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INTRODUCTION

This report presents an outline of state and local taxes imposed in Colorado. The Colorado
Lottery has also been included as it is a significant source of income for several governmental
purposes. Not included in this report are specific license and registration fees, permit fees, revenues
from fines and court costs, and interest earnings.

Constitutional and Statutory Fiscal Requirements

The table below outlines certain financial requirements that are placed on state and local
governments either by the state constitution or Colorado statutes.

TABLE A
Constitutional and Statutory Fiscal Requirements

State shall have a balanced budget Article X, Section 16,

Colorado Constitution
Restriction on total state spending: Article X, Section 20,

Annual percentage change is limited to inflation plus the percentage change | Colorado Constitution
in state population in the calendar year prior to the start of the fiscal year.
This provision defines spending broadly so that spending equals revenues
for its limitation purposes.

Restriction on General Fund appropriations: Section 24-75-201.1 (1) (a)
Beginning FY 1991-92, General Fund appropriations are limited to the lesser | (ll), C.R.S.

amount of 5 percent of Colorado personal income in the calendar year two
years prior to the start of the fiscal year or 6 percent over the previous year's
General Fund appropriation. Since its inception, the 6 percent growth limita-
tion has been in effect. This restriction is known as the Arveschoug-Bird limit.
There are exceptions to this restriction for federal mandates and court orders.

Required statutory reserve for state government: Section 24-75-201.1 (1) (d)
Four percent of most General Fund appropriations. (i), C.R.S.

Required constitutional emergency reserve for state government: The Article X, Section 20,
state must reserve 3% or more of its fiscal year spending for emergency Colorado Constitution
purposes. Emergencies do not include economic conditions, revenue

shortfalls, or salary and fringe benefit increases for employees.

Restrictions on local government property tax revenues: Section 29-1-301 (1), C.R.S;
There are statutory and constitutional restrictions on property tax revenues. Article X, Section 20,

. The statutory restriction limits revenue increases to 5.5 percent, with certain Colorado Constitution
exceptions such as increased revenue from new construction and ‘

'annexations. The constitutional restriction limits increases to inflation in the

prior calendar year plus annual local growth, adjusted for property tax revenue

» - changes approved by voters after 1991. |

Annual percentage change is limited to inflation plus a local growth factor. olorado Constitution
For school districts, local growth is defined as the percentage change in

enroliment. For other local governments, local growth is defined as the net

percentage change in the actual value of all real property. This limit defines

spending to be revenues, thus is a revenue limit.

Restriction on local government total spending: 1‘ Atticle X, Section 20,
|C




Article X, Section 20, Colorado Constitution

Article X, Section 20 of the Colorado Constitution was adopted by a vote of the people on
November 3, 1992. This section is also known as the Taxpayer's Bill of Rights, or TABOR. A brief
. description of the amendment is provided below.

Voter Approval of Tax Incraasés, Debt

Voter approval is required for any new tax, any tax rate increase, any mill levy increase over
the prior year, any increase in the assessment ratio for a class of property, any extension of an
expiring tax, or any tax policy change that causes a net tax revenue increase. The electorate's
approval is also required for the creation of most financial obligations that extend beyond the current
fiscal year unless government sets aside enough money to fund the obligation in all years that
payments are due. Other changes that would weaken the current limits on government revenue,
spending, and debt would require voter approval. Voter approval can be temporarily suspended for
tax increases in declared emergencies and when revenue is insufficient to meet payments for general
obligation debt, pensions, and final court judgments.

Spending Limits
Article X, Section 20, defines spending broadly so that it is essentially equal to revenues.

State. Article X, Section 20 of the Colorado Constitution limits the maximum annual
-percentage change in state fiscal year spending to inflation plus the percentage change in state
.population in the prior calendar year, adjusted for revenue changes approved by voters after 1991.

Local. Atrticle X, Section 20 of the Colorado Constitution limits the maximum annual
percentage change in each local government's fiscal year spending to inflation in the prior calendar
year plus annual local growth. This spending is adjusted for property tax revenue changes approved
by voters after 1991, any changes to taxation of business personal property taxes, and turnbacks of
state mandated programs. Annual local growth is defined as the percentage change in student
enrollment for school districts. For non-school districts, annual local growth is defined as the net
percentage change in the actual value of all real property in a district from construction of taxable real
property improvements, minus destruction of similar improvements, and additions to, minus deletions
from, taxable real property.

Surplus Revenues and Taxpayer Refunds

The provisions of Article X, Section 20 of the Colorado Constitution require that revenues
in excess of the limit be refunded in the next fiscal year, unless voters agree to let the state keep the
surplus. The constitution allows any reasonable method for refunding these excess revenues to

taxpayers.

InFY 1996-97, state spending growth was limited to 6.6 percent and it collected $139 million
more than allowed by the constitution. In FY 1997-98, state spending growth was limited to 5.5
percent and it collected $563.2 million more than allowed by the constitution. Beginning with FY
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1996-97, the General Assembly has provided a refund of sales tax collections using the state's income
tax system. The amount of each person's refund depends upon his or her federal adjusted gross
income and tax filing status. The refund is available to all full-time Colorado residents over the age
of 18 and residents under 18 who are required to file a Colorado income tax return. Most persons
are eligible regardless of whether or not they pay state income taxes. Corporations, nonresidents,
part-time residents, and anyone convicted of a felony are not eligible for refunds.

Taxpayer Refunds in FY 1996-97. During a special session in September of 1997, the
General Assembly enacted House Bill 97S-1001 to refund excess sales tax collections. The refund
mechanism, which used fixed dollar amounts for taxpayers in each of three income brackets, was
estimated to refund a total of $142.1 million. As of October 31, 1998, the state had refunded
$134.1 million to Colorado taxpayers. The refund amounts for each income bracket are illustrated
in the following table:

TABLE B
FY 1996-97 TABOR Refund Amounts by Income and Tax Filing Status

$15,000 and less $37 $74
$15,001 to $100,000 $60 $120 |
More than $100,000 $80 $160 |

Taxpayer Refunds in FY 1997-98. During a special session in September of 1998, the
legislature adopted a refund mechanism similar to the one used to refund FY 1996-97 excess
revenues. House Bill 98S-1003 instituted a four-tier system estimated to refund $565 million to
Colorado taxpayers. The refund amounts for each income bracket are illustrated in the following
table:

TABLE C
FY 1997-98 TABOR Refund Amounts by Income and Tax Filing Status

$20,000 and less $142 $284
$20,001 to $50,000 $195 $390
$50,001 to $95,000 $276 $552
More than $95,000 $384 $768

Local Government Revenue Limits

The annual rate of growth in property tax revenue for local governments (except school
districts) is limited to the rate of inflation plus the net change in the actual value of local real property
due to additions and deletions from the tax rolls and construction and destruction of improvements
to real property. Certain funds are excluded from the base figure used for calculating the annual
property tax revenue limit such as principal and interest payments on government bonds, voter
approved revenue increases, emergency taxes, taxpayer refunds, and federal funds. Exceptions from
this revenue limit can be approved by the voters.
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Since the 1992 adoption of TABOR, Colorado voters have approved nearly 71 percent or
629 of 887 municipal and county-level TABOR measures. Municipal voters have approved nearly
92 percent or 309 of 337 revenue-retention measures and 60 percent or 205 of 339 post-TABOR
measures which increase taxes or contain debt provisions.

County election results are similar. Between 1993 and 1997, Colorado voters approved
over 54 percent or 115 of 211 county-level TABOR measures. Spending limit waivers have passed
81 percent of the time. Those waivers with sales or use tax increases have passed 78 percent of the
time. Debt increases have passed 50 percent of the time. Sales or use tax increases have passed
30 percent of the time, and mill levy increases/extensions have a 30 percent passage rate.

Prohibited Taxes

Any new or increased real estate transfer taxes, any local income tax, and any new state real
property tax is prohibited under the amendment. Any future state income tax law change is required
to have a single tax rate applicable to individuals and corporations with no added surcharge and any
state income tax law change may not take effect until the following tax year.
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SECTION 1

General Fund

All moneys not earmarked by the constitution or by statute for special funds are credited to
the General Fund. This fund is the state's major operating fund. As displayed in Graph 1.1 below,
the major taxes credited to the fund include individual income, sales and use, and corporate income
taxes. Other taxes which are credited to the fund include: cigarette; tobacco; gaming, insurance
premiums; liquor; pari-mutuel racing; and estate taxes.

GRAPH 1.1
Fiscal Year 1997-98 General Fund Receipts

All Other (6.17%)
Insurance Premiums (2.11%)

Sales and Use (28.63%) Individual Income (56.50%)

Liquor/Cigarette/Tobacco (1.72%)
Corporate iIncome (4.87%)

Table 1.1 compares General Fund (GF) revenues by source for fiscal years 1988-89 and
1997-98 and depicts the amount and percentage each source contributed to the GF. Individual
income taxes still account for the largest portion of GF revenues, followed by sales and use taxes.
Together, the revenues from these three sources rose from 84 to 85 percent over the last ten years.
There are three new revenue sources since July 1, 1986: tobacco products, gaming, and hospital
providers which contributed 1.89 percent to the GF in FY 1997-98.

Cigarette, insurance premiums, sales, liquor, court receipts, severance, and pari-mutuel racing
taxes comprised a smaller percentage contribution to GF receiptsin FY 1997-98 thanin FY 1988-89.
Severance and pari-mutuel taxes decreased over the comparison time period.

Prepared by Legislative Council Staff Page 1



SECTION 1 - General Fund December 1998

TABLE 1.1
State General Fund Revenues, FY 1987-88 and FY 1997-98
(% in millions)

Sales , $694.8 28.0% $1,426.0 26.4%
Use 54.7 2.2% 120.3 2.2%
Cigarette 59.0 2.4% 59.9 1.1%
Tobacco Products 3.0 0.1% 8.1 0.1%
Liquor 21.5 0.9% 25.1 0.5%
Other 2.0 0.1% 0.0 0.0%
TOTAL EXCISE $835.0 33.6% $1,639.4 30.3%
Individual Income $1,311.0 52.7% $3,051.6 56.5%
Corporate Income 167.0 6.7% 263.1 4.9%
TOTAL INCOME $1,478.0 59.5% $3,314.7 61.4%
Estate $15.5 0.6% $109.6 2.0%
Insurance Premiums 81.1 3.3% 113.8 2.1%
Pari-mutuel 8.4 0.3% 71 0.2%
Iinterest income 15.6 0.6% 52.2 1.0%
Court Receipts 20.5 0.8% 29.4 0.5%
Severance 10.7 0.4% 0.0 0.0%
Gaming NA 0.0% 21.5 0.4%
Hospital Providers NA 0.0% 72.6 1.3%
Other 20.8 0.8% 45.4 0.8%
TOTAL OTHER $172.6 6.9% $447 1 8.3%
GROSS GENERAL FUND $2,485.6 100.0% $5,401.2 100.0%

NA: Not Applicable.
SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

General Fund Revenue History

Table 1.2 provides a historical perspective of collections for each revenue source from
FY 1988-89 to FY 1997-98. General Fund revenues increased at a compound average annual rate
of 9.0 percent during the ten-year period. By contrast, Colorado population grew at a compound
average annual rate of 1.9 percent and the Denver-Boulder consumer price index increased at a rate
of 3.6 percent.

The individual income tax is the largest state tax, accounting for 56.5 percent of General
Fund revenues. Individual income taxes grew at an annual rate of 9.8 percent during the ten-year

period. Stronger job growth generated by the economic rebound of the 1990s has bolstered the
growth rate.

Page 2 Prepared by Leglslative Council Staft



December 1998 SECTION 1 - General Fund

The state sales tax is the second largest state tax. Sales tax revenues increased at a
compound average annual rate of 8.3 percent from FY 1988-89 to FY 1997-98. The past five
fiscal years have had strong rates of growth with each year’s growth rate exceeding 7.5 percent.
Use tax receipts have increased at a greater annual rate, 9.2 percent. Growth in this tax receipt
stream was fueled by growth in the construction industry.

Corporate income taxes increased during the period at a compound average annual rate of
5.2 percent. These receipts are extremely volatile. Corporate tax receipts declined in two of the
intervening years since FY 1988-89. Recent strength in this tax stream is attributable to strong
local growth combined with a resurgent national economy, productivity gains that kept labor costs
from escalating, and low inflation. These factors contributed to strong corporate profits that surged
over the past three years.

Prepared by Legislative Council Staff Page 3
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TABLE 1.2
General Fund Revenues, FY 1988-89 through FY 1997-98
(3 in millions)

Sales $694.8 $768.1 $779.8 $844.5 $928.9 $1,036.6 $1,131.8 $1,2187 $1,310.0 $1,426.0 8.3%
Use 547 62.5 66.9 69.1 69.1 825 91.1 102.8 115.8 120.3 9.2%
Cigarette 59.0 56.3 57.5 57.3 56.6 57.0 59.7 58.2 60.0 59.9 0.2%
Tobacco Products 30 3.2 3.9 43 46 55 5.9 7.0 82 8.1 11.7%
Liquor 21.5 21.4 19.1 21.2 232 226 23.3 243 240 25.1 1.7%
Other 20 20 37 32 36 3.6 4.1 44 32 0.0 NA
TOTAL EXCISE $835.0 $913.5 $930.9 $999.6 $1,086.0 $1,207.8 $1,315.9 $1,4154 $1,521.1 $1,639.4 7.8%
Individual Income $1,311.0 $1,380.7 $1,4624 $1,6085 $1,759.8 $1,919.9 $21064 $2,318.5 $2,5726 $3,051.6 9.8%
Corporate income 167.0 104.2 115.0 112.2 138.4 146.8 191.1 205.7 2371 263.1 5.2%
TOTAL INCOME $1,478.0 $1,484.9 $1,577.4 $1,7206 $1,898.2 $2,066.7 $2,297.5 $2,5242 $2,809.7 $3,314.7 9.4%
Estate $15.5 $21.7 $15.3 $34.3 $19.7 $33.9 $27.6 $31.8 $34.6 $109.6 24.3%
Insurance Premiums 81.1 825 84.7 89.1 92.1 101.9 105.1 110.4 111.8 113.8 3.8%
Pari-mutuel 84 8.3 8.4 8.3 8.5 8.5 8.2 8.1 7.5 71 -1.9%
Interest Income 15.6 15.9 40 56 8.3 18.5 28.6 37.2 41.2 522 14.4%
Court Receipts 20.5 19.9 11.6 17.5 17.8 19.5 20.1 20.7 23.1 249 2.2%
Severance 10.7 7.5 10.5 8.4 12.0 3.1 0.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 NA
Medicaid Revenues' 0.0 0.0 0.0 82.4 258.9 205.6 98.7 69.0 80.4 726 NA
Gaming 0.0 0.0 0.0 41 13.4 16.6 171 17.5 19.6 215 NA
Other 20.8 26.4 21.1 25.9 35.2 43.2 495 344 304 454 9.1%
TOTAL OTHER $1726 $182.0 $155.6 $275.6 $465.9 $450.6 $387.9 $329.2 $348.6 $447 .1 11.2%
GROSS GENERAL FUND $2,485.6 $2,580.4 $2,663.9 $2,995.8 $3450.1 $3,7251 $3,996.3 $4,268.7 $4,679.4 $5401.2 9.0%

4els 11puno eApe;sibe Aq pasedald

1. These revenues include money from voluntary hospital payments and intergovernmental transfers that are partially matched by federal funds. The hospitals
then receive appropriations from the state based on their disproportionate service to low income patients. These appropriations are greater than their original

contributions.
NOTE: Numbers may not add due to rounding.
SOURCE: Controller's Annual Reports; Accounts and Control.
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SECTION 2

Other Major State Funds

In addition to the General Fund, a number of special funds have been created by either the
constitution or statute for specific purposes. This section provides a summary of the other major
state funds referred to in this report.

Old Age Pension Fund

Constitutional and Statutory Citations. The Old Age Pension Fund (OAPF) was created
in 1936 by a vote of the people (Article XXIV, Colorado Constitution). The provisions of this
article were amended by the electorate in 1956. Statutory sections relevant to the OAPF are
26-2-111 through 26-2-117, and 39-26-126, C.R.S.

Purpose. The fund provides minimum assistance for needy persons who are 60 years of
age and older, who reside in Colorado, and whose income is not sufficient to maintain necessary
health services. The assistance is intended to allow these persons to retain their independence,
self-care, and self-support. Small amounts of the fund are used for burial expenses and for persons
hospitalized at non-penal institutions such as the Colorado State Hospital. The majority of the
persons receiving OAP benefits are also eligible for some of the low-income benefit payments of
the federal government, e.g., Social Security income and food stamps, so this program acts as a
supplement to other programs.

Revenue Sources. The Colorado Constitution requires that the following moneys be
credited to the OAPF:

« 85 percent of all sales, use, and excise taxes (except gasoline or other motor fuel)
levied upon sales at retail, or the storage, use, or consumption of any commodity
or product;

+ 85 percent of all retail license fees;
¢+ 85 percent of liquor taxes and license fees connected therewith;

+ unexpended moneys in any fund of the state or political subdivision thereof that
was allocated to the OAPF before January 1, 1957,

+ all federal grants for old age assistance;
+ all inheritance taxes, estate taxes, and incorporation fees (10 percent);, and

¢+ such moneys as the General Assembly may allocate.

Prepared by Legislative Councii Staff Page 5



SECTION 2 - Other Major State Funds December 1998

The moneys from the sources listed above greatly exceed the amounts expended by the
OAPF. Approximately 5 percent of the revenues from these sources are credited to the OAPF
with the remaining 95 percent credited to the General Fund.

Disbursement of Fund. The Department of Health Care Policy and Financing and the
Department of Human Services administer the OAPF. Any funds remaining after meeting the basic
requirements of the OAPF are transferred to the following:

¢ Stabilization Fund - maintained at $5 million; and
¢ Old Age Pension Health and Medical Care Fund - up to $10 million annually.

After satisfying the requirements of the OAPF, the Stabilization Fund, and the Medical Care

Fund, all remaining moneys are credited to the General Fund. Listed below is the disposition of those
moneys expended by the OAPF.

TABLE 2.1
OAPF Revenue Disposition
FY 1997-98

Constitutlonal Requirements:

OAPF Grants $46,752,709 *
Stabilization Fund 5,000,000
Medical Care Fund 10,000,000

L

* Includes county administrative costs of $2.6 million.
SOURCE: Department of Human Services.

Highway Users Tax Fund

Constitutional and Statutory Citations. The Highway Users Tax Fund (HUTF) was
created pursuant to Article X, Section 18 of the Colorado Constitution. Statutory sections relevant
to the HUTF are 43-2-116, 43-2-129, and 43-4-201 through 43-4-216, CR.S.

Administration. Th ere the De ent of Transportation.
However, most revenues for t?neHﬁ-JUE are co ecte Y t?letgepartme evenue. P

Purpose. The HUTF is intended to fund the state's highway construction and maintenance
needs. A variety of taxes and fees are credited to the HUTF. Gas taxes comprise the largest source
of money for the HUTF. InFY 1997-98, total revenues credited to the HUTF were $796.4 million.
Aside from the HUTF, there are several other revenue sources which fund state highway construction
and maintenance. Revenue sources which were transferred to the HUTF include $3.9 million from
the Limited Gaming Fund and $14.8 million from other sources. Additionally, for FY 1998-99, the

Page 6 Prepared by Leglslative Council Staff



December 1998 SECTION 2 - Other Major State Funds

General Assembly has provided additional money for the same purpose served by the state portion
of the HUTF. House Bill 98-1202 transfers an additional $150 million to the Capital Construction
Fund from the General Fund and specifies that $100 million of this amount be used for state highway
repair, reconstruction, maintenance, and capacity expansion projects.

