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INTRODUCTION

The following pages present an outline of major state taxes
inposed and ccllected in Cclorado, A section on Joucal taxation has
been included to provide as complete a profile as possible of taxaticn
in CoToradc. Not included in this report are license and registration
fees, permits, and revenues from fines and court costs, The Cplorade
lottery has been included as it is a significant source of income for
several governmental purposes,

Coristitutional and Statutory Budgetary Requirements

Colorado's Constitution mandates a balanced budget each fiscal
year  (Article X, Section 16). Currently, & statutory reserve
requirement. of & percent of the moneys appropriated from the general
fund in a fiscel year is to be maintained. Colorado law also requires
the state to 1imit general fund appropriation iuncreases to 7 percent
over the previous year's appropriations, Moneys appropriated for
reappraisals of clesses of property are not included in the 7 percent
Timitation {24-75-201.1, C.R.S.).

Total Tax Collections

State government in Colorade collected approximately $2.6 billion
in taxes for fiscal year 1986 from eighteen tax scurces. About 64

percent of that revenue was collected from two scurces -- personal
income tax and sales tax {see Table I),

Several tax revenues are earmarked for  special purposes.
Farmarked taxes include unemployment insurance, motor fuel, tourism
premotion, severance, and gross ton-mile taxes as well as the Colorado
lottery. Sone revenues from income and sales and use taxes are &lso
earmarked.
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Table 1

TOTAL STATE TAX COLLECTIONS FOR FY 1986

Collections Without Regard to Fund Dispasition
{$ in Millinna)

Fiscal Percent
Tax 1986 Of Total
Personal Income $973.2 38.2%
Sales 662.9 26.0
Unemployment
Insurance 251.7 9.9
Motor Fuel 197.9 7.8
Carporate Income 124.4 4.9
Use 76.1 3.0
Insurance Premiums 75.0 2.9
Cigarette 50.9 2.0
Gross Ton-Mile 30.8 1.2
Lottery 29.2 1.1
Severance 28 .4 1.1
Liquor 23.8 0.9
Eatate 13.56 0.5
Pari-Mutuel Racing 8.5 0.3
Tourism Promotion 3.6 0.1
Inheritance 0.1 -
TOTAL  $2,550.0 100.0%

{Source: Division of Accounts and Control)




Income (48.5%) I‘. L

I. GENERAL FUND

A1l noneys not earmarked by the constitutiorn or by statute for
special funds are credited to the general fund. This fund 1is the
state's wmwajor operating fund. The major taxes credited to the fund
are perscnal income, sales and use, corporate income, and several
excise taxes. (Other taxes credited to the fund include: cigarette;
insurance premiums; liquor; pari-mutuel racing; and the estate,
inheritance, and ¢ift taxes. Taxes that the state no longer levies
but which still produce revenue are the inheritance and the gift
taxes. These two texes were removed as of January 1, 1980. The
tobacco products tax was added effective July 1, 1986 and is not
incTuded on Chart I.

Chart 1

1986 GENERAL FUND TAX RECEIPTS
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Table 11 compares 1977 through 1986 general fund tax receipts by
source and shows the amount and percentage each tax contributed to the
general fund. Personal incone and sales and use taxes accounted for
approximately 85.3 percent ¢of the 1986 general fund receipts.

General tund tax receipts have 1increased approximately 118.6
percent since 1977. There has been a dramatic increase in the
importance of personal income taxes as the major saurce of support of
the general fund -- over 48 percent of general fund revenue in 1986,
Taxes that have a smaller percentage contribution to the total general
fund revenue in 1986 than in 1877 are cigarette, corporate income,
liquor, sales, pari-mutuel racing, and the total of inheritance and
estate taxes. Insurance premiums and use taxes also were more
important to general fund collections in fiscal 1986 than they were
ten years earlier.

Table TI

TAX RECEIPTS FOR STATE GENERAI. FUND
Comparison of FY 1977 and FY 1986
{$ in Millions)

Percent Percent
Figscal of 1977 Fiscal of 1986
Tax 1977 Total 1986 Total
Cigarette $33.2 3.6% "$50.9  2.5%
Estate (Gift)
I. Estate -- -— 13.5 0.7
I1. Inheritance 19.2 1.8 0.1 -
III. Gift 4.8 0.2 0.0 -—
Income
I. Corporate 80.0 8.7 124.4 6.2
11. Personal 38.9 39.9 973.2 48.5
Insurance Premiums 27.8 2.8 75.0 3.7
Ligquor 18.9 2.1 23.8 1.2
Pari-Mutuel Racing 6.5 0.8 8.5 0.4
Sales and Use
I. Sales 325.5 36.0 662.9 33.40
II. Use 34.1 3.6 76 .1 3 &
TOTAL $918.9  100.0% $2,008.4  100.0%

(Source: Division of Accounts and Control)




Tax Collections History

An historical perspective of collection figures for each tax
source from 1977 to 1986 reveals that sales tax collections peaked in
1984 at $731.4 million with the imposition of a temporary 1/2 cent
increase and dropped by more than $50 million from this figure in the
lact two years -- see Table III. Corporate incone taxes have been
sporadic with a low of $66.5 million in 1983 and a high of $124.4
million in fiscal 1926. Individual income tax receipts have increased
in nine of the last ten years, the one decrease occcuring from 197% to
1920.

Table ITI

At TUAL, NE T STATE REVENUES BY Tax SOURCE -- 197 THROUGH 1986 1/

(4 Ipn Miliions)

{ax Source 1877 178 1979 1980 1981 1982 1983 1% 1385 I1SRE
Sales £325,5  SW7.7 S$M5R.9  S482.7 $AR5.8  $541.6  $5656.1 £721.9 t673.8 $652.9
ise 14,1 37.6 a7 53.3 54.4 74.1 66.1 66,8 7.0 76.1
Clgarette 13.2 .6 3.3 k1.9:) 7.0 37.2 .7 47,2 52.3 50,9
Other Exgise 2.8 3.z 1.7 4.1 Ll 2.0 2.0 2.1 1.9 1.9
Income

Indiyidual i68.9 442.7 480.6 465.6 479.4 621.0 703.3 796.4 921.7 732

Corporate 0.0 50,3 115.8 117.4 g8 £8.8 £6.5 24.1 76.8 124.4
Insurance 21.8 na 5.1 1.9 21,6 47.9 1.6 56.6 a1.7 75.0
Pari-tutuel 6.5 r.7 8.0 B.2 8.8 9.5 8.4 B.E 7.7 8.5
[nheri tana: 18.2 21.2 22.8 24,1 a.n 1.6 0.3 Q.05 0,05 o1
Estate - - -—- 0.01 4.9 11.0 8.5 10.3 13.8 13.5
nift 4.8 1.1 1.3 1.1 0.4 0.2 .04 002 .00t an
Gross Ton-Mile and
fassencer Nile 19.0 0.3 21,0 23.1 24.6 24.1 23.7 2.5 .2 IR
Spiritous  Liquor 12.3 1a.n 16.1 15.2 15.5 16,0 15.4 15.7 15.4 14.2
Wine 1.4 .7 2.0 2.0 2.1 aed 2.4 2.5 2.5 2.7
Beer

1.2% or Less 1.0 1.0 1.1 1.1 1.2 1.2 1.2 l.1 1.1 1.1

flure  Than 3.8 1.2 4.6 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.8 5.6 5.1 8.7 5.6
Lottery -- -- -- - -- -- 41.7 40.7 32.0 29.¢
Hotor Fuei+ 99,0 i071.% 114.8 113.5 100.3 13.9 142.8 188 .4 186.5 197.9
Seyerance -- f.h a.7 23.1 1.6 4.7 .3 28.8 23.8 2.4
Taurismn Tax .- -- -- - -- - o3 2.9 2.3 1.k
Unenplgyment
[nsurance** an. g £3.9 81.3 1.9 61.5 862 122.6 247.3 264.4 251.7

* Departnent of Highways Annvzl Report,
*+ Dapartment of Labor znd Employment.

1/ Informatien on this tahle is from the Divisfon of Accounts and Control {sales through pari-rutuel) and from
Nepartnent of Revenue (inheri tance through unemployment fnsurance).



11. GTHER MAJOR STATE FUNDS

In addition to the general fund, there are a number of special
funds that have been credted by either the constitution or statute for
specific purpuses. The following section provides a summary of the
other niajor stete funds referenced in this report.

0ld Ace Pension Furd

Constitutional and statutory citaticns. The 01d Age Pension Fund
(OAPF) was created in 1536 by a vote of the people (Article XXIV to
the Colorado Constitution). The provisions of this article were
amended by the electors in 1956, Statutory sections relevant to the
DAPF are 26-72-111 through 26-2-117, and 39-26-126, C.R.S.

Purpose. The fund was established to provide minimum assistance
for needy perscns 60 years of age or older, who are residents of
Colorado, ana whuse income 1s not sufficient to maintain necessary
hesith services and to allow csuch persons to retain their
independence, self-care, and self-support.

Revenue sources. The Constitution requires that the following
moneys be credited tc the OAPF:

-- &5 percent of all sales, use, and excise taxes;

-- &% percent cf retail license fees;

-- 85 percent of liquor taxes and license fees connected therewith;

-- unexpended woneys in any fund of the state or political subdivi-
sion thereof that was allocated to the OAPF before January 1,
1987,

-- &1l federal grants for old age assistance;

~- all inheritance taxes, estate taxes, and ipcorporation fees; and

-~ such moneys as the General Assembly may allocate.

Disbursement of fund, The Department of Social Services
administers the OAPF.  Any funds remaining after meeting the basic
reauiremnents of the OAPF are transferred to the following:

-- Stabilization Fund -- maintained at $5 millior; and
-- 01d Age Pension Health and Medical Care Fund -- up to $1C million
annualily.

After satisfying the requirements of the OAFF, the stabilization
fund, and the nedical care fund, all remaining noneys are credited to
the general fund. Listed on the following page are moneys credited to
the OAPF by souurce, moneys used by OAFF reguirements, and the total
remaining that was credited te the general fund in 1986 as reported by
the Department of Social Services.




OAP Obligations

OAPF and .

Total Stabilization Medical Balance tu
Tax Source Collections Fund Fund _ General Fund
Sales Tax $665,747,684
Use Tax 73,428,514
Liquor Tax 23,832,235
Cigarette Tax 51,473,545
Others + 13,678,509 .
Total $828,160,487 $38,831,102 $10,000,000 $779,329,385

Highway Users Tax Fund

Constitutional and statutory citations. The Highway Users Tax
Fund {(HUTF) was created under Article X, Section 18 of the Colurado
Constitution. Sections of the Colorado Revised Statutes relevant to
the HUTF are 39-26-123, 43-2-116, 43-2-129, and 43-4-201 through
43-4-216.

Administration. The HUTF s administered by the Department ot
Highways.

Purpose. The HUTF is to provide adegquate funding for the state’s
highway construction and maintenance needs.

Revenue sources,

FY 1985-86
Receipts
Basic Fund: Tin miliions]

7 cent motor fuel tax $1186,2
Gross ton-mile and passenger-mile tax 30.1
Motor vehicle registrations 29.5
Motor vehicle penalty assessment 2.5
Miscellaneous 15.7
Interest 0.9
Basic Fund total 1915
$ 51.4

Sales and use taxes

Additiunal fuel tax 78.1
(incTudes bridge fund}

Subtotal 1¢4.5

Total HUTF $324.4

-
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Disbursemnents: Expenditures
Deductions {see page 41) $ 58.2
State share 161.9
County share 67.4
City share 36.9

Total 3203

(Source: Department of Highways)

Water Conservation Budrd Construction Fund

This fund was created by section 37-60-121, C.R.S., and fis
managed by the Colorade Water Conservation Board., The Gerneral
Assembly allocates money to the construction fund to finance water
projects that are of statewide concern. The fund also receives money
from charges imposed by the board for contracts entered into for the
use ¢f construction fund moneys.

Capital Censtruction Fund

The construction fund was created by section 24-75-302, C.R.S.,
to finance the state's capital censtruction needs. The moneys for the
furd are alloceted from The General Assembly and from &0 percent of
the net lottery proceeds. The General Assembly approves projects paid
tor from the fund. Recommendations for expenditures are submitted by
the Capital Development Committee and the Governor,

Severance Tax Trust Fund

The severance tax trust fund was created by section 39-79-109,
C.R.S., and ds & permanent fund held in trust as & replacement for
depleted natural resources and for the development and conservation of
the state's water rescurces. Fifty percent of the severance taxes are
credited to the state severance tax fund and 50 percent to the Tlocal
covernment severance tax fund, Income from investnent of the state
trust furd is credited to the state general fund.

Lucal CGovernment Severance Tax Fund

The Tocal government severance tax fund was created by section
39-29-110, C.PR.S. Fifty percent of the state severance tax receipts
are credited Lo the fund., The Departmerit of Local Affairs distributes
the moneys to local governments impacted by the development of natural
resources. Also, 15 percent of the fund is distributed to the
counties or nmunicipalities based on the proportion of employees of
netural resource  industries residing in incorporated and
unincorporated areas,




Conservation Trust Fund

The conservation trust fund was established by secticn 29-21-101,
C.R.S. The conservation trust f{fund receives 40 percent of the net
lottery proceeds. Moneys credited to the fund are disbursed by the
Civision of Local Government to eligible counties, c¢ities, and special
districts based orn population, The disbursed moneys can only be
expended for the acquisition, developnenrt, and maintenance of new
conservation sites or for capital improvements or maintenance for
recreativnal purposes.

Public School Fund

The public schoul fund was created by Article 1x, Section 3 of
the Coclorado Constitution. The statutory provisions relating to the
investment and use of the fund are countained in Article 41, Title 22,
C.R.S. The school fund ccnsists ot the proceeds of such lands granted
to the state by the federal government for educational purposes, all
estates that may escheat to the state, and grants, gifts or other
devices made to the state for educational purposes. No part of the
fund may be transferred to any other fund. The fund Jtself is
inviolate; only the interest from the fund can be expended and only
for the maintenance of the state's schools.

fire and Pglice Members' Benefit Fund

The General Assembly established the Fire and Police Menmbers'
Benefit Fund 1in 1979 to establish an actuarially sound statewide
retirement system for all firemen and policemen hired after April 8,
1976, and to provide for the actuarial funding of all the existing
pension systems (section 31-30-1012, C.R.S.), Contributions to the
fund are from local government employers, employees, and the state.
Since 1979 the state has made annual contributions c¢f roughly §21
million to assist local governments.

The annual contributions have been distributed as follows:

-- Approximately $14 million to prefund the unfunded liabilities of
the "old" funds;

-- Approximately $6 milliun, which decreases 10 percent per year
until termination in 1994, to the death and disability fund;

-- Approximately $1.2 millior to match the local levy of up to 1/2
mill for volunteer firemen's pensiuns,

State contributions are to terminate when the fund is determined
to be actuarially sound.

-10-




ITI, STATE TAXES

The followirg infornatiorn is presented in this section for each
state leviea tax: the date of enactment; the constitutional and
statutcry citaticors; the  tax base; the present rate; the
administration and collection; the history of the rates; the
dispesition of revenue; the collections after refunds; informatior on
similar taxes in neighboring states and other states; and similar
federal taxes that are levied, Additional information may have been
added 1o assist in undersianding certain taxes and their application,
The descriptiuns for each tax have been summarized to provide a basic
understanding of each tax., Technical details may have been omitted.

This irformatiorn was obtained from the Colurado Revised Statutes,
(C.R.S.), and the Session Laws of Colorado, 1877 through 1986, The
revenue collection figures are from the annual reports of the
Pepurtnient of Revenue and the Division of Accounts and Control unless
otherwise notea. Information on taxes in other states and federal
toxes was taken from the Commerce Clearing House State Tax Guide and
Federal Tax Guide and dre updated to October 1, 1986.

-11-
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Cigarette Tax

Fnacted: 1964

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XXIV, Colerado
Constitution; Title 39, Article 28, C.R.S., and Section 39-22-623,
C.R.S.

Tax Base: Cigarettes, imposed at the wholesale level,

Present Rate: Twenty cents per package of twenty cigarettes or ien
miTls (1 cent) per cigarette. (Cigarettes are not subject to the state
sales or use taxes,)

Administration and Collection: The  LCepartment of  PRevenue  is
responsible for administering the cigarette tax, The tax is impoused
on wholesalers, and paynent of the tax is evidenced by stamnps affixed
to cigarette packages ur by a metered inprint. Metering machines are
read ¢nce a mepth to determine the amount of tax. Wholecalers receive
a discount of four percent of the face value of stamps if payment is
received before the twentieth day following purchase. Wholesalers
using a metering machine must pay the tax on or before the twentieth
aday following reading of the machine to receive the discount.

History of Tax Fates: (igarettes were subject to the state sales and
use taxes prior to their exemption from the sales and use tax base in
1959, From 1959 to 1964 there were noe state-imposed taxes on
cigarettes in Celorado.

