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INTRODUCTION 


The following pages present an outline of major state taxes 

imposed and collected in Colorado. A section on local taxation has 

been included to provide as complete a profile of Colorado taxation as 

possible. The Colorado Lottery has also been included as it is a 

significant source of income for several governmental purposes. Not 

included in this report are specific license and registration fees, 

permits, and revenues from fines and court costs. However, some 

comparative data for all 50 states collections from licenses are 

provided in the appendix. 


Constitutional and Statutory Budgetary Restrictions 


Colorado's Constitution mandates a balanced budget each fiscal 
year (Article X ,  section 16). Colorado lak requires that a percentage 
of state moneys appropriated from the general fund be reserved in any 
fiscal year. For FY 1986 and 1987, the reserve requirement was 5 
percent but has been increased to 6 percent for FY 1988 and thereafter 
(24-75-201.1, (l)(d), C.R.S.). The law also requires the state to 
limit appropriations to 7 percent over the previous year's 
appropriations. Moneys appropriated for reappraisals of classes of 
property and fund transfers are not included in the 7 percent 
1 imitation (24-75-201.1, (1) (a), C.R.S.). 

Total Tax Collections 


Colorado state government collected approximately $2.7 bi 1 1  ion in 
taxes for FY 1987 from eighteen tax sources. About 63.2 percent of 
that revenue was collected from two sources -- personal income tax and 
sales tax (see Table I). In addition to tax revenues, the state 
collected $14.1 million in court receipts, $11.7 million from other 
sources, and $10.8 million from interest income during the fiscal year 
which are not included in Table I. 

Several tax revenues are earmarked for special purposes. 

Earmarked taxes include unemployment insurance, motor fuel, tourism 

promotion, severance, and gross ton-mile taxes as well as the Colorado 

Lottery. Some revenues from income and sales and use taxes are also 

earmarked. 


This edition does not include information on tax policies or 

financial mechanisms that may be established under three types of 

special districts created or authorized in the 1987 legislative 

session: scientific and cultural facilities districts, the transit 

construction authority, and tunnel districts. These districts may be 

financed through a variety of fee assessments and taxes but no 

additional taxes or assessments have been imposed as yet. 




Table I 


TOTAL NET STATE TAX COLLECTIONS FOR F Y  1987 

Collections Without Regard to Fund Disposition 


($  in Millions) 

Tax 

Personal Income 

Sales 

Motor Fuel 

Unemployment 


Insurance 

Corporate Income 

Insurance Premiums 

Use 

Cigarette 

Lottery 

Gross Ton-Mile 

Liquor 

Estate 

Severance 

Pari-Mutuel Racing 

Tourism Promotion 

Tobacco 

Inheritance 

Gift 


TOTAL 


Fiscal 

1987 


$1,081.9 

648.3 

291.1 


227.3 

136.7 

84.1 

68.6 

66.1 

35.0 

31.7 

23.6 

18.7 

11.6 

9.0 

3.9 

2.7 

0.1 

O.O* 


$2,740.4 


Percent 

Of Total 


39.5% 

23.7 

10.6 


8.3 

5.0 

3.1 

2.5 

2.4 

1.3 

1.2 

0.9 

0.7 

0.4 

0.3 

0.1 

0.1 

0.0 

0.0 


100.0% 


* Less than $100,000 revenue collections 



I. GENERAL FUND 


A l l  moneys no t  earmarked by the c o n s t i t u t i o n  o r  by s t a t u t e  f o r  
spec ia l  funds are c r e d i t e d  t o  t he  general  fund. Th is  fund i s  t h e  
s t a t e ' s  major opera t ing  fund. The major taxes c r e d i t e d  t o  t he  fund 
i nc l ude  personal  income, sa les and use, co rpora te  income, and severa l  
exc ise  taxes. Other taxes c r e d i t e d  t o  the  fund are:  c i g a r e t t e ;  
tobacco; insurance premiums; l i q u o r ;  par i -mutue l  rac ing ;  and t h e  
es ta te ,  i nher i tance ,  and g i f t  taxes. S ta te  i nhe r i t ance  and t he  g i f t  
taxes are no longer  l e v i e d  bu t  s t i  11 produced about $120,000 i n  
revenue i n  FY 1987 as taxes sub jec t  t o  p r i o r  law. These two taxes were 
removed as o f  January 1, 1980. The tobacco products  t ax  which r a i s e d  
about $2.7 m i l l i o n  i n  FY 1987 was added J u l y  1, 1986. 

Chart I 

1987 GENERAL FUND TAX RECEIPTS 

(SO. 6%) 



Table I 1  compares 1978 and 1987 general  fund t a x  r e c e i p t s  by 
source and d e p i c t s  t h e  amount and percentage each t a x  c o n t r i b u t e d  t o  
t h e  genera l  fund. Personal income and sa les  and use taxes accounted 
f o r  approximately 80.9 percent  o f  t he  1987 genera l  fund r e c e i p t s .  

General fund t a x  r e c e i p t s  have increased approx imate ly  97.6 
percent  s ince  1978. There has been a dramat ic  increase i n  t h e  
importance of personal  income taxes as t he  major source o f  suppor t  
f o r  t he  genera l  fund -- over  48 percent  o f  genera l  fund revenue i n  FY 
1986 and 50.6 percent  i n  FY 1987. Taxes t h a t  have a sma l le r  
percentage c o n t r i b u t i o n  t o  the  t o t a l  general  fund revenue i n  1987 
than  i n  1978 a re  c i g a r e t t e ,  co rpora te  income, l i q u o r ,  sa les and use, 
par i -mutue l  rac ing ,  and t he  t o t a l  o f  i nhe r i t ance  and e s t a t e  taxes. The 
insurance premiums t ax  c o n t r i b u t i o n  t o  t h e  general  fund has a l s o  
increased i n  importance compared t o  t e n  years  e a r l  i e r .  

Table I 1  

TAX RECEIPTS FOR STATE GENERAL FUND 
Com~ar ison  o f  FY 1978 and FY 1987 

($  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

Percent Percent 
F i s c a l  o f  1978 F i s c a l  o f  1987 

Tax 1978 To ta l  1987 To ta l  

C i g a r e t t e  $48.6 4.5% $66.1 3.1% 
Tobacco -- -- 2.7 0.1 
Es ta te  ( G i f t )  

I. Esta te  -- -- 18.6 0.9 
11. I nhe r i t ance  21.2 2.0 0.1 --

111. G i f t  0.1 0. Of --

Income 
I.Corporate 8.3 136.7 6.4 

11. Personal 40.9 1,081.9 50.6 

Insurance Premiums 2.9 84.1 3.9 

L iquor  1.5 23.6 1.1 

Par i -Mutuel  Racing 0.7 9 .O 0.4 

Sales and Use 
I.Sales 35.8 648.3 30.3 

11. Use 3.5 68.6 3.2 

TOTAL 100.0% $2,139.7 100.0% 

Less than $100,000 revenue c o l l e c t i o n s  

(Sources: D i v i s i o n  of Accounts and Cont ro l  and Department o f  
Revenue) 

-4-



Tax Collections History 


Table I11 on the following page provides a historical perspective 
of collection figures for each tax source from FY 1978 to 1987. Sales 
tax collections were the major source of state revenues until FY 1982. 
Sales tax collections peaked in FY 1984 at $731.4 mi 1 lion with the 
imposition of a temporary 1/2 cent increase and have decreased since 
expiration of the temporary increase. 

Corporate income tax collections have been sporadic with a low of 
$66.5 million in FY 1983 and a high of $136.7 million in FY 1987. 
Individual income tax receipts have increased in nine of the last ten 
years; the one decrease occurred from FY 1979 to FY 1980. Individual 
income tax receipts have contributed the largest percentage to the 
state general fund since FY 1982. 

Motor fuel taxes increased $93.2 mi 11ion for FY 1987 over FY 1986 
due to a tax rate increase. 



- - - - - - - - - -  

Table I11 


ACTUAL NET STATE REVENUES BY TAX SOURCE FY 1978 THROUGH 1987 
($  in Millions) 

Tax Source 1978 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 

Sa 1 es $387.2 $458.9 $482.7 $485.8 $541.6 $565.1 $731.9 $673.8 $662.9 $648.3 
Use 37.6 47.1 53.3 54.4 74.1 66.1 66.8 73.0 76.1 68.6 
Cigarette 48.6 33.3 34.8 37.0 37.2 36.7 47.4 52.3 50.9 66.1 
Tobacco -- -- - - - - - - -- -- - - -- 2.7 
Other 3.3 3.7 4.1 3.1 2.0 2.0 2.1 1.9 1.9 1.9 

Income 

Individual 442.7 480.6 465.6 479.4 621.0 703.3 796.4 921.7 973.2 1,081.9 

Corporate 89.3 115.8 117.4 84.8 88.8 66.5 94.1 78.8 124.4 136.7 

Insurance 31.1 35.7 40.0 41.6 47.9 51.6 56.6 64.7 75.0 84.1 

Pari-Mutuel 7.7 8.0 8.2 8.8 9.5 8.4 8.6 7.7 8.5 9.0 


Inheritance 21.2 22.8 24.1 2.0 1.6 0.3 0.1 0.1 0.1 0.0 
Estate -- -- 0.0 4.9 11.0 8.5 10.3 13.8 13.5 18.6 
Gift 1.3 1.3 1.1 0.4 0.2 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 
Gross Ton-Mile/ 
Passenger-Mile 20.3 21.8 23.0 24.6 24.3 23.7 28.6 30.2 30.8 31.7 

SpirituousLiq.14.6 16.1 15.3 15.5 16.0 15.4 15.7 15.4 14.4 13.8 
Wine 1.7 2.0 2.0 2.1 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 2.6 
Beer 

3.2% or Less 1.0 1.1 1.1 1.2 1.2 1.2 1.1 1.1 1.1 1.1 
More Than 3.2% 4.6 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.8 5.6 5.7 5.7 5.6 5.7 

Lottery -- -- -- - - - - 41.7 40.7 32.0 29.2 35.0 
Motor Fuel 107.5 114.8 113.5 108.3 138.9 142.8 188.4 186.5 197.9 291.1 
Severance 6.6 18.7 23.1 31.6 48.7 26.3 28.8 23.8 28.4 11.6 
Tourism Tax -- - - -- -- -- 0.0 2.9 3.3 3.6 3.9 
Unemp 1 oyment 
Insurance 83.9 81.3 67.9 61.5 86.9 122.6 247.3 264.4 251.7 227.3 

-1/ Sources: Division of Accounts and Control (sales through pari-mutuel), 
Department of Revenue (inheritance through tourism) , Department of 
Highways (GTM and motor fuel), and Department of Labor and Employment 
(unemployment insurance). 



Fund Trans fe rs  

Due t o  revenue s h o r t f a l l s ,  t h e  General Assembly has, s i nce  1982, 
adopted a s e r i e s  o f  budget t r a n s f e r s  t o  meet the  c o n s t i t u t i o n a l  
p r o v i s i o n  r e q u i r i n g  a balanced budget. The f o l l o w i n g  i s  a summary o f  
those t r a n s f e r s .  Footnotes a re  on t he  f o l l o w i n g  page. 

FUND TRANSFERS USED AS STATE BUDGET BALANCING MEASURES -- 1982 TO 1987 
($  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i s c a l  Amount Amount Date Fund o r  Agency 
Year Fund Name Trans fe r red  Repaid Repaid Receiv ing Money 

1982 	 Spec ia l  Reserve $30.0 A /  $30.0 1/ 7-01-82 Pub1 i c  School 

1983 	 Spec ia l  Reserve 51.0 -1/ 51.0 -1/ 7-01-83 P u b l i c  School 
Severance Tax 49.9 2/ 6-30-86 F i s c a l  Emergency 
CWCBCF* 6-30-85 F i s c a l  Emergency 
HUTFf* 6-30-85 F i s c a l  ~ m e r g e n c ~  
L o t t e r y  6-30-85 F i s c a l  Emergency 

1984 	 Dept. o f  S ta te  
Cash Fund General Fund 

Severance Tax 6-30-86 Cap. Const. 
F i r e  and P o l i c e  GF t r a n s f e r  was 

Pension (FPPF) 	 no t  made 

1985 Severance Tax 9-01-86 Cap. Const. 
CATI*** 

Dept. o f  S ta te  
Cash Fund General Fund 

1986 	 Severance Tax Cap. Const. 
CWCBCF 6-30-87 Cap. Const. 

1987 F i r e  and Pol  i c e  No GF t r a n s f e r  
Pension i n  FY 1987 

(T rans fe r  i n  
subsequent 
years  changed 
f rom Ap r i  1 30 
t o  Sept. 30) 

Severance Tax 19.7 	 General Fund 

1988 General Fund 19.7 5/  	 Payment i n  FY 88 
t o  Severance Tax 

F i r e  and P o l i c e  14.5 -6/ Payment t o  FPPF 
Pension on 9/30/88 w i l l  

be $5.5 M 
Severance Tax 8.0 !/ 



Colorado Water Conservation Board Cons t ruc t ion  Fund 
Highway Users Tax Fund 
Colorado Advanced Technology I n s t i t u t e  

These funds represent  a delay i n  payment t o  school d i s t r i c t s  o f  
moneys from the  p u b l i c  school fund. Payments t o  t h e  p u b l i c  school 
fund (and school d i s t r i c t s )  f rom the  spec ia l  reserve  fund 
( s e c t i o n  24-75-201.1, C.R.S.) were delayed a t  t he  end o f  FY 1982 
t o  the  beginn ing o f  FY 1983 and from the  end o f  FY 1983 t o  t h e  
beginn ing o f  FY 1984. 

The amount o f  money borrowed from the  severance t ax  fund f rom 
1983 t o  1986 equaled about $75.5 m i l l i o n .  H.B. 1010, 1986 
session, delayed $30 m i  11 i o n  o f  t he  t r a n s f e r  u n t i  1 September 1, 
1986. I n  H.B. 1375, 1985 session, t he  General Assembly 
t r a n s f e r r e d  t he  amount which c o n s t i t u t e d  t he  repayment ($74.8 
m i l l i o n )  t o  t he  c a p i t a l  cons t ruc t i on  fund w i t h  no p r o v i s i o n  f o r  
repay ing the  severance t ax  fund (Laws o f  1985, p. 1269). 

These funds were appropr ia ted t o  Colorado Advanced Technology 
I n s t i t u t e  and are t o  remain a v a i l a b l e u n t i l  June 30, 1988. The 
funds may no t  be expended u n t i l  t h e  dec i s i on  i s  made t o  c o n s t r u c t  
t he  superconducting supe rco l l i de r  acce le ra to r  i n  Colorado. 

S.B. 196, 1987 session, prov ides t h a t  a l l  bu t  $5.0 m i l l i o n  i s  t o  
be repa id  by t he  end o f  FY 1986-87 and t he  remaining $5.0 mi 11 i o n  
i s  t o  be repa id  i n  FY 1987-88. 

Repayment o f  t he  severance t ax  t r u s t  fund i n  FY 1988 i s  t o  
i nc l ude  i n t e r e s t  payment on t he  amount borrowed i n  FY 1987 (S.B. 
196, 1987 session).  

H.B. 1353 reduces the  general fund t r a n s f e r  t o  t he  f i r e  and 
p o l i c e  pension t o  $5.5 m i l l i o n  f o r  FY 1988. 

H.B. 1353 requ i res  a d i v e r s i o n  o f  an est imated $8 m i l l i o n  i n  
gross r e c e i p t s  from the  severance tax  t r u s t  fund t o  t h e  genera l  
fund f o r  FY 1988. 

SOURCES: 	 S ta te  Treasurer, Water Conservat ion Board, t he  S ta te  L o t t e r y  
Commission, and Session Laws o f  Colorado s ince  1980. 



11. OTHER MAJOR STATE FUNDS 

I n  a d d i t i o n  t o  the general fund, a  number o f  specia l  funds have 
been created by e i t h e r  the c o n s t i t u t i o n  o r  s t a t u t e  f o r  s p e c i f i c  
purposes. The fo l low ing  sec t ion  provides a summary o f  o ther  major 
s t a t e  funds r e f e r r e d  t o  i n  t h i s  repor t .  

Old Age Pension Fund 

Cons t i t u t i ona l  and s ta tu to ry  c i t a t i o n s .  The o l d  age pension fund 
(OAPF) was created i n  1936 by a  vote of the  people ( A r t i c l e  X X I V ,  
Colorado Cons t i t u t i on ) .  The prov is ions  of t h i s  a r t i c l e  were amended by 
the  e lec to rs  i n  1956. S ta tu to ry  sect ions re levant  t o  the  OAPF are 
26-2-111 through 26-2-117, and 39-26-126, C.R.S. 

Purpose. The fund was establ ished t o  prov ide minimum assistance 
f o r  needy persons 60 years of age o r  o lder ,  who are res idents  o f  
Colorado, and whose income i s  not s u f f i c i e n t  t o  mainta in necessary 
hea l th  serv ices and t o  a l low such persons t o  r e t a i n  t h e i r  
independence, se l f -care,  and sel f -suppor t .  

Revenue sources. The Cons t i t u t i on  requ i res  t h a t  the  f o l l o w i n g  
moneys be c red i t ed  t o  the OAPF: 

85 percent o f  a l l  sales, use, and excise taxes; 

85 percent o f  r e t a i l  l i cense fees; 

85 percent o f  l i q u o r  taxes and l i cense fees connected 

therewi th;  

unexpended moneys i n  any fund o f  the  s t a t e  o r  p o l i t i c a l  

subd iv is ion  thereof  t h a t  was a l l oca ted  t o  the  OAPF before 

January 1, 1957; 

a l l  federa l  grants f o r  o l d  age assistance; 

a l l  inher i tance taxes, es ta te  taxes, and i nco rpo ra t i on  fees; 

and 

such moneys as the  General Assembly may a l loca te .  


Disbursement o f  fund. The Department o f  Socia l  Services 
administers the OAPF. Any funds remaininq a f t e r  meetinq the  basic  
requirements o f  the OAPF are  t rans fe r red  t o  the  f o l  low i  ng i  

-- S t a b i l i z a t i o n  Fund -- maintained a t  $5 m i l l i o n ;  and 
-- Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Fund -- up t o  

$10 m i  11 i o n  annual l y  . 
A f t e r  s a t i s f y i n g  the  requirements o f  the OAPF, the s t a b i l i z a t i o n  

fund, and the  medical care fund, a l l  remaining moneys are c red i t ed  t o  
t he  general fund. L i s ted  on the  fo l l ow ing  page are moneys c red i t ed  t o  
the  OAPF by source, moneys used by OAPF requirements, and the  t o t a l  
remaining t h a t  was c red i t ed  t o  the  general fund i n  FY 1987 as repor ted  
by the  Department o f  Social  Services. 



OAPF Obligations -- FY 1987 

Tax Source 
Total 

Collections 
OAPF and 

Stabilization 

Funds 

Medical 
Balance to 

General Fund 

Sales 
Use 
Liquor 
Cigarette 
Others 

$648,308,000 
68,781,000 
23,172,000 
64,484,000 

+ 1,954,000 

Total $8O6,699,OOO $4O,367,OOO $10,000,000 $756,332,000 

Hiqhway Users Tax Fund 


Constitutional and statutory citations. The highway users tax 
fund (HUTF) was created by Article X ,  section 18 of the Colorado 
Constitution. Statutory sect ions relevant to the HUTF are 39-26-123, 
43-2-116, 43-2-129, and 43-4-201 through 43-4-216, C.R.S. 

Administration. The HUTF is administered by the Department of 

Highways. 


Purpose. The HUTF is to provide adequate funding for the state's 

highway construction and maintenance needs. 


Revenue sources. 


FY 1986-87 

Receipts 


Basic Fund: ($ in Millions) 

7 cent motor fuel tax $113.6 

Gross ton-mile and passenger-mile tax 31.8 

Motor vehicle registrations 30.8 

Motor vehicle penalty assessment 4.5 

Mi scel laneous 13.5 

Interest 


Basic Fund Total &-
Sales and use taxes (see page 54) $ 40.0 
Additional fuel tax 177.5 

(includes bridge fund) 


Subtotal 217.5 


Total HUTF $413.2 




Disbursements: Expenditures 

Deductions (see page 45) 
State share 
County share 
City share 

Total 

(Source: Department of Highways) 

Sales and use tax diversion ("Noble Money"). House Bill 1350, 
1987 session, abolished the sales tax diversions and instead, 

a1 located state income tax revenues attributable to federal tax 

reform, not to exceed $40 million, to the HUTF for FY 1988. The 

transfer is to be made after meeting general fund appropriations, the 

reserve requirement, and fund paybacks. In FY 1989, the general fund 

transfer is reduced to $30 million and in FYs 1990 and 1991 the 

transfer is $10 million. The transfer is repealed beginning July 1, 

1991. The funds are to be distributed as follows: 


FY 1988 -- 75 percent to the state highway fund 
-- 15 percent to counties 
-- 10 percent to municipalities 

FY 1989 -- $20 mill ion to the state highway fund 
-- $ 6 mi 1 1  ion to the counties 
-- $ 4 million to the municipalities 

FY 1990 and 
FY 1991 -- $ 6 mi 1 1  ion to the counties 

-- $ 4 million to the municipalities 

Water Conservation Board Construction Fund 


This fund was created by section 37-60-121, C.R.S., and is 

managed by the Colorado Water Conservation Board. The General Assembly 

allocates money to the construction fund to finance water projects 

that are of statewide concern. The fund also receives money from 

charges imposed by the board for contracts entered into for the use of 

construction fund moneys and 10 percent of federal mineral lease 

revenues. House Bi 1 1  1158, 1987 session, appropriated $15 mi 1 1 ion for 

FYs 1990 and 1991 and $20 mi 1 1  ion for FY 1991. The money is to be 

distributed 50 percent to the fish and wildlife resources account, 25 

percent to the fund, and 25 percent to the Colorado water resources 

and power development authority. 


The 1987 act also appropriated $5 mi 1 1  ion for FY 1989 to the 

water rights final settlement fund which provides tribal development 

funds for the Southern Ute Indian and Ute Mountain Ute Indian tribes. 

In 1987, the General Assembly authorized $22.3 mi 1 1ion for continuing 

projects and $13.7 million in new projects (S.B. 15). 




Capi ta l  Construct ion Fund 

The c a p i t a l  cons t ruc t ion  fund (CCF) was created by sec t ion  
24-75-302, C.R.S., t o  f inance the s t a t e ' s  c a p i t a l  cons t ruc t ion  needs. 
The moneys f o r  the fund are appropriated by the General Assembly from 
the general fund and the CCF automat ica l ly  receives 50 percent o f  the 
net  l o t t e r y  proceeds. House B i  11 1355, 1987 session, appropriated $15 
m i  1  l i o n  t o  the fund f o r  FY 1989 and 1990 and $25 m i l  l i o n  f o r  FY 1991. 

Beginning w i t h  FY 1986 and each year thereaf te r ,  75 percent o f  
general fund revenues i n  excess o f  general fund appropr iat ions and the 
requi red reserve are t o  be t rans fer red  t o  the CCF (24-75-201.1 (1)  ( c )  
( I ) ,  C.R.S.). For FY 1988, Senate B i l l  196 requ i res  the t r a n s f e r  t o  
CCF o f  75 percent o f  revenues a f t e r  appropriat ions, r e t e n t i o n  o f  the 
requi red reserve, and r e s t o r a t i o n  o f  the Colorado water conservat ion 
board t r u s t  fund and severance tax t r u s t  fund. Recommendations f o r  
c a p i t a l  cons t ruc t ion  expenditures are submitted by the Capi ta l  
Development Committee and the Governor. 