TABLE 2.2
Highway Users Tax Fund and Other Funding Sources
($ in millions)

HUTF:
7 cent motor and special fuel tax $1459
Gross ton-mile* and passenger-mile tax 0.5
Motor vehicle registrations 98.0
Motor vehicle penalty assessment 4.0
Miscellaneous 28 0
Interest 1.7
HUTF Total $278.1
Other Funds:
Additional fuel taxes (includes bridge and road fund) $238.4
Increased fuel taxes, registration and license fees 126.8
(Heuse Bill 88-16123)

Senate Biil 98-1 transfer from the General Fund 153.1
I'Sudtotal $5482 |
] TOTAL PR ]
" HUTF Disbursements:

Deductions ("off the top") $63.2
County share 134.8
City share 88.4
Other Funds:
o State share olus (Senate Bill 98-1General Fund transfer) 510.1 )
———FoTAE ——raee—h

" Replaced by higher registration fees.
SOURCE: Department of Transportation.

Colorado Water Conservation Board Construction Fund

This fund was created by Section 37-60-121, C.R.S., and is managed by the Colorado Water

Conservation Board. The fund is used to make loans to finance construction of raw water resource
development project. This includes new reservoirs, rehabilitation of existing reservoirs, water
resources infrastructure, and water resources information and management projects. Interest rates
charged on the loans are typically between 4 and 6 percent depending on the type of use, and the
loans are payable over a 30-year period. Construction Fund loans can be used to finance up to 75
percent of a project. Sinceits inception in 1971, the revolving loan program has been used to finance
over $103.1 million for 137 water projects in Colorado.

Prepared by Legisiative Councii Staff Page 7



SECTION 2 - Other Major State Funds December 1998

Sources of income to the fund average about $12 million per year, and are funded from the
return of principal and interest on outstanding loans by the water users, interest on cash reserves
invested by the state treasurer, and federal mineral lease fund distributions. Cash balances do not
revert to the General Fund at the end of the state’s fiscal year. The Board recommends projects to
the General Assembly which considers them in an annual Construction Fund bill. For FY 1997-98,
the Water Conservation Board received an appropriation of $4 million in cash funds as part of the
1997 water construction bill (Senate Bill 97-8).

Capital Construction Fund

The Capital Construction Fund (CCF) was created by Section 24-75-302, C.R.S,, to finance
the state’s capital construction needs. The moneys for the fund are appropriated by the General
Assembly from the General Fund and, until 1998, the CCF will automatically receive a share of
the net lottery proceeds to pay debt service obligations. The following General Fund transfers were
made to the CCF: $130.8 million for FY 1993-94; $120.3 million for FY 1994-95; $159 million, of
which $75.0 million was for highways, for FY 1995-96; and $230.9 million for FY 1996-97, of which
$115 million was for highways and $20.0 million for the technology learning grant and revolving
loan program. At present, statute provides for annual transfers of $50.0 million for fiscal years
1997-98 through 1998-99.

Phase-QOut of Lottery Proceeds to the CCF. Prior to the passage of Amendment 8 in 1992,
some lottery funds were credited to the CCF. During the last ten years, these lottery proceeds
accounted for 15.9 percent of appropriations from the CCF (see Table 2.3). The amendment
permanently dedicated a portion of the net proceeds of every state-supervised lottery game to the
Great Outdoors Colorado Trust Fund, beginning July 1, 1993. This distribution of lottery funds is
being phased in over a five-year period in order to fulfill most of the state’s current outstanding debt
obligations for capital construction. Existing distributions to capital construction began to decrease
in 1993 by $7 million to $11 million annually. Beginning in 1998, the General Fund will receive
whatever lottery proceeds are in excess of $35 million as adjusted for inflation since 1992.

Page 8 Prepared by Legisiative Council Staff



December 1998 SECTION 2 - Other Major State Funds

TABLE 2.3
Total Capital Construction Appropriations
FY 1989-90 to FY 1998-99

1989 90 2 99,358,020 16,714,577 16.8%
1990-91 2 95,703,200 49,375,448 51.6%
1991-92 67,033,877 59,522,761 88.8%
1992-93 83,032,560 46,551,650 55.7%
1993-94 202,435,852 36,219,184 18.5%
1994-95 2 184,053,772 35,055,688 14.2%
1995-96 2 307,474,378 30,367,300 9.8%
1996-97 ? 333,495,927 36,608,746 10.9%
1997-98 265,378,694 29,814,781 11.4%
1998-99 515,025,074 11,005,539 2.1%
10-Year Total 2,208,636,650 351,235,674 15.9%

1. Appropriations for all years include the contributions from lottery.
2. Includes amounts appropriated in legislation other than the Long Bill.

Controlled Maintenance Trust Fund

In 1993, the Controlled Maintenance Trust Fund (CMTF) was established by Section
24-75-302.5, CR.S,, to provide a "stable, predictable, and consistent source of revenues for
controlled maintenance projects . . ." The principal of the CMTF may only be spent for emergency
purposes as cited by statute, but interest from the fund helps pay for controlled maintenance. Taking
advantage of the CMTF's permanent status, the General Assembly has designated it to serve as the
emergency reserve required by Article X, Section 20 of the Colorado Constitution.

Each January, the General Assembly may transfer to the CMTF 50 percent of the General
Fund revenues that are in excess of General Fund appropriations for the prior fiscal year, up to
$50.0 million, after retention of the reserve required by statute. At the start of FY 1998-99, including
interest earnings to date, there is $298.1 million in the CMTF of which only $274.2 million will be
necessary to meet the state's TABOR reserve requirement and may not be spent on any other
purpose. Thus, in FY 2003-04 there is another $23.9 million available in CMTF money above the
constitutional reserve requirement.

The interest income on the principal of the CMTF supplements the CCF. Prior to the
creation of the CMTF, controlled maintenance projects were funded solely from the CCEF.
Appropriations for controlled maintenance projects will increase from $26.7 million in FY 1996-97
to $44.6 million for FY 1998-99. Of the $44.6 million appropriated for FY 1998-99, $27.2
million is from the CCF and $17.4 million is from interest earnings. For FY 1998-99, the General
Assembly authorized a total of 268 capital construction and controlled maintenance projects, to be
funded in whole or in part, from the CCF and the CMTF.
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Severance Tax Funds and the Mineral Lease Fund

Fifty percent of the severance taxes are credited to the state Severance Tax Trust Fund and
50 percent are credited to the Local Government Severance Tax Fund. From FY 1995-96 through
FY 1998-99, the revenue split may be modified by a "safety net" provision that protects the Local
Severance Tax Fund from unusual declines in revenue from oil, gas, and carbon dioxide. Income
from investment of the state fund is credited to the state General Fund.

State Severance Tax Trust Fund. The state Severance Tax Trust Fund is a permanent
fund held in trust as a replacement for depleted natural resources and for the development and
conservation of the state’s water resources (Section 39-29-109, C.R.S.).

From FY 1987-88 to FY 1993-94, annual legislation credited funds to the state General
Fund rather than the state Severance Tax Trust Fund. As a result, there was no fund balance in
the trust fund at the end of FY 1993-94. Meanwhile, there were also transfers from the state
Severance Tax Trust Fund to the Uranium Mill Tailings Remedial Action Program (UMTRAP)
Fund from FY 1994-95 through FY 1996-97. The transferred funds provide a state match to federal
funds available for the cleanup of uranium mill tailing sites.

Beginning July 1, 1995, the fund was split into the perpetual base and the operational account.
The perpetual base consists of the revenues in the fund as of July 1, 1995, and one-half of the
severance tax receipts credited to the fund after July 1, 1995. The perpetual base is to be used for
state water projects. One-half of the revenues credited to the fund after July 1, 1995, are to be
credited to the operational account and used to fund programs established within the Colorado Oil
and Gas Commission, the Colorado Geological Survey, the Division of Minerals and Geology, and
the Colorado Water Conservation Board that promote and encourage natural resource planning,
management, and development related to minerals, energy, geology, and water.

Local Severance Tax Fund. The Local Government Severance Tax Fund was created by
Section 39-29-110, C.R.S. Of the 50 percent local share of local taxes, 15 percent is distributed to
counties or municipalities based on the portion of employees of natural resource industries residing
in cities and unincorporated county areas. The Department of Local Affairs distributes the remaining
85 percent of the local fund to local governments impacted by development of natural resources
through the impact grant and loan program. The Department of Local Affairs administers the mineral
lease grant distribution program, described in the next section, and the severance tax distribution
program together in the impact program. The department reported that $14.8 million of the local
severance tax fund was awarded in FY 1997-98 as grants for various public projects through the
impact program.

Mineral Lease Fund. The Mineral Lease Fund is established in Article 63 of Title 34,
C.RS. The fund is the depository of moneys received by the state from the federal government
for Colorado's share of sales, bonuses, royalties, and rentals of public lands within the state. Public
schools and political subdivisions impacted by energy development have priority use of the fund.
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The amount distributed for calendar year 1997 totaled $43.9 million. The distribution formula
provides moneys to counties ($4.1 million in 1997), cities or towns ($1.9 million), and school districts
($2.2 million) from which the funds were derived. Other recipients of mineral lease fund moneys
include the State Public School Fund ($23.2 million), the Local Government Mineral Impact Fund
(37.7 million), and the Colorado Water Conservation Board Construction Fund ($4.4 million).

Conservation Trust Fund

The Conservation Trust Fund is established in Section 29-21-101, C.R.S. The fund receives
40 percent of net lottery proceeds. Moneys credited to the fund are disbursed by the Division of
Local Government to eligible counties, cities, and special districts based on population. The
disbursed moneys may be expended only for the acquisition, development, and maintenance of new
conservaticn sites or for capital improvements or maintenance for recreational purposes.

Public School Fund

The Public School Fund is created in Section 3 of Article IX of the Colorado Constitution.
The statutory provisions relating to the investment and use of the fund are contained in Article 41 of
Title 22, C.R.S. The school fund consists of the proceeds of such lands granted to the state by the
federal government for educational purposes, all estates that may revert (escheat) to the state,
grants, gifts, or other devises made to the state for educational purposes, and any other funds that
the General Assembly may appropriate or transfer. No part of the fund may be transferred to any
other fund. The principal of the fund itself is inviolate; only the interest from the fund (FY 1998-99,
is projected to be $19.7 million) may be expended and only for the maintenance of the state's
schools.

Fire and Police Members' Benefit Fund

The General Assembly established the Fire and Police Members' Benefit Fund in 1979 to
create an actuarially sound statewide retirement system for all firemen and police officers hired
after April 8, 1978, and to provide for the actuarial funding of all the existing pension systems
(Section 31-30.5, Parts 1 and 2, C.R.S.). Contributions to the fund are made by local governments,
employers, employees, and the state. In 1997, the state made a total contribution of $67.3 million
which includes a transfer of $25.3 million, to assist local governments. Also included in the total
state contribution is a $39 million transfer to the Death and Disability Fund and roughly $3 million
for the Volunteer Fire Pension Plan .
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Aviation Fund

Constitutional and Statutory Citations. The Aviation Fund was created in 1988. The
Colorado Constitution, Article X, Section 18, states that any taxes imposed upon aviation fuel are
to be used exclusively for aviation purposes and the statutes provide for the distribution of funds
collected from aviation fuel. References to the statutory provisions are 39-27-102 (1) (a) (IV),
C.R.S. (tax imposed) and 43-10-109, C.R.S. (Aviation Fund created).

Purpose. The fund is to assist the development of aviation in this state and may be used
for aviation purposes as defined in Section 28-6-102 (3), CR.S.

Aviation Fund — Revenue Sources and Distributions

sid
I Non-turbo prop and non-jet fuel

TABLE 2.4

Motor fuel tax, 6 cents per gallon (No sales tax)

Turbo-prop and jet fuel, not including
regularly scheduled carriers
e

Motor fuel tax, 4 cents per gallon (Sales tax is applied)

Interstate, intrastate, and foreign air
transportation

k A. Administration

State sales tax of 3 percent, plus any local sales tax
{No motor fuel tax)

Five percent of total collections may be used for

administrative purposes

| B. Motor fuel taxes

Four cents are retumed to the airport of origin. Two
cents of the 6 cent motor fuel tax on non-turbo and

non-jet fuel tax is credited to the Aviation fund.

C. Sales and use taxes

75 percent is distributed to the airport of origin.
25 percent is distributed through the Aviation Fund
grant program for local airport improvements.
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State Taxes

The following information is presented in this section for each state levied tax:

* Date of Enactment

* Constitutional and Statutory Citations

» Tax Base

* Present Rate

» Administration and Collection

* Disposition of Revenue

* Net Collections

o Similar Taxes in Neighboring States and in Other States
o Similar Federal Taxes Levied

The descriptions for each tax are summarized to provide a basic understanding of each tax.
Technical details may have been omitted.

This information was obtained from the Colorado Revised Statutes and the Session Laws
of Colorado, 1877 through 1998. The revenue collection figures are from the annual reports of
the Department of Revenue and the Division of Accounts and Control of the Department of
Personnel/General Support Services, unless otherwise noted. Information on taxes in other states
and federal taxes was obtained from the Commerce Clearing House State Tax Guide and Federal
Tax Guide.
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Cigarette Tax

Enacted: 1964.
Citations: Title 39, Article 28, C.R.S., and Section 39-22-623, C.R.S.
Tax Base: Cigarettes, imposed at the wholesale level.

Present Rate: 20 cents per package of twenty cigarettes or ten mills (1 cent) per cigarette.
Cigarettes are not subject to state sales or use taxes.

Administration and Collection: The Department of Revenue is responsible for administering
the cigarette tax. The tax is imposed on wholesalers, and payment of the tax is evidenced by stamps
affixed to cigarette packages or by a metered imprint. Metering machines are inspected, read, and
set once @ month. At the time of inspection the metering machine is set to a number requested by the
wholesalér. The amount of tax is determined based on the setting, less a discount of 4 percent of the
face valué of the stamps. Payment is due on or before the tenth day of the month following the month
of purchase. Wholesalers purchasing stamps must pay the tax on or before the due date to receive
the 4 percent discount.

History of Tax Rates: Cigarettes were subject to the state sales and use tax prior to
their exémption in 1959. From 1959 to 1964, there were no state-imposed taxes on cigarettes in
Eolorado.

TABLE 3.1
History of Cigarette Tax Rates

July 1, 1964 1.5 mills 3 cents
July 1, 1965 2.5 mills 5 cents
July 1, 1973 5.0 mills 10 cents
July 1, 1977 7.5 mills 15 cents
July 1, 1978 5.0 mills ' 10 cents
November 1, 1983 7.5 mills 15 cents
July 1, 1986 10.0 mills | 20 cents

Disposition of Revenue: Section 39-28-110, C.R.S., requires that 15 percent of all the
moneys collected from the payment for cigarette taxes be distributed to the General Fund and 85
percent to the Old Age Pension Fund.
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Since July 1, 1973, local governments have been entitled to a share of the proceeds of the
state cigarette tax. To qualify for these moneys, local governments are prohibited from imposing
fees, licenses, or taxes on any person as a condition for engaging in the sale of cigarettes, and they
are prohibited from taxing cigarettes. Since July 1, 1987, local governments have been apportioned
an amount equal to 27 percent of the gross proceeds from the cigarette tax. The funds are distributed
to cities and towns in proportion to the amount of state sales tax collected in a jurisdiction relative
to all state sales taxes collected. Funds are distributed to counties based on the percentage that state
sales tax collections in the unincorporated area of the county bear to sales tax revenues statewide.
Distributions to local governments are made monthly.

Collections:

GRAPH 3.1

Cigarette Tax Receipts
(% in millions)

001970~~~ 76y 767 459 161 159 _ 187 185 188
10 ] i A '] (] [ 1 L 1 1

1988-89 1989-90 1990-91 1991-92 1992-93 1993-94 1994-95 1995-06 1996-97 1997-98
Fiscal Year

—&— City & County Rebate —@— Total Collections

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

Other States: Cigarette taxes are imposed in all 50 states. State tax rates range from 2.5
cents per pack in Virginia to $1 per pack in Alaska and Hawaii. Thirty-six states and the District of
Columbia impose higher rates than Colorado. The national average is approximately 37.6 cents
per pack. Tax rates for neighboring states are as follows:
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GRAPH 3.2
Cigarette Tax Rates Per Pack of 20 Cig
for Neighboring States
(Rates as of November 1998)

arettes

Wyoming 12¢

Nebraska

34¢

Utsh 515¢ | Colorado 20¢ Kansas 24¢

Arizona 58¢ | New Mexico 21¢

|

Federal Tax:

TABLE 3.2
Federal Cigarette Tax Rates

Oklahoma 23¢

| Effective January 1, 1993:

Small Cjgarettes
(weighing no more than 3 pounds per thousand)

$12.00 per thousand
(24 cents per pack)

Large Cigarettes

$25.20 per thousand

(weighing more than 3 pounds per thousand)

(50.4 cents per pack) _J
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Estate Tax

Enacted: 1980 — The estate tax replaced the inheritance tax, which had been in effect
since 1927.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Title 39, Article 23.5, CR.S.

Tax Base: The estate tax is imposed on the transfer of the taxable estate of every deceased
domiciliary, nondomiciliary, and alien in Colorado. If a federal estate tax return is required, a
Colorado estate tax return is required, whether or not tax is due.

Present Rate: The rate is an amount equal to the federal estate tax credit for allowable
state death taxes. The estate's total tax bill remains the same but part of the money, equal to the
federal estate tax credit, goes to Colorado. This is called a "pick up" or "gap" tax. If there is
no liability for federal taxes, there is no liability for Colorado taxes; however, since the Colorado
estate tax is a credit for federal tax purposes, in some instances, there will be a tax at the state level
that reduces the federal tax to zero.

TABLE 3.3
Estate Taxes and Federal Adjusted Gross Income

$0 but not over $40,000 $0 0.0%

Over $40,000 to $90,000 $0 0.8% over $40,000
Over $90,000 to $140,000 $400 1.6% over $90,000
Over $140,000 to $240,000 $1,200 2.4% over $140,000
Over $240,000 to $440,000 $3,600 3.2% over $240,000
Over $440,000 to $640,000 $10,000 4.0% over $440,000
Over $640,000 to $840,000 $18,000 4.8% over $640,000
Over $840,000 to $1,040,000 $27,600 5.6% over $840,000
Over $1,040,000 to $1,540,000 $38,800 6.4% over $1,040,000
Over $1,540,000 to $2,040,000 $70,800 7.2% over $1,540,000
Over $2,040,000 to $2,540,000 $106,800 8.0% over $2,040,000
Over $2,540,000 to $3,040,000 $146,800 8.8% over $2 540,000
Over $3,040,000 to $3,540,000 $190,800 9.6% over $3,040,000
Over $3,540,000 to $4,040,000 $238,000 10.4% over $3,540,000
Over $4,040,000 to $5,040,000 $290,800 11.2% over $4,040,000
Over $5,040,000 to $6,040,000 $402,800 12.0% over $5,040,000
Over $6,040,000 to $7,040,000 $522,800 12.8% over $6,040,000
Over $7,040,000 to $8,040,000 $650,800 13.6% over $7,040,000
Over $8,040,000 to $9,040,000 $786,800 14.4% over $8,040,000
Over $9,040,000 to $10,040,000 $930,800 156.2% over $9,040,000
Over $10,040,000 $1,082,800 16.0% over $10,040,000
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If the property of a Colorado domiciliary is subject to an estate tax by another state, the
amount of Colorado tax due may be reduced by the lesser of the following two amounts:

1. the amount of tax paid in the other state that is a credit against the federal tax; or

2. an amount determined by multiplying the federal credit by a fraction, the
numerator being the value of the domiciliary’s gross estate minus the value of the
property of a domiciliary as defined by Colorado statute included in the gross
estate and the denominator being the domiciliary's gross estate.

Colorado also taxes the transfer of the gross estate of a nondomiciliary who has property
within the state. The amount of the tax is determined by multiplying the federal credit by a fraction,
the numerator of which is the property value located in Colorado that is included in the gross estate
and the denominator is the value of the gross estate.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue. Taxes are due on or before
the date the federal return is required to be filed. Any person making an estimated federal estate tax
payment shall make an estimated Colorado estate tax payment, not later than the date the appllcatlon
for federal extension of time for payment is filed.

