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INTRODUCTION

The following pages present an outline of state and local taxes imposed in
Colorado. The Colorado Lottery has also been included as it is a significant source of
income for several governmental purposes. Not included in this report are specific
license and registration fees, permits, revenues from fines and court costs, and interest

_ earnings.

L - Constitutional and Statutory Fiscal Requirements

Below are outlined the requirements placed on the state and on local
’ governments under which these governments operate within a balanced budget, a certain
F- level of financial reserves, and limitations on percentage increases on state
. appropriations and local revenues.

e —
Requirement Citation
State shall have a balanced budget Article X, Section 16,
Colorado Constitution
ke Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights (Amendment No. 1) Article X, Section 20,
. (approved by electorate November 3, 1992) Colorado Constitution
Required reserve for state government 24-75-201.1 (1) (d), C.R.S.

(3 percent of general fund expenditure for FY 1992-93 minus
$14 million)

Beginning FY 1991-92: 24-75-201.1 (1) (a), C.R.S.
(The lesser amount of 5 percent of Colorado personal income or
6 percent over the previous year’s total state appropriation)

— Restriction on local government revenues 29-1-301 (1), C.R.S.
(increased revenue from property taxes may not be in excess of
5 1/2 percent, with certain exceptions such as increased revenue
from new construction and annexations)

ARTICLE X, Section 20, Colorado Constitution

: Article X Section 20 was adopted by a vote of the people on November 3, 1992.
- A brief description of the amendment is provided below.

- Voter Approval of Tax Increases. Debt

3 Voter approval is required for any new tax, tax rate increase, mill levy increase
over the prior year, any increase in the assessment ratio for a class of property, any




extension of an expiring tax, or any tax policy change that causes a net tax revenue
increase. The electorate’s approval is also required for the creation of most financial
obligations that extend beyond the current fiscal year unless government sets aside
enough money to fund the obligation in all years that payments are due. Other changes
that would weaken the current limits on government revenue, spending, and debt would
‘require voter approval. Voter approval can be temporarily suspended for tax increases
in declared emergencies and when revenue is insufficient to meet payments for general
obligation debt, pensions, and final court judgments.

Local Government Revenue Limits

Local governments are limited to the annual rate of growth in property tax
revenue for local governments (except school districts) to the rate of inflation plus the
net change in the actual value of local real property due to additions and deletions from
the tax rolls and construction and destruction of improvements to real property. Certain
funds are excluded from the base figure used for calculating the annual property tax
revenue limit such as principal and interest payments on government bonds, voter
approved revenue increases, emergency taxes, taxpayer refunds, and federal funds.
Exceptions from this revenue limit can be approved by voter approval.

Prohibited Taxes

Any new or increased real estate transfer taxes, any local income tax, and any
new state real property tax is prohibited under the amendment. Any future state income
tax law change is required to have a single tax rate with no added surcharge and any
state income tax law change may not take effect until the following tax year.

The descriptions of state and local taxes that follow include some of the impacts
of the new Constitutional limitation where staff was sure of the amendment’s
interpretation. However, there are areas where the amendment may have an impact but
the interpretation of the law is not clear or definitions have not been made. Those
areas will be updated afier the General Assembly and the courts provide some
interpretation and direction.

Total Tax Collections

Table I on the following page shows that Colorado state government collected
nearly $3.5 billion in taxes for FY 1992 from eighteen tax sources. Of total
collections, 70.2 percent were collected from two sources: personal income tax and
sales tax. In addition to tax revenues, the state collected approximately $25.3 million
in court receipts, $25.9 million from other sources, and $5.6 million from interest
income during fiscal year 1992 which are not included in Table I.




Several tax revenues are earmarked for special purposes. Earmarked taxes
include unemployment insurance, motor fuel, tourism promotion, and severance taxes
as well as the Colorado Lottery. Revenues from some other taxes are earmarked, e.g.,
the first part of collections from liquor and sales taxes goes to the Old Age Pension

_Fund.

TABLE 1

TOTAL STATE TAX COLLECTIONS FOR FY 1992

Collections Without Regard to Fund Disposition
($ in Millions)

‘ Fiscal Percent
Tax 1992 of Total
Individual Income (net) $1,608.4 46.2%
Sales 837.0 24.0%
Motor Fuel 355.4 E"
Unemployment Insurance 2 167.8 4.8%
Corporate Income (net) 124.0 3.6%
Insurance Premiums 89.1 2.6% |
Lottery 76.0 2.2%
Use 69.0 _2.0%
| Cigarette 57.3 1.6%
Estate (including Inheritance and Gift) 34.3 1.0%
Liquor 21.8 0.6%
Severance 16.1 0.5%
Tourism Promotion 10.1 0.3%
Pari-Mutuel Racing 8.3 0.2%
Tobacco Products 4.3 0.1%
Other Excise 3.2 0.1%
Gross Ton-Mile ? 1.3 0.0%
Controlled Substances 0.0 _0.0% |
TOTAL $3,483.4 100.0%

- SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control (and Department of Revenue for Lottery, Gross Ton-Mile,

Severance, Tourism, and Motor Fuel).

1. Gross (total) collections unless otherwise noted.

2. Unemployment insurance taxes are estimated for calendar year 1992 collections.

3. Tax replaced by higher vehicle registration fees.




I. GENERAL FUND

All monies not earmarked by the constitution or by statute for special funds are
credited to the general fund. This fund is the state’s major operating fund. The major
taxes credited to the fund include personal income, sales and use, corporate income,
and several excise taxes. Other taxes credited to the fund are: cigarette; tobacco;
insurance premiums; liquor; pari-mutuel racing; and the estate taxes. State inheritance
and gift taxes are no longer levied but some collections continue from previous years’
liabilities.

The constitutional provision, and the implementing legislation enacted in 1991,
concerning limited gaming in three Colorado cities provides for distribution of funds
remaining in the limited gaming fund at the end of each fiscal year. Beginning June
30, 1992, the general fund will receive 49.8 percent and the state tourism promotion
fund 0.2 percent of such monies (Article XVII, Section 9, Colorado Constitution;
Senate Bill 91-149),

CHART 1
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Table IT compares 1982 and 1992 general fund tax receipts by source and depicts
the amount and percentage each tax contributed to the general fund. The personal
income tax and sales and use taxes accounted for approximately 88 percent of general
fund tax receipts in 1992. There has been a dramatic increase in the importance of

_individual income taxes as a major source of support for the general fund — an
increase from 42.4 percent of general fund revenue in FY 1982 to 56.3 percent in FY
1992. ~ :

Among the tax sources that have a smaller percentage contribution to general
fund receipts in FY 1992 than in FY 1982 are cigarette, corporate income, insurance
premiums, sales and use, liquor, and pari-mutuel racing. The latter two and use tax
collections showing lesser dollar amounts in 1992 than in 1982. Of the taxes
contributing smaller percentage collections, the most significant decrease occurred with
the sales tax collections, with 37.1 percent of general fund receipts in 1982 but 29.3
percent of collections in 1992,

TABLE I

TAX RECEIPTS FOR STATE GENERAL FUND
Comparison of FY 1982 and FY 1992

($ in Millions) -
Fiscal Percent of Fiscal Percent of
Tax 1982 1982 Total 1992 1992 Total
Cigarette $37.2 2.5% $57.3 2.0%
Tobacco — _ 4.3 0.2%
Estate
1. Estate 11.0 0.8% 34.3 1.2%
I1. Inheritance 1.0 0.2% 0.0 * 0.0%
1. Gift 0.7 0.0% 0.0 * 0.0%
Other Excise 2.0 0.1% 3.2 0.1%
Income
I. Corporate 88.8 6.1% 124.0 4.3%
I1. Individual 621.0 42.4% 1,608.4 56.3%
Insurance Premiums 47.9 3.3% 89.1 3.1%
Liquor 25.8 1.8% 21.8 0.8%
Pari-Mutuel Racinjg 9.5 0.7% 8.3 0.3%
Sales and Use
I. Sales 541.6 37.1% 837.0 29.3%
II. Use 74.1 5.1% 69.0 2.4%
TOTAL $1,460.6 100.0% $2,856.7 100.0%

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.
* Less than $100,000 revenue collections.




Tax Collections History

Table ITI on the following page provides a historical perspective of collection
figures for each tax source from FY 1983 to FY 1992. In 1982, personal income tax
collections exceeded sales tax collections for the first time and became the largest
source of state revenue. Sales tax collections have increased each year since 1987, but
not to the same extent as the personal income tax. The 1990 sales tax total includes the
one-time receipt of $28.1 million as the result of a court settlement involving telephone
access charges for long-distance service. (Local governments also received
approximately $13 million in this decision.)

Corporate income tax collections were erratic in the 1980s, with a low of $66.5
million in FY 1983 and a high of $167.0 million in FY 1989. Individual income tax
receipts have increased every year for the last ten years; the last decrease, due to tax
credits, occurred between FY 1979 and FY 1980. Income tax rates were revised
following the federal tax reform of 1986. Individual income taxes have contributed the
largest percentage of any tax to the state general fund since FY 1982.

Significant increases in motor fuel revenues in FY 1987, 1990, and 1991 are the
result of tax rate increase for gasoline and diesel fuel. Alcoholic beverage taxes
experienced a slight increase in 1992, after a seven-year decline. The increases in
Lottery collections for FY 1990 were boosted as a result of the introduction of Lotto
games. Unemployment insurance tax collections in 1990 fell below $200 million for
the first time since 1983.




TABLE III

ACTUAL STATE REVENUES BY TAX SOURCE

FY 1983 THROUGH FY 1992

($ in Millions)

S(T:lie 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992
Sales $566.4 1 $731.9] $673.8] $662.9 $648.3 $669.0 $694.8 $768.1 $779.8 $837.0
Use 66.1 66.8 73.0 76.1 68.6 55.6 54.7 62.5 66.9 69.0
Cigorette 36.7 47.4 52.3 50.9 66.1 61.9 59.0 56.3 57.5 57.3
Tobacco -- - - - 2.7 3.1 3.0 3.2 38 4.3
Other Excise 2.0 2.1 1.9 1.9 1.9 2.0 2.0 2.0 3.7 3.2
Income (net)

Individual 703.3 796.4 921.7 973.2 1,081.9 1,195.0 1,311.0 1,380.7 1,462.5| 1,608.4

Corporate 66.5 94.1 78.8 124.4 136.7 112.9 167.0 104.2 115.0 124.0
Insurance 51.6 56.6 64.7 75.0 84.1 80.7 81.4 82.5 84.7 89.1
Pari-Mutuel 8.4 8.6 1.7 8.5 9.0 8.4 8.4 8.3 8.3 8.3
Inheritance 8.9 10.7 14.0 13.7 18.4 13.4 15.5 21.7 15.3 34.3
/Estate
Gross Ton 23.7 28.6 30.2 30.1 31.7 31.0 31.8 21.3 1.4 1.3
Mile
Liquor 25.1 25.3 25.0. 244 23.6 22.6 21.5 214 19.6 218
Lottery 41.7 41.4 32.0 29.2 35.0 330 18.5 40.9 58.7 76.0
Motor Fuel 146.0 192.0 189.9 197.5 295.5 306.2 306.9 327.0 334.0 3554
Severance 26.3 28.8 238 21.7 11.6 15.3 21.6 14.4 219 16.1
Tourism 0.0 2.9 33 3.6 3.9 6.8 8.2 8.7 9.2 10.1
Unemployment 122.6 247.3 264.4 251.7 227.3 208.6 214.9 190.4 156.8 167.8
Insurance !

SOURCES: Division of Accounts and Control (sales through inheritance/estate and liquor), Department
of Revenue (gross ton mile, lottery, motor fuel, severance, and tourism), and Department
of Labor and Employment (unemployment insurance).

l. Calendar year collections.

2. Estimated calendar year 1992 collections.




Fund Transfers

In recent fiscal years, the state has experienced a series of revenue shortfalls.
One mechanism used in dealing with these financial problems was for the General
Assembly to adopt budget transfers to meet the constitutional provision requiring a

balanced budget. The following is a summary of those transfers.