TOTAL CAPITAL CONSTRUCTION APPROPRIATIONS 

FY 1979 t o  FY 1988 


($ i n  M i l l i o n s )  


F isca l  Tota l  Capi ta l  Percent of 
Year Construct ion Tota l  General Fund 

1.2% 
2.6 
2.8 
1.5 
0.5 
1.3 
2.0 
5.4 
2.0 (es t )  
2.4 (est )  

Ten-Year Tota l  

Ten-Year Average 


-11 Appropriat ions from FY 1984 t o  present inc lude s t a t e  l o t t e r y  
funds 

-21 Includes the t rans fe r  o f  $74.8 m i l l i o n  from the severance 
tax t r u s t  fund (H.B. 1375, 1985 session) 

* Contains no supplemental appropr iat ions 

Severance Tax Trust  Fund 

The severance tax t r u s t  fund, sect ion 39-29-109, C.R.S., i s  a 
permanent fund held i n  t r u s t  as a replacement f o r  depleted na tu ra l  
resources and f o r  the development and conservat ion of t h e  s t a t e ' s  



water resources. F i f t y  percent o f  t he  severance taxes a re  c r e d i t e d  t o  
t h e  s t a t e  severance tax  fund and 50 percent t o  t h e  l o c a l  government 
severance tax  fund. However, income f rom investment o f  t h e  s t a t e  
t r u s t  fund i s  c r e d i t e d  t o  t he  s t a t e  general  fund. According t o  t h e  
Department o f  Local A f f a i r s ,  about $15.7 m i  11 i o n  o f  severance t a x  
t r u s t  fund and minera l  lease fund moneys kere  awarded s ta tewide t o  
var ious p u b l i c  p ro j ec t s .  

Local  Government Severance Tax Fund 

The l o c a l  government severance tax fund was created by s e c t i o n  
39-29-110, C.R.S. F i f t y  percent o f  the  severance taxes are c r e d i t e d  t o  
t h e  s t a t e  severance tax fund and 50 percent  t o  the  l o c a l  government 
severance t ax  fund. O f  the  50 percent l o c a l  share, 15 percent  i s  
d i s t r i b u t e d  t o  count ies o r  m u n i c i p a l i t i e s  based on t h e  p r o p o r t i o n  o f  
employees o f  n a t u r a l  resource i n d u s t r i e s  r e s i d i n g  i n  t h e i r  
incorporated and unincorporated areas. The Department o f  Local  A f f a i r s  
d i s t r i b u t e s  t he  remaining 35 percent t o  l o c a l  governments impacted by 
the  development o f  n a t u r a l  resources. 

M inera l  Lease Fund 

The minera l  lease fund was es tab l i shed  by T i t l e  34, A r t i c l e  63, 
C.R.S. The fund i s  t he  deposi tory  o f  moneys rece ived  by t he  s t a t e  f rom 
the  Un i ted  S ta tes  f o r  Colorado's share o f  sales, bonuses, r o y a l t i e s ,  
and r e n t a l s  o f  p u b l i c  lands w i t h i n  t he  s ta te .  Pub l i c  schools and 
p o l i t i c a l  subd iv is ions  impacted by energy development have p r i o r i t y  
use o f  t he  fund. D i s t r i b u t i o n s  f o r  calendar year  1986 t o t a l e d  
843,091,912. The d i s t r i b u t i o n  formula and t he  amount d i s t r i b u t e d  t o  
each e n t i t y  i n  1986 a re  1 i s t e d  on page 14. 



MINERAL LEASE FUND DISTRIBUTION FORMULA AND 1986 DISTRIBUTIONS 
( $  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i r s t  cu t  
-- 50 percent t o  count ies from which the  funds were der ived w i t h  

a maximum o f  $200,000 per county -- ($3.2) 
-- 25 percent t o  pub l i c  school fund -- ($10.8) 
-- 15 percent t o  the l oca l  government mineral  impact fund --

($6.5) 
-- 10 percent t o  Colorado Hater conservat ion board t r u s t  fund --

($4.3) 

D i s t r i b u t i o n  o f  funds from count ies whose 50 percent share 
exceeded $200,000 -- ($18.4) 

-- $10.1 m i l l i o n  t o  pub1 i c  school fund -- ($10.1) 

Balance o f  county excess a f t e r  deposits t o  school fund --
]$8.3) 

-- count ies who cont r ibu ted  t o  the excess rece ive  up 
t o  $800,000 of the remaining funds -- ($3.6) 

-- school d i s t r i c t s  receive 25 percent -- ($1.7) 
-- towns receive 37.5 percent o f  county funds --

($1.2) 

Funds from count ies whose 50 percent share 
exceeded $800,000 -- ($4.7) 

-- 50 ~ e r c e n t  t o  s t a t e  school fund -- ($2.41 
-- 50 bercent t o  DLA -- ($2.4) 

--	 count ies whose 50 percent share 
exceeded $800,000 get  25 percent o f  
the  DLA's 50 percent -- (8.6) 

Conservation Trust  Fund 

The conservat ion t r u s t  fund was establ  ished by sect i o n  29-21-101, 
C.R.S. The fund receives 40 percent o f  the net l o t t e r y  proceeds. 
Moneys c red i ted  t o  the  fund are disbursed by the  D i v i s i o n  o f  Local 
Government t o  e l i g i b l e  counties, c i t i e s ,  and specia l  d i s t r i c t s  based 
on populat ion. The disbursed moneys may be expended on ly  f o r  the  
acqu is i t ion ,  development, and maintenance o f  new conservat ion s i t e s  o r  
f o r  c a p i t a l  improvements o r  maintenance f o r  rec rea t i ona l  purposes. 

Pub l ic  School Fund 

The pub l i c  school fund was created by A r t i c l e  I X ,  sec t ion  3 of 
the Colorado Const i tu t ion.  The s ta tu to ry  p rov is ions  r e l a t i n g  t o  the  
investment and use o f  the fund are contained i n  A r t i c l e  41, T i t l e  22, 
C.R.S. The school fund consis ts  o f  the  proceeds of such lands granted 
t o  the s ta te  by the federal government f o r  educat ional purposes, a l l  
estates t h a t  may escheat t o  the state,  25 percent o f  mineral  lease 
moneys, and grants, g i f t s ,  o r  other  devices made t o  t h e  s t a t e  f o r  



educational purposes. No part of the fund may be transferred to any 
other fund. The fund itself is inviolate; only the interest from the 
fund may be expended and only for the maintenance of the state's 
school s . 

Fire and Police Members' Benefit Fund 


The General Assembly established the fire and police members' 

benefit fund in 1979 to establish an actuarially sound statewide 

retirement system for all firemen and policemen hired after April 8, 

1978, and to provide for the actuarial funding of all the existing 

pension systems (section 31-30-1012, C.R.S.). Contributions to the 

fund are from made by local government employers, employees, and from 

the state's insurance premiums tax revenues. From 1979 through 1986, 

the state made annual contributions of roughly $21 million to assist 

local governments. State contributions are to terminate when the fund 

is determined to be actuarially sound. 


The annual contributions for these years were distributed as 

follows: 


--	 Approximately $14 million to prefund the unfunded 
1iabi1 ities of the "old" funds; 

--	 Approximately $6 mi 1 1 ion, which decreases 10 percent 
per year until local governments assume full funding 

in 1994, to the death and disability fund; 


--	 Approximately $1.2 million to match the local levy of 
up to 1/2 mill for volunteer firemen's pensions. 

In 1987, the General Assembly moved the date on which the 
state makes its annual contribution to the fund from April 30 to 
September 30 (S.B. 196). This change, in effect, negated the FY 
1987 payment. In addition, Senate Bill 243 decreased the FY 1988 
payment to $5.5 million. 



111. STATE TAXES 


The f o l l o w i n g  i n fo rma t i on  i s  presented i n  t h i s  s e c t i o n  f o r  
each s t a t e  l e v i e d  tax:  the  date o f  enactment; t he  c o n s t i t u t i o n a l  
and s t a t u t o r y  c i t a t i o n s ;  t he  t ax  base; the  present  r a te ;  t h e  
a d m i n i s t r a t i o n  and c o l l e c t i o n ;  t he  h i s t o r y  o f  t he  ra tes ;  t h e  
d i s p o s i t i o n  o f  revenue; t h e  c o l l e c t i o n s  a f t e r  refunds; 
i n f o rma t i on  on s i m i l a r  taxes i n  ne ighbor ing s ta tes  and o t h e r  
s ta tes ;  and s i m i l a r  f ede ra l  taxes t h a t  are lev ied .  Add i t i ona l  
i n f o rma t i on  may have been added t o  a s s i s t  i n  understanding 
c e r t a i n  taxes and t h e i r  app l i ca t i on .  The d e s c r i p t i o n s  f o r  each 
t a x  have been summarized t o  p rov ide  a  bas ic  understanding o f  
each tax.  Technical  d e t a i l s  may have been omit ted. 

Th is  i n fo rma t i on  was obta ined from the  Colorado Revised 
Statutes,  (C.R.S.), and t he  Session Laws o f  Colorado, 1877 
through 1987. The revenue c o l l e c t i o n  f i g u r e s  are from t h e  annual 
r e p o r t s  o f  the  Department o f  Revenue and the  D i v i s i o n  o f  
Accounts and Contro l  unless otherwise noted. I n fo rma t i on  on 
taxes i n  o the r  s ta tes  and federa l  taxes was obta ined from t h e  
Commerce C lear ing  House S ta te  Tax Guide and Federal Tax Guide. 



Cigarette Tax 


Enacted: 1964 


Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XXIV, Colorado 

Constitution; Title 39, Article 28, C.R.S., and section 39-22-623, 

C.R.S. 


Tax Base: Cigarettes, imposed at the wholesale level. 


Present Rate: Twenty cents per package of twenty cigarettes or ten 

mills (1 cent) per cigarette. (Cigarettes are not subject to the state 

sales or use taxes.) 


Administrat ion and Col lection: The Department of Revenue is 

responsible for administering the cigarette tax. The tax is imposed on 

wholesalers, and payment of the tax is evidenced by stamps affixed to 

cigarette packages or by a metered imprint. Metering machines are 

inspected, read, and set once a month. At the time of inspection the 

metering machine is set to a number requested by the wholesaler. The 

amount of tax is determined based on the setting, less the discount of 

four percent of the face value of stamps. Payment is due on or before 

the twentieth day following the setting of the metering machine. 

Wholesalers purchasing stamps must pay the tax on or before the 

twentieth day following purchase to receive the four percent discount. 


History of Tax Rates: Cigarettes were subject to the state sales 

and use taxes prior to their exemption from the sales and use tax base 

in 1959. From 1959 to 
cigarettes in Colorado. 

1964 there were no state-imposed taxes on 

Effective Date 
Tax Rate 

Per Cigarette 
Tax per Package 

of 20 Cigarettes 

July 1, 1964 
June 1, 1965 

1.5 mills 
2.5 mills 

3 cents 
5 cents 

July 1, 1973 
July 1, 1977 

5.0 mills 
7.5 mills 

10 cents 
15 cents 

July 1, 1978 5.0 mills 10 cents 
Nov. 1, 1983 7.5 mills 15 cents 
July 1, 1986 10.0 mills 20 cents 

Disposition of Revenue: Article XXIV of the Colorado Constitution 

creates the old age pension fund (OAPF) and provides for the funding 

of its basic requirements from excise taxes, retail business license 

fees, alcoholic beverage taxes, inheritance tax fees, incorporation 

fees and other money the General Assembly may allocate. Funds 

remaining after meeting the basic requirements of the OAPF are then 

credited to the general fund. 




Since July 1, 1973, local governments have been entitled to a 

share in the proceeds of the state cigarette tax. In order to qualify 

for these moneys, local governments are prohibited from imposing fees, 

licenses, or taxes on any person as a condition for engaging in the 

sale of cigarettes, and they are prohibited from taxing cigarettes. 

Beginning July 1, 1987, local governments will be apportioned an 

amount equal to 27 percent of the proceeds from the entire twenty-cent 

tax. The funds are distributed to cities and towns in proportion to 

the amount of state sales tax collected in a jurisdiction relative to 

all state sales taxes collected. Funds are distributed to counties 

based on the percentage that collections in the unincorporated area of 

the county bear to sales tax revenues statewide. Distributions to 

local governments are made monthly. 


Distribution of Cigarette Tax Revenues 
($  in Millions) 

Fiscal State City and 

Year Share County Share 


Collections: 

Cigarette Tax Receipts 
($  in Millions) 

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent 
Year Collections Change Year Collections Change 

(Source: Accounts and Control for both tab les.) 

Other States: Cigarette taxes are imposed in all 50 states. The tax 
ranges from two cents per pack in North Carolina to 38 cents per 
pack in Minnesota. Hawaii's tax rate is 40 percent of the 
wholesale price. The national average, excluding Hawaii, is 
approximately 17.7 cents per pack. Tax rates for neighboring states 

are as follows. 




approximately 17.7 cents per pack. Tax ra tes  f o r  neighboring s ta tes  
are as fo l lows.  

Rate per Pack 
State o f  20 C igare t tes  

Arizona 15 cents 
Kansas 24 cents 
Nebraska 27 cents 
New Mex ico 15 cents 
Oklahoma 23 cents 
Utah 23 cents 
Wyoming 8 cents 

Federal Tax: 

Small c i ga re t tes  $8 per thousand 
(weighing no more (16 cents per pack) 
than 3 pounds per thousand) 

Large c iga re t tes  $16.80 per thousand 
(weighing more than (33.6 cents per pack) 
3 pounds per thousand) 



Estate and Gift Taxes 


I. Estate Tax 


Enacted: 1927 -- Inheritance and Succession Tax (not appl icabl e 
to estates of decedents dying on or after 1/1/80) 1980 -- Estate Tax 
(replaced inheritance tax) 

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XXIV, Colorado 

Constitution; Title 39, Articles 23 (Inheritance) and 23.5 (Estate), 

C.R.S. 


Tax Base: Tax is imposed on the transfer of the taxable estate of 

every deceased domiciliary, nondomiciliary, and alien in Colorado. An 

additional 10 percent fee on the tax payable is also imposed under 

provisions of the Colorado Public Assistance Act (section 26-2-113 (2) 

(a) (11), C.R.S.). 


Present Rate: The rate is an amount equal to the federal estate tax 

credit for state death taxes. The estate's total tax bill remains the 

same but part of the money, equal to the federal estate tax credit, 

goes to Colorado. This is called a "pick up" or 'gap'' tax. If there is 

no liability for federal taxes, there is no liability for Colorado 

taxes. 


If The Adjusted The Maximum Tax Plus % Applied 
Taxable Estate is Credit Shall Be To Excess Over 

$0 but not over 0% 
$40,000 

Over $40,000 to .8% over $40,000 
$90,000 

Over $90,000to 1.6% over $90,000 
$140,000 

Over $140,000 to 2.4% over $140,000 
$24O,OOO 

Over $240,000 to 3.2% over $240,000 
$440,000 

Over $440,000 to 4.0% over $440,000 
$640,000 

Over $640,000 to 4.8% over $640,000 
$84O,OOO 

Over $840,000 to 5.6% over $840,000 
$1,040,000 

Over $1,040,000 to 6.4% over $1,040,000 
$1,540,000 

Over $1,540,000 to 7.2% over $1,540,000 
$2,040,000 



If The Adjusted The Maximum Tax Plus % Applied 
Taxable Estate is Credit Shall Be To Excess Over 

Over $2,040,000 to 8.0% over $2,040,000 

$2,54O,OOO 


Over $2,540,000 to 8.8% over $2,540,000 

$3,040,000 


Over $3,040,000 to 9.6% over $3,040,000 

$3,540,000 


Over $3,540,000 to 10.4% over $3,540,000 

$4,040,000 


Over $4,040,000 to 11.2% over $4,040,000 

$5,040,000 


Over $5,040,000 to 12.0% over $5,040,000 

$6,040,000 


Over $6,040,000 to 12.8% over $6,040,000 

$7,040,000 


Over $7,040,000 to 13.6% over $7,040,000 

$8,040,000 


Over $8,040,000 to 14.4% over $8,040,000 

$9,040,000 


Over $9,040,000 to 15.2% over $9,040,000 

$10,040,000 


Over $lO,O4O,OOO 16.0% over $10,040,000 


If the property of a deceased resident is subject to an estate 

tax by another state(s), the amount of Colorado tax due may be reduced 

by the lesser of the following two amounts: 


(1) 	The amount of tax paid the other state tax that is a credit 

against the federal state tax; 


(2) 	An amount determined by multiplying the federal credit by a 

fraction, the numerator being the value of the gross estate 

minus the value of the property included in the gross estate 

and the denominator being the resident's gross estate. 


Colorado also taxes the transfer of the gross estate of a 

nonresident who has property within the state. The amount of the tax 
is determined by multiplying the federal credit by a fraction, the 
numerator of which is the property value located in Colorado that is 
included in the gross estate and the denominator is the value of the 
gross estate. 

Administration: Department of Revenue 

Collection Period: On or before the date the federal return is 
required to be filed. 

History of Tax Rates: Until 1980, Colorado's inheritance and 
succession tax applied. The tax had graduated rates that varied In 
amount for different classes of beneficiaries. Those beneficiaries 

having the closest relationship to the decedent were subject to lower 




t a x  r a t e s  than those w i t h  a  more d i s t a n t  r e l a t i o n s h i p .  The 1927 t a x  
r a t e s  were n o t  increased u n t i l  1967 and were increased again  i n  1977. 
The s t a t u t o r y  p rov i s i ons  f o r  t he  i nhe r i t ance  t a x  remain i n  f u l l  f o r c e  
and e f f e c t  u n t i l  a l l  such revenue i s  co l l ec ted .  The new e s t a t e  t a x  law 
taxes a l l  b e n e f i c i a r i e s  a t  t h e  same r a t e  and does no t  cons ider  t h e  
b e n e f i c i a r i e s  r e l a t i o n s h i p  t o  t he  deceased. 

D i s p o s i t i o n  o f  Revenue: A f t e r  requirements of t he  o l d  age pens ion  
fund have been s a t i s f i e d ,  the  remainder i s  c r e d i t e d  t o  t h e  genera l  
fund (see page 9 ) .  

Co l l ec t i ons :  

I nhe r i t ance  and Es ta te  Tax Receipts 

Percent 
Year I nhe r i t ance  Tax Es ta te  Tax To ta l  Change 

1977 
1978 10.7% 
1979 7.5 
1980 5.6 
1981 -71.0 

1982 79.7 
1983 -29.9 
1984 17.2 
1985 34.2 
1986 - 2.4 
1987 38.4 

(Source: Department of Revenue. ) 

Other States:  Es ta te  o r  i nhe r i t ance  taxes a re  now imposed by a l l  50 
s ta tes .  Twenty-one s t a t e s  have bo th  an i n h e r i t a n c e  and e s t a t e  t a x  i n  
e f f e c t .  Twenty-seven s t a t e s  impose an e s t a t e  t a x  o n l y  ( t a x  on t h e  n e t  
e s t a t e  o f  decedent). Colorado 's  ne ighbor ing s t a t e s  impose e s t a t e  taxes  
based on t h e  federa l  c r e d i t .  Kansas and Nebraska impose an i n h e r i t a n c e  
t a x  i n  a d d i t i o n  t o  t h e i r  e s t a t e  tax .  

Federal  Es ta te  Tax: A f ede ra l  e s t a t e  t a x  i s  imposed on a l l  t r a n s f e r s  
of a  t axab le  e s t a t e  o f  every decedent t h a t  i s  a  r e s i d e n t  o r  a c i t i z e n  
of t h e  Un i ted  States.  A u n i f i e d  t a x  c r e d i t  and c r e d i t s  f o r  s t a t e  death 
taxes a re  al lowed. 



II.G i f t  Tax 

Enacted: 1937 

S t a t u t o r y  C i t a t i o n :  T i t l e  39, A r t i c l e  25, C.R.S. 

Tax Base: Al though t h e  s t a t e  rece ives  a  smal l  amount o f  revenue f rom 
the  tax ,  Colorado no longer  imposes a  g i f t  tax .  O r i g i n a l l y ,  t h e  t a x  
was imposed on t h e  t r a n s f e r  o f  p rope r t y  by g i f t  by any i n d i v i d u a l ,  
r es i den t ,  o r  nonres ident ,  bu t  t he  t ax  now app l i es  on l y  t o  t r a n s f e r s  of 
p rope r t y  by g i f t  which occurred on o r  be fo re  December 31, 1979. 

Present Rate: The s t a t u t e s  se t  f o u r  c lasses o f  b e n e f i c i a r i e s  w i t h  
graduated t a x  r a t e s  under each c lass.  To i l l u s t r a t e ,  t h e  lowest  and 
h ighes t  r a t e s  f o r  t h e  f o u r  c lasses a re  shown below. 

Low and Hiqh Tax Ranges f o r  G i f t  Taxes 

Class A Class B Class C Class D  

In-law, 
Parent, grandparent, Uncle, aunt, Other persons 

spouse, c h i l d  b ro ther ,  s i s t e r  niece, nephew and co rpo ra t i ons  

2% f o r  g i f t s  3% f o r  g i f t s  4% f o r  g i f t s  7% f o r  g i f t s  
no t  over  no t  over no t  over  no t  over  
$50,000; 810,000; $2,500; $2,500; 

8% f o r  g i f t s  10% f o r  g i f t s  14% f o r  g  i f t s  16% f o r  g  i f t s  
i n  excess o f  i n  excess o f  i n  excess o f  i n  excess of 
$500,000 $200,000 $500,000 $5OO,OOO 

Admin is t ra t ion :  Department o f  Revenue 

C o l l e c t i o n  Period: The t ax  app l i es  t o  t r a n s f e r s  of p rope r t y  by g i f t  
on o r  be fo re  December 31, 1979. The s t a t u t o r y  p r o v i s i o n s  f o r  t h i s  t a x  
remain i n  f u l l  f o r c e  and e f f e c t  u n t i l  a l l  such revenue i s  c o l l e c t e d .  

D i  spos it ion of Revenue: General fund 



Collections: 


Gift Tax Receipts 
( $  in Millions) 

Fiscal 
Year Revenue 

Fiscal 
Year Revenue 

(Source: Department of Revenue. ) 

Other States: Delaware, Louisiana, New York, North Carolina, South 

Carolina, Tennessee, and Wisconsin impose a gift tax. 




Gross Ton-Mile Tax 


Enacted: 1927 


Statutory Citation: Section 42-3-123 (l4), ( 1 )  ( 6 ,  and (l7), 

C.R.S. 


Tax Base: The gross ton-mile (GTM) tax is applied to owners or 

operators of trucks registered as metro vehicles when operating beyond 

their permitted radius and to all other trucks, truck trailers, 

trailers, and semitrailers having an empty weight exceeding 10,000 

pounds. The amount of the tax is based on the number of miles the 

vehicle travels on public roads in Colorado and the empty weight and 

cargo weight of the truck in tons. Trucks subject to the ton-mile tax 

pay an annual registration fee and the GTM tax. The GTM is an 

alternative available to payment of higher motor vehicle registration 

fees. 


Present Rate: 


1) 0.8 mill (.08 of one cent) upon each gross ton-mile of empty 

vehicle weight; and 


2) 2 mil 1s (.2 of one cent) upon each gross ton-mi le of cargo 

weight. 