History of Tax Rates: Until 1980, Colorado's inheritance and succession tax applied.
The tax had graduated rates that varied in amount for different classes of beneficiaries. Those
beneficiaries having the closest relationship to the decedent were subject to lower tax rates than
those with a more distant relationship. The 1927 tax rates were not increased until 1967 and were
increased againin 1977. The present federal estate tax law taxes all beneficiaries at the same rate and
does not consider a beneficiary's relationship to the deceased with the exception of the allowance of
the marital deduction for a surviving spouse.

Disposition of Revenue: After requirements of the Old Age Pension Fund have been
satisfied, the remainder is credited to the General Fund.
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Collections:

GRAPH 3.3

Estate Tax Receipts
($ in millions)

120

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

The state continues to collect inheritance and gift taxes even though the provisions were
repealed in 1980. This is due to provisions allowing for extended payments of tax liability. An
additional ten percent fee is imposed on any inheritance tax due as imposed under provisions of
the Colorado Public Assistance Act for the benefit of the Old Age Pension Fund (Section 26-2-113
(2) (a) (I1), CR.S)).

Other States: Estate or inheritance taxes are imposed by all 50 states. Colorado's
neighboring states impose estate taxes based on the federal credit. Kansas and Nebraska impose
inheritance taxes and an additional estate tax to absorb the maximum credit allowed by the federal
estate tax law.

Federal Estate Tax: A federal estate tax is imposed on all transfers of a taxable estate of
every decedent who is a resident or a citizen of the United States. A unified tax credit and credits
for state death taxes are allowed.
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Gaming Taxes

Enacted: 1991.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XVIII, Section 9, Colorado Constitution,
adopted by a vote of the people on November 6, 1990. Title 12, Article 47.1, CR.S. Gaming
became legal on October 1, 1991.

Tax Base: The tax is applied to "Adjusted Gross Proceeds" (AGP) which is defined
differently for poker and non-poker games. For non-poker games, AGP equals the total amount
of all wagers made by players on limited gaming less all payments to players. For poker, AGP is
the sum wagered in a poker hand which may be retained by the licensee as compensation within the
minimum and maximum amounts established by the Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission.
Gamijng is permitted in Central City, Black Hawk, and Cripple Creek. Gaming on Indian reservations
in Colorado is exempt from the tax.

Present Rates: The rates are examined annually by the Colorado Limited Gaming Control
Commission. The following rates are in effect for the gaming tax years beginning October 1, 1996.

TABLE 3.4
Gaming Tax Rates

$2,000,000 or less 2%
$2,000,001 to $4,000,000 4%
$4,000,001 to $5,000,000 14%
$5,000,001 to $10,000,000 18%
$10,000,001 and over 20%
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History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.5
History of Gaming Tax Rates

Gaming, Tax Rates for Year Beginning October: ||

$440,000 and less 4% |l $1,000,000 and less
$440,001 to $1,200,000 8% | $1,000,001 and above 20% |l
$1,200,001 and above

$1,000,000 and less 2% |} $2,000,000 or less 2%
$1,000,001 to $2,000,000 8% |l $2,000,001 to $4,000,000 8%
$2,000,001 to $3,000,000 15% || $4,000,001 to $5,000,000 12%
$3,000,001 and above 18% || $5,000,001 and over 18%

The state also imposes a device fee and various licensing fees to be credited to the Limited
Gaming Fund.

Administration: The Division of Gaming, within the Department of Revenue, administers
the tax. The Colorado Limited Gaming Control Commission, within the Division of Gaming,
oversees all licensing functions, rules and regulations, and setting of tax rates.

Collection Period: Gaming taxes are collected monthly and are due by the fifteenth day of
the month following the end of the tax month.

. Disposition of Revenue: After the expenses of the Commission and the Division, remaining
revenues from the gaming tax and license, device, and background fees are distributed as follows:
50 percent to the state General Fund, of which 0.2 percent is distributed to the Colorado Tourism
Promotion Fund; 28 percent to the State Historical Fund to be administered by the state historical
society; 12 percent to Gilpin and Teller counties in proportion to the gaming revenues generated in
each county; and 10 percent to the cities of Central City, Black Hawk, and Cripple Creek in
proportion to the gaming revenues generated in each city. Of the 50 percent transferred to the state
General Fund, at least 11 percent must be transferred to the Local Government Limited Gaming
Impact Fund and 2 percent must be distributed to the Municipal Limited Gaming Impact Fund for
the municipalities of Woodland Park and Victor. Additionally, the statute directs the General
Assembly to transfer money from the General Fund portion of gaming revenues to the state Highway
Fund for highway needs that are associated with gaming.

Disposition of Revenue: As of June 30, 1998, the Division of Gaming had $58,879,668
available for distribution from the Limited Gaming Fund, after division and commission expenses of
$7,948,174. These moneys were allocated as follows:
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TABLE 3.6

Distribution from the Limited Gaming Fund, FY 1997-98

Contiguous County Limited Gaming Impact Fund 3,238,382 5.5%
Municipal impact Fund 588,797 1.0%
Woodland Park ($441,598)
Victor _ ($147,199)
Colorado Department of Transportation 3,951,000 6.7%
Tourism Promotion Fund 117,759 0.2%
State Historical Fund 16,486,307 28.0%
City of Black Hawk  ($3,226,486)
City of Central City  ($1,216,042)
City of Cripple Creek ($1,445,437)
City Total 5,887,967 10.0%
{l Teller County ($1,734,524)
|| Gilpin County ($5,331,036)
A County Yotal 7,065,560 12.0%
4l Total $58,879,668 100.0%

Collections: The following graph of collections does not include device or license fees.

GRAPH 3.4
Limited Gaming Taxes
($ in millions)
- . %
w00 // /
- .

Other States: Ten other states have taxes on casino or video machine gaming. They are
Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, and South
Dakota. None of Colorado's bordering states has a gaming tax.
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Income Taxes

Corporate Income Tax
Enacted: 1937.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 17, Colorado Constitution,
adopted by vote of the people, November 3, 1936; Article X, Section 19, Colorado Constitution,
adopted by vote of the people November 6, 1962; Title 39, Article 22, CR.S.

Tax Base: Income generated by property in the state and from activities carried on in the
state — whether in intrastate, interstate, or foreign commerce — is subject to the corporate income
tax. Colorado's taxable income for corporations is the same as federal taxable income except for
changes due to Colorado modifications and apportionment of federal taxable income to Colorado if
an interstate corporation.

Present Rate: For tax years beginning on or after July 1, 1993, the corporate income tax is
five percent of taxable income. For FY 1997-98, corporate income taxes totaled $263.1 million or
4.87 percent of General Fund Receipts.

History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.7
History of Corporate Income Tax Rates

January 1, 1937, to December 31, 1946 | 4.0% on all taxable income
January 1, 1947, to December 31, 1950 | 5.0% on all taxable income
January 1, 1951, to December 31, 1956 | 5.0% on all taxable income, with a 20.0% credit
January 1, 1957, to December 31, 1957 | 5.0% on al! taxable income, with a 15.0% credit
January 1, 1958 to December 31, 1980 5.0% on all taxable income

January 1, 1981, to December 31, 1981 | 4.0% on first $25,000; plus 4.5% on income between $25,000
and $50,000; plus 5.0% on income above $50,000

January 1, 1982, to December 31, 1982 | 4.0% on first $25,000; plus 4.5% on income between $25,000
and $75,000; plus 5.0% on income above $75,000

January 1, 1983, to June 30, 1986 5.0% on all taxable income
July 1, 1986, to June 30, 1987 5.25% on first $50,000; plus 5.5% on income between $50,000
and $200,000; plus 6.0% on income above $200,000
July 1, 1987, to June 30, 1988 5.5% on first $50,000; plus 6.0% on income above $50,000
July 1, 1988, to June 30, 1989 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.5% on income above $50,000
July 1, 1989, to June 30, 1990 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.4% on income above $50,000
July 1, 1990, to June 30, 1991 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.3% on income above $50,000
July 1, 1991, to June 30, 1992 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.2% on income above $50,000
July 1, 1992, to June 30, 1993 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.1% on income above $50,000
July 1, 1993, and after 5.0% on all taxable income
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Tax Credits: Several tax credits are available for corporate taxpayers. The most important
tax credits for corporations are two investment tax credits and various enterprise zone tax credits.

The new investment tax credit (ITC) in current law allows taxpayers to claim a one percent
ITC, using pre-tax reform definitions of property that qualify for an ITC. This credit applies for
property used in Colorado and may not exceed $1,000 for any tax year. The old investment tax
credit is ten percent of the current federal ITC. Investment tax carrybacks and carryovers are
allowed.

Several separate income tax credits are in effect in enterprise zones. Primary among these
credits are the new business facility employee credit, a three percent investment tax credit, and a
credit for monetary or in-kind contributions for zone administrators in implementing economic
development plans. The economic development plan may include promotion of child care and
temporary, emergency, or transitional housing programs for the homeless.

Several 1996 law changes affected the employee credit, the investment credit, and the
monetary or in-kind contributions credit. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1,
1996, refunds for the $200 tax credit available for new business employees covered by employer-
provided health insurance are no longer available. Rather, the unused credits may be carried forward
for up to five years. (This restriction has also applied to other new employee credits since 1993).
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1996, for enterprise zones, a $500 income
tax credit is available for each new employee hired plus another $200 credit (same as the above $200
refund) for each of the first two years that a new employee is covered under an employer health
insurance plan. Previously, the credit was available for expansions resulting in at least ten new
employees. Effective for tax years beginning or after January 1, 1997, enterprise zone credits of ten
percent of total qualified investments made in a qualified job training program or a qualified school-
to-work program are available. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1996, the
contributions credit is reduced from 50 percent to 25 percent with two exceptions. The credit
remains at 50 percent for contributions made prior to July 1, 1997, for projects that were approved
prior to May 1, 1996, and for contributions made after July 1, 1997, but before December 1, 1997,
to projects that were approved prior to May 1, 1996, pursuant to a written agreement executed prior
to July 1, 1997. With respect to investment tax credits available within a zone, the limit on the credit
was increased from 25 percent to 50 percent of that portion of tax liability that exceeds $5,000. The
number of years available for carryforward of any excess investment tax credit was increased from
seven to twelve years.

Other enterprise zone credits are available for the rehabilitation of commercial buildings that
are over 20 years old and that have been vacant for two or more years, and a three percent income
tax credit is available for increased research and development expenses. In addition, purchases for
mining machinery over $500 used in an enterprise zone are exempt from the state sales and use tax.

Several other corporate income tax credits are available. They include credits for: making
increased use of coal produced in Colorado; costs of equipment producing a product from
post-consumer waste or which consumes such in producing energy; costs incurred in the preservation
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of historic properties; purchases of business vehicles using alternative fuels; investment in tangible
personal property used in child care centers, family child care homes, or foster care home; and
20 percent of the January 1, 1994, book value of any certificate issued by the Public Utility
Commission for owning, controlling, operating, or managing a motor vehicle used in the
transportation of sludge.

Administration: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: The due date of the tax return is the fifteenth day of the fourth month
following the close of the corporation’s fiscal year. A provision for estimated payments of four equal
installments is required if tax liability can reasonably be expected to exceed $5,000.

Disposition of Revenue: Corporate income taxes are credited to the General Fund.

Collections: Corporate income tax receipts increased 11.0 percent in FY 1997-98 after a
15.3 percent gain in FY 1996-97. A one-time payment of $8 million is responsible for the strong
FY 1997-98 growth. A combination of slower economic activity, weaker profit growth due to rising
wages and lower anticipated inflation will result in a slower growth rate for FY 1998-99.

GRAPH 3.5
Corporate Income Tax Receipts
FY 1988-89 through FY 1997-98

($ in millions)

300.0

250.0
2000
§150.0

100.0

Fiscal Year

Other States: Five states — Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming —
do not impose an income tax on corporations. Most states tax at a flat rate while some states use
the same graduated rates for corporations as for individuals. Colorado's neighboring states impose
a corporate income tax at the rates summarized in the following table.
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T RN NI

TABLE 3.8
Corporate Income Taxes of Neighboring States

Arizong Flat 1 FTI 9.0%; minimum tax of $50

Kansas Graduated ) 2 FTI* 4% (first $50,000)
7.35% (over $50,000)

'Nebraska Graduated 2 FTI* 5.58% (first $50,000)
7.81% (over $50,000)

New Mexico Graduated 3 FTI* 4.8% (first $500,000)

h 6.4% (next $500,000)

7.86% (over $1,000,000)

Oklahoma Flat 1 FTI* 6.0%

Utah Flat 1 Gross income, |5.0%; minimum tax of $100

less deductions
W\(g,;min.g Nz income tax [

“'Fedaral Yaxable Income, with state modifications.
The rates are in effect for the 1996 tax year.

Federal Tax: The following federal corporate tax rates are currently in effect:

TABLE 3.9
Federal Corporate Tax Rates

Up to $50,000
$50,001 to $75,000

$75,001 to $100,000
$100,001 to $335,000
$335,001 to $10,000,000
$10,000,001 to $15,000,000
$15,000,001 to $18,333,333
Over $18,333,333

—

Individual Income Tax

Enacted: 1937.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 17, Colorado Constitution,
added by vote of the people November 3, 1936; Article X, Section 19, Colorado Constitution,
adopted by vote of the people November 6, 1962; Title 39, Article 22, CR.S.
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Tax Base: The Colorado individual income tax follows federal law to arrive at a tax-
payer's filing status and federal taxable income (which is the basis for calculating Colorado tax
liability). The distribution of federal taxable income utilizes the federal personal exemption, standard
deduction, and itemized deductions. Colorado taxable income is determined by adding or subtracting
the following modifications from federal taxable income (Section 39-22-104, CR.S)).

TABLE 3.10
Taxable Income Additions and Subtractions

3

Federal net operating loss deduction carryover prior | Pension, annuity, and self retirement income exclusion

to 1987. | ofupto $20,000 for persons age 55 or older.
Lump-sum distribution from a pension or profit- U.S. Government bond interest.
| sharing plan. |
Interest income of out of state municipal bonds or Gain or loss resulting from sale of property having a
| other state's bonds. | higher Colorado basis than federal basis.

The state income tax deduction for taxpayers who Colorado net operating loss deduction carried over
used the deduction on the federal income tax retun. | from a taxable year prior to January 1, 1987.

Federal deductible expenses at clubs which have Interest income from "Colorado investment deposits”
policies restricting membership on the basis of sex, | up to $20,000 per year for loans to small busiress
race, color, ancestry, or national origin. enterprises. Section 39-22-104 (4) (a.5) provides a

. narrow definition of the “investment deposits.”

d 1

" Any amount withdrawn from a medical savings ~Amounts contributed to a medical savings account
account. to the extent not claimed as a deduction on the

. taxpaver's federal tax retum.

’ Qu.alifying capital gains included in federal taxable

jC Lincoma }

income.
State income tax refund included in federal taxable

Once Colorado taxable income is determined, taxable income is multiplied by the 5.0 percent
tax rate to determine Colorado gross tax liability. The gross tax liability i1s then reduced by the

amounts of allowable tax credits to determine the net tax liability.

Present Rate: Five percent "flat tax" is applied to Colorado taxable income.

Alternative minimum tax. In addition to the 5 percent flat tax, an alternative minimum

tax (AMT) is imposed at a rate of 3.75 percent. The AMT is imposed on the federal alternative
minimum taxable income after applying Colorado modifications. The AMT is payable only to the
extent it is in excess of the normal tax.

Tax Credits: The following tax credits are available for individuals: taxes paid to another
state; prior-year minimum taxes, enterprise zone activities; preservation of historic property;
investment in child care centers, family child care, or foster care homes; investment in employer child
care facilities; purchases of business vehicles using alternative fuels; and child care expenses.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.
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Collection Period: Due April 15 unless an extension is granted by the Department of
Revenue.

History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.11
History of Individual Income Tax Rates

0 to $999 1.0% 10% | 3.0% 3.0% 2.5% 5.0%
$1,000 to $1,999 1.0% 15% | 3.5% 3.5% 3.0%
$2,000 to $2,999 2.0% 20% | 4.0% 4.0% 3.5%
$3,000 to $3,999 2.0% 25% | 4.5% 4.5% 4.0%
$4,000 to $4,999 3.0% 3.0% | 5.0% 5.0% 4.5%
$5,000 to $5,099 3.0% 4.0% 5.5% 5.5% 5.0%
$6,000 to $6,999 4.0% 50% | 6.0% 8.0% 5.5%
I $7,000 to 57,999 4.0% 8.0% | 6.5% 6.5% 6.0%
Il $8,000 to $8,999 5.0% 70% | 7.0% 7.0% 8.5%
Il $9,000 10 $9,999 5.0% 80% | 80% | 7.5% 7.5%°
]| $10.000 16 $10,989 ! 6.0% | 90% | 90% | 8o 8 0% 5 I

$11. em and over 60% | 10.0% 9’.0 % 8.0% 8.0% I

2. '1I‘3|8s4v:as131:6margmal tax rate for years when the ¥4 percent credit applies. The statutory rates applied from
0

3. Tax rate of five percent on federal taxable income, as modified for Colorado.

4. 1959 - All netincome $10,000 and above was taxed at nine percent and the income bracket of $11,000 and
over was eliminated.

5. The 1/2 percent credit did not apply to taxable income above $9,000.

Recent Colorado Changes: Beginning in 1996, an individual with a federally adjusted
gross income of $60,000 or less, may claim an income tax credit based on child care expenses claimed
on the federal income tax return (House Bill 96-1121). The credit is based on the amount of the
individual’s federal adjusted gross income as detailed in the following table.

TABLE 3.12
Colorado Tax Credit for Child Care Expenses

| $25 000 or Iess

$25.001 to $35.000 0%
5,001 to $60,000 o
$60,001 or more

0%
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For FY 1998-99, when the state's revenues are in excess of the spending limit and the state
has a surplus, Senate Bill 98-158 offers the following tax credits against state income tax in lieu of
the above tax credits for child care expenses:

s A credit is permitted for child-care expenses for residents which claim a credit on
their federal tax return in an amount equal to 50 percent of the child-care expense
credit claimed on the federal return less the amount owed to the state for any other
tax credit allowed to the individual.

o A child tax credit is available to any resident claiming a child tax credit on his or
hers' federal income tax return in the amount of $200 for each child who is five
years of age or younger at the end of the taxable year during which the credit is
claimed.

+ Residents whose federally adjusted gross incomes exceed $60,000 are precluded
from claiming child care expenses and child tax credits. Also excluded are
residents who receive child care assistance from the state Department of Human
Services.

Several changes affecting the enterprise zone tax credit were enacted during the 1996
legislative session. Please see the corporate income tax section for a review of these changes.

Disposition of Revenue: Individual income taxes are credited to the General Fund.

Collections:
GRAPH 3.6
Individual Income Tax Receipts
(3 in millions)
3,500.0
7 3,051.6
300004 ——— - v
250004 —— — -
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P20000 - ——— - —————— % —
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1,000.0 —
500.0 —
0.0 - 2
1988-89 1988-80 1990-91 1891-82 1992-93 1993-94 1994-95 1995-96 1996-97 1997-98

Fiscal Year

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.
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Tax Checkoff Programs: Taxpayers may make a voluntary contribution to five programs
by donating a portion of their income tax refund or increasing the amount owed with the tax return.
The voluntary tax checkoff programs authorized under state law are:

* Noagame Wildlife Program,;

¢ Domestic Abuse Program;

» Homeless Prevention Activities;

» Colorado Special Olympics Fund; and
+ Child Care Improvement.

Section 39-22-1001, C.R.S., declares that all programs funded by voluntary contributions of
income tax refunds created after June 2, 1985, are to have a sunset clause restricting the program
to no more than three income tax years, unless the program is reestablished.