TABLE 1V

FUND TRANSFERS

USED AS STATE BUDGET BALANCING MEASURES

AND FOR GENERAL FUND PURPOSES

1982 TO 1990

($ in Millions)

Fiscal Transfer Amount Amount Date Fund or Agency
Year from Fund Transferred Repaid Repaid Receiving Money
1982 | Special Reserve $30.0° $30.0! | 7-01-82 | Public School
1983 | Special Reserve $51.0! $51.0' | 7-01-83 | Public School
Severance Tax 49.9 2| 6-30-86 | Fiscal Emergency
CWCBCF* 24.6 31.1 6-30-85 | Fiscal Emergency
HUTF** 15.9 17.9 6-30-85 | Fiscal Emergency
Lottery 12.5 13.3 6-30-85 | Fiscal Emergency
1984 | Dept. of State
Cash Fund 1.5 General Fund
Severance Tax 14.5 >| 6-30-86 | General Fund
Fire and Police General Fund transfer
Pension 6.0 was not made
1985 ] Severance Tax 11.1 2 9-01-86 Capital Construction
Severance Tax 3.0° CATH**
Dept. of State
Cash Fund 1.0 General Fund
1986 | Severance Tax 20.0 2 Capital Construction
CWCBCF* 4| 6-30-87 | Capital Construction
1987 | Fire and Police 20.0 No General Fund
Pension transfer in FY 1987
(Transfer in
subsequent years
changed from April
30 to September 30)
Severance Tax 19.7 General Fund
1988 | Fire and Police 14.5° Payment to FPPF on
Pension 9/30/88 was $5.5 M
Severance Tax 7.1°6 General Fund
1989 | Severance Tax 10.7 ¢ General Fund
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1990 | Reserve 26.07 Capital Construction
to relieve prison
overcrowding

Severance Tax 7.5 General Fund

1991 | Severance Tax 8 General Fund

CWCBCF Delayed Payment General Fund
1992 | FPPA 9 General Fund
Severance Tax General Fund
CWCBCF Delayed Payment General Fund

* Colorado Water Conservation Board Construction Fund

** Highway Users Tax Fund
*** Colorado Advanced Technology Institute

1.

These funds represent a delay in payment to school districts of monies from the public school fund. Payments
to the public school fund (and school districts) from the special reserve fund (section 24-75-201.1, C.R.S.) were
delayed at the end of FY 1982 to the beginning of FY 1983 and from the end of FY 1983 to the beginning of
FY 1984,

The amount of money borrowed from the severance tax fund from 1983 to 1986 equaled about $75.5 million.
House Bill 1010, 1986 Second Extraordinary Session, delayed $30 million of the transfer until September 1,
1986. In House Bill 1375, 1985 Session, the General Assembly transferred the amount which constituted the
repayment of the severance tax fund ($74.8 million) to the capital construction fund with no provision for
repayment.

These funds were appropriated to the Colorado Advanced Technology Institute and remained available until the
superconducting supercollider accelerator project was awarded. Since Colorado was not awarded the project, the
funds were transferred back to the general fund in FY 1990 (Senate Bill 143, 1989 Session).

Senate Bill 196, 1987 Session, provided that all but $5.0 million be repaid by the end of FY 1987 and the
remaining $5.0 million be repaid in FY 1988.

Senate Bill 243, 1987 Session, reduced the general fund transfer to the fire and police pension fund to $5.5
million for FY 1988.

Senate Bill 238, 1987 Session, required a diversion of the state share of gross receipts from the severance tax
trust fund to the general fund for FY 1988. House Bill 1351, 1988 Session, continued this transfer through FY
1989.

House Bill 90-1323 reduced the general fund reserve requirement from 4% to 3% and allowed monies which
would have carried forward to FY 1991 for capital construction to be appropriated to reduce prison overcrowding
in FY 1990. Senate Bill 141, 1989 Session, and Senate Bill 90-164 extended the diversion of state severance
tax funds to the general fund for FY 1990 and FY 1991, respectively. Senate Bill 91-207 continued the diversion
through FY 1992.

Senate Bill 91-207 transferred state severance taxes to the General Fund for FY 1991-92, Senate Bill 91-179
delayed payment to the CWCBF one year.

House Bill 92-1149 changed the dates of the transfer of the fund and provided for monthly payments to FPPA
rather than a lump sum payment. House Bill 92-1125 transferred all state severance taxes to the General Fund
through FY 1993. House Bill 92-1089 delayed the payments to the CWCBCF one year.




II. OTHER MAJOR STATE FUNDS

In addition to the general fund, a number of special funds have been created by
either the constitution or statute for specific purposes. This section provides a summary
of the other major state funds referred to in this report.

oud Age Pension Fund

Constitutional and statutory citations. The old age pension fund (OAPF) was created
in 1936 by a vote of the people (Article XXIV, Colorado Constitution). The provisions
of this article were amended by the electorate in 1956. Statutory sections relevant to the
OAPF are 26-2-111 through 26-2-117, and 39-26-126, C.R.S.

Purpose. The fund provides minimum assistance for needy persons who are 60 years
of age and older, who reside in Colorado, and whose income is not sufficient to
maintain necessary health services and to allow these persons to retain their
independence, self-care, and self-support. Small amounts of the fund are used for
burial expenses of clients and for persons hospitalized at non-penal institutions such as
the Colorado State Hospital. The majority of the persons receiving OAP benefits are
also eligible for some of the low-income benefit payments of the federal government,
e.g., SSI and food stamps, so the OAP program acts as a supplement to other
programs.

Revenue sources. The Colorado Constitution requires that the following monies be
credited to the OAPF:
e 85 percent of all sales, use, and excise taxes;
e 85 percent of all retail license fees;
e 85 percent of liquor taxes and license fees connected therewith,;

e unexpended monies in any fund of the state or political subdivision thereof
that was allocated to the OAPF before January 1, 1957;

o all federal grants for old age assistance;

o all inheritance taxes, estate taxes, and incorporation fees;

e such monies as the General Assembly may allocate.

The monies from the sources listed above greatly exceed the amounts

expended by the OAPF. Approximately 95 percent of the revenues from these sources
flow to the general fund with the remaining 5 percent credited to the OAPF.

-10 -




Disbursement of fund. The Department of Social Services administers the
OAPF. Any funds remaining after meeting the basic requirements of the OAPF are
transferred to the following:

o stabilization fund — maintained at $5 million; and
e old age pension health and medical care fund — up to $10 million annually.
After satisfying the requirements of the OAPF, the stabilization fund, and the

medical care fund, all remaining monies are credited to the general fund. Listed below
is the disposition of those monies expended by the OAPF.

OAPF REVENUE DISPOSITION
FY 1992
Fund Amount
Constitutional Requirements
OAPF Grants $34,842,245 *
Stabilization Fund 5,000,000
Medical Care Fund 10,000,000

SOURCE: Department of Social Services.

* Includes county administrative costs of $2.2 million. "

Beginning with the FY 1989-90 long appropriations bill, the appropriations for
OAPF home care allowance and adult foster care have been combined with similar
non-OAP programs and moved to the Medical Assistance Division of the State
Department of Social Services. These programs are now funded directly out of the
state general fund, not from the OAPF. However, county administrative costs of $2.2
million have been included in the OAP distributions.

Highway Users Tax Fund

Constitutional and statutory citations. The highway users tax fund (HUTF) was
created pursuant to Article X, Section 18 of the Colorado Constitution. Statutory
sections relevant to the HUTF are 43-2-116, 43-2-129, and 43-4-201 through 43-4-216,
C.R.S.

Administration. The HUTF is administered by the Department of
Transportation. However, most revenues for the fund are collected by the Department
of Revenue.

- 11 -




Purpose. The HUTF is to provide a collection and distribution fund adequate for
the state’s highway construction and maintenance needs. The state’s share of the HUTF
is deposited into the state highway fund.

Revenue sources and disbursements.

HUTF REVENUE SOURCES AND RECEIPTS
FY 1991-92
($ in Millions)

Basic Fund:
7 cent motor fuel tax $111.8
Gross ton-mile* and passenger-mile tax 1.3
Motor vehicle registrations 62.8
Motor vehicle penalty assessment 3.8
Miscellaneous 18.9
Interest 1.8
Basic Fund Total $200.4
Additional fuel taxes $181.7

(includes bridge and road fund)
Increased fuel taxes, registration and 50.3
license fees (House Bill 1012, 1989)
Subtotal $272.0
TOTAL $472.4
HUTF DISBURSEMENTS
FY 1989-90

Deductions ("off the top™) $71.4
State share 238.9
County share 97.8
City share 64.4
TOTAL $472.4

SOURCE: Department of Highways.

* Replaced by higher registration fees.

Sales and use tax diversion ("Noble Money"). House Bill 1350, 1987 session,
phased out the general fund diversion to the HUTF and, instead, allocated state income
tax revenues attributable to federal and state tax reform, not to exceed $40 million, to
the HUTF for FY 1988. No general fund transfers have been authorized after FY
1991.

-12 -
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Water Conservation Board Construction Fund

This fund was created by section 37-60-121, C.R.S., and is managed by the
Colorado Water Conservation Board. The General Assembly allocates money to the
construction fund to finance water projects that are of statewide concern. The fund also
receives money from charges imposed by the board for contracts entered into for use
of construction fund monies and from 10 percent of federal mineral lease revenues.

House Bill 1340, 1986 session, began the transfer of $15 million for FYs 1988
and 1989 and $20 million for FY 1990 from the general fund to the WCBCF. The
money is to be distributed 50 percent to the fish and wildlife resources account, 25
percent to the fund, and 25 percent to the Colorado Water Resources and Power
Development Authority. However, beginning with FY 1987 the amount of transfers
have been reduced and or delayed. Since 1991, the transfers have been delayed.
Senate Bill 90-41 and 92-87 authorized $11.3 million in loans for new water projects
and studies.

Capital Construction Fund

The capital construction fund (CCF) was created by section 24-75-302, C.R.S.,
to finance the state’s capital construction needs. The monies for the fund are
appropriated by the General Assembly from the general fund and until 1998 the CCF
automatically will receive a share of the net lottery proceeds. After 1998, the general
fund will receive lottery proceeds in excess of $35 million. House Bill 1340, 1986
session, continued the suspension of the 1/2 percent credit on personal income tax
through December 31, 1990. This bill designated that specific amounts raised by the
suspension of the credit be transferred to the CCF, beginning July 1, 1988. The bill,
as amended during the 1990-91 and 1992 sessions, designates $15 million for FYs 1989
and 1990, $9.4 million in FY 1991 for these transfers. None in FY 1992, $21.1
million in FY 1993, and $25 million for 1994, 1995, and 1996.

Amendment 8 to the Colorado Constitution: The amendment permanently
dedicates a portion of the net proceeds of every state-supervised lottery game to the
Great Outdoors Colorado Trust Fund beginning July 1, 1993. Lottery funds would
transferred over a five-year period in order to fulfill most of the state’s current
outstanding obligations for capital construction. The existing lottery distributions to
local governments through the Conservation Trust Fund would continue as well as the
current allocations to the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation. Existing
distributions to capital construction would begin to decrease in 1993 by $7 million to
$11 million annually and up to $35 million per year in 1998.

House Bill 91-1262 eliminated the "spillover" revenues from the general fund.
Afer the transfers of the lottery are made in 1998 only general fund transfer and interest
will fund the CCF.

-13 -




TOTAL CAPITAL CONSTRUCTION APPROPRIATIONS
FY 1983 TO-FY 1992

Fiscal CCF Appropriations Lottery Contributions
Year (Actual) and Percentage of CCF
1983 $ 8,000,000 $ 0(0%)
1984 ' 22,119,103 20,832,259 (58%)
1985 36,379,016 21,000,000 (58 %)
1986 * 95,711,197 14,395,000 (15%)
1987 48,091,814 14,590,000 (30%)
1988 50,244,488 17,500,000 (35 %)
1989 39,480,919 16,500,000 (42%)
1990 * 99,358,020 16,599,577 (17%)
19913 95,703,200 35,191,540 37%)
1992 67,033,877 59,100,000 (88%)
Ten-Year Total $562,129,631 $215,708,376

Ten-Year Average $56,212,963 $21,570,838

L. Appropriations from FY 1984 to present include lottery.

2. Includes the transfer of $74.8 million from severance tax fund.

3. Includes amounts for prison construction.

Severance Tax Funds

The Department of Local Affairs reported that in 1991 nearly $26.6 million of
the local severance tax fund and mineral lease fund monies were awarded for various
public projects through the impact program. Approximately $11 million went to match
federal funds for uranium mill tailings cleanup. Severance tax revenues began to
increase in FY 1989 for the first time since FY 1983 when this revenue source entered
into a decline. FY 1991 saw a 58 % revenue increase partially due to the Persian Gulf
War and the settlement of a long standing federal royalty payment dispute.

Fifty percent of the severance taxes are credited to the state severance tax fund
and 50 percent are credited to the local government severance tax fund. Income from
investment of the state fund is credited to the state general fund.

State Severance Tax Trust Fund. House Bill 92-1125 continued the transfer to
the general fund of severance taxes imposed on minerals and mineral fuels to FY 1993.
These monies would have otherwise been credited to the state severance tax trust fund.
Similar allocations were made in FY's 1988 through 1991. The state severance tax trust
fund is a permanent fund held in trust as a replacement for depleted natural resources
and for the development and conservation of the state’s water resources (section
39-29-109, C.R.S.).

