics.  CDPHE receives between 
$200,500 and $217,000 in licensing fees from dialysis clinics per year.  
 

Currently, dialysis treatment clinics pay a $5,140 fee for the initial license, which 
must be renewed annually.   Renewal fees are based upon the number of dialysis 
procedure stations a clinic has:  
 

 1-12 stations: $1,600 per facility. 

 13-23 stations: $2,520 per facility. 

 24 or more stations: $3,435 per facility.18 
 
While CDPHE is responsible for licensing, surveying, and enforcing state and federal 
standards for dialysis treatment clinics, the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) contracts with the Health Service Advisory Group (HSAG) to implement 
the End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) program for Network 15—an area encompassing 
Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming.  
 
HSAG’s responsibilities include assuring that the 1,400 dialysis clinics in Network 15 
meet CMS quality standards; collecting and reporting data; and investigating 
consumer complaints.   
 
 

Certification of Hemodialysis Technicians 
 
Under the current regulatory regime, hemodialysis technicians must obtain 
certification from either a state program or a national, commercially available 
credentialing program.  Colorado does not have its own credentialing program, so 
accepts credentialing from three nationally available programs: the Certified Clinical 
Hemodialysis Technician (CCHT) examination offered by the Nephrology Nursing 
Certification Commission, the Board of Nephrology Examiners for Nursing and 
Technology (BONENT) examination, and the National Nephrology Certification 
Organization (NNCO) examination.    

                                         
18 6 CCR § 1011-1-3.1, Standards for Hospitals and Health Facilities, Chapter XV, Dialysis Treatment Clinics. 
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In order to sit for any of the three examinations, candidates must have a high school 
diploma or equivalent and have either completed a hemodialysis technician training 
program or possess equivalent experience providing patient care in a dialysis 
treatment clinic.  Almost all dialysis treatment clinics offer training programs on-site. 
Typically, programs are 90 days long and include a didactic and a clinical component.    
 
All three examinations are offered at multiple test sites across Colorado. The 
examinations consist of 150 to 200 multiple-choice questions and have a three-hour 
time limit. The examination fees range from $220 to $255.  
 
The examinations cover similar subject matter, in different proportions. The general 
areas the examinations cover include: 
 

 Principles of dialysis; 

 Patient care, including monitoring and documenting vital signs and recognizing 
complications; 

 Dialysis equipment and procedures; 

 Water treatment and dialysate preparation; 

 Infection control, sanitation, and universal precautions; and 

 Interpersonal skills and professional development. 
 
Once they have passed the certification examination, hemodialysis technicians must 
periodically recertify. BONENT and NNCO require recertification every four years; 
CCHT, every three years. In order to qualify for recertification, hemodialysis 
technicians must complete a certain number of hours of continuing education or 
document a specified number of hours of work experience. Recertification fees for 
NNCO and CCHT are $150 for four years and $100 for three years, respectively.  
BONENT does not charge a recertification fee.  
  
All three credentialing programs also permit candidates to recertify by retaking the 
certification examination.  
 
 

Verification of Hemodialysis Technician Credentials  
 
Individual hemodialysis technicians are not required to apply to CDPHE for licensure 
or certification, and CDPHE does not maintain a registry of credentialed technicians.  
Rather, dialysis treatment clinics are responsible for employing only those 
hemodialysis technicians who have met the credentialing requirement.  CDPHE must 
verify that licensed clinics are in compliance with this requirement as part of its 
regulation of such clinics.   
 
CDPHE verifies the credentials of hemodialysis technicians before granting initial 
licensure to a dialysis treatment clinic and during routine on-site inspections, which 
occur every three years.  
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Anyone seeking to establish a dialysis treatment clinic must submit an application 
with the required supporting materials and fees. If after reviewing the completed 
application, CDPHE finds the applicant complies with all applicable laws and rules, 
CDPHE conducts an inspection of the proposed clinic.  As part of the initial inspection, 
CDPHE reviews the personnel files of all employees, including hemodialysis 
technicians.  Following this inspection, CDPHE may grant the initial license.  
 
Dialysis treatment clinics must renew their licenses annually.   
 