Tax Rate Tax per Fackage
Effective Date Per Cigarette of 20 Cigarettes
July 1, 1964 1.5 mills 3 cents
June 1, 1965 2.5 mills 5 cents
July 1, 1973 5.0 mills 10 cents
July 1, 1977 7.5 mills 15 cents
July 1, 1978 5.0 mills 10 cents
Nov, 1, 1983 7.5 mills 15 cents
July 1, 1986 1.0 mills 20 cents

Cisposition of Revenue: Article XXIV of the Colorado Constitution
creates the Dld Age Pension Fund (OAPF) and provides for the funding
of its basic requirements from excise taxes, retail business license
fees, alcoholic beverage taxes, inheritance tax fees, incorporation
fees and other noney the Geperal Assembly may allocate.  Funds
remaining after meeting the basic requirements of the OAFF are {hen
credited to the general fund. Since July 1, 1973, Tlocal governments
have been entitied to a share in the proceeds of the state cigarette
tax., In order to qualify for these moneys, local governments are
prohibited from imposing fees, licenses, or taxes ¢n any person as a

* -12-




condition for engaging in the sale of cigarettes, and they are
prohibited from taxing cigarettes,

In fiscal year 1986-87, cities, towns, and counties will be
apporticned from the income tax an amount equal to 31 percent of the
preceeds from 15 cents of the cigarette tax while all the proceeds
from the remaining 5 cents will be credited to the state. PBeginning
July 1, 1987, local governments will be entitled to an amount equal to
27 percent of the proceeds from the entire twenty-cent tax. The funds
are apportivned te cities and towns iu proportion to the amount of
state sales tax collected in a Jjurisdiction relative to all state
sales taxes collected, Funds are distributed to counties based on
the percentage that collections in the unincorporated area of the
county bear to sales tax revenues statewide. Distributions to local
governments are made morithly.

Distribution of Cigarette Tax Revenues
{$ in Millions)

Fiscal State City and
Year Share County Share
198¢ $17.9 $16.9
198] 19.4 17.7
1982 19.2 18.0
1983 18.9 17.8
1984 29.9 17.6
1985 35.2 17.0
1986 34.3 16.6

Collections:

Cigarette Tax Receipts
($ in Millicns)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collections  Chanye Year Collectiuns Change
1976 $ 32.5 -- 1981 $37.0 6.3%
1977 33.2 2.2% 1982 37.2 0.5
1978 48.6 46.4 1983 36.7 - 1.3
1979 33.4 -31.3 1984 47 .4 29.2
1980 34.8 4,? 1985 52.3 10.3

1986 50.9 - 2.7

{Source: Accounts and Contral for both tables.}

~13~




Other States: Cigarette taxes are fmposed in all 50 states. The

tax

ranges from two cents per pack in North Carolima to 39 cents per pack
in Minnesota. Minnesota allows a credit for the federal cigarette

tax. Hawaii's tax rate is 40 percent of the wholesale price.
rates for neighbering states are as foullcws:

Rate per Fack

State of 20 Cigarettes
Kansas 24 cents
Nebraska 23 cents
New Mexico 15 cents
OkTahoma 18 cents
Utah* 1?2 cents
Wyoming 8 cents

* Rate is scheduled to increase if the federal cigarette
decreases,

Federal Tax:

Small cigarettes $8 per thousand
(weighing no more (16 cents per pack)
than 3 pounds per thousand)

Large cigarettes $16.80 per thousand
{weighing more than (33.6 cents per pack)

3 pounds per thousand)

-14-
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E;tate and Gift Taxes

I. Estate Tax

Enacted: 1927 -- lnheritance and Succession Tax (not applicable
to estates of decedents dyino on or after 1/1/80)
1980 -- Estate Tax (replaced inheritance tax)

Constitutiornal and  Statutory Citatiuns: Article XXIV, Colorade
Constitufion; Title 3G, Articles 23 (Inheritance) and 23,5 (Estate),
C.R.S.

Tax Base: Tax 1is imposed on the transfer of the taxable estate of
every deceased domiciliary, nondomiciliary, and alien in Colorado. An
additional 1C percent fee on the tax payable is alsc imposed under
provisiuvns of the Colorado Public Assistance Act (section 26-2-113 (2)
fa) (I1), C.R.S.).

Fresent Rate: The rate is an amount equal to the federal estate tax
credit for state death taxes. The estate's total tax bill remains the
sane but part of the money, equal to the federal estate tax credit,
gees to Colurado. This is called a "pick up" or "gap" tax. If there
is ne liability for federal taxes, there is no liability for Colorado
taxes.

If The Adjusted The Maximum Tax Plus % Applied

Taxable [state is Credit Shall Be To Excess Cver

$0 but not over $0 0%
440,000

Nver $40,000 to %0 .8% ogver $40,000
354,000

Cver %90,000 to $400 1.6% over $90,000
$£140,000

{ver $140,C0C0 to $1,200 2.4% over $140,000
4240,000

Over $240,000 to $3,600 3.2% over $240,C00
*440,000

Cver $440,0C0 to $10,000 4.0% over $440,000
$640,000

Over $640,000 to $18,0600 4,8% over 3640,00C
$840,000C

Over $840,000 to $27,600 5.6% over $840,000
$1,040,000

(Over $1,040,000 to $38,800 €.4% over $1,040,000
41,540,000

Over $1,540,000 to $70,800 7.2% over $1,540,000
$£2,040,000




If The Adjusted The Maximum Tax Plus ¢ Applied

Taxable Estate is Credit Shall Be To Excess QOver

Over $2,040,000 to $106,800 8.0% over $2,040,000
$£2,540,000

Over $2,540,000 to $146,800 8.8% over $2,540,000
$3,040,000

Cver $3,040,0C0 to $190,800 9.6% over $3,040,000
£3,540,000

Over $3,540,000 to $228,800 10.4% over $3,54C,000
$4,040,000

Over $4,020,000 to $280,R00 11.2% over 3%4,040,000
$5,040,000

Over 35,040,000 to $402,800 12.0% over $5,040,0G0
$6,040,000

Cver $6,040,000 to $522,800 12.8% over $6,040,000
$7,040,000

Over $£7,040,000 to $650,800 12.6% over $7,040,000
$8,04G,000

Over $8,040,000 to $786,800 14.4% over $%&,040,000
$£9,040,000

Cver $9,040,000 to $930,8C0 15.2¢ over $9.040,CC0
$10,040,000

Over $10,040,000 $1,082,800 16.6% over 510,040,000

If the property of a deceased resident is subject to an estate
tax by another state(s), the amount of Colorado tax due may be reduced
by the Tesser of the following two amounts:

(1) The amount of tax paid the other state tax that is a c(redit
against the federal state tax;

(2) An amount determined by multiplying the federal credit by a
fraction, the numerator being the value of the grouss estate minus
the value of the property included in the gross estate and the
denominator being the resident's gross estate.

Coiorado also taxes the transfer of the gross estate of a
nonresident who has property within the state. The amount of the tax
is determined by multiplying the federal credit by « fraction, the
numerator of which is the property value located in Colorado that is
included in the gross estate and the denominator i1s the value of the
gross estate,

Administration: Cepartment of Revenue

Collection Period: On or before the date the federal return is
required to be t1led.

=16~
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History of Tax Rates: Until 1980, Colorado's ipheritance and
succession tax applied. The tax had araduated rates that varied in
amount for different classes of beneficiaries. Those beneticiaries
having the closest relationship to the decedent were subject to Tower
tax rates than those with a nore distant relationship., The 1927 tax
rates were not increased until 1967 and were increased again in 1977,
The new law taxes all beneficiaries accerding to the same rate and
does not consider the beneficiaries relatienship tu the deceased.

Disposition of Reverue: After requirements of the 01d Age Pension
Fund have been satisfied, the remainder is credited to the general
fund (see page 7).

Collectiyns:
Inheritance and Estate Tax Receipts

Year Inheritance Tax Estate Tax Total Change
1676 $14,342,337 ¢ $14,342,337 --
1977 19,191,409 0 19,191,409 33.8%
167€ 21,242,278 it 21,242,278 10.7
1979 22,825,743 ¥ 27,825,793 7.5
198C 24,089,7¢8 $11,213 24,100,981 5.6
1981 2,001,326 4,978,311 6,979,637 - 71.0
1982 1,582,657 16,962,933 12,545,590 76.7
1983 251,254 8,543,908 8,765,162 - 29,9
1984 55,120 10,256,413 10,311,533 17.2
1985 51,063 13,787,707 13,838,760 34,2
13¢ec 37,112 13,464,816 13,501,928 - 2.4

{Source: Department ot Revenue.)
Feaeral F[state Tax: A federal estate tax is imposeac on all transfers

of a taxable estate of every decedent that is a resident or a citizen
of the United Stiates, A unified tax credit and credits for state
death taxes are allowed.

Other States: Estate or inheritance taxes are imposed by 49 states.
Twenty states have both an  inheritance and estate tax in effect,
Mevada prchibits the imposition ¢f an estate gr inheritance tax by an
grendment  to  its  constitution, Twenty-seven states impose cnly an
estate tax {(tex on the net estate of decedent), Texas and Oregon
impose only an inheritance tax (tax on the share of an estate received
by each beneficiary). Colorado’s neighboring states impose estate
taxes based on the federal credit, Kansas and Nebraska impose an
inheritance tax in addition to their estate tax.

-17-




IT. Bift Tax

Enacted: 1837

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 25, C.R.S.

Tox PBase: Although the state receives a small amcunt of reverue from
the tax, Colforacdc no longer imposes a gift tex. (QOrigirally, the tax
was Jmpcsed on the transfer of property by gift by any individual,
resident, or nonresident, but the tax ncw applies ¢rly to transfers of
property by gift which occurred on our before December 31, 1979.

Present Rate: The statutes set four classes of beneficieries with
graduated tax rates under each class. To illustrate, the lowest and
highest rates for the four classes are shown below.

Low and High Tax Panges for Gift Taxes

Class A Class B Class C Class T
In-law,

Parent, grandparerit, Uncle, aunt, Other persons
spouse, child brother, sister niece, nephew ot corporaticns
2% for gifts 3% for gifts 47 for gifts 7% for gifts
not over not ¢ver not over not uver
£50,000; $10,000; $2,500; $2,500,
8% for gifts 10% for gifts 14% for gifts 16% for gifts
in excess of in excess of in excess of in excess of
$50¢,000 $200,C00 $500,000 $500,00G

Administration: Cepartment of Revenue

Collection Period: The tax applies to transfers of property by gift
on or before Decenber 31, 1979, The statutory provisions for this tax
remain i full force ard effect until all such revenue is collected,

Disposition ¢f Revenue: General Fund.

-]8-
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Coltections:

Fiscal
Year

1976
1977
1978
1979
1980

{Source:

Other States:

Gift Tax Feceipts

Kevenue

$1,737,537
4,762,907
1,251,554
1,328,928
1,047,448

Departnent of Reverue, )

Delaware, louisiana, New York, North Carolina,
South Carcling, Tennessee, and Wisconsin impose a gift tax,
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Year

1981
1982
1983
1984
1985
1986

Revenue

$431,532
198,042
42,556
2,394
1,612
2,7€3

Cregon,




Gross Ton-Mile Tax

Enacted: 1927

Statutory Citation: Section 42-3-123 (14}, (15), (16}, and {17), C.R.S.

Tax Base: The gross ton-mile (GTM) tax is applied to owners ur opera-
tors cf trucks registered as metro vehicles when operating beyond
their permitted radius and to all other trucks, truck trailers,
trailers, and semitrailers having an empty weight exceeding 16,000
peunds.  The amcunt of the tax is based on the number of miles the
vehicle travels on public roads in Colorado and the empty weight and
cargo weight of the truck in tons, Trucks subject te the ton-mile tax
pay & registration fee of $25.30 plus the GTM tax, The Gik is ab
alternative available to paynent of higher motor vehicle registratiorn
fees.

Present Rate:

1) 0.8 mill {.08 of one cent) upch each gross ton-mile of emptly
vehicle weight; and

2} 2 mitls (.2 of one cent) upuh each gross ten-mile of  cargo
weight,

Exenptions:

-- Motor vehicles operated by a manufacturer, dealer, or transporter
of motor vehicles,

-- Farm trucks or truck tractors,

-- Vehicles specially constructed for towing, wrecking and
repairing,

-~ Vehicles owned by the state or any political or governmenta)
subdivision thereof,

-- (Cperator-owned vehicles transporting racehurses,

-~ Veterinary mobile truck units,

-~ Any metro vehicle having an empty weight less than 16,000 peunds,

-- Any noncoummercial or recreational vehicle.

Administration: [Department of Revenue

Collection Period: Owners or operators are required to pay annually
a nonrefundable minimum fee of $150 with the first month's return.
Returrs are due on or before the twenty-fifth of each month for miles
traveled the preceding month. First time permit applicants ore
required to pay a nonrefundable $150 fee at the time of application or
a prurated amount if there is less thar a full calerndar year. Taxes
in excess of the first $150 nay be filed on & quarterlty basis.

-20-

fé:::::
e



hHistory of Tax Rates:

Year Rate

1927 -- 5 mills (.5 of ovne cent) per ton-mile {ton-mile was the
cargo weight nultiplied by the miles carried, divided by
2,000)

1935 -- 3 mills (.3 of one cent) per ton-mile

1937 -- 2 mills (.2 of ovne cent) per ton-mile

1954 —- 1.5 mills (.15 of cne cent) for each gross ton-mile
travelea by every truck, truck tractor, trailer or
semi-trailer having an empty weight in excess of 4,500
pcunds,

195% -- The present rete was adopted.

Cispusitiun of Revenue: GIM taxes are credited to the Highway Users
Tax Fund

Collectiouns:
- Gross Ton-Mile Tax Receipts
Fiscal Percerit Fiscal Percent
Year Collections Change Year Collections Change
1476 $17,245,588 - 1981  $24,585,623 7.1%
1977 18,953,718 9.9% 1982 24,310,861 - 1.1
197¢ 20,339,608 7.3 1983 23,711,847 - 2.5
197¢ 21,789,586 7.1 1984 28,552,686 20.4
1580 22,965,225 5.4 1985 30,213,924 5.8
1986 30,806,427 2,0

(Socurce: Depurtment of Revenue. Totals include the collections of
the passenger-mile tax which average approximately $300,000
per year. )

Other States: Most states, in &cdditiun to registraticn fees on
contract carriers through the purchase of a certificate of convenience
erid necessity, itmpese ¢ ¢gross receipts tax upen income received from
within a state, & ton-mile or passenger-mile tex, or flat rate
frivilege tax based on the weidht or carrying capacity of the vehicle.
Seven states were found that impose a tax on the gross receipts of
incore and eight states levy @ mileage tax., Mest states require
either the purchase of a certificale ¢f convenience and necessity or
payment ¢f a tlat rate privilege tax, Kansas, Nebraske, Oklahome, and
Utah impose flal fees on contract carriers. New Mexico has adopted a
ton-mile tex similar to Colorade's., The New Mexico rate s reduced
one-third if 4% percent or more of the reported mileage traveled is
empty. Wyoming Jevies a ton-mile tax with different rates for
qasoline and non-gasoline powered vehicles,

2.
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Income Taxes

I. Corporate

Enacted: 1927

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 17,
Colorado Constitution, adopted by vote of the pecplie, November 3,
1936; Article X, Section 19, Colurado Constituticrn, adopted by vote of
the pecple Novenber 6, 1967; Title 39, Article 22, Part 3, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Income generated by property in the state and from
activities carried on in the state, whether carrvied op in  intrastate,
interstate, or foreign commerce, is subject to the corporate incone
tax.

Present Rate:

Tax Years Beginning After July 1, 1886

Taxable Income Rate
First $50,000 5,25%
Over $50,000 to $200,000 $2,625 plus 5.5 on

income above 390,000

Over $200,000 $10,87% plus 6.0% on
incume above $200,000

Tax Years Beginning After July 1, 1987

First $50,000 5%

Cver $50,000 tuo $200,000 $2,500 plus 5.25%  on
income above $50,000

Over $200,000 $10,375 plus  5.5¢ on
income above $200,000

P22~




Histury of Tax Rates:

Tax Years Beginning After January 1

1937 1947  1951-1956 1957 1958-80

4% 5% 5% with 5% with h%
207 credit  15% credit
{one year only)

Tax Years Eeginning After Janvary 1, 1981

Taxable Income Rate
First $25,000 49
Over $25,000 to $50,000 $1,000 plus 4.5% on

income above $25,000

Over 50,000 2,125 plus &5.0% on
income above $50,000

Tax Years Beginning After January 1, 1982

First $25,00C Same as 1981 (4%)

Over $25,000 to $75,000 $1,000  plus  4.5%  on
incone above $25,000

(ver $75,000 $3,250 plus 5.0% on
income above $75,0C0

Tax Years Beginning After January 1, 1983
Through June 30, 1986

Rate -- Flat 5% on taxable income

Determination of Corporate Income: Prior to 1985, C(Celcrado employed
the wunitary methud of computing corporate income. In this methed,
curporate incone from all sources was considered in the determination
ot taxable income. As amended in 1985, Colorado excludes income from
foreign sources c¢f corporations doing business in Cclorade if 80
percent or more of the corporation's property and payroll is located
outside the United States.

-23-
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Collections:

Corporate lncome Tax Receipts
(¢ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collectigns  Lhange Year Callections Change
1576 $ 69.9 -~ 1981 $ 84.8 -27.8%
1977 80.0 14.5% 1982 £8.8 4,7
1978 89.3 11.6 1983 66.5 -25.1
1979 115.8 29.7 1984 94.1 41,5
1980 117.4 1.4 1985 78.8 -16.3
1986 124.4 b7.8

Other States: Five states -- Kevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washingten,
and Wyoming -- do not impose an income tax on corporatiuns. Most
states tax at 2 flatl rate while some states use the same graduated
rate for corporations and individuals, Colorado's neighboring states
impose a corporate income tax at the following rates 3s summarized
below.

Flat or Number of
Graduated Taxable

State Rate Classes Tax Is Based On
Kansas Flat 1 Federal tax liebility
Nebraska Graduated 2 State individual income tax

rate

New Mexico  Graduated 3 Federal tax liability
OkTahona Flat 1 Federal tax liability
ttah Flat ] Gross incone less deductions
Wyoming No income tax - -

Federal Tax: Prior to the passage of the Federal Tax Reform Act of
1386, the federal corporate tax rate followed the graduated rate
listed below.