Section 39-22-1001, C.R.S,, also requires that contributions to any voluntary tax checkoff
program equal or exceed ten percent of the total amount contributed to all checkoff programs
in order to continue on subsequent income tax returns. The Action Older American Volunteer
program and the U.S. Olympic Committee did not meet the ten percent requirement and were
subsequently dropped. This checkoff has been reinstituted effective with the 1996 tax year.
During 1997, the Drug Abuse Resistance program collected $74,041 in donations which is also less
than the ten percent required for program continuation. The ten percent provision does not apply to
the United States Olympic Committee checkoff program. However, if the cumulative amount
contributed to this program during 1999 and 2000 does not exceed ten percent of the cumulative
amount contributed to all programs during the time span, the program shall be discontinued.
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TABLE 3.13
Revenue From Voluntary Income Tax Checkoffs
FY 1987-88 through FY 1997-98

| 1987-88 $371,782 | $261,077 $4,702 i
1988-89 514,799 273,686 131,183
1989-90 407,468 248,254 101,426 $244,862
1990-91 276,744 251,031 111,312 268,639
1991-92 377,321 267,805 100,336 257,742
1992-93 340,331 262,139 80,565 236,697 |
1993-94 362,566 234,113 6,898~ 211,360 $80,305
1994-95 312,824 256,319 85,097 205,224 3,3132
1995-96 367,619 254,793 98,272 217,229 204 |
1996-97 356,030 262,308 78,135 152,857 $143,362 53,819
1997-08 408,823 270,615 03 238,566 188,538 | $100,538 * 0?3

1. The Olympic Committee checkoff sunset in 1987 but was reinstated for the 1988 tax year.
2. The Olvmbic Committee checkoff did not meet the minimum ten percent reauirement in the prior vear.
3. The Older American Volunteer Program and the Olympic Committee did not meet the minimum ten percent

requirement in the prior year.
4. The Special Olympics checkoff is reestablished by HB 98-1120 and commences January 1, 1998.

NOTE: Totals used for determination of whether the checkoff program shall be continued in the next year are based
on collections from January 1 through September 30.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

Other States: Nine states, including Colorado, levy a flat income tax rate. Two of these
states — Rhode Island and Vermont — levy flat rates against federal income tax liability. The
Rhode Island rate is 27 percent of the federal tax liability and Vermont's is 25 percent of the federal
income tax. Two other states — New Hampshire and Tennessee — have flat rates of five and
six percent, respectively, against interest and dividends only. Seven states — Alaska, Florida,
Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming — do not levy an individual income tax.
Seventeen states allow a local option to impose some form of local individual income tax.
Neighboring states impose individual income taxes as follows.

TABLE 3.14
Individual Income Taxes of Neighboring States

Arizona Graduated Yes 5 No

Kansas Graduated Yes 3 ' No o

Nebraska Graduated Yes 4 No |
~New Mexico Graduated Yes ! No

Okiahoma Graduated Yes g No

Utah NS RRetax Yes [} No |

Wyoming ) R

SOURCE: Commerce Clearing House, State Tax Guide.
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Federal Income Tax: The levels of taxable income and tax rates for 1998 are as follows:

TABLE 3.15
1998 Federal Individual Income Tax Rates

Single Return *  First $25,350 — 15%
Over $25,350 to $61,400 — 28%
Over $61,400 to $28,100 — 31%
Over $128,100 to $278,450 — 36%
Over $278,450 - 39.6%

Joint Return First $42,350 - 15%
Over $ 42,350 to $102,300 - 28%
Over $ 102,300 to $155,950 - 31%
Over $155,590 to $278,450 - 36%
Over $278,450 ~ 39.6%

SOURCE: Commerce Clearing House, U.S. Master Tax Guide.

Other rate schedules apply to taxpayers filing as heads of households or as married individuals
filing separate tax returns. The federal tax brackets, personal exemption, and standard deduction are
Indexed anhually. The personal exemption value for 1998 was $2,700. The value of the standard
deduction for 1998 is $4,250 for single filers and $7,100 for married joint filers.
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Insurance Premiums Tax

Enacted: 1913.
Statutory Citations: Sections 10-3-209, 10-5-111, 10-6-128, C.R.S.

Tax Base: This tax is imposed on the gross amount of all premiums from insurance
policies covering property or risks in this state. The law applies to all companies and types of
business which engage in writing insurance policies or contracts regardless of the type of insurance
policy.

Present Rates: One percent for a company maintaining a home office or regional home
office in Colorado; minimum of $5,000 for captive insurance companies; and three percent for surplus
line insurance. For other companies not exempted or charged a different rate of tax, the rate of tax
shall be 2.10 percent in 1998, 2.05 percent in 1999, and 2.00 percent in 2000 and thereafter.

Exemptions:

+ fraternal and benevolent associations;

* mutual protective associations writing crop hail insurance on that portion of the
premium designated to the loss fund;

s policies issued before 1959 by domestic insurance companies maintaining their
principal place of business in this state and having 30 percent of its assets
invested in county, city, town, district, or this state's bonds or warrants;

+ premiums contracted for after December 31, 1968, on policies in connection
with a pension, profit sharing, or annuity plan.

Credits: Life and Health Guaranty Association insurers may offset insolvency assessments
(up to $2.0 million each year) against their insurance premiums tax.

Administration and Collection: Division of Insurance, Department of Regulatory Agencies.
Collection Period: Due on the first day of March in each year for the preceding calendar

year. Quarterly payments are required for companies that were liable for a tax of $5,000 or more
during the preceding calendar year.
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History of Rates:
TABLE 3.16
History of Insurance Premiums Tax Rates
1913 2.0% All companies
— Companies with S0 percent or more of their assets in Colorado bonds or warrants
were exempt
1949 2.0% Surplus line insurance (insurance not otherwise available in Colorado purchased
through licensed brokers from "unauthorized" insurance companies like Lloyds of
London)
1959 2.25% All companies
1.0% Companies with 50 percent or more of their assets in Colorado bonds or warrants
1960 2.25% All companies
1.0% Companies with 30 percent or more of their assets in Colorado bonds or warrants
1969 2.25% | All companies
1.0% Companies maintaining a home or regional office in the state
1991 Minimum | Captive insurance companies (wholly owned subsidiary companies that insure only
of $5,000 | the risks of the parent company)
1602 3.0% | Surplus lineé companies lhcrédsed from 2%
1998 2.2% | All companies
... 1867 . 2.15% | All companies

Dlsposmon of Revenue: Moneys are credited to the General Fund, except for such amounts
ai)propnated to fund the operations of the Division of Insurance. In 1992, Senate Bill 92-90 created
the Dmsxon of Insurance Cash Fund in order {6 cdsh fund its operations. Its operatlons are funded
by revenues from licenses and fees and up to five percent of the annual premium taxes collected.

Collections:
GRAPH 3.7
Insurance Premium Tax Receipts
($ in millions)
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* Includes amounts transferred to the Division of Insurance Cash Fund.
SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.
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Other States: All 50 states impose a tax on insurance companies. The rate is usually a
fixed percentage of the taxable gross premiums. In general, the gross premiums tax is in the nature
of excise or privilege taxes, levied "for the privilege of engaging in business in the state." The
wording in each state’s statutes determines the nature of the tax. Some states also have a higher tax
on foreign corporations and reduce the rate if a certain amount of a company's assets are invested in
the state.
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Liquor Taxes

Enacted: 1935.

Statutory Citations: Sectian 12-46-111, CR.S. - Fermented Malt Beverages; Section
12-47-127, CR.S. - Alcoholic Beverages.

Tax Base: The tax is imposed on the manufacturer or the first wholesaler within the
state and applies to the following alcoholic beverages:

Fermented malt beverages — any beverage obtained by the fermentation
of barley, malt, hops, or similar product containing between 0.5 percent and
3.2 percent alcohol by weight that can be sold to persons 21 years old or older
(House Bill 1320, 1987 session).

Malt liquors — beer and any beverage obtained by the fermentation of
barley, malt, hops, or similar product containing more than 3.2 percent of
alcohol by weight that can be sold only to individuals 21 years of age or older.

Medicinal spirituous liquors - any alcoholic beverage, except beer and
wine, which has been aged in wood for four years, bonded by the United States
government, and is at least 100 proof.

Special malt liquors — malt ligquors which contain between 0.5 percent
and 2 percent alcohol by weight.

Spirituous liquors — any alcoholic beverage obtained by distillation and
mixed with water and other substances in solution, including brandy, rum,
whiskey, gin, and every liquid or solid containing at least 0.5 percent alcohol
that is fit for use for beverage purposes.

Vinous liquors — wine and fortified wines containing not less than 0.5
percent and not exceeding 21 percent of alcohol by volume.

Present Rates:
TABLE 3.17
Present Liguor Tax Rates

Fermented malt beverage 8 cents per gallon

Malt liquors 8 cents per gallon
Vinous liquors

Colorado vinous liquors | 13.33 cents per liter (includes 5 cent surcharge) *
Other vinous liquors 8.33 cents per liter (includes 1 cent surcharge)

Spirituous liquors 60.26 cents per liter

1. House Bill 90-1088 imposes a surcharge on all wine sold in Colorado that is in addition to the
excise tax shown and an excise tax on grapes used in the production of wine in Colorado. See
discussion immediately following,
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Special provisions are included for "limited wineries." These establishments manufacture not
more than 100,000 gallons of vinous liquors annually, using Colorado-grown products to the extent
of at least 50 percent in the first five years of operation and 75 percent thereafter. Exceptions to
these requirements may be made in the event of poor growing conditions.

The Colorado wine industr'y development act (House Bill 90-1068) created the wine industry
development board to promote and serve as a resource for the wine industry in this state. Activities
of the board are financed through the surcharges described below.

This legislatian repealed the previous tax differential that provided a lower excise tax
for products from Colorado wineries as opposed to products from out of state. Two surcharges
are imposed in addition to the excise tax of 7.33 cents per liter for vinous liquors sold in Colorado.
First, a surcharge of 1 cent per liter imposed on all wines sold is in effect until July 1, 2000. Second,
a surcharge of 5 cents per liter is charged on wines produced by Colorado licensed wineries,
increasing the tax to 13.33 cents per liter.

An excise tax of $10.00 is imposed on each ton of grapes used in the production of wine
by a Colorado licensed winery.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.
Collection Period: Twentieth day of each month for the preceding month's sales.
Exemptions: The following alcoholic beverages are exempt from the tax:

¢ sacramental wines sold and used for religious purposes;
s vinous liquor made for family use and not for sale;

* wines sold at public auction where the purpose is to dispose of liquor
obtained by reason of salvage of damaged shipments, foreclosure of a lawful
lien, or by failure of an owner to claim or furnish instructions as to the
disposition thereof.
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DBtémber 1998

History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.18
History of Liquor Tax Rates in Colorado
(all numbers in cents)

Malt liquors (per gallon) 3 cents 6cents | 8cents | 8cents 8cents | 8cents

Fermented malt beverage (per galion) | 3 6 8 8 8 8

Vinous liquor (per liter) 28 47 5.6 5.6 7.33 7.33
14% or less alcohol 56 7.1 85 85 7.33 7.33
more than 14% alcohol * s o

Vinous-limited wineries (per liter) N/A N/A N/A .05 .05 .70
14% or less alcohol .01 01 70
more than 14% alcohol

Spirituous liquors (per liter) 37.8 425" 51.1° 511" 60.26 60.26

1. Sealed bottles with two ounces or less were taxed at 5 cents per bottle.

* Surcharges on vinous liquor added 1 cent to all vinous liquors effective July 1, 1990 through June 30, 2000.
Effective July 1, 2000, a 1 cent per-liter wine development fee is imposed. An additional surcharge of 5 cents
per-liter for the first 9,000 liters, 3 cents per-liter for the next 36,000 liters, and 1 cent per-liter for all additional
amounts is imposed on all vinous liquors, except hard cider, produced by Colorado licensed wineries. The
surcharge amounts are to be transferred from the General Fund to the Colorado Wine Industry Development Fund.

Disposition of Revenue:

The excise tax surcharges on wines are to be credited to the

Colorado Wine Industry Development Fund. Afier the requirements of the Old Age Pension Fund
have been satisfied, the remainder of all liquor excise taxes is credited to the General Fund.

Collections:

GRAPH 3.8

(3 in millions)

Liquor Tax Receipts

1688-89 1989-90 1990-91

\\

Fiscal Year

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

1991-92 1992-93 1993-94 1994-95 199596 1996-97 1997-98

Page 38

Prepared by Legislative Council Staff



December 1998 SECTION 3 — State Taxes

Other States: The range of tax rates on alcoholic beverages varies greatly among the
50 states. Hawaii has the highest tax on beer at 93 cents per gallon and Wyoming has the lowest
tax on beer at 2 cents per gallon. The median tax for all of the states is 18.5 cents per gallon. The
lowest rate for distilled spirits is 25 cents per liter. These rates do not include local taxes, licenses,
surtaxes, or surcharges imposed or markup prices added by state control boards. Eighteen states
have alcohol control boards. The alcohol beverage tax rates for Colorado's bordering states are listed
below:

TABLE 3.19
Liquor Tax Rates of Neighboring States

Wart/Liquid malt |
(p@( ggttgn')’ { | ) | 1 | L Il
Beer, 3.2%orless| 0.16 | 018 |  $0.23 | $0.41 | 8036 | $035 | 002 |
| (per gallon) I
Beer, over 3.2% 0.16 0.18 023 | 041 | 040 035 | 002 |
t (per gallon) i
Wine, 14% or less |  0.22 0.08 0.20 0.45 0.18 13% 0.08 "
(per liter) * . _ ‘ ' )
1 nan nac 4 En na7 420, nno |f
W'z*péme' % il 106 | | | | | | I
rtﬁ‘a ] 0.66 { 0.79 [ 1.60 | 1.47 | 13% y 0.25 ||
. (per Ilter) | | | | | I i
Other " Clubs: Farm Local wine: 10cents | Mixed
10% of gross || wineries; per liter on first 80,000 | beverages:
, receipts $.0S per liters; 20 cents above | 12% of retail
gallon | 80,000 liters and less | value

than 374.999

ates converte L3

2. Tax imposed on the retail purchase price for products sold by the Utah Liquor Control Commission.
SOURCE: Commerce Clearing House, State Tax Guide.

Federal Tax: Effective October 1, 1997, as amended by the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997,

TABLE 3.20
Federal Liquor Tax Rates

Distilled spirits $13.50 per proof gallon
Wines:

14% or less alcohol $ 1.07 per wine gallon
14 to 21% alcohol $ 1.57 per wine gallon
21 to 24% alcohol $ 3.15 per wine galion
Artificially carbonated wines $ 3.30 per wine galion
‘ Champagne and other sparkling wines $ 3.40 per wine gallon
Beer, regardless of alcoholic content $18.00 per barre!
(generally 33 cents per 6-pack)

[ — ere— — 1 = d i, ' - i
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Lottery

Enacted: 1982.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XVIII, Section 2, Colorado Constitution,
approved by Colorado voters November 4, 1980, Title 24, Article 35, Part 2, C.R.S.; Article XXVII,
Section 1, Colorado Constitution, approved by Colorado voters on November 3, 1992.

Collection Base: Sale of Colorado lottery tickets.
Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue, State Lottery Division.
Collection Period: Daily.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenues from the lottery are credited to the lottery fund. At
least 50 percent of the total revenue accruing from the sale of lottery tickets must be disbursed as
prize money. All expenses of the division are paid from the lottery fund. In 1987, House Bill 1274
was enacted expanding Colorado's lottery to include the electronic game "lotto."

Article XXVII to the Colorado Constitution permanently dedicates a portion of the net
proceeds of every state-supervised lottery game to the Great Outdoors Colorado Trust Fund
beginning July 1, 1993. Lottery fund transfers to the Capital Construction Fund will continue
over a five-year period so the state may fulfill most of the state's current outstanding obligations
for capital construction. The existing lottery distributions to local governments through the
Conservation Trust Fund will continue as well as the current allocations to the Division of Parks
and Outdoor Recreation. After 1998, any Lottery funds in excess of $35 million, as adjusted for
inflation since 1992, are to be transferred to the General Fund.
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Collections:
GRAPH 3.9
Lottery Receipts

(distributions to four state funds)*
. ($ in millions)
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Fiscal Year

Parks Conservation Trust Fund

. Capital Construction . Great Outdoors Colorado

NOTE: Receipts are after distribution of prize moneys (50 percent of ticket sales) and the
administrative expenses of the Lottery Division.
* The amounts shown are distributions to the Conservation Trust Fund, Division of Parks and
Outdoor Recreation, Great Outdoors Colorado, and the State Capitol Construction Fund.

SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

House Bill 1274, 1988 session, expanded the term lottery to include the game of lotto. The
additional funds from lotto distributed to the Capital Construction Fund are earmarked to pay
anticipation warrants used for the construction of state correctional facilities. This distribution will
be reduced to zero after 1998.

Other States: A total of 37 states and the District of Columbia have approved a state lottery.
The following 13 states do not conduct a lottery:

Alabama Nevada Tennessee
Alaska North Carolina Utah
Arkansas North Dakota Wyoming
Hawaii Oklahoma

| Mississippi South Carolina

Prepared by Legislative Councli Staff Page 41



SECTION 3 - State Taxes December 1998

Motor Fuel Taxes

Gasoline
Enacted: 1919,

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 18, Colorado Constitution,
Title 39, Article 27, Part 1, CR.S.

Tax Base: Tax is imposed on sales of gasoline. Gasoline includes gasohol and MTBE
blends.

Present Rate: 22 cents per gallon.
Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: On or before the 25th day of the calendar month following the month in
which the fuel was used or imported. '

History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.21
History of Motor Fuel Tax Rates

1919 1 cent 1969 7 cents
1923 2 cents 1978 2 7 cents
1927 3 cents 1981 2 9 cents
1929 4 cents 1984 2 12 cents
1947 6 cents 1987 18 cents
1966 ' 7 cents 19903 20 cents
1967 ' 6 cents 19913 22 cents

1. One cent increase was allocated to the "highway flood disaster relief fund,” in effect from
August 1, 1965 through August 31, 19686. ’

2. A five cent reduction was in effect for sales of gasohol.

3. Rate of 20 cents per galion began August 1, 1989, and continued through December 31,
1990. Rate of 22 cents per gallon began January 1, 1991.

Disposition of Revenue: The tax is credited to the Highway Users Tax Fund (HUTF).
In the past, the General Assembly appropriated funds to state agencies whose functions are related
to the HUTF, e.g., the Department of Revenue for collecting taxes. These appropriations are often
referred to as "off-the-top” deductions. Senate Bill 95-047 phased out these off-the-top deductions
by FY 1997-98, except for appropriations to the Colorado State Patrol and the Ports of Entry
Division.
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As illustrated below, three separate formulas are used to distribute funds generated from the
motor fuel tax to the state, cities, and counties. The first formula relates to money credited to the
fund from the first seven cents of the fuel tax. The revenues generated by the 1982 and subsequent
fuel tax increases are subject to different formulas.

TABLE 3.22
Motor Fuel Tax Distribution

A. "Off-the-top" deductions A. Bridge repair (16 percent) A. All funds:
B. Remaining funds: B. Remaining funds: gg: :g :;a::t::fhway Fund
65% to state Highway Fund 60% to state Highway Fund 18% to cities
26% to counties 22% to counties
9% to cities 18% to cities
Collections:
GRAPH 3.10

Motor Fuel Tax Receipts*
($ in millions)

* Includes special fuel collections. -
SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

Other States: All S0 states impose a motor fuel tax. Rates range from 7.5 cents per
gallon in Georgia to 32.5 cents per gallon in Hawaii. The average rate for all states is 19.8 cents per
gallon. Thirteen states have higher gasoline tax rates than Colorado. The tax rates for bordering
states are listed below (local taxes are not included).
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GRAPH 3.11
Gasoline Tax Rates of Neighboring States

Wyoming 14¢

Nebraska 23.5¢

Utah 245¢ | Colorado 22¢ Kansas 18¢

Oklahoma 16¢
Arizona 18¢ | New Mexico 17¢

J_,___J

* Utah imposes an environmental surcharge of 0.5 cents per gallon.
SOURCE: Commerce Clearing House, State Tax Guide.

Some states index the basic fuel tax rate according to changes in the consumer price index or
impose an additional sales tax on gasoline. Several other states periodically adjust the tax rate in
accordance with the wholesale or retail price of gasoline.

Federal Tax: 18.4 cents per gallon — gasoline
13 cents per gallon — gasohol (10% blend)

Aircraft Fuel

Enacted: 1988.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 18, Colorado Constitution;
Title 28, Article 6, C.R.S. (House Bill 1250, 1988 Session).