When submitting a renewal application to CDPHE, clinics must submit a list of all the 
hemodialysis technicians it employs, their date of hire—or, for technicians that are 
not certified, the date they entered a technician training program—and the name of 
each applicable credentialing organization. Upon receiving the renewal application, 
CDPHE’s administrative staff randomly selects one in three hemodialysis technicians 
from the submitted list, and verifies those technicians’ certification directly with the 
credentialing body.  This verification process takes approximately one hour per clinic.   
 
CDPHE conducts a routine, on-site inspection of each licensed dialysis treatment clinic 
at least once every three years.  As part of this routine inspection, CDPHE reviews the 
personnel files of all employees, including hemodialysis technicians. 
 
In July 2018, there were 82 licensed dialysis treatment clinics in Colorado.  CDPHE 
does not maintain a registry of individual hemodialysis technicians and cannot provide 
an exact count of the number of hemodialysis technicians the clinics employ.  
However, in July 2018, the website of the Nephrology Nursing Certification 
Commission listed 506 Colorado hemodialysis technicians holding the CCHT 
certification; the NNCO website listed 9 holding the NNCO certification.  At this 
writing, the number of Colorado hemodialysis technicians holding the BONENT 
certification was unavailable. 
    
 

Complaints/Disciplinary Actions 
 
Anyone who has a complaint about a hemodialysis technician can file with CDPHE a 
complaint against the dialysis treatment clinic where the incident occurred.   
  
From fiscal year 12-13 to fiscal year 16-17, CDPHE received a total of 45 complaints 
against licensed dialysis clinics.  None of the complaints contained allegations against 
hemodialysis technicians.  
 
Another way that practice problems come to the attention of CDPHE is via occurrence 
reports.  Dialysis treatment clinics are compelled to self-report to CDPHE when 
certain incidents occur, such as unexplained deaths, patient abuse or neglect, 
misappropriation of property, and malfunction or misuse of equipment.  Clinics must 
file an occurrence report within one business day.  CDPHE investigates the occurrence 
to determine whether the clinic took appropriate action following the incident.  
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CDPHE did not report identifying any problems with hemodialysis technicians 
stemming from an occurrence report.  
 
The Health Service Advisory Group, which has contracted with CMS to implement the 
ESRD program for Colorado and several other western states, fields consumer 
complaints regarding hemodialysis technicians. Although no specific complaint data 
were available, a representative of the Health Service Advisory Group reported that 
the agency had not received any recent complaints regarding the competence of 
hemodialysis technicians. 
 
Finally, CDPHE might discover inappropriate care by a hemodialysis technician when 
conducting a survey at the behest of CMS.  As part of their participation in the 
Medicare ESRD network, licensed dialysis treatment clinics must report certain 
clinical data to CMS.  CMS contracts with the University of Michigan's Kidney 
Epidemiology and Cost Center to evaluate these data, and notify CMS of any clinics 
having patient outcomes or clinical data that fall outside generally accepted 
standards.  Once a year, CMS forwards a list of such clinics to CDPHE, which conducts 
an inspection.   
 
During the inspection, CDPHE can require the dialysis treatment clinic to produce the 
list of hemodialysis technicians working in the facility, with the respective 
credentialing information.  CDPHE inspects an average of seven facilities per year.  To 
date, no problems with the care delivered by hemodialysis technicians have been 
identified during these surveys.  Furthermore, none of CDPHE’s investigations or 
inspections uncovered any instances of hemodialysis technicians working without the 
required credential.  
 
 

Collateral Consequences – Criminal Convictions 
 
Section 24-34-104(6)(b)(IX), C.R.S., requires the Colorado Office of Policy, Research 
and Regulatory Reform to determine whether the agency under review, through its 
licensing processes, imposes any disqualifications on applicants or registrants based 
on past criminal history, and if so, whether the disqualifications serve public safety or 
commercial or consumer protection interests. 
  
Because CDPHE does not grant licenses or certifications to individual hemodialysis 
technicians under this program, this criterion does not apply. 
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Analysis and Recommendations 
 

Recommendation 1 – Continue the regulation of hemodialysis technicians 
indefinitely.  
 