Exemptions: 


--	 Motor vehicles operated by a manufacturer, dealer, or 
transporter of motor vehicles, 

--	 Farm trucks or truck tractors, -- Vehicles specially 
constructed for towing, wrecking and repairing, 

--	 Vehicles owned by the state or any political or governmental 
subdivision thereof, 


-- Operator-owned vehicles transporting racehorses, 

-- Veterinary mobile truck units, 

-- Any metro vehicle having an empty weight less than 16,000 

pounds, 
-- Any noncommercial or recreational vehicle. 

Exempted vehicles must still pay an annual registration fee. 


Administration: Department of Revenue 


Collection Period: Owners or operators are required to pay annually a 

nonrefundable minimum fee of $150 with the first month's return. 

Returns are due on or before the twenty-fifth of each month for miles 

traveled the preceding month. First time permit applicants are 

required to pay a nonrefundable $150 fee at the time of application or 

a prorated amount if there is less than a full calendar year. Taxes in 

excess of the first $150 may be filed on a quarterly basis. 




History of Tax Rates: 


Year 	 Rate 


1927 --	 5 mills (.5 of one cent) per ton-mile (ton-mile was the 
cargo weight multiplied by the miles carried, divided by 
2,000) 

1935 --	3 mills (-3 of one cent) per ton-mile 

1937 --	2 mills (.2 of one cent) per ton-mile 

1954 --	1.5 mills (-15 of one cent) for each gross ton-mile 
traveled by every truck, truck tractor, trailer or semi 
trailer having an empty weight in excess of 4,500 pounds 

1955 --	The present rate was adopted 

Disposition of Revenue: GTM taxes are credited to the highway users 

tax fund. 


Collections: 
Gross Ton-Mile Tax Receipts 

($  in Millions) 

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent 

Year Collections Change Year Collections Change 


1977 $18.9 - 1.1% 
1978 20.3 - 2.5 
1979 21.8 20.4 
1980 22.9 5.8 
198 1 24.6 2.0 

2.9 


(Source: Department of Revenue. Totals include the collections from 
the passenger-mi le tax which averages approximately $300,000 
per year. ) 

Other States: Most states, in addition to registration fees on 

contract carriers through the purchase of a certificate of convenience 
-
and necessity, impose a gross receipts tax on income received from 

within a state, a ton-mile or passenger-mile tax, or flat rate 

privilege tax based on the weight or carrying capacity of the vehicle. 

Most states require either the purchase of a certificate of 

convenience and necessity or payment of a flat rate privilege tax. 

Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, and Utah impose flat fees on contract 

carriers. Arizona, New Mexico, and Wyoming impose carrier taxes based 

on miles traveled and vehicle weight. 




Income Taxes 


I. Corporate 


Enacted: 1937 


Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, section 17, 

Colorado Constitution, adopted by vote of the people, November 3, 

1936; Article X, section 19, Colorado Constitution, adopted by vote of 

the people November 6, 1962; Title 39, Article 22, Part 3, C.R.S. 


Tax Base: Income generated by property in the state and from 

activities carried on in the state, whether carried on in intrastate, 

interstate, or foreign commerce, is subject to the corporate income 

tax. 


Present Rate: 


Tax Years Beginning After July 1, 1986 but Before July 1, 1987 


Net Income Rate 


First $50,000 5.25% 

Over $50,000 to $200,000 $2,625 plus 6.0% on 


income above $50,000 

Over $200,000 $10,875 plus 6.0% on 


income above $200,000 


Tax Years Beginning After July 1, 1987 But Before July 1, 1988 


$50,000 or Less 5.5% 

Over $50,000 $2,750 plus 6.0% on net 


income above $50,000 


Tax Years Beginning After July 1, 1988 But Before July 1, 1989 


$50,000 or Less 5.0% 

Over $50,000 $2,500 plus 5.5% on net 


income above $50,000 


For tax years beginning July 1, 1989, the tax rate on income of 
$50,000 or less is set at five percent (5%). Beginning July 1, 1990, a 
rate of 5.4 percent will apply to income in excess of $50,000. Each 
year thereafter, the rate wi 1 1  decrease one tenth of one percent (. 1%)
until July 1, 1993, when the tax rate is to remain at 5.0 percent on 
all income. 



History of Tax Rates: 


Tax Years Beginning After January 1 


4% 5% 5%with 5% with 5% 

20% credit 15% credit 


(one year only) 


Tax Years Beqinning After January 1, 1981 


Taxable Income Rate 


First $25,000 4% 

Over $25,000 to $50,000 $1,000 plus 4.5% on 


i ncome above $25,000 

Over $50,000 $2,125 plus 5.0% on 


i ncome above $50,000 


Tax Years Beginninq After January 1, 1982 


First $25,000 Same as 1981 (4%) 

Over $25,000 to $75,000 $1,000 plus 4.5% on 


i ncome above $25,000 

Over $75,000 $3,250 plus 5.0% on 


income above $75,000 


Tax Years Beginning After January 1, 1983 

Through June 30, 1986 


Rate -- Flat 5% on taxable income 

Determi nation of Corporate Income: Prior to 1985, Colorado 

employed the unitary method of computing corporate income (H.B. 1010, 

1985 session). Under this method, corporate income from a1 1 sources 

was considered in the determination of taxable income. As amended in 

1985, Colorado excludes income from foreign sources of corporations 

doing business in Colorado if 80 percent or more of the corporation's 

property and payroll is located outside the United States. 


Interstate and international companies may choose a two or three 
factor formula when apportioning income subject to Colorado taxation. 
Colorado's two factors represent: a company's Colorado income 
producing property (owned or rented) as a percentage of the company's 
total income producing property; and the company's Colorado revenue as 
a percentage of the company's total revenues. The Multistate Tax 
Compact, of which Colorado is a member, adds a third factor -- payroll 
attributable to Colorado as a percentage of the company's total 
payroll. The Department of Revenue may also make other rules for 
apportioning a company's income when unusual circumstances dictate. 



The actual determination of taxable income in Colorado closely 

follows federal corporate taxable income. There are, however, several 

additions, credits, deductions, and modifications that may change the 

final income figure and the taxes paid. The major corporate tax 

credits, and their corresponding reduction in tax liability, are 

listed below. However, these credits, except the investment tax credit 

(ITC), applied to specific years and have expired. These credits are 

still being claimed because of carry forward provisions in the law. 

The credits listed below will decline in the future. 


House Bill 1331, 1987 session, adopted the definitions for 

property qualifying for the investment tax credit (ITC) from federal 

tax law before federal tax reform. The bill also allows taxpayers to 

continue to claim a ten percent (10%) ITC beginning January 1, 1988 
for property used in Colorado. The credit may not exceed $1,000 for 
any tax year. 

Credit Taken 
Credits 1985-86 

(millions) 

Investment tax credit $ 13.5 
New business facilities tax credit 1.4 
Comerci a1 energy tax credit . 3  
Inventory property tax credit 

Total $754 
Administration: Department of Revenue 

Collection Period: The due date of the tax return is the fifteenth 

day of the fourth month following the close of the corporation's 

fiscal year. A provision for estimated payments of four equal 

installments is required if tax liability can reasonably be expected 

to exceed $5,000. 


Disposition of Revenue: A small portion (1.3% in FY 1987) of all 

income taxes are apportioned to cities and towns and to unincorporated 

areas as a method to distribute a share of cigarette taxes (39-22-623, 

C.R.S.). In addition, House Bill 1350 transfers about 3.3 percent of 

all income taxes to the highway users tax fund for FY 1988 (see 

highway users tax fund page 10). The remainder is credited to the 

state general fund. 




Co l l ec t i ons :  

Corporate Income Tax Receipts 
($ i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i s c a l  Percent F i s c a l  Percent 
Year- Col l e c t  ions  Chanqe -Year C o l l e c t i o n s  Chanqe 

4.7% 
-25.1 
41.5 

-16.3 
57.8 
9.8 

Other States:  F i ve  s ta tes  -- Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, 
and Wyoming -- do n o t  impose an income t a x  on corpora t ions .  Most 
s t a t e s  t a x  a t  a f l a t  r a t e  w h i l e  some s ta tes  use t he  same graduated 
r a t e s  f o r  co rpora t ions  as i nd i v i dua l s .  Colorado 's  ne ighbor ing  s t a t e s  
impose a corporate income t a x  a t  t he  r a t e s  sununarized below. 

F l a t  o r  Number o f  
Graduated Taxable Tax i s  Range o f  

S ta te  Rate Classes Based On Rates 

A r  izona Graduated 7 FTI * 2.5% t o  10.57% 
Kansas F l a t  1 FTI 4.5 
Nebraska Graduated 2 FTI 4.75 t o  6.65 
New Mexico Graduated 3 FTI 4.8 t o  7.6 
Oklahoma F l a t  1 FTI 5.O 
Utah F l a t  1 G I f *  l e s s  5.0 

deduct ions 
Wyomi ng No income tax -- -- --

* Federal Taxable Income 
** Gross Income 

Federal  Tax: P r i o r  t o  the  passage o f  t he  Federal  Tax Reform Act o f  
1986, t h e  f ede ra l  corporate t ax  r a t e  fo l lowed t he  graduated r a t e s  
1isted on page 32. 



Taxable 
Income Over But Not Over 

Tax Rate 
Ipe rcen t ) 

15% 
18 
30 
40 
46 

46% (graduated) p lus  a 5% sur- 
tax on ne t  taxable income over 
$l,OOO,OOO 

$1,405,000 and above F l a t  46% (no t  graduated) on ne t  
taxable income 

New federa l  corporate tax ra tes  were f u l l y  e f f e c t i v e  on J u l y  1, 
1987. Corporations whose tax year inc ludes t h i s  date must p ro ra te  
t h e i r  tax a l low ing  the use o f  lower ra tes  a f t e r  Ju l y  1, 1987. The o l d  
r a t e s  (15 through 46 percent) were reduced t o  three r a t e s  us ing  the  
f o l l o w i n g  schedule: 

Taxable Income 	 Rate (graduated) 

F i r s t  $50,000 15% 
Over $50,000 t o  $75,000 25 
Over $75,000 t o  $100,000 34 

Over $100,000 	 5% sur tax up t o  
maximum o f  $11,750 
t o  phase ou t  graduated 
r a t e  bene f i t s  



Income Tax 


11. Personal 


Enacted: 1937 


Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X ,  sect i on  17, 
Colorado Constitution. added by vote of the ~ e o ~ l e  1936:November 3. 
. . 
Title 39, Article 22,-C.R.S. -

1987 Tax Reform: The 1987 General Assembly adopted House Bill 1331 
which reformed Colorado's income tax laws. The purposes of the . reform. 

were stated as simplifying state tax preparation, aiding in tax law 

interpretation through use of federal determinations, and improving 

enforcement. 


Tax Base: The Colorado personal income tax follows federal law to 

arrive at an individual's filing status and federal taxable income 

(which is the basis for calculating Colorado tax liability). Federal 

taxable income includes the federal personal exemption ($1,900) and 

standard deduction ($2,540 single and $3,760 married). Colorado 

taxable income is determined by adding or subtracting the following 

modifications from the federal taxable income. 


Additions Subtractions 


Federal net operating loss Pension, annuity, and self 

carryover retirement income exclusion 


Lump-sum distribution deducted Military retirement income 

from income at federa 1 level exclusion 


Interest income of out of state State income tax refund 

municipal bonds or other state's reported on federal return 

bonds 


Federal bond interest 


Gain or loss resulting from 

sale of property having a 

higher Colorado basis than 

federal 


Net operating loss deduction 

carried over from a taxable 

year prior to January 1, 1987 


Once Colorado taxable income is determined, taxable income is 

multiplied by the tax rate to determine Colorado gross tax liability. 

The gross tax liability is then reduced by the amounts of allowable 

tax credits to determine the net tax liability. 




Present Rate: Five percent (5%) "flat taxu 


Alternative minimum tax. In addition to the five percent flat 

tax, an alternative minimum tax (AMT) is imposed at a rate of three 

and seventy-five one hundredths percent (3.75%). The AMT is imposed on 

the federal alternative minimum taxable income after applying Colorado 

modifications. 


Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue 


Collection Period: Due April 15 unless an extension is granted by the 

Department of Revenue. 


Hi story of Tax Changes: 


1963 - 1986 
Net Statutory- Rate with 

Taxable Income 1937 1947 1959 Rate 1/2% Credit 11 1978 1987 

10,000 to 10,999 6.0 9.0 9.0 $1 8.0 7.5 

11,000 and over 10.0 


-11 This was the effective tax rate for years when the one-half 
percent credit applied. 

-21 Same tax brackets as 1963 adjusted yearly by the annual inflation 
factor (AIF) . 

-31 Tax rate of 5% on taxable income. 
-41 1959 -- All net income $10,000 and above was taxed at 9% and the 

income bracket of $11,000 and over was eliminated. 

Past Colorado provisions. Since the beginning of the Colorado 

personal income tax, a surtax was imposed at a flat rate on dividends 

from corporate stock, royalties, interest from money, notes, credits, 

bonds, and other securities. Colorado also allowed certain percentage 

credits against the Colorado personal income tax. -In addition, 




Colorado adopted an annual i n f l a t i o n  f a c t o r  (AIF) o r  indexing i n  1978. 
This  fac tor  was set  each year by the General Assembly and app l ied  t o  
the  tax  brackets, the  standard deduction, and the personal exemption 
t o  prevent an increase i n  tax l i a b i l i t y  due p r i m a r i l y  t o  i n f l a t i o n .  
These prov is ions were repealed w i t h  enactment o f  the  "Tax Reform Act 
o f  1987," except the  personal exemption which was set  a t  zero. For 
add i t i ona l  in format ion on these prov is ions  see the  1986 Tax Handbook. 

D ispos i t i on  o f  Revenue: A small p o r t i o n  (1.3 percent i n  FY 1987) o f  
income taxes are apportioned t o  c i t i e s  and towns and t o  unincorporated 
areas as a method t o  d i s t r i b u t e  a share o f  c i g a r e t t e  taxes (39-22-623, 
C.R.S.). I n  addi t ion,  House B i l l  1350 t rans fe rs  about 3.3 percent t o  
the  highway users tax fund f o r  FY 1988. (See highway users tax  fund 
page 10). The remainder i s  c red i ted  t o  the general fund. 

Col lect ions:  

Personal Income Tax Receipts 
($  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i sca l  Percent F isca l  Percent 
Year Revenues Change Year Revenues Change 

Other States: Nine s ta tes  levy a f l a t  income tax  ra te ,  and s i x  s ta tes  
-- F lor ida ,  Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming -- do 
not  levy a personal income tax. T h i r t y - f i v e  s ta tes  use a graduated 
r a t e  system. Neighboring s ta tes  impose personal income taxes as 
summarized below. 

Based On Number o f  
F l a t  o r  Federa 1 J o i n t  F i l i n g  

Sta te  Graduated Income Taxable Classes 

Arizona Graduated Yes 
Kansas Graduated Yes 
Nebraska F l a t  Yes 
New Mexico Graduated Yes 

Okl ahoma Graduated Yes 
Utah Graduated Yes 
Wyoming No income tax  



Federal Income Tax: The federa l  income tax i s  assessed on a graduated 
tax  schedule. Federal law before the  1986 t ax  reform contained 14 o r  
15 percentage r a t e s  which ranged from 1 1  t o  50 percent, depending on 
taxable income. 

For the  1987 t ax  year, the  14 o r  15 d i f f e r e n t  t ax  r a t e s  were 
reduced t o  the  ra tes  shown below: 

Income Rate 

J o i n t  r e t u r n  b 0-$3,000 11% 

3,001 - 28,000 15 

28,001 - 45,000 28 
45,001 - 90,000 35 
90,001 and above 38.5 

Single r e t u r n  0 - b 1,800 11% 

1,801 - 16,800 15 

16,801 - 27,000 28 
27,000 - 54,000 35 
54,001 and above 38.5 

S t a r t i n g  i n  1988, a surcharge o f  5 percent w i l l  be added t o  
high-income taxpayers. This  surcharge has the e f f e c t  o f  e l i m i n a t i n g  
the  graduated r a t e  and charging a f l a t  28 percent r a t e  against  h igher  
income taxpayers. The tax  ra tes  f o r  1988 and a f t e r  are shown below. 

Single r e t u r n  - F i r s t  $17,850 -- 15% (graduated) 
- Over $17,850 t o  $43,750 -- 28% 

J o i n t  r e t u r n  - F i r s t  $29,750 -- 15% 
- Over $29,750 t o  $71,900 -- 28% 

- Above $43,750 ( s i n g l e )  and $71,900 
( j o i n t )  5% surcharge 



Insurance Premiums Tax 

Enacted: 1913 

S ta tu to ry  C i ta t ions :  Sect ions 10-3-209, 10-5-111, 10-6-128, 
31-30-1014 (3),  (5), (6), C.R.S. 

Tax Base: This  tax i s  imposed on the  gross amount of a l l  premiums 
from insurance p o l i c i e s  covering proper ty  o r  r i s k s  i n  t h i s  s ta te .  The 
law app l ies  t o  a l l  companies and types of business which engage i n  
w r i t i n g  insurance p o l i c i e s  o r  con t rac ts  ( regard less of the  type o f  
insurance po l  i c y )  . 
Present Rates: 2.25 percent f o r  a non-Colorado company; 1 percent f o r  
a company mainta in ing a home o f f i c e  o r  reg iona l  home o f f i c e  i n  
Colorado; 1 percent f o r  cap t ive  insurance companies; and 2 percent  f o r  
surp lus l i n e  insurance. 

Exemptions: 

-- f r a t e r n a l  and benevolent associat ions; 
-- mutual p r o t e c t i v e  associat ions w r i t i n g  crop h a i l  

insurance on t h a t  p o r t i o n  o f  the  premium designated t o  
the  loss  fund; 

-- p o l i c i e s  issued before 1959 by domestic insurance 
companies mainta in ing t h e i r  p r i n c i p a l  p lace o f  
business i n  t h i s  s t a t e  and having 30 percent o f  i t s  
assets invested i n  county, c i t y ,  town, d i s t r i c t ,  o r  
t h i s  s t a t e ' s  bonds o r  warrants; 

-- premiums contracted f o r  a f t e r  December 31, 1968 on 
p o l i c i e s  i n  connection w i t h  a pension, p r o f i t  sharing, 
o r  annuit y  p l  an. 

Admin is t ra t ion  and Co l lec t ion :  Department o f  Regulatory Agencies, 
D i v i s i o n  o f  Insurance 

C o l l e c t i o n  Period: Due on the  f i r s t  day o f  March i n  each year f o r  t he  
preceding calendar year. Q u a r t e r l y  payments are requ i red  f o r  companies 
t h a t  were l i a b l e  f o r  a tax o f  $5,000 o r  more dur ing  the  preceding 
calendar year. 

H i s t o r y  o f  Rates: 

1913 2.0% A l l  companies 
-- Companies w i t h  50% o r  more o f  t h e i r  assets i n  

Colorado bonds o r  warrants were exempt 

1949 2.0% 	 Surplus l i n e  insurance ( insurance no t  otherwise 
ava i l ab le  i n  Colorado purchased through l icensed 
brokers from "unauthorized" insurance companies (e.g., 
L loyds))  

1959 2.25% A1l companies 



1.0 	 % Companies w i t h  50% o r  more o f  t h e i r  assets i n  Colorado 
bonds o r  warrants 

1960 2.25% 	 A l l  companies 
1.0 	 Companies w i t h  30% o r  more o f  t h e i r  assets i n  Colorado 

bonds o r  warrants 

1969 2.25% 	 A l l  companies 
1.0 	 % Companies ma in ta in ing  a  home o r  r eg iona l  o f f i c e  i n  t h e  

s t a t e  

1972 1.0% 	 Capt ive insurance companies (who l l y  owned subs id i a r y  
companies t h a t  insure  o n l y  the  r i s k s  o f  t h e  paren t  
company) 

D i s p o s i t i o n  of Revenue: Moneys a re  c r e d i t e d  t o  the  genera l  fund, 
however, each year  over $20 m i l l i o n  o f  c o l l e c t i o n s  have been 
t r a n s f e r r e d  t o  t he  f i r e  and p o l i c e  members' b e n e f i t  fund f o r  f i r emen ' s  
and pol icemen's pension unfunded l i a b i l i t y ,  f o r  death and d i s a b i l i t y  
insurance, and f o r  vo lun teer  f iremen. The FY 1987 fund t r a n s f e r  was 
n o t  made and t h e  amount t r ans fe r red  f o r  FY 1988 was reduced t o  $5.5 
m i l l i o n  (S.B. 196 and S.B. 243, 1987 session).  (See page 15 f o r  f i r e  
and po l  i c e  members ' b e n e f i t  fund .) 
Co l lec t ions :  

Insurance Premium Tax Receipts 
($ i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i s c a l  Percent F i s c a l  Percent 
Year Co l l ec t i ons  Change Year C o l l e c t i o n s  Change 

Other States:  A l l  50 s ta tes  impose a  t ax  on insurance companies. The 
r a t e  i s  u s u a l l y  a  f i x e d  percentage o f  t he  taxab le  gross premiums. Some 
s ta tes  a l s o  have a  h igher  t ax  on f o r e i g n  corpora t ions  and reduce t h e  
r a t e  ifa c e r t a i n  amount o f  a  company's assets are inves ted  i n  t h e  
s t a t e .  Many s ta tes  impose a tax  on f i r e  insurance companies f o r  t h e  
support  o f  t he  f i r e  marshal o r  au thor i ze  c i t i e s  t o  l evy  such a t a x  f o r  
support of the  l o c a l  f i r e  department. 



Liquor Taxes 


Enacted: 1935 


Statutory Citations: Section 12-46-111, C.R.S. -- Fermented Ma1 t 
Beverages; section 12-47-127, C.R.S. -- Alcoholic Beverages 

Tax Base: The tax i s  imposed on the manufacturer or the first 
wholesaler within the state and applies to the following alcoholic 
beverages: 

Fermented malt beverages -- any beverage obtained by the 
fermentation of barley, malt, hops, or similar product containing 
between 0.5 percent and 3.2 percent alcohol by weight that can be sold 
to persons 21 years old or older or who were 18 years of age on or 
before July 30, 1987 (H.B. 1320, 1987 session). 

Malt liquors -- beer and any beverage obtained by the 
fermentation of barley, malt, hops or similar product contain ing more 
than 3.2 percent of alcohol by weight that can be sold only to 
individuals 21 years of age or older. 

Medicinal spiri tous 1 iquors -- any alcoholic beverage, except 
beer and wine, which is at least 100 proof. 

Special malt liquors -- malt liquors which contain between 0.5 
percent and 2 percent alcohol by weight. 

Spiritous liquors -- any alcohol ic beverage obtained by 
distillation and mixed with water and other substances in solution, 
including brandy, rum, whiskey, gin, and every liquid or solid 
containing alcohol that is fit for use for beverage purposes. 

Vinous liquors -- wine and fortified wines not exceeding 21 
percent of alcohol by volume. 

Special provisions are included for "1 imi ted wineries" which are 

establishments manufacturing not more than 100,000 gallons, or the 

metric equivalent thereof, of vinous liquors annually which use not 

less than 75 percent Colorado-grown products in the manufacture of 

such vinous liquors. 


