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Do you prefer green mountains and white text or 

white mountains and green text?  Whether or not 

we all agree with the color choices for Colorado’s 

license plates, every vehicle on the roads is 

required to have one.  This issue brief discusses 

license plate laws and regulations in Colorado.  

 

Background 

In Colorado, every registered vehicle owner is 

issued two numbered license plates.1  Only 

motorcycles, street rod vehicles, trailers or 

semitrailers, vehicles drawn by a motor vehicle, or 

items of special mobile machinery are issued a 

single numbered license plate.  With an exception 

for personalized plates, license plates are limited to 

a total of six numbers and letters.  Owners must 

affix license plates to both the front and rear of the 

vehicle.  Failure to display two license plates 

results in a class B traffic infraction ($15 - $100 fine).  

The rear license plate is also required to have two 

valid tags indicating the year and month when the 

vehicle’s registration expires.  Failure to display 

valid tags also results in a class B traffic infraction.  

 

The Colorado Department of Revenue’s (DOR) 

Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) administers 

license plates in conjunction with the counties.  In 

40 states, including Colorado, license plates are 

registered to the vehicle owner, not the vehicle 

itself.  In practice, this means that when a vehicle is 

sold, the previous owner either transfers the 

license plate to a newly purchased vehicle or 

surrenders the license plates to the DMV.  

                                                        
1Section 42-3-201, C.R.S. 
2Section 42-3-301, C.R.S. 
3Section 42-3-211 (7), C.R.S. 

License Plate Funds 

Current law states that each owner issued a license 

plate shall pay a fee to cover the direct cost of the 

plates.2  These fees are limited to the amount 

necessary to recover the costs of the production 

and distribution of license plates.   The state 

treasurer deposits fee revenue in the License Plate 

Cash Fund.  Money in the fund is appropriated for 

the direct costs incurred by DOR to purchase 

license plates, decals, and validating tags from the 

Department of Corrections and for issuing license 

plates.   In addition, $2 from every personalized 

license plate fee is remitted to the issuing county’s 

general fund.3  

 

One-time group special license plate fees. 

Colorado law requires an additional one-time, 

$25 fee to be levied on most group special license 

plates.  The proceeds of this fee are allocated to the 

state Highway Users Tax Fund.   

 

Colorado License Plates 

While Colorado’s standard white mountains and 

green text license plate accounts for about 

80 percent4 of all license plates in Colorado, the 

DMV also offers over 125 additional license plate 

types, including: military, alumni, and group 

special license plates. 

 

Group special license plates. Current law states 

that group special license plates may only be 

created for nonprofit entities.  Before seeking 

legislation authorizing a new group special license 

4Report of Registered Vehicles by Plate Type, Colorado 

Department of Revenue, 
http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/vehicles, accessed 
on February 21, 2018. 
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plate, supporters must receive an approval 

notification from DOR and collect 3,000 signatures 

from Colorado registered vehicle owners.  The 

approval notification application process is 

governed by DOR regulations.5  The application 

includes: 3,000 signatures; proof of nonprofit 

status, a sample certificate issued to the nonprofit 

as evidence that the group meets the qualifications 

for group special license plates; a logo permission 

letter; a payment to Colorado Correctional 

Industries (CCi) prior to manufacturing; and 

organizational documents.  Once the application is 

received and approved, the approval is valid for 

two years from the date of submission and 

supporters may seek legislation creating a group 

special license plate. 

 

Colorado has group special license plates for a 

wide variety of causes, such as Breast Cancer 

Awareness, Girl Scouts, and State Parks.  In 

addition to the one-time issuance fee, 23 of the 46 

group special license plates in circulation require a 

donation to the sponsoring nonprofit.   

 

Alumni license plates.  Colorado offers 13 alumni 

license plates for Colorado institutions of higher 

education.  Most of the plates require a donation to 

the institution’s scholarship program and/or for 

the vehicle owner to be a member of the 

institution’s alumni association to qualify for a 

plate.  All alumni plates require payment of a 

$50 one-time fee upon issuance of the plates.  

 

Military license plates.  Colorado offers 38 

military license plates.  Several of the military 

license plates, such as prisoner of war and disabled 

veteran license plates, are exempt from the 

one-time $25 plate issuance fee.  

 

Persons with disabilities.   The DMV offers several 

license plates for persons with disabilities, 

allowing individuals to park their vehicle or a 

vehicle in which they are a passenger in designated 

                                                        
51 CCR 204-10 (16) 
6http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/DR2219

.pdf, accessed on February 21, 2018. 
7Section 42-3-211, C.R.S. 

disability parking spaces.  The DMV offers three 

license plates for persons with disabilities: a 

three-year identifying plate; a permanent 

identifying plate; and a military license plate.  

Persons wanting to obtain this plate must fill out 

DMV Form DR2219.6  

 

Personalized license plates.  Personalized license 

plates are plates where the owner of the vehicle 

requested the plate number.7  Personalized license 

plates must be between two and seven numbers 

and/or letters.   Colorado law allows the DMV to 

refuse to issue any combination of letters or 

numbers that are misleading, carry connotations 

offensive to good taste and decency, or duplicate 

any other license plate.  A one-time $35 fee is due 

upon issuance of the license plates, with a 

subsequent annual registration fee of $25 for the 

plates.  In addition, there is a $12 fee to transfer 

personalized plates from one vehicle to another. 

 

Other license plates.  Examples of other license 

plates issued by the DMV include: collector; 

commercial fleet; dealer; farm; government; 

horseless carriage; livery; political; street rod; 

taxicab; and tow truck.  Qualification criteria, 

registration, and fees differ for each of these plates.  

 

Temporary tags.  Senate Bill 15-090 changed the 

look and placement of temporary license plates so 

that they meet the same criteria as permanent 

plates regarding attachment, visibility, and 

readability.8  Temporary tags are only valid for 

60 days.  

 

Online resources.  For more information about 

motor vehicles in Colorado, see Legislative 

Council Staff’s Motor Vehicle Law Resource Book 

at http://leg.colorado.gov/content/colorado-motor-

vehicle-law-resource-book.  

 

8http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/senate-bill-15-090-

temporary-registration-document-standards accessed on 
February 21, 2018. 
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