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) has the authority 
to regulate dialysis treatment clinics in Colorado. Section 25.5-1.5-108, Colorado 
Revised Statutes (C.R.S.), establishes the requirements dialysis treatment clinics must 
meet to qualify for licensure. One such requirement is that clinics must assure that 
each hemodialysis technician—defined as anyone who is not a licensed physician or 
licensed professional nurse (RN) and who provides dialysis care19—they employ has 
been nationally certified and is under the supervision of a licensed physician or RN. 
CDPHE is responsible for verifying clinics meet this requirement, which is the focus of 
this sunset review. 
 
The central question of this sunset review is whether the certification and supervision 
requirement for hemodialysis technicians serves to protect the public health, safety, 
and welfare. 
 
A common treatment for end-stage renal disease (ESRD), dialysis involves removing a 
person’s blood, cleansing it, and returning it to the body.  Dialysis poses inherent risks.  
While rare, acute complications can happen: access sites can rupture or become 
infected; improper placement of tubing can lead to blood loss; and failure to prime a 
dialysis machine properly can cause an air embolism to enter a patient’s vein or 
artery.  Also, patients with ESRD often have other chronic health conditions, such as 
hypertension or diabetes, which makes them particularly vulnerable to complications. 
Because of the potential risks of dialysis, it is in the public interest to impose 
requirements that ensure the people providing dialysis care are competent and 
properly supervised.  
 
As the front-line providers of care in dialysis clinics, hemodialysis technicians must 
possess the proper education and training to safely perform the routine dialysis tasks 
and to know when to alert the supervising nurse or physician to any concerning 
changes in a patient’s condition. Therefore, regulation is justified.   
 
The regulatory environment has changed, however, since the General Assembly first 
imposed regulation on hemodialysis technicians.  When the General Assembly passed 
House Bill 1131 (HB 1131) in 2007, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services 
(CMS) required only that hemodialysis technicians meet state requirements and be 
qualified to perform their duties.  But within a year of HB 1131’s passage, CMS revised 
its rules to impose specific education and certification requirements on hemodialysis 
technicians and to define specific content areas that education programs for 
technicians must cover. 
 

                                         
19 § 25-1.5-108(1)(c), C.R.S. 
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Now that there are explicit federal standards in place, the utility of continuing to 
subject Colorado’s hemodialysis technician statutes to sunset review is unclear.   
While the specific requirement that hemodialysis technicians work under physician or 
RN supervision is unique to Colorado law—federal rule imposes no such specific 
requirement—the typical administrative structure of any licensed dialysis clinic means 
that such supervision is inevitable, and no stakeholders reported finding the 
supervision requirement unduly burdensome.  The past two sunset reviews—this one, 
and the one conducted in 2011—have identified no issues with the competence of 
hemodialysis technicians that would warrant additional regulation.  CDPHE surveys 
have revealed that Colorado dialysis clinics are employing hemodialysis technicians 
who are properly educated, certified, and supervised.   
 
The regulatory framework at both state and federal levels assures that hemodialysis 
technicians will continue to work under supervision in tightly regulated environments.    
Therefore, the General Assembly should continue the regulation of hemodialysis 
technicians indefinitely.  
 
 

Recommendation 2 – Make technical changes to the law. 
 
The law contains instances of obsolete language that can be repealed.  These changes 
are technical in nature, meaning that they have no substantive impact on the 
regulation of hemodialysis technicians in Colorado.    
 
The General Assembly should make the following technical changes: 
 

 Section 25-1.5-108(2), C.R.S. Strike “By January 1, 2008,” as this date has 
passed. 

 Section 25.1.5-108(3)(a), C.R.S. Strike “On or after January 1, 2009,” as this 
date has passed. 

 Section 25.1.5-108(3)(b), C.R.S. Strike “On or after January 1, 2009,” as this 
date has passed. 

 Sections 25-1.5-108(1)(c) and (3)(c)(II)(A), C.R.S. Change “registered nurse” 
to “licensed professional nurse” to align the language with current terminology 
as used in section 25-1.5-108(3)(a), C.R.S. 
 

 
 
  