Local Severance Tax Trust Fund. The local government severance tax trust fund
was created by section 39-29-110, C.R.S. Fifty percent of the severance taxes are
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credited to the local government severance tax fund. Of the local share, 15 percent is
distributed to counties or municipalities based on the portion of employees of natural
resource industries residing in their incorporated and unincorporated areas. The Depart-
ment of Local Affairs distributes the remaining 85 percent of the local fund to local
governments impacted by development of natural resources through the impact
program.

Mineral Lease Fund. The mineral lease fund is established in Article 63 of Title
34, C.R.S. The fund is the depository of monies received by the state from the federal
government for Colorado’s share of sales, bonuses, royalties, and rentals of public
lands within the state. Public schools and political subdivisions impacted by energy
development have priority use of the fund. The amount distributed for calendar year
1991 totaled $54,693,126 of which $12.5 million went to local projects funded by the
impact program. The distribution formula provides moneys to the following
governmental units, state funds, and state agency:

— Counties from which the funds were derived;

— The state school fund;

— The local government mineral impact fund;

— The Colorado water conservation board construction fund (CWCBCF);

— School districts within affected counties;

— Municipalities within affected counties;

— The Department of Local Affairs for grants and for distribution to cities and
counties.

The distributions from the fund for the years of 1986 through 1991 are shown
in the table that follows.
MINERAL LEASE FUND DISTRIBUTION
CY 1986 THROUGH 1991
($ in Millions)

Entity CY 1986 CY 1987 | CY 1988 CY 1989 CY 1990 CY 1991

Counties $3.9 $33 $3.1 $3.5 $3.6 $3.5
School Districts 1.7 1.4 1.2 1.4 1.5 1.5
Towns 1.1 0.7 0.5 0.7 1.0 1.0
CWCBCF 4.1 34 3.0 35 4.6 55
State School Fund 22.4 19.4 17.8 19.6 248 29.5
Department of Local Affairs 1.7 57 4.7 58 9.3 12.5
Grants
Department of Local Affairs 0.5 02 0.0 0.2 0.8 1.5
Direct Distribution

TOTAL $41.4 $34.1 $30.3 $34.7 $45.7 $54.7
* Portion combined with local severance tax funds for impact program,
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Conservation Trust Fund

The conservation trust fund is established in section 29-21-101, C.R.S. The
fund receives 40 percent of net lottery proceeds. Monies credited to the fund are
disbursed by the Division of Local Government to eligible counties, cities, and special
districts based on population. The disbursed monies may be expended only for the
acquisition, development, and maintenance of new conservation sites or for capital
improvements or maintenance for recreational purposes.

Public School Fund

The state public school fund is created in section 3 of Article IX of the Colorado
Constitution. The statutory provisions relating to the investment and use of the fund
are contained in Article 41 of Title 22, C.R.S. The school fund consists of the
proceeds of such lands granted to the state by the federal government for educational
purposes, all estates that may revert (escheat) to the state, 25 percent of mineral lease
monies, and grants, gifts, or other devises made to the state for educational purposes.
No part of the fund may be transferred to any other fund. The fund itself is inviolate;
only the interest from the fund (FY 1991, $12.6 million; FY 1992, $18.0 million) may
be expended and only for the maintenance of the state’s schools.

Fire and Police Members’ Benefit Fund

The General Assembly established the fire and police members’ benefit fund in
1979 to create an actuarially sound statewide retirement system for all firemen and
policemen hired after April 8, 1978, and to provide for the actuarial funding of all the
existing pension systems (section 31-30-1012, C.R.S.). Contributions to the fund are
made by local governments, employers, employees, and the state. From 1979 through
1990, the state made annual contributions of roughly $21 million to assist local
governments. State contributions are to terminate when the fund is determined to be
actuarially sound.

The FY 1992 contributions were distributed as follows:

-— approximately $18.2 million to fund the unfunded liabilities of the "old"
funds;

— approximately $0.6 million, which decreases 10 percent per year until local
governments assume full funding in 1994, to the death and disability
account; and

— approximately $1.3 million to match the local levy of up to 1/2 mill for
volunteer firemen’s pensions.
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credited to the local government severance tax fund. Of the local share, 15 percent is
distributed to counties or municipalities based on the portion of employees of natural
resource industries residing in their incorporated and unincorporated areas. The Depart-
ment of Local Affairs distributes the remaining 85 percent of the local fund to local
governments impacted by development of natural resources through the impact
program:.

Mineral Lease Fund. The mineral lease fund is established in Article 63 of Title
34, C.R.S. The fund is the depository of monies received by the state from the federal
government for Colorado’s share of sales, bonuses, royalties, and rentals of public
lands within the state. Public schools and political subdivisions impacted by energy
development have priority use of the fund. The amount distributed for calendar year
1991 totaled $54,693,126 of which $12.5 million went to local projects funded by the
impact program. The distribution formula provides moneys to the following
governmental units, state funds, and state agency:

— Counties from which the funds were derived;

— The state school fund;

— The local government mineral impact fund;

— The Colorado water conservation board construction fund (CWCBCF);

— School districts within affected counties;

— Municipalities within affected counties;

— The Department of Local Affairs for grants and for distribution to cities and
counties.

The distributions from the fund for the years of 1986 through 1991 are shown
in the table that follows.
MINERAL LEASE FUND DISTRIBUTION
CY 1986 THROUGH 1991
($ in Millions)

Eatity CY 1986 CY 1987 CY 1988 CY 1989 CY 199 CY 1991

Counties $39 $33 $3.1 $3.5 $3.6 $3.5
School Districts 1.7 1.4 1.2 1.4 1.5 1.5
Towns 1.1 0.7 0.5 0.7 1.0 1.0
CWCBCF 4.1 34 30 3.5 4.6 5.5
State School Fund 22.4 19.4 17.8 19.6 24.8 29.5
Department of Local Affairs 1.7 57 4.7 5.8 9.3 12.5
Grants
Department of Local Affairs 0.5 0.2 0.0 0.2 0.8 1.5
Direct Distribution

TOTAL $41.4 $34.1 $303 $34.7 $45.7 $54.7
* Portion combined with local severance tax funds for impact program.
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Conservation Trust Fund

The conservation trust fund is established in section 29-21-101, C.R.S. The
fund receives 40 percent of net lottery proceeds. Monies credited to the fund are
disbursed by the Division of Local Government to eligible counties, cities, and special
districts based on population. The disbursed monies may be expended only for the
acquisition, development, and maintenance of new conservation sites or for capital
improvements or maintenance for recreational purposes.

Public School Fund

The state public school fund is created in section 3 of Article IX of the Colorado
Constitution. The statutory provisions relating to the investment and use of the fund
are contained in Article 41 of Title 22, C.R.S. The school fund consists of the
proceeds of such lands granted to the state by the federal government for educational
purposes, all estates that may revert (escheat) to the state, 25 percent of mineral lease
monies, and grants, gifts, or other devises made to the state for educational purposes.
No part of the fund may be transferred to any other fund. The fund itself is inviolate;
only the interest from the fund (FY 1991, $12.6 million; FY 1992, $18.0 million) may
be expended and only for the maintenance of the state’s schools.

Fire and Police Members’ Benefit Fund

The General Assembly established the fire and police members’ benefit fund in
1979 to create an actuarially sound statewide retirement system for all firemen and
policemen hired after April 8, 1978, and to provide for the actuarial funding of all the
existing pension systems (section 31-30-1012, C.R.S.). Contributions to the fund are
made by local governments, employers, employees, and the state. From 1979 through
1990, the state made annual contributions of roughly $21 million to assist local
governments. State contributions are to terminate when the fund is determined to be
actuarially sound.

The FY 1992 contributions were distributed as follows:

— approximately $18.2 million to fund the unfunded liabilities of the "old"
funds;

— approximately $0.6 million, which decreases 10 percent per year until local
governments assume full funding in 1994, to the death and disability
account; and

— approximately $1.3 million to match the local levy of up to 1/2 mill for
volunteer firemen’s pensions.
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Water Pollution Control Revolving Fund

The water pollution control revolving fund is established under section
37-95-107.6, C.R.S. The fund is administered by the Colorado Water Resources and
Power Development Authority and is designed to provide assistance loans to
governmental agencies for the construction of publicly owned wastewater treatment
plants. The fund receives Environmental Protection Agency grant dollars and must
match those funds with 20 percent state dollars. The authority is able to obtain matching
EPA dollars by creating separate accounts in the fund. The accounts may be pledged
and assigned as security for issuing revenue bonds.

Grants received from the EPA in the last four years and projects for which
monies have been expended or to which the funds have been committed are listed
below.

Year Amount of Loan Entity Where Project Funded or Committed

1989 $ 8,626,489 Mountain Ridge Shadows
Denver Southeast Suburban

1990 $ 4,894,910 Mountain Water
Wellington
Castle Rock

1991 $47,910,694 Englewood
Littleton Metro
Durango West

1992 $45,158,420 Nucla

Eagle
Frisco

Fort Lupton
Divide

Fort Collins
Longmont
Ouray

Aviation Fund

Constitutional and statutory citations. The aviation fund was created in 1988 and
was amended in the first special session of 1991 (House Bill 91S-1009). The Colorado
Constitution, Article X, Section 18, states that any taxes imposed upon aviation fuel are
to be used exclusively for aviation purposes and the statutes provide for the distribution
of funds collected from aviation fuel. References to the statutory provisions are
39-27-102 (1) (@) AV), C.R.S. (tax imposed) and 43-10-109, C.R.S. (aviation fund
created).

-17 -




Purpose. The fund is to assist the development of aviation in this state and may
be used for aviation purposes as defined in section 28-6-102 (3), C.R.S.

Revenue sources. The following monies flow to the aviation fund:

Non-turbo prop and non-jet fuel Motor fuel tax, 6 cents per gallon (No sales tax)

Turbo-prop and jet fuel, not including | Motor fuel tax, 4 cents per gallon (Sales tax is applied)
tegularly scheduled carriers

Interstate, intrastate, and foreign air State sales tax of 3 percent, plus any local sales tax
transportation (No motor fuel tax)
Distribution.
A. Administration Five percent of total collections may be used for

administrative purposes.

Of the remainder:

B. Motor fuel taxes Four cents are returned to the airport of origin.
Two cents of the 6 cent motor fuel tax on non-turbo
and non-jet fuel tax is credited to the aviation fund.

C. Sales and use taxes 75 percent is distributed to the airport of origin. 25
percent is distributed through the aviation fund grant
program for local airport improvements.

Business Incentive Fund

The Colorado business incentive fund was created in 1991 consisting of moneys
transferred from the aviation fund to be expended for economic development purposes
(Title 24, Article 46.5). The legislation provides that three-fourths of the sales tax
collections from aviation fuel sales at Stapleton International Airport and the new
Denver International Airport would be transferred to the fund. These moneys would be
used by Denver, working under an intergovernmental agreement with either the state
or the Colorado Housing and Finance Authority, for payment of bonds issued to
provide moneys for economic development purposes. The total incentives financed for

any person or entity under intergovernmental agreements are not to exceed $115
million.
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III. STATE TAXES

The following information is presented in this section for each state levied tax:

* Date of Enactment

* Constitutional and Statutory Citations

* Tax Base

* Present Rate

* Administration and Collection

* Disposition of Revenue

* Collections after Refunds
-* Similar Taxes in Neighboring States and in Other States
* Similar Federal Taxes Levied

The descriptions for each tax are summarized to provide a basic understanding
of each tax. Technical details may have been omitted.

This information was obtained from the Colorado Revised Statutes and the
Session Laws of Colorado, 1877 through 1992. The revenue collection figures are
from the annual reports of the Department of Revenue and the Division of Accounts
and Control, Department of Administration, unless otherwise noted. Information on
taxes in other states and federal taxes was obtained from the Commerce Clearing House
State Tax Guide and Federal Tax Guide and by use of comparative data published by
the Colorado Public Expenditure Council.

-
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CIGARETTE TAX
Enacted: 1964.

Citations: Article XXIV, Colorado Constitution; Title 39, Article 28, C.R.S.,
and section 39-22-623, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Cigarettes, imposed at the wholesale level.

Present Rate: 20 cents per package of twenty cigarettes or ten mills (1 cent) per
cigarette. Cigarettes are not subject to state sales or use taxes.