Present Rates: 


Fermented malt beverage -- 8 cents per gallon 
Malt liquors -- 8 cents per gallon 
Vinous liquors -- 7.33 cents per liter 

Limited winery -- .7 cents per liter 
Spiritous liquors - - 60.26 cents per liter 



Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue 


Collection Period: Twentieth day of each month for the preceding 

month's sales 


Exempt ions : 

-- sacramental wines sold and used for religious purposes; 

-- vinous liquor made for family use and not for sale; 

-- wines sold at public auction where the purpose is to dispose 


of liquor obtained by reason of salvage of damaged shipments, 

foreclosure of a lawful lien, or by failure of an owner to 

claim or furnish instructions as to the disposition thereof. 


History of Tax Rates: 

Liquor Tax Rates in Colorado 
(in cents) 

1935- 1959- 1976- 1977- 1981 1983 

Malt liquors 3 cents 6 cents 8 cents 8 cents 8 cents 8 cents 
(per gallon) 

Fermented malt 
beverage (per 
gallon) 

Vinous Liquor 
(per 1 i ter) 

14% or less 
alcohol 

more than 
14% alcohol 

Vinous-limited 
wineries 
(per 1 i ter) 

14% or less 
alcohol 

more than 
14% alcohol 

Spiritous liquors 
(per 1 i ter) 


-11 Sealed bottles with two ounces or less were taxed at 5 cents per 
bottle. 



Disposition of Revenue: After the requirements of the old age pension

fund have been satisfied, the remainder is credited to the general 

fund (see page 9). 


Collections: 


Liquor Tax Receipts 


Fiscal Spiri tous Percent 

Year Beer* Wine Liquor Total Change 


* Tax collections for all beer. The table below lists the tax 
collections for malt liquor and fermented malt beverages. 

Fermented 
Fiscal Ma1 t Beverage Malt Liquor 
Year (3.2% or less) [more than 3.2%) 

(Source: Department of Revenue. ) 

Other States: The range of tax rates on alcoholic beverages varies 
greatly among the 50 states. The lowest tax on beer is about 1.9 cents 
per gallon. The lowest rate for distilled spirits is about 25 cents a 
liter. These rates do not include local taxes, licenses, surtaxes, 
additional taxes imposed or markup prices added by* state control 



boards. Sixteen states have alcohol control boards. The alcohol 

beverage tax rates for Colorado's bordering states are 1 isted below. 


Liquor Ariz. Kan. -- Neb. -- N.Mex. Okla. Utah Wyo. 

Wort/liquid malt 
Beer 3.2% and less $. 16 
Beer over 3.2% 
Wine 14% or less I/ 

.16 

.22 
(per 1 i ter) 

Wine over 14% 11 1.05 
(per 1 i ter) 

Wine - other -11 .079 .013 .475 13% 21 .25 
(per liter) domestic (farm (spark1 ing) 

table) wineries) 

Spiritous liquor -1/ .79 .658 .763 1.04 1.31 13% 11 -25 
(per liter) 

Other clubs mi xed 
(10% of beverages 
gross (10% of 
receipts) retai 1 value) 

-1/ Rates converted to metric measures. 
-2/ Tax imposed on the retai 1 purchase price for products sold by the 

Utah Liquor Control Commission. 

Federal Tax: 

Liquor Tax Rates 


Beverage 


Distilled spirits ....................... $12.50 per proof gallon 

Wines: 

Not more than 14 percent alcohol.. . $ 0.17 per wine gallon 
14 to 21 percent alcohol.. ......... $ 0.67 per wine gallon 
21 to 24 percent alcohol ........... $ 2.25 per wine gallon 
Artificially carbonated wines.. .... $ 2.40 per wine gallon 
Champagne and other sparkling 

wines......................... $ 3.40 per wine gallon 

Beer, regardless of alcoholic 


content.. .......................... $ 9.00 per barrel (31 

gallons) or S.29 per gallon 




Lottery 

Enacted: 1982 

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XVIII, section 2, 
Colorado Constitution awroved by Colorado voters November 4. 1980: 
Title 24, Article 35, part 2, C.R,S. 

Collection Base: Sale of Colorado lottery tickets 

Administration and Collection: State Lottery Division, Department of 
Revenue 

Collection Period: Dai ly 

Disposition of Revenue: Revenues from the lottery are credited to the 
lottery fund. At least 50 percent of the total revenue accruing from 
the sale of lottery tickets must be disbursed as prize money. All 
expenses of the division are paid from the lottery fund. After payment 
of prizes and the expenses of the division, net lottery collections 
are disbursed as follows: 

-- 40 percent of the proceeds are transferred to the conservation 
trust fund; 

-- 10 percent are appropriated by the General Assembly to the 
Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation (DOPR); and 

-- 50 percent are appropriated for state capital construction. 

Collections: 

Lottery Receipts * 
($  in Millions) 

Fiscal Percent 
Year Col lections* Change 

Receipts after distribution of prize moneys (50%). These funds 
are distributed to the conservation trust fund, Division of Parks 
and Outdoor Recreation, and state capital construction fund. 



D i s t r i b u t i o n  o f  ne t  l o t t e r y  c o l l e c t i o n s  ( a f t e r  payment o f  p r i z e s  
and the d i v i s i o n  expenses) from FY 1983 t o  FY 1987 are as fo l lows:  

F i s c a l  Conservation D i v i s i o n  o f  Parks S ta te  Cap i ta l  

Year Trust  Fund* and Outdoor Recreat ion Construct ion 


TOTALS $71.8 $17.9 $89.5 

* The money i n  t h i s  fund i s  d i s t r i b u t e d  t o  Colorado count ies, 
c i t i e s ,  and specia l  d i s t r i c t s  us ing a  formula based on the 
popu la t ion  i n  each county, c i t y ,  and e l i g i b l e  specia l  d i s t r i c t s  
(29-21-101, C.R.S.). 

Other States: Lo t te ry  b a l l o t  proposals have passed i n  the  f o l l o w i n g  
28 s ta tes  -- Kansas, F lo r ida ,  V i r g i n i a ,  Montana, South Dakota, 
Washington, Oregon, Ca l i f o rn ia ,  Arizona, Colorado, lowa, I l l i n o i s ,  
Missouri ,  Michigan, Ohio, West V i r g i n i a ,  Maryland, Delaware, 
Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Is land,  
Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, and Idaho. Idaho's  
referendum was declared uncons t i t u t i ona l ; the referendum w i  11 be 
resubmitted t o  the voters i n  1988. 



Motor-Fuel Taxes 

I.Gasol ine 

Enacted: 1919 

S ta tu to r y  C i t a t i o n s :  A r t i c l e  X,  sec t i on  18, Colorado Cons t i t u t i on ;  
T i t l e  39, A r t i c l e  27, Pa r t  1, C.R.S. 

Tax Base: Tax i s  imposed on a l l  gaso l ine  and gasohol, except f u e l  
used f o r  a v i a t i o n  purposes. 

Present Rate: E f f e c t i v e  J u l y  1, 1986: 18 cents  per  g a l l o n  on gaso l i ne  
and 18 cents  per  g a l l o n  on gasohol. The t ax  increase i s  t o  e x p i r e  on 
J u l y  1, 1989 a t  which t ime the  tax  w i l l  be 12 cents  f o r  gaso l i ne  and 7 
cents  f o r  gasohol. I t  should be noted t h a t  i t  i s  t h e  i n t e n t  o f  t h e  
General Assembly t o  modify o r  extend the  tax  increase a f t e r  rev iew ing  
t he  r e s u l t s  of a  study concerning a l l o c a t i o n  o f  highway r e p a i r  costs.  
Refunds a re  a v a i l a b l e  t o  bu lk  purchasers f o r  purposes o t h e r  than  i n  
veh ic les  opera t ing  on s t a t e  highways, e.g., a g r i c u l t u r a l  use and 
s t a t i o n a r y  gas engines. 

Adm in i s t r a t i on  and Co l l ec t i on :  Department o f  Revenue 

C o l l e c t i o n  Period: On o r  be fo re  t he  t w e n t y - f i f t h  day o f  t h e  calendar 
month f o l l o w i n g  t he  month i n  which t he  f u e l  was used o r  imported. 

H i s t o r y  of Tax Rates: 

F i s c a l  F i s c a l  
Year Gasol ine Gasohol Year Gasol ine Gasohol 

1919 
1923 

1 cent  
2 

1967 A/
1969 

6  cents  
7 

1927 3 1978 7  2  cen ts  
1929 4 1981 9 4 
1947 6 1983 12 7 
1966 1/ 7 1986 18 18 

-1/ One cen t  increase was a l l oca ted  t o  t he  "highway f l o o d  d i s a s t e r  
r e l i e f  fund", i n  e f f e c t  f rom August 1, 1965 through August 31, 
1966. 

D i s p o s i t i o n  o f  Revenue: The tax  i s  c r e d i t e d  t o  t he  highway users t ax  
fund. The General Assembly appropr ia tes  funds t o  s t a t e  agencies whose 
func t ions  a re  r e l a t e d  t o  t he  HUTF, e.g., Department o f  Revenue f o r  
c o l l e c t i n g  taxes and t o  t he  Department o f  Pub l i c  Safety f o r  Colorado 
S ta te  P a t r o l  a c t i v i t i e s .  These appropr ia t ions  a re  o f t e n  r e f e r r e d  t o  as 
"o f f - t he - t op "  deductions, and decrease t he  fund f rom which 
d i s t r i b u t i o n s  are a l l oca ted .  The "o f f - t he - t op "  deduct ions a re  funded 
from revenues from the  f i r s t  seven cents  o f  the  t a x - o n  motor fue ls ,  
from r e g i s t r a t i o n  fees, and from ton-mi l e  and passenger-mi l e  taxes. 



As i l l u s t r a t e d  below, two separate formulas are used t o  
d i s t r i b u t e  funds generated from the motor-fuel tax t o  the  state,  
c i t i e s ,  and count ies. The f i r s t  formula r e l a t e s  t o  money c red i ted  t o  
the fund from the f i r s t  seven cents o f  the  f u e l  tax. The revenues 
generated by the 1981, 1983, and 1986 f u e l  tax increases are subject  
t o  a d i f f e r e n t  formula. The funds ra i sed  by the  add i t i ona l  f u e l  tax  
are subject  t o  a 16 percent "o f f - the- top"  deduct ion f o r  b r idge r e p a i r .  
The remaining 
count ies. 

84 percent i s  d i s t r i b u t e d  t o  the state,  c i t i e s ,  and 

Motor Fuel Tax D i s t r i b u t i o n  

F i r s t  7  Cents 
(1969 law) 

Add i t iona l  Revenues 
(amendments i n  1981, 1983, 1986) 

A. 	 "Of f - the- top"  deductions A. "Of f - the- top"  br idge r e p a i r  
(16%)

0 .  	 Remaining funds 0 .  Remaining funds 
65% t o  s t a t e  highway fund 60% t o  s ta te  highway fund 
26% t o  count ies 22% t o  count ies 
9% t o  c i t i e s  	 18% t o  c i t i e s  

Col lect ions:  

Motor Fuel Tax Receipts* 
($  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i sca l  Percent F i sca l  Percent 
Year Co l lec t ions  Change Year Co l lec t ions  Change 

* Includes specia l  f u e l  c o l l e c t i o n s  

(Source: Department of Highways) 

Other States: A l l  50 states impose a motor-fuel tax. The tax  r a t e s  f o r  
bordering s ta tes '  are l i s t e d  below ( l o c a l  taxes are not  inc luded).  

State Gas01ine 

Arizona 8.16 
Kansas .ll 
Nebraska .I79 
New Mexico .14 
Ok 1 ahoma -16 
Utah .19 
Wyoming .08 



Georgia and Florida also impose sales taxes on motor fuels. 
Several states periodically adjust the tax rate in accordance with the 
wholesale or retail price. The average gasoline tax rate for the fifty 
states, excluding local taxes, sales taxes, inspection fees, or 
license fees is approximately 14.3 cents per gallon. Four states --
Oregon, Nevada, Connecticut, and Mississippi -- enacted legislation 
increasing their rates during 1988. 

Thirty-three states impose the same state tax for diesel as for 
gasoline. Five states have lower rates for diesel than for gasoline --
Arkansas, Kentucky, Oklahoma, South Carolina, ard Virginia. 

Federal Tax: The federal taxes on motor fuels are listed below. 


Gasoline .................................. 9.1 cents per gallon 

Gasohol ................................... 3 cents per gallon 




Motor-Fuel Taxes 

11.  Special  Fuels 

Enacted: 1919 

S t a t u t o r y  C i t a t i ons :  A r t i c l e  X, sec t i on  18, Colorado Cons t i t u t i on ;  
T i t l e  39, A r t i c l e  27, Pa r t  2, C.R.S. 

Tax Base: Motor - fue l  taxes are imposed on a l l  spec ia l  f u e l s ,  except 
f u e l  used f o r  a v i a t i o n  purposes. Special  f u e l s  i nc l ude  d i e s e l ,  
kerosene, l i q u i f i e d  petroleum gases, and n a t u r a l  gas. 

Present Rate: E f f e c t i v e  J u l y  1, 1986: 20.5 cents  per  ga l l on .  The t a x  
increase i s  t o  exp i re  on J u l y  1, 1989 a t  which t ime t he  t a x  w i l l  be 13 
cents. It should be noted t h a t  i t  i s  t he  i n t e n t  o f  t h e  General 
Assembly t o  modify o r  extend t he  tax  increase a f t e r  rev iew ing  t h e  
r e s u l t s  o f  a  study concerning a l l o c a t i o n  o f  highway r e p a i r  costs .  
Persons who have obta ined ton-mi le  t ax  permi ts  pay taxes on t h e  number 
o f  ga l lons  o f  f u e l  used i n  the  s t a t e  m u l t i p l i e d  by t he  tax  r a t e  pe r  
ga l l on .  Refunds are a v a i l a b l e  t o  bu lk  purchasers o f  spec ia l  f u e l  f o r  
c e r t a i n  veh ic les .  

Adm in i s t r a t i on  and Co l l ec t i on :  Department o f  Revenue -- Taxes a re  
pa id  t o  t he  s t a t e  by bo th  d i s t r i b u t o r s  and users. D i s t r i b u t o r s  c o l l e c t  
and pay the  tax  on f u e l  so ld  t o  a vendor o r  on f u e l s  used by t h e  
d i s t r i b u t o r  on s t a t e  highways. Users pay taxes on f ue l  imported i n t o  
the  s t a t e  o r  on ex tax  purchases. E x  tax  purchasers may buy f u e l  f rom 
a  d i s t r i b u t o r  w i thou t  paying t he  tax.  An ex tax purchaser must 
ma in ta i n  f ue l  bu lk  storage o f  a t  l e a s t  250 ga l lons ,  operate a  v e h i c l e  
sub jec t  t o  GTM tax,  e s t a b l i s h  a  spec ia l  f u e l  user t ax  account w i t h  t h e  
department f i l e  a  sure ty  bond, and submit a  r e p o r t  by t he  25 day o f  
each month o r  q u a r t e r l y  s t a t i n g  the  amount o f  f u e l  consumed i n  
Colorado f o r  t h e  prev ious month. Tax payment i s  due k i t h  t he  repo r t .  

C o l l e c t i o n  Period: Tax payments a re  due on o r  be fo re  t h e  t k e n t y - f i f t h  
day o f  t he  calendar month f o l l o w i n g  t he  month i n  which t h e  f u e l  was 
used o r  imported. Persons purchasing a  ton-mi le  t ax  permi t  must r e p o r t  
on o r  be fo re  t he  t w e n t y - f i f t h  day o f  each month o r  on a  q u a r t e r l y  
bas is .  



History of Tax Rates: 

Special Fuel Special Fuel 


Year (Diesel) Year (Diesel) 


19 19 1 cent 

1923 2 

1927 3 

1929 4 

1947 6 

1966 7 1/ 

-1/ One cent increase was allocated to the "highway flood disaster 
relief fund", in effect from August 1, 1965 through August 31, 
1966. 

Disposition of Revenue: (See gasoline tax, page 45) 


Exemptions: 


-- fuel used by farm vehicles on farms, 
-- fuel used by construction equipment within the area of a 

highway construction project, 
-- fuel used by the United States government, the state, and 

their political subdivisions, and 
--	fuel used by passenger cars weighing less than 10,000 pounds 

(In lieu of the tax such operators pay an annual license fee 
of $50.) 

Collections: (See gas01 ine tax, page 46) 


Other States: All 50 states impose a similar motor-fuel tax. The tax 

rates for bordering states' taxes on special fuel are listed below 

(local taxes are not included). 


State Special Fuel 


Arizona 

Kansas 

Nebraska 

New Mexico 

Oklahoma 

Utah 

Wyomi ng 


For additional information, see page 46. 


Federal Tax: The federal tax on special fuels is listed below. 


Diesel fuel ...............................15.1 cents per gallon 

Special motor fuels (including 
alcohol fuels from petroleum) ............ 9.1 cents per gallon 

Alcohol fuels from natural gas ............ 4.5 cents per gallon 




Par i  -Mutuel Racing 

Enacted: 1947. Referred ac t  o f  the General Assembly was approved by 
the  voters on November 2, 1948. 

S ta tu tory  C i ta t i on :  Sect ion 12-60-109, C.R.S. 

Tax Base: Applied t o  the gross rece ip t s  from wagering on horse and 
greyhound rac ing  events, p r i o r  t o  the d i s t r i b u t i o n  o f  the  winnings 
(handle). 

Present Rate and D i s t r i b u t i o n :  

Type of Racinq Operation -Rate D i s t r i b u t i o n  

Greyhound* 4.0% On a l l  wagers General Fund 

Horse Racing 4.0% On a l l  wagers General Fund 
commercial year-round 
(no commercial win, place, Horse Breeders and 
year-round t racks  show Owners Awards and 
c u r r e n t l y  operate) 1 other  wagers Supplemental Purse 

Fund 

F a i r  C i r c u i t  a1 1 wagers General Fund 
(operate a t  s t a t e  and 
county f a i r s  -- seven win, place, Horse Breeders and 
meets took place show and, Owners Awards and 
dur ing 1987) other  wagers Supplemental Purse 

Fund 

Nonprof i t  year-round a1 1 wagers Racing Commission 
(None c u r r e n t l y  cash fee, Cash Fund 
e x i s t )  whichever i s  

greater  

0.5% On win, place, Horse Breeders and 
o r  show and, Owners Awards and 

3.5% A l l  o ther  wagers Supplemental Purse 
Fund 

* I f  the aggregate amount pa id  by a l l  t racks  exceeds 
$6,201,685.85 i n  a year, a 1 icensing fee cannot be assessed i n  
the  fo l l ow ing  year. I f  the aggregate amount pa id  i s  below the  
guarantee, each t rack  i s  assessed a propor t ionate amount t o  make 
up the s h o r t f a l l .  

Admin is t ra t ion  and Col lect ion:  Colorado Racing Commission, Department 
o f  Regulatory Agencies 

Co l l ec t i on  Period: Da i ly  



His to ry  o f  Tax Rates: 

Year 

Other Than 
Horse Races 
lGreyhound1 

Pari-Mutuel Tax Rates 
(based on hand 1 e)  

Horse Races 

5% 5% 

5% 5% 

5% 3% 
4% 
5% 
6% 

o f  f i r s t  $200,000 
excess o f  $200,000 
excess o f  $300,000 
excess o f  $500,000 

but  not  over $300,000 
but  not over $500,000 

5% 4% 
5% 

6% 

o f  f i r s t  $200,000 
excess o f  $200,000 but  not  t o  over 
$300,000 d a i l y  
i n  excess o f  $300,000 d a i l y  

5% 3.75% commercial 
4% nonpro f i t  pub l i c  f a i r  

4% 4% commercial 
5.5% pub l i c  nonpro f i t  f a i r  

4% 4% commercial 
9.5% pub l i c  nonpro f i t  f a i r  
1.5% nonpro f i t  year-round 

Present 
r a t e  

Present ra te ,  see page 50 

Col lect ions:  

Pari-Mutuel Tax Receipts 
($  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i sca l  Percent F isca l  Percent 
Year Co l lec t ions  Change Year Co l lec t ions  Change 



1986 Revenue by Type of Racing* 

Greyhound $8,813,955 

Horse Racing none 
(non-prof it year round) 

F a i r  C i r c u i t  $ 30,785 

Other States: According t o  the Department o f  Commerce, Statistical 
Abstract, 1987, 30 s ta tes  impose a tax  on pari-mutuel be t t i ng .  For 
reg iona l  s tates,  t he  tax  i s  imposed as l i s t e d  below. Utah and 
do no t  a l low pari-mutuel wagering. Texas and Kansas adopted 
general e l e c t i o n  referendum a l low ing  pari-mutuel wagering. 

Wyoming 
a 1986 

Arizona.. . . . . .. 2% if handle does no t  exceed $100,000 
4% on f i r s t  $100,000 
7% o f  excess over $100,000 

Kansas......... 	 Tax may no t  be less  than 3% o r  more than 6% of 
t o t a l  money wagered each day. 
Horse race t rack  

3/18 of d a i l y  handle 
Greyhound race t rack  

3/18 o f  d a i l y  handle 1 s t  4 years 
4/18 o f  d a i l y  handle 5 th  year 
5/18 of d a i l y  handle 6 th  and succeeding years 

Dual race t rack  
--	greyhounds 

3/10 o f  d a i l y  handle 1 s t  7 years 
4/18 o f  d a i l y  handle 8 t h  and 9 t h  year 
5/18 of d a i l y  handle 10th and subsequent years 

--	horses 
3/18 o f  d a i l y  handle 

Nebraska.. .. . .. 	State F a i r  meets: 4% on excess over $7,000,000 
A l l  o ther  meets: 

4% i f  the  average d a i l y  handle i s  less  than 95% 
o f  t he  1985 average d a i l y  handle 
4.5% i f  the  average d a i l y  handle i s  between 95 
and 100% of the  1985 average d a i l y  handle 
5% if the average d a i l y  handle exceeds 100% 
o f  the  1985 average d a i l y  handle 

New Mexico.. . . . 2.0% up t o  $250,000 
2.5% over $250,000 t o  $350,000 
3.5% over $350,000 t o  $400,000 
4.0% over $400,000 

Oklahoma.. ..... 	6% 



Passenger-Mile Tax 

Enacted: 1927 

Sta tu to ry  C i ta t i on :  Sect ion 42-3-123 (18),  C.R.S. 

Tax Base: Passenger mi les  t rave led  by passenger buses 

Present Rate: The tax r a t e  i s  one m i l l  per passenger-mile. Passenger 
mi les are determined by m u l t i p l y i n g  the  actual  number o f  revenue 
passengers c a r r i e d  by each motor veh ic le  by the  number o f  m i l es  
car r ied .  I n  l i e u  o f  paying the passenger-mile tax,  passenger buses may 
ob ta in  a temporary c e r t i f i c a t e  o f  p u b l i c  convenience and necessi ty  f o r  
a fee o f  $10. Passenger buses reg i s te red  i n  another s t a t e  making 
occasional t r i p s  t o  Colorado may ob ta in  a t r i p  permi t  f o r  a $5 fee  o r  
the  amount o f  the  passenger-mile tax  due, whichever i s  greater .  

Exemptions: The tax does not  apply t o  passenger serv ice  rendered 
w i t h i n  a m u n i c i p a l i t y  by a company t h a t  engages i n  t he  mass t r a n s i t  o f  
persons by bus o r  t r o l l e y  coach. Also exempted are  taxicabs, h o t e l  
buses, s ightseeing buses, o r  l imousines operated w i t h i n  the  boundaries 
o f  a c i t y ,  c i t y  and county, o r  incorporated town. 