Tax Base: Gasoline used in general aviation and products specially prepared, sold, and
used in jet propelled aircraft, excluding regularly scheduled commercial aircraft.
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Present Rates:
TABLE 3.23
Aviation Fuel Tax Rates

[ #
Non-turbo prop and non-jet fuel Motor fuel tax, 6 cents per gallon

(No sales tax)

Turbo-prop and jet fuel, not including Motor fuel tax, 4 cents per gallon
regularly scheduled carriers (Sales tax is applied)

Not part of the motor fuel tax base: State sales tax of 3 percent, plus
Interstate, intrastate, and foreign air any local sales tax
transportation (No motor fuel tax)

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue, using the same mechanism of
the motor fuel tax collection system (Section 39-27-102, CR.S.).

Collection Period: On or before the 25th day of the calendar month following the month
in which the fuel was used or imported.

History of Tax Rates and Collections: Tax was imposed beginning January 1, 1989.

TABLE 3.24 TABLE 3.25
Aviation Fuel Gallonage Tax Aviation Fuel Sales Tax
($ in millions) (% in millions)

1989-90 $1.2 1992-93 $6.9
1990-91 1.1 1993-94 8.0
1991-92 1.2 1994-95 8.0
1992-93 1.3 1995-96 8.3
1993-94 0.9 1996-97 9.5
1994-95 1.4 1997-98 9.9
1995-96 1.0 ‘
1996-97 1.0

| 1997-98 1.2

Disposition of Revenue: Distribution of funds is made by the Colorado Aeronautical
Board, Department of Transportation. The board will transfer to each airport on a monthly basis an
amount equal to four cents per gallon of gasoline sold at that airport based on fuel sales reports.
Such moneys are to be used only for airport operation or "aviation purposes."

Federal Tax: 14.1 cents per gallon — aviation fuel, other than gasoline if it contains
ethanol
13.4 cents per gallon — gasoline used in noncommercial aviation that does
not contain ethanol
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Special Fuels
Enacted: 1919.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 18, Colorado Constitution,
Title 39, Article 27, Part 2, CR.S.

Tax Base: Taxes are imposed on all special fuels, except fuel used for aviation purposes.
Special fuels usually include diesel, kerosene, liquified petroleum gases, and natural gas.

Present Rate: The tax increased on January 1, 1992, to 20.5 cents per gallon (House
Bill 1012, 1989 Special Session).

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue - taxes are paid to the state
by both distributors and users. Distributors collect and pay the tax on fuel sold to a vendor or on
fuels used by the distributor on state highways. Users pay taxes on fuel imported into the state or on
ex-tax purchases. Ex-tax purchasers may buy fuel from a distributor without paying the tax. An
ex-tax purchaser must maintain fuel bulk storage of at least 250 gallons, establish a special fuel user
tax account with the department, file a surety bond (not currently required), and submit a report by
the last day of the month following the end of the quarter stating the amount of fuel consumed in
Colorado for the previous month. Tax payment is due with the report.

Collection Period: Tax payments by special fuel users are due on or before the last
day of the month following the end of the quarter in which the fuel was used or imported. Tax
payments by special fuel distributors are due on or before the 25th day of the month following the end
of the month in which the fuel was sold.

History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.26
History of Special Fuels Tax Rates

1919 1 cent 1969 7 cents

1923 2 cents 1981 9 cents

1927 3 cents 1983 13 cents

1931 4 cents 1986 20.5 cents

1047 6 cents 1989 18.5 and 20.5 cents 2
1966 7 cents ' 1990 18.0 cents ®

1967 6 cents 1992 20.5 cents 3

1. One cent increase, to 7 cents, was in effect for the "highway flood disaster relief fund" from
August 1, 1965, through August 31, 1866.

2. The 18.5 cent rate was effective for the month of July, 1989, and the 20.5 cent rate was effective
from August 1, 1989, to December 31, 1989. The rate changed January 1, 1990, to 18.0 cents,

3. Effective January 1 of those years.

* Additional registration fees are imposed on certain trucks to offset the different rates between
gasoline and diesel fuels.
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Disposition of Revenue: Revenues are credited to the Highway Users Tax Fund.
(See gasoline tax, pages 42 through 44.)

Exemptions:

o fuel used by farm vehicles on farms,

o fuel used by construction equipment within the area of a highway construction
project, and

¢+ fuel used by the United States government, the state, and its political subdivisions.

Collections: (Included with bollections of motor fuel taxes, see page 43.)

Other States: All 50 states impose a similar special fuel tax. Twenty-eight states
impose the same state tax for diesel as for gasoline. Hawaii's tax rate is the highest at 32.5 cents per
gallon. Nineteen states have higher special fuel gas rates than Colorado. Ten states have lower tax
rates for diesel than for gasoline; Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Kentucky, Michigan, Oklahoma,
Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia. The tax rates in bordering states on special fuel are listed
below (local taxes are not included).

GRAPH 3.12

Special Fuel Tax Rates of Neighboring States

Wyoming:

Diesel: 14¢

Special Fuel: 9¢

Nebraska 23.5¢

Utah: * Colorado
SD'pe:;:I E:'e?m; 20.5¢ Kansas 20¢

Oklahoma:
Diesel: 13¢
Special Fuel: 16¢

Arizona 18¢ New Mexico 18¢

|

* In addition, Utah imposes an environmental surcharge of 0.5 cents per gallon on all petroleum sold.
SOURCE: Commerce Clearing House, State Tax Guide.

Federal Tax: 18.4 cents per gallon — gasoline
13 cents per gallon - gasohol (10% blend)
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Pari-Mutuel Racing

Enacted: 1947. Referred act of the General Assembly was approved by the voters on
November 2, 1948,

Statutory Citation: Section 12-60-701, CR.S.

Tax Base: Applied to the handle — the gross receipts from wagering on horse and
greyhound racing events, prior to the distribution of the winnings. Pari-mutuel wagering on
simulcast racing events — broadcasts of live races — is permitted at track and other facilities
under provisions of Senate Bill 91-99.

Present Rate and Distribution:

TABLE 3.27
Pari-Mutuel Racing Tax Rates

Greyhound
Live and Simulcast

. 4.5% on all wagers General Fund

Horse Racing 0.75% on all wa General Fund

Live and Simulcast Class B facgmes greater of actual cost of
regulation, up to $2,500, or 0.75% of handle

0.25% on exotic wagers CSU Veterinary School for
(wagers other than win, place, or show) equine research

0.50% on win, place, or show Owners and Breeders'

1.50% on exotic wa awards and supplemental
(total tax is 1 2§°/o on win, place, or show, purse fund

and 2.5% on other wagers)

Administration and Collection: Colorado Racing Commission, Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Daily.
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History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.28

History of Pari-Mutuel Racing Tax Rates

(based on handle)

1947

5%

1949

5%

1967

1969

5%

3% of first $200,000

4% excess of $200,000 but not over $300,000
5% excess of $300,000 but not over $500,000
6% excess of $500,000

5%

4% of first $200,000
5% excess of $200,000 but not to over $300,000 daily
6% in excess of $300,000 daily

“ 1979

5% -

commercial
4% nonprofit public fair

" 1981

4%

SOBD S R rofit fair

" 1983

4%

4% commercial
9.5% public nonprofit fair

1.5% nonprofit year—round

1986

4%

4.0% commercial, all wagers;

0.5% on win, place or show
3.5% other wagers

fair circuit, all wagers;
5.5% on win, place or show
6.0% other wagers

non-profit year-round, all wagers or cash fee, whichever is

greater; .
0.5% on win, place or show

3.5% other wagers

4.0%

1.0%

L1983,

4%

State: 4% of handle
Breeders' Awards: 0.50% on exotic

1004
6/6 - 12/31

A RNOL

State: .75% of handle
($3,000 minimum live performance for Class B facilities)

CSU Veterinary School: .25% on exotics

Owners' and .50% on win, place, and show
Breeders' Awards: 1.5% on exotics

I
I
" 1009

474 _ 211N A ENnaL

311 -12/31: 5%

State: .75% of handle
($3,000 minimum live performance for Class B facilities)

CSU Veterinary School: .25% on exotics
Brendersandvards: 156% on wintipdace, and show

5% of gross receipts

Same as above except — State: 0.75% of handle

Class B facilities: greater of actual cost of regulation up to $2,500, or

0.75% of handle

4.5% of gross receipts

| Same as 1993
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Collections:

GRAPH 3.13
Pari-Mutuel Tax Receipts

(3 in millions)
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SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Contro!.

TABLE 3.29
Calendar Year 1996 Revenue

$6,759,000 “
$435,000 ||

by Type of Racing

II Greyhound
" Horse Racing

Other States: According to the U.S. Department of Commerce, 34 states impose a tax
on pari-mutuel betting. For regional states, the taxes are imposed as listed below. Utah does not

allow pari-mutuel wagering.

Prepared by Legisiative Council Staff

Page 50



December 1998

SECTION 3 - State Taxes

TABLE 3.30

Pari-Mutuel Tax Rates of Neighboring States

Small counties: 5.5% on first $100,000

Arizona 2% on first $1 million in daily handle
7.5% over $100,000 5% over $1 million in daily handle
Large counties: 7.5% of handle
1l i
ansas Based on takeout and years of track operation: 3% to 6% of total amount wagered
Effective Rate: win, place, and show: 3.0% -
3.5%
Exotics (maximum rate). 3.5% - 3.7%
ebraska | No greyhound racing 0% - up to $10 million/year
2.5% — $10 million-$80 million
4% -~ over $80 million
Hlew Mexico | No greyhound racing 2.1875% with the following conditions:;
0.0625% to 1.375% for owners/
breeders fund
Dklahoma | No greyhound racing 2% of handle
No tax at fair meets
Breeder's fund receives 0.5% to 1.5% of
handle depending on annual handle
and type of wager
gL |
|| Wyoming No greyhound racing 1.5% of the handle
.4% Owners/breeders fund

Note: Arizona and New Mexico offer tax breaks for capital improvement expenditures. New Mexico offers a tax
break for promotional expenses.




SECTION 3 - State Taxes December 1998

Passenger-Mile Tax

Enacted: 1931.
Statutory Citation: Section 42-3-123 (18), CR.S.
Tax Base: Passenger miles traveled by passenger buses.

Present Rate: The tax rate is one mill per passenger-mile. Passenger miles are determined
by multiplying the actual number of revenue passengers carried by each motor vehicle by the number
of miles carried. In lieu of paying the passenger-mile tax, passenger buses may obtain a temporary
certificate of public convenience and necessity for a fee of $10. Passenger buses registered in another
state making occasional trips to Colorado may obtain a trip permit for a $25 fee or the amount of the
passenger-mile tax due, whichever is greater.

Exemptions: The tax does not apply to passenger service rendered within a city, city
and county, or incorporated town by a company that engages in the mass transit of persons by
‘bus or trolley coach.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: On or before the 25th day of each month for miles traveled the
preceding month.

History of Tax Rates: The tax rate has not changed since first imposed in 1931.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenues are credited to the Highway Users Tax Fund (see
page 6).

Collections: FY 1997-98 collections were $483,222.
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Sales and Use Taxes

Sales Tax
Enacted: 1935.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Title 39, Article 26, Part 1, CR.S. — State;
Title 29, Article 2, Part 1, CR.S. — Local.

Tax Base: Gross receipts from sales of tangible personal property and certain services
are subject to the sales tax, unless specifically exempted by statute.

Present Rate: The state rate is three percent on taxable sales. State statutes (29-2-108,
C.R.S.) limit the total state, county, and municipal sales tax to seven percent except that the rate may
be eight percent if necessary to allow a county to impose a one percent sales tax. Thus, a four
percent municipal levy, in conjunction with the three percent state levy, could not prohibit a county
from levying a one percent tax. The statutory limit does not apply to home rule municipalities. The
sales tax of the Regional Transportation District (RTD), the Denver Metropolitan Major League
Baseball Stadium District, the Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), and county local
improvement districts are not included in the statutory limit on sales taxes. County rental taxes on
the rental of personal property, county mass transit taxes, and local tourism taxes are also exempt
from the statutory limit on sales taxes.

The combined sales tax rate for the state, counties, special districts, and municipalities is
shown on the table presented on pages 85 through 87.

Administration and Collection: The Department of Revenue administers all state sales
taxes collected by merchants. As of July 1998, the department also administers sales taxes for
157 municipalities, 44 counties, the Regional Transportation District, the Scientific and Cultural
Facilities District, the Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District, and two county
local improvement districts. There are 46 home rule cities that collect and administer their own
sales tax. An incremental county sales tax for mass transit is collected for three counties.

Collection Period: Taxes from large taxpayers (liabilities greater than $300 per month)
are collected monthly and are due by the twentieth day of the month following collection. Taxes from
small taxpayers are collected quarterly and are due by the twentieth day of the month following the
close of the calendar quarter. Retailers are entitled to retain 3.33 percent of the taxes to cover
collection expenses.
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History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.31
History of Sales and Use Tax Rates

Disposition of Revenue: Old Age Pension Fund, as required by the Colorado Constitution,
Aviation Fund as required under House Bill 91-1028; and General Fund. (See page 5 for OAPF,
page 1 for General Fund, and page 12 for Aviation Fund.).

Recent Colorado Changes: Senate Bill 95-221 exempted steam when used as a fuel in any
type of processing or manufacturing. House Bill 95-1145 exempted occasional sales by a charitable
organization. House Bill 96-1359 defined the purchase price for wireless telecommunication
equipment and exempted the charge for any sales commission or compensation from sales or use tax.
House Bill 96-1333 defined any machinery which is used to move material from one production step
to another in a continuous flow and testing process directly used in the manufacturing process.
Precious metal bullion and coin sales are no longer exempted from sales taxes after April 17, 1995.

Exemptions: For FY 1997-98, the total value for state sales tax exemptions was $431
million. The following table includes all of the sale transactions which have been exempted from the
state sales tax in FY 1997-98 (see Sections 39-26-102, 39-26-203, and 39-26-114, CR.S.). The
sales tax exemption with the greatest revenue impact is the sales of food for off-premises
consumption valued at $169.9 million. Along with the corresponding revenue impact of each sales
tax exemption, the year of enactment is also provided.

TABLE 3.32
Colorado Sales and Use Tax Exemptions

-| Tangible property as a component part of the product or service

manufactured
1935 Special fuel defined as diesel, kerosene, liquified petroleum gases, and $81.9

natural gas
1937 Energy used for industrial or manufacturing purposes $6.2
1937 Sales to charitable organizations $19.7
1937 Sales to governmental units $25.5
1943 Printers ink and newsprint $5.0
1943 Sales of livestock for breeding < $0.1
1943 Newspapers $3.3
1943 Sales and purchases of cattle, sheep, lambs, poultry, swine, goats < $0.0*

P ——————_

(Continued on next page)
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TABLE 3.32 (Continued)

1943 Sales for feed for livestock; seeds and orchard trees

1945 Farm auction close-out sale

1959 Cigarettes

1959 Lodging for permanent residents

1961 Sales of straw for livestock bedding

1963 Sales to residents of an adjoining state within a twenty-mile limit if the
bordering state does not have a sales tax

1965 Sales of prescription drugs , $26.4

1969 Sales to public and other nonprofit schools NA

1970 Sales of live fish for stocking <$0.1

1976 New and used commercial trucks and trailers purchased in Colorado for $1.2
use outside Colorado or in interstate commerce

1977 Certain sales of assets in business formation or dissolution $2.8

1977 Property brought into the state for testing, modification, or inspection if $0.2
the use is outside of the state and the testing period is no longer than 90
days

1977 Sales of construction materials to a common carrier by rail $0.0

1977 Leases of personal property for three years or less if tax is paid upon $0.0
original acquisition

1977 Special fuel for farm vehicles $1.5

1977 Sales of insulin (included with prescription drugs) "

1977 Sales of motor vehicles by nonresidents purchased for use by $0.1
nonresidents outside Colorado

1978 Value of meals furnished to employees of food service establishments $0.1
free or at reduced rates and considered part of their incomes

1978 Property transferred by a supplier to out of state vendors for use in $0.2
selling products at wholesale by the supplier '

1978 Sales of any article, containers or bags to a retailer or vendor of food if $0.2
provided to the consumer without a separate charge

1979 Sales of construction and building materials for use by contractors on NA
public works projects used by tax-exempt organizations

1979 Sales of straw for poultry bedding <$0.1

1979 Purchase of machinery or machine tools used in the manufacturing $22.4
process (and enterprise zones)

1979 Sales of glucose for treatment of insulin reactions and insulin measuring b
and injecting devices

1979 Sales of fuel for residential heat, light, and power $35.9

1979 Forty-eight percent of purchase price of factory built housing $0.1

1979 Sales of food for off-premises consumption (net of food stamps) $169.9

1980 Certain medical supplies and equipment; eyeglasses contacts, and $5.2
hearing aids, therapeutic devices, appliances or related accessories

1982 Property used for food manufacturing when such property becomes part $0.4
of the product or is left unfit for further use

— o s
(Continued on next page)
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TABLE 3.32 (Continued)

1982 Refractory materials and carbon electrodes used in manufacturing $0.2
iron and steel, and inorganic chemicals used in processing uranium-
vanadium ores
1982 Nuclear fuel when deemed a wholesale sale $0.0
1984 Sales of aircraft used or purchased for use in interstate commerce $0.0
1985 Newspaper advertising supplements $1.6
1986 Sales of personal property through vending machines of 15 cents or less $0.0
1987 Food purchased with federal food stamps or funds from the $0.0
supplemental food program for woman, infants, and children
1990 ' Direct mail advertising materials distributed by persons engaged solely < $0.1
and exclusively in providing cooperative direct mail advertising
1991 Sales of aircraft component parts $0.5
1992 Sale of railroad capital equipment $0.9
1992 Sales of materials used in the printing process $0.2
Total $431.0 million

SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

* Without specific exemptions, these goods yield very little in tax revenues; a considerable amount would be shipped
out of state, used as a component in the production of food or would be sold at wholesale. If these goods could
be taxed under these conditions, their value would be $72.4 million and $19.6 million respectively.

** Included in the estimate of the value of the exemption for prescription drugs.

Collections: This chart does not reflect sales taxes collected on aviation fuel after FY
1992-93,

GRAPH 3.14
Sales Tax Receipts
(3 in millions)
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SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.
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Other States: Currently, 45 states and the District of Columbia impose sales taxes; 25
states and the District of Columbia exempt food and all but two states exempt prescription drugs from
the tax. Colorado has the lowest state-imposed sales tax rate at three percent. The highest
state-imposed rate is seven percent in Mississippi and Rhode Island. Of the states which impose a
sales tax, the average state sales tax is 5.2 percent and the median is five percent. Forty-two states,
including Colorado, allow for local sales taxes. The five states without a state sales tax are Alaska,
Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.

GRAPH 3.15
State Sales Tax Rates of Neighboring States

Wyoming 4¢

Nebraska 5¢

Utah 4.75¢ Colorado 3¢
Kansas 4.9¢
Oklahoma 4.5¢
Arizona 5¢ New Mexico 5¢
|
TABLE 3.33

Local Option Sales Tax and Food and Prescription Drug
Exemption Policies of Neighboring States

Arizona Yes Yes (exempt) Yes (exempt)
Colorado Yes Yes Yes
Kansas Yes No Yes
Nebraska Yes Yes Yes
New Mexico Yes No No*
Oklahoma Yes No Yes
Utah Yes No Yes
Wzoming Yes No Yes
| T

SOURCE: Commerce Clearing House, State Tax Guide.
* Exempt after January 1, 1999.
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Use Tax

Enacted: 1937.

Statutory Citations: Title’ 39, Article 26, Part 2, CR.S. — State Use Tax. Title 29,
Article 2, Part 1, C.R.S. — County or Municipal Sales or Use Tax.

Tax Base: Use taxes are collected on receipts from charges or costs of storing, using,
or consuming articles of tangible personal property purchased at retail.

