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Colorado residents are allowed to grow
marijuana for personal or medical use under the
Colorado Constitution. This issue brief provides
an overview of Colorado’s laws, at both the
state and local level, related to the home
growing of marijuana for medical and personal,
nonmedical use.

Medical Marijuana

Constitutional provisions. The Colorado
Constitution specifies that an individual patient
may have no more than six marijuana plants,
with three or fewer being mature, flowering
plants. A patient, or his or her primary
caregiver, may have more than six plants,
commonly referred to as an “extended plant
count,” if it is medically necessary to address
the patient’s debilitating medical condition.*

Medical marijuana patient laws. To be
eligible to use medical marijuana, a physician
must certify that the patient has a debilitating
condition and that the patient may benefit from
the use of medical marijuana. The patient must
also be a Colorado resident and included on the
confidential Medical Marijuana Registry in the
Colorado Department of Public Health and
Environment (CDHPE).

Beginning in 2017, medical marijuana
patients may not cultivate more than
99 marijuana plants. Those patients who grow
more than six marijuana plants are encouraged

Colo. Const. art. XVIII, § 14 (4).

to register with the Colorado Department of
Revenue (DOR). This registry will include
information about the location of the cultivation
and the total number of plants the patient is
authorized to cultivate.?

Medical marijuana caregiver laws. The
Colorado Constitution defines a primary
caregiver as a person who is 18 years of age or
older who has significant responsibility for
managing the well-being of a patient who has a
debilitating medical condition.

Colorado law specifically outlines the role of
a “cultivating caregiver” who is responsible for
growing medical marijuana for one or more
patients. An individual may be listed as a
cultivating caregiver for no more than
five medical marijuana patients, unless granted
an exemption by CDPHE in exceptional
circumstances, and a patient may only have
one primary caregiver at any given time.’

Beginning in 2017, a primary caregiver may
not cultivate more than 99 marijuana plants
under any circumstance. A primary caregiver
may not cultivate more than 36 plants unless he
or she has one or more patients with an
extended plant count based on medical
necessity. The law also specifies that a
primary caregiver may not delegate his or her
authority to provide medical marijuana to a
patient to any other person; may not engage
others to assist in providing medical marijuana

2sSection 25-1.5-106 (8.5), C.R.S.
3Section 25-1.5-106 (8), C.R.S.
*Section 25-1.5-106 (8.6), C.R.S.
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to a patient; and may not join with any other
caregivers for the purpose of medical marijuana
cultivation.

Primary caregivers who cultivate medical
marijuana for their patients must register with
DOR. This registry must include information
about the location of the cultivation, the
registration number of each of the caregivers’
patients, and any extended plant count
numbers. Beginning in 2017, information from
this registry must be provided to state and local
law enforcement through the Colorado Crime
Information Center.

Personal, Nonmedical Marijuana

Constitutional provisions. The Colorado
Constitution allows any individual 21 years of
age or older to grow no more than six marijuana
plants, with three or fewer being mature,
flowering plants, for personal use. An individual
may also assist another person who is 21 years
of age or older in cultivating marijuana for
personal, nonmedical use. Any marijuana
grown by an individual for personal, nonmedical
use may not be sold.®

Enclosure Requirements

Colorado law requires that marijuana
cultivations, both for medical and personal,
nonmedical use, be in an enclosed and locked
space. The law defines “enclosed” as a
permanent or semi-permanent area that is
covered and surrounded on all sides. A “locked
space” is defined as being secured at all points
of ingress or egress with a locking mechanism
designed to limit access, such as with a key or
combination lock.®

If marijuana is being grown in a residence
for personal, nonmedical use, additional
provisions of state law designed to limit access
to the marijuana by persons under the age of

21 apply.

°Colo. Const. art. XVIII, § 16 (3)(b).
®Section 18-18-406 (3)(b), C.R.S.

Local Ordinances

While the growing and possession of
marijuana plants are protected under the
Colorado Constitution, as previously discussed,
several local jurisdictions in Colorado, including
Colorado Springs, Denver, Douglas County,
Pueblo, and Pueblo County, have passed
ordinances that place additional restrictions on
marijuana home grows.

The most common of these are ordinances
that limit the total number of marijuana plants
that may be grown by an individual or in a
household. For example, Douglas County’'s
ordinance limits the total number of marijuana
plants that may be grown to 12 per household,
regardless of whether those plants are being
grown by a medical marijuana patient, or
caregiver, or for personal, nonmedical use. The
Douglas County ordinance also requires
tenants to obtain written permission from the
property owner prior to growing marijuana on
the property. Colorado Springs’ ordinance does
not allow individuals to cultivate more than
12 medical marijuana plants.

Many local jurisdictions also have general
nuisance ordinances related to odor, noise, or
other factors that may impact residential
marijuana growers. Many of these nuisance
ordinances are complaint-based and action is
only taken by the local jurisdiction if a sufficient
number of complaints are received. For
example, the city of Pueblo has a nuisance
ordinance specifically related to marijuana that
includes violations related to the visual
observance of marijuana grows, light, odor,
traffic, and noise.
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