Admin is t ra t ion  and Co l lec t ion :  Department o f  Revenue 

C o l l e c t i o n  Period: On o r  before the t w e n t y - f i f t h  day o f  each month f o r  
mi les  t rave led  the preceding month. 

H i s to ry  o f  Tax Rates: The tax r a t e  has no t  changed s ince f i r s t  imposed 
i n  1927. 

D i s p o s i t i o n  o f  Revenue: Revenues are c red i t ed  t o  the  highway users tax  
fund (see page 10). 

Co l lec t ions :  The tax i s  co l l ec ted  w i t h  the  gross ton-mi le  tax  and i s  
no t  accounted f o r  separately.  The Department o f  Revenue est imates t h a t  
revenues from t h i s  tax are approximately $300,000 per  year. 

Other States: For add i t i ona l  in format ion,  see the gross ton-mi le  t ax  
page 26. 



Sales and Use Taxes 


I. Sales Tax 

Enacted: 1935 

Constitutional and 
Constitution; Title 

Statutory 
39, Article 

Citations: Ar
26, Part 1, 

ticle 
C.R.S. 

XXIV, Col
State -- 

orado 
tax. 

Title 29, Article 2, Part 1, C.R.S. -- Local tax. 

Tax Base: Gross receipts from retail sales of tangible personal 

property are subject to the sales tax, unless specifically exempted by 

statute. 


Present Rate: The state rate is 3 percent on taxable sales. Local 

governments may impose, with voter approval, additional taxes as long 

as the combined city, county, and state rate does not exceed 7 

percent. However, the 7 percent limitation cannot prohibit a county 

from levying a 1 percent tax. (See pages 86 to 90 for further 

discussion of local sales taxes.) 


Administration and Collection: The Department of Revenue administers 

all state sales taxes collected by merchants. The department also 

administers sales taxes for 154 municipalities, 31 counties, and the 

Regional Transportation District. There are 35 home rule cities that 

collect and administer their own sales tax. 


Collection Period: Taxes are collected monthly and are due by the 

twentieth day of the month following collection. Retailers are 

entitled to retain 3.33 percent of the taxes to cover collection 

expenses. 


History of Tax Rates: 


May 1, 1983 

Through Since 


1935 1965 July 31, 1984 August 1, 1984 


Disposition of Revenue: After the requirements of the old age pension

fund have been satisfied, the remainder is credited to the general 

fund (see page 9). 


Sales and use tax diversion "Noble Money". In recent years, seven 
percent of the sales and use taxes that were attributable to the sales 
or use of motor vehicles and related items were transferred to the 
highway users tax fund. House Bill 1350, 1987 session, abolished the 
sales tax diversions and allocated state income tax revenues (not to 
exceed $40 mil lion) attributable to federal tax reform to the HUTF for 
FY 1988. The transfer is to be made after meeting the reserve 
requirement and fund paybacks (For further information see page 7). 



Exemptions 


The following sales transactions have been excluded from the 

state sales tax: 


cigarettes; 
all commodities subject to use taxes; 
special fuel defined as diesel, kerosene, liquified 
petroleum gases, and natural gas; 
lubricating oil used other than in motor vehicles; 
gas01 ine; 
drugs dispensed by prescription; 
insulin dispensed by a physician; 
glucose used for treatment in insulin reactions; 
urine and blood testing kits; 
insulin measuring and injecting devices including hypodermic 
syringes and needles; 
prosthetic devices; 
wheelchairs and hospital beds; 
corrective eye glasses, contact lenses or hearing aids; 
therapeutic devices or appliances which are used to treat or 
correct a disability or when recommended by a doctor; 
sales to the federal government, the state of Colorado, and its 
political subdivisions; 
sales to charitable organizations; 
sales to nonprofit schools; 
construction and building materials for use in building, 
altering or repairing structures used by the federal 
government, the state of Colorado or political subdivisions 
thereof, charitable organizations, and public schools; 
division of partnership assets according to their 
interest i n  the partnership; 
transfer of assets to a corporation in exchange for the 
corporation's outstanding stock; 
assets of shareholders or dissolution of professional 
corporations; 
distribution of a corporation's assets to its stockholders; 
transfer of assets from a parent corporation to a subsidiary; 
transfer of assets from a subsidiary to a ~arent cor~oration when 
the parent corporations owns at least 80 percent of the 
subsidiary; 
transfer of partnership interest; 
transfer of reorganization; 
transfer of assets to a partnership for interest in the 
partnership; 
repossession of property by a chattel mortgage holder or 
foreclosure; 
transfer of assets between parent and subsidiary which are owned 
by the same shareholders; 
beginning January 1, 1988, purchases of machinery or mach ine too 
in excess of $1,000; 
beginning January 1, 1988, purchases of machinery or mach ine 
tools by a person engaged in manufacturing and to be used solely 
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in an enterprise zone, regardless of the amount; 

sales of bags or containers to a retail vendor of food which 

are to be furnished to a consumer; 

newspapers and preprinted newspaper supplements; 

property purchased by a business for manufacture or compounding 

for sale; 

sales of electricity, coal, gas, fuel oil, coke, or nuclear fuel 

for use in processing or manufacturing; 

newsprint and printer's ink; 

refractory materials and carbon electrodes used to manufacture 

iron and steel; 

inorganic chemicals used in processing vanadium-uranium ores; 

property for use in food manufacturing when such property becomes 

part of a product or is unfit for further use; 

transfer of property to out-of-state vendee; 

property for testing, modification, and inspect ion if the ultimate 

use occurs outside the state; 

sales of motor vehicles to nonresidents purchased for use by 

nonresidents outside of Colorado; 

any exchange of one vehicle for another if both are subject to 

licensing in Colorado; 

neat cattle, sheep, lambs, poultry, swine, goats, and mares and 

stallions for breeding; 

live fish for stocking; 

farm sale when a farmer is abandoning the operation; 

livestock feed, seed, and orchard trees; 

straw and other bedding for livestock use; 

straw and other bedding used in the care of poultry; 

leases of personal property for three years or less if tax is 

paid upon original acquisition; 

commodities and services to any occupant who is a permanent 

resident of a hotel under written agreement for occupancy of at 

1east 30 consecuti ve days; 

forty-eight percent of the purchase price of a factory built home; 

retail sales within a distance of 20 miles within the boundaries 

of this state to residents of adjoining states if the adjoining 

state has no sales tax (note: all adjacent states currently impose 

a sales tax); 

food marketed for consumption as is commonly sold by grocers and 

sales of food purchased with food stamps; 

electricity, coal, wood, gas, fuel oil, or coke sold, but not for 

resale, to occupants of residences for light, heat, and power of 

a residence; 

sales in vending machines under 15 cents; 

aviation fuel; 

new or used trailers, semitrailers, trucks, truck tractors or 

truck bodies manufactured within this state when used in 

interstate commerce or outside Colorado, dealer delivery 

authorized; 

construction materials to railroads for construction and 

maintenance; 

aircraft used in interstate commerce; and 

meals to employees which are considered part of their salary. 




Co l l ec t i ons :  

Sales Tax Receipts 
($ i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i s c a l  Percent F i s c a l  Percent 
Year C o l l e c t i o n s  Change Year C o l l e c t i o n s  Change 

* These f i g u r e s  i nc l ude  t he  a d d i t i o n a l  0.5 percent  t a x  f rom May 
1, 1983, through J u l y  31, 1984. 

Other States:  Cur ren t l y ,  45 s t a tes  impose sa les  taxes; 28 s t a t e s  
exempt food from t h e  tax .  The lowest sa les  t a x  r a t e  f o r  t h e  50 s t a t e s  
i s  3 percent .  Colorado and t h r e e  o the r  s ta tes ,  Wyoming, Georgia, and 
Nor th  Caro l ina,  have a sa les  t ax  o f  3 percent .  The h i ghes t  
state-imposed r a t e  i s  7.5 percent  i n  Connect icut .  Twenty-nine s ta tes ,  
i n c l u d i n g  Colorado, a l l o w  f o r  a d d i t i o n a l  l o c a l  sa les  taxes. The f i v e  
s t a t e s  w i t hou t  a s t a t e  sa les  t a x  a re  Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New 
Hampshire, and Oregon. 

Sales Tax Rates and Major  

Exemptions i n  Neighbor ing S ta tes  


Sales Use Loca 1 Food Drugs 
S ta te  Tax Rate Tax Rate Taxes Exemption Exemption 

Ar izona 5.0% Yes Yes Yes 
Kansas 4.0 Yes No Yes 
Nebraska 4.0 Same Yes Yes Yes 
New Mexico 4.75 as Yes No No 
Ok 1 ahoma 4.0 sa les Yes No Yes 
Utah 5 3/32 t a x  Yes No Yes 
Wyomi ng 3.0 Yes No Yes 



11. Use Tax 

Enacted: 1937 

Sta tu tory  C i ta t i on :  T i t l e  39, A r t i c l e  26, Par t  2, C.R.S. -- State Use 
Tax. T i t l e  29, A r t i c l e  2, Par t  1, C.R.S. -- County o r  Munic ipal  Sales 
o r  Use Tax. 

Tax Base: Use taxes are co l l ec ted  on rece ip t s  from charges o r  costs o f  
s to r ing ,  using, o r  consuming a r t i c l e s  of t ang ib le  personal p roper ty  
purchased a t  r e t a i  1  

Present Rate: The s ta te  r a t e  i s  th ree  percent. Local governments may 
impose, w i t h  vo ter  approval, add i t i ona l  taxes as long as the combined 
state,  county, and c i t y  r a t e  does not  exceed 7  percent. However, the  7  
percent l i m i t a t i o n  cannot p r o h i b i t  a county from levy ing  a  1 percent 
tax. 

Admin is t ra t ion  and Col lect ion:  Department o f  Revenue 

C o l l e c t i o n  Period: Taxes are co l l ec ted  monthly when the cumulat ive tax  
due a t  the  end o f  a  month i s  i n  excess o f  $300. The tax i s  due before 
the  twen t ie th  day o f  the  fo l l ow ing  month. 

H is to ry  o f  Tax Rates: 

May 1, 1983 
through Since 

1937 -1965 July 31, 1984 August 1, 1984 

D ispos i t i on  o f  Revenue: A f t e r  the requirements of the  o l d  age pension 
fund have been sa t is f ied ,  the  remainder i s  c red i ted  t o  the  qeneral-
fund (see page 9) .  

Exemptions: Items exempt from s ta te  sales tax are a lso  exempt from the  
s ta te  use tax (see sales tax exemptions, on page 55). 



Col lec t ions :  

Use Tax Receipts 
($  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

Net Net 
F i s c a l  U s e T a x  Percent F i s c a l  Use Tax Percent 

Year C o l l e c t i o n s  Change Year C o l l e c t i o n s  Chanqe 

* These f igures  inc lude t h e  a d d i t i o n a l  0.5 percent  t a x  from May 
1, 1983, through Ju ly  31, 1984. 

Other States:  See t h e  sa les  t a x  d iscussion on page 57. 



Severance Tax 

Enacted: 1977 

S ta tu to ry  C i ta t i on :  T i t l e  39, A r t i c l e  29, C.R.S. 

Tax Base: The severance tax  i s  imposed 
e x t r a c t i o n  o f  m e t a l l i c  minerals,,molybdenum, 
and coal.  

on 
o i l  

the  
and gas, 

p roduc t ion  
o i l  shale, 

o r  

Present Rate: 
exemptions o r  

The tax 
c r e d i t s  

rates,  t h e i r  methods of 
vary w i t h  the  d i f f e r e n t  types 

a p p l i c
of 

a t i o n  and any 
ma te r i a l s  

ext racted.  

M e t a l l i c  minerals.  The tax  i s  based on the gross income, def ined 
as the value o f  the minera l  upon ex t rac t i on .  It does not  inc lude any 
value added by processing. The r a t e  i s  as fo l lows:  

Gross Income -Tax 

1 s t  $11 m i l l i o n  exempt 
over $11 m i l l i o n  2.25 % 

A c r e d i t  o f  up t o  f i f t y  percent o f  the tax  l i a b i l i t y  i s  al lowed 
f o r  payment o f  proper ty  tax. 

Molybdenum. During the  1986 l e g i s l a t i v e  session, t h e  tax  on 
molybdenum ore was changed from f i f t e e n  cents per  t o n  ex t rac ted  i n  
each quar te r  t o  t he  fo l l ow ing  schedule: 

Date Tax 
January 1, 1986 through December 31, 1987 5  cents per  t o n  
January 1, 1988 through December 31, 1989 10 cents per  ton 
Af te r  January 1, 1990 15 cents per t o n  

O i l  and gas. Crude o i l ,  na tu ra l  gas, carbon d iox ide,  and o i l  and 
gas are a l so  taxed on the  basis o f  gross income, defined i n  t h i s  case 
as the  market value a t  the wellhead. 

Gross Income Rate 

Under $25,000 2% 
$25,000 but  under $100,000 $ 500 p lus  3% i n  excess o f  $ 25,000 
$100,000 bu t  under $300,000 $ 2,750 p lus  4% i n  excess o f  $100,000 
$300,000 and over $10,750 p lus  5% i n  excess o f  $300,000 

Wells producing t e n  ba r re l s  o r  less  per day are exempt from the  
severance tax. A c r e d i t  against the  severance tax  i s  al lowed equal t o  
87.5 percent o f  a1 1  proper ty  taxes paid, except those imposed on 
equipment and f a c i l i t i e s  used f o r  product ion, t ranspor ta t ion ,  and 



storage. This credit is not allowed for wells producing ten barrels or 

less per day. 


-Coal. The severance tax on coal is 60 cents per ton. Until July 
1, 1990, the first 25,000 tons extracted in each yearly quarter are 
exempt from taxation. Thereafter, the first 8,000tons extracted per 
quarter will be exempt. A credit of 50 percent of the tax imposed is 
allowed for coal produced by underground mines and for lignite coal. 
Modifications of this tax rate are also specified in statute. For 
every three-point decrease or increase in the U.S. Department of 
Labor's Producer Price Index, the rate is correspondingly increased or 
decreased by one percent. Such determinations are made by the 
executive director of the Department of Revenue. 

Oil shale. Oil shale is taxed at four percent of gross proceeds

-- the value at the point of extraction. Direct and indirect 
expenditures for equipment, machinery, transportation, refining, and 
royalties are deducted from the value prior to taxation. The tax is 
also reduced based upon the length of time an oil shale facility has 
been operat ing. 

Years Operating Reduction Actual Rate 


First Year 75% 1% 
Second Year 50 2 
Third Year 25 3 
Fourth and Succeeding Years None 4 

Also, the first 15,000 tons per day of oil shale or the first 10,000 

barrels of shale oil per day, whichever is greater, are exempt. 


Exemption for impact assistance. A credit is allowed against a 
company's severance tax liability for the amount of approved 
contributions by that company to local governments toward mitigating 
the social and economic impact of beginning or expanding mineral 
development activities. The credit may not exceed any year's severance 
tax liability but any excess may be carried forward. Additional 
credits are allowed for each month such payments to local governments 
precede their due date. 

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue 


Collection Period: Annually, on or before the fifteenth day of the 

fourth month following the end of the taxable year. 


History of Tax Rates: In 1953, an additional income tax was levied on 

income derived from the extraction of crude oil and natural gas. The 

rate was the same as the current rate under the severance tax. In 

1977, the tax was made part of the severance tax article. 


Disposition of Revenue: Revenues are divided between the state and 

local severance tax trust funds, 50 percent to each fund. For fiscal 




year  1988, gross r e c e i p t s  t o  t h e  s t a t e  fund a re  t o  be c r e d i t e d  t o  t h e  
s t a t e  genera l  fund. 

Co l l ec t i ons :  
Severance Tax Receip ts  

(Revenues be fo re  d i s t r i b u t i o n )  

Metal  1  ic 
F i s c a l  O i l  and Gas Minera ls  and To ta l  

Year Produc t ion  Coal Molybdenum C o l l e c t i o n s  Change 

* Tax e f f e c t i v e  January 1, 1978. These a re  f i g u r e s  from t h e  
Department o f  Revenue. 

Other States:  T h i r t y - t h r e e  s t a t e s  impose some form o f  a  severance tax .  
These taxes a re  imposed on a  v a r i e t y  o f  n a t u r a l  resources i n c l u d i n g  
coal ,  t imber ,  and minera l  resources. The t ax  may a l s o  apply  t o  
resources t h a t  a re  unusual o r  l i m i t e d  t o  c e r t a i n  s t a tes ,  e.g., f i s h  i n  
Alaska, s a l t  i n  Kansas, o r  molybdenum i n  Colorado and New Mexico. 

According t o  t he  Department o f  Commerce, S t a t e  Government Tax 
Collections in 1986, Colorado ranks 19 th  i n  severance t a x  revenue 
c o l l e c t i o n s .  Texas c o l l e c t e d  the  most revenue fo l lowed by Alaska. 
These two s t a t e s  a l so  c o l l e c t e d  almost h a l f  o f  a l l  severance t a x  
revenue i n  t h e  Un i ted  S ta tes  i n  1986 -- $1.6 and $1.4 b i l l i o n ,  
r espec t i ve l y .  Colorado c o l l e c t e d  $22.6 m i l l i o n  du r i ng  t h e  same per iod .  
The 1986 revenue c o l l e c t i o n  f i g u r e s  f o r  o the r  s t a t e s  i n  t h e  western 
r e g i o n  a re  l i s t e d  below. 

S t a t e  C o l l e c t i o n s  

Kansas $ 102,108,000 
Nebraska 4,037,000 
New Mexico 367,214,000 
Oklahoma 571,375,000 
Utah 43,905,000 
Wyomi ng 387,292,000 



Tobacco Products Tax 

Enacted: 1986 

S ta tu to ry  C i t a t i o n :  T i t l e  39, A r t i c l e  28.5, C.R.S. 

Tax Base: The tax on tobacco products app l ies  t o  smoking and chewing 
tobaccos, such as c igars ,  p ipe  tobacco, cheroots, s tog ies ,  snu f f ,  and 
p lug  o r  t w i s t  tobacco. C igare t tes  are no t  inc luded as they a re  sub jec t  
t o  t h e  c i g a r e t t e  tax. D i s t r i b u t o r s  are permi t ted  t o  keep 3.33 percent  
o f  t he  c o l  l e c t i o n s  t o  cover the  expenses o f  c o l  l e c t i o n  and repo r t i ng .  

Present Rate: The tax  i s  20 percent o f  manufacturer 's  l i s t  p r i ce ,  t h e  
i nvo i ce  p r i c e  pa id  by the  d i s t r i b u t o r  t o  a  manufacturer o r  supp l ie r .  
These products are a l so  subject  t o  s t a t e  and l o c a l  sa les and use 
taxes. 

Admin is t ra t ion  and Co l lec t ion :  Department o f  Revenue 

C o l l e c t i o n  Period: D i s t r i b u t o r s  f i l e  a  r e t u r n  every quar te r  con ta in i ng  
t he  amount o f  tobacco products purchased du r i ng  t he  preceding qua r te r  
and t h e  amount o f  t a x  due. Taxes are pa id  by t h e  t w e n t i e t h  day of t h e  
month f o l l o w i n g  t he  q u a r t e r l y  r epo r t .  

H i s t o r y  o f  Tax Rates: This  i s  a  new tax,  e f f e c t i v e  Ju l y  1, 1986. 

D i s p o s i t i o n  o f  Revenue: F i f t e e n  percent o f  t he  revenue i s  c r e d i t e d  t o  
t he  general  fund and 85 percent  t o  t he  o l d  age pension fund. A f t e r  t h e  
requirements o f  t he  o l d  age pension fund have been s a t i s f i e d ,  t h e  
remainder i s  c red i t ed  t o  t he  general fund (see page 9) .  

Co l lec t ions :  FY 1987 was the  f i r s t  year f o r  c o l l e c t i n g  t h e  tax. 

Tobacco Products Receipts 
($ i n  M i l l i o n s )  

F i s c a l  Year Receipts 

Other States: Twenty-f ive o ther  s ta tes  levy  a  tax  on tobacco products  
i n  a d d i t i o n  t o  the  c i g a r e t t e  tax. Wyoming i s  t h e  on l y  ne ighbor ing 
s t a t e  t h a t  does not  impose a  tobacco products tax. The r a t e s  f o r  
ne ighbor ing s ta tes  imposing t he  t a x  are l i s t e d  on the  f o l l ow ing  page. 



State Rate-
Arizona 
Kansas 

2 cents per ounce 
10%of wholesale prices 

Nebraska 
New Mexico 

15%of purchase price 
25% of product value 

Oklahoma 
-- cigars under 3 lbs. per 1,000 

cigars over 3 lbs. per 1,000 
all other cigars 
smoking tobacco 
chewing tobacco 

Utah 

-- 
-- 
-- 
-- 

9 mills per cigar 
1 cent per cigar 
$20 per 1,000 
40% of factory list price 
30% of factory list price 

35% of sales price 

Federal Tax: 

Snuff.................................. 24 cents per pound 

Chewing Tobacco ........................ 8 cents per pound 

Small Cigars (weighing less than 


3 pounds per 1,000) ............... 75 cents per thousand 
Large Cigars (weighing more than 

3 pounds per 1,000). .............. 8.5% of wholesale price 




Tourism Promotion Fund Tax 


Enacted: 1983 


Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 26.1, C.R.S.; Title 24, Article 

32, Part 13, C.R.S. 


Tax Base: This tax is imposed on the purchase price charged to any 

person for rooms or accommodations, restaurant food and drinks, ski 

lift or admission tickets, private tourist attraction admission 

tickets, rental automobiles, and tour bus or sightseeing carrier 

tickets. 


Present Rate: Two-tenths of one percent (0.2%). 


Administration and Collection: Each business is responsible for 

collection of the tax and its transmission to the Department of 

Revenue. 


Collection Period: Quarterly 


History of Tax Rates: The tax became effective May 1, 1983. House Bi 1 1  

1214, 1987 session, increased the rate and extended imposition of the 

tax until July 1, 1993. 


Fiscal Year Rate 

1983 .1% 
1987 .2 


Exemptions: Attractions owned or operated by governmental entities and 

attractions operated on an occasional basis by nonprofit charitable 

organizations. 


Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Colorado tourism promotion 

fund for use by the Colorado Tourism Board. 


Collections: 
Tourism Promotion Tax Receipts 

($  in Millions) 

Year Collections 


(Source: Department of Revenue. ) 



Unemployment Insurance Tax 


Enacted: 1936 


Statutory Citation: Title 8, Article 76, C.R.S. 


Tax Base: The tax is applied to a portion of the wages paid by public 

and private employers subject to the act. Exemptions, outlined in 

statute, exclude a limited number of types of employers from coverage. 


Examples of exemptions are: 1) agricultural labor employers who 

do not pay either cash wages of $20,000 or more in any one quarter of 

a calendar year or do not employ ten workers for 20 weeks during the 

year; 2) employers of domestic services who do not pay cash wages of 

$1,000 or more in any quarter of a calendar year; or 3) employers 

exempt from income tax under the I.R.S. code, section 501 (c) (3) who 

have less than four employees for 20 weeks during the calendar year. 