Administration and Collection: The Department of Revenue is responsible for
administering the cigarette tax. The tax is imposed on wholesalers, and payment of the
tax is evidenced by stamps affixed to cigarette packages or by a metered imprint.
Metering machines are inspected, read, and set once a month. At the time of inspection
the metering machine is set to a number requested by the wholesaler. The amount of
tax is determined based on the setting, less a discount of 4 percent of the face value of
the stamps. Payment is due on or before the tenth day of the month following the
month of purchase. Wholesalers purchasing stamps must pay the tax on or before the
tenth day of the month following the month of purchase to receive the 4 percent
discount.

History of Tax Rate: Cigarettes were subject to the state sales and use tax prior
to their exemption from the sales and use tax base in 1959. From 1959 to 1964, there
were no state-imposed taxes on cigarettes in Colorado.

Tax Rate Tax per Package

Effective Date Per Cigarette of 20 Cigarettes
July 1, 1964 1.5 mills 3 cents
July 1, 1965 2.5 mills 5 cents
July 1, 1973 5.0 mills 10 cents
July 1, 1977 7.5 mills 15 cents
July 1, 1978 5.0 mills 10 cents
November 1, 1983 7.5 mills 15 cents
July 1, 1986 10.0 mills 20 cents

Disposition of Revenue: Article XXIV of the Colorado Constitution creates the
Old Age Pension Fund (OAPF) and provides for the funding of its basic requirements
from excise taxes, retail business license fees, alcoholic beverage taxes, inheritance tax
fees, incorporation fees, and other money the General Assembly may allocate. Funds
remaining after meeting the basic requirements of the OAPF are then credited to the
general fund.
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Since July 1, 1973, local governments have been entitled to a share in the
proceeds of the state cigarette tax. To qualify for these monies, local governments are
prohibited from imposing fees, licenses, or taxes on any person as a condition for
engaging in the sale of cigarettes, and they are prohibited from taxing cigarettes. Since
July 1, 1987, local governments have been apportioned an amount equal to 27 percent
of the proceeds from the entire 20 cent tax. The funds are distributed to cities and
towns in proportion to the amount of state sales tax collected in a jurisdiction relative
to all state sales taxes collected. Funds are distributed to counties based on the
percentage that collections in the unincorporated area of the county bear to sales tax
revenues statewide. Distributions to local governments are made monthly.

Distribution of Cigarette Tax Revenues
($ in Millions)

— —1
. City and
Fiscal Year | State Share County Share
1987 $48.4 15.9
1988 43.8 17.0
1989 40.8 16.6
1990 40.4 16.1
1991 , 41.1 16.4
1992 41.0 16.3
———
Collections:
Cigarette Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)
Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collections | Change Year Collections | Change
1983 $36.7 1988 $60.7 -5.6%
1984 47.4 29.2% 1989 57.5 -5.3%
1985 52.3 10.3% 1990 56.5 -1.7%
1986 50.9 2.7% 1991 57.5 1.7%
1987 64.3 26.3% 1992 57.3 0.4%

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control for both tables. Totals show net receipts after rebates.
Totals may not agree due to rounding.
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Other States: Cigarette taxes are imposed in all 50 states. The tax ranges from
2.5 cents per pack in Virginia to 48 cents per pack in Minnesota. Hawaii’s tax rate is
40 percent of the wholesale price. The national average, excluding Hawaii, is
approximately 24.2 cents per pack. Tax rates for neighboring states are as follows.

Rate per Pack
State of 20 Cigarettes
Arizona 18 cents
Kansas 24 cents
Nebraska 27 cents
New Mexico 15 cents
Oklahoma 23 cents
Utah 23 cents
Wyoming 12 cents
Federal Tax:
Effective January 1, 1991:
Small cigarettes $10.00 per thousand '
(weighing no more than 3 pounds per thousand) (20 cents per pack)
Large cigarettes $21.00 per thousand
(weighing more than 3 pounds per thousand) (42 cents per pack)
1. The federal tax rate will increase to 24 cents a pack on January 1, 1993.
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CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES TAX

Enacted: 1988.

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 28.7, C.R.S.

Tax Base: This tax is imposed on the possession of marijuana and other
controlled substances.

Present Rate:
— e —
Marijuana $100 per ounce (and a proportionate

rate for a greater or lesser amount)

Controlled Substances | $1,000 per ounce (and a proportionate
rate for greater or lesser amounts)

A penalty of ten times the tax is imposed for failure to pay the tax.

Administration and Collection: House Bill 1167, 1988 session, provides that any
individual possessing controlled substances or marijuana without stamps sold by the
Department of Revenue affixed to the package are subject to the tax. No other
provisions are made for tax collection.

Exemptions: Persons lawfully in possession of these substances pursuant to
provisions set out in statute.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the general fund.

Collections: For FY 1992, revenues collected from imposing this tax were $25
and $4,988 in penalty assessments. In FY 1991, the state received $150 and $300 in
FY 1990.
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Other States: The rates in adjacent states are as follows:

Arizona Cannibus $ 10 per ounce
4 Controlled substance $125 per ounce
Kansas Marijuana $3.50/gram, or portion of a gram, of marijuana
40 cents/gram of wet domestic plant
90 cents/gram of dry domestic plant
Controlled substance $200/gram, or portion of 2 gram
Nebraska Marijuana $100/ounce, or portion of an ounce

Controlled substance

$150/gram, or portion of a gram, of substance
sold by weight
$500/50 dosage units, or portion thereof, not sold

by weight

New Mexico

Schedule includes tax rates
or use of 8 different control

of varying amounts for unlawful possession, sales

lled substances or illegal drugs.

Oklahoma Marijuana $3.50/gram, or portion thereof
Controlled substance $200/gram, or portion thereof
$1,000/50 units of substance not sold by weight
Utah Marijuana $3.50/gram
Controlled substance $200/gram

$2,000/50 units of substance not sold by weight

Other states with this tax are Alabama, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa,
Kentudky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, North

Dakota, Rhode Island, Texas, and Wisconsin.
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ESTATE AND GIFT TAXES

I. Estate Tax
Enacted: 1927 — Inheritance and Succession Tax (not applicable to estates of
decedents dying on or after 1/1/80); 1980 — Estate Tax (replaced inheritance tax).

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XXIV, Colorado Constitution;
Title 39, Articles 23 (Inheritance) and 23.5 (Estate), C.R.S.

Tax Base: Tax is imposed on the transfer of the taxable estate of every deceased
domiciliary, nondomiciliary, and alien in Colorado.

Present Rate: The rate is an amount equal to the federal estate tax credit for
state death taxes. The estate’s total tax bill remains the same but part of the money,
equal to the federal estate tax credit, goes to Colorado. This is called a "pick up" or
"gap" tax. If there is no liability for federal taxes, there is no liability for Colorado
taxes.

The Maximum

If The Adjusted Tax Credit Plus % Applied

Taxable Estate is Shall Be To Excess Over
$0 but not over $40,000 $0 0.0%
Over $40,000 to $90,000 $0 0.8% over $40,000
Over $90,000 to $140,000 $400 1.6% over $90,000
Over $140,000 to $240,000 $1,200 2.4% over $140,000
Over $240,000 to $440,000 $3,600 3.2% over $240,000
Over $440,000 to $640,000 $10,000 4.0% over $440,000
Over $640,000 to $840,000 $18,000 4.8% over $640,000
Over $840,000 to $1,040,000 $27,600 5.6% over $840,000
Over $1,040,000 to $1,540,000 $38,800 6.4% over $1,040,000
Over $1,540,000 to $2,040,000 $70,800 7.2% over $1,540,000
Over $2,040,000 to $2,540,000 $106,800 8.0% over $2,040,000
Over $2,540,000 to $3,040,000 $146,800 8.8% over $2,540,000
Over $3,040,000 to $3,540,000 $190,800 9.6% over $3,040,000
Over §3,540,000 t0 $4,040,000 |  $238,000 | 10.4% over $3,540,000
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The Maximum

If The Adjusted Tax Credit Plus % Applied

Taxable Estate is Shall Be To Excess Over

Over $4,040.000 to $5,040,000 $290,800 11.2% over $4,040,000

‘ Over $5,040,000 to $6,040,000 $402,800 12.0% over $5,040,000

Over $6,040,000 to $7,040,000 $522,800 12.8% over $6,040,000

Over $7,040,000 to $8,040,000 $650,800 13.6% over $7,040,000

Over $8,040,000 to $9,040,000 $786,800 14.4% over $8,040,000

Over $9,040,000 to $10,040,000 $930,800 15.2% over $9,040,000
Over $10,040,000 $1,082,800 16.0% over $10,040,000

If the property of a deceased resident is subject to an estate tax by another state,
the amount of Colorado tax due may be reduced by the lesser of the following two
amounts:

(1) The amount of tax paid in the other state that is a credit against the federal
tax; or

(2) An amount determined by multiplying the federal credit by a fraction, the
numerator being the value of the gross estate minus the value of the
property included in the gross estate and the denominator being the
resident’s gross estate.

Colorado also taxes the transfer of the gross estate of a nonresident who has
property within the state. The amount of the tax is determined by multiplying the
federal credit by a fraction, the numerator of which is the property value located in
Colorado that is included in the gross estate and the denominator is the value of the
gross estate.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue due on or before the
date the federal return is required to be filed.

History of Tax Rates: Until 1980, Colorado’s inheritance and succession tax
applied. The tax had graduated rates that varied in amount for different classes of
beneficiaries. Those beneficiaries having the closest relationship to the decedent were
subject to lower tax rates than those with a more distant relationship. The 1927 tax
rates were not increased until 1967 and were increased again in 1977. The present
estate tax law taxes all beneficiaries at the same rate and does not consider a
beneficiary’s relationship to the deceased.

Disposition of Revenue: After requirements of the Old Age Pension Fund have
been satisfied, the remainder is credited to the general fund.
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Collections:

Inheritance and Estate Tax Receipts
($ in millions)

Year Inheritance/Gift Estate Tax Total Percent Change
1983 0.300 8.5 8.8
1984 0.060 10.3 10.4 18.2%
1985 0.050 13.8 13.8 32.7%
1986 0.150 12.9 13.0 -5.8%
1987 0.130 18.1 18.2 40.0%
1988 -0.170 13.3 13.5 -25.8%
1989 0.190 16.0 16.2 20.0%
1990 0.050 21.3 21.4 32.1%
1991 * 15.3 15.3 -28.5%
1992 * 34.3 343 124.2%
SOURCE: Department of Revenue. Totals on this table differ from the totals in
Table II on page 5 which are from the Division of Accounts and
Control. The Department of Revenue provided the breakdown between
estate and gift tax receipts.
* Combined Inheritance/Gift taxes less than $100,000. _

The state continues to collect inheritance tax even though the provisions were
repealed in 1980. This is due to provisions allowing for extended payments of tax
liability. An additional 10 percent fee is imposed on any inheritance tax due as
imposed under provisions of the Colorado Public Assistance Act for the benefit of the
Old Age Pension Fund (section 26-2-113 (2) (a) (), C.R.S.).

Other States: Estate or inheritance taxes are imposed by all 50 states. Nineteen
states have both an inheritance and estate tax in effect. Thirty states impose an estate
tax only (tax on the net estate of decedent). Colorado’s neighboring states all impose
estate taxes based on the federal credit. Kansas and Nebraska impose an inheritance tax
in addition to their estate tax.

Federal Estate Tax: A federal estate tax is imposed on all transfers of a taxable
estate of every decedent who is a resident or a citizen of the United States. A unified
tax credit and credits for state death taxes are allowed.
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II. Gift Tax

Enacted: 1937.

- Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 25, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Although a small amount of state revenue is still received from this
tax, Colorado no longer imposes a gift tax. Originally, the tax was imposed on the
transfer of property by gift by any individual, resident or nonresident, but the tax now
applies only to transfers of property by gift which occurred on or before December 31,

1979.

Present Rate: The statutes create four classes of beneficiaries with graduated tax
rates under each class. To illustrate, the lowest and highest rates for the four classes

are shown below.

Lowest and Highest Tax Ranges for Gift Taxes

Class A Class B Class C Class D
Parent, In-law, grandparent, Uncle, aunt, Other persons
spouse, child brother, sister niece, nephew and corporations
Low 2% for gifts not over $50,000 3% for gifts not over $10,000 4% for gifts not over $2,500 7% for gifts not aver $2,500
ngh 8% for gifts in excess of 10% for gifts in excess of 14% for gifts in excess of 16% for gifts in excess of
$500,000 $200,000 $500,000 $500,000
S ——— —|

Administration: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: The tax applies to transfers of property by gift on or before
December 31, 1979. The statutory provisions for this tax remain in full force and effect

until all such revenue is collected.

Disposition of Revenue: General Fund.
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GROSS TON-MILE TAX

Enacted: 1927. Repealed: 1990

Statutory Citation: Section 42-3-123 (14) through (17), C.R.S. (GTM tax was
repealed and replaced with higher registration fees on January 1, 1990.)