Present Rate: The state rate is three percent. Local governments may impose, with
voter approval, additional taxes as long as the combined state, county, and city rate does not exceed
seven percent. However, the seven percent limitation cannot prohibit a county from levying a one
percent tax.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Taxes are collected monthly when the cumulative tax due at the end
of a month is in excess of $300. The tax is due before the twentieth day of the following month.

History of Tax Rates:

TABLE 3.34
History of Use Tax Rates

Disposition of Revenue: After the requirements of the Old Age Pension Fund have been
satisfied, the remainder is credited to the General Fund.

Exemptions: Items exempt from state sales tax are also exempt from the state use tax
(see sales tax exemptions, beginning on page 54).
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GRAPH 3.16
Use Tax Receipts
($ in millions)
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SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.
Other States: See "Other States" discussion of sales tax on page 57.
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Severance Taxes

Enacted: 1977.

.

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 29, CR.S.

Tax Base: The severance tax isimposed on the production or extraction of metallic minerals,
molybdenum, oil and gas, oil shale, and coal.

Present Rate: The tax rates, their methods of application, and any exemptions or credits
vary with the different types of materials extracted.

Metallic Minerals. The tax is based on the gross income, defined as
the value of the mineral upon extraction. It does not include any value
added by processing. The rate is as follows:

First $11 million exempt
Over $11 million 2.25%

A credit of up to 50 percent of the tax liability is allowed for payment
of property tax.

Molybdenum. The severance tax on molybdenum ore is five cents per
ton.

Oil and Gas. Crude oil, natural gas, carbon dioxide, and oil and gas
are also taxed on the net gains of the producer for the sale of the oil
or gas. Net gains are defined as gross lease revenues less
transportation, manufacturing, and processing costs. Adjustment of
the calculation is allowed for cases in which the producer sells the oil
or gas to a related party resulting in a sales price which is lower than
the market rate. '

Under $25,000 2%

$25,000 but under $100,000 $500 plus 3% in excess of $ 25,000
$100,000 but under $300,000 | $2,750 plus 4% in excess of $100,000
$300,000 and over $10,750 plus 5% in excess of $300,000
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Oil from a well producing ten barrels of oil or less per day is exempt
from the severance tax. A credit against the severance tax is allowed
equal to 87.5 percent of all property taxes paid, except those imposed
on equipment and facilities used for production, transportation, and
storage. This credit is not allowed for wells producing ten barrels or
less per day.

Coal. The rate of the severance tax on coal is 36 cents per ton.
Modifications of this tax rate are also specified in statute. For every
1'4 percent decrease or increase in the U.S. Department of Labor's
Producer Price Index, the rate is correspondingly increased or
decreased by 1 percent. Such determinations are made by the
executive director of the Department of Revenue. The coal tax rate
was indexed until December 1992. Because of the constitutional
provisions of Article X, Section 20, the tax rate has not been
increased; however, it may decrease. The current rate of tax imposed
on coal is 54 cents per ton.

Until July 1, 2000, the first 25,000 tons extracted in each yearly
quarter are exempt from taxation and, after that date, the first 8,000
tons extracted per quarter will be exempt. The rate and amount
exempted after July 1, 2000, will return to the same levels as before
July 1, 1988.

A credit of 50 percent of the tax imposed is allowed for coal produced
by underground mines and for lignitic coal.

Oil Shale. Oil shale is taxed at four percent of gross proceeds. The
term "gross proceeds" means the value at the point of extraction
with direct and indirect expenditures for equipment, machinery,
transportation, refining, and royalties deducted from the value prior
to taxation. The deduction for these expenses is also reduced based
upon the length of time an oil shale facility has been operating.

First Year 75% 1%
Second Year 50% 2%
Third Year 25% 3%
Fourth and Succeeding Years None 4%

Also, the first 15,000 tons per day of oil shale or the first 10,000
barrels of shale oil per day, whichever is greater, is exempt.
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Exemption for Impact Assistance: A credit is allowed against a company's severance
tax liability for the amount of approved contributions by that company to local governments toward
mitigating the social and economic impact of beginning or expanding mineral development activities.
The credit may not exceed any year's severance tax liability but any excess may be carried forward.
Additional credits are allowed for each month such payments to local governments precede their due
date.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Annually, on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month following
the end of the taxable year (except for molybdenum which must be filed by the 15th day of the month
following the end of a quarter.)

History of Tax Rates: In 1953, an additional income tax was levied on income derived
from the extraction of crude oil and natural gas. The rate was the same as the current rate under the
severance tax. In 1977, the tax was made part of the severance tax article. The tax rate on
molybdenum ore was 15 cents per ton prior to 1986. The base tax rate on coal was 60 cents per ton
prior to July 1, 1988.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenues are dedicated SO percent to the state severance tax
fund and 50 percent to the Local Government Severance Tax Fund. (See page 10 for discussions of
these funds.)

Collections:

TABLE 3.35

State Severance Tax Receipts

($ in millions)
1988-89 16.2 6.0 0.4 216 41.2%
1989-90 8.5 54 0.5 14.4 -33.3%
1990-91 15.6 5.8 0.5 21.9 52.1%
1991-92 10.4 5.3 0.4 16.1 -26.5%
1992-93 135 8.3 0.5 223 38.5%
1993-94 6.5 8.6 0.0 15.1 -32.3%
1994-95 1.6 8.8 0.3 10.7 -29.1%
1995-96 7.6 6.9 04 14.9 39.3%
1996-97 18.7 10.8 0.7 30.2 102.7%
1997-98 226 93 . 06 326 7.9%

SOURCE: Department of Revenue, Cash Basis.

Other States: Thirty-nine states impose some form of a severance tax. These taxes
are imposed on a variety of natural resources including coal, timber, and mineral resources. The tax
may also apply to resources that are unusual or limited to certain states, e.g., fish in Alaska, salt in
Kansas, molybdenum in Colorado and New Mexico, or freshwater mussels in Louisiana.
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Tobacco Products Tax

Enacted: 1986. _
Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 28.5, CR.S.

Tax Base: The tax on tobacco products applies to smoking and chewing tobaccos, such
as cigars, pipe tobacco, cheroots, stogies, snuff, and plug or twist tobacco. Cigarettes are not
included as they are subject to the cigarette tax. Distributors are permitted to keep 3.33 percent of
the collections to cover the expenses of collection and reporting.

Present Rate: The tax is 20 percent of the manufacturer's list price, the invoice price
paid by the distributor to a manufacturer or supplier. These products are also subject to state and
local sales and use taxes.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Distributors file a return every quarter containing the amount of
tobacco products purchased during the preceding quarter and the amount of tax due. Taxes are paid
by the twentieth day of the month following the quarterly report.

History of Tax Rates: Not changed since tax became effective July 1, 1986.

Disposition of Revenue: After the requirements of the Old Age Pension Fund have been
satisfied, the remainder is credited to the General Fund.

Collections:
GRAPH 3.17
Tobacco Products Receipts
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SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.
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Other States: Forty-three other states levy a tax on tobacco products in addition to
the cigarette tax. Wyoming is the only neighboring state that does not impose a tobacco products
tax. Aside from Wyoming, the District of Columbia and other states that do not tax tobacco include:
Kentucky; Maryland; Pennsylvania; Virginia, and West Virginia. The rates for neighboring states
imposing the tax are listed below. .

TABLE 3.36
Tobacco Products Tax Rates of Neighboring States

Arizona
- Tobacco and snuff 6.5 cents per ounce
— Cavendish, plug or twist 1.6 cents per ounce
— Cigars
small 12.9 cents each 20 cigars
cigars 5 cents each or less 6.4 cents each 3 cigars
cigars over 5 cents 6.4 cents each cigar
Kansas 10% of wholesale price
Nebraska 15% of purchase price
New Mexico 25% of product value
Oklahoma
— Cigars under 3 Ibs. per 1,000 0.9 cents per cigar
— Cigars over 3 Ibs. per 1,000 and with
MSRP of 4 cents or less 1 cent per cigar
- All other cigars $30 per 1,000 ‘
— Smoking tobacco 40% of factory list price \
— Chewing tobacco 30% of factory list price
Utah 35% of sales price

SOURCE: Commerce Clearing House, State Tax Guide, July 1997.

Federal Tax:

TABLE 3.37
Federal Tobacco Product Tax Rates

Snuff 36 cents per pound 50 percent

Chewing Tobacco 12 cents per pound 50 percent
Small Cigars $1.125 to $48.75 per thousand - | 50 percent

(weighing less than 3 pounds per 1,000)

Large Cigars 12.75 percent of wholesale price but 50 percent

(weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000) not more than $30 per thousand
— e —— %
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Unemployment Insurance Tax

Enacted: 1936.

.

Statutory Citation: Title 8, Article 76, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The tax is applied to a portion of the wages paid by public and private
employers subject to the act. Exemptions, outlined in statute, exclude a limited number of types of
employers from coverage.

The tax is applicable to the first $10,000 of annual earnings paid each employee.

Present Rate: For new employers the standard rate of taxation is 1.7 percent of the
employees' taxable wages and the state average tax rate for experienced employers is 1.4 percent of
taxable payrolls. Employers newly subject to this tax may pay taxes at the standard rate or at the
actual experience rate, whichever is greater. After 12 consecutive calendar months, individual
employers become eligible for a computed rate which is based on the employer's experience rating
and the balance in the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.

A tax surcharge may be added based on the amount of benefits paid which are not effectively
charged to any active employer. Benefits are not effectively charged when they are charged to the
account of an employer who is already paying the maximum rate or who has gone out of business.

Employers are also subject to the federal unemployment tax. Receipts from this tax are used
to pay the administrative costs of unemployment insurance programs.

Administration and Collection: Division of Employment and Training, Department of Labor
and Employment.

Collection Period: Taxes are payable quarterly by each employer for each calendar year
in which the employer is subject to the tax. The funds are credited to the unemployment insurance
trust fund.

History of Tax Rates: The standard employer contribution rate in 1936 was 10.8 percent
of one month's wages, provided the rate was less than 0.9 percent of the annual payroll for the
calendar year. In 1937, a uniform contribution rate of 1.8 percent per calendar year on a taxable
wage base ($3,500 in 1937) was established; the rate was raised to 2.7 percent in 1938. In 1972,
the rate was lowered to 1 percent, but was changed back to 2.7 percent in 1976. The rate was
reduced to 1.7 percent in 1997 by House Bill 1159.
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An experience rating system was adopted in 1941 which permits qualifying employers to
pay less than the maximum rate. Effective 1984, employers newly subject to the tax could be taxed at
the standard rate, at the actual experience rate, or at an assigned average industry rate, whichever is
greatest. Effective 1992, the assigned average industry rate was changed to apply only to the
construction industry.

TABLE 3.38

Taxable Wage Base for Colorado Unemployment Insurance Tax
(Changes from 1936 — 1988)

ssoo0 | snouo | stoom |

1. House Bill 1012, 1986 session, provided that the taxable wage would increase from $9,000 to
$10,000 on January 1, 1988, if the trust fund resources were less than $350 million on June 30,
1987. The trust fund was less than the required amount, resulting in the automatic increase in
the taxable wage base.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue credited to the unemployment insurance trust fund is
withdrawn only to pay unemployment benefits.

Collections:
GRAPH 3.18
Unemployment Insurance Tax Receipts
(8 in millions)
250.0

] 2245

Calendar Year

* Estimated collections.
SOURCE: Division of Employment and Training, Department of Labor and Employment.

Other States: All 50 states administer this tax as required by the federal government.
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Local Taxes

Article X, Section 7, of the Colorado Constitution empowers the General Assembly to vest
the power of taxation in the state's political subdivisions. Article XX, Section 6, establishes home
rule cities and towns and provides them broader taxation powers than for statutory cities and towns.
County home rule authority was created in Article XIV, Section 16 of the Colorado Constitution.
Municipalities may not impose income taxes because the General Assembly has the exclusive power
in this area of taxation (Article X, Section 17).

Specific constitutional and statutory citations have been presented for each tax where
applicable. Brief descriptions of the tax and their rates are also provided. Information pertaining to
the types of taxes levied in cities and the rates imposed is from the Colorado Municipal League's
Municipal Taxes, 1995 edition. These data have been updated when available. Department of
Revenue data was used for rates of sales and use taxes for the cities and counties; that information
is current as of July 1, 1998.

Currently, there are 269 incorporated municipalities. In 1996, Colorado municipalities
accounted for 71.2 percent of the total state population. The structure of municipal governments in
1998 included 77 Home Rule Cities or Towns, 16 Statutory Cities, two Territorial Charters, and
174 Statutory Towns.
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Accommodations or Lodger's Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution.

Déscription of Tax: Ordinarily municipalities apply their general sales tax to the price

- for renting or leasing of accommodations for less than 30 consecutive days. Some cities impose a

separate lodger's tax.

Rates: In 1998, 197 cities or towns reported imposing their sales tax or an equivalent
rate, while 28 reported levying rates ranging from 0.7 to 8 percent in addition to their sales tax rates.
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Admissions Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution.

Description of Tax: An admissions tax is imposed on the charge for admission to places
or events open to the public. It is usually expressed as a percentage of such charge and is collected
when a ticket is sold. The tax applies to tickets sold for entertainment, athletic, or theater events, as
well as ski lift tickets. Some cities apply their sales tax to admission fees while others impose a
separate admissions tax. The Supreme Court of Colorado has ruled that non-home rule (statutory)
cities do not have the authority to levy an admissions tax (City of Sheridan v. City of Englewood,
609 P.2d 108 (1980) ).

Rates: As of July 1, 1998, 26 municipalities reported admissions taxes, ranging from 2 to
15 percent.
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County Lodging Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution; Section
30-11-107.5, CR.S.

Description of Tax: Senate Bill 23, 1987 Session, authorized counties to impose a
county lodging tax in municipalities and unincorporated parts of a county, subject to voter approval.
The tax does not apply in municipalities already levying a lodging tax but cities may voluntarily
abandon their lodging tax ordinances to create a uniform county lodging tax. Tax revenues are
earmarked for advertising and marketing local tourism and are exempt from the seven percent sales
tax limitation. Counties may impose the tax on charges to persons for rooms or accommodations.

Rate: The statutory limit is not more than two percent on the price charged for rooms
or accommodations. Twenty-four counties impose a county lodging tax. As of July 1, 1998, 20
counties impose a county lodging tax of 1.9 percent. In addition, the rate is 0.9 percent in Bent
County, 1.8 percent in Grand County, and 2.0 percent in San Miguel and San Juan counties.

Prior to the repeal of the Colorado Tourism Promotion Fund Tax on July 1, 1993, the
combined tax rate of any county lodging tax and the Colorado Tourism Promotion Fund Tax was
limited to 2.1 percent. Although the statutory limit for the county lodging tax was 2.0 percent, the
maximum rate was set at 1.9 percent to accommodate the 0.2 percent Colorado Tourism Promotion
Fund Tax rate. Since Section 20 of Article X of the Colorado Constitution requires voter approval
to increase the rate of an existing tax, the county lodging tax will remain at current rates unless
increases are approved by the registered voters of a county.
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Occupational Taxes

General -

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution; Section
31-15-501, CR.S.

Description of Tax: Occupational or business taxes are imposed for the privilege of
carrying on certain occupations within the taxing jurisdiction. The tax may be applied to all or
selected types of businesses or professions in a community. Although the most common form is
an annual flat fee, the rate may be based on a graduated scale, for example, on the number of
employees. Specific occupational taxes may be imposed on businesses selling liquor or on public
utilities. However, the state Supreme Court has held that an occupation tax cannot be based on
gross sales as this tax base would represent an unconstitutional form of an income tax.

TABLE 4.1
Municipalities Levying General Occupations Tax and Tax Rates

Aspen Firms with:
0-5 employees ~ $150

6-15 employees ~ $200
16-49 employees — $400

50 or more employees — $750

Aurora $2 per employee per month paid by employer and employee
Avon $75 per business

Bayfield $25 per business, plus $5 per employee over 2
Breckenridge $200 plus $10 per employee

$50 for in-home businesses
$100 for regular vendors
$50 for seasonal vendors

Calhan $5.50 per business

Crested Butte Firms with:

0-2 employees — $100

3-7 employees — $275

8-15 employees — $475

16-24 employees - $1,000

25 or more employees — $1,500
$100 for seasonal vendors
$200 for regular vendors

Denver $4 per employee per month paid by employer
$5.75 per employee per month paid by employee

Dillon $60 per business

. ———

(Continued on next page)
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Municipalities Levying General Occupations Tax and Tax Rates — (Continued)

Dinosaur $25 per business

Dove Creek $15 per business

Durango Business license based on number of employees
Eagle $50 per business

Estes Park $100 for in-home businesses

$150 — $375 for lodging businesses, based on number of units
$200 for other businesses

Fruita $25 per business
Garden City $10 for service businesses
$25 for retail businesses
$75 for pawn shops
$25 per vending machine
Gilcrest $15 per business
Green Mountain Falls $35 per business
Greenwood Village $2 per month per employee paid by employer and employee
La Salle $10 for local sales tax license
Leadville $50 per business owner
Lyons $25 per business
Pueblo $5 for local sales tax license
Severance $25 per business
Sheridan $2 per employee
Silverton Firms with:

1-4 employees — $125

5-9 employees — $145

10 or more employees — $180
$60 for in-home businesses
$1 for cigarette sales permit

Snowmass Village $50 per business

Telluride Firms with: »

0 to 1.5 employees — $100

1.6 to 4 employees — $275

5 to 6 employees — $375

7 to 9 employees — $475

10 to 15 employees — $775

More than 15 employees — $1,250

Vail Amount varies depending on number of employees, type of
business, type of profession, and amount of square footage

Victor $75 per business

Winter Park $60 per business

Woodland Park $50 per business

SOURCE: Colorado Municipal League, Municipal Taxes, 1995.
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Liquor and Beer Occupation Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution, Section
31-15-501, CR.S.

Description of tax: Numerous cities impose a privilege tax to permit the sale of liquor
and beer by various establishments and at special events. In 1998, 111 cities reported imposing this
tax. Annual fees range from $3.75 to $2,280.

TABLE 4.2
Number of Municipalities Levying Liquor and Beer Occupation Taxes

Retail liquor store 71 23 41 7 0
[ Drug store 49 15 28 6 0
Hotel and Restaurant 66 21 25 13 7
Club 54 18 28 6 2
Tavemn 65 21 22 14 8
Beer and wine 55 _ 19 28 6 2
Race track 16 8 7 0 1
Arts 21 11 10 0 o |
Extended Hours | 30 20 9 1 o |
3.2% beer ,
On premises 51 18 22 8 3
Off premises 52 21 27 4 0
On and off premises 40 15 15 7 3

SOURCE: Colorado Municipal League, Municipal Taxes, 1995.

Utility Occupational Tax or Franchise Fee

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Section 4, Colorado Constitutioﬁ;
Section 31-32-101, C.R.S.

Description of Tax: A franchise may be required before a public utility may be permitted to
operate in a municipality. The franchise fee for a utility is usually a percentage of the utility's gross
receipts from business conducted in the municipality. A municipal occupation tax is sometimes
assessed on utilities that are not required to obtain municipal franchises. These taxes may be based
on a flat rate per account or other flat fee basis.

The latest data collected reported the number of municipal franchises in effect in 1991 as
follows: electric, 138 municipalities; gas, 143; cable TV, 152; telephone, 117. According to the
Colorado Municipal League’s 1995 survey, more than 45 percent of municipal gas and electric
franchises are typically awarded for shorter duration — 15 years or less. Less than 15 percent of
cable television franchises are for 20 years or longer.
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Property Tax

Enacted: 1876.

4

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Sections 3, 4, 5, 6, 11, 15, and 20,
Colorado Constitution; Title 39, Articles 1 through 14, CR.S.

Tax Base: The property tax is applied to the assessed value of all taxable real and personal
property within a taxing jurisdiction.

Tax Rate: Subject to limitations on rates and revenues, the property tax rate is set by
the governing body of the local government levying the tax. The rate of property taxation for real
and personal property is expressed in mills. One mill will generate one dollar of taxes for each $1,000
of assessed value. :

Administration: The administration of the property tax system involves both state and |
local agencies and officials.