Currently, the tax is applicable to the first $8,000 of annual 

earnings paid each employee. For 1987, this taxable wage base will 

increase to $9,000;for 1988 and after, it will be $10,000. A/ 

Present Rate: For most employers the standard rate of taxation is 2.7 

percent of the employee's taxable wages. Employers newly subject to 
. ~ 

the unemployment tax may pay taxes at-the standard rate, at the actual 

experience rate, or at a rate equal to the average industry tax rate 

for all employers in the same general type of business in the state, 

whichever is greatest. After a designated length of time, individual 

employers become eligible for a computed rate which is based on the 

employer's experience rating and the balance in the Unemployment 

Insurance Trust Fund. 


A tax surcharge may be added based on the amount of benefits paid 

which are not effectively charged to any active employer. Benefits are 

not effectively charged when they are charged to the account of an 

employer who is already paying the maximum rate or who has gone out of 

business. 


In addition an interest surcharge may be assessed each employer 

to pay interest on borrowed funds from the Federal Unemployment Trust 

Fund. The interest surcharge was enacted in 1982 and the surcharge for 

benefits not effectively charged was enacted in 1983. 


Administration and Collection: Department of Labor and Employment, 

Dlvision of Employment and Training 


-1/ The taxable base will remain at $10,000 unless the trust fund 
exceeds $350 mill ion by June 30, 1987, in which case the base wi 1 1  be 
reduced to $9,000on January 1, 1988. 



Collection Period: Taxes are payable quarterly by each employer for 

each calendar year in which he is subject to the tax. The funds are 

credited to the unemployment insurance trust fund. 


History of Tax Rates: The standard employer contribution rate in 1936 

was 10.8 percent of one month's wages, provided the rate was less than 

0.9 percent of the annual payroll for the calendar year. In 1937, a 

uniform contribution rate of 1.8 percent per calendar year on a 

taxable wage base ($3,500 in 1937) was established; the rate was 

raised to 2.7 percent in 1938. In 1972, the rate was lowered to 1 

percent, but was changed back to 2.7 percent in 1976. 


An experience rating system was adopted in 1941 which permits 

qualifying employers to pay less than the maximum rate. bffective 

1984, employers newly subject to the tax could be taxed 
standard rate, at the actual experience rate, or at an 
average industry rate, whichever is greatest. 

at 
assi

the 
gned 

Changes in the taxable wage base are listed below. 

Taxable Wage Base for 
Colorado Unemployment Insurance Tax 

(Changes from 1936 - 1988) 

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue credited to the unemployment insurance 

trust fund is only withdrawn to pay unemployment benefits. 


Collections: 


Unemployment Insurance Tax Receipts 
($  in Mil lions) 

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent 

Year Collections Change Year Collections Change 


Other States: All 50 states administer this tax as required by the 

federal government. 






IV. LOCAL TAXES 


Article X, section 7, of the Colorado Constitution empowers the 

General Assembly to vest the power of taxation in the state's 

political subdivisions. Article XX, section 6, establishes home rule 

cities and towns and provides them broader taxation powers than for 

statutory cities and towns. County home rule authority was created in 

Article XIV, section 16 of the Colorado Constitution. Municipalities 

may not impose income taxes as the General Assembly has the exclusive 

power in this area of taxation (Article X, section 17). 


Specific constitutional and statutory citations have been 

presented for each tax where applicable. Brief descriptions of the 

tax and their rates are also provided. Information pertaining to the 

types of taxes levied in cities and the rates imposed is from the 

Colorado Municipal League1 s Municipal Taxes, 1988 edition. 

Department of Revenue data was used for rates of sales and use taxes 

for the cities and counties. 




Accommodations or Lodger's Tax 


Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado 

Constitution 


Description of Tax: This tax is usually applied to the price for 

renting or leasing of accommodations for less than 30 consecutive 

days. Some home rule cities impose a separate admissions tax and 

others impose their sales tax rate. 


Rates: Fifty-nine cities reported imposing the city sales tax or an 

equivalent rate, while the 17 cities listed below reported levying 

rates in addition to their sales tax rates. 


Municipality Rate Municipality -Rate 
Arvada 
Avon 

2.0% 
1.8 

Glenwood Springs 1.5% 
Gree1ey 3.0 

Breckenridge 
Colorado Springs 
Cortez 

2.0 
2.0 
2.0 

Green Mtn. Falls 2.0 
Manitou Springs 2.0 
Montrose 0.9 

Durango 
E ng1ewood 
Ft. Collins 

2.0 
2.0 
3.0 

Ouray 1 .O 
Snowmass Village 0.1 
Steamboat Springs 1.0 

County Accommodations or Lodger's Tax 


Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado 

Constitution; Title 30, Article 11, C.R.S. 


Description of Tax: Senate Bill 23, 1987 session, authorizes counties 

to impose a county lodging tax in municipalities and unincorporated 

parts of a county subject to voter approval. The tax does not apply in 

municipalities already levying a lodging tax, but cities may 

voluntarily abandon their lodging tax ordinances to create a uniform 

county lodging tax. Tax revenues are earmarked for advertising and 

marketing local tourism and are exempt from the 7 percent sales tax 

limitation. Counties may impose the tax on charges to persons for 

rooms or accommodations. 


Rate: Not more than 2 percent 




Admi ss ions Tax 

C o n s t i t u t i o n a l  and S ta tu to r y  A u t h o r i t y :  A r t i c l e  XX,  Colorado 
C o n s t i t u t i o n  

D e s c r i p t i o n  o f  Tax: An admissions t a x  i s  imposed on t h e  charge f o r  
admission t o  p laces o r  events open t o  t he  p u b l i c .  I t  i s  u s u a l l y  
expressed as a percentage o f  such charge. The tax  i s  c o l l e c t e d  when 
t he  t i c k e t  i s  so l d  t o  an enter ta inment ,  a t h l e t i c  event,  t hea te r ,  o r  
s k i  l i f t .  Some c i t i e s  apply t h e i r  sa les t a x  t o  admission fees w h i l e  
o the rs  impose a separate admissions tax .  The Su+reme Court  o f  Colorado 
has r u l e d  t h a t  s t a t u t o r y  c i t i e s  do no t  have t he  a u t h o r i t y  t o  l e v y  an 
admissions t a x  ( C i t y  o f  Sher idan v .Ci ty  o f  Enqlewood, 609 P.2d 108 
( 1980) ) . 

M u n i c i p a l i t i e s  Levying Separate Admissions Taxes: 

M u n i c i p a l i t y  M u n i c i p a l i t y  Rate 

Arvada 4.0% Edgewater 15.0% 
Aurora 3.5 E ng 1 ewood 3.0 
Bou 1 der 5.0 p l u s  sa les  t ax  Glendale 3.5 
Cherry ~i11s 10.0 ( p ro  on l y )  Manitou Spr ings 5.G 
Colorado Nor thg lenn 3.0 

Spr ings 2.5 movie t i c k e r s  Pueblo 3.0 

Denver 10% pa id  entrance t o  westminster 3.0 


"c i ty-owned" f a c i l i t y  Wheatridge 4.0 




Occupational Taxes 


I. General 


Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado 

Constitution, section 31-15-501, C.R.S. 


Description of Tax: Occupational or business taxes are imposed for 

the privilege of carrying on certain occupations within the' taxing 

jurisdiction. The tax may be applied to all or selected types of 

businesses or professions in a community. Although the m c ~ t  common 

form is an annual flat fee, the rate may be based on a graduated 

scale, for example, on the number of employees. Specific occupational 

taxes may be imposed on businesses selling liquor or on public 

utilities. However, the state Supreme Court has held that an 

occupation tax cannot be based on gross sales as this tax base would 

represent an unconstitutional form of an income tax. 


Municipalities Levying General Occupations Tax and Tax Rates: 


Municipality Rate (Annual Rate Unless Noted) 


Aspen Firms with: 

10 employees or less -- $100 

11-50 employees -- $200 

50 or more employees -- $400 


Aurora $2.00 per employee per month, matched by 

emp1oyer 


Basalt $20 per business 

Bayfield $25 per business; $5 per 


employee over 2 

Black Hawk $50 per business 

Breckenridge 5 employees or less -- $100 


6-10 employees -- $200 
11-20 employees -- $400 
20-30 employees -- $500 
30 or more employees -- $600 

Central City $200 per business 

Denver Employee Occupational Privilege Tax: 


$2.00 per employee per month, matched by 

emp1oyer 


Di1 lon $60 per business 

Durango Firms with: 


5 employees or less -- $38.50 

6-10 employees -- $66 

11-20 employees -- $93.50 

Over 20 employees -- $110 


Eagle $50 per business (proposed for 1988) 

Edgewater $50 per business, $2 per employee- 




Erie 


Estes Park 

Evans 

Frui ta 

Go1 den 


Green Mtn. Falls 

Greenwood Village 


Hot Sulphur Spr. 

Ignacio 


Keenes burg 

Leadvi 1le 

Louisville 

Lyons 

Manitou Springs 


Mt. Crested Butte 


Snowrnass Vi 1 1 age 

Vai 1 


Ward 

Winter Park 

Woodland Park 


$25 home occupation, 
$50 per business, 
$100 manufacturing, 
plus $5 per employee 

$50 per business 
$25 per business 
$25 per business 
$25; applies to businesses which do not 
require a sales tax license 

$25 per business 
$2.00 per employee per month, matched by 
employer 
City sales tax license 
Firms with: 
$25 plus $5 per employee over 2 employees 

$5 per business 
$50 per business 
$10 per business 
$5 per business 1 icense 
Renewal 
$35 per business nonretail 
$50 per business retail 
New businesses 
$50 per business nonretai 1 new 
$100 per business retail new 
Per employee 

0-2 $100 
3-7 $275 
8-15 $475 
16-24 $1,000 
25 or more $1,500 
$100 per business 
$100 to $500 based on the number of 
emp1oyees 

$20 per business 
$60 per business 
Class 2 business -- $30 
Multiple business -- $50 
Vending machines -- $20 
Newspaper vending racks -- $2 each 



Occupational Taxes 


11. Liquor and Beer Occupation Tax 

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado 

Constitution, section 31-15-501, C.R.S. 


Description of tax: Numerous cities impose a privilege tax to permit 

the sale of liquor and beer by various establishments and at special 

events. In 1987, 92 cities reported imposing this tax. Annual fees 

ranged frPm $100 to $3,650. 


Number of Municipalities Levyinq Tax and Range of Taxes: 


No. of Under $100- $500- Over Range of Taxes 

TypeofBusiness Cities $100 $499 $999 $1,000 Low High 


Retail liquor store 
Drug store 
Hotel & restaurant 
Club 
Tavern 
Beer & wine 
3.2% beer 
On premises 

Off premises 

On and off 

Arts 

Racktrack 

Extended hours 




Occupational Taxes 


111. Utility .Occupational Tax or Franchise Fee 

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article X X ,  section 4, 
Colorado Constitution; section 31-32-101, C.R.S. 

Description of Tax: A franchise may be required before a public 

utility may be permitted to operate in a municipality. The franchise 

fee for a utility is usually a percentage of the utility's gross 

receipts from business conducted in the municipality. A municipal 

occupation tax is sometimes assessed utilities not required to obtain 

municipal franchises. 


Rates: 


Municipal Taxes or Fees on Utilities 

(1987 Rates1 


Type of Utility 
Number of 

Municipalities 
Range of Tax 

( %  of Gross Receipts) 

Electric -11 
Gas 21 
Cable TV 31 
Telephone 41 

133 
136 
135 
106 

2% through 5% 
1 through 5 
0.5 through 7 

-11 Four cities impose a flat tax or a fee based on the number 
of accounts per year. 

-21 Three cities impose a flat fee. 
-31 Seven cities levy fees on a per subscriber basis. 
-41 The base for rates on telephone companies vary from flat 
fees per month or per year, or fees that are based on the number of 
accounts, per month, quarter, or year. 



Property Tax 


Enacted: 1876 

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X ,  sections 3, 4, 
5, 6, 1 and 15, Colorado Constitution; Title 39, Articles 1 
through 13, C.R.S. 


1982 constitutional amendment. A 1982 constitutional amendment 

provides three approaches an assessor must use to determine the actual 

value of a property: 1) cost, 2) market, 3) income. The actual value 

for residential property is to be determined by the cost and market 

approaches only; agricultural land's actual value is determined by the 

land's earning or productive capacity capitalized at a prescribed 

rate. The amendment also establishes the rate for the valuation for 

assessment of residential real property and all other real property, 

except that the valuation for assessment for producing mines and lands 

or leaseholds producing oil and gas is to be determined by a portion 

of annual production. The amendment requires the General Assembly to 

maintain the same ratio of statewide valuation of residential property 

in relation to other taxable property whenever a change in the level 

of value occurs. Certain exemptions were made constitutional by the 

amendment. The State Board of Equalization was given the power to 

order revaluations for counties and enforce conformance with the 

constitution and the statutory provisions concerning property taxes. 


Administration: 


Property assessment. The county assessor is responsible for the 

assessment of most property within the county. The board of county 

commissioners acting as the county board of equalization reviews the 

valuations to raise, lower, or adjust the valuations so that the 

valuations are just and equalized within the county. The county board 

also hears appeals that have been denied or refused by the county 

assessor. The assessor must submit an "Abstract of Assessment" to the 

state Property Tax Administrator by August 10 of each year. The 

abstract lists the property valuations by class and subclass for the 

county. The State Board of Equalization reviews and certifies the 

abstracts of each county by October 15 of each year. The certified 

abstract becomes the basis for the tax roll and is sent to each county 

treasurer before January 1. The county treasurer collects and 

disperses the property taxes to all taxing entities. 


Property tax administrator. The property tax administrator, 

through the Division of Property Taxation, assists and cooperates in 

administration of property' tax- laws, and promotes equalization of 

property valuation in all 6 3  counties. The division's responsibilities 

include, but are not limited to: 


-- investigating taxpayer complaints; 
- - conducting legislative impact studies; 
-- providing technical assistance to assessors on valuation 

and appraisals; 




-- furnishing expertise to assessors in administration of 
property tax law; 

-- providing reappraisal assistance to counties ordered to 
reappraise; 

--	 conducting an annual assessors school and regional assessment 
education programs; 

- - 	 approving applications for exemptions for schools, and 
charitable and religious properties; 

-- preparing research, manuals, and developing forms and 
procedures for assessors; and 

- - appraising and apportioning the value of public utility and 
rail transportation properties doing business in Colorado. 

Uniform valuation assessment enforcement. The 1982 constitutional 
amendment establishes procedures to determine whether county assessors 
have compl ied with the- amendment and other 1aws. The ~eneral Assembly 
is required to have an assessment study conducted every year. Based on 
this study, if the State - Board of Equalization finds a class of 
property is not in compliance with the law, the board can require the 
county to reappraise the class. The board may order an independent 
appraisal at the county's expense if an assessor fails to comply with 
a board directive ordering a reappraisal. The county is also liable 
for repaying excess moneys the state paid to local school districts 
during foresaid reappraisals. 

Collections: 


The county treasurer mails tax bills to all property owners as 
soon as practicable after January 1 following the year the property 
taxes were levied. If the taxpayer elects to make a single payment for 
the full amount of taxes, the payment is due by April 30. If the 
property tax bill is in excess of $25, two equal installments may be 
made in lieu of the single payment. The first installment is due no 
later than the last day of February and the second is due by July 31. 
A penalty of one percent per month is imposed on overdue installment 
payments. 

Prepayment of taxes. Energy development operations and mineral 

extraction or conversion operations are authorized to prepay property 

taxes for credit against property taxes to be levied in the future. 

These prepaid taxes are to be expended on capital improvements which 

are related to the additional public service demands created by the 

operations. The taxing entity and the property owner jointly determine 

the: 


1) amount of prepayment, not to exceed statutory limits; and 

2) amounts and intervals of prepayments and credits for 


prepayments within statutory limits. 


Property Valuation: 


Property types. There are two types of property that assessors 
value for taxing purposes -- real and personal. Real property is 



property that is permanently fixed, such as land and buildings. 

Certain items of personal property including household furnishings, 

freestanding appliances, carpet and drapes, and other personal effects 

are subject to taxation only if they are used to produce income. All 

other types of tangible personal property are taxable. 


Actual value. The actual value of property, which reflects the 

property's level of value according to a base year, may be determined 

by three methods of appraisal: the market approach, the income 

approach, and the cost approach. The market approach compares market 

sales of similar properties. The cost approach estimates the material 

and labor costs to replace a similar property. The income approach 

converts the base year income from rent to an estimate of value. 

Residential property may be valued by cost and market approaches only. 

The actual value of farm property is determined by the earning or 

productive capacity of the land during a reasonable time. 


Base year. The actual value for a tax year reflects the level of 

value for the base year. For the 1987 tax year, the base year was 

1985. The level of value for the base year (1985) was the actual value 

of taxable property as determined for the preceding calendar year 

(1984). Property types not valued on the base year method are 

producing mines (H.B. 1002, 1?87 Session), oil and gas lands or 

leaseholds (S.B. 8, 1987 Session), and coal and non-metal 1 ic producing 

mines (S.B. 88, 1987 Session), and agricultural lands. The 1989 

assessment will be based on a 1987 level of value. Beginning in 1991, 

assessments are to be conducted annually. 


Assessed value. Assessed value for resident i a1 real property is 
computed by multiplying the actual value by the rate set by the 1982 
constitutional amendment. However, the 1982 amendment also required 
that the General Assembly insure that, whenever there is a change in 
the level of value, the percentage of the total statewide valuation 
for assessment attributed to residential real property remain the same 
as in the preceding year. H.B. 1003, 1987 Session, set the rate at 18 
percent for tax years 1987 and 1988. Rate changes made pursuant to 
Article X ,  section 3 are summarized below. All other taxable property 
is to be valued at 29 percent. Classes of property with separate 
assessment provisions include oil and gas lands and leaseholds and 
producing mi nes. 

Property Tax Rate Adjustments Since 1982 


Rate 

Year Residentia1 A1 1 Other Reference 

1982 21% 29% Constitution 
1987 18 29 H.B. 1003 & Constitution 

Mill levy. The local taxing authorities -- the governing boards 
of counties, municipalities, school districts, and special districts 
-- determine a mill levy for their entity each autumn. Except for 



school d i s t r i c t s ,  a  t a x i n g  j u r i s d i c t i o n ' s  m i l l  l e vy  i s  determined by 
d i v i d i n g  the  j u r i s d i c t i o n ' s  budget by i t s  t o t a l  assessed value. The 
l e v i e s  a re  then c e r t i f i e d  by t h e  county commissioners. 

Each taxpayer i s  sub jec t  t o  a t  l e a s t  two m i l l  l e v i e s  -- county  
and school d i s t r i c t .  However, t h e r e  are many v a r i a t i o n s  among m i l l  
l e v i e s  due t o  t he  v a r i e t y  o f  t a x i n g  e n t i t i e s  t h a t  impose t h e  l e v i e s .  
For example, a c i t y ,  r e c r e a t i o n  d i s t r i c t ,  f i r e  p r o t e c t i o n  d i s t r i c t ,  
s a n i t a t i o n  d i s t r i c t ,  s o i l  conserva t ion  d i s t r i c t ,  pes t  c o n t r o l  
d i s t r i c t ,  cemetery d i s t r i c t ,  o r  o t he r  au thor i zed  spec ia l  d i s t r i c t  o r  
any combinat ion thereof ,  may l evy  a  tax .  A t axpaye r ' s  p r o p e r t y  t ax  
b i l l  i s  determined by the  combined m i l l  l e v y  o f  a l l  t h e  t a x i n g  
d i s t r i c t s  i n  which h i s  p roper ty  i s  located.  The amount o f  t ax  t o  be 
pa id  i s  determined by m u l t i p l y i n g  t he  m i l l  l e v y  by t h e  p r o p e r t y ' s  
assessed value. 

Exemptions. A r t i c l e  X o f  the  Colorado C o n s t i t u t i o n  exempts t h e  
f o l l o w i n g  i tems f rom p rope r t y  t axa t i on :  

-- household f u r n i s h i n g s  and personal  e f f e c t s  n o t  used t o  produce 
income; 

-- d i tches ,  canals, and f lumes used f o r  i r r i g a t i o n ;  
-- p rope r t y  o f  t he  s ta te ,  i t s  p o l i t i c a l  subd iv i s ions ,  and 

p u b l i c  l i b r a r i e s ;  
-- p rope r t y  used f o r  r e l i g i o u s  worship, school p roper ty ,  p r o p e r t y  

used f o r  c h a r i t a b l e  DurDoses as de f ined  by s t a t u t e ,  and. . 
n o n p r o f i t  cemeteries; 

-- s e l f - p r o p e l l e d  c o n s t r u c t i o n  equ pment and motor veh ic les ;  
-- i n v e n t o r i e s  o f  merchandise h e l d  f o r  consumption o r  s a l e  by a  

business; 
-- l i v e s t o c k  and a g r i c u l t u r a l  and i ves tock  products;  and 
-- a g r i c u l t u r a l  equipment. 

Sec t i on  39-3-101, e t  seq., C.R.S., c l a r i f i e s  and f u r t h e r  d e f i n e s  
the c o n s t i t u t i o n a l  
p rope r t y  t a x a t i o n  
exempt ions  are: 

e x e 6 t  ions.  Some tems t h a t  a rei 
through f u r t h e r  d e f i n i t i o n  o f  t h e  

excluded 
c o n s t i t u t

f rom 
i o n a l  

-- n o n p r o f i t  domestic water companies; 
-- i n t a n g i b l e  p roper ty ,  such as s tocks and bonds; 
-- works o f  a r t ,  such as pa in t i ngs ,  mosaics, and unique 

a r c h i t e c t u r a l  embellishments; and 
-- p rope r t y  used by t he  s t a t e  and i t s  p o l i t i c a l  subd i v i s i ons  

under i n s t a l l m e n t  sa les o r  lease purchase agreement. 

Res iden t i a l  Proper ty :  

The General Assembly, i n  t he  1987 Session, s e t  t h e  r a t e  f o r  
assessment o f  r e s i d e n t i a l  p rope r t y  a t  18 percen t  o f  t h e  ac tua l  va lue  
as determined f o r  t h e  base year (S.B. 1003). Mobi le  homes' v a l u a t i o n  
f o r  assessment i s  t he  same as f o r  o t h e r  r e s i d e n t i a l  p roper ty .  
However, mobi le  homes t h a t  a re  p a r t  o f  a  l i censed  d e a l e r ' s  i n v e n t o r y  
a re  exempt. 



Public Utilities: 


Public utilities are referred to as state-assessed companies and 

the Property Tax Administrator determines the actual value of the 

operating property and plant for each public utility. Public utilities 

include airline companies, electric and rural electric companies, 

telephone and telegraph companies, gas and gas pipeline carriers, 

domestic water companies selling at retail, pipeline companies, coal 

slurry pipelines, railroad companies, and private car line companies 

conducting business in Colorado. Such companies may be sole 

proprietorships, firms, partnerships, associations, companies, or 

corporations and the trustees or receivers thereof, elected or 

appointed. 


Factors considered in valuation for assessment. The administrator 

is to consider the following factors and weight those factors to 

obtain a just and fair value of the property: 


tangible property of the plant whether within or both within 

and outside the state, excluding tangible property that is not 

directly connected to the utility's business within the state; 

intangible property such as franchises, contract rights, and 

obligations, and rights of way; 

gross and net operating revenues during a time not to exceed 

the most recent five-year period, capitalized at indicative 

rates; and 

average market value of previous year's outstanding 

securities, if determinable. 


the books and records accurately reflect the utility's 

tangible and intangible property and earnings within Colorado during 

the most recent five-year period, the administrator may determine the 

actual value from the records, negating the need to ascertain the 

entire value within and outside the state. 