Tax Base: The gross ton-mile (GTM) tax applied to owners or operators of
trucks registered as metro vehicles when operating beyond their permitted radius and
to all other trucks, truck trailers, trailers, and semitrailers having an empty weight
exceeding 10,000 pounds. Senate Bill 159, 1989 Session, replaced the GTM tax with
higher motor vehicle registration fees. ’

Rate at time of repeal: 0.8 mill (.08 of one cent) upon each gross ton-mile of
empty vehicle weight; and 2 mills (.2 of one cent) upon each gross ton-mile of cargo
weight.

Collections:

Gross Ton-Mile Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent

Year Collections Change Year Collections Change
1983 $23.7 1988 $31.0 -2.2%
1984 28.6 20.7% 1989 31.8 2.6%
1985 30.2 5.6% 1990 22,2 -32.7%
1986 30.1 0.3% 1991 1.4 93.7%
1987 31.7 5.3% 1992 1.3 -7.1%
SOURCE: Department of Revenue. Totals include the collections from the

passenger-mile tax which averages approximately $350,000 per year.
=I
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INCOME TAXES

I. Corporate Income Tax

Enacted: 1937.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 17, Colorado
Constitution, adopted by vote of the people, November 3, 1936; Article X, Section 19,
Colorado Constitution, adopted by vote of the people November 6, 1962; Title 39,
Atrticle 22, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Income generated by property in the state and from activities carried
on in the state — whether in intrastate, interstate, or foreign commerce — is subject
to the corporate income tax.

Present Rate and Rates to 1993:

Tax Years Beginning On or After July 1, 1992,
But Before July 1, 1993

Taxable Income Rate

$50,000 or Less | 5.0%

Over $50,000 $2,500 plus 5.1% on net
income above $50,000

Colorado’s taxable income for corporaions is the same as federal taxable income
except for changes due to Colorado modifications. - For corporate fiscal years
commencing on or after July 1, 1993, the corporate income tax rate will be reduced to
a flat five percent rate.

History of Tax Rates:

January 1, 1937 to December 31, 1946 | 4.0% on all taxable income

January 1, 1947 to December 31, 1950 5.0% on all taxable income

January 1, 1951 to December 31, 1956 5.0% on all taxable income, with a 20.0% credit

January 1, 1957 to December 31, 1957 5.0% on all taxable income, with a 15.0% credit

January 1, 1958 to December 31, 1980 5.0% on all taxable income
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January 1, 1981 to December 31, 1981 4.0% on first $25,000; plus 4.5% on income
Between $25,000 and $50,000; plus 5.0% on
income above $50,000

January 1, 1982 to December 31, 1982 4.0% on first $25,000; plus 4.5% on income
between $25,000 and $75,000; plus 5.0% on
income above $75,000

I January 1, 1983 to June 30, 1986 5.0% on all taxable income

July 1, 1986 to June 30, 1987 5.25% on first $50,000; plus 5.5% on income
between $50,000 and $200,000; plus 6.0% on
income above $200,000

July 1, 1987 to June 30, 1988 5.5% on first $50,000; plus 6.0% on income
above $50,000

July 1, 1988 to June 30, 1989 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.5% on income
above $50,000

July 1, 1989 to June 30, 1990 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.4% on income
above $50,000

July 1, 1990 to June 30, 1991 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.3% on income
above $50,000

July 1, 1991 to June 30, 1992 5.0% on first $50,000; plus 5.2% on income
above $50,000

Determination of Corporate Income: Prior to 1986, Colorado employed the
worldwide unitary method of computing corporate income. Under this method,
corporate income from all sources was considered in the determination of taxable
income. As amended in 1985 session (House Bill 1010), foreign source income is
effectively excluded from the computation of Colorado taxable income. Also,
corporations with 80 percent or more of their property and payroll located outside of
the United States are not included in the unitary tax return.

The actual determination of taxable income in Colorado closely follows federal
corporate taxable income. There are, however, various modifications and credits that
may change the final income figure and the tax paid. Some income tax credits have
expired but claims for carry-forward provisions are still valid.

The most important tax credits for corporations are an investment tax credit, a
new business facilities tax credit, and a commercial energy tax credit. The latter two
credits have expired but the carry-forward provisions allow taxpayers to continue to
claim the credits in future tax years.

The investment tax credit in current law allows taxpayers to claim a 1 percent
investment tax credit, using pre-tax reform definitions of property that qualifies for an
ITC. This credit applies to tax years beginning on and after January 1, 1988, for
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property used in Colorado and may not exceed $1,000 for any tax year. Other credits
apply to businesses that are making increased use of coal produced in Colorado, for
costs incurred in the preservation of historic properties, and for investment in the
development of new technologies for plastic recycling. The cost of equipment used in
the manufacture of products made from postconsumer waste is subject to income tax
credits under House Bill 91-1245.

Several separate tax credits are in effect in enterprise zones. Primary among
these credits are the enterprise zone new business facility employee credit, a 3 percent
investment tax credit, and a credit for monetary or in-kind contributions for zone
administrators in implementing development plans. Another of the credits is for
rehabilitation of commercial buildings that are over 20 years old and that have been
vacant for two or more years. Commencing with tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1993, refunds for new business facility employees will no longer be
available to taxpayers whose businesses are located in enterprise zones. Rather, that
amount may be carried forward for up to five years.

Administration: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: The due date of the tax return is the fifteenth day of the
fourth month following the close of the corporation’s fiscal year. A provision for
estimated payments of four equal installments is required if tax liability can reasonably
be expected to exceed $5,000.

Disposition of Revenue: Corporate income taxes are credited to the General

Fund.
Collections:
Corporate Income Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent

Year Collections Change Year Collections | Change
1983 $66.5 1988 $112.9 -17.4%
1984 94.1 41.5% 1989 167.0 47.9%
1985 78.8 -16.3% 1990 104.2 -36.6%
1986 124.4 57.8% 1991 115.0 10.4%
1987 136.7 9.9% 1992 124.0 7.8%
SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.
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Other States: Five states — Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and
Wyoming — do not impose an income tax on corporations. Most states tax at a flat rate
while some states use the same graduated rates for corporations as individuals.
Colorado’s neighboring states impose a corporate income tax at the rates summarized

below.

Flat or Number of
Graduated Taxable Tax is Range
State Rate Classes Based on of Rates
Arizona Flat 1 FTI * 9.3%; minimum tax of $50
Kansas Flat, with surtax 1 FTI *> 4.5% plus surtax of 2.25%
on income above $25,000
Nebraska Graduated 2 FTI * 5.17% (first $50,000)
7.24% (over $50,000)
plus a surcharge of 2% of
all depreciation
New Mexico | Graduated 3 FTI * 4.8% (first $500,000)
6.4% ($500,000 to $1 M)
7.6% (over $1 M)
Oklahoma Flat 1 FTI * 6.0%
Utah Flat 1 Gross income, | 5.0%; minimum tax of
less deductions | $100
Wyoming No income tax
* Federal Taxable Income, with modifications.

Federal Tax. New federal corporate tax rates were fully effective on July 1,
1987. Corporations whose tax year includes this date must prorate their tax allowing
the use of lower rates after July 1, 1987. The old rates (ranging from 15 through 46
percent) were reduced to three rates using the following schedule:

Taxable Income Rate (graduated)
Up to $ 50,000 15%
$50,000 to $75,000 25%
$75,000 to $100,000 | 34%
$100,000 to $335,000 | 39%

$335,000 and over

34% of taxable income
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II. Personal Income Tax
Enacted: 1937.

.Constitutional and _Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 17, Colorado
Constitution, added by vote of the people November 3, 1936; Article X, Section 19,
Colorado Constitution, adopted by vote of the people November 6, 1962; Title 39,
Article 22, C.R.S.

1987 Tax Reform: The 1987 General Assembly enacted House Bill 1331 which
reformed Colorado’s income tax laws. The purposes of the reform were stated as
simplifying state tax preparation, aiding in tax law interpretation through use of federal
determinations, and improving enforcement.

Tax Base: The Colorado personal income tax follows federal law to arrive at
an individual’s filing status and federal taxable income (which is the basis for
calculating Colorado tax liability). Federal taxable income includes the federal personal
exemption and standard deduction. Colorado taxable income is determined by adding
or subtracting the following modifications from the federal taxable income (Section
39-22-104, C.R.S.).

Additions Subtractions
Federal net operating loss deduction Pension, annuity, and self retirement income
carryover prior to 1987 exclusion of up to $20,000 for persons age 55 or
older
Lump-sum distribution from a pension U.S. Government bond interest

or profit-sharing plan

Interest income of out of state municipal | Gain or loss resulting from sale of property
bonds or other state’s bonds having a higher Colorado basis than federal basis

Colorado net operating loss deduction carried over
from a taxable year prior to January 1, 1987

Interest income from "Colorado investment
deposits" up to $20,000 per year for loans to
small business enterprises. Section 39-22-104 (4)
(a.5) provides a narrow definition of the
"investment deposits."

Once Colorado taxable income is determined, taxable income is multiplied by
the 5.0 percent tax rate to determine Colorado gross tax liability. The gross tax
liability is then reduced by the amounts of allowable tax credits to determine the net tax
liability.
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Present Rate: Five percent "flat tax" based on federal taxable income.

Alternative minimum tax. In addition to the 5 percent flat tax, an alternative
minimum tax (AMT) is imposed at a rate of 3.75 percent. The AMT is imposed on
the federal alternative minimum taxable income after applying Colorado modifications.
The AMT is payable only to the extent it is in excess of the normal tax.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Due April 15 unless an extension is granted by the
Department of Revenue.

History of Tax Rates:

1963 - 1986
Net Effective
Taxable Statutory Rate with
Income 1937 1947 1959 Rate 1/2% Credit ' | 1978 2 1987
0 to $ 999 1.0%| 1.0% |3.0% 3.0% 2.5% 3.0%| 5.0%°
$1,000 to 1,999 1.0%| 1.5% [3.5% 3.5% 3.0% 3.5%
$2,000 to 2,999 20%| 2.0% |4.0% 4.0% 3.5% 4.0%
$3,000 to 3,999 20%| 2.5% |4.5% 4.5% 4.0% 4.5%
$4,000 to 4,999 3.0%| 3.0% |5.0% 50% 4.5% 5.0%
$5,000 to 5,999 3.0%| 4.0% |55% 5.5% 5.0% 55%
$6,000 to 6,999 40%| 50% |6.0% 6.0% 55% 6.0%
$7,000 to 7,999 40%| 6.0% |6.5% 6.5% 6.0% 6.5%
$8,000 to 8,999 50%| 7.0% |7.0% 7.0% 6.5% 7.0%
$9,000 to 9,999 50%| 8.0% |8.0% 7.5% s 7.5%
$10,000 to 10,999 | 6.0%| 9.0% |9.0%* 8.0% s 8.0%
$11,000 and over | 10.0% ' |

This was the effective tax rate for years when the 1/2 percent credit applies.

Rates from 1978 through 1986 were adjusted annually by an annual inflation factor (AIF).

Tax rate of 5% on federal taxable income, as modified for Colorado.

1959 — All net income $10,000 and above was taxed at 9 percent and the income bracket of $11,000
and over was eliminated.

5. The 1/2 percent credit did not apply to taxable income above $9,000.

o
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Recent Colorado Changes: Beginning in 1990, taxpayers whose federal adjusted
gross income is more than $15,000 are being-charged to help fund a health insurance
plan for Colorado residents who are medically uninsurable with any other health
insurance plan. Taxpayers who file a joint return are to pay $4.00 for this fund and
those filing any other return are assessed $2.00 (e.g., single or married separate
return). If a person’s federal adjusted gross income is $15,000 or less, no payment is
required.

Previous Colorado provisions. Since the beginning of the Colorado personal
income tax, a surtax was imposed at a flat rate on dividends from corporate stock,
interest from money, notes, credits, bonds, and other securities. Colorado also allowed
certain percentage credits against the Colorado personal income tax. In addition,
Colorado adopted an annual inflation factor (AIF) or indexing in 1978. This factor was
set each year by the General Assembly and applied to the tax brackets, the standard
deduction, and the personal exemption to prevent an increase in tax liability due
primarily to inflation. The provisions were repealed with enactment of the "Tax Reform
Act of 1987," except the personal exemption which was set at zero. For additional
information on these provisions see the 1986 Tax Handbook, pages 29 and 30.

