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EMERGENCY MENTAL HEALTH HOLDS  
By Caitlin Del Collo

 
Access to mental health treatment is a 

growing concern in Colorado.  According to the 
Colorado Department of Public Health and 
Environment (CDPHE), in 2015 a total of 1,093 
Colorado residents committed suicide, at a rate 
of 20.9 per 100,000 residents.  This represents 
the highest number of suicide deaths ever 
recorded in the state. 

 
This issue brief addresses the state’s 

emergency mental health hold procedure, 
which allows for a person to be involuntarily 
held for a 72-hour period of treatment and 
evaluation if he or she appears to have a 
mental illness and, due to the mental illness, 
appears to be an imminent danger to self or 
others, or appears to be gravely disabled.1  The 
brief also discusses short-term and long-term 
treatment following a mental health hold.     

 
 

Definitions  
 
A person is considered to be a danger to 

self if he or she poses a substantial risk of 
self harm, as evidenced by recent threats of or 
attempts at suicide or serious bodily harm.2  A 
person is considered  a danger to others if he or 
she poses a substantial risk of physical harm to 
another person, as evidenced by recent 
homicidal or violent behavior, or by evidence 
that others are reasonably fearful of such harm, 
as indicated by a recent overt act, attempt, or 
threat to commit harm.3

                                                 
1Section 27-65-105, C.R.S. 
2Section 27-65-102 (4.5)(a), C.R.S.  
3Section 27-65-102 (4.5)(b), C.R.S. 

 
The term “gravely disabled” means that a 

person has a mental illness and, due to that 
illness, is unable to make informed decisions 
about, or provide for essential needs without 
significant supervision and assistance.4  State 
law notes that as a result of having a mental 
illness that prevents a person from making 
informed decisions about self-care, such a 
person is at a risk of bodily harm, dangerous 
worsening of any co-occurring serious physical 
illness, serious psychiatric deterioriation, or 
mismanagement of essential needs that could 
result in substantial bodily harm. The term 
“gravely disabled” does not apply to a person 
whose decision-making abilities are limited 
solely by a developmental disability.   

 
 

Initiating a Mental Health Hold  
 
A 72-hour mental health hold can be 

initiated by an intervening professional, 
including a certified peace officer, medical 
professional, registered professional nurse with 
training in psychiatric or mental health nursing, 
licensed marriage and family therapist or 
counselor with training in mental health, or 
licensed clinical social worker.  Additionally, a 
hold can be initiated upon an affidavit sworn to 
or affirmed before a judge that establish that a 
person appears to have a mental illness and, as 
a result of such illness, appears to be an 
imminent danger to himself or herself or others, 
or to ve gravely disabled  A concerned relative 
or friend may utilize the affidavit process

                                                 
4Section 27-65-102 (9), C.R.S. 
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to request a mental health hold by contacting 
the county attorney.    

 
 

Treatment and Evaluation 
 

A person who is taken into custody for a 
72-hour hold can be placed in a facility 
approved by the executive director of the 
Colorado Department of Human Services.  
Beginning May 1, 2018, approved facilities will 
include outpatient mental health facilities and, if 
no other space is available, emergency medical 
services facilities.5  Further, on that date, 
intervening professionals will no longer be able 
to place a person subject to a hold in a jail, 
lockup, or similar place.   

 

A facility that accepts a person for a hold 
must obtain a written application stating the 
circumstances in which the person’s condition 
was brought to the attention of the intervening 
professional, as well as sufficient facts to 
establish that the person is eligible for a mental 
health hold.  A copy of the application must be 
given to the person being evaluated.    

 

A person subject to a hold can be held for a 
period of up to 72 hours, excluding Saturdays, 
Sundays, and holidays if treatment and 
evaluation services are not available on those 
days.  An evaluation must be given as soon as 
possible after a person is admitted into a 
facility, and appropriate treatment must be 
provided for the full period that the person is 
held.  If at any time during the holding period 
the evaluating professional believes that the 
person no longer requires evaluation or 
treatment, the person must be released. 

 

Once the 72-hour period has elapsed, the 
person must be released, referred for further 
care and treatment on a voluntary basis, or 
certified for short-term treatment.      
  

 Certification for short-term treatment.  If, 
at the end of a 72-hour hold, an evaluating 
professional determines that an individual has a 
mental illness and, due to that illness, remains 
a danger to self or others, or is gravely 
disabled, the professional can certify the person  
for short-term treatment not to exceed 
three months.  The person must have been 

                                                 
5Senate Bill 17-207. 

 

advised of the availability of voluntary treatment 
and declined it, or the professional must have 
grounds to believe that the person will not 
remain in voluntary treatment.      
 

 A person who is certified for short-term 
treatment must be given a copy of the 
certification application, as well as an 
opportunity to identify someone he or she 
wishes to be informed about the certification.  
Once the certification is filed with the court, the 
court must determine whether the person 
subject to certification can afford an attorney.  If 
he or she cannot afford an attorney, the court 
must appoint one.  The individual or his or her 
attorney may file a written request at any time 
to have the certification reviewed by the court or 
to request that treatment be provided on an 
outpatient basis.   
 

 Extension of short-term treatment.  An 
evaluating professional may extend an initial 
certification for short-term treatment for up to 
three more months.6  The individual must be 
given the opportunity to have a hearing on the 
extension.  Additionally, the attorney who 
initially represented the person must continue to 
do so, unless the court appoints another 
attorney.       
 

 Long-term treatment.  An evaluating 
professional may petition the court for long-term 
care and treatment of a person if that person 
has been in short-term treatment for 
five consecutive months, and, in the opinion of 
the professional, remains a danger to self or 
others or is gravely disabled due to mental 
illness.7  As with certification for short-term 
treatment, the person must have been given the 
option to accept treatment voluntarily and 
declined, or there must be grounds to believe 
the person would not continue voluntary 
treatment.   
 
 

Additional Mental Health Resources 
 

 Colorado Crisis Services operates a 
24-hour hotline for mental health and substance 
abuse issues.  The number is 1-844-493-8255. 

                                                 
6Section 27-65-108, C.R.S.  
7Section 27-65-109, C.R.S.   

 