Taxable Tax Rate
Income Over But Not Over {percent)
$ 0 § 25,000 15%
25,000 50,000 18
50,000 75,000 3C
75,000 10G, 000 40
100,000 1,000,000 46
1,600,000 1,405,000 46% {graduated) pius a 5% sur-
tax on net taxable income over
$1,000,000
$1,405,000 and above Flat 46% {not graduated) on net

taxable income
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New federal corporate tax rates will be fully effective on July
1, 1987, under the Federal Tax Reform Act of 1986. Corporations whose
tax year includes this date must prorate their tax allowing the use of
lower rates after July 1, 1987, The present rates (15 through 46
percent)will be reduced to three rates using the followirg schedule:

Taxable Income Rate (graduated)
Up to $50,000 15%
$50,000 to $75,000 25%
Over $75,000 344

-26-




Income Tax

II. Personal

Enacted: 1937

Constitutional

and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 17,

Colorado Constitution, added by vote of the people Novenber 3, 1936;

Title 39, Article 22, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The Colorado personal income tax is determined by reference
to the federal tax law. The state follows federal law to arrive at an
individual's adjusted gross income (AGI). The Colorado AGI consists
of nodifications that add to or subtract from the federal AGI.

Additions

Deduction for a marr{ed couple
when both work

P.E.R.A./school
pension contribution

district

Lump-sum distribution from
pension or profit sharing plan
using federal ten-year
averaqing method

Some state or municipal bond
interest

tederal net operating loss
carryover

Partnership or fiduciary

adjustments which would
increase federal income

Once a Colorado AG] s

Subtractions

Federal bond interest

Pension and annuity income
exclusion
Military retirement income
exclusion
State  income @ tax refund

reported on federal return

Modified federal child and
dependent care expenses

Colorado dividend exclusion
Colorado interest exclusion

Colorado operating loss
carryover deduction

Distribution of  previously
deferred P,E.R.A,/school dis~
trict retirement contributions
that 1ncrease the federal AGI

Partnership or fiduciary
adjustments which would
decrease federal income

determined, adjustments are made for
deductions and exemptions to determine Colorado taxable income. The

-27-
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Colorado taxable income is the basis for calculating Colorado tax
Tiability. The taxable income is multiplied by the tuox rate and then
increased by the surtax on interest and dividenss to determine
Colorado gross tax Tliability. The gross tax liability is then
reduced by the amount of tax credits allowable to cdetermine the net
tax liability.

Present Rate: The current individual income tax rates aajusted for
the annual inflation factor are presented below:

Taxable Income

Over But Not Uver Rates
$ 0 - $1,420 3.0% of taxable income
1,420 - 2,830 $ 42.60 + 3.5% of excess over $ 1,420
2,830 -~ 4,250 91.95 + 4.0% of excess gver 2,830
4,250 - 5,660 148,75 + 4.5% of excess over 4,250
5,660 - 7,080 212.20 + 5,0% of excess over 5,660
7,080 - 8,490 283,20 + 5,5% of excess over 7,080
8,490 - 9,910 360.75 + 6.0% of excess over 8,490
9,910 - 11,320 445,95 + 6.5% of excess over 9,910
11,320 - 12,740 h37.60 + 7.,0% of excess over 11,320
12,740 - 14,150 637,00 + 7.5% of excess over 12,740
14,150 - and over 742.75 + 8,0% of excess over 14,150

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue

Collection Period: Due April 15 unless an extension is granted by the
Department of Revenue,

-28-
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History of Tax Changes:

1963-1984
Statutory Rate with
Net Taxable Income 1957 1547 1959 __Rate 1/2% Credit 3/ 1978
Under $1,000 1.0% 1.0% 3.0% 3.0% 2.5% 2/
$1.00C under 2,000 1.0 1.5 3.% 3.5 3.0
2,000 under 3,000 Zz.0 2.0 4.0 4.0 3.5
3,000 ynder 4,000 2.0 2.5 4.5 4.5 4.0
4,000 under 5,000 3,0 3.0 5.0 5.0 4,5
5,000 under 6,000 3.0 4,0 5.5 5.5 5.0
6,000 under 7,000 4.0 5.0 6.0 6.0 5.5
7,000 under 8,000 4.0 6.0 6.5 6.5 6.0
8,000 under 9,000 5.0 7.0 7.0 7.0 6.5
9,000 under 10,000 5.0 8.0 8.0 7.5
10,000 under 11,000 6.0 9.0 8.0 1/ 8.0
Over $11,000 10.0%

I/ 195G -~ ATl net income over 310,000 was taxed at 9% and the

income bracket of over $11,000 was eliminated.

Z/  Same tax brackets as 1963 adjusted yearly by the annual inflation
factor (AIF).

3/ This is the effective tax rate for years when the one-half
percent credit applies.

Inflation factor, In 1978 an annual inflaticn factor (AIF) or
indexing was adopted. This factor is set each year by the General
Assembly and applies to the tax brackets, the standard deduction and
the personal exemption. The purpose of the AIF is to prevent an
increase in tax Tiability due primarily to inflation., The use of the
AIF has been suspended during certain years due to state revenue
shortfalls and low inflation periods. The inflation adjustment is
shown below by year.

1978 1879 1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987

6% 7% 9% 8% 6% G% 0% 0% 0% 1%

The AIF for 1988 and each year thereafter s 3 percent. Also to
be noted is that the AIF 1s cunulative. The tax brackets for a year
following indexing become the new brackets to which the rates are
applied.




Surtax. Since the beginning of the Coloradc personal income tax,
a surtax has been imposed on dividends from corporate stock,
royalties, interest from money, notes, credits, bonds, and other
securities. This additional tax has been imposed at a flat rate (2
percent) on 1income from these sources above specified amounts. The
two percent rate has been applied to income as follows:

1937 1943 1651 1959 1979
All Incone Income Income Income
Income above above above above

$200 $600 $5,000 $15,G0G

Income tax credits. Percentage credits have been allowed against
the Colorado personal income tax in several years, beginning in 1951,
The percentages shown are for reductions of the individual tax
lTiability for that year.

1951 through 195 -- 20 percent for each year

1957 ~~ 15 percent for 1957 only

1963 -- A permanent tax credit of 1/2 percent of
taxable income of $9,000 and less was
established.

1979 -- 10 percent

1980 -- 20 percent

1981 -- 16 percent

1984 through 1990 --  1/2 percent credit suspended

Disposition of Revenue: A small portion (1.5 percent in 1985) of
income taxes are apportioned to cities and towns and to unincorpcrated
areas as a method to distribute a share of cigarette taxes (section
39-22-623, C.R.S.). The remainder is credited to the general fund,

Collections:

Personal Income Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Revenues Change Year Revenues Change
1976 $322.2 .- 1981 $479.4 3.0%
1977 368.9 14.5% 1982 621.0 29.5
1978 442.7 20.1 1983 703.3 13.3
1979 480.6 8.6 1984 796.4 13.2
1980 465.6 - 3.1 1985 921.7 15,7

1986 973.2 5.6
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Other States:
states

Ten states levy a flat
do not levy a personal income tax.
graduated rate system.

as summarized below,

income tax

rate, and seven

Thirty-three states use a
Bordering states inpose personal income taxes

Based Number of

Flat or Cn federal Joint Filing
State Graduated Tax Liability Taxable (lasses
Kansas Graduated Yes 8
Nebraska Flat Yes 1
New Mexico Graduated Yes 19
Qklahoma Graduated Yes 7
Utah Graduated Yes 6
Wyoming No income tax -- --

Federal Income Tax:
tax scheduTe.

Present

The federal incone tax is assessed on a graduated
law cortains 14 or 15 percentage rates which

rarge from 11 to S0 percent, depending on taxable income.

For the 1987 tax year, the 14 or 15 different tax rates will be
reduced to the rates shown below:

Joint return

cingle return

Starting 1in
high-income taxpayers.
the
income taxpayers,

Single return

Joint return

1s8€, a

Income
$ 0 - $ 3.000
3,001 - 28,000
28,001 - 45,000
45,0C1 - 90,000
290,001 and above
0 -% 1,800
1)801 - 16 5800
16,801 - 27,000
27,000 - 54,000
54,001 and above

surcharge

Rate

11%
15
28
35
38.5

11%
15
28
35
38.5

of 5 percent will be added to

This surcharge has the effect of eliminating
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yraduated rate and charging a flat 28 percent rate against higher
The tax rates for 1988 and after are shown

below.

15% on income up to $17,850
28% ahove that amount

15% on income up to $29,750
28% abyve that amount




Insurance Premiums Tax

Enacted: 1913

Statutory Citatioms: Sections 10-3-209, 10-5-111, 10-6-128,
31-30-1014 (3), (5), (6), C.R.S.

Tax Base: This tax is imposed oun the gruss amount of all premiums
from insurance policies covering property or risks in this state, The
law applies to all companies and types of business which engage in
writing insurance policies or contracts (regardless of the type of
insurance policy).

Present Rates: 2.25 percent for a non-Colorado company; 1 percent for
a company maintaining a home office or regional home office in
Colorado; 1 percent for captive insurance companies; and 2 percent for
surplus Tine insurance.

Exemptions:

-- fraternal and benevolent associations;

~~ mutual protective associations writing crop hail insurance on
that portion of the premium designated to the loss fund;

-~ policies issued before 1959 by domestic insurance comnpanies
maintaining their principal place of business in this state and
having 30 percernit of its assets 1nvested in county, city, town,
district, or this state's bonds or warrants;

-- premiums contracted for after December 31, 1968 on policies in
connection with a pension, prafit sharing, or annuity plan,

Administration and Collection: Department of Regulatory Agencies,
Division of Insurance

Collection Period: Due on the first day of March in each year for the
preceding calendar year. (Quarterly payments are required for
companies that were liable for a tax of $5,000 or more during the
preceding calendar year.
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History of Rates:

1913 2.0% A1l companies
--  Exempt were companies with 50% or more of their assets in
Colorade bonds or warrants,

1949  2,0% Surplus line insurance {insurance not otherwise available
in Colorado purchased through 1licensed brokers from
"unauthorized" insurance companies (e.g., Lloyds))

1959 Z2.25% AVl companies
1.02 Companies with 50% or more of their assets in Colorado
bonds or warrants.

1960 2.25%%¢  All companies
1.04 Companies with 30% or more of their assets in Colorado
bonds or warrants.

1969 2.25% A1l companies
1.0% Companies maintaining a home or regional office in the
state.

1972 1.0%  Captive insurance companies (wholly owned subsidiary com-
panies that insure only the risks of the parent company.)

Dispusition of Revenue: Moneys are credited to the general fund,
except that each year over $20 millign of collections have been
transferred to the fire and police members' benefit fund for firemen's
and pclicemen's pension unfunded liability, for death and disability
insurance, and for volunteer firemen, (See page 10 for Fire and
Police Members' Benefit Fund.)

Collections:
Insurance Premium Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent

Year Coilections Change Year Collections Change

1976 $22.9 -~ 1981 $41.6 4.0%
1977 27.8 21.,4% 1982 47.9 15,1
1978 31,0 11,5 1983 51.6 7.7
1979 35.7 15.2 1984 56.6 9.7
1980 40.0 12.0 1985 64.7 14.3
1986 75.0 156.9

Other States: All 50 states impose a tax on insurance companies. The
rate is usually a fixed percentage of the taxable gross premiums,
Sonie  states also have o higher tax on fareign corporations and reduce
the rate if a certain amount of a company's assets are invested in the
state. Many states impose a tax on fire insurance companies for the
support of the fire marshall or authorize cities to levy such a tax
for support of the local fire department,
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Liquor Taxes

Enacted: 1935

Statutory Citations: Section 12-46-111, C.R.S. ~- Fermented Malt
Beverages
Section 12-47-127, C,R.S. -- Alccholic Beverages

Tax Base: The tax appties to the following alcoholic beverages:

Fermented malt beverages -- any beverage obtained by  the
fermentation of barley, malt, hops, or similar product containing
between 0.5 percent and 3.2 percent alcohol by weight that can be sold
to persens 18 years old or older.

Malt Tiquors -- beer and any beverage obtained by the
fermentation of barley, malt, hops or similar product containing more
than 3.2 percent of alcohgl by weight that can be sold only to
individuals 21 years of age or older.

Medicinal spirituous 1liquors -- any alcoholic beverage, except
beer and wine, which {is at least 10C proof.

Special melt liquors -- malt Tiguors which contain between 0.5
percent and 2 percent alcohol by weight,

Spirituous liquors -- any alcoholic beverage obtaines by
distillation and mixed with water and other substances 1in solution,
including brandy, rum, whiskey, ¢in, and every liguid or solid
containing alcohol that is fit for use for beverage purposes.

Vinous liquors -- wine and fortified wines not exceeding 21
percent of alcohol by volune.

Special provisions are included for "limited wineries" which are
establishments manufacturing not more than 100,000 galluns, or the
metric equivalent thereof, of vinous liquors annually which use not
less than 75 percent Colorado-grown products in the nanufacture of
such vinous liquors.

Present Rates:

Fermented nalt beverage -- 8 cents per gallon

Malt liaquors -- & cents per gallon

Vinous liquors -- 7,33 cents per liter

Vinous 1liquors from a Tinited winery marketed in metric measure
containers with less than 21 percent alcohol -- .70 cents
per liter

Spirituous liguors -- 60,26 cents per liter
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Administration and Collection: Departnent of Revenue

Collection Perijod: Twentieth day of each month fur the preceding

month's sales

Exemptions: The following alcoholic beverages are exempl from

tax:

-- sacramental wines sold and used for religious purposes;
-~ vinous liquor made for family use and not for sale;

the

-- wines sold at public aucticn where the purpose is to dispose of
liquor obtatned by reason of salvage of damaged shipments,
foreclosure af a lawful lien, or by failure of an owner to claim

or furaish instructions as to the disposition thereof.

History of Tax Rates:

Liquor Tax Rates ir Ceolorado
{in cents}

1935 1958 187 1977 1981

Malt liquors 3 cents 6 cents 8 cents 8 cents 8 cents
{per gallon)

Fernented nalt 3 6 8 8 a
beveraye (per
ga]lon?

Vinous Liquor
{per liter)

14% or less 2.8 4.7 5.6 5.6 7.33
alcohol

more than 5.6 7.1 8.5 8.5 7.33
14% alcohol

¥inous-Timited
wineries
(per liter)

14% or less - - -- .05 .05
alcohol

more than -- -- - .01 01
14% alecohol

Spirituous liguors 37.8 42,5 1/ S51.1 17/ 511 1/  €0.26
(per 1iter)

1/ Sealed bottTes with two ounces ur less were taxed at 5 cents per bottle,

~35
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E cents

7.33

7.33

.70
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60.26
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Dispusition of Revenue:

Fund have been satisfied, the remainder is

fund (see page 7).

Collections:

Fiscal

Year Beer*
1976 $3,801,093
1977 5,204,218
1978 5,634,117
1979 6,173,075
1980 6,224,503
1981 6,516,359
1982 7,025,820
1983 6,777,128
1984 6,807,206
1985 6,863,673
1986 6,723,560

{iquor Tax Receipts

Wine

$1,263,100
1,423,947
1,710,954
2,003,197
1,898,067

2,054,645
2,288,703
2,356,358
2,448,959
2,615,591

2,691,536

* Tax collections for all beer.
collections for malt liquor and fermented malt beverages.

Other States:

Spirituous
L.iquor

$11,721,060

12,301,862
14,573,003
16,081,046
15,274,115

15,447,147
16,004,297
15,361,303
15,645,375
15,370,214

14,417,139

The table

After the requirenments of the 01d Age Pension
creaited to the general

Percent
Total Change
$16,785,253 -

18,530,027 12.8%
21,918,074 15.8
24,257,318 10.7
23,496,685 -3.1
24,018,151 2.2
25,318,820 5.4
24,494,789 -3.3
24,901,540 1.7
24,839,478 -0.2
23’832’235 - 01

below 1lists the tax

Fermented
Fiscal Malt Beverage Mait Liquor
Year {3.2% or less) {more than 3.2%)
1976 $ 766,432 $3,034,661
1977 859,376 4,744,842
1978 998,089 4,636,018
1974 1,074,073 5,099,002
1980 1,107,224 5,117,269
1981 1,201,185 5,315,174
1982 1,239,326 5,786,494
1983 1,200,248 5,576,880
1984 1,117,716 5,689,490
1985 1,119,471 5,734,202
1986 1,080,314 5,643,246
(Source: Department of Revenue.)

greatly among the 50 states.

a thirty-two gallon barrel (1.6 cents per gallon). Th
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The range of tax rates on alcoholic beverages varies
The Towest tax on beer is about 5C cents

rate
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Lotterz

Enacted: 1982

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XVIII, Section 2,
Colorado Constitution approved by Celorado voters November 4, 1980;
Title 24, Article 35, Part 2, C.R.S.

Collection Base: Sale of Lolorado Tottery tickets

Administration and Collection: State Lottery Division, Department of
Revenue

Collection Period: Daily

Dispositiun of Revenue: Revenues from the Tottery are credited to the
lottery fund, At least 50 percent of the total revenue accruing trom
the sale of lottery tickets must be dfsbursed as prize money. ATl
expenses of the division are paid from the Tlottery fund, After
payment of prizes and the expenses of the division, revenues are
disbursed as follows: 40 percent of the proceeds 1is5 transferred to
the Conservaticn Trust Fund; 10 percent is appropriated by the General
Assembly to the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation; and 50
percent is appropriated for state capital construction.

