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In Colorado, sales taxes are imposed by the
state government, counties, municipalities, and
special districts. Overlapping boundaries
create 754 unique tax jurisdictions, many with
different tax bases, rates, and administrators.
This issue brief summarizes information on how
local government sales and use taxes are
assessed and administered.

Statutory and Home Rule Jurisdictions

By default, counties and municipalities
are statutory jurisdictions, meaning that
they may exercise only the powers
specifically granted to them in state law.
However, Article XX, Section 6, of the
Colorado Constitution empowers residents
of incorporated municipalities to broaden the
authority of their city or town by adopting a
home rule charter. Home rule jurisdictions
operate with greater autonomy than
statutory jurisdictions.

Colorado has 269 municipalities,
including 171 statutory municipalities,
97 home rule municipalities, and
Georgetown, a municipality incorporated
under the territorial charter that existed prior
to statehood. The consolidated city-county
governments of Broomfield and Denver
operate as home rule jurisdictions, while the
state’s 62 other counties operate as
statutory jurisdictions.

Tax Base

The state sales tax is applied to sales of
goods except when certain exemptions apply.
Services are exempt unless specified as
taxable under state law. More information on
the state sales tax base is available in the
Colorado Online Tax Handbook:
http://leg.colorado.gov/agencies/leqislative-
council-staff/colorado-online-tax-handbook

Statutory counties and municipalities are
authorized to levy a sales tax on the same tax
base as the state. Generally, legislation
altering the state sales tax base automatically
alters these jurisdictions’ tax base in an
identical fashion. However, state law includes a
list of state sales tax exemptions that are not
extended to statutory governments by default.*
Local governments may extend the listed
exemptions in their jurisdiction. For example,
sales of food for home consumption are exempt
from taxation at the state level but may be
taxed at the local level. By contrast, wholesale
sales are exempted from the state sales tax
and from the local taxes of all statutory counties
and municipalities.

Home rule governments are empowered to
determine their own tax base. Because these
governments construct their tax base
independently of the state base, they may tax
goods or services that are untaxed at the state
level, exempt goods and services that are taxed
at the state level, or some combination of the
two. Additionally, home rule governments may
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define certain goods differently from the
definitions used by the state.

Special districts collecting sales tax have
disparate tax bases depending on their
foundational documents and governance. State
law requires two special districts in the Denver
Metro Area, the Regional Transportation
District (RTD) and the Scientific and Cultural
Facilities District (SCFD), to use the same sales
tax base as the state.? Accordingly, legislation
altering the state sales tax base automatically
alters the RTD and SCFD tax bases in an
identical fashion.

Tax Rate

The state sales tax rate is 2.9 percent, the
lowest in the country among states collecting
sales tax.®> A 2017 study by the Tax Foundation
estimated that local sales tax rates in Colorado
averaged an additional 4.6 percent on a
population-weighted  basis, the nation’s
third-highest rate after Alabama and Louisiana.*

Local tax rates vary widely across the state.
The highest sales tax rate is assessed in Winter
Park, where combined state, county, and
municipal sales taxes total 11.2 percent.
Several locations in the state are subject to only
the 2.9 percent state sales tax, including
unincorporated areas of 11 of the 12 counties
that do not collect a sales tax.’

Vendor fee. Some |jurisdictions allow
retailers to retain a portion of tax collections to
offset the cost of collecting the tax on behalf of
the government. The state vendor fee is
3.33 percent, meaning that 96.67 percent of
state sales taxes collected by retailers are
remitted to the state government. Retailers that
remit taxes late are not entitled to retain the
vendor fee.

Local jurisdictions may or may not permit
retailers to retain a vendor fee for the collection

%Section 39-26-706 @)(c){n, C.R.S.

3Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon do not
collect sales tax.
*http://taxfoundation.org/state-and-local-sales-tax-rates-in-2017/
5Baca, Cheyenne, Conejos, Dolores, Gilpin, Kiowa, Kit Carson,
Las Animas, Morgan, Weld, and Yuma. Montezuma County does
not collect a sales tax, but a countywide hospital district tax
applies.

of local taxes. Local vendor fees range from
zero in various jurisdictions to 4.0 percent in the
city of Gunnison.

Tax Administration

The Colorado Department of Revenue
(DOR) is responsible for the collection,
administration, enforcement, and auditing of the
state sales tax, all county sales taxes, sales
taxes assessed by statutory cities, and most
special district taxes.® Additionally, a home rule
government may choose to delegate all
administrative responsibilities for its sales tax to
DOR. A full list of jurisdictions for which taxes
are administered by the state, including
applicable exemptions and vendor fees, can be
found at the department’'s  website:
http://www.colorado.qov/pacific/sites/default/file

s/DR1002.pdf

Home rule governments that choose not to
have their taxes administered by the state are
responsible for the collection, administration,
and enforcement of their own taxes. The
consolidated city-county governments  of
Denver and Broomfield collect and administer
their own sales tax.

Use Tax

Use tax is levied when sales tax is due but
was not collected, including some online
transactions involving out-of-state retailers.
The state levies a 2.9 use tax that complements
the state sales tax. Home rule and statutory
counties and municipalities may establish their
own use tax.

If imposed, a local government use tax is
usually assessed at the same rate as the local
government’s sales tax and applies to the same
tax base. State law also includes specific
requirements governing where an item may be
taxed if it is purchased in one jurisdiction and
stored, used, or consumed in another.

The Department of Revenue’s form
DR1002, linked above, provides use tax
information for state-administered jurisdictions.

®Sections 29-2-106 (1) and 32-1-1106 (2)(a), C.R.S.
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