Motor Carrier Services Division
One Stop Shopping Center

1881 Pierce Street

Lakewood, CO 80214

FOR YOUR INFORMATION Phone: (303) 205-5691, (303) 205-5683

Port of Entry Clearance

GENERAL INFORMATION

This FYI highlights the services the
Colorado Ports of Entry (POE) provides
the trucking industry.

LOCATION

POE has 11 stationary facilities located in
key positions throughout the state. These
facilities are located on most major
highwaysthat a motor carrier operator
would use to either enter or exit Colorado.

There are also ten mobile units assigned to
cover the less traveled highways. This is
to ensurethat all of the vehicles trans-
porting cargo in, out, or through the state
are in compliance with the state’s statutes
that pertainto motor carrier operators.

MAIN OFFICE

The Motor Carrier Services Division
administrative office is located in Lake-
wood at 1881 Pierce Street. The main
office phone number is:

(303) 205-5691
Fax: (303) 205-5764

CLEARANCE

Tractor

If a power unitis ever used as a tractor, it
must be registeredthat way. Yellow on
blue Gross Vehicle Weight (G-V-W)
license plates will be issued. Apportioned
plates are available if the owner chooses
to prorate the vehicle’s registration with
other states.

All tractors are required to clear all
Colorado Ports of Entry regardless of
weight.

Truck—more than 16,000 pounds

If a truck weighs more than 16,000
pounds empty, it must either register
according to its GVW, or apportion the
registration with Colorado. This vehicle is
also required to clear all ports.

Truck/Trailer

If a truck weighs between 10,001 and
16,000 pounds and a trailer is ever pulled
by it, even occasionally, and the truck/
trailer weight exceedsthe 16,000 pound
mark, the vehicle has to be registered
G-V-W, or apportioned, and clear all
ports.

Colorado Department

of Revenue

Motor Carrier Services
1881 Pierce St.
Lakewood, CO 80214
(303) 205-5691

Fuel Tax: (303) 205-5683

PAGE 1 OF 2
(09/11)



Truck—below 16,000 pounds

If a truck weighsless than 16,000 pounds
empty, and is never used in conjunction
with a trailer, then the truck can be
registered accordingto the state’s light
truck category. That vehicle will be issued
white on green license plates, and will not
have to clear the POE as long as the Gross
Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of the
truck or combination GVWR does not
exceed 26,000 pounds.

However, these vehicles can also be
apportioned. If so, apportioned license
plates will be issued, and port clearance is
required.

LADEN WEIGHT REGISTRATION
PERMITS

If a commercial vehicle is not registered
with Colorado, but occasionally does
business here, a Laden Weight Registra-
tion Trip permit can be purchased at the
first port contacted.

These permits are valid for 72 hours. The
operator can make as many trips in, out,

or through the state necessaryin that 72
hour time limit.

Permit fees:

GVW is 10,001 - 30,000 $60.00
GVW is 30,001 - 60,000 $70.00
GVW is 60,001 - legal max. $80.00

FACSIMILE MACHINES

POE has installed Facsimile machines in the
Motor Carrier Services Center and in each of
the stationary port facilities throughout the
state.

The Motor Carrier Services Center facsimile
number is (303) 205-5766.

The numbers for the fax machines in the
ports are as follows:

Ft. Collins (970) 482-2477
Platteville (970) 785-2427
Ft. Morgan (970) 867-8967 (westbound)

and (970) 396-3390 (eastbound)

Limon (719) 775-9758
Lamar (719) 336-1568
Trinidad (719) 846-2408
Ft. Garland  (719) 379-3543
Cortez (970) 565-9420
Loma (970) 858-4922
Dumont (303) 567-9477
Monument (719) 481-2494

The Colorado Port of Entry Motor Carrier
Services Web Site addressis: http://
www.revenue.state.co.us/MCS_dir/
poe.htm
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