Distribution of total collections in 1985 was as follows:

PrizZe MONEY.useciereeesonsnornancraosscanssons 50%
Conservation Trust Fund*.. ..o irreervenenaes 14%
Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation...... 3.5%
State Capital ConStrUCtion i viviecreeesnennns 17.5%
Administration and Operation..... tetavesanaans 15%

* The money in this fund 1s distributed to Colorado counties,
cities, and special districts using a formula based on the
population in each county, city, ard eligible special districts
(section 29-21-101, C.R.S.).
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Cullections:

Net Lottery Receipts*
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent
Year Collections* Change
1083 $41.7 --

1984 40.7 - 2.4%
1985 32.0 ~21.4
1986 25.2 - 8.75

* Receipts after distribution of prize moneys. These totals are
moneys paid to the Conservation Trust Fund, Division of Parks and
Outdoor Recreation, and State Capital Construction Fund,

Other States: Currently, 22 states -- Washington, Oregon, California,
Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, I1linois, Missouri, Michigan, Ohio, West
Yirginia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York,
Connecticut, Phode Island, Massachusetts, Vermcnt, New Hampshire, and
Maine -- operate a state lottery., Voters in five states -- Florida,
Idahg, Kansas, Montana, and South Dakota -- approved ballot propcsals
tc establish lotteries in the 1986 general election.
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Motor-Fuel Tax

Enacted: 1919

Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 18, Colorado Constitution;
Title 39, Article 27, Part 1, C,R.S., =-- Gaso-
1ine; Title 39, Article 27, Part 2, C.R.5, -~
Special Fuels.

Tax Base: Motor-fuel taxes are imposed on all gasoline and special
fueTs, except fuel usec¢ for aviation purposes. Special fuels include
diesel, kerosene, ligquified petroleun, gases, and natural gas.

Present Kate: Effective July 1, 1986: 18 cents per gallen on
gasoline; 20,5 cents per gallun on special fuel; and 18 cents per
gallon on gaschol. The tax increase is to expire on July 1, 1989 at
which time the tax will be 12 cents for gascline and 13 cents for
special fuel. 1t should be noted that it is the intent of the General
Assembly to modify or extend the tax increase after reviewing the
results of a study concerning allocation of highway repair costs.

Trucks purchasing diesel fuel outside the state do not pay a fuel
tax. However, such trucks do pay a gress ton-mile tax {see Gress
Ton-Mile Tax).

Administration and Collectign: Department of Revenue

Cellection Period: On or before the twenty-fifth cay of the calendar
month following the month in which the fuel was used or imported.

History of Tax Rates:

Special Fuel

Year Gasoline {Diesel) Gdsohol
1919 1 cent 1 cent

1923 2 2

1927 3 3

1929 4 4

1947 6 b

1966 1/ 7 7

1967 b 6

1569 7 7

1978 7 7 2 cents
1561 9 8 4

1983 12 13 7

1986 18 20,5 18

1/ One cent increase was allocated to the "highway floud disaster
relief fund", 1in effect from August 1, 1965 through August 31,
1966,
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Dispesition of Revenue: The tax is credited to the Highway Users Tax
Fund. The General Assembly appropriates funds to state agencies whose
functions are related to the HUTF, e.g., Department ¢f Revenue for
collecting taxes and to the Department of Public Safety for Colorade
State Patrol activities. These appropriations are often referred to
as "off-the-top" deductfons, and decrease the fund from which
distributions are allocated. The "off-the-top" deductions are funded
from revenues from the first seven cents of the tax on wmotor fuels,
from registration fees, and from ton-mile and passenger-mile taxes.

As  ililustrated below, tiwo separate formulas are used to
distribute funds generated from the motor-fuel tax to the state,
cities, and counties. The first formula relates to money credited to
the fund from the first seven cents of the fuel tax. The revenues
generated by the 1981, 1983, and 1986 fuel tax increases are subject
to a different formula. The funds raised by the additional fuel tax
are subject to a 16 percent "off-the-top" deduction for bridge repair,
After allocation to the special bridge account, the remaining 84
percent is distributed to the state, cities, and counties,

Motor Fuel Tax Distribution

First 7 Cents Additional Revenues
(1563 law) {amendments 1n 1981,
1983, 1986)
A. "Off-the-top" deductions A, EOffithe-top” bridge repair
16%
B. Remaining funds B. Remaining funds
65% to state highway fund 60% to state highway fund
Z2b% to counties 2?% to counties
9% to cities 18% to cities

Collections:*

Motor Fuel Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collections  Change Year Collections Change

1976 $ 99.1 -- 1981 $108,3 - 4.6%
1977 99.9 .8% 1982 138.9 28.3
1978 107.5 7.6 1883 142.8 2.8
1979 114.8 6.8 1984 188.4 31.9
1980 113,58 - 1.1 1985 186.5 - 1.0
1586 197.9 .1

* Department of Highways Annual Report.
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Other States: A1l 50 states impose a similar motor-fuel tax. The tax
rate for bordering states' taxes on gasoline and diesel are listed
below (local taxes are not included),

Stete Gasoline Diesel
Kansas $.11 $.13
Nebraska .19 .19
New Mexico .11 .11
Oklahoma .10 10
Utah .14 .14
Kyoming .08 .08

Georgia and Florida impose sales taxes on motor fuels., Twelve
cther states periodically adjust the tax rate in accordance with the
wholesale or retail price. The average qascline tax rate for the
fifty states, excluding local taxes, sales taxes, inspection fees or
license fees is approximately 13.15 cents per galtlon. Five states --
Oregon, Iowa (diesel only), Connecticut, Virginia and Texas -- will
increase their rates on Januvary 1, 1987.

Thirty-six states 1impose the sane state tax for diesel as for
gasoline. Two states have lower rates for diesel than for gasoline --
Arkansas, 12.5 cents per gallon for diesel, 13.5 cents per gallon for
gasoline and Kentucky, 12 cents per galloen for diesel, 15 cents for
gasoline,

Federal Tax: The federal taxes ouh motor fuels are listed helow.

Gasoling (.viveivivinvenaviasnoresessonnans 8 cents per gallon
Diesel fuel .iieevieeosaanassiaasosnscsosnes 15 cents per yallon
Special motor fuels {including

alcohol fuels from petroleum) ........... 9 cents per gallon
GasONO]l ..viirerreerisinenincencronnnanecns 3 cents per gallon
Alcohol fuels from natural gas ............ 4.5 cents per gelloun
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Pari-Mutuel Racing

Enacted: 1947,

the voters on November 2, 1948,

Statutory Citation:

Tax Base:

(handte}.

Present Rate and Distribution:

Type of Racing Operation

Greyhound* 4,0%
Horse Racing 4,0%
commercial year-round
(no commercial 0.5%
year-round tracks
currently operate) 3.5%
Fair Circuit 4.0%
{operate at state and
county fafrs -- three 5.5%
meets took place
during 1986) 6.0%
Monprofit year-round 1.0%
(None currently
exist)
0.5%
3.5%

Section 12-60-109, C.R.S.

Rate

On all wagers

On all wagers

On win, place,
or show

A1l other wagers
On all wagers

On win, place,

or show and,
On other wagers

On all wagers
or cash fee,
whichever is

greater
On win, place,
or show and,

A1l other wagers

Referred act of the General Assembly was approved by

Applied to the gross receipts from wagering on horse and
greyhound racing events, prior to the distribution

of the winnings

Distribution

General Fund
General Fund

Horse Breeders and
Owners Awards and
Supplemental Purse
Fund

General Fund

Horse Breeders and
Owners Awards and
Supplemental Purse
Fund

Racing Commission
Cash Fund

Horse Breeders and
Owners Awards and
Supplemental Purse
Fund

* If the aggregate amount paid by all tracks exceeds $6,201,685.85 in

a  year,

a Ticensing fee cannot be assessed in the following year,

If the aggregate amount paid is below the guarantee, each track is
assessed a proportionate amount tc make up the shortfall,

Adniinistratiaon
ot Fequlatory Agencies

-43-
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Collection Period: Daily

History of Tax Rates:

Pari-Mutuel Tax Rates
(based on handle)
Other Than
Horse Races
Year (Greyhound) Horse Races

1947 5% 5%
1949 5% 5%
1967 5% 3% of first $200,000

4% on excess of $200,000 but not to exceed $300,000
5% on excess of $300,000 but not to exceed $500,000
6% on excess of $500,000

1969 5% 4% of first $200,000
5% of the excess of $200,000 but not to exceed
$300,000 daily
6% 1in excess of $300,000 daily

1979 5% 3.75% commercial
4% nonprofit public fair

1981 47 4% commercial
5.5% public nonprofit fair

1983 4% 4% commercial
9.5% public nonprofit fair
1.5% nonprofit year-round
1986 Present Present rate, see page 43
rate

Collections:

Pari-Mutuel Tax Receipts
{$ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collections Change Year Collections Change
1976 $6.7 -- 1981 $8.8 7.3%
1977 6.5 - 2.9% 1983 9.5 8.
1978 7.7 18.5 1983 8.4 ~11.
1979 8.0 3.9 1984 8.6 2.4
1980 8.2 2.5 1985 7.7 -10.5

1986 8.5 10.3
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1985 Revenue by Type of Racing*

Greyhound $8,366,351

Horse Racing none
{non-prufit year round)

Fair Circuit $ 104,888

* Figures include cash funds and general fund moneys.

Other States: As of December, 1984, 30 states impose a tax on
pari-mutuel betting. California received the largest amount of
revenues, collecting over $135 million during 1984. For regicnal
states, the tax is imposed as listed below. Utah and Wyoming do not
allow pari-mutuel wagering. Voters in two states, Texas and Kansas,
approved pari-mutuel wagering in the 1986 general election,

Arizona........ 2% if handle does not exceed
$100,000
4% on first $100,000
7% of excess over $100,000

Nebraska....... State Fair neets: 4% on excess
over $7,000,000
All other meets:
4% §f the average daily handle is
less than 95% of the 1985 average
daily handle
4.5% 1if the average daily harndle
is between 85 and 100% of the 1985
average daily handle
5% if the average daily bhandle
exceeds 100% of the 1985 average
daily handle

Mew Mexico..... 2.0% up to $250,000
2.5% over $250,000 to $350,0G0C
3.5% over $350,000 to $400,000C
4,0% over $400,000

Oklahcma.,euvs. 6%

-45-
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Passenger-Mile Tax

Enacted: 1927

Statutory Citation: Section 42-3-123 (18), C.R.S.

Tax Base: Passenger miles traveled by passenger buses

Present Rate: The tax rate is ore mill per passenger-mile. Passenger
miles are determined by multiplying the actual number uf revenue
passengers carried by each motor vehicle by the nunber of miles
carried. In ljeu of paying the passenger-mile tax, passenger buses
may obtain a temporary certificate of public convenience and necessity
for a fee of £10. Passenger buses registered in ancther state making
occasional trips to Colorado may obtain a trip permit for a $5 fee or
the amount ¢f the passenger-mile tax due, whichever is greater,

Exemptions: The tax does not apply tc passenger service rendered
within a municipality by a company that engages in the mass transit of
persons by bus or trolley coach, Also exempted are taxicabs, hotel
buses, sightseeing buses or Timousines operdated within the bouncaries
of a city, city and county, or incorporated town,

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue

Coliection Period: On or before the twenty-fifth cay of each moenth
for miles traveled the preceding month,

History of Tax Rates: The tax rate has not changea since first
imposed 1n 1927.

Disposition ©f Revenue: Revenhues are credited to the Highway Users
Tax Fund,

Collections: The tax is collected with the gross ton-mile tax and s
not accounted for separately. The Department of Revenue estinates
that revenues from this tax are approximately $300,000 per year.

Other States: Two states bordering Coloradu, New Mexico and Wyoming,
impose a passenger tax based cn vehicle weight, not passenger-miles
traveled. (For additional information, see the Gross Ton-Mile Tax.)
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Sales and Use Taxes

I. Sales Tax

Enacted: 1935

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XXIV, Colorado
Constitution; Title 39, Article 26, Part 1, C.R.S. -- State tax.
Title 29, Article 2, Part 1, C.R.S. -- Local tax.

Tax Base: Gross receipts from retail sales of tangible personal
property are subject to the sales tax, unless specifically exempted by
statute,.

Present Rate: The state rate is 3 percent on taxable sales, Local
governments may impose, with voter approval, additional taxes as Tong
as the combined city, county, and state rate does not exceed 7
percent. However, the 7 percent limitation cannot prohibit a county
from levying a 1 percent tax. (See pages 63 to 67 for further
discussion of local sales taxes.)

Administratich and Collection: The Department of Revenue administers
all state sales taxes collected by wmerchants. The department also
administers sales taxes for 180 municipalities and 29 counties. There
are 35 municipalities and 34 counties that collect and administer
their own sales tax.

Collection Period: Taxes are coliected monthly and are due by the
twentieth day of the month following coliection. Retailers are
entitled to retain 3.33 percent of the taxes to cover collection
EXPENSES,

History of Tax Rates:

May 1, 1983
Through Since
1935 1965 July 31, 1984 August 1, 1984

2% 3% 3.5% 3%

Disposition of Revenue: After the requirements of the 01d Age Pension
Fund have been satisfied, the remainder s credited to the general
fund {see page 7).

Sales and use tax diversion {"Noble money"). Seven percent of
the sales and use taxes that are attributable to the sales or use of
motor vehicles and related items is transferred to the Highway Users
Tax Fund. The total funds transferred cannot exceed $40 million in FY
1986-87 and $50 million in FY 1987-88 and thereafter,
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newspapers and preprinted newspaper supplements;

property purchased by a business four manufacture or compounding
for sale;

sales of electricity, coal, gas, fuel o©il, coke, or nuclear fuel
for use in processing or manufacturing;

newsprint and printer's ink;

refractory materials and carbon electrodes used to manufacture
iron and steel;

inorganic chemicals used in processing vanadium-uranium ores;
property for use in food manufacturing when such property becomes
part of a product or is unfit fur further use;

transfer of property to out-of-state vendee;

property for testing, modification, and inspection if the
ultimate use occurs outside the state;

sales of mutor vehicles to nonresidents purchased for use by
ncnresidents outside of Colorado;

any exchange of one vehicle for another if both are subject to
licensing in Colorado;

neat cattle, sheep, lambs, poultry, swine, goats, ard nares and
stallions for breeding;

live fish for stockirng;

farm sale when a farmer is abandoning the operation;

livestock feed, seed and orchard trees;

straw and other bedding for livestock use;

straw and other bedding used in the care of poultry;

leases of personal property for three years or less if tax is
paid upon original acquisition;

comnodities ard services to any occupant who is & permanent
resident of a hotel uncer written agreement for occupancy of at
least 30 consecutive cdays;

forty-eight percent of the purchase price of a factory built
home ;

retail sales within a distance of 20 miles within the boundaries
of this state to residents of adjoining states if the adjoining
state has no sales tax (note: all adjacent states currently
impose & sales tax);

food marketed for consumption as is commonly s¢ld by grocers;
electricity, coal, woud, gas, fuel oil, or coke sold, but not for
resale, to occupants of residences fur light, heat, and power of
a residence;

sales in vending machines under 15 cents;

aviation fuel;

new or used trailers, semitrailers, trucks, truck tractors or
truck bodies manufactured within this state when used in
interstate conmerce or outside Colcorado, dealer delivery
authorized;

construction materials to railroads for construction and
maintenance,;

electric-powered motor vehicles (until July 1, 1987);

aircraft used in interstate commerce; and

meals to employees which are considered part of their salary.
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Collections:

Sales Tax Receipts
{$ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collections Change Year (¢llectians Change
1976 $290.8 -- 1981 $485.8 0.6%
1977 325.5 11.9% 1982 541.6 11,5
1978 387.2 19.0 1983 565.1%* 4,3
1979 458.9 18.5 1984 731.9% 29.5
1980 482.7 5.2 1985 673.8* -7.9

1986 662.9 -1.6

* These figures include the additional 0.5 percent tax from May 1,
1983, through July 31, 1984,

Other States: Currently, 45 states impose sales taxes; 28 states have
exempted food from the tax. The lowest sales tax rate for the 50
states is 3 percent. Colorado ana four other states, Wyoming,
Georgia, North Carolina, and Virginia, have a sales tax of 3 percent.
The highest state-imposed tax rate is 7.5 percent 1in Connecticut,
Twenty-nine states, including Colorade, allow for additional local
sales taxes. The five states without a state sales tax are Alaska,
Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire and Oregon.

Sales Tax Rates and Major
Exemptions in Neighboring States

Sales Use Local Food Drugs
State Tax Rate Tax Rate Taxes Exemption Exemption
Kansas 4% Yes No Yes
Nebraska** 3.5 Same Yes Yes Yes
New Mexico 4.75 as Yes No No
for
Oktahoma 3.25 sales Yes No Yes
Utah 4 38/64 tax Yes No Yes
Wyoming 3 Yes No Yes

**  Rate will increase to 4.0 percent on January 1, 1987.
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II. Use Tax

Enacted: 1937

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 26, Part 2, C.R.S. -- State Use
Tax. Title 29, Article 2, Part 1, C.R.S. --
County or Municipal Sales or Use Tax,

Tax Base: Use taxes are collected on receipts from charges or costs
of stcring, using, or consuming articles of tangible personal property
purchased at retail.