Disposition of Revenue: Individual income taxes are credited to the General

Fund.
Collections:
Personal Income Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent

Year Collections Change Year Collections | Change
1983 $703.3 1988 $1,195.0 10.5%
1984 796.4 13.2% 1989 1,311.0 9.7%
1985 921.7 15.7% 1990 1,380.7 53%
1986 973.2 5.6% 1991 1,462.5 59%
1987 1,081.9 11.2% 1992 1,608.4 10.0%
SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

Tax Checkoff Programs:

programs authorized under state law:

— Nongame Wildlife Program;

— Domestic Abuse Program;
— U.S. Olympic Committee;
— Homeless Prevention Activities; and
— Desert Storm.

Currently,

there are five voluntary tax checkoff
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Section 39-22-1001, C.R.S., declares that all programs funded by voluntary
contributions of income tax refunds created after June 2, 1985, are to have a sunset
clause restricting the program to no more than three income tax years, unless the
program is reestablished. The Veterans Memorial Fund was sunset by this provision
effective January 1, 1991.

REVENUES
VOLUNTARY INCOME TAX CHECKOFFS
FY 1985 through FY 1992

Nongame | Domestic Olympic Homeless Desert Veterans
Year Wildlife Abuse Committee | Prevention Storm Memorial
1985 $397,533 $231,316 $117,627
1986 372,660 218,757 161,292
1987 406,464 221,788 61,643
1988 371,782 261,077 * 4,702
1989 514,799 273,686 131,183 $190,236
1990 407,468 248,254 101,426 $244,862 8,144
1991 276,744 251,031 111,312 268,639 (4,198)**
1992 377,321 267,805 100,336 257,742 62,812 463

SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

* The Olympic Committee checkoff sunset in 1987 but was reinstated for the 1988 tax year.
** This negative number reflects accounting adjustments from the prior year.

NOTE: Totals used for determination of whether the checkoff program shall be continued in
the next year are based on collections from January 1 through September 30. A
program must receive at least 10 percent of total collections be be continued, except
that the Olympic Committee was exempt from this provision for 1991.

Other States: Nine states, including Colorado, levy a flat income tax rate, and
seven states — Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and
Wyoming — do not levy a personal income tax. In Connecticut, New Hampshire, and
Tennessee, the individual income tax is limited to income from interest and dividends
received. Sixteen states allow a local option to impose some form of local income tax.
Neighboring states impose personal income taxes as summarized on the following page.
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Based on Number of Allow
Flat or Federal Joint Filing Local
State Graduated Income Taxable Classes Income Tax
Arizona Graduated Yes 5 No
Kansas Graduated Yes 3! Yes ?
Nebraska Graduated Yes 4 No
New Mexico Graduated Yes 7 No
Oklahoma Graduated Yes 8! No
Utah Graduated Yes 6 No
Wyoming No income tax
1. The number of classes for married joint returns for persons not deducting
federal income tax.
2. Couaty gross earnings tax is permitted.
- — e

Federal Income Tax: The federal income tax is assessed on a graduated tax
schedule. Federal law before the 1986 tax reform contained 14 or 15 percentage rates
which ranged from 11 to 50 percent, depending on taxable income.

Beginning in the 1987 tax year, the 14 or 15 different tax rates were reduced
to the five rates shown below:

Z T
Jl Income Rate
I
Joint Return $0 - 3,000 11%
$3,001 - 28,000 15%

$28,001 - 45,000 28%
$45,001 - 90,000 35%
$90,001 and above 38.5%

Single Return $0-1,800 11%
$1,801 - 16,800 15%
$16,801 - 27,000 28%
$27,001 - 54,000 35%
$54,001 and above 38.5%

Starting in 1988, the number of rates was reduced to two, with a 5 percent
surcharge added to high-income taxpayers. This surcharge had the effect of eliminating
the graduated rate and charging a flat 28 percent rate against higher income taxpayers.

The levels of income and tax rates for 1992 personal income are as follows.

R ——

Single return First $21,450 — 15%

Over $21,450 to $51,900 — 28%
Above $51,900 — 31%

Joint return First $35,800 — 15%
Over $35,800 to $86,500 — 28%
Above $86,500 — 31%
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INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX

Enacted: 1913.

Statutory Citations: Sections 10-3-209, 10-5-111, 10-6-128, 31-30-1014 (3),
9, (6), C.R.S.

Tax Base: This tax is imposed on the gross amount of all premiums from
insurance policies covering property or risks in this state. The law applies to all
companies and types of business which engage in writing insurance policies or contracts
regardless of the type of insurance policy.

Present Rates: Two and one-fourth percent for a non-Colorado company; 1
percent for a company maintaining a home office or regional home office in Colorado;
1 percent for captive insurance companies; and 2 percent for surplus line insurance.

Exemptions:

— fraternal and benevolent associations;

— mutual protective associations writing crop hail insurance on that portion
of the premium designated to the loss fund;

— policies issued before 1959 by domestic insurance companies maintaining
their principal place of business in this state and having 30 percent of its
assets invested in county, city, town, district, or this state’s bonds or
warrants;

— premiums contracted for after December 31, 1968 on policies in connection
with a pension, profit sharing, or annuity plan.

Administration and Collection: Division of Insurance, Department of Regulatory
Agencies.

Collection Period: Due on the first day of March in each year for the preceding
calendar year. Quarterly payments are required for companies that were liable for a tax
of $5,000 or more during the preceding calendar year.

Histo f

1913 2.0% All companies
- Companies with 50 percent or more of their assets in Colorado bonds
or warrants were exempt
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1949 2.0% ] Surp]iiis‘line insurance \(insurance‘ not otherwise available in Colorado
purchased through licensed brokers from "unauthorized" insurance
companies like Lloyds of London)

1959 2.25% All companies _

1.0% [ Companies with 50 percent or more of their assets in Colorado bonds
or warrants '

1960 2.25% All companies

' ' 1.0% Companies with 30 percent or more of their assets in Colorado bonds
or warrants

1969 2.25% All companies

1.0% Companies maintaining a home or regional office in the state

1972 1.0% Captive insurance companies (wholly owned subsidiary companies

that insure only the risks of the parent company)
, ‘
| Disposition of Revenue: Monies are credited to the general fund, except that

substantial amounts have been transferred to the fire and police members’ benefit fund
for purposes of meeting the FPPF unfunded liability, for death and disability insurance,
and for volunteer firemen. The FY 1987 fund transfer was not made and the amount
transferred for FY 1988 was reduced to $5.5 million (Senate Bill 196 and Senate Bill
243, 1987 session). (See page 16 for fire and police members’ benefit fund.)

Collections:
Insurance Premium Tax Receipts
" ($ in Millions) B
Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year Collections Change Year Collections Change
1983 . $51.6 _ 1988 $80.7 -4.0%
1984 56.6 “9.7% 1989 81.4 0.9%
1985 64.7 14.3% 1990 82.5 1.4%
1986 75.0 15.9% 1991 84.7 2.7%
1987 84.1 12.1% 1992 89.1 5.2%
SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control. '
Other States: All 50 states impose a tax on insurance companies. The rate is

usually a fixed percentage of the taxable gross premiums. Some states also have a
higher tax on foreign corporations and reduce the rate if a certain amount of a
company’s assets are invested in the state. Commerce Clearing House State Tax Guide
reports that many states impose a tax on fire insurance companies for the support of the
fire marshal or authorize cities to levy such a tax for support of the local fire
department. o ' '
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LIQUOR TAXES
Enacted: 1935.

Statutory Citations: Section 12-46-111, C.R.S. — Fermented Malt Beverages;
Section 12-47-127, C.R.S. — Alcoholic Beverages.

Tax Base: The tax is imposed on the manufacturer or the first wholesaler
within the state and applies to the following alcoholic beverages:

Fermented malt beverages — any beverage obtained by the fermentation of
barley, malt, hops, or similar product containing between 0.5 percent and 3.2 percent
alcohol by weight that can be sold to persons 21 years old or older (House Bill 1320,
1987 session).

Malt liquors — beer and any beverage obtained by the fermentation of barley,
malt, hops, or similar product containing more than 3.2 percent of alcohol by weight
that can be sold only to individuals 21 years of age or older.

Medicinal spirituous liquors — any alcoholic beverage, except beer and wine,
which is at least 100 proof.

Special malt liquors — malt liquors which contain between 0.5 percent and 2
percent alcohol by weight.

Spirituous liquors — any alcoholic beverage obtained by distillation and mixed
with water and other substances in solution, including brandy, rum, whiskey, gin, and
every liquid or solid containing at least 0.5 percent alcohol that is fit for use for
beverage purposes.

Vinous liquors — wine and fortified wines containing not less than 0.5 percent
and not exceeding 21 percent of alcohol by volume.

Present Rates:

Fermented malt beverage 8 cents per gallon

Malt liquors 8 cents per gallon

Vinous liquors
All vinous liquors 8.33 cents per liter (includes 1 cent surcharge) !
Colorado vinous liquors 12.33 cents per liter (includes 4 cent surcharge) '

Spirituous liquors 60.26 cents per liter

1. House Bill 90-1068 imposes a surcharge on all wine sold in Colorado that is in addition to the
excise tax shown and an excise tax on grapes used in the production ot wine in Colorado. See
discussion immediately following.
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Special provisions are included for "limited wineries". These establishments
manufacture not more than 100,000 gallons of vinous liquors annually, using
Colorado-grown products to the extent of at least 50 percent in the first five years of
operation and 75 percent thereafter. Exceptions to these requirements may be made in
the event of poor growing conditions.

The Colorado wine industry development act (House Bill 90-1068) created the
wine industry development board to promote and serve as a resource for the wine
industry in this state. Activities of the board are financed through the surcharges
déscribed below.

This legislation repealed the previous tax differential that provided a lower
excise tax for products from Colorado wineries as opposed to products from out of
state. Two surcharges are imposed in addition to the excise tax of 7.33 cents per liter
for vinous liquors sold in Colorado. The first surcharge is 1 cent per liter imposed on
all wines sold. This surcharge is in effect until July 1, 2000.

In addition, a surcharge of 4 cents per liter is charged on wines produced by
Colorado licensed wineries, increasing the tax to 12.33 cents per liter. The Colorado
winery surcharge will increase to 5 cents per liter on July 1, 1995 (total tax of 13.33
cents).

An excise tax of $5.00 per ton of grapes used in the production of wine in
Colorado by a licensed winery is in effect through June 30, 1993. On that date this tax
will increase to $8.00 per ton and then to $10.00 per ton on July 1, 1996.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Twentieth day of each month for the preceding month’s sales.

Exemptions: The following alcoholic beverages are exempt from the tax:

— sacramental wines sold and used for religious purposes;

— vinous liquor made for family use and not for sale;

— wines sold at public auction where the ‘purpose is to dispose of liquor

obtained by reason of salvage of damaged shipments, foreclosure of a lawful

lien, or by failure of an owner to claim-or furnish instructions as to the
disposition thereof.
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History of Tax Rates:

Liquor Tax Rates in Colorado Prior to 1990

(All numbers in cents)

1935 1959 1976 1977 1981 1983

Malt liquors (per gallon) 3 cents 6 cents 8 cents 8 cents 8 cents 8 cents

‘Fermented malt beverage 3 6 8 8 8 8

(per gallon)

Vinous liquor (per liter) 2.8 4.7 5.6 5.6 7.33 7.33
14% or less alcohol 5.6 7.1 8.5 8.5 7.33 7.33
more than 14% alcohol

Vinous-limited wineries N/A N/A N/A .05 .05 .70

(per liter) .01 .01 .70
14% or less alcohol
more than 14% alcohol

Spirituous liquors 37.8 4.5 51.1° 51.1! 60.26 60.26

(per liter)

1. Sealed bottles with two ounces or less were taxed at 5 cents per bottle.

Disposition of Revenue: After the requirements of the old age pension fund have

been satisfied, the remainder is credited to the general fund.
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Collections:

Liquor Tax -Receipts

Fiscal Spirituous Percent

Year Beer* Wine Liquor Total’ Change
1983 6,777,128 2,356,358 15,361,303 24,494,789
1984 6,807,206 2,448,959 15,645,375 24,901,540 1.7%
1985 6,853,673 2,615,591 15,370,214 24,859,478 0.2%
1986 6,723,560 2,691,536 14,417,139 23,832,235 -4.1%
1987 6,784,453 2,604,373 13,783,955 23,172,781 -2.8%
1988 6,543,123 2,370,103 13,051,467 21,964,693 -5.2%
1989 6,505,153 2,089,968 . 12,572,862 21,167,985 -3.6%
1990 6,421,866 2,006,288 12,406,637 20,834,792 -1.5%
1991 6,345,300 1,944,180 11,337,890 19,627,370 -5.8%
1992 6,665,795 2,392,372 12,789,945 21,848,112 11.3%

*  Tax collections for all beer. The table below lists the tax collections for malt liquor and fermented
malt beverages.