Base year method. Public utilities are assessed under the base 

year method. A factor is applied to adjust the current year level of 

value to the utility's level of value in 1985 to establish actual 

value. 


Valuation for assessment. Public utility properties are valued at 

29 percent of actual value. 


Administration. Each public utility is to file with the property 

tax administrator by April 15 of each year information concerning all 

property, wherever situated, as may reasonably be required to 

determine the actual value and the apportionment among the several 

counties. 


Apportionment. The administrator, in the case of all public 

utilities, allocates to the state that proportion of assessed value 

which represents the public utility's assessed valuation within the 

state by using commonly recognized methods of a1 location *that are just 




and equi tab le.  The assessed value o f  p u b l i c  u t i l i t y  p roper ty  i s  
normal ly apportioned t o  each county based on the  p ropo r t i on  o f  gross 
investment cost  i n  a county r e l a t i v e  t o  gross investment cos t  
statewide. Rai l road company proper ty  i s  apportioned based on main l ine  
t rack  mileage. The admin is t ra to r  n o t i f i e s  each county assessor o f  t he  
amount o f  pub l i c  u t i l i t y  assessed va lua t i on  i n  the  county, and the  
assessor enters the  amount on the tax  r o l l s .  

Natura l  Resource Property: 

Mines. Mines are d iv ided i n t o  two classes -- producing and 
non-producing. Producing mines are those whose gross proceeds dur ing  
the  preceding calendar year exceeded $5,000. Producing mines are  
valued f o r  assessment a t  an amount equal t o  25 percent o f  the  mine 's  
gross proceeds. I f  the ne t  proceeds o f  a  mine exceed 25 percent o f  t he  
gross proceeds, the va lua t ion  f o r  assessment w i l l  be the  ne t  proceeds. 

Non-producing mines, non-metal l ic and coal producing mines are 
assessed i n  the  same manner as o ther  r e a l  p roper ty  (29 percent o f  
actual  value).  Machinery and equipment, personal proper ty ,  and 
improvements o ther  than mining improvements w i t h i n  a mine are valued 
f o r  assessment separately.  

O i l  and gas leaseholds. O i l  and gas leaseholds and lands are  
valued f o r  assessment a t  an amount equal t o  87.5 percent o f  t h e  
s e l l i n g  p r i c e  o f  o i l  and gas so ld  o r  t ranspor ted from the wellhead 
dur ing  the  preceding calendar year. O i l  and gas leaseholds u t i l i z i n g  
secondary recovery, t e r t i a r y  recovery, o r  r e c y c l i n g  p r o j e c t s  t o  
conserve o i l  and gas are valued a t  an amount equal t o  75 percent o f  
the  s e l l i n g  p r i c e  o f  product ion dur ing  the  preceding calendar year. 
The s e l l i n g  p r i c e  o f  o i l  and gas de l i vered  t o  the  Uni ted States o r  t h e  
s t a t e  and i t s  p o l i t i c a l  subdiv is ions as a r o y a l t y  i s  excluded. Ce r ta in  
surface and subsurface equipment i s  assessed separately.  

Ag r i cu l t u re  Property: 

The ac tua l  value o f  a g r i c u l t u r a l  lands, exc lus ive  o f  b u i l d i n g  
improvements, i s  determined by consider ing the product ive capac i ty  o f  
the land over a reasonable per iod  o f  time, c a p i t a l i z e d  a t  a  r a t e  o f  13 
percent.  

Tax De fe r ra l  For the  E lde r l y  and Credits:  

Tax de fe r ra l .  Persons 65 years o r  o lde r  may de fer  payment o f  
taxes f o r  an owner-occupied non-income producing home, townhome, 
condominium, o r  s i m i l a r  s t ruc tu re .  The d e f e r r a l  i s  f o r  one calendar 
year, bu t  may be continued on a annual basis.  The deferred taxes and 
accrued i n t e r e s t  o f  8  percent per annum are requ i red  t o  be pa id  i f :  

1) the taxpayer c la iming  the d e f e r r a l  dies; 

-81-



!,!. 

2) the property is sold or under contract for sale; 
3) the taxpayer moves for reasons other than i 1 1  health; or 

4) the taxpayer begins to rent the property or o herwi se 


receives income from it. 


Severance tax credit. Oil and gas companies are a1 lowed a credit 

against the severance tax equal to 87.5 percent of all property taxes 

paid except those imposed on equipment and facil ities used for 

production, transportation, and storage. The credit is not allowed for 

wells producing ten barrels or less per day. 


Revenue Limitations - Public Disclosure: 

Colorado law limits taxing entities to revenue increases of 5.5 
percent above the previous year's revenue for taxes collected in 1988, 
and 6 percent for taxes collected in 1989 and thereafter. The 
limitation may be exceeded for capital expenditures that have been 
approved by two-thirds of the governing board voting at a public 
hearing. The public hearing must be advertised in conformance with 
requirements contained in statute. All taxing entities may obtain 
approval for an excess levy increase from the electorate. Special 
districts have an additional option; they may submit an excess levy 
increase to the Division of Local Government for approval. A county, 
city and county, city, or town in compliance with the public 
disclosure law may also exceed the 1imitation. 

Property valuations that are excluded when computing the revenue 

limitations are: 


1) annexation or inclusion of additional land and property; 

2) new construct ion; 

3) increased product ion by a mine if the increase in product ion 


causes an increase in the level of services provided; and 

4) previously legal ly exempt federal property that becomes 


taxable, if an increase in services is required. 


The 5.5 percent limitation effective for taxes collected in 1988 

applies to home rule cities. Home rule counties are subject to the 

limits unless their charter has limitations that are equal to or more 

restrictive than the statutory provisions. 


Public disclosure. The limitations discussed above do not apply 

to any county, city and county, city or town that adopts the public 

disclosure procedure. This procedure becomes effective when: 


1) the governing board advertises its intention to adopt the 

pub1 ic disclosure procedure; 


2) the advertisement for the public meeting meets the 

requirements set forth in the public disclosure law (29-1-303, 

C.R.S.); 


3) two-thirds of the governing board's members approve the 

adoption of the public disclosure procedure at a public 
hearing. 



Once the certified mill levy has been determined, any governing 

board that has adopted the public disclosure provisions that wishes to 

exceed the certified mill levy must hold a public hearing to increase 

the levy. (The certified mill levy is that levy certified by the 

county assessor by the October 1 prior to the budget year which will 

raise the same amount of property tax revenue as was raised during the 

preceding year.) Specific statutory advertising requirements relating 

to the public hearing must be met. At the hearing, the board must 

adopt by resolution a mill levy for the upcoming budget year, and 

announce the percent by which this mill levy exceeds the certified 

mill levy. 


History of Property Tax Revenues: 


The state has not imposed a statewide property tax since 1964 

although the Colorado Constitution allows a maximum rate of four 

mills. 


Property Tax Revenue for Selected Years 
by Types of Governmental - - Units, 1930-1986 11. -

(in mi 1 1  ions) 


Specia1 

District 

and 
County 
Public General 

Total State 
Assessed 

Year State -- County Municipal School School 21 Total Valuation 

1930 $5.7 $10.1 $1,586.5 
1935 3.3 7.7 1,088.4 
1940 4.8 7.1 1,113.0 
1945 4.3 10.2 1,219.2 

1950 6.4 18.7 1,644.6 
1955 10.4 28.4 2,870.7 
1960 7.8 44.8 3,582.1 
1961 5.4 46.6 3,699.7 

1962 5.3 42.9 3,810.4 
1963 5.1 55.2 3,924.7 
1964 5.2 58.0 3,989.8 
1965 -- 63.6 4,087.6 

1966 -- 66.5 4,235.8 
1967 -- 71.3 4,432.6 
1968 -- 75.6 4,661.2 
1969 -- 79.1 4,908.9 

1970 -- 91.3 5,158.7 
1971 -- 105.1 5,464.3 
1972 -- 111.4 5,984.8 
1973 -- 133.7 6,688.0 



-- 

Special 
D i s t r i c t  County Tota l  S ta te  

and Publ ic  General Assessed 
Year State County Municipal School School ?/ Tota l  Valuat ion 

1974 -- $158.7 $60.6 -- $395.1 $614.4 $7,490.1 
1975 -- 190. 2 66.5 -- 447.2 703.8 8,435.9 
1976 -- 202.9 70.9 -- 517.3 791.1 10,058.8 
1977 -- 219.9 73.3 -- 553.3 846.4 10,689.6 

-1/ D i v i s i o n  o f  Property Taxation, Six teenth Annual Report, 1986. 
-2/ Includes General, Capi ta l  Reserve, Bond Redemption, and Jun ior  

College funds. 



Real Es ta te  T rans fe r  Tax 

C o n s t i t u t i o n a l  and S ta tu to r y  Au tho r i t y :  A r t i c l e  XX,  Colorado 
C o n s t i t u t i o n  

D e s c r i p t i o n  o f  Tax: The r e a l  es ta te  t r a n s f e r  t a x  i s  l e v i e d  a t  t h e  t ime  
r e a l  p rope r t y  i s  conveyed t o  a  purchaser. The tax  i s  analogous t o  a 
sa les  tax  on t he  purchase o f  r e a l  p roper ty .  

Rates: 

Mun ic ipa l it y  Rate M u n i c i p a l i t y  Rate 

Aspen 0.5% Glendale 1.0% 
Avon 1.0 Gypsum 1.0 
Breckenr idge 1.0 R i f l e  0.5 t o  1.5 
Crested B u t t e  1.0% on 1 s t  T e l l u r i d e  3.0 

t r a n s f e r s  Vai 1  1.0 
1.5% on Winter  Park 1.O 
subsequent 
t r a n s f e r s  



Sales and Use Taxes 


Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado 

Constitution; Title 29, Article 2, C.R.S. 


Description of Tax: Many counties and municipalities in Colorado levy 

a sales tax on the retail sales of tangible personal property and on 

some services. Colorado law vests with statutory cities and counties 

the power to impose a sales tax by ordinance. The ordinance must state 

that the personal property and services taxable are to be the same as 

those taxed by the state. With three exceptions (machinery or machine 

tools, residential power, and sales of food for off-premise 

consumption) counties and statutory cities must exempt the same items 

as the state. The state Department of Revenue is responsible for the 

col lect ion, admini strat ion, and enforcement of these countywide or 

municipal sales taxes. 


Statutory municipalities and counties are also authorized to levy 

a use tax. This tax, however, may be imposed only on the storage, use, 

or consumption of construction and building materials and motor and 

other vehicles on which registration is required. The collection, 

administration, and enforcement of a city or county use tax is the 

responsibility of the local entity. Not all localities impose a use 

tax. 


The imposition of a sales or use tax by a home rule city and the 

administration and collection thereof has generally been considered a 

matter of local concern. Home rule cities are required to conform 
sales tax ordinances or procedures to state law in the following 
areas: 

1) statute of limitations relating to the enforcement of sales 

and use tax collections; 


2) statute of limitations applicable to refunds of sales and use 

taxes; 


3) the amount of penalties and interest payable on delinquent 

remittances of such taxes; 


4) the posting of bonds; 

5) the use of a standard reporting form; and 

6) the dispute resolution process for deficient taxes. 


Colorado law does permit the Department of Revenue, at the 

request of the home rule city, to administer, collect, and distribute 

the sales tax of the home rule city. For this to occur, the home rule 

city's sales tax ordinance must tax and exempt the same items as the 

state. Again, the options of machinery and machine tools, residential 

power, and food are available to home rule cities for which the state 

collects the tax. 


State statutes limit the total state, county, and municipal sales 

tax to 7 percent, except that the rate may be 8 percent if necessary 

to allow a county to impose a 1 percent sales tax. Thus,- a 4 percent 

municipal levy in conjunction with a 3 percent state levy could not 
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p r o h i b i t  a county from levy ing  a 1 percent tax. The Regional 
Transportat ion D i s t r i c t  (RTD) sales tax and s t a t e  and l oca l  tour ism 
taxes are not included i n  the  s ta tu to ry  l i m i t  on sales taxes. 

Counties and M u n i c i p a l i t i e s  Levyinq Tax: Presented below are the  sales 
and use tax ra tes  i n  the  c i t i e s  and count ies o f  the s ta te .  The RTD 
sales tax i s  included where appl icable. 

SALES TAX I N  COLORADO 

Rates f o r  Counties, Mun ic ipa l i t i es ,  RTD, and State--July 1, 1986 

RTD TOTAL RTD TOTAL 
AND INCLUDES AND INCLUDES 

COUNTY C I T Y  COUNTY STATE COUNTY C I T Y  COUNTY STATE 
C I T Y  RATE RATE RATE 1/ C I T Y  RATE RATE RATE 1/ 

ADAMS 2/ 0.60% 3.60% BOULDER 2 /  

~ r v a d a  ( p a r t )  3.00% 0.60 6.60 Bou 1 der- 

Aurora ( p a r t )  3.50 0.60 7.10 Broomfield ( p a r t )  

Bennett * 2.00 0.00 5.00 E r i e  

Br ighton 3.00 0.60 6.60 Laf ayet te 

Broomfield ( p a r t )  3.00 0.60 6.60 Longmont 

Commerce C i t y  3.00 0.60 6.60 L o u i s v i l l e  * 

Federal Heights 2.00 0.60 5.60 Lyons 

Northglenn 3.00 0.60 6.60 Nederl and 

Thorton 3.50 0.60 7.10 Ward * 

Westminster ( p a r t )  3.25 0.60 6.85 

Bennett i s  exempt from the RTD 3.00 CHAFFEE * 


Buena V is ta  * 

ALAMOSA 0.00 3.00 Sal ida * 


A1 amosa 1.00 3.00 7.00 Poncha Springs * 


ARAPAHOE ?/ 0.60 3.60 CHEYENNE * 

Aurora ( p a r t )  3.50 0.60 7.10 Cheyenne Wells 

Cherry H i l l s  V i l .  3.00 0.60 6.60 K i t  Carson 

Columbine Val ley 3.00 0.60 6.60 

Eng1ewood 3.00 0.60 6.60 CLEAR CREEK * 

Glendale 3.50 0.60 7.10 Empir e  

Greenwood V i l l age  3.00 0.60 6.60 Georgetown 

L i t t l e t o n  ( p a r t )  3.00 0.60 6.60 Idaho Springs 

Sheridan * 3.00 0.60 6.60 S i l v e r  Plume * 

Eyers and Strasburg are exempt 3.00 


CONEJOS * 

ARCHULETTA * 2.06 5.00 Antoni to * 


La Jara * 

BACA * 0.00 3.00 Manassa * 

S p r i n g f i e l d  * 2.00 0.00 5.00 Romeo * 


BENT * 1-00 4.00 COSTILLA * 

Las Animas 2.00 1.00 6.00 Blanca * 


San Luis  * 




-- -- - 

RTD TOTAL RTD TOTAL 
AND INCLUDES AND INCLUDES 

COUNTY CITY COUNTY STATE COUNTY C I T Y  COUNTY STATE 
C I T Y  RATE RATE RATE 1/ C I T Y  RATE RATE RATE 1/ 

CROWLEY * 0.00% 3.00% GARFIELD * 0.25% 3.25% 
Ordway 2.00% 0.00 5.00 Carbondale 3.00% 0.25 6.25 

Glenwood Springs 2.75 0.25 6.00 
CUSTER 1.OO 4.00 New Castle 2.00 0.25 5.25 

S i l ve r  C l i f f  2.00 1.00 6.00 Parachute 3.00 0.25 6.25 

Westc l i f fe  * 2.00 1.00 6.00 R i f l e  2.00 0.25 5.25 


S i  1t 3.00 0.25 6.25 
DELTA * 2.00 5.00 

Cedaredge 1.50 2.00 6.50 GILPIN * 3.00 

Delta 2.00 2.00 7.00 Black Hawk * 4.00 0.00 7.00 

Hotchkiss * 2.00 2.00 7.00 Central C i t y  4.00 0.00 7.00 

Paonia * 1.00 2.00 6.00 


GRAND * 1.00 4.00 

DENVER, Cty & Co -2/ 3.50 0.60 7.10 Fraser 4.00 1.00 8.00 


Granby 4.00 1.00 8.00 

DOLORES * 0.00 3.00 Grand Lake 4.00 1.00 8.00 

Dove Creek 2.00 0.00 5.00 Hot Sulphur Springs4.GO 1.00 8.00 

Rico * 2.00 0.00 5.00 Kremml ing * 4.00 1.00 8.00 


Winter Park * 4.00 1.00 8.00 

DOUGLAS 2/ * 0.60 3.60 

Castle Rock 2.00 0.00 5.00 GUNNISON * 1.00 4.00 

Larkspur * 2.00 0.00 5.00 Crested Butte 4.00 1.00 8.00 

L i t t l e t o n  (pa r t )  3.00 0.60 6.60 Gunni son 3.00 1.00 7.00 

Parker 2.50 0.00 5.50 Marble * 2.00 1.00 6.00 


M t .  Crested Butte 4.00 1.00 8.00 
EAGLE * 4.00 P i t k i n  * 3.00 1.00 7.00 

Avon * 8.00 

Basalt 6.00 H INSDALE 4.00 7.00 

Eagle * 8.00 

Gypsum * 6.00 HUERFANO * 1.00 4.00 

Minturn * 8.00 La Veta * 2.00 1.00 6.00 

Red C l i f f  * 6.00 Walsenburg 2.00 1.00 6.00 

Va i l  * 8.00 


JACKSON * 3.00 6.00 
ELBERT * 0.00 3.00 

JEFFERSON 2/ * 1.10 4.10 
EL PAS0 * 3.00 Arvada (par t )  3.00 1.10 7.10 

Cal han 2.00 5.00 Broomfield (pa r t )  3.00 1.10 7.10 

Colorado Springs 2.50 5.50 Edgewater 3.50 1-10 7.60 

Fountain 3.00 6.00 Golden 2.00 1.10 6.10 

Green Mtn. Fa l l s  * 2.00 5.00 Lakewood 2.00 1.10 6.10 

ManitouSprings 3.50 6.50 Morrison 3.00 1.10 7.10 

Monument 2.00 5.00 Mountain View * 3.00 1.10 7.10 

Palmer Lake 2.00 5.00 Westminster (pa r t )  3.25 1.10 7.35 


Wheat Ridge 2.00 1-10 6.10 
FREMONT 1.50 4.50 L i t t l e t o n  (pa r t )  0.00 1.10 4.10 

Canon Ci ty  2.00 1.50 6.50 

Florence 2.00 1.50 6.50 




RTD TOTAL RTD TOTAL 
AND INCLUDES AND INCLUDES 

COUNTY CITY COUNTY STATE COUNTY CITY COUNTY STATE 
CITY RATE RATE RATE 11 - - -  CITY RATE RATE RATE 11--- 

KIOWA * MONTROSE * 
Eads Montrose 

Na tu r i  t a  
KIT CARSON * Nucla * 
B u r l i n g t o n  Olathe * 

LAKE * MORGAN * 
Brush 

LA PLATA * 
B a y f i e l d  * 

F o r t  Morgan 
Wiggins * 

Durango 
Ignac io  * OTERO * 

Fow 1 e r  * 
LARMIER * La Junta 
Berthoud Manzanol a 
Estes Park * Rocky Ford 
F o r t  C o l l i n s  
Love1 and OURAY * 
Wel l i ng ton  

LAS ANIMAS * 

Ouray * 
Rigeway * 

T r i n i d a d  PARK * 

LINCOLN * 
F a i r p l a y  * 

Limon PHILLIPS * 
Haxtun 

LOGAN * Holyoke 
S t e r l i n g  

PITKIN * 
MESA 

Co l l b ran  * 
Aspen * 
Basa l t  

De Buque * Snowmass V i l l a g e  * 1.00 
F r u i t a  
Grand Junc t i on  PROWERS * 
Pal isade * Granada 2.00 

MINERAL * 
H o l l y  * 
Lamar 

1.OO 
3.00 

Creede * 
PUEBLO * 

MOFFAT * P u e ~ l o  3.50 
Cra ig  * 

R I O  BLANCO 
MONTEZUMA * 

Cortez R I O  GRANDE 
Dolores * Del Nor te  * 2.00 
Mancos * Monte V i s t a  * 2.00 



COUNTY 
CITY 

ROUTT * 
Hayden 
Oak Creek * 
Steamboat S p r i  ngs 

SAGUACHE * 
Center * 
Saguache * 

SAN JUAN * 
S i l v e r t o n  * 

SAN MIGUEL * 
Norwood * 
T e l l u r i d e  

SEDGW I C K  
J u l  esburg 
Sedgwick * 

SUMMIT 
Breckenr idge * 
D i  11 i o n  
F r i s c o  
S i l v e r t h o r n e  * 

TELLER 
C r i p p l e  Creek * 
Wood 1 and Park 
V i c t o r  

RTD TOTAL 
AND INCLUDES 

CITY COUNTY STATE 
RATE RATE RATE 1/ - -  - 

COUNTY 
CITY 

WASHINGTON * 
Akron 
O t i s  

WELD * 
A u l t  
Dacono 
Eaton * 
E r i e  
Evans 
F i r e s t o n e  
F o r t  Lupton 
Garden C i t y  * 
G i  l c r e s t  
Gree 1 ey 
Hudson * 
Johnston * 
Keenesburg * 
Kersey * 
La S a l l e  * 
Lochbuie 
Mead 
M i l l i k e n  * 
P l a t t e v i  1 l e  * 
Severance 
W i ndsor 

Y UMA 
Wray 
Y uma 

These e n t i t i e s  DO NOT c o l l e c t  l o c a l  use taxes. 

1/ T o t a l  i nc ludes  the  combined sa les t a x  - 

RTD TOTAL 
AND INCLUDES 

CITY COUNTY STATE 
RATE RATE RATE 1/ -- - 

r a t e  f o r  t he  - 

m u n i c i p a l i t i e s ,  t he  count ies ,  the  Regional T ranspo r t a t i on  
D i s t r i c t  (RTD) where app l i cab le ,  and t he  s ta te .  On J u l y  1, 1987, 
a t a x  of two-tenths o f  one percent  ( - 2%)  Has l e v i e d  on t h e  sa les  
of t axab le  food, d r i nk ,  l odg ing  serv ices ,  s k i i n g ,  auto r e n t a l s  
and admissions t o  t o u r i s t  a t t r a c t i o n s  u n t i l  June 30, 1993. 

2/ To ta l  i nc ludes  RTD sa les t ax  o f  -6 o f  1 percent  (39-9-119, (2 ) ,  - 
C.R.S.) l e v i e d  i n  t he  Denver me t ropo l i t an  area. 

(Source: Department of Revenue) 



Specific Ownership Tax 


Enacted: 1937 


Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X ,  section 6, 
Colorado Constitution; Title 42, Article 3, C.R.S. 