Present Rate: The state rate is three percent. Local governments may
impase, with voter approval, additicnal taxes as long as the combined
state, county, and city rate does not exceed 7 percent., However, the
7 percent limitation cannot prchibit a county from levying a 1 percent
tax.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue

Collection Period: Taxes are collected monthly when the cumulative
tax due at the end of a month is in excess of $300, The tax 1is due
hefore the twentieth day of the following month,

History of Tax Rates:

May 1, 1983
threcugh Since
1937 1965 July 31, 1984 August 1, 1984

2% 3% 3.5% 3%

Disposition of Revenue: After the requirements of the 01d Age Pension
fund have been catisfied, the remainder is credited to the general
fund (see page 7).

Exemplions: Items exempt from state sales tax are also exempt from
the state use tax (see sales tax exemptions on page 48).
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Collections:

Use Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

Net

Fiscal Use Tax Percent
Year Collections Change
1976 $29.1 -
1677 34.1 17.2%
1978 37.6 10.3
1979 47.1 5.3
1980 53.3 13.2

Net
Fiscal Use Tax Percent
Year Collections Change
1981 $54.4 2.1%
1982 74.1 36.2
1983 66.1 -10.8
1984 66.8 1.1
198¢% 73.0 6.3
1986 76.1 4.7

Other States: See the sales tax discussion cn page 47.
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Severance Tax

Enacted: 1977

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 29, C.R,S.

Tax Base: The severance tax is 1imposed on the producticn or
extraction of metallic minerals, molybdenum, 01l and gas, o0il shale,
and coal.

Present Rate: The tax rates, their methods of application and any
exemptions or credits vary with the gifferent types of materials
extracted,

Metallic minerals, The tax is based on the gross income, defined
as the value of the mineral upon extraction, It does not include any
value added by proucessing, The rate is as follows:

Gross Income Tax

1st $11 million exempt
over $11 miition 2.25 %

A credit of up to fifty percent of the tax liability is allowed for
paynent of property tax.

Molybdenum. During the 1986 Tegislative sessign, the tax on
molybdenum ore was changed from fifteen cents per torn extracted in
each quarter to the following schedule:

Date Tax
January 1, 1986 through December 31, 1987 5 cents per ton
January 1, 1988 thrcugh December 31, 1989 10 cents per ton
After January 1, 1960 15 cents per ton

0il and gas. Crude oil, matural gas, carbon dioxide, and oil and
gas are also taxed on the basis of gross income, defined in this case
as the market value at the wellhead.

Gross Income Rate

A

Under $25,000

$25,000 but under $100,000
$100,000 but under $200,000
$300,000 and over

[ B A N ]
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Welis producing ten barrels or less per day are exempt from the
severance tax. A credit against the severance tax is allowed equal to
87.5 percent of all property taxes paid, except those imposed on
equipment and facilities used for production, transpertation, and
storage. This credit is not allowed for wells proaucing ten barrels
or less per day.

Coal. The severance tax on coal is 60 cents per ton. Until July
1, 1990, the first 25,000 tons extracted in each yearly quarter are
exempt from taxation. Thereafter, the first 8,000 tons extracted per
quarter will be exempt. A credit of 50 percent ¢f the tax imposed is
allowed for coal produced by underground mines and for lignite coal.
Modifications of this tax rate are also specified in statute. Faor
every three-point decrease or 1increase 1in the U.S. Department of
Labor's Producer Price Index, the rate is correspondingly increased or
decreased by one percent. Such determinations are made by the
executive director of the Cepartment of Revenue.

0il shale, 0il shale is taxed at four percent of gross proceeds
-~ the value at the point of extraction. Direct and indirect
expenditures for equipment, machinery, transportation, refining, and
royalties are deducted from the value prior to taxation. The tax 1is
also reduced based upon the length of time an o011 shale facility has
beer. operating.

Years Operating Reduction  Actual Rete
First Year 75% 1%
Second Year 50 2

Third Year 25 3
Fourth and Succeeding Years None 4

Also, the first 15,000 tons per day of ¢il shale or the first 10,000
barrels of shale oil per day, whichever is greater, is exempt.

Exemption for impact assistance. A credit is allowed against a
company's severance tax Iiability for the amount of  approved
contributions by that company to local governnernts toward mitigating
the social and economic impact of beginning or expanding mineral
developrent activities. The c¢redit may not exceed any year's
severance tax liability but any excess may be carried forward,
Additional credits are allowed for each month such payments to local
governments precede their due date.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue

Collection Period: Annually, on or before the fifteenth day of the
fourth month following the end of the taxable year,
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Severance Tax Fund and 50 percent to the Local Government Severance

Tax Fund,

Collections:

Severance Tax Receipts
Metallic
Fiscal 0il and Gas Minerals and Total
Year Production Coal Molybdenum Collections  Change
1978* $ 2,952,180 $ 1,843,470 $ 1,808,330 $ 6,603,980 -~
1979 6,749,642 8,274,170 3,665,613 18,689,425 183.0%
1980 7,999,420 11,069,687 4,041,997 23,111,104 23.7
1981 16,894,013 10,594,911 4,117,633 31,606,557 36.8
1982 33,879,603 11,736,919 3,061,156 48,677,678 54.0
1983 14,678,533 11,212,495 388,610 26,279,638 - 46.0
1984 18,096,324 10,365,876 308,463 28,770,663 9.5
1985 12,649,707 8,747,954 2,426,835 23,824,496 - 17.2
1986 11,631,493 8,067,819 962,691 21,662,003 -9.1
* Tax effective January 1, 1978. These are figures from the
Department of Revenue.
Other States: Thirty-two states impose some form of a severance tax,

History of Tax Rates: 1In 1953 an additional income tax was levied on
income derived from the extraction of crude oil and natural gas. The
rate was the samne as the current rate under the severance tax. In
1977, the tax was made part of the severance tax article,

Dispositiun of Revenue: Revenues are dedicated 50 percent to the

These taxes have been applied to a variety of natural resources
inciuding coal, timber, and mineral resources. The tax may also apply
tv resources that are unusual or limited to certain states, e.g., fish
in Alaska, salt in Kansas, or molybdenum in Colorado and New Mexico.

Colorado ranks 19th in per capita severance tax revenue at $9 per
person. Alaska ranks first (%$2,786 per person) and Texas second
($760). These two states also collected half of all severance tax
revenue in the United States in 1684 $1.4 and $2.2 billion,
respectively, Colorado collected $28.7 million during the same
period. The most recent available coullection figures for other states
in the western region are listed below.

—

Karsas $116,990,000
Nebraska 4,539,000
Kew Mexico 349,639,600
Cklahoma 703,738,000
Utah 38,416,000
Wyoming 388,300,000
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Tobacco Products Tax

Enacted: 1986

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 28.5, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The tax on tobacco products applies to smoking and chewing
tobaccos, such as cigars, pipe tobacco, cherouts, stogies, snuff, and
plug or twist tobacco., Cigarettes are not included as they are
subject to the cigarette tax. Distributors are permitted to keep 3.33
percent of the collections to cover the expenses of collection and
reporting.

Present Rate: The tax is 20 percent of manufacturer's list price, the
invoice price paid by the distributor to a manufacturer or suppiier.
These products are also subject to state and lucal sales and use
taxes.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue

Collection Period: Distributors file a return every quarter
containing the amount of tobacco products purchased during the
preceding quarter and the amount of tax due. Taxes are paid by the
twentieth day of the month following the quarteriy report.

History of Tax Rates: This is a new tax, effective July 1, 1986.

Disposition of Revenue: Fifteen percent of the revenues is credited
to the general fund and 85 percent to the 0ld Age Pension Fund. After
the requirements of the 0ld Age Pension Fund have been satisfied, the
remainder is credited to the general fund {see page 7).

Other States: Twenty-four other states levy a tax on tobacco products
in addition to the cigarette tax. Two of Colorado's neighboring
states -- Nebraska and Wyoming -- do not 1impose a tobacco products
tax. The rates for neighboring states are listed on the following
page.
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Tobacco Products Taxes in Neighboring States

State

Kansas

New Mexico

Dklahoma
-- Jittle cigars under 3 1bs,

per 1,000

-- cigars over 3 1bs. per 1,000
-- all other cigars
-- smoking tobacco
-- chewing tobacco

Utah

Federal Tax:

Chewing TobacCt.uveeesosverserenvas
Small Cigars (weighing less than
3 pounds per 1,000}, .cvcnunrcnns
Large Cigars (weighing more than
3 pounds per 1,000).cc0eveereces
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107 of wholesale prices

25% of product value

S mills per cigar

1 cent per cigar

$20 per 1,000

40% of factory list price
30% of factory list price

35% of manufacturers sale price

24 cents per pound
8 cents per pound

75 cents per thousand

8.5% of wholesale price




Tourism Promotion Fund Tax

Enacted: 1983

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 26.1, C.R.S.

Tax Base: This tax is imposed on the purchase price charged to any
person for rooms or accommodations, restaurant food and drinks, ski
lift or admission tickets, private tourist attraction admission
tickets, rental automcbiles, and tour bus or sightseeing carrier
tickets.

Present Rate: One-tenth of one percent.

Administration and Collection: Each business is responsible for
collection of the tax and its transmission to the Department of
Revenue,

Collection Period: Quarterly

History of Tax Rates: The tax became effective May 1, 1983, and is
scheduled to be repealed July 1, 1988.

Exemptions: Attractions owned or operated by governsental entities
and attractions operated on an occasional basis by nenprofit
charitable organizations.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Colorade Tourism Promotior
rund tfor u§e by the CoTorado Tourism Board (Title 24, Article 32, Part
13’ C'R.S. L]

Collections:

Tourism Promotion Tax Receipts

Year Collections
1983 $ 2,520
1984 2,867,950
1985 3,304,284
1986 3,581,786

{Source: Department of Revenue.}
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Unemployment Insurance Tax

Fnacted: 1936

Statutory Citation: Title 8, Article 76, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The tax is applied to a portion of the wages paid by public
and private enployers subject to the act. Exemptions, outlined in
statute, exclude a limited number of types of employers from coverage.

Examples of exemptions are: 1) agricultural labor employers who
dc nct pay either cash wages of $20,000 or more in any one quarter of
a calendar year or do not employ ten workers for Z0 weeks during the
year; 2) employers of domestic services who do not pay cash wages of
$1,000 or wmore 1in any quarter of a calendar year; or 3) employers
exempt from income tax under the I.R.S., code, section 501 (¢} {3) who
have Tess than four employees for 20 weeks during the calerdar year.

Currently, the tax is applicable to the first $8,000 of annual
earnings paid each employee. For 1987, this taxable wage base will
increase to $9,000 and for 1988 and after, it will be $10,000, 1/

Present Rate: Ffor most employers the standard rate of taxation is 2.7
percent of the employee's taxable wages. Employers newly subject to
unemployment tax may pay taxes at the standard rate, at the actuel
experience rate, or at a rate equal to the average industry tax rate
for all employers in the same general type of business in the state,
whichever is greater. After a designated length of time, iJndividual
employers become eligible for a computed rate which is based on the
employer's experience rating and the balance in the Unemployment
Insurance Trust Fund,

A tax surcharge way be added based on the amicunt of benefits paid
which are not effectively charged to any active employer., Benefits
are not effectively charged when they are charged to the account of an
employer who is already paying the maximum rate or who has gone out of
business,

In addition an interest surcharge may be assessed each employer
to pay interest on borrowed funds from the Federal Unemployment Trust
Fund. The interest surcharge was enacted in 1982 and the surcharge
for benefits not effectively charged was enacted in 1983.

Admiinistration and Collection: Department of Labor and Employment,
Division of EmpToyment and Jraining

1/ The taxable base wil! remain at $10,000 unless the trust fund
exceeds $35¢ million by June 30, 1987, in which case the base
will be reduced t¢ $9,000 on January 1, 1988.
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Collection Perioa: Taxes are payable quarterly by each employer for
each calendar year in which he is subject to the tax. The funds are
credited to the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.

History of Tax Rates: The standard employer contribution rate in 1936
was 10.8 percent uf one month's wages, provided the rate was less than
0.9 percent of the annual payroll for the calendar year, In 1937 a
uniform contribution rate of 1.8 percent per calendar year on a
taxable wage base ($3,500 in 1937) was established; the rate was
raised to 2.7 percent in 1938. In 1972 the rate was lowered t¢ 1
percent, but was changed back tv 2.7 percent in 1976,

An experience rating system was adopted 1in 1941 which permits
qualifying employers to pay less than the maximum rate., Effective
1984, employers newly subject to the tax cculd be taxed at the
standard rate, at the actual experience rate, or at an assigned
average industry rate, whichever is greater.

Changes in the taxable wage base are listed belcw.
Taxable Wage Base for

Colorado Unemployment Insurance Tax
{Changes from 1936 - 1988}

193¢ 1974 1978 19€3 1984 1987 1988

$3,50C $4,200 $6,000 $7,000 $8,000 $9,000 $10,000

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue credited to the Unemployment
Insurance Trust Fund is only withdrawn to pay unemplouyment benefits,

Collections:

Unemployment Insurance Tax PReceipts
($ in Millicns)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collections Change Year Collections Change
1976 $53.9 -- 1981 $ 61.5 - 9.4%
1977 90.9 68.6% 1982 86.9 41.3
1978 83.9 7.7 1983 122.6 41.1
1979 81.3 -3.1 1984 247.3 101.7
1980 67.9 -16.5 1985 264.4 6.6
1986 251.7 -4.8

OQther States: All 50 states administer this tax as required by the
tfederal government., Eight states -- Alabama, Alaska, California, New
Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Isiand --
also levy taxes on employees for unemployment insurance.
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IV. LOCAL TAXES

Article X, Section 7, of the Colorado Constitution empowers the
General Assembly f¢ vest the power of taxation in the state's
political subdivisions. Article XX, Section 6, establishes home rule
cities and towns and provides broader taxaticn powers than for
statutory cities and towns. County hame rule authority was created in
Article X1V, Section 16 of the Coulorado Constitution. The
constitution also limits the authority of municipalities to impose
taxes. Section 17 uf Article X vests exclusive power in the General
Assembly to levy income taxes.

Specific constitutional amd statutory citations have been
presented for each tax. Brief descriptions of the tax and their rates
are also provided, Information pertaining to the types of taxes
leviea in cities and the rates imposed is from the Colorado Murnicipal
League's Municipal Taxes, 1984 edition. The Department of Revenue
data was used for rates of sales and use taxes of the cities ard
counties.
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Accommodations or Lodger's Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Consti-
tution

Description of Tax: This tax is usually applied tu the price for
renting or Teasing of accommodaticns tor less than 30 consecutive
days. 1In some cities, this tax is simply a higher sales tax for
lcdging than for other transactions. Other <cities may apply the
lodger's tax in addition to or in lieu of their sales tax.

Rates: The following rates are in addition to municipal sales tax
rates.

Municipality Rate Municipality Rate
Aurora Z.0% Evans 3.07
Avon 1.0 Manitou Springs 2.C
Boulder 2.85 Montrose 0.9
Colorado Springs 2.C Northglenn 2.0
Cortez 2.0 Pueblo 2.0
Denver 2.0 Thornton 2.0
Durango 2.0 Vail 4.6

Admissions Tax

Constitutional and Statutory  Authority: Article XX, Colorado
Constitution '

Description ¢f Tax: An admissions tax is imposed on the charge for
admission to places or events open to the pubtlic. Tt is usually
expressed as a percentage of such charge., The tax is collected when
the ticket is sold to the athletic event, theater, or ski 1ift. Some
cities apply their sales tax to admission fees in lieu of a separate
admfssions tax. The Supreme Court of Celorade has ruled that
statutory cities do not have the authority Lo levy an admissions tax
(City of Sheridan v. City of Englewood, 609 P.2d 108 (1980)).

Municipalities Levying Tax and the Tax Rate:

Municipality Rate Municipality Rate

Boulder 2.85% plus sales tax Erglewcod 3% admissions

Central City 4% admissions Glendale 3% price of ticket

Collbran 1% park-rodeo Larkspur 2% of gate

Colorado 27 movie ticket Manitou 5% ticket sales
Springs Springs

Denver 1C% paid entrance to Pueblc 37 movie tickets

"city-owned" facility

Edgewater 15% movie tickets Thornton 3% price of ticket
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Occupational Taxes

I. General

Constitutional and  Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado
Constitution, Section 31-15-501, C.R.S.

Description of Tax: Occupational or business taxes are imposed for
the privilege of carrying on certain cvccupations within the taxing
jurisdiction. The tax may be applied to a1l or selected types of
businesses or professions in a community. The rate nay be a single or
flat rate or wmay be on a graduated scale based, for example, on the
number of employees. Specific occupational taxes may be imposed on
businesses selling liquor or on public utilities. However, the state
Supreme Court has held that an occupation tax cannot be based on gross
sales as this tax base would represent an unconstitutional form of an
income tax.