— The county assessor is responsible for establishing the value of most property
within the county. The assessor must submit an "Abstract of Assessment" to the
state property tax administrator by August 25 of each year. The abstract lists the
property valuations by class and subclass for the county.

— The board of county commissioners, acting as the county board of equalization,
reviews the valuations and raises, lowers, or adjusts them so that the valuations are
just and equalized within the county. The county board also hears appeals that
have been denied or refused by the county assessor.

— The State Board of Equalization reviews and certifies the abstracts of each
county by October 30 of each year. The certified abstract becomes the basis for
the tax roll, which is sent to each county treasurer not later than January 10.

— The county treasurer collects property taxes and disperses them to the
appropriate taxing entities.

— The property tax administrator, through the Division of Property Taxation,
assists and cooperates in administration of property tax laws, and promotes
equalization of property valuation in all 63 counties. The division's responsibilities
include providing assistance to assessors on valuation and appraisals
methodologies, reappraisals, and property tax law;, approving applications for
exemptions for school, charitable, and religious properties; preparing research and
manuals and developing forms and procedures for assessors; and appraising and
apportioning the value of public utility and rail transportation properties doing
business in Colorado.
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Collections: The county treasurer mails tax bills to all property owners as soon as
practicable after January 1 following the year the property taxes were levied. If the taxpayer elects
to make a single payment for the full amount of taxes, the payment is due by April 30. If the property
tax bill is in excess of $25, two equal installments may be made in lieu of the single payment. The
first installment is due no later than February 28 and the second is due by June 15. A penalty of one
percent per month is imposed on overdue installment payments until the date of payment or the date
of sale of tax liens. Energy development operations and mineral extraction or conversion operations
may prepay property taxes for credit against property taxes to be levied in the future.

Property Valuation:

Property Types. There are two types of property that assessors value for taxing
purposes — real and personal. Real property is property that is permanently fixed,
such as land and buildings. Everything which is the subject of ownership but is not
included within the term real property is considered personal property. Certain items
of personal property — household furnishings, freestanding appliances, carpet and
drapes, other personal effects, and personal property rented for 30 days or less — are
subject to taxation only if they are used to produce income. All other types of
tangible personal property not used for exempt purposes are taxable.

Property Classes. For valuation purposes, property is placed in one of ten
categories based on the property’s use. Land is classified as agricultural if it
produces agricultural products and the primary purpose of the production is monetary
profit. Land is classified as residential if a residential dwelling exists; mobile homes
and apartment buildings are included in this property class. Vacant land is land which
has no structures, buildings, or fixtures on it, whether the land is platted or unplatted.
Commercial property includes all property used primarily as a commercial enterprise,
while property that is used to add value (e.g., manufacturing and refining) is classified
as industrial.

Of the remaining five property classes, three relate to the earth’s resources. The
producing mines category includes metalliferous (e.g., copper, gold, and silver) mine
operations whose gross proceeds exceeded $5,000 in the preceding calendar year.
Oil and gas lands, leaseholds, improvements, and personal property are assigned to
their own property class, while all other property that involves the earth’s resources,
including non-metallic and coal producing mines, are classified as natural resource
property. The state assessed class includes public utilities: railroad companies,
airlines, electric companies, telephone and telegraph companies, and pipeline
companies, among others. Finally, a classification exists for property that is exempt
from taxation.

Actual Value. The actual value of property reflects the property's worth during a
specified period of time. Actual value is determined by three methods of appraisal:
the market approach, the income approach, and the cost approach. The market
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approach compares market sales of similar properties. The cost approach estimates
the material and labor costs to replace a similar property. The income approach
converts income from rent to an estimate of value. Residential property is valued
using the market approach only. The value of agricultural land is determined by
considering the productive ‘capacity of the land over the preceding ten years,
capitalized at a rate of 13 percent.

Reassessment Cycle. Since 1987, the law has required vacant, residential,
commercial, industrial, and agricultural property to be assessed biennially in odd-
numbered years. The actual value of these property classes (agricultural excluded)
is based on the value of the property in the 18 months prior to the July 1 preceding
the assessment date, frequently referred to as the data gathering period. Thus, the
assessed values for these property classes in 1999 and 2000 are based on estimated
values as of June 30, 1998. Valuation of agricultural property is based on a moving
ten-year average of net farm income. Values of natural resource, mining, oil and gas,
and state assessed properties are determined on an annual basis.

Assessed Value. The assessed value of property is equal to the actual value
multiplied by the appropriate assessment rate. The assessment rate for residential
property fluctuates to comply with Article X, Section 3 of the Colorado Constitution.
This constitutional provision requires the General Assembly to adjust the rate
whenever there is a reassessment to ensure that the percentage of the total statewide
valuation for assessment attributed to residential real property remains the same as in
the preceding year. Rate changes make pursuant to Article X, Section 3 are
summarized below.

TABLE 4.3
Residential Assessment Rate Adjustments Since 1982
Percent of Actual Value

1982-86 21.00% 29% ' | Constitution

1987 18.00% H.B. 87-1003
1988 16.00% S.B. 88-184
1989-90 15.00% H.B. 89-1288
1991-92 14.34% H.B. 91-1215
1993-94 12.86% H.B. 93-1315
1995-96 10.36% H.B. 95-1136
1997-98 9.74% S.B. 97-26

e ______________ |

1. For commercial, industrial, state assessed, vacant land, agricultural
land, and natural resources.
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Commercial, industrial, vacant, agricultural, natural resource, and state assessed
property are assessed at 29 percent of actual value. Oil and gas lands and leaseholds
and producing mines are assessed based on production. Producing mines are valued
for assessment at the greater of 25 percent of gross proceeds or 100 percent of net
proceeds. Oil and gas lands and leaseholds are assessed at 87.5 percent of the selling
price of oil and gas sold or transported from the wellhead during the preceding calendar
year unless secondary or tertiary recovery is used. In these latter instances, the
assessment rate is reduced to 75 percent.

Taxpayer Notification of Value. A notice of valuation (NOV) is mailed to property
owners annually. This notice states the actual, rather than the assessed, value of
property in the current and previous year, and the amount of the change. The NOV
also includes the assessment rate to be applied to the actual value to compute assessed
value. A form is included with the NOV mailing which, if returned by the property
owner, initiates an appeal of the valuation. Under certain circumstances, an estimate
of taxes may be included in the mailing,

Property Tax Revenues:

Mill Levy. The local taxing authorities — the governing boards of counties,
municipalities, school districts, and special districts — determine a mill levy for their
entity each autumn. Except for school districts, a taxing jurisdiction's mill levy is
determined by dividing the jurisdiction's property tax needs by its total assessed value,
subject to maximum mill levy and property tax revenue limitations. The levies are then
certified by the board of county commissioners.

Each taxpayer is subject to at least two mill levies — county and school district.
However, there are many variations among mill levies due to the variety of taxing
entities that impose the levies. For example, a city, recreation district, fire protection
district, sanitation district, soil conservation district, pest control district, cemetery
district, or other authorized special district or any combination thereof, may levy a tax.
A taxpayer's property tax bill is the combined mill levy of all the taxing districts in
which the property is located. The amount of tax to be paid is determined by
multiplying the total mill levy by the property's assessed value.

Limitations on Property Tax Revenues. Article X, Section 20 of the Colorado
Constitution limits both the growth of property tax revenues and property tax rates for
all local governments. Regarding property tax rates, local governments must have prior
voter approval for a mill levy above that for the prior year. The percentage change in
property tax revenue is limited to inflation in the prior calendar year plus local growth.
This limit may also be exceeded with voter approval. "Local growth" is defined
differently for school districts than it is for all other taxing entities. For school districts,
local growth is the percentage change in student enrollment; for all remaining local
governments, local growth is the net percentage change in the entity’s actual value
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created by additions to or deletions from the tax base. Given that both rate and revenue
limits exist, the limitation that generates the lesser amount of property taxes would be
applicable.

A statutory property tax revenue limitation also exists for counties, cities, and towns
not chartered as home rule. If this limitation is more restrictive than the constitutional
restriction, taxing entities are required to follow it. Colorado law limits these taxing
entities to revenue increases of 5.5 percent above the previous year's revenue. The
limitation may be exceeded for capital expenditures that have been approved by
two-thirds of the governing board voting at a public hearing. Other property tax
revenues excluded from the limitation include those for payment of bonds, interest, and
contractual obligations, reappraisal expenses, and repayment of state equalization
payments. In addition to property taxes excluded from the limit, certain property
valuations (e.g., annexations, new construction, increases in value that will cause
increases in services) are also excluded when computing the 5.5 percent revenue limit.
All taxing entities must obtain voter approval to raise additional property taxes above
the 5.5 percent revenue limit. Special districts may submit a request to the Division of
Local Government for additional property taxes but must also gain approval from the
electorate before property taxes can be raised.

Exemptions:

Article X, Sections 3, 4, 5, and 6 of the Colorado Constitution exempts the following property
from taxation:
— household furnishings and personal effects not used to produce income;
— ditches, canals, and flumes used for irrigation;
— property of the state, its political subdivisions, and public libraries;

— property used for religious worship, school property, property used for charitable
purposes as defined by statute, and nonprofit cemeteries;

— self-propelled construction equipment and motor vehicles (this property is subject
to the specific ownership tax in lieu of the property tax),

— inventories of merchandise held for consumption or sale by a business;

— livestock and agricultural and livestock products;

— agricultural equipment used on a farm or ranch in agricultural production; and

— non-producing unpatented mining claims.

Colorado statutes further clarify and define the constitutional exemptions. Some of the
exemptions set forth in statute are:

— nonprofit domestic water companies,
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- intangible property, such as stocks, bonds, and computer software (theintangible
property of public utilities, such as franchises, contract rights, and rights-of-way
are taxable);

- works of art, such as paintings, mosaics, and unique architectural embellishments
loaned to or in the custody of the state or a political subdivision or to a library,
art gallery, or museum owned or operated by a charitable organization;

~ property owned by a non-profit corporation that provides medical and dental
services to needy persons when charges for services are based on the ability to

pay,

— transitional housing for homeless or abused persons or persons whose incomes
are below the poverty line;

- property used by the state and its political subdivisions under installment sales or
lease purchase agreement under which the public entity will own the property
without further consideration at the end of the agreement; and

— personal property if it is listed on a single tax schedule and the actual value of the
personal property is $2,500 or less (effective January 1, 1997).

The statutes also specify the extent to which religious organizations are exempt from property
taxation when the organization receives limited rental income from the property or the property is
used for ancillary activities such as day care for children.

Taxation of Possessory Interests in Exempt Properties. Possessory interests in exempt
real or personal property are not subject to the property tax unless there are specific statutory
provisions enacted that direct such taxation. Prior to January 1, 1996, a lessee or user of real
property that was exempt from property taxation was generally subject to paying property tax.
Exceptions to this general rule were established for certain types of possessory interests in exempt
real property. The Colorado Supreme Court ruled in 1995 that two of these statutory exemptions
were unconstitutional because they were not authorized by Article X of the constitution. State law
provides for specific standards for the appropriate consideration of the cost, market, and income
approaches to appraisal if the Colorado Constitution is found to require that possessory interests in
government-owned land, improvements, or personal property be taxed.

Tax Deferrals, Credits, Abatements, and Rebates:

Tax Deferral. Persons 65 years or older may defer payment of taxes for an
owner-occupied non-income-producing home, town home, mobile home,
condominium, or similar structure. The deferral is for one calendar year, but may be
continued on an annual basis. The deferred taxes and accrued interest of eight
percent per year are required to be paid if:

— the taxpayer claiming the deferral dies;

~ the property is sold or under contract for sale;
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— the taxpayer moves for reasons other than ill health;
- the taxpayer begins to rent the property or otherwise receives income from it; or

~ the cumulative amount of the deferral plus interest exceeds the market value of
the property less the value of any liens.

Property Tax/Rent and Heat/Fuel Grants (Rebates) for Elderly and Disabled
Persons. Colorado residents who meet the age definitions of elderly or who are
disabled may qualify for a property tax/rent grant of up to $500 and a heat/fuel grant
of up to $160. Tax/rent grants claimed after January 1, 1999, increase to $600;
heat/fuel grants claimed after January 1, 1999, increase to $192. - These grants are
in the form of rebates filed with the Colorado Department of Revenue (Title 39,
Article 31, CR.S)).

To qualify as an elderly person, either the husband or wife must be 65 years of age
or older or a surviving spouse must be 58 years of age or older. A disabled person
does not need to meet the age requirements but must have been disabled for the
entire year and received full disability payments from a bona fide public or private
plan such as Social Security. A person claiming a grant must have paid property
taxes on a personal residence or have paid rent on living quarters or for a mobile
home space. An applicant for a grant may not be claimed as a dependent by any
other person for Colorado income tax purposes. Participation in the program is
limited by income.

TABLE 4.4
Income Limitations for Property Tax and Heat Grants

Single person less than $11,000

Married couple less than $14,700

A property tax grant may not exceed either the total amount of property taxes paid
or 20 percent of the rent actually paid on the residence. Residents of nursing homes
are not eligible for a grant for nursing home payments. Prior to January 1, 1999, the
maximum property tax grant and heat/fuel grant are $500 and $160, respectively.
After January 1, 1999, the heat/fuel grant increases to $192. Neither grant may
exceed the actual amounts paid. If the heating bill is included as part of the rental
payments, the grant is based on ten percent of the total rent. Each grant is reduced
by a percentage of income above $5,000 for a single person and over $8,700 for
a married couple. The percentage reduction is 20 percent for the property tax
expense and 6.4 percent for the heat expense.
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TABLE 4.5

Sample Calculations of Property Tax and Heat Grants
(for grants claimed after January 1, 1999)

quals a

for hegt./fuel,)'

$1.000 of income over $5.000 for the heat expense).

|[(8? E0DS O SEAR0 SRS O S0 TR S B2 B e

a Income of $8,700 equaﬁls"a grant of $792. |

$1,500 of income over $8,700 for the property tax, and $48, or 3.2% of the
$1.500 of income over $8.700 for the heat expense).

(b) | Income of $10,200 equals a grant of $594. ($792 less $150, or 10% of the J

The Department of Revenue administers the property tax and heat grant program.
The amount refunded in FY 1996-97 was $10.4 million. The department processed
33,351 grant requests with an average grant of $312.

Property Tax Work-off Program. This program, enacted in the 1991 session,
permits a taxing entity to establish a work-off program whereby persons 60 years of
age and older perform work for the entity in lieu of payment of property taxes. The
property taxes due must be on the homestead of the taxpayer making application and
the property cannot be income-producing. A local ordinance or resolution to adopt
such a program must include procedures for application for the program, the
maximum number of persons that may participate, and work verification procedures.
The maximum number of hours that may be worked is determined by dividing the
amount of property taxes by the federal minimum wage (Title 39, Article 3.7,
CRS).

Severance Tax Credit. Oil and gas companies are allowed a credit against the
severance tax equal to 87.5 percent of all property taxes paid except those imposed
on equipment and facilities used for production, transportation, and storage. The
credit is not allowed for wells producing ten barrels or less per day.

Personal Property Tax Credits. Article X, Section 20 of the Colorado
Constitution permits the state or any local government to enact cumulative uniform
exemptions and credits to reduce or end business personal property taxes.

Abatements and Refunds. Property owners may petition for an abatement or
refund of taxes for the prior two years if they believe the taxes have been levied
erroneously or illegally, due to overvaluation, clerical error, or incorrect levies. If
the petition is approved, the owner is entitled to a tax abatement, or if the taxes
have already been collected, to a refund. Property owners who appeal their
valuations in the first year of an assessment cycle are precluded from filing
abatement petitions for overvaluation in the following year.

Prepared by Legisiative Councl] Staff Page 81



SECTION 4 - Local Taxes December 1998

History of Property Tax Revenues:

Table 4.6 illustrates property taxes collected in the state since 1930. Article X, Section 20
of the Constitution prohibits the imposition of a new state real property tax.

TABLE 4.6
Property Tax Revenue for Selected Years by Types of Governmental Units
and Total State Assessed Valuation, 1930-1997 *
(3 in millions)

1930 $5.7 $10.1 $9.4 $5.8 $18.3 - $49.2 $1,686.5
1935 33 77 78 48 13.5 - 37.0 1,088.4
1940 48 74 10.3 39 16.5 - M7 1.113.0
1945 43 10.2 101 35 18.1 - 472 1,219.2
1950 6.4 18.7 14.2 45 375 - 813 1,644.6
1955 10.4 26.0 20.0 8.6 66.2 $2.4 1337 28707
1960 79 38.0 265 257 99.2 6.8 2041 3,582.1
1965 - 533 343 278 158.4 10.3 284.2 4,087.5
1970 - 723 43.6 - 304.1 19.0 439.1 5.158.7
197 - 839 453 - 3416 21.2 4920 54643
1972 - 873 489 - KIaNd 241 5320 5,.984.8
1973 - - 104.5 529 - 328.8 29.2 5154 6,688.0
1974 - 1221 60.6 - 395.1 36.6 614.4 7.490.1
1975 - 143.4 66.5 - 4472 46.8 703.8 8,435.9
1976 - 155.4 709 - 5173 415 7911 10,058.8
1977 - 165.0 733 - 583.3 54.9 846.4 10,689.6
1978 - 180.7 779 - 570.1 59.2 888.0 11,586.3
1979 - 2027 84.5 - 620.9 69.3 977.4 12,460.5
1980 - 239.5 92.4 - 705.4 83.2 1,120.6 13,7178
1981 - 264.2 99.1 - 7573 96.8 12174 14,7771
1982 - 2925 105.5 - 835.9 116.5 1,350.4 15,730.5
1983 - 347.2 1165 - 9451 135.3 1,543.2 17,1857
1984 - 371.2 121.8 - 996.3 1488 1,638.1 17,905.1
1985 . - 410.9 129.5 - 1,114.4 162.6 1,817.3 18,730.1
1986 - 4358 138.1 - 1,181.4 187.9 1,943.1 19,215.7
1987 - 4453 145.5 - 1,251.8 210.2 20527 36,261.1
1988 - 479.5 183.7 - 1,308.8 235.2 21782 31,660.6
1989 - 551.9 113.7 - 1,319.1 248.9 22315 29,1325
1990 - 560.2 118.0 - 1,315.7 2579 2,251.8 29,037.6
1991 - 598.4 116.9 - 1,355.1 2711.4 23418 28,285.3
1992 - 616.3 1177 - 1,397.6 275.8 2,407.2 28,490.6
1993 - 621.9 116.5 - 1,396.6 286.9 24219 28,880.9
1994 - 640.6 118.9 - 1,453.5 298.5 25125 29,761.2
1985 - 679.3 129.6 - 1,530.5 3200 2,668.2 32,428.0
1996 - 706.9 135.3 - 1,597.8 344.8 27848 33,606.8
1997 - 763.2 151.9 d - 1,732.9 385.0 3,033.1 38,536.7

1. Division of Property Taxation, Twenty-Seventh Annual Report, 1997.

2. Includes General, Capital Reserve, Bond Redemption, and Junior College funds.

3. Special district totals are included in county totals until 1955.

4. City and County of Denver revenues are shown under County totals beginning in 1989.
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' Real Estate Transfer Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution.

Description of Tax: The real estate transfer tax is levied at the time real property is
conveyed to a purchaser. The tax is analogous to a sales tax on the purchase of real property.
Twelve Colorado municipalities impose a real estate transfer tax. Several have earmarked the receipts
for specific purposes. Aspen and Crested Butte impose two separate taxes with the revenues
dedicated for different purposes. '

Rates:

TABLE 4.7
Municipalities and Real Estate Transfer Taxes

Aspen 1.5% Minturn 1.0%
Avon 2.0% Ophir 4.0%
Breckenridge 1.0% Snowmass Village 1.0%
Crested Butte 3.0% Telluride 3.0%
Frisco 1.0% Vail 1.0%
Gypsum 1.0% Winter Park 1.0%

SOURCE: Colorado Municipal League, Municipal Taxes, 1995,

Effective December 31, 1992, new or increased transfer tax rates on real property are
prohibited under the Colorado Constitution (Article X, Section 20 (8) (a)).
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Sales and Use Taxes

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution; Title 29,
Article 2, CR.S. :

- Description of Tax: Many counties and municipalities in Colorado levy a sales tax on
the retail sales of tangible personal property and on some services. Colorado law vests with statutory
cities and counties the power to impose a sales tax by ordinance. The ordinance must state that
the personal property and services taxable are to be the same as those taxed by the state with three
exceptions — machinery or machine tools, residential power, and sales of food for off-premise
consumption. The state Department of Revenue is responsible for the collection, administration, and
enforcement of these countywide or municipal sales taxes. |

Statutory municipalities and counties are also authorized to levy a use tax. This tax, however,
may be imposed only on the storage, use, or consumption of construction and building materials and
motor and other vehicles on which registration is required. The collection, administration, and
enforcement of a city or county use tax is the responsibility of the local entity. Not all localities
impose a use tax.