Fiscal Fermented Malt Beverage Malt Liquor

Year (3.2% or less) (more than 3.2%)
1983 1,200,248 5,576,880
1984 1,117,716 5,689,490
1985 1,119,471 5,734,202
1986 1,080,314 5,643,246
1987 1,049,616 5,734,837
1988 928,578 5,614,544
1989 860,102 5,645,053
1990 900,178 5,521,688
1991 611,055 5,734,245
1992 659,984 6,005,811

1. Totals on this chart differ from totals for liquor revenues on Table III on page 7. The data for this
page is taken from the Department of Revenue and earlier totals are from the Division of Accounts

and Control.
spirituous liquor receipts.

The Department of Revenue data provided the breakdown for beer, wine, and
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Other States: The range of tax rates on alcoholic beverages varies greatly
among the 50 states. The lowest tax on beer is about 1.9 cents per gallon. The lowest
rate for distilled spirits is about 25 cents’a liter. These rates do not include local taxes,
licenses, surtaxes, or surcharges imposed or markup prices added by state control
boards. Sixteen states have alcohol control boards. The alcohol beverage tax rates for
Colorado’s bordering states are listed below:

——— #I
New
Liquor Arizona Kansas Nebraska Mexico Oklahoma Utah Wyoming
Wort/liquid malt $.20 $.02
(per gallon)
Beer 3.2% or less $.16 .18 $.23 $.18 $.36 $35 02
(per gallon) II
Beer over 3.2% .16 .18 .23 .18 .40 .35 02
(per gallon)
Wine 14% or less 22 .08 20 25 .19 13%°* .08
(per liter) '
Wine over 14% 1.06 .20 .36 .25 37 13% 2 .08
(per liter) '
Spirituous liquor .79 .66 79 1.04 1.47 13%? 25
(per liter) '
Other clubs .05 Local wine: mixed
(10% of per 10 cents per beverages
gross gallon liter on first (12% of
receipts) (farm 80,000 liters; retail
wineries) 20 cents value)
above 80,000
liters and
less than
150,000 liters
1. Rates converted to metric measures.
2. Tax imposed on the retail purchase price for products sold by the Utah Liquor Control Commission.

Federal Tax: Effective January 1, 1991:

Beverage Rate
Distilled spirits $13.50 per proof gallon
Wines:
14% or less alcohol $ 1.07 per wine gallon
14 to 21% alcohol $ 1.57 per wine gallon
21 to 24% alcohol $ 3.15 per wine gallon
Artificially carbonated wines $ 3.30 per wine gallon
Champagne and other sparkling $ 3.40 per wine gallon
wines
Beer, regardless of alcoholic content $18.00 per barrel
(generally 33 cents per 6-pack)
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LOTTERY
Enacted: 1982.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XVII, Section 2, Colorado
Constitution, approved by Colorado voters November 4, 1980; Title 24, Article 35,
Part 2, C.R.S.

Collection Base: Sale of Colorado lottery tickets.
Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue, State Lottery Division.

Collection Period: Daily.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenues from the lottery are credited to the lottery
fund. At least SO percent of the total revenue accruing from the sale of lottery tickets
must be disbursed as prize money. All expenses of the division are paid from the lottery
fund. In 1987, House Bill 1274 was enacted expanding Colorado’s lottery to include
the electronic game "lotto."

Article XXVII to the Colorado Constitution permanently dedicates a portion of
the net proceeds of every state-supervised lottery game to the Great Outdoors Colorado
Trust Fund beginning July 1, 1993. Lottery fund transfers to the Capital Construction
Fund will be phased down over a five-year period so the state may fulfill most of the
state’s current outstanding obligations for capital construction. The existing lottery
distributions to local governments through the Conservation Trust Fund will continue
as well as the current allocations to the Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation.
Distributions to capital construction will decrease in 1993 by $7 million to $11 million
annually up to $35 million per year in 1998. After 1998, any Lottery funds in excess
of $35 million would be transferred to the General Fund.
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Collections:
Lottery Receipts
(Distributions to three state funds)*
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year | Collections | Change Year | Collections | Change
1983 $41.7 1988 $33.0 5.7%
1984 41.4 0.7% 1989 18.5 -43.9%
1985 32.0 -22.7% 1990 40.9 121.1%
1986 29.2 -8.75% 1991 58.9 44.0%
1987 35.0 19.9% 1992 76.0 29.0%

* Receipts after distribution of prize monies (50 percent). The amounts
shown are distributions to the Conservation Trust Fund, Division of Parks
and Outdoor Recreation, and State Capital Construction Fund. Collection
totals do not include administrative expenses for operation of the lottery.

House Bill 1274, 1988 session, expanded the term lottery to include the game
of lotto. The additional funds from lotto distributed to the Capital Construction Fund
are earmarked to pay anticipation warrants used for the construction of state
correctional facilities. This distribution will be reduced over a five-year period.

Other States: A total of 37 states and the District of Columbia have approved
a state lottery. Georgia, Mississippi and Nebraska approved lottery ballot issues at the
1992 General election. The following 13 states do not conduct a lottery:

Alabama North Carolina
Alaska North Dakota
Arkansas Oklahoma
Hawaii South Carolina
Nevada Tennessee
New Mexico Utah
Wyoming
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MOTOR FUEL TAXES

1. Gasoline
Enacted: 1919.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 18, Colorado
Constitution; Title 39, Article 27, Part 1, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Tax is imposed on sales of gasoline and gasohol.
Present Rate: 22 cents per gallon.
Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: On or before the 25th day of the calendar month following
the month in which the fuel was used or imported.

History Qf Tax Rates:

Fiscal Year Gasoline Gasohol Fiscal Year Gasoline Gasohol
1919 1 cent 1969 7 cents

1923 2 cents 1978 7 cents 2 cents
1927 3 cents 1981 9 cents 4 cents
1929 4 cents 1984 12 cents 7 cents
1947 6 cents 1987 18 cents 18 cents
1966 ! 7 cents 1990 ? 20 cents 20 cents
1967 ! 6 cents 1991 ? 22 cents 22 cents

1. One cent increase was allocated to the "highway flood disaster relief fund,” in effect
from August 1, 1965 through August 31, 1966.

2. Rate of 20 cents per gallon began August 1, 1989, and continued through
December 31, 1990. Rate of 22 cents per gallon began January 1, 1991.

Disposition of Revenue: The tax is credited to the highway users tax fund. The
General Assembly appropriates funds to state agencies whose functions are related to
the HUTF, e.g., Department of Revenue for collecting taxes and to the Department of
Public Safety for Colorado State Patrol activities. These appropriations are often
referred to as "off-the-top" deductions. The "off-the-top" deductions are funded from
revenues from the first seven cents of the tax on motor fuels, registration fees, and
passenger-mile taxes.

As illustrated below, two separate formulas are used to distribute funds generated
from the motor fuel tax to the state, cities, and counties. The first formula relates to
money credited to the fund from the first seven cents of the fuel tax. The revenues
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generated by the 1982 and subsequent fuel tax increases are subject to a different
formula. The first 16 percent of motor fuel taxes above the first 7 cents is dedicated for
bridge repair. The remaining 84 percent is distributed to the state, cities, and counties
as shown below.

Motor Fuel Tax Distribution

Additional Revenues
First 7 Cents (Amendments in 1981, 1983,
(1969 Law) 1986, and 1989)
A. "Off-the-top" deductions A. | Bridge repair (16%)
Remaining funds: Remaining funds:
65% to state highway fund 60% to state highway fund
26% to counties 22% to counties
9% to cities 18% to cities
Collections:
Motor Fuel Tax Receipts*
($ in Millions)
Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year | Collections | Change Year | Collections | Change
1983 $146.0 1988 $306.2 3.6%
1984 192.0 31.5% 1989 306.9 0.2%
1985 189.9 -1.1% 1990 327.0 6.5%
1986 197.5 4.0% 1991 334.0 2.2%
1987 295.5 49.6% 1992 355.4 6.4%

SOURCE: Department of Revenue.
* Includes special fuel collections.

Other States: All 50 states impose a motor fuel tax. The tax rates per gallon as
of December 1, 1992, for bordering states are listed below (local taxes are not

included).

State Gasoline State Gasoline
Arizona 18 cents New Mexico 16 cents
Kansas 18 cents Oklahoma 16 cents
Nebraska 24 cents Utah 19 cents!

Wyoming 9 cents

1. An environmental surcharge of .5 cents is imposed on
petroleum sold.
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Georgia and Florida also impose sales taxes on motor fuels. Several other states
periodically adjust the tax rate in accordance w1th the wholesale or retall price.

Thirty-four states impose the same state tax for diesel as for gasoline. Six states
have lower tax rates for diesel than for gasolme — Arkansas, Colorado, Kentucky,
Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Virginia.

Federal Tax: The federal taxes on motor fuels, effective December 1, 1990,
are listed below.

Gasoline 14.1 cents per gallon*

Gasohol 14.1 cents per gallon*

* The 0.1 expires December 31, 1995.

II. Aircraft Fuel

Enacted: 1988.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 18, Colorado

Constitution; Title 28, Article 6, C.R.S. (House Bill 1250, 1988 Session).

Tax Base: Gasoline used in general aviation and products specially prepared,

sold, and used in jet propelled aircraft, excluding regularly scheduled commercial
aircraft. '

Present Rates:

Non-turbo prop and non-jet fuel Motor fuel tax, 6 cents per gallon

(No sales tax)

Turbo-prop and jet fuel, not including | Motor fuel tax, 4 cents per gallon

regularly scheduled carriers (Sales tax is applied)

Not part of the motor fuel ase: State sales tax of 3 percent, plus

Interstate, intrastate, and foreign air any local sales tax

transportation {No motor fuel tax)

-

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue, using the same

mechanism of the motor fuel tax collection system (39-27-102, C.R.S.).
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Collection Period: On or before the 25th day of the calendar month following
the month in which the fuel was used or imported.

History of Tax Rates and Collections: Tax was imposed beginning January 1,

1989.
Aviation Fuel Gallonage Tax
Fiscal Year Collections
1990 $1.2 million
1991 1.1 million
1992 1.2 million

Aviation Fuel Sales Tax

|| FY 1992 $6.2 million

Disposition of Revenue: Distribution of funds is made by the Colorado
Aeronautical Board, Department of Transportation. The board will transfer to each
airport on a monthly basis an amount equal to 4 cents per gallon of gasoline sold at that
airport based on fuel sales reports. Such moneys are to be used only for airport
operation or "aviation purposes".

Federal Tax: 17.6 — fuels other than gasoline
15.1 — gasoline

III. Special Fuels

Enacted: 1919.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 18, Colorado
Constitution; Title 39, Article 27, Part 2, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Motor-fuel taxes are imposed on all special fuels, except fuel used
for aviation purposes. Special fuels usually include diesel, kerosene, liquified petroleum
gases, and natural gas.

Present Raie: The tax increased on January 1, 1992, to 20.5 cents per gallon
(House Bill 1012, 1989 Special Session). The liquified petroleum gas tax applies to all
vehicles using such fuel or the following license fee may be paid in lieu of the tax.
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Gross Weight in Pounds Annual Fee

1 - 10,000 $70
10,001 - 16,000 100
Over 16,000 125

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue — taxes are paid to the
state by both distributors and users. Distributors collect and pay the tax on fuel sold to
a vendor or on fuels used by the distributor on state highways. Users pay taxes on fuel
imported into the state or on ex tax purchases. Ex tax purchasers may buy fuel from
a distributor without paying the tax. An ex tax purchaser must maintain fuel bulk
storage of at least 250 gallons, establish a special fuel user tax account with the
department, file a surety bond, and submit a report by the 25th day of each month or
quarterly stating the amount of fuel consumed in Colorado for the previous month. Tax
payment is due with the report.

Collection Period: Tax payments are due on or before the last day of the month
following the end of the quarter in which the fuel was used or imported. Persons
purchasing a ton-mile tax permit must report on or before the 25th day of each month
or on a quarterly basis.

History of Tax Rates:
Year Rate Year Rate
1919 1 cent 1969 7 cents
1923 2 cents 1978 7 cents
1927 3 cents 1981 9 cents
1929 4 cents 1983 13 cents
1947 6 cents 1986 20.5 cents
1966 7 cents ! 1989 18.5 and 20.5 cents 2
1967 6 cents 1990 18.0 cents
1992 20.5 cents
% ———— |

1. One cent increase, to 7 cents, was in effect for the "highway flood disaster relief fund” from August 1, 1965,
through August 31, 1966.

2. The 18.5 cent rate was effective for the month of July, 1989, and the 20.5 cent rate was effective from August
1, 1989, to January 1, 1990. The rate changed January 1, 1990, to 18.0 cents.