Municipalities Levying Gereral Occupations Tax and Tax Rates:

Municipality Rate {Annual Rate Unless Noted)

Aspen Firms with:
10 employees or less -- $100
10-49 enployees -- $200
50 or more employees -- $400

Bayfield $25  per business; $5 per
employee over 2

Rlack Hawk 450 per business

Central City $200 per business

Denver Business Occupaticnal

Privilege Tax:
$2.00 monthly per owner,

partner, manager, or
employee earning over $250
per menth,

Employee Qccupational
Frivilege Tax:
$2.00 monthly per employee
earning over $250 per month.
Nillion $30 per business

Dove Creek $15 per business
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Municipality

Durango

Fagle

Edgewater

Estes Park
Fruita

Golden

Greenwood Village

Ignacio

Keenesburg
Louisville

Lyons

Manitou  Springs
Marble

Monument

Ridgway
Silverthorne

Silverton

Snowmagss Village

Rate (Annual Rate Unless Noted)

Firms with:
E employees or less -- $35
6-10 employees -- $60G
11-2G employees -~ $8%

Over 20 employees -- $100
$25 per business

$10 per business, $1 per
employee

$35 per business
$20 per business
$25; applies tc  businesses
which do not reguire a sales
tax Ticense.
$2.00 per employee per month,
matched by employer, after
minimum earnings ¢f $250 per
month,
Firms with:
2 employees -~ $25
additional, full-time
enployees -- $5 each
$5 per business
$1C per business
$5 per business license
$35 per business
$10 per business
$25 per business
$5 per business
$10 per business
Firms with:
1-4 employees -- $38
5-5 employees -- $50
16 or more employees -- $85

$25 per business
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Municipality Kate (Annual Rate Unless Noted)

Telluride $1% per business
Wellington $10 per business
Woodland Park Class 2 business -- $30

Multiple business -- $50
Vending machines -- $20
Newspaper vending racks -- $2 each

[I. Lliquor and Beer Occupation Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado
Lenstitution, Section 31-15-501, CLR.S.

bescription of tax: Mumerous cities impose a privilege tax to permit
the sale of 1iquor and beer by various establishments and at special
events, The number of cities and broad categories of the amount of
the taxes fullow.

Number of Municipalities Levying Tax and Range of Taxes:

No. of Under $100-  $500- Over Range of Taxes

Type of Business Cities $100 $499 $999 $1,000 Low High
Retail liquor store 69 16 47 6 0 $25 § 989
Drug store a5 11 30 4 0 25 989
Hotel & restaurant 63 14 29 14 6 25 2,958
Club 51 15 29 6 1 15 1,000
Tavern 65 13 30 15 7 8 2,958
Beer & wine 48 9 30 8 1 25 1,000
3.2% beer

On premises 51 15 30 6 ¢ 25 950

Off premises 53 19 33 1 0 25 500

On and off 49 1t 22 7 1 10 1,800
Other

Arts 11 3 7 1 25 989

Special events 16 16 0 0 0 1l/day 50

Racktrack 6 0 5 ¢ 1 200 2,958

Extended hours 4 ¢ 4 0 0 150 296

Dancing 1 0 1 0 0 100 --

Non-profit organi- 1 i -~ -~ -- 100 --

zation "city-owned"
facilities
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III. Utility Occupational Tax or
Franchise Fee

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Section 4,
Colorado Constitutiom; Section 31-32-101, C.R.S.

Description of Tax: A franchise may be required before a public
utiTity aay be pernitted to operate in a municipality. The franchise
fee for 3 utility is usually o percentage of the utility’s gross
receipts from business conducted 1in the municipaiity. A municipal
occupation tax is scmetimes assessed utilities not recuired to obtain
municipal franchises.

Rates:
Municipal Taxes or Fees on Ytilities
(1983 Rates)

Number of Range of Tax
Type of Utility Municipalities (% of Gross Receipts)
Electric 1/ 127 % through 5%
Gas 2/ 128 1 through 5
Cable TV 3/ 120 1 through 5
Telephone 4/ 94

1/ Five cities impose a flat tax or a fee based on the number of
accounts per year,

f

2/  Four cities impose a flat fee.
3/ Seven cities Tevy flat fees or a per subscriber fee.
4/ The base for rates on telephone companies vary from flat fees per

month or per year, or fees that are based on the number of
accounts, per month, quarter, or year.
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Property Tax

Enacted: 1876

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Sections 3, 4, 5,
6, 11, and 15, Colorado Constitution; Title 39, Articles 1 through 13,
C.R.S.

1982 constituticnal amendment. A 1987 constituticnal amendment
provides three approaches an assessor must use to determine the actual
value ¢f a property: 1) cost, 2) market, 3) income. The amendment
provides that the actual value for residential property 1is to be
determined by the cost and market approaches only. Agricultural
fand's actual value is determined by the land's earning or productive
capacity capitalized at a prescribed rate. Provisions also establish
the rate for the valuation for assessment of residential real property
and all other real property. The valuation for assessment for
producing mines and lands or leaseholds producing o0il and gas is to be
determined by a portion cof annual production. The anendment requires
the General Assembly to maintain the same ratio of statewide valuation
of residential property in relation to other taxable property.
Certain exemptions were made constituticnal by the amendment. The
State Board of Equalizaticr was given the power to order revaluations
for counties and enforce conformance to the constitution and the
statutory provisions concerning property taxes,

Adwministration:

Property assessment., The county assessor is responsible for the
assessment of most property within the county. The board of county
commissioners acting as the county board of equalization reviews the
valuations to raise, lower, or adjust the valuatiouns so that the
valuations are just and equalized within the county. The county board
also hears «ppeals that have been denied or refused by the county
assessor. The assessor must submit an "Abstract of Assessment" to the
state Froperty Tax HAdministrator by August 10 of each year, The
abstract 1ists the property valuations by class and subclass for the
county., The State Board of Equalization reviews and certifies the
abstracts of each county by October 15 of each year. The certified
abstract becomes the basis for the tax rcll and is sent to each county
treasurer before Janvary 1. The county treasurer collects and
disperses the property taxes to all taxing entities.
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Property tax administrator. The property tax administrator,
through the Division of Property Taxaticn, assists and cooperates in
administration of property tax laws, and promutes equalization of
property valuation in  all 63 counties. The divisiun's
responsibitities include, but are not limited to:

-- dnvestigating taxpayer complaints;

-- conducting leqislative impact studies;

-- providing technical assistance to assesscrs on valuation and
appraisals;

-~ furnishing expertise to assessors in administration of
property tax law;

-- providing reappraisal assistance to counties ordered to
reappraise;

-- conducting an annual assessors school and regional assessnent
education programs;

-~ approving epplications for exemptions for schools, and
charitable and religious properties;

-- preparing research, manuals, and developing forms and
procedures for assessors; and

-- appraising and apporticrning the value of public utility and
rail transportation properties doing business in Colorado.

Uniform valuation assessment enforcement. The 1982 consti-
tutional amendment establishes procedures to determine whether county
assessors have complied with the amendment and other laws. The
General Assembly is regquired to provide an assessment study every
year. Based on this study, if the State Board of Equalization finds
a class of property is not in compliance with the law, the board can
require the county to reappraise the class. The board may order an
independent appraisal at the county's expense if an zssessor fails to
comply with a board directive ordering a reappraisal. The county is
also Tiable for repaying excess moneys the state paid t¢ local school
districts during foresaid reappraisals.

Collections:

The county treasurer mails tax bills to all property owners as
suon as practicable after January 1 following the year the property
taxes were levied. If the taxpayer elects to make & single payment
for the full amount cf taxes, the payment is due by April 30, If the
property tax bill is ip excess of $25, two equal installments may be
made in lieu of the single payment. The first installnent is due no
later than the last day of February and the second is due by July 31.
A penalty of one percent per month 1s {nposed on overdue dJnstallment
payments.
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Prepayment of taxes. Energy development operations and mineral
extraction ¢r conversion operations are authorized to prepay property
taxes fTor credit against property taxes to be levied in the future.
These prepaid texes are to be expended on capital imprcovements which
are related to the additional public service demands created by the
operations, The taxing entity anc the property owner  jointly
determine the:

1) amount of prepeynent, not to exceed statutory limits; and
2) amounts and intervals of prepayments and credits for prepayments
within statutory limits,

Property Valuation:

Property types. There are two types of property that assessors
value for taxing purposes -- real and personal. Real property is
property that 1is permanently fixed, such as 1land and buiidings.
Certain jtems ¢f persomal property including household furnishings,
freestanding appliances, carpet and drapes, and other personal effects
are subject to taxation only if they are used to produce inccme, A1l
other types of tangible personal property are taxable.

Actual value, The actual value ¢of property, which reflects the
property's Tevel of value according tc @ base year, may be determined
hy three methods of appreisai: the market approach, the income
approach, arc¢ the cost approach, The market approach compares mavket
sales of similar properties. The cost approach estimates the material
and labor costs to replace a similar property. The income approach
converts the base year income from rent to an estimate of value.
Residentia) prcperty may be valued by cost and market approaches only,
The actual value of farm property is determined by the earning or
productive capacity of the land during a reascnable time.

Base year. The actual value for a tax year reflects the level of
value for the base year. For tax years 1983 thrcugh 1986, the base
year was 1977. The leve) of value for the base year (1977) s the
actual wvalue c¢f taxablie property as determined for the preceding
calendar year (1976). Property types not currently valued on the
base year nethcd are producing mines, c¢il and gas lands or Teaseholds,
agricultural lands, and coal and non-metallic producing mines. Rail
transportation properties are assessed 3s mandated by the Federal
Pailrovad Revitelization and Regulatory Reform Act of 1976, explaiped
on page 74, Public utilities are assessed at a 1981 level of value.
Assessurs  are currently reappraising property based on the 1985 level
of value for the 1987 assessment. Beginming January 1, 1987, a
reassessment cycle will occur every two calendar years. The base year
will aavance two years with every reassessment cycle. Beginning Janu-
ary 1, 1987, all property will be assessed on the base year method.

Assessed value. Assessed value is computed by multiplying the
actual value by the constituticrally set rate of 21 percent for
residential property and 29 percent for @11 other taxable property.
Classes of property with separate assessment provisicns include cil
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and gas lands and leaseholds, prouducing mines, and until Decenber 31,
1986, airline and railroad transportation properties.

MiTl Tevy. The local taxing authorities -- the governing boards
of counties, muricipalities, school districts, and special districts
-- determine @ mill levy for their entity each autumn. A taxing
jurisdicticn's will levy is determined by dividing the jurisdiction's
budget by its toutal assessed value. The levies are then certified by
the county commissiorers,

tach taxpayer is subject to at least two mill levies -- county
and school district. However, there are many variations amceng mill
levies due to the variety of taxing entities that impose the levies.
For exanple, a city, recreation district, fire protection district,
sanitation  district, soil conservation district, pest control
¢istrict, cemetery district, or other authorized special district or
any combination thereof, may levy a tax. A taxpayer's property tax
bil1l is determined by the combined mill Tevy of &ll the taxing
¢istricts in which his property is lecated. The amount of tax tc¢ Le
paid is determined by multiplying the mill levy by the property's
assessed value.

Fxemptions., Article X of the Colorado Constitution exewpts the
Following items from property taxation:

- h0useh01d furnishings and personal effects not used to produce
income;

-- ditches, canals, and flumes used for jrrigation;

-~ property of the state and its political subdivisions ana public
libraries;

-- property used for religicus worship, schecol property, property
used for charitable purposes as defined by statute, and nonprofit
cemeteries;

-~ self-propelled construction equipment and mctor vehicles;

-~ inventories of merchandise held for cconsumption or sale by a
business;

-~ 1ivestock and agricultural and livestock products; and

-- agricultural equipment.

Section 39-30-101, et seg., C.R.S., clarifies and further ccfines
the constitutional exemptions. Some dftems that are excluded from
property taxation through further definition of the constitutional
exemptions are:

nonprofit domestic water companies;

-~ glectric-powered motor vehicles until July 1, 1§87,

intangible property, such as stocks and bords; and

works of art, such as paintings, mosaics,and unique architectural
embel Tishments,
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Residential and Mobile Hune Property:

Residential property 1% assessed at & rate of 21 percent of the
actual value as determined for the base year. Beginning with the 1985
tax year and for years of reappraisal, the General Assembly is to
determine the assessnent rate for residential property to ensure that
the ratio of statewide valuation of residential property remains the
same as in 1985 in relatich tu ¢ther texable property.

Mobile homes' valuation for assessment is the same as other

residential property. Mobile homes that are part of a licensed
dealer's inventory are exempt.

Public Utilities:

Public utilities are referred to as state-assessed companies and
the Property Tax Administrator determines the actual value of the
operating property and piant for each public utility. Public
utilities include airline companies, electric and rural electric
companies, telephore and telegraph companies, gas and gas pipeline
carriers, domestic water companies selling at vetail, pipeline
companies, coal slurry pipelires, railrvad companies, and private car
Tine companies cenducting business in Colorado. Such companies may be
sole proprieterships, firms, partnerships, associations, companies, or
corperations and the trustees or receivers thereof, elected or
appuinted.

Factors considered in valuation for assessment, The
administrator 1s to consider the Tolluwing factors and weight those
factors to obtain a just and fair value of the property:

-- tangible property of the plant whether within or both within and
outside the state, excluding tengible property that is not
directly conrected to the utility's business within the state;

-- intangible property such as franchises, contract rights and
obligations, and rights of way;

-- gross and ret operating revenues durfng a time not to exceed the
most recent five-year period, capitalized at indicative rates;
and

-~ average narket value of previcus year's outstanding securities,
if determinable.

1f the books and records accurately reflect the utility's
tangible and intangible property and earnings within Colorado during
the niest recent five-year perivd, the administrator nay determine the
actual value from the records, negating the need to ascertain the
entire value within and cutside the state,

Adjustment to base year. The actual value of each public utility
is determined by applying an equalization factor tu adjust the actual
value for the current year of assessment to the Tevel of value in
19g1, Beginning January 1, 1987, public utilities will be assessed
under the base year method. Thus, in 1987, a factor will te applied
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to adjust the current year level cf value to the utility's level of
value in 1985 to establish actual value.

Valuation for assessment, Currently, most public utility
properties are valued at 29 percent of actual value; the assessed
value of railroad ard airline companies 1is determined as described
below. Beginning January 1, 1987, all public utilities, including
railroad ard airline properties, will be valued at 29 percent of
actual value.

Administration. Each public utility is to file with the property
tax administrator by April 15 of each year information coencerning all
property, wherever situated, as may reasonably be required to
determine the actual value and the apporticnment among the several
counties.

Apportiommert. The administrator, in the case ¢f all public
utilities, allocates to the state that proportiun of assessed value
which represents the public utility's assessed valuaticn within the
state by using commonly recognized methods of alicucation that are just
and equitable. The assessed value of public utility property is
normally apportioned to each county based on the proportion of gross
investment cost fin a county relative to gross investment cost
statewide. Railroacd company property is apportioned based on mainline
track miteage. The administrator notifies each county assessor of the
amount of public utility assessed valuation in  the county, and tre
assessor enters the amount on the tax rolls.

Rail and air transportation property. The Railrovad Revitaliza-
tion and Regulatory Retorm Act of 1976 mandates that rail transporta-
tion property cannot be assessed at a rate higher than the effective
assessment rate four other commercial and industrial property. The Tax
Equity and Fiscal Resporsibility Act ot 1982 contained a similar
provisiorn for air transportation property. Therefore, railroad and
airline companies provide funding for an annual assessment ratio study
te measure the effective assessment rate of commercial and findustrial
property. The ratic determined by the study is used to determine the
assessed value, This provisiun is effective through the 1986 property
tax year. Thereafter, property will be valued at 29 percent of actua)
value related tc the base year.

Natural Resource Property:

Mines. Mines are divided into two classes -- producing and
non-producing, Producing mines are those whose gross proceeds during
the preceding calendar year exceedea $5,000. Producing mines are
valued for assessment at an amount equal to 25 percent of {he mine's
gross proceeds. If the net proceeds of a mine exceed 25 percent of
the gross proceeds, the valuation for assessment will be the net
proceeds.  On January 1, 1987, producing mines become subject tu the
base year method of deterniining assessed valuation. Thus in 1987, the

assessed value will be related to the base year using a price index
for each mineral.

~7?-

T —
I —



Non-producinyg mines, non-metallic and coal producing miunes ave
assessed in  the same manner as other real property {29 percent of
actual value). Machinery and equipment, personal property, and
improvements other than mining inprovenents within a2 mine are valued
fur assessment separately.

Cil and gas lTeaseholds. Cil and gas leaseholds and Jands ave
valued for assessment at an amount equal to 87.5 percent of the
selling price of ¢il and gas sold or transported from the wellhead
auring the preceding calendar year. 071 and gas leaseholds utilizing
secopdary recovery, tertiary recovery, or vrecycling projects to
conserve 031 and gas are valued at an amount equal to 75 percent of
the selling price of production during the preceding calendar year.
The sellinc price ot 0il and qas delivered to the United States or the
state and 1its political subdivisions as a royalty is excluded.
Certain surface and subsurface equipment {15 ascsessed separately.
feginning Januwary 1, 1687, the assessed valuation of oil and gas
leaseholds will be determined using the level of value from the base
year. For example, in 1987, the selling price of 0il and gas in 1984
(the year preceding the base year) will be used in determining
assessed value,

Agriculture Property:

The actual value of agricultura) lands, exclusive of building
improvemerts, js determined by considering the productive capacity of
the land over a ten-year period, capitalized at a rate of 13 percent,
Wher agricultural lands become subject to the base year on January 1,
1987, the ten-year period will end in the base year. The assessed
value of building improvements on agricultural land is determined in
the same manrer a5 other property.

Credits énd Deferrals:

Tax credit for the elderly and disabled. FETlderly residents are
eligible for an 1ncome tax credit based on property taxes rpaid if they
neet established criteria. Kkesidents 65 years or older or & surviving
spouse 58 years ur older who meet the fullowing criteria are eligible
fur the income tax credit,

-~ They own or uccupy their own home, townhome, condominium, or
nubile home and are full-year residents thereof,

-- They have paid all prior years' property taxes and have not been
clained as a dependent on any other perscn's Colorado income tax.

-- They do not receive rent or income from the property.

-~ Their total iucome does not exceed $11,200 if married or $7,5CC
if single.