The imposition of a sales or use tax by a home rule city and the administration and collection
thereof has generally been considered a matter of local concern. Home rule cities are required to
conform sales tax ordinances or procedures to state law in the following areas:

— statute of limitations relating to the enforcement of sales and use tax collections;
— statute of limitations applicable to refunds of sales and use taxes;

— the amount of penalties and interest payable on delinquent remittances of such
taxes;

— the posting of bonds;
— the use of a standard reporting form,
— the dispute resolution process for deficient taxes; and

— use of the same definition of food that the state uses if food is exempted from the
local sales tax.

The Department of Revenue, at the request of a home rule city, may administer, collect, and
distribute the sales tax of the home rule city. For this to occur, the home rule city’s sales tax
ordinance must tax and exempt the same items as the state, except for the options noted above of
machinery and machine tools, residential power, and food for off-premise consumption.

State statutes (29-2-108, C.R.S.) limit the total state, county, and municipal sales tax to seven
percent except that the rate may be eight percent if necessary to allow a county to impose a one
percent sales tax. Thus, a four percent municipal levy, in conjunction with the three percent state
levy, could not prohibit a county from levying a one percent tax. The statutory limit does not apply
to home rule municipalities. The sales tax of the Regional Transportation District (RTD), Scientific
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and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District
(BSD), local tourism taxes, and county local improvement districts are not included in the statutory
limit on sales taxes.

Counties and Municipalities Levying Tax: Presented on the following pages are the
sales and use tax rates in the cities and counties of the state. The RTD, SCFD, and BSD taxes are
included where applicable.

TABLE 4.8
Sales Taxes in Colorado - Rates for Counties,
Municipalities, Special Taxing Districts, and State
(rates in effect July 1, 1998)

ADAMS 2 1.30% 4,30% CHAFFEE 2.00% 5.00%
Arvada (part) 3.21% 1.30% 7.51% Buena Vista 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Aurora (part) 3.75% 1.30% 8.05% Poncha Springs 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Bennett 2.00% 1.30% 6.30% Salida 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Brighton (part) 3.75% 1.30% 8.05% CHEYENNE 0.00% 3.00%
Broomfieid (part) 3.75% 130% | 8.05% Cheyenne Wells 2.00% 0.00% | 500%
Commerce City 3.50% 1.30% 7.80% Kit Carson 2'00% 0'00% 5'00%
Federal Heights 3.00% 1.30% 7.30% ’ ’ )
Northglenn 3.50% 1.30% 7.80% CLEAR CREEK 1.00% 4.00%
Thomton 3.50% 1.30% 7.80% Empire 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Westminster (part) 3.25% 1.30% 7.56% Georgetm 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%

Auawos soow | s || o | 3w oo | 7ok
Alamosa 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% ’ ’ ’

ARAPAHOE 2/ 0.80% | 3.80% CONEJOS 0.00% | 3.00%

Antonito 4.00% 0.00% 7.00%
Aurora (part) 3.75% 0.80% 7.55% La Jara 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Cherry Hills Village 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% ' ’ )

A Manassa 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
Columbine Valley 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% Romeo 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
Englewood 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% ) ’ ’
Foxfield 2.00% 0.80% 5.80% COSTILLA 1.00% 4,00%
Glendale 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% Blanca 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Greenwood Village 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% San Luis 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Littleton 3.00% 0.80% 6.80%

. CROWLEY 2.00% 5.00%
Sheridan 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% Ordway 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

ARCHULETA 4.00% 7.00% CUSTER 2.00% 5.00%

BACA 0.00% 3.00% Sitver Cliff 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Springfield 2.00% 0.00% 5.00% Westclife 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

BENT 1.00% 4.00% DELTA 2.00% 5.00%
Las Animas 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Cedaredge 1.50% 2.00% 6.50%

BOULDER 2/ 1.15% 415% Crawford 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Delta 3.00% 2.00% 8.00%
Boulder 3.11% 1.15% 7.26% .
Hotchkiss 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Broomfield (part) 3.75% 1.15% 7.90% Paonia 2.00% 200% 7.00%
Erie (part) 3.50% 1.15% 7.65% ) ) ’
Lafayette 3.25% 1.15% 7.40% DENVER, City&Co 2/ 3.50% 0.80% 7.30%
Louisville 3.375% 1.15% 7.525%
Dove Creek 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Nederland 3.00% 1.15% 7.15% ) ) ’
Superior 3.00% 1.15% 7.15% DOUGLAS 2/ 1.80% 4.80%
Ward 2.00% 1.15% 6.15% Castle Rock 3.60% 1.00% 7.60%
. . N Larkspur 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
BROOMFIELD Parker 3.00% 180% | 7.80%
- — e —
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EAGLE

JEFFERSON 2/ (continued)

1.50% 3/| 4.50% 3/

Avon 4.00% 1.50% 8.50% Mountain View 3.00% 1.30% 7.30%

Basalt (part) 2.00% 1.50% 6.50% Westminster (part) 3.25% 1.30% 7.55%

Eagle 4.00% 1.50% 8.50% Wheat Ridge 2.00% 1.30% 6.30%

Gypsum 3.00% 1.50% 7.50%

Minturn 4.00% 150% | 8.50% K'gg’: 2.00% g%: g%z

Red Cliff 3.00% 1.50% 7.50% ) ' )

Vail 4.00% 1.50% 8.50% KIT CARSON 0.00% 3.00%
ooox | oms | | B zomel ooe | sww

Elizabeth 2.50% 0.00% 5.50% ’ )

Kiowa 1.50% 0.00% 4.50% LAKE 4.00% 7.00%

Simla 2.00% 0.00% 5.00% LA PLATA 2.00% 5.00%
EL PASO 1.00% 4.00% Bayfield 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Calhan 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Durango 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Colorado Springs 2.10% 1.00% 6.10% Ignacio 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Fountain 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%

Green Mtn Falls (part) | 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% LAB'::,:,‘\SE 2.00% 8 i: ggg:

’;,""'"“’“eL“tk g%z 1 -gg: gggz Fort Coliins 3.00% 0.25% 6.25%

aimer Lake : : : Loveland 3.00% 0.25% 6.25%
FREMONT 1.50% 4.50% Wellington 2.00% 0.25% 525%

Canon City 2.00% 1.50% 6.50%

Florence 2.00% 1.50% 6.50% U_\rf"::lalgd AS 4.00% 8%2: g%:
GARFIELD 1.00% 4,00%

Carbondale 3.50% 0.25% 6.75% LINCOLN 2.00% 5.00%

. Hugo 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Glenwood Springs 3.25% 0.25% 6.50% Limon 2.00% 2 00% 7.00%

New Castle 3.00% 0.25% 6.25% ’

Parachute 3.75% 0.25% 7.00% LOGAN 0.50% 3.50%

Rifle 2.50% 0.25% 5.75% Sterling 3.00% 0.50% 6.50%

Silt 3.00% 0.25% 6.25% MESA 2.00% 5.00%
GILPIN 0.00% 3.00% Collbran 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Black Hawk 4.00% 0.00% 7.00% De Beque 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Central City 4.00% 0.00% 7.00% Fruita . 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
o oox | scow || gnegesen | 2| 2w | oo

Fraser 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% ) ’

Granby 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% MINERAL 2.00% 5.00%

Grand Lake 4,00% 1.00% 8.00% Creede 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%

Hot Sulphur Springs 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% MOFFAT 2.00% 5.00%

Kremmling 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% Craig 2.00% 2.00% 7-00%

Winter Park 5.00% 1.00% 9.00% MONTEZUMA ’ 0'00% 3'00%
GUNNISON 100% | 400% Cortez 350% | 000% | 650%

Crested Butte 400% )  1.00% | 8.00% Dolores 350% | 000% | 6.50%

Gunnison 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Mancos 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%

Marbie 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% )

Mt. Crested Butte 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% MONTROSE 1.00% 4.00%

Pitkin 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Montrose 3.50% 1.00% 7.50%

Naturita 3.00% 1.00 7.
HINSDALE 4.00% 7.00% Nucla 3.00% 1 00;: 7. 83:
HUERFANO 1.00% 4.00% Olathe 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
La Veta 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
MORGAN .

Walsenburg 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Br':gh 3.00% 8%& g %z
JACKSON 3.00% 6.00% Fort Morgar_l 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
JEFFERSON 2/ 130% | 430% \';V°,'; Lane Village o S | oo

Arvada (part) 3.21% 1.30% 7.51% 9 '

Broomfield (part) 3.75% 1.30% 8.05% OTERO 1.00% 4.00%

Edgewater 3.50% 1.30% 7.80% Fowler 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%

Golden 3.00% 1.30% 7.30% La Junta 3.25% 1.00% 7.25%

Lakewood 2.00% 1.30% 6.30% Manzanola 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%

Morrison 3.00% 1.30% 7.30% Rocky Ford 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
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OURAY sSUMMIT 250% 3/| 5.50% 3/
Ouray 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Breckenridge 2.50% 2.50% 8.00%
Ridgway 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Dition 2.00% 2.50% 7.50%

Frisco 2.00% 2.50% 7.50%

PARK 0.00% 3.00% f
Alma 3.00% 0.00% 6.00% Silverthorne 2.00% 2.50% 7.50%
Fairplay 3.00% 0.00% 8.00% TELLER 1.00% 4.00%

Cripple Creek 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%

PHILLIPS 0.00% 3.00% Green Min Falls (part) | 2.00% 100% | 600%
Haxtun 1.00% 0.00% 4.00% Woodland Park 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Holyoke 1.50% 0.00% 4.50% and Far : 8 :

Victor 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
PITKIN 350%3/| 6.50% 3/ WASHINGTON 0.00% | 3.00%
Aspen 1.70% 3.50% 8.20%
Akron 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
Basalt (part) 2.00% 2.50% 7.50% Otis 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Snowmass Village 1.00% 3.50% 7.50% ’ ’ ’

PROWERS 1.00% 4.00% WELD 000% | 3.00%
Ault 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%

Granada 2.00% 1.00% 8.00%
Brighton (part) 3.75% 0.00% 6.75%

Holly 1.00% 1.00% 5.00%
Lamar 3.00% 1.00% 7 00% Broomfield (part) 3.75% 0.00% 6.75%
ama - : y Dacono 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%

PUEBLO 1.00% 4.00% Eaton 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Pueblo 3.50% 1.00% 7.50% Erie (part) 3.50% 0.00% 6.50%

Evans 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%

RIO BLANCO 200% 5.00% Firestone 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%

RIO GRANDE 2.00% 5.00% Frederick 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Center (part) 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% Fort Lupton 4.00% 0.00% 7.00%
Del Norte 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% Garden City 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Monte Vista 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% Gilcrest 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
South Fork 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% Greeley 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%

Johnstown 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Hayden 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
Oak Creek 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% ﬁ:enesburg g-gg: g-gg: g-%:
t i 4. 1.00 8.50% rsey - - .
Steamboat Springs S0% % La Salle 3.50% 0.00% 6.50%

SAGUACHE : 0.00% 3.00% Lochbuie 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Center (part) 2.00% 0.00% 5.00% Mead 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Crestone 1.00% 0.00% 4.00% " Milliken 2.50% 0.00% 5.50%
Saguache 3.00% 0.00% 6.00% Nunn 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%

SAN JUAN 4.00% 7.00% Pierce 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%

Platteville 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%

SAN MIGUEL 1.00% 4.00% Severance 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Norwood 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Windsor 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Sawpit 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%

Telluride 4.50% 1.00% 8.50% YUMA 0.00% 3.00%
Wray 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%

SEDGWICK 2.00% 5.00% Yuma 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Julesburg 1.00% 1.00% 5.00%

Ovid 1.00% 1.00% 5.00%
Sedgwick 1.00% 1.00% 5.00%

SOURCE: Department of Revenue.
* Referendum C, approved by voters in November 1998, created the City and County of Broomfieid.

1. Total includes the combined sales tax rate for the state, municipalities, the counties, the Regional Transportation District (RTD), Scientific
and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD), and Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District (BSD) where applicable.

2. Total for these counties, or parts of counties, includes RTD sales tax of .6 of 1 percent (0.6%) (Section 32-9-119 (2), C.R.S.) and a sales
tax of .1 of 1 percent (0.1%) for the Denver Metropolitan Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (Section 32-13-107, C.R.S.), and a sales
tax of .1 of 1 percent (0.1%) for the Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District (Section 32-14-114, C.R.S.).

3. County total includes .5 of 1 percent (0.5%) for county mass transit system. (Section 29-2-103.5, C.R.S.).
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District Sales Taxes: The General Assembly has authorized the collection of sales taxes
for specific purposes in certain areas of the state. The Regional Transportation District levies a sales
tax of six-tenths of one percent (0.6%) (Section 32-9-119 (2), C.R.S.) in the following counties:
Boulder and Jefferson counties, the metropolitan areas of Adams and Arapahoe counties, the
northeast portion of Douglas Coufity, and the City and County of Denver. Food for home
consumption and gas and electricity for home use are exempt from the tax.

House Bill 1138, 1987 session, established a "Denver Metropolitan Scientific and Cultural
Facilities District" which comprises the same boundaries as the RTD. The bill authorizes the
district to impose a sales tax of one-tenth of one percent (0.1%). The voters approved the imposition
of this tax during the 1988 General Election for collection beginning January 1, 1989. The tax was
renewed by voters at the 1994 General Election.

The Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District was created in 1989
(House Bill 1341) and is authorized to levy a one-tenth of one percent (0.1%) sales tax upon the
awarding of a major league franchise in the area. Moneys collected shall be used for the planning,
design, and construction of the major league baseball stadium (Coors Field). It is estimated that the
stadium could be paid for by calendar year 2001. In November of 1998, the voters approved an
extension of the one-tenth of one percent (0.1%) tax to fund the construction of a new football
stadium to replace Mile High Stadium. In FY 1998, the Department of Revenue collected $28.4
million from the stadium tax. Completion of the football stadium is estimated for the opening of the
2001 season and a revenue forecast indicates that the tax will need to be extended through 2012.

Counties outside of the jurisdiction of RTD are authorized, on approval of the voters, to
impose a sales or use tax of up to one-half of one percent (0.5%) for the purpose of building mass
transportation systems. This tax is exempt from the seven percent limitation on total sales or use
taxes imposed by a county (House Bill 90-108; Section 29-2-103.5, CR.S.). Summit, Eagle, and
Pitkin counties currently impose this tax with a 0.5 percent tax rate.

The southeastern portion of Jefferson County and Old Town Niwot in Boulder County have
formed local improvement districts in which a sales tax of one-half of one percent (0.5%) is imposed.
Section 30-20-604.5, C.R.S., permits a tax of up to this amount in counties having a population of
over 100,000 on approval of the voters in the area.
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Specific Ownership Tax
Enacted: 1937. p
Title 42,CK'r‘ts1g ggflgkaéld Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 6, Colorado Constitution;

Tax Base: Factory list price provides the basis for this tax imposed on every motor
vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or vehicle which is operated or drawn upon any highway in the state.

For taxation purposes, motor vehicles are divided into the following classes:

TABLE 4.9
Motor Vehicle Class Categories

| A ‘ Every motor vehicle, truck, truck tractor, semitrailer, and
trailer used over any public highway as an interstate carrier
whether or not under contract (state collected tax)
B Every truck, truck tractor, trailer, and semitrailer not included
in class A (county collected) |
C Every motor vehicle not included in class A or B

(county collected)

D Every utility trailer, camper trailer, and trailer coach
(county collected)

equipment (county collected).

I F All mobile machinery and self-propelled construction

NOTE: There is no longer a class E category.

Tax Rate: The taxable value for class A and B vehicles is 75 percent of the
manufacturer’s suggested retail price. The taxable value for class C and D vehicles is 85 percent
of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price. Class F vehicles’ taxable value is either:

— the factory list price and, if equipment has been mounted on the vehicle, the factory
list price and 75 percent of the original price of mounted equipment;

— when the factory list price is not available, 75 percent of original retail delivery
price plus 75 percent of original retail delivery price of mounted equipment; or

— when (1) and (2) are not ascertainable, then the value is determined by the property
tax administrator.
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The tax is computed using the following schedule:

TABLE 4.10
Schedule of Taxable Value for Motor Vehicles

1st ABCDF | 210%
2nd AB,C.D,F | 1.50%
3rd ABCD | 1.20%
F | 1.25%
4th AB,.CD | 0.90%
F | 1.00%
5th F | 0.75%
5th - 8th A,B | 0.45% or $10.00 whichever is greater
C.D | 0.45%
6th and over F | 0.50% but not less than $5.00
10th and over A | $10.00
B.C | $3.00
D | 0.45% or $3.00 whichever is greater

In lieu of taxes, equipment dealers that rent or lease class F vehicles may purchase a decal for
$5.00 for each item of equipment to be rented or leased. The owner collects from the user and
transmits to the county a specific ownership tax of two percent of the rental or lease payment. Also,
the owner of class B and C vehicles who rents such vehicles may, after receiving authority from the
county, collect an amount equal to two percent of the rental payment. The owner must report the
amount of tax collections with payment of the taxes collected in the previous month by the twentieth

of the following month.
Exemptions:

— Mobile homes;

— Vehicles displaying plates issued by the U.S. armed forces in a foreign country

(45-day exemption),

— U.S. and Colorado government vehicles iricluding vehicles leased by the state;

— Firefighting and police ambulances and patrol wagons;

— Mobile machinery and self-propelled construction equipment not operated on
highways if the equipment is listed with and assessed by the county assessor;

— Farm tractors and implements used in agricultural operations; and

— One class B and one class C vehicle weighing less than 6,500 pounds owned by a
disabled veteran or P.O.W.
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Administration and Collection: Class A taxes are collected by the Department of Revenue
and are due no later than January 1 of each year. Counties collect taxes for class B, C, D, and F
vehicles, and the taxes are due at the time of registration each year.

History of Tax Rates: The 1937 law that created the tax had two classes of motor vehicles.
The tax rates follow:

TABLE 4.11
History of Specific Ownership Tax Rates

1st 3% of 70% of factory list price
2nd 3% of 50% of factory list price
3rd | 3% of 40% of factory list price
4th 3% of 30% of factory list price
Sth 3% of 15% of factory list price
6th and succeeding years | Not more than $3.50 per year for class A, and
a $1.50 flat rate for class B
—

The taxable value was set at 75 percent of the retail delivery price in 1953. The rate of
tax was amended in 1953 and in 1969. In 1981 the taxable value for class C and D vehicles was set at
85 percent.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue from class A vehicles is apportioned to the counties
according to the number of miles of state highways within their jurisdiction. Class B, C, D, and F
moneys are deposited with the county treasurers. Fifty cents of each collection is kept by the county
as reimbursement for the cost of collection and 50 cents is credited to a special fund for a statewide
data processing system (Section 42-1-213.1, CR.S.). The remaining moneys are apportioned
annually among the county and each political and governmental subdivision located within the
boundaries of the county based upon the proportionate ad valorem taxes levied within the county

during the preceding calendar year.

Collections:

TABLE 4.12
Specific Ownership Tax Receipts
(% in millions)

1988 154.1 11.1% 1996 266.3 11.7%
1989 148.6 -3.6% 1907 200.5 9.1%

SOURCE: Department of Revenue and Division of Property Taxation.
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