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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE LAWS 

By Luisa Altmann 
 

This issue brief provides an overview of 
federal and state family and medical leave laws, 
including an overview of states with paid family 
leave programs. 
 
 
Federal Law 
 

The U.S. Family and Medical Leave Act of 
1993 (FMLA) provides an eligible employee 
with the ability to take a total of 12 work weeks 
of leave during any 12-month period for 
specified serious health and family 
circumstances.1  An employee who takes leave 
under the FMLA is entitled to be restored to the 
same position, or an equivalent position, upon 
his or her return. 

 
The FMLA applies to employers who are 

engaged in commerce, or in any industry or 
activity affecting commerce, with 50 or more 
employees.  An employee must have worked 
for at least 1,250 hours with his or her employer 
during the prior 12-month period and have at 
least 12 months of service in order to be eligible 
for leave under the FMLA. 

 
Circumstances covered under the FMLA 

include time off:  for the birth, adoption, or foster 
placement of a child; in order to care for a 
spouse, child, or parent who has a serious 
health condition; because of the employee’s 
own serious health condition which makes the 
employee unable to perform his or her job 
functions; and because of an urgent need due  

                                                 
129 U.S.C. § 2601, et seq. 

 
to an immediate family member’s active duty 
service.  The FMLA defines a serious health 
condition as an illness, injury, impairment, or 
physical or mental condition that involves 
inpatient care in a hospital, hospice, or 
residential medical care facility, or continuing 
health care treatment. 

 
The FMLA generally requires that an 

employee give at least 30 days notice to his or 
her employer when possible.  Employers may  
provide leave under the FMLA as either unpaid 
or paid time off, and may require that an 
employee use accrued vacation or sick time 
during leave in certain instances. 

 
 
Colorado Law 
 

Colorado Family Care Act.  The Colorado 
Family Care Act adds an employee’s civil union 
or domestic partner as a qualifying immediate 
family member for the purposes of the FMLA, if 
the partner has a serious health condition.2 

 
Domestic violence.  Colorado law permits 

an eligible employee to take up to three days of 
leave in any 12-month period if the employee is 
a victim of domestic abuse, stalking, sexual 
assault, or another crime with a domestic 
violence component.  The leave may be paid or 
unpaid and must be used to seek a civil 
protection order, obtain medical care or mental 
health counseling, make the employee’s home 
secure, or seek legal assistance.3  
                                                 
2Section 8-13.3-201, et seq., C.R.S. 
3Section 24-34-402.7, C.R.S. 

Colorado 
Legislative 

 Council 
 Staff ISSUE BRIEF 



  
 Room 029, State Capitol, Denver, CO 80203-1784 • 303-866-3521 • (FAX) 303-866-3855 
 http://leg.colorado.gov/lcs 

States With Paid Family Leave Laws 
  
 Several other states have enacted their own 
family and medical leave laws, most of which 
either expand the amount of leave available to 
an employee or expand those family members 
for whose care leave may be taken.  Five states 
have established paid family leave programs. 
 
 California.  In 2002, California created the 
California Paid Family Leave Program.  The 
program is designed to provide temporary 
disability insurance coverage, with up to 
six weeks of partial wage replacement benefits 
within any 12-month period to an eligible 
employee who takes time off work to care for a 
child, spouse, parent, grandparent, grandchild, 
sibling, or domestic partner with a serious 
health condition.  The wage replacement 
benefits under the program may also be used 
during leave taken to bond with a child within 
one year of birth, adoption, or foster placement.  
Wage replacement benefits currently range 
from $50 to $1,173 per week and are 
approximately 55 percent of an employee’s 
weekly earnings prior to the leave period.  The 
program is administered by the State Disability 
Insurance Program and is funded through 
employee payroll deductions.4   
 
 New Jersey.  In 2008, New Jersey created 
the Family Leave Insurance Program.  The 
program provides up to six weeks of partial 
wage replacement benefits to an eligible 
employee who takes time off work to care for a 
child, spouse, domestic partner, civil union 
partner, or parent with a serious health 
condition, or to bond with a newly born or 
adopted child.  An employee may receive 
two-thirds of his or her average weekly wage, 
up to the current ceiling of $633 per week.  The 
program is administered under the Temporary 
Disability Insurance Program and funded 
through employee payroll deductions.5 
 
 New York.  In 2016, New York created a 
paid family leave program that takes effect 
January 2018.  The program is designed to 
                                                 
4Cal. Unemp. Ins. Code § 3300, et seq. 
5N.J. Rev. Stat. § 43:21-37, et seq. 
 

provide partial wage replacement benefits for 
an eligible employee who takes time off work to 
care for a child, parent, grandparent, 
grandchild, spouse, or domestic partner with a 
serious health condition; to bond with a newly 
born or adopted child; or due to conditions 
related to an immediate family member’s active 
duty service.  In 2018, eligible employees will 
be able to receive up to 50 percent of their 
average weekly wage for up to eight weeks.  In 
2019, eligible employees will receive up to 
55 percent of their average weekly wage for up 
to ten weeks.  In 2020, eligible employees will 
receive up to 60 percent of their average 
weekly wage for up to ten weeks.  In 2021, and 
thereafter, eligible employees will receive up to 
67 percent of their average weekly wage for up 
to 12 weeks.  The program is funded through 
employee payroll deductions and administered 
under the state’s workers’ compensation 
program.6 
 
 Rhode Island.  In 2013, Rhode Island 
created a temporary caregiver insurance 
program.  The program provides partial wage 
replacement benefits for up to four weeks per 
year to an eligible employee who takes time off 
work to care for a child, spouse, domestic 
partner, parent, parent-in-law, or grandparent 
with a serious health condition, or to bond with 
a newly born or adopted child.  Wage 
replacement benefits are 4.62 percent of an 
employee’s quarterly wages, with a maximum 
of $817 per week.  The program is funded 
through employee payroll deductions and 
administered under the state’s Temporary 
Disability Insurance Program.7 
 
 Washington.  In 2007, Washington created 
the Family Leave Insurance Program.  The 
program is designed to provide up to five weeks 
of partial wage replacement benefits for an 
eligible employee who takes time off work 
because of the birth or adoption of a child.  
However, implementation of the program has 
been delayed indefinitely due to the lack of a 
funding mechanism.8 

                                                 
6N.Y. Work. Comp. Law § 200, et seq. 
7R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-41-34, et seq. 
8Wash. Rev. Code § 49.86.005, et seq. 
 