Disabled residents are eligible for the credit if they meet the
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above Tisted criteria, with the exception of the age 1linit, and are
disabled for the entire taxable year. They must alsc receive full
disability payments from Social Security, the Veterans Administraticn,
or a private plan, and submit & statenent of disability to the state.

Elderly and disabled persons whe neet the efcrerentionec
requirements and pay rent 1o occupy a residence may also receive an
income tax credit based on 20 percent of the actusl rent paid auring
the taxable year, not including charges for fosd and wutilities. The
credit does not apply to rents paid to nursing homes.

The credit that qualified persons may receive can never exceed
the amount of property tax or rent actually paid. The maximum credit
received is Jlimited to $500 and the $500 credit is reduced by 20
percent of income in excess of $5,000 for single persons and $&,700
for married persons,

Tax deferral. Persons 65 years or older may also defer payment
of taxes for an owner occupied non-income producing bhome, townhome,
condominium, or similar structure. The deferrel! is for one calendar
year, but may be continued on a annuai basis. The deferred taxes and
accrued interest of 8 percent per annum are required to be paid if:

1) the taxpayer claiming the deferral dies;

2) the property is sold or under contract for sale; or

3) the taxpayer moves for reasons other than i11 health; and

4) the taxpayer begins to rent the property or atherwise
receives income from it,

Severance tax credit. 0il and gas companies are allowed a credit
against tne severance tax equal to 87.5 percent of all property taxes
paid except those impeused on equipment and facilities used for
production, transportation, and storage. The credit is not allowed
for wells producing ten barrels or less per day.

Revenue Limitations - Public Disclosure:

Colorade law limits taxing entities to revenue increases of 7
percent above the previous year's revenue for taxes collected in 1987,
5.5 percent for Laxes collected in 1988, and €& percent for taxes
collected 1in 1989 and therecafter. The Timitaticn may be exceeded for
capital expenditures that have been approved by two-thirds of the
governing board voting at a public hearing. The public hearing nust
be advertised ir conformance with requirements contained in statute.
A¥1 taxing entities may obtain approval for an excess levy increase
from the electorate., Special districts have an additional option;
they may submit an excess levy increase tu the Division of Local
Government for approval. A county, city and county, city or town in
compliance with the public disclosure law may also exceed the
limitation.
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Property valuaticns that are excluded when computing the revenue
limitations are:

annexation or inclusion ¢f additional land and property;

new constructicn;

increased production by a mine if the increase in production
causes an increase in the level of services provided; and
previously legally exempt federal property that becomes
taxable, if an increase in services is required.
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The 5.5 percent limitation effective for taxes collected in 1988
applies toc home rule cities. Home rule counties are subject to the
1inits wunless their chavter has Timitations that are equal to or nore
restrictive than the statutury provisions.

Public disclosure. The limitations discussed above do not apply
to any county, city and county, city or town that adopts the public
gisclosure procedure. This procedure becomes effective when:

1) the governing buard advertises its intention to adopt the
pubTlic disclosure procedure;

2} the advertisement for the public meeting nmeets the
requirgments set forth in the public disclosure law (29-1-303,
C.R.S. )3

3) two-thirds of the governing board's members approve the
adoption of the public disclesure procedure at a public
hearing.

Once the certified mill Tevy has been determined, any governing
buard that hes adopted the public disclosure provisions that wishes to
exceed the certifiea mill levy must hold a public hearing tu increase
the Tevy. (The certified mill levy is that levy certified by the
county  assessor by the October 1 pricr to the budget year which will
reise Lhe same ameunt of preperty tax revenue as was raised during the
preceding year.) Specific statutury advertising requirements relating
to the public hearing must be met. At the hearing, the board must
adept by rescliution a mill levy for the upcoming budget year, and
gnnounce  the percent by which this mill levy exceeds the certified
rill levy.

kistory of Property Tax Revenues:

The state has not imposed a statewide property tax since 1964
although the Colorado Constitution allows & wmaximum rate of four
mills.
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Property Tax Revenue for Selected Years
by Types of Governmental Units, 1930-1984 1/
{(in miTTicens)

Special

District County Total State

ana Public General Assessed

Year State County Municipal Schoo] School 2/ Total Valuation
1930 $5.7 $10.1 $9.4 $5.8 $18.3 $49.2 $1,586.5
1635 3.3 7.7 7.8 4.8 13.5 37.0 1,088.4
1940 4.8 7.1 10.3 3.9 15,6 41,7 1,113.0
1945 4.3 10.2 10.1 3.5 19.1 47.2 1,219,2
1950 6.4 18.7 14,2 4,5 37.6 81.3 1,644.¢€
1955 10.4 28.4 20.0 8.5 66.2 133.6 2,870.7
1860 7.8 44.8 26.5 25.7 99.1 204.1 3,582.1
1961 5.4 46.6 25.4 26.7 111.5 215.¢ 3,699.7
1562 5.3 42.9 32,3 24.4 126.4 232.2 3,210.4
1963 5.1 55.2 31.8 25.¢6 140.5 258.2 3,924.7
1964 5.2 58.0 33,2 26,7 155.4 278.5 3,989.8
1965 -~ 63.6 34.3 27.8 158.4 284.,2 4,087.6
1966 -~ 66.5 36.0 28,8 174.7 306.0 4,235.8
1867 .- 71.3 37.3 30.5 194.9 334.0 4,432.6
1968 -- 75.6 38.7 32.9 213.9 361,1 4,661.2
1969 -- 79.1 4¢.9 -- 267.1 387.1 4,908.9
1870 -- 91.3 43.6 - 304.1 439.1 5,158.7
1971 -- 105.1 45.3 -- 341.86 492.0 5,464.3
1972 -- 111.4 48,9 -- 371.8 h32.0 5,984.8
1673 -- 133.7 52.9 -~ 328.8 515.4 6,688.0
1974 - 158.7 60.6 -- 395.1 614.4 7,490.1
1975 -- 190.2 66.5 -- 447.2 703.8 8,435.9
1976 -- 202.9 70.9 -- 517.3 791,1 10,058.8
1977 -- 219.9 73.3 .- 553.3 846.4 10,689.6
1978 -- 240.0 77.9 .- 570.1 888.0 11,586.3
1979 - 272.0 84.5 - 620.9 877.4 12,460.5
1980 -- 322.7 92.4 -~ 705.4 1,120.6 13,717.8
1981 -- 361.0 99.1 -~ 757.3 1,217.4 14,777.1
1982 -- 409.0 105.5 - 835.9 1,350.4 15,730.5
19863 -— 482.6 115,5 -~ 945.1 1,543.2 17,185.7
1984 - 520.0 121.8 -- 99¢€.3 1,638.1 17,905,1
1985 -- 573.5 129.5 -~ 1,114.4 1,817.4 18,740.0

1/ Division of Property Taxation, Fifteenth Annual Report, 1985,
2/ Includes General, Capital Reserve, Bond Redemption, and Junior
College funds.

-76-



Real Estate Transfer Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado
Censtitution

Cescription of Tax: The real estate transfer tax is levied at the
time real property is conveyed to a purchaser. The tax is analogous
tu a sales tax on the purchase of real property.

Fates:

Municipality Rate Municipality Rate
Aspen 0.5% Glendale 1.0%
Avon 1.0 Gypsum 1.0
Breckenridge 1.0 Rifle 6.5 to 1.5
Crested Butte 1.0% on 1st Telluride 3.0
transfers Vail 1.0
1.5% on Winter Park 1.0
subsequent
transfers
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Sales and Use Taxes

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado
Constitution; Title 29, Article 2, C.R.S.

Description cf Tax: Many counties and municipalities in Colorado levy
a safes tax on the retail sales of tangible personal property and on
some services, Colorado law vests with statutory cities and counties
the power to 1impose a sales tax by ordinance. The urdinance must
state that the persoral property and services taxable are tu be the
same as thcse taxed by the state. Counties and statutory cities must
exempt the same items as the state with the exception of machinery or
machine tools, vresidential power, and sales of food for off-prewise
consumption. The state Department of Revenue is responsible for the
collection, administration, anc enforcement c¢f these countywide cr
municipal sales taxes.

Statutory municipalities and counties are alsu authorized to levy
a2 use tax, This tax, however, may be imposed only o¢n the storage,
use, or consuiption of construction and building materials anc motor
and other vehicles on which registration is required. The collectian,
administration, and enforcement of a city or county use tax is the
responsibility of the local entity. Not all loucslities fmpose a use
tax,

The imposition of a sales or use tax by a home rule city and the
administration and collection thereof has generally been considered a
matter of local concern. Home rule cities are requirea to conform
sales tax ordinances or procedures to state law in the following
areas:

1) statute uf limitaticns relating to the enforcement of sales and
use tax collections;

[ah]
——r

statute of limitations applicable to refunds of sales 3and use
taxes;

3) the amount of penalties and 9Interest peyable on delinquent
remittances of such taxes;

4) the posting of bonds;
5) the use of a standard reporting form; and
6) the dispute resolution process for deficient taxes.
Colorado law does permit the Department of Revenue, at the
request of the home rule city, to administer, collect, and distribute
the sales tax of the hone rule city. For this to occur, the home rule

city's sales tax ordinance must tax and exeupi the same items as the
state. Again, the optiuns of machinery and machine tools, residential
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pewer, and food are available to home rule cities for which the state
collects the tax,

State statutes 1imit the total state, county, and municipal sales
tax to 7 percent or to 8 percent if that rate is necessary to allow a
county to impose & 1 percent sales tax. Thus, a 4 percent municipal
levy in conjunction with a 3 percent state levy could not prohibit 4
county from levying a 1 percent tax. The state tourism tax is not
included in the statutory 1imit on sales taxes.

Counties and Municipalities Levying Tax: The chart on the following
pages illustrates the sales and use tax rates in the cities and
counties of the state. The Regional Transportation District (RTD} tax
is included for applicable jurisdiction.
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ADAMI 2

Rates

COUNTY -

crty

Arvada (part)
Aurara (part!
Bennett *

Brighton
Broomfileld [(part)
Commerce City
Federal Helghts
Northglenn
Thort.on
Wesiminster {(part)
Bennett

ALAMDS A

Alamosa

ARAPAHOE \2

Aurara [(part)}

Cherry Hills Village

Columbine Valley

Englewaod
Glendale
Greanwood Village
Littleton (part)}

Sheridan *

ARCHULETTA #

BACA »

Springfield ¥

BENT *

Las Animas

BOULDER \z2

Boulder
Broomfield (part)
Lafayette
Longmont
Louisville *
Lyons

Nedarland

Ward *

CHAFFEE »

Buena Vista x
Salida +
Poncha Springs #

CHEYENNE =

Cheyenne Walls
Kit Carson

CLEAR CREEK =*

Empire
Georgetown
Idaha Springs
Silver Plume *

for Ceunties,

CITY COUNTY
RATE
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L00%
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.00
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O
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_00
.00
.25
is exempt from the
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.50
.00
.00
.00
it
.00
-00
.00
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Municipalities, RTD, and State--July I,
RTD TOTAL
and ITNCLUDING
STATE COUNTY - -
RATE RATE A\t CITY
O.60% 3.60% CONEJOS »
0.6D0 6. 60 Antanita *
0.60 7.10 La Jara
0. oy 5. N0 Manassa #*
0.80 .60 Romeo *
.80 5. BQ
Q.80 £.00 COSTILLA *
0.0 5.80 Blanca *
Q.67 .80 San Luis #
.60 5,60
0. 60 H BS CRUWLEY #
RTD rate. Ordway
3.0 6.00 CUBTER
4.00 7.00 Silver Cliff
Hestaliffe ¥
U.60 1.60
0.60 7.10 DELTA *
0.80 6. Fy Cedaredgs
4.60 .60 Delta
0.60 6.860 Hotchkiss #*
D.BD G.60 Paonta ¥
0.60 E 60
0.60 §.60 DENVER, Cty & Co \2Z
0.60 6.60
DOLORES *
2.1 5.00 Dave Creek
Rico »
0.0 3.00
0.00 5.00 DOUGLAS \2 »
i 00 4 a0 Castle Reck
1.06 6. GD Larkspur *
Littleton (part)
0. &0 .80 Parker
F,
o' 60 &0  EAGLE x
0.60 5 60 Avon *
n.§0 8.35 Basalt
0.80 5. 60 Eagle *
0.60 6. 60 Gypsum *
0.60 6. 60 Mintarn *
0. 60 5 &0 Red Cliff »
Vail *
2.00 5.00 ELBERT *
2.00 7.040
2.Q0 6.00 EL PASC %
2.00 §.00 Calhan
Colorado Springs
0.00 3.00 Fountaln
Q.00 5 00 Green Mtn. Falls =»
¢.00 5.Q0 Manitou Springs
Monument
1.90 4.00 Palmer Lake
1.00 7.00
1.00 7.00 FREMONT
1.00 T.00 Canon City
1.00 7.00 Florence
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SALES TAXES IN COLORADU
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UNTY -~
CI1TY

ARFIELD &
Carbeondale
Glenwood Springs
New (astle
Parachute
Rifle
Silt

[LPIN *
Black Hawk #
Cantral Clty
|
TAHD *
Fraser
Granby
Grand Lake
' Hot Sulphur Springs
Kremmling #*
Winter Park #*

INNISON *
Crested Butte
Gunnisan
Marble *

~ Mt. Crested Butte
Pitkin »

NGDALE

IERE AN+
La Yeta *
Walsenburg

CKSON *

FFERSON 2 +
Arvada [part)
Broomfield (party
| Edgewater
Golden
Lakewood
Morrison
Mountain Viaw *
Weslminster (part)
Wheat Ridge

WA »
Eads

[ CARSOHN #
Burlingt-n

LE *

PLATA ¥
Bayfield +
Nurango
ignaci.o *

RTD
. and
CITY COUNTY
RATE RATE
0.2h%
3.00% D.25
2. 75 0.2h
2.00 0. 25
3.00 0.2%
2.00 D.25
3.00 c.25
0.00
4.00 0.00
4.00 0.00
1.00
4.00 1.00
4.00 1.00
?.DD 1.00
. G0 1.00
4.00 1.00
4.00 1.0D0
1.00
4.00 1.00
.00 1.00
£.00 1.00
4. .00 1 10
30D 1.00
4.00
1.00
2.00 1.00
2.00 1.00
3.00
1.10
3.00 1.10
3.00 1.10
3.00 1,10
2.00 1.10
2.00 1.10
3.0n I 10
3 90 I 10
3.24% 1 14
2 00 1.10
0.040
2.00 0.00
a.4q0
2.04 Q.00
2.00
2.00
1.0Q 2.0Q
2.00 2.00
1 OQ 2.40

TOTAL
INCLUDING
STATE COUNTY~~
RATE A1 CITY
3 25% LARMIER *
6. 00 Berthoud
5.756 Estes Park x
5.00 Fort Collins
6.00 Loveland
5.00 Wallington
B.0D
LAS ANIMAS x
3.00 Trinidad
7.00
7.00 LINCOLN *
Liman
4.00
8.00 LOGAN *
8.00 Sterling
8.00
B.OO MESA
B.0OD Collbran X
8.00 De Bugue *
Fruita
4.00 Grand Junction
8.00 Palisade ¥
T.00
6.00
a nn MIRERAL *
M Creede ¥
T.07
HMOFFAT x
T.00 Craig *
4.00 MONTEZUMA %
6.00 Cortez
6.00 Dolores *
8.00 HONTROSE *
Montrose
4.10 Naturita
T.10 Nucla x
7.10 Olathe *
T.10
6.10 MORGAN *
6.10 Brush
T.10 Fort Morgan
7.10 Wiggins *
7.35
6.10 OTERC =
Fowler %
3.00 La Junta
5.00 Manzanola
Rocky Ford
3.00
5.00 OURAY =
Ouray *
$.00 Rigeway *
5.00 PARK *
6.00 Fatrplay *
7.00
.00 PHILLIPS x*
Haxtun
Holyoke
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RTD

and

CITY COUNTY
RATE RATE
0.00%

2.00% 0.00
4.00 0.00
2.75 Q.00
3.00 0.00
2.00 0.00
0.00

4.00 0.00
0.00

2.00 .00
0.00

2.00 0.00
2.00

2.00 2.00
2.00 2.00
2.00 2.00
2.00 2.00
1.00 2.00
1.00

2.00 1.00
2.00

2.00 2.00
0.00

3.50 0.00
2.00 0.00
0.00

2.00 0.00
2.00 0.00
2.00 Q.00
2.00 0.00
0.00

2.00 0.00
3.00 0,00
2.00 0.00
.00

2.00 Q.00
3.00 0.00
2.00 a.00
3.00 0.ao0
1.00

3.00 1.00
3.00 1.00
Q.00

3.00 0.00
0.00

1.00 0.00
1.50 0.00
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INCLULING
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RTD TOTAL _ RTD TOT

. and 1MCLUDING and INCLUDI

COUNTY-- CI1TY COUNTY STATE COUNTY -- CITY COUNTY STA
CITY RATE RATE RATE \1 CITY - RATE RATE RA
PITKIN * 3.00% 6.00% SUMMIT * 2. 0hx 5
Aspen * 1.00%  3.00 7.00 Breckenridge » 2.00% 2. 00 7.
Basalt 2.00 2.00 7.00 Dillion 2 0u 2 0On 7.
Snowmass Village x 1.00 3.0¢ 7.00 Frisco ¥ 2. 40 2.00 7.
Silverthorne ¥ z2.00 2.00 7.

