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THE MEDICAID APPEALS PROCESS 

By Ryan Long 
 
 Federal and state laws allow Medicaid 
applicants and clients who have their benefits 
denied, terminated, or reduced to appeal the 
decision.  This issue brief provides an overview 
of the Medicaid appeals process in Colorado. 
 
Background 
  
 The Colorado Department of Health Care 
Policy and Financing (HCPF) oversees and 
operates Colorado’s Medicaid program, with the 
administration of public benefits occurring at the 
county level.  Eligibility is determined through 
the Colorado Benefits Management System 
(CBMS), which is a database system that 
processes applications for public benefits. 
 
 
Filing an Appeal 
 
 As of September 1, 2016, Medicaid clients 
have 60 days after the notice of an intended 
action to file an appeal.  An intended action is 
the suspension, termination, or modification of a 
client’s medical assistance benefits.  Under 
current law, HCPF is required to mail a written 
notice to Medicaid clients at least ten days 
before an intended action.  Notices include an 
explanation of the intended action, the reasons 
for taking the action, and an explanation of the 
process going forward.   
 
 Status of benefits.  If a Medicaid recipient 
files an appeal before the intended action goes 
into effect, medical assistance benefits 
automatically continue until the end of the

 
appeals process.  Medicaid recipients can 
choose to stop benefits during the appeals 
process by making a written request.  If a 
recipient chooses to continue benefits, HCPF 
can seek to recover the cost of any services 
provided during the appeals process if the client 
is determined ineligible.   
 
 Requesting a hearing.  An applicant or 
client may request a hearing if he or she 
believes the action was incorrect, the 
application for services was improperly denied, 
or the application was not addressed in the 
required time frame.  A request for a hearing 
must be in writing and contain:  
 

 the recipient/applicant’s name, address, 
and state identification number 
(if applicable); 

 the action or decision being appealed; 
and 

 the reason for the appeal.  
 

 A Medicaid applicant or recipient and his or 
her authorized representative are entitled to 
examine the complete case file and all 
documents used for the hearing.  If an applicant 
or recipient makes an oral request for a 
hearing, a written request can be prepared for 
the client’s signature.  HCPF will also arrange 
to have a qualified interpreter if the applicant or 
recipient is not fluent in English or has a 
language difficulty. 
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Hearings Process 
 
 An administrative law judge at the Office of 
Administrative Courts (OAC), which is an 
independent agency within the executive 
branch, conducts Medicaid hearings.   
 
 Fair hearings.  The OAC must give at least 
10 days’ notice of the hearing date for the 
appeal, and all hearings must occur within 
45 days of the hearing request.  Hearings 
related to a disability determination, level of 
care determination, or target group eligibility 
must occur within 20 days of the hearing 
request.  Unless otherwise requested, hearings 
are private and can be conducted either 
face-to-face or over the phone. 
 
 Denial of a hearing occurs when an 
applicant or recipient withdraws his or her 
request in writing or fails to appear at the 
scheduled hearing without good cause.  If an 
administrative law judge finds that there was 
good cause for missing the hearing, he or she 
can reschedule the hearing for another date.  
 
 Initial decisions.  Administrative law judges 
will issue an initial decision to the Office of 
Appeals in HCPF soon after the hearing.  Initial 
decisions rely solely on evidence introduced in 
the hearings, and:  
 

 summarize the facts; 
 identify the regulations and evidence 

supporting the decision; and 
 explain that failing to file exemptions 

waives the right to seek judicial review 
of a final agency decision. 

  
 Hearings concerning disability 
determinations only consider whether the 
recipient meets the Medicaid definition of 
disability or blindness.  
 
 Anyone who seeks to reverse, modify, or 
remand an initial decision must file exceptions 
with the Office of Appeals within 18 days 
(including 3 days for mailing) of the date the 
initial decision was mailed.  Exceptions must be 

in writing and state the specific grounds for 
requesting a reversal, modification, or remand 
of the initial decision.  
 
 Final agency decisions.  After the initial 
decision is filed with the HCPF Office of 
Appeals, HCPF issues a final agency decision 
based on the record of:  
 

 the written transcript of testimony and 
exhibits; 

 all papers and requests filed in the 
proceeding; 

 the initial decision of the administrative 
law judge; and 

 any exceptions and requests filed in 
response to the initial decisions.  

 
 Unless an extension has been granted, the 
Office of Appeals will issue the final agency 
decision within 90 days of the date the request 
for a hearing was received.  If the final decision 
is favorable for the appealing client, corrective 
action occurs within three working days of the 
final decision, retroactive to the date of the 
incorrect action. 
 
 An applicant or recipient can file a written 
motion for reconsideration with the Office of 
Appeals within 15 days of the final decision.  
Applicants can file a motion if they can provide 
a good reason for not filing exemptions within 
the required time frame, or by showing that the 
final decision was based on a clear error of fact 
or law.  
 
 
Dispute Resolution Process 
 
 Medicaid applicants and recipients can also 
request to enter the dispute resolution process 
with their county department of human services, 
either before or after an appeal.  Every county 
department or service delivery agency is 
required to offer dispute resolution to clients as 
an alternative to the formal appeal process.  If a 
dispute is resolved through the dispute 
resolution process, any pending appeals are 
withdrawn and dismissed.   
 