Tax Base: Factory list price provides the basis for this tax imposed 

on every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or vehicle which is 

operated or drawn upon any highway in the state. For taxation 

purposes, motor vehicles are divided into the following classes: 


Class Motor Vehicle Type 


A 	 Every motor vehicle, truck, truck tractor, semitrailer, and 

trailer used over any public highway for compensation whether or 

not under contract (state collected tax) 


B 	 Every truck, truck tractor, trailer, and semitrailer not included 
in class A (county collected) 

C 	 Every motor vehicle not included in class A or B (county 

collected) 


D 	 Every utility trailer, camper trailer, and trailer coach (county 
collected) 

F 	 All mobile machinery and self-propelled construction equipment 
(county col lected) . 
(NOTE: There is no longer a class E category) 


Tax Rate: The taxable value for class A and B vehicles is 75 ercent of 
the manufacturer's suggested retail price. The taxable value for class 
C and D vehicles is 85 percent of the manufacturer's suggested retail 
price. Class F vehicles' taxable value is either: 

1) the factory list price and, if equipment has been mounted on 

the vehicle, the factory list price and 75 percent of the 

original price of mounted equipment, or 


2) when the factory list price is not available, 75 percent of 

original retail delivery price plus 75 percent of original retail 

delivery price of mounted equipment, or 


3) when (1) and (2) are not ascertainable, then the value is 

determined by the property tax administrator. 




- - 

The tax is computed using the following schedule: 


Fee or 
Years of Percent of 
Service -Class Taxable Value 

A,B,C,D,F 2.10% 

A,B,C,D,F 1.50% 


A,B,C,D 1.20% 

F 1.25% 


A,B,CJJ 0.90% 

F 1.00% 

F 0.75% 


9th A,B 0.45% or $10 ,o 

whichever is greater 


C,D 0.45% 


6th and over F .50% but not 

less than $5.00 


10th and over A $10.00 

B,C $3.00 

AD 	 0.45% or $3.00 


whichever is greater 


In lieu of taxes, equipment dealers that rent or lease class F 

vehicles may purchase a decal for $5.00 for each item of equipment to 

be rented or leased. The owner collects from the user and transmits to 

the county a specific ownership tax of 2 percent of the rental or 

lease payment. 


Exemptions: 


-- Motor homes; 
-- Vehicles displaying plates issued by the U.S. armed forces 

in a foreign country (45 day exemption); 
-- Electric-powered motor vehicles (exempt unt i 1 July 1, 1987) ; 

-- U.S. and Colorado government vehicles; 

- - Vehicles leased by the state; 

-- Firefighting vehicles, police ambulances, farm tractors, and 


mobile machinery and self-propelled construction equipment 

not operated on highways; 

One class B and one class C vehicle weighing less than 6,500 

pounds owned by a disabled veteran or P.O.W. 


Administration and Collection: Class A taxes are collected by the 

Department of Revenue and are due no later than January 1 of each 

year. Counties collect taxes for class B, C, D, and F vehicles, and 

the taxes which are due at the time of registration each year. 




History of Tax Rates: The 1937 law that created the tax had two 

classes of motor vehicles. The tax rates follow: 


Year Rate 


1st 3% of 70% of factory list price 

2nd 3% of 50% of factory list price 

3rd 3% of 40% of factory list price 

4th 3% of 30% of factory list price 

5th 3% of 15% of factory list price 

6th and Not more than $3.50 per year for class 

succeedi ng A, and a $1.50 flat rate for class B. 

years 


The taxable value was set at 75 percent of the retail delivery 

price in 1953. The rate of tax was amended in 1953 and in 1969. In 

1981 the taxable value for class C and D vehicles was set at 85 

percent. 


Disposition of Revenue: Revenue from class A is credited to the 

highway users tax fund and apportioned to the cities and counties 

according to the numbe r of miles of state highways within their 

jurisdiction. Class B, C, D, and F moneys are deposited with the 

county treasurers. Fifty cents of each collection is kept by the 

county as reimbursement for the cost of collection and 50 cents is 

credited to a special fund for a statewide data processing system 

(42-1-210.1, C.R.S.). 


Collections: 


Specific Ownership Tax Receipts 
($ in Millions) 

Calendar Percent Calendar Percent , 

Year Collection Change Year Collection Change 

(Source: Department of Revenue) 




APPENDICES 


Major Tax Sources of the Fifty States 


Appendix A contains five of the major revenue generating taxes 
imposed and license fee collections in the 50 states and the tax 
revenue received by each source. These data were reported by the 
Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, State Government 
Collections in 1986. The percentage of each tax to the state's total 
revenues is also shown for comparative purposes 

The taxes presented produce the most revenues for the 50 states: 
income -- personal and corporate; sales and use; motor fuel; and 
severance. Motor fuel taxes include taxes for gasoline, diesel fuel, 
and other special fuels, but are generally devoted to highway 
purposes. Taxes not included are cigarette, alcohol, estate, 
inheritance, gift, insurance, documentary and stock transfer, 
pari-mutuel, amusement, public utility, state property, and local 
taxes. Motor vehicle registration fees and other state imposed fees 
are not included. 

The Bureau of Census report also stated that the individual 
income and general sales tax have increased in importance since 1983 
as a source of income, while corporate income and severance taxes have 
declined. Motor fuel and tobacco products taxes have remained 
relatively constant. Sales taxes accounted for more revenue than any 
other tax source in 27 of the 50 states and in 22 of the 39 states 
that impose both sales and income taxes. The individual income tax is 
the main revenue source in 20 states. Severance tax is the primary 
source of reveune in Alaska and Wyoming, while the corporate income 
tax is the largest source of revenue for New Hampshire. 

Appendix I3 supplies a further comparison of the per capita tax 
burden by type of tax. Amounts of per capita state tax revenue range 
from a low of $470 in New Hamphshire to a high of $3,477 in Alaska. 

Definitions 


State tax revenues are the amounts received by a state from taxes 

collected excluding refunded amounts. Interest, penalities, and local 

shares of state imposed taxes are included. Locally collected and 
retained revenues are not included. 

Sales and qross receipts tax. Sales or gross receipts tax 
applicable to the sale of all goods and services or gross 

receipts of a business imposed at a single or graduated rate. 

Dealers discounts are excluded. 


Motor fuels. Tax on gasoline, diesel oil, aircraft fuel, and 

other fuels used in motor vehicles. 


Alcoholic beverages. Taxes on all alcoholic beverages. 




Cigarette/tobacco. Taxes on tobacco products including, c igarette 

papers, and synthetic cigars and cigarettes. 


Insurance. Taxes specifically imposed on insurance companies that 

are measured by gross premiums or adjusted gross premiums. 


Public utilities. Taxes imposed on the gross receipts of or units 

of service sold by public utilities. Public utilities include the 

following companies: public passenger and freight transportation, 

telephone, telegraph, light and power, and local government owned 

utilities. 


Pari-mutuel. Taxes on wagers at race tracks. 


Amusements. Taxes placed on admissions charges or gross receipts 

of types of amusement businesses. 


License taxes. Taxes imposed at a flat rate or measured by 

capital stock, capital surplus, number of units, or capacity. 

This includes: motor vehicles and operators, corporations in 

general, pub1 ic utilities, alcoholic beverages, amusements, 

occupations and businesses, hunting and fishing, and other 

licenses that may not be placed in the forementioned categories. 


Individual income. Taxes on individual net income including 

interest, dividends, and other intangible forms of income. 


Corporate income. Taxes on the net income of a corporation or 

business. 


Deathlgift. Taxes imposed on the transfer of property at death or 

as a gift. 


Severance. Taxes imposed on the value or quantity of natural 

resource products removed from land or water. 


Documentary. Taxes on the recording of the transfer of mortgages, 

deeds, and securities, except motor vehicle titles. 




APPCNOIX A 

MAJOR STATE GUVLRNMENT TAX REVENUL. BY TYPE OF TAX - -  1986 

I. T o t a l  Collections and Percent  o f  To ta l  
( $  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

o f  A l l  Tax  Sources 

S t a t e  

Genera l 
Sales & 

Gross 
Rece ip ts  

Income Taxes 
I n d i v i d u a l  Corporate  Severance 

Motor  
Fue l  L i censes  

A 1 abama $838.3 
28.0% 

$757.3 
25.3% 

$150.7 
5.2% 

$75.1 
2.5% 

$254.4 
8.5% 

$260.2 
8.7% 

A1 aska 0 .IJ 

0.0% 
3 .6  
0.0% 

177.8 
9.6% 

1.432.9 
77.2% 

22.7 
1.2% 

63.8 
3.4% 

Ar I zona 1.459.3 
45.7% 

702.U 
22.0% 

17U. 8 
5.3% 

0. b 
0.0% 

257.4 
8.1% 

225.7 
7.1% 

Arkansas 696.5 
38.1% 

509.9 
27.9% 

113.2 
6.2% 

22.2 
1.2% 

197.7 
10.8% 

120.8 
6.6% 

C a l i f o r n i a  l ~ , 1 0 5 . 9  
33.7% 

11,368.1 
36.8% 

3.833.3 
12.4% 

19.2 
0.1% 

1.193.7 
3.9% 

1.041.3 
3.4% 

COLORADO ?36.0 
31.4% 

955.9 
40.8% 

116.9 
5.0% 

2 2 . 0  
1.0% 

194.4 
8.3% 

142.8 
6.1% 

1.624.9 
42.4% 

3ub. : 
7.6% 

b l 0 . 8  
16.1% 

II.II 

0.  0% 

241.9 
0.3% 

205.6 
5.4% 

b.iJ 
0.0% 

393.7 
44.6% 

88.5 
10.1% 

0.11 
0.0% 

33.1 
3.7% 

265.5 
30.1% 

F l o r i d a  5.02/.4 
55.1% 

U. I, 

U. b% 
486.9 

5.3% 
17U. 9 

1.9% 
739.0 

8.1% 
620.9 

6.8% 

Georg id 1.640.3 
33.4% 

1.945.2 
39.6% 

118.1 
8.5% 

0.1) 
D.U% 

392.9 
8.0% 

154.0 
3.1% 

!36. 7 

50.1% 
4 6 / . 8  

31.4% 
13.7 
2.9% 

U. 0 
0.0% 

44.1 
3.0% 

25.9 
1.7% 

l daho 250.5 
33.6% 

256. LI 

34.-I'X. 
42. ,' 

5.7% 
0.5 
11.1% 

77.7 
10.4% 

67.3 
9.0% 

I I I i n o i s  3.366.2 
34.3% 

2.645.4 
27. 0% 

853./ 
8.8% 

0 .0  
U.0X 

618.9 
6.3% 

734.3 
7.5% 

- 3 1 -



-- 

Lenera l 
Sales & 

Lross Income Tdxes Motor 

st 


1ndiana 

l o ~ d  

Kansas 

Kentucky 

Lrjuisiana 

Maine 

Mary land 

Massachusetts 

Michigan 

Minnesota 

M i s s i s s i p p i  

M issour i  

Mcntana 

Nebraska 

Nevada 

Nek tlampshirc 

Receipts  

$2.161.3 
48.5% 

768.6 
31.3% 

560.7 
29.3% 

881.3 
27.4% 

1.135.0 
31.3% 

383.3 
34.8% 

1.189.6 
25.54. 

I ,721.3 
22.4% 

2.687.0 
28.8% 

1.359.0 
27.7% 

1 .i,30. 	 I 
53.8% 

1.530.2 
42.4% 

0.0 
CJ .oz 

349.9 
31.3% 

519.5 
49.6% 

U.b 
c) .nx 

I n d i v i d u a l  

$1.326.9 
29.8% 

864.5 
35.2% 

582.2 
30.5% 

819.9 
25.5% 

457.6 
12.6% 

337.1 
311.6% 

1.929.5 
41.3% 

3,817.3 
47.2% 

3.248.2 
34.9% 

1.948.6 
39.8% 

572.6 
14.2% 

1 . 1  	lo.; 
3U. 9% 

172.2 
27.9% 

351.8 
31.4% 

b.11 


0.  0% 

24.3 
5.1% 
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Corporate  

$183.6 
4.1% 

138.6 
5.6% 

156.3 
8.2% 

233.5 
7.3% 

263.8 
7.3% 

51.9 
4.7% 

250.3 
5.4% 

1 . 0 6 8 . ~  
13.9% 

1.449.6 
15.6% 

367.3 
7.5% 

97.3 
5.1% 

174.2 
4.8% 

58.6 
9.5% 

54.6 
4.9% 

IJ.0 
0.0% 

99.1 
10.4% 

Fue l  

$369.4 
8.3% 

230.5 
9.4% 

151.7 
7.9% 

194.5 
6.0% 

335.6 
9.2% 

91.4 
8.3% 

3U8.8 
6.6% 

291.2 
3.8% 

593.4 
6.4% 

336.1 
6.9% 

1L1.5 

0.5% 

213.9 
6.0% 

19.4 
12.9% 

146.5 
13.1% 

79.7 
7.6% 

7U.0 
14.5% 

1 icenses 

$144.6 
3.2% 

236.4 
9.6% 

124.8 
6.5% 

187.5 
5.8% 

351.7 
9.7% 

81.9 
7.4% 

158.0 
3.4% 

205.8 
2.7% 

534.1 
5.7% 

341.0 
7.0% 

153.6 
8.0% 

304.4 
8.4% 

61.2 
9.9% 

93.8 
8.4% 

117.6 
11.2% 

82.1 
16.9% 



General 
Sales & 

Gross income Taxes Motor 

New Jersey 

New Mex I LL  

New Y O r k  

Nor th Laro l I na 

Nor th UaKotd 

Oh10 

Ok 1 ahoma 

Oregon 

P e n n s y l ~ a n i a  

Rhoae l s l a n a  

South Car0 l i n a  

South D a k ~ t d  

Tennessee 

Texas 

Utah 

Vermont 

Receipts  I n d i v i d u a l  Corporate Severance Fuel  L icenses 

$2,614.4 $2.052.6 $954.9 LO.0 $339.0 $519.6 

31.3% 24.6% 11.4% 0.0% 4.1% 6.2% 


625.5 	 102.6 12.1 367.2 1O3.5 64.8 
42.8% 7.0% 4.9% 25.1% 7.1% 4.4% 

4.760.9 	 11,582.3 l.gUl.9 li .[I 466.9 776.2 
20.9% 50.9% 8.4% 0.0% 2.1% 3.4% 

1.384.1 	 2.206.7 512.1 1.4 424.2 391.7 

24.8% 39.5% 9.2% 0.0% 7.6% 7.0% 


117.0 	 73.4 56.3 147.0 50.5 55.6 

28.7% 11.9% 9.1% 23.9% 8.2% 9.0% 


3.16b.u 	 2.776.9 477.b 9.3 063.7 804.2 

34.9% 30.6% 5.3% 0.1% 7.3% 8.9% 


656.0 	 687.6 107.1 571.4 205.7 326.2 

22.2% 23.2% 3.6% 19.3% 6.9% 11.0% 


O.u 1.193.8 161.7 32.4 133.8 242.7 

0.0% 61.8% 8.4% 1.7% 6.9% 12.6% 


3-24] .4 	 2.655.7 963.2 0.0 635.9 1.137.1 

30.3% 24.9% 9.0% 0.0% 6.0% 10.6% 


291.4 	 286.6 67.7  0.0 47.5 34.3 
32.9% 32.4% 7.6% 0.0% 5.4% 3.9% 

1.111.5 	 9~7.3 149.5 0.0 253.2 158.4 
3b.5% 31.4% 5.2% 0.0% 8.8% 5.5% 

198.9 	 0.0  23.6 5.6 57.5 43.7 
49.3% 0.0% 5.8% 1.4% 14.2% 10.8% 

1,865.9 	 67.4 268.6 2.3 369.3 332.3 

57.0% 2.1% 8.2% 0.1% 11.3% 10.2% 


4.327.7 	 0.0 0 ,IJ 1,552.1 1.011.5 1,785.4 
38.9% 0.0% 0.0% 14.0% 9.1% 16.0% 

558.6 	 451.5 66.5 43.9 117.7 57.5 

40.9% 33.1% 4.9% 3.2% 8.6% 4.2% 


98.b 160.5 30.5 U . 0  38.5 42.9 
19.7% 32.1% 6.1% O,O% 7.7% 8.6% 
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tienera l 
Salcs LC 

Gross Income Taxes Motor 
S t a t e  To ta l  Receipts  I n d i v i d u a l  Corporate Severance -Fuel L icenses 

V i r g i n i a  $4.846.6 $1 ,020.2 $2.174.3 $280.8 $1.6 S3U1.6 $306.5 
21 .OX 44.9% 5.8% 0.0% 6.3% 6.3% 

Washington 5,219.3 3.113.2 0.0 8.6 3!.U 393.6 263.8 
59.6% 0.0% 0.0% 0.7% 7.5% 5.1% 

West V i r g i n i a  1.848.6 811.1 478.6 88.9 0.0 152.1 109.7 
43.9% 25.9% 4.8% 0.0% 8.2% 5.9% 

Wyoming 

11. A d d i t i o n a l  S ta te  raxes H a v y g  2% u r  Gredter  Y i e l a  
( $  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

Percent Percent 
D e a t h j b i f t  Tax Revenue o f  Y i e l d  Documentary lax  Revenue o f  Y i e l d  

Connect icut  $150.6 3.9% Delaware $ 25.8 2.9% 
Iova 58.3 2.4 F l o r i d a  444.9 4.9 
Massachusetts 208.1 2.7 New Hampsnire 34.2 7.1 
New Hampshire 14.3 2.9 New York 679.3 3.0 
New Jersey 188.6 2.3 Washington 113.7 2.2 
Pennsylvania 322.8 3.0 
South Dakota 11.7 2.9 

Cigarette/Tobacco Insurance tax 

A1 abama A1 aoama 

Arkansas Arizona 

COLORADO Arkansas 

Connect icut  C d l i f o r n ~ a  

F l o r i d a  COLORADO 

I l l i n o i s  Connect icut 

1  owa Delaware 

Kansas F l o r i d a  

Louis iana t ieorg ia 

Maine tiawai 1 


Massacnusetts Idaho 

Michigan Iowa 

M i  nnesotb KansaL 

M i s s i s s i p p i  Kent uCk, 

M issour i  1u1ri s l a n d  

Montana Malne 

Nebraska Mary1 anc 

hevadd MaSSJLhuSrt l~  




New Hampshire 

New Jersey 

Ohio 

Ok lahoma 

Oregon 

Pennsylvani5 

Rhode Island 

South Dakota 

Tennessee 

Texas 

Vermont 

Washington 

Wi scons in 


Alcohol i r  
Beverages lax 
A1 abama 
F 1orida 
Georgia 
Hawai i 
Kansas 
Maine 
Montana 
New Hampshire 
North Carolina 
South Carolina 
South Dakota 
Texas 
Vermont 
Virginia 

--StaLt. Propert- 
Alatlama 
Alaska 
Ar i rona 
California 
Florida 
Illinois 
Kentucky 
Mary land 
Michigan 
Montana 
Nevada 
New Hampshi re 
Washinyton 
Wisconsin 
Wyoming 

Percent 

of Yield 


6.8% 
2.6 
2.0 

2.5 
3.8 
2.2 
3.3 
3.7 
2.5 
3.4 
2.4 
2.1 
2.3 

3.2 
4.8 
2.3 
2.0 
2.3 
2.9 
2.3 
2.3 
2.3 
3.6 
2.1 
3.1 
3.0 
2.0 

2.1 
6.1 
3.6 
5.0 
2.3 
2.1 
7.9 
2.4 
2.0 
7.3 
3.2 
2.1 

15.7 
2.3 

13.3 

2 .2  

Percent 
Insurance tax (cont. j Rev. of Yield 
Minnesuta $97.6 2.0% 
Mississ~ppi 3.3 
Mi ssour I 3.4 
Montana 3.8 
Nebraska 3.9 
Nevada 3.1 
New hampshire 5.1 
New Mex ico 3.0 
North Carolina 2.4 
North Dakota 2.1 
Ohio 2.2 
Okl ahoma 3.8 
Oregon 2.4 
Pennsylvania 2.4 
Rhode !\\dnd 2.6 
South Carolina 2.1 
South Dakota 4.8 
Tennessee 3.3 
Texas 3.8 
Utah 2.2 
Vermont 2.2 
Virginia 2.7 
West Virginia 2.7 

Public Utilities Tax 
A1 abama 7.9 
Arizona 2.5 
Connect iiut 7.1 
Delaware 2.2 
Florida 2.2 
Hawai i 4.7 
Illinois 6.6 
Maine 2 .8  
New Jersey 12.0 
New York 4.2 
North Carol ina 3.6 
Ohio 7.1 
Pennsylvania 4.9 
Rhode lsland 7.1 
Texas 2.1 
Vermon L 4.0 
Virginia 2.8 
Washington 3.1 
W i scclnsirl 3.0 

Amusements Tax 
Nevada 
New Jersey 



APPLNDIX B 


STAlE GOVERNMENT TAX REVENUE AND TAX REVENUE PER CAPITA. BY TYPE OF TAX 1/ 


A1 abama 
Alaska 
Ar izona 
Arkansas 
C d l i f o r n i a  

COLORADO 
Connect icut  
De laware 
F l o r i d a  
Georgia 

Hawaii 
Idaho 
I l l i n o i s  
Ind iana  
Iowa 

Kansas 
K m t u c k j  
Louis iana 
Maine 
Mary land 

Massachusetts 
Michigan 
Minnesota 
M i s s i s s i p p i  
M issour i  

Montana 
Nebraska 
Nevada 
New tiampsnire 
New Jersey 

New Mex i c o  
New Y O r k  

Nor th  Caro l ind  
Nor th  Dakota 
Ohio 

1985 
Per c a p i t a  

Persona 1 
l ncome 

$10.673 
18.187 
12.795 
10.476 
16.065 

14.812 
18,089 
14.272 
13.742 
12.543 

13.814 
11.120 
14.738 
12.446 
12.594 

13.775 
10.824 
11,274 
11.887 
15.b64 

16.380 
13,608 
13.087 
9.187 

13.244 

1C1.911 
13.288 
14.461 
14.964 
l 7 . Z l l  

lu.914 
16.0511 
11.61 7 

: 2  ,052 
13.226 

( $  i n  M i l l i o n s )  

Genera l 
Sales & 

Gross 
Receipts  

( C o l l e c t i o n s )  

Genera l 
Sales & 

Gross 
Receipts  

Per c a p i t a  

I n d i v i d u a l  I n d i v i d u a l  
lncome lncome 

( C o l l e c t i o n c l  Per c a p i t a  

T o t a l  T o t a l  
Revenue 21 Revenue 2/ 

( C o l l e c t i o n s )  Per c a p i t a  



Genera I Genera1 
1985 Salesf Salesb 

Per capita Gross Gross Individual Individual Total Total 
Personal Receipts Receipts 1ncome Income Revenue 21 Revenue ?/ -

1ncome (Collections) Per capita 1Collections) Per capita (Collect ions) Per capita 

Oklahoma $12.232 
Oregon 12.622 
Pennsylvania 13,437 
Hhode Lslana 13.906 
South Carolina 10.586 

South Dakota 11.161 
Tennessee 11,243 
Texas 13,483 
Utah 10,493 
Vermont 12.117 

Virginia 14,542 
Washington 13.876 
West Virginia 10.193 
Wisconsin 13.154 
Wyoming 13.223 

I/ This table is prepared from per capita income estimates for calendar year 1985. using July 1. 1986 
population estimates, and 1986 state fiscal year collections. Source: U.S. Department of Comnerce, 
Bureau of the Census. State Government Tax Collections in 1986 

2 /  	 Total revenue represent the total revenues collected from the folluwlnj state taxes: individual and 
corporate income, severance, property, death/gift. documentary. sales and use. motor fuels, public 
utilities, cigarette/tobacco. insurance. alcoholic beverage. pari-mutuel. amusements, other taxes that 
may not be catagorized in one of the forementimed taxes, and license taxes. 