PROWERS * 0.00 3.00

Granada 2.00 0.00 5.00 TELLER 1.00 4.
Holly =* 1.00 Q.00 4.00 Cripple Creek x* Z2.00 1.00 6.
Lamar 3.00 0.00 6.00 Woodland Park 3.00 1.00 7
PUEBLC * 0.00 3.00 WASHINGTON * 0.00 3.
Pueblo 3.50 0.00 6.50 Sizon 1 a0 0.00 4.

8 2 00 0.00 .

RIO BLANCO 2.00 5.00 5
WELD * Q.00 3.
RIC GRANDE x 1.00 4.00 Ault 2.00 .00 5.
Del Neorte % 2.00 1.00 5.00 Dacano 1.00 Q.00 4
. . . .
Honte Vista % 2.00 1.00 8.00 Eaton * 2.D00 D.00 5.
ROUTT x 0.00 3. 00 Erie 3.50 0.0¢ 6.
Hayden 1.00 0.00 6.00 Evans 3.00 G.00 6.

o ’ : . Firestone 2.00 2.00 5,

ak Creek * 3.00 0.00 6.00 Fort Lupton 2.00 0. 00 5
Steamboat Springs 4.00 0.00 7.00 e 4 : : :
arden Clty ¥ 2.00 0.00 5.

SAGUACHE * 9.00 3.00 Gilotest 3% .00 5.
Center * 2.00  0.00 5.00 ree ey -00 9 2-
Saguache * 2.00  0.00 5.00 Hudson x .00 D.00 >
: . Johnston * 2.00 a.oc 5.
SAN JUAN * 1.00 4.00 goonosburg ¥ go0  0.00 -y
Silverton * 3.00 1.00 7.00 Lo e 1n o 0~gﬂ .
SAN MIGUEL * 0.00 3.00 Lochbuie 2.QQ 0.¢0 5.
N * Mead 2.00 ¢.00 5,
orweod 2.00 0.00 5.00

Telluride 4.00  0.0D 7.00 Milliken * 2.00 0.00 5.

) . : Platteville * 2,00 G.00 5.

SEDGWICK 1.00 4.00 Roaedale 1.00 0.00 4
Julesburg 1.00  1.00 4.00 Severance c o0 0.u b
Sedgwick * 1.00 1.00 4.00 indsae san 0,00 '
YUMA + 0 00 K|

Wray 1. .00 0.00 4

Y oma Do TR VI b

t Thease entitias DO HOT colleat local use taxes.
.1 Includes the combined sales tax rate tor the municipalibtics, the countiesn,

the Regionnl Transportation District (RTD) where applicable, anj the state,

On May 1. 1883, a tax of ~ne-tenth of one percent ( 1%) was levied on the sales
At taxable food.drink, lodging services, skiing, auto rentals and admissions
The tourist tax 18 NOT included in the total rate

\% Tncludes RTD sales tax of .8 of 1 percent levied in the fullowing oot bes: N
Boulder and Jefferson counties, the metropolitan aress of Adams aud Arspahoe counties,
the nartheasl portion of Douglas County, and the City and County of Danver.

Faod for home consumption aad gas and electricty for hume use are exempt from Lhe tax.
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Sspecific Ownership Tax

Enacted; 1937

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 6,
Colorado Counstitution; Title 42, Article 3, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Factory list price provides the basis for this tax imposed
on every motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or vehicle which is
operated or drawn upon any highway in the state. For taxation
purposes, motor vehicles are divided into the following classes:

Class Motor Vehicle Type

A Every motor vehicle, truck, truck tractor, semitrailer, and
trailer used over any public highway for compensation whether
or not under contract (state collected tax)

B Every truck, truck tractor, trailer, and semitrailer not
included in class A (county collected)

¢ Every motor vehicle not included in class A or B (county
collected)

n Every utility trailer, camper trailer, and trailer coach
{county collected)

F A11 mobile machinery and self-propelled constructicn equipment
(county collected).

(MCTE: There is ro longer a class E category)

Tax Rate: The taxable value for class A and B vehicles is 75 percent
ot the manufacturer's suggested retail price. The taxable value for
class C and D vehicles is 85 percent of the manufacturer's suggested
retail price, C(lass F vehicles' taxable value is either:

1) the factory 1ist price and, if equipnent has been mounted on
the vehicle, the factory list price and 75 percent of the
original price of mounted eguipment, or

2) when the factory 1ist price is not available, 75 percent of
origiral retail delivery price plus 75 percent of original
retail delivery price of mounted equipment, or

3) when (1) and (2) are not ascertainable, then the value is
determined by the property tax administrator.
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The tax is computed using the folluwing schedule:

Fee or
Years of Percent of
Service Class Taxable Value
Ist A,B,C,D,F 2.10%
2nd A,B,C,D,F 1.50%
3rd A,B,C,D 1.20%
F 1.25%
4th A,B,C,DC G.90%
F 1,00%
5th F 0.75%
5th - Sth A,B 0.45% or $10.00
whichever is greater
C.D 0.45%
6th and over F .50% but not
less than $5.00
10th and over A $10.00
B,C $3.00
D 0.45% or $3.00

whichever is greater

In Ylieu of taxes, equipment dealers that rent or lease class F
vehicles may purchase a decal for $5.00 for each item of equipment to
be rented or leased. The owner collects from the user and transmits
to the county a specific ownership tax of 2 percent of the rental or
lease payment.

Exemptions:

--  Motor houmes;

--  Vehicles displaying plates issued by the U.S. armed forces
in a foreign country {45 day exemption);

- E]ec?ric-powered motor vehicles (exempt until July 1,
1987);

-- U.S. and Colorado government vehicles;

--  Vehicles leased by the state;

--  Firetighting vehicles, pclice ambulances, farm tractors,
and mcbile machinery and self-propelled construction
equipment not operated on highways;

--  Cne class B and one class C vehicle weighing less than
6,500 pounds owned by a disabled veteran or P.D.W.

Administration and Collection: Class A taxes are collected by the
Department of Revenue and are due no later tharn January 1 of each
year. Counties collect taxes for class B, C, D, and F vehicles, and
the taxes which are due at the time of registratiun each year,
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History of Tax Pates: The 1937 law that created the tax had two
classes of motor vehicles. The tax rates follow:

Year Rate

Ist 3% of 70% of factory list price

2nd 3% of 50% of factory list price

3rd 3% of 40% of factory list price

4th 3% of 30% of factory list price

5th 3% of 15% of factory list price

6th and Not more than $3.50 per year for class
succeeding £, and a $1.50 flat rate for class B,
years

The taxable value was set at 75 percent of the retail delivery price
in 1953, The rate uf tax was amended in 1953 and in 1969. In 1921
the taxable value for class C and D vehicles was set at 85 percent.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue from class A is credited to the
Highway Users Tax Fund and apportionea to the cities and counties
according to the number of miles of state highways within their
jurisdiction., Class B, C, D, and F moneys are deposited with the
county treasurers. Fifty cents of each collection is kept by the
county as reimbursement for the cost of collection and 50 cents s
credited to a special fund for a statewide data processing system
(42-1-210.1, C.R.S.).

Collections: 1/

Specific Ownership Tax Kkeceipts
{$ in Millions)

Estimated Estimated
Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collection Change Year Collection Change
197€ 1/ 19¢1 $ 99.3 6.6%
1977 1/ 1942 105.1 5.8
1978 $81.5 1883 118.6 12.8
1879 86. 5.5% 1984 129.4 9.1
1980 93.1 8.2 1985 131,¢ 1.6

1/ Department of Revenue figures. Totals for 1976 and 1977 were not
separated from other tax collections. The collections are fiscal
year estinates because the tax is collected on & calendar year
basis.
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The taxes listed below are also levied by the nunicipalities

indicated.

Type of Tax

Service expansioun

Car rental

Dog track wagering

Miscellaneous Municipal Taxes

Municipality

Cherry Eills Village

Colorado Springs

Commerce City

-86-
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APPENDIX

Major Tax Sources of Cther States

The following table contains the major taxes imposed 1in each
state, the ancunt of tax revenue received by source, and the
percentage of the total yield each tax represents, as repcrted by the
Commerce Clearing House State Tax Guide. The amount of tax collected
and the yield for each tax are 1984 figures,

The taxes presented are: income -- personal, corporate, or
combined; sales and use; motor fuel; oil and gas/severance; and public
utiTities. Motor fuel taxes include taxes for gasoline, diesel fuel,
and other special fuels. Inspection fees are included where noted,
The oil and gas/severance tax may be an 0il and gas severance tax or a
severance tax on other natural resources. Natural resources taxed as
a severance tax may include a variety of materials such as gravel,
salt, fish, timber, or metallic minerals, Public utility taxes are
usually levied on the gross receipts or earnings of a public utility
which may be in addition to other taxes on a utility.

Some taxes have been omitted due to the low yield to the states.
These taxes include cigarette, alcohol, estate, irnheritance, gift,
insurance, and property. Motor vehicle registration fees are not
included.

Additional taxes were added 1if the tax provided niore than two
percent of & state's total tax revenue. These taxes include:
property; frenchise -- taxes placed on stock shares; stamp -- levied
on mortgages, bonds and certificates of indebtedness; gambling taxes
-~ levied on casing entertainment and gross revenues; dividend and

interest -- levied on bonds, notes, money, and debts; motor vehicle
excise -- levied on the value of the transfer of ownership; meals and
room -- levied on room rentals and meals; compensating -- levied on

tangible personal property used; and business and cccupations --
levied on gruss receipts of sale or gross income.
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APPENDIX

MAJOR TAX SOURCES IN EACH STATE
Total Collections and Percant of Total of All Tax Sources
11984 collections in millions)

Income Taxes

Sales Motor (il & Gas/ frat L.
S5tate Personal Corporate Combined & Use Fuel Severance [Tt it
Alabama - -- $847.0  $735 3 §254.9 $119.3 oA 5
31.3% 27.2% 9.4% 4.4% HoH%
Alaska - $305.8 - -- 3z L3330
165.6% 1.6% 70.R%
Arizona - - - T25.6 1,140.7 193. 3 o
28.7% 45.2% T 7% ot
Arkansas $540. 3 - - -- 562 7 134.8 271 [
A5.1% 36. 4% 9.1% 1.8% T
California 9,238.%6 3,222.4 -- 8,787.0 1,212.9 175
36.1% 12.6% 34 . 3% 3.6% 0.1%
Calorado -- -- 851.4 791.4 188.7 30,0 AR
39.9% 37.1% 8.9% 1. 4% 0 1%
Connecticut - B680.5 -- 1,338.1 246.7 - 287 h
22.1% 43.4% 8.0% B o4%
Delaware 343 .5 44 .9 -- 64 .45 37 4 -- 24 4
48, 2% 6.3% 9.1% 5.3% 3.4%
Florida -- 365.5 - 3,881.0 621.6 157.8 149 .6
5.0% 54.3% 8. 6% 2.2% 2.0%
Geonrgia -- - 1.78Yy.7 1.361 . & are.s -
45 1% 34 4% 4.4%
Hawaili -- —-- LR gy 34 H 50 8
h'% b . 8% 4 RBe
Idaho -- B3¢ I T3¢ YA{IRY) 1 3 L
36, Vs M 4 | P [ [FIn 4
Illinois -~ - 3,525 0 2,8f1 1 53 v S840
40 . h% 30, 5% B. 1% o
Indiana -- 1,344, 9 1,444+ b 331 B
33.3% d1% 8.2%
Iowa -- -- 220 .1 73613 196.1 --
41.1% 32.8% 8.8%
Kansas -~ -= 704.1 518 9 143. 117.0
39.4% 29 0% B.0% B.6
Kantucky -- - 908.7 754.3 200. 7 2016 -
32.5% 27.0% 7.2% 7.2%
Louisiana - - #69. 2 885.5 195.9 ge.l 8.0
21.4% 28.3% 6.3% 5. 3¢ 1 3%
Maine -- 314.0 316.4 85.2 -- ok 8
34 1% 34 3% 9.04% 2.B%
Marvliand - - -- 1,802.8 988 .1 290 .3 R4 B
45 . 7% 25.0% 7.4% A 4



incoma Taxes

Sales Moter O©Oil & Gas/ Public
Gtate Personal Corporate Combined & Upa Fusl Severanca tilities
Massarhusetts 2,790.1 T29.6 -- 1,248 1 274 .49 -~ - -
47 . 8% 12.5% 21.4% 4. 7%
Michigun 3,383. 8 1,290.0 -~ 2,273.1 561.1 T3 3 --
49 5% 15.1% 26. 9% 64.0% 0.8%
Minnesnta - - -- 2,621.0 1,250.8 332 .6 T4.1 TO., T
51.6% 24, 6% 6.6% 1.5% 1.4%
Mississippi -- -- 370.3 866.0 122.4 103.9Q 3.5
21.3% 49._8% 7.0% 5.9% 0.2%
Missouri -- -= 1,069.3 1,328.5 197.0 -~ --
35.0% 43.5% B.5%
Maontana -- - 205.7 - 79.2 134.6 9.8
35. 3% 13.6% 23.1% 1.7%
Mebraska - -- ari.z 374.5 130.0 4.5 -
34.7% 35.0% 12.2% 0.4%
Nevada -- - - 411 .4 71.8 0.8 2.8
) 47 . 8% 8.3% 0% 0.3%
New Hampshire -- 895.7 -~ -~ £4.5 -~ .1
22.6% 15.2% 1.4%
New Jersey 1,732.0 895.2 -- 2,064.0 30L1.2 -- B72.4
24.3% 12.5% 26.9% 4.,2% 12.2%
New Mexico -- -- 128.3 578.4 107.1 367.5 5.4
9.3% 42.0% 7.8% 26.7% 0.4%
New York 9,374.0 1.524.6 -~ 3,900.4 422.2 -- 1,081.4
49.8% B.1% 20.7% 2.2% 5.8%
North Carolina -- -- 2,153.0 1,002.1 388.6 1.3 335.86
46.4% 21.6% 8.6% . 0% 7.2%
North Dakota -- -~ 117.7 204.1 53.8 199.8 10.1
17.2% 29.9% 7.9% 29.2% 1.5%
Ohio 2.,4686.8 524 .49 -- 2.604.2 616.0 6.6 610.1
65.8% 7.8% 32.6% 7.7% 0.1% 7.6%
Oklahama .= -~ 755.1 456.7 145. 5 703.7 14.0
LB, 4% 17.2% 5.5% 26.4% 0.5%
tlregon 1,217.8 1441 - - -- 105.4 28.7 8.7
B5. 8% 7.8%
Pennsylvania 2.536.9 865 .3 -~ 2.720.7 £598.5 - 707.2
26. 4% 9.3% 28 .3% 6.3% 7.7%
Rhnde Island 285.1 59.3 - 247.8 45.4 - 59.9
5. 2% T.3% 30 . 8% 5.6% T A%
South Carol}na -- -~ 954 .8 798.9 237.4 az.0
40, 0% 33. 5% 10.0% 1.3%
South Dakota .- 17.8 - - 179.2 KT.7 8.9 -
5.0% 49._9% 16.1% 2.5%
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Income Taxes

Sales Motor 0Oil & Gas/ Public

State Personal Corporate Combined & Use Fuel Severance Utilities

Tennesses -- 281.G - 356.7 290.0 - 0.0
11.2% £4 0% 11.6% 1.2%

Texas - 630.1 --  3,803.86 515. 5 z.237. 2 300.0
6.5% s 5. 3% 22 6% 3.1%

Utah 386.1 45.0 -- 520.1 88.0 a8 .4 2.5
32.3% 3.8% 44.2% T.4% 3.2% 0.2%

Vermont -- -- 154.8 101.0 3r.¢ 14 2
37.5% 24 .5% g.0% 3.4%

Virginia 1,760.7 242. 7 -- 943.5 325.0 1.4 121.8
43 . 3% 6.0% 23. 4% 8.0% 0% 3.0%

Washington -- -- -~ 1,950.2 338.8 - 134 .9
42.9% T.5% 3.0%

Wast Virginia 394.7 92.2 -- 262.17 159.7 -- 5.1
23.0% 65_4% 15. 3% 9.3% D.3%

Wisconsin -- - 2,575.4 1,374.6 343.9 0.9 134.7
50, 3% 26.9% 6.7% .D% 2.6%

Wyoming -- - -- 177.1 6.5 3ap. 3 --

22.1% 4.6% 48 . 4%

ADDITIONAL TAXEDS TN OTHER STATES HAVING MORE THAN A 2% YIELD

. _ N Revenue Percent
PMroprrty Tax -Gtate Levied {miilions) of Yield
Al shama $56 6 C.1%
Florida 244 . 9 5'%
Kentuchy 224 . B 8‘2
Mary!land 139.7 3'0
Montana 8.8 Hj7
Nevada 2.3 17
New Hampshire 16, 3.8
Pennsylvania 300 B 3.1
Washington 469 . 5 19.3
Wisconsin L668.3 3.3
Franchise Tax
Delaware B1.8 11.5%
New York 1.5824.8 a1
Stamp Tax
Florida 297.7 4.1
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ADDITIONAL TAXES TN OTHEKR STATES HAYING MORE THAN A 2% YIELD

kevenue Parcent

ambh ]l ing Taxes ot liions ) of Yield
Nevada T T T
{entertainment) 15.0 1.8
{gambling) 164.9 19.2

New Jersey (gambling) 152.8 1 8

Dividend and Interest Tax

New Hampshire h - $22.2 0

Motor Vehicle Excise Tax

COklahoma 63.8 PR |
Virginia 116.0 T3

Meals and foooom

Voermont A h 5
Compensating

Washington 1601 3.3
Business and Orcupations

Washington ) LG 4 13 1

West Virginia LN IS in.e
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