* Additional registration fees are imposed on certain trucks to offset the different rates between gasoline and
diesel fuels.
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Disposition of Revenue: Revenues are credited to highway users tax fund. (See
gasoline tax, pages 48 through 50).

Exemptions:
— fuel used by farm vehicles on farms,

— fuel used by construction equipment within the area of a highway construction
project, and

— fuel used by the United States government, the state, and its political
subdivisions.

Collections: (Included with collections of motor fuel taxes, see page 48.)

Other States: All 50 states impose a similar motor-fuel tax. The tax rates in
bordering states on special fuel are listed below (local taxes are not included).

State Special Fuel State Special Fuel
Arizona 18 cents New Mexico 16 cents
Kansas 20 cents Oklahoma 13 cents
Nebraska 24 cents Utah! 19 cents

Wyoming 9 cents

1. Environmental surcharge of .5 cents is imposed on all
petroleum sold.

Federal Tax: The federal taxes on special fuels, effective December 1, 1990, are
listed below.

Diesel fuel 20 cents per gallon

Special motor fuels (including 14 cents per gallon
alcohol fuels from petroleum)

Alcohol fuels from natural gas rate varies with type of fuel
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PARI-MUTUEL RACING

Enacted: 1947. Referred act of the General Assembly was approved by the voters
on November 2, 1948.

Statutory Citation: Section 12-60-109, C.R.S.
Tax Base: Applied to the handle — the gross receipts from wagering on horse and
greyhound racing events, prior to the distribution of the winnings. Pari-mutuel

wagering on simulcast racing events — races that are broadcasts of live races — is
permitted at track and other facilities under provisions of Senate Bill 91-99.

Present Rate and Distribution:

Type of Racing Operation Rate Distribution
Greyhound 5.0% On all wagers General Fund

Live and Simulcast )
Horse Racing 0.75% On all wagers General Fund

Live and Simulcast $3,000 minimum live perform-

ance for Class B facilities

0.25% On exotic wagers CSU Veterinary School
(wagers other than W,P,S) | for equine research

0.50% On win, place, or show Owners and Breeders’
1.50% On exoctic wagers awards and supplemental
purse fund

(Total tax is 1.25% on win,
place, or show and 2.5% on
other wagers)

Administration and Collection: Colorado Racing Commission, Department of
Revenue.

Collection Period: Daily.

- 54 -




History of Tax Rates:

Pari-Mutuel Tax Rates

(basea on handle)

Year Greyhound ‘Horse Races __..-—
1947 5% 8% T
1949 5% 5%
1967 5% 3% of first $200,000
4% excess of $200,000 but not over $300,000
5% excess of $300,000 but not over $500,000
6% excess of $500,000
1969 5% 4%  of first $200,000
5% excess of $200,000 but not to over $300,000 daily
6% in excess of $300,000 daily
1979 5% 3.75% commercial
4% nonprofit public fair
1981 4% 4% commercial
55% public nonprofit fair
1983 4% 4% commercial
9.5% public nonprofit fair
1.5% nonprofit year-round camm T
1986 4% 4.0% commercial-, all wagers;
0.5% on win, place or show
3.5% other wagers
4.0% fair circuit, all wagers;
5.5% on win, place or show
6.0% other wagers
1.0% non-profit year-round, all wagers or cash fee,
whichever is greater;
0.5% on win, place or show ~
3.5% other wagers
1991 4% State: 4% of handle
1/1 - 6/5
Breeders® Awards: 0.50% on exotic
1991 4.50% State: .75% of handle
6/6 - 12/31 (33,000 minimum live performance for Class B facilities)
CSU Veterinary School: _25% om exofiés
Owners’ and .50% on win, place, and show
Breeders’ Awards: 1.5% on exotics
1992 1/1 thru 3/10 — 4.50% || State: .75% of handle
3/11 thru 12/31 — 5% (83,000 minimum live performance for Class B facilities)
CSU Veterinary School: .25% on exotics .
Owners’ and ___.—50% En’\v’iﬁ:;l;;:e, and show
- Breeders’ Awards: 1.5% on exotics
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Collections:
Pari-Mutuel Tax Receipts

($ in Millions)
Fiscal Percent Fiscal | Collections | Percent
Year | Collections | Change Year Change
1983 $8.4 1988 $8.4 -6.7%
1984 8.6 2.4% 1989 8.4 0.0%
1985 7.7 -10.5% 1990 8.3 -1.2%
1986 8.5 10.4% 1991 8.3 0.0%
1987 9.0 5.9% 1992 8.3 0.0%

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

Other States:

Fiscal Year 1992 Revenue by Type of Racing

Greyhound $ 8,062,822
Horse Racing $ 200,467
Fair Circuit $4,19

According to the U.S. Department of Commerce, 34 states
impose a tax on pari-mutuel betting. For regional states, the taxes are imposed as listed

below. Utah does not allow pari-mutuel wagering.

Greyhound Racing

Horse Racing

Arizona Small counties: 5 1/2% on first $100,000 2% on first $1 million in daily handle
7 1/2% over $100,000 5% over $1 million in daily handle
Large counties: 7 1/2% of handle
Kansas Based on takeout and years of track operation: Based on takeout (18% of handle up to 22% on
Effective Rate: Win, place, and show: 3% - 5% approval)
Exotics (maximum rate): 3.7% - 6.1% | Effective Rate: 3% -3.7%
Nebraska No greyhound racing 0% — Up to $10 million/year

2.5% with 2.0% credit — $10 million-$80 million

New Mexico | No greyhound racing

2.1875% with the following conditions:

— first $250,000 may be offset for capital
improvements

— next $100,000 may be offset for advertising/
promotion

25% tax on Class A facilities with annual handles of
$10 million or more

.625% owners/breeders fund

Oklahoma

No greyhound racing

2% of handle

No tax at fair meets

.5% owner/breeders fund facility $100-$150 million
per year

1.0% over $150 million

Wyoming

No greyhound racing

1.5% of the handle
4% Owners/breeders fund

SOURCE: Christiansen/Cummings Associates, Inc.
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PASSENGER-MILE TAX

Enacted: 1931.
Statutory Citation: Section 42-3-123 (18), C.R.S.

Tax Base: Passenger miles traveled by passenger buses.

Present Rate: The tax rate is one mill per passenger-mile. Passenger miles are
determined by multiplying the actual number of revenue passengers carried by each
motor vehicle by the number of miles carried. In lieu of paying the passenger-mile tax,
passenger buses may obtain a temporary certificate of public convenience and necessity
for a fee of $10. Passenger buses registered in another state making occasional trips to
Colorado may obtain a trip permit for a $25 fee or the amount of the passenger-mile
tax due, whichever is greater.

Exemptions: The tax does not apply to passenger service rendered within a
city, city and county, or incorporated town by a company that engages in the mass
transit of persons by bus or trolley coach.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: On or before the 25th day of each month for miles traveled
the preceding month.

History of Tax Rates: The tax rate has not changed since first imposed in 1931.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenues are credited to the highway users tax fund
(see page 11).

Collections: The tax has been collected with the gross ton-mile tax and is not
accounted for separately. The Department of Revenue estimates that revenues from this
tax are approximately $350,000 per year.
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SALES AND USE TAXES

I. Sales Tax
Enacted: 1935.
Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article XXIV, Colorado Constitution;

Title 39, Article 26, Part 1, C.R.S.. — State; Title 29, Article 2, Part 1, C.R.S. —
Local.

Tax Base: Gross receipts from sales of tangible personal property are subject
to the sales tax, unless specifically exempted by statute.

Present Rate: The state rate is 3 percent on taxable sales. State statutes
(29-2-108, C.R.S.) limit the total state, county, and municipal sales tax to 7 percent
except that the rate may be 8 percent if necessary to allow a county to impose a 1
percent sales tax. Thus, a 4 percent municipal levy, in conjunction with the 3 percent
state levy, could not prohibit a county from levying a 1 percent tax. The statutory limit
does not apply to home rule municipalities. The sales tax of the Cultural and Scientific
Facilities District (CSFD), state and local tourism taxes, and county local improvement
districts are not included in the statutory limit on sales taxes.

Administration and Collection: The Department of Revenue administers all state
sales taxes collected by merchants. The department also administers sales taxes for 160
municipalities, 39 counties, the Regional Transportation District, the Cultural and
Scientific Facilities District and the Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium
District. There are 41 home rule cities that collect and administer their own sales tax.

Collection Period: Taxes are collected monthly and are due by the twentieth
day of the month following collection. Retailers are entitled to retain 3.33 percent of
the taxes to cover collection expenses.

History of Tax Rates:

May 1, 1983 Since
1935 | 1965 | Through July 31, 1984 | August 1, 1984
2% 3% 3.5% ] 3%

Disposition of Revenue: Old age pension fund, as required by the Colorado
Constitution; aviation fund as required under House Bill 91-1028; and general fund.
(See page 10 for OAPF, page 4 for general fund, and page 17 for aviation fund.).
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Sales and use tax diversion "Noble Money". During the 1980s, 7 percent of the
sales and use taxes that were attributable to the sales or use of motor vehicles and
- ‘ related items were transferred to the highway users tax fund. House Bill 1350, 1987

. session, abolished the sales tax diversions and allocated state income tax revenues (not
to exceed $40 million) attributable to federal tax reform to the HUTF for FY 1988. The
transfer was to have been made after meeting the state’s fiscal reserve requirement and
fund paybacks. (For further information see page 12.)

Exemptions:

The following sales transactions have been excluded from the state sales tax (see
section 39-26-102 (10), 39-26-203, and 39-26-114, C.R.S):

— food marketed for consumption as is commonly sold by grocers and sales
of food purchased with food stamps;

— electricity, coal, wood, gas, fuel oil, or coke sold, but not for resale, to
occupants of residences for light, heat, and power of a residence;

— cigarettes;
— all commodities subject to use taxes;

— special fuel defined as diesel, kerosene, liquified petroleum gases, and
natural gas;

— sales tax paid on the amount of the federal excise tax for lubricating oil
used other than in motor vehicles (subject to refund from the Department
of Revenue);

— gasoline;

— drugs dispensed by prescription;

— insulin dispensed by a physician;

— glucose used for treatment in insulin reactions;

— urine and blood testing Kkits;

— insulin measuring and injecting devices including hypodermic syringes and
needles;

— prosthetic devices;
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wheelchairs and hospital beds;
corrective eye glasses, contact leﬁses, and hearing aids;

therapeutic devices or appliances which are used to treat or correct a
disability or when recommended by a doctor;

sales of drugs or materials furnished by a doctor as part of professional
services provided to a patient;

sales to the federal government, the state of Colorado, and its political
subdivisions;

sales to charitable organizations;

sales to nonprofit schools;

construction and building materials for use in building, altering or repairing
structures used by the federal government, the state of Colorado or political
subdivisions thereof, charitable organizations, and public schools;

division of partnership assets according to their interest in the partnership;

transfer of assets to a corporation in exchange for the corporation’s
outstanding stock;

transfer of assets of shareholders or dissolution of professional corporations;
distribution of a corporation’s assets to its stockholders;
transfer of assets from a parent corporation to a subsidiary;

transfer of assets from a subsidiary to a parent corporation when the parent
corporation owns at least 80 percent of the subsidiary;

transfer of a partnership interest;

transfer of reorganization;

transfer of assets to a partnership for interest in the partnership;
repossession of property by a chattel mortgage holder or foreclosure;

transfer of assets between parent corporation and closely-held subsidiary
which are owned by the same shareholders;
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purchases of machinery or machine tools in excess of $500 by a person
engaged in manufacturing in. Colorado;

purchases of machinery or machine tools, including mining equipment, in
excess of $500 by a person engaged in manufacturing and to be used solely

in an enterprise zone;

materials for the construction or repair of machinery or machine tools in
excess of $500 for use in enterprise zones;

sales of bags or containers to a retail vendor of food which are to be
furnished to a consumer;

newspapers and preprinted newspaper supplements;
newsprint and printer’s ink;
property purchased by a business for manufacture or for resale;

sales of electricity, coal, gas, fuel oil, coke, or nuclear fuel for use in
processing or manufacturing;

refractory materials and carbon electrodes used to manufacture iron and
steel; :

inorganic chemicals used in processing vanadium-uranium ores;

property for use in food manufacturing when such property becomes part
of a product or is unfit for further use;

construction and building materials of railroads used in construction and
maintenance of railroad tracks;

personal property purchased in another state by a Colorado resident in
amounts of $100 or less;

transfer of property to out-of-state vendee for use in selling products
normally sold at wholesale by the corporation;

property for testing, modification, and inspection if the ultimate use occurs
outside the state;

sales of motor vehicles to nonresidents purchased for use by nonresidents
outside of Colorado;
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the part of the trade of one vehicle for another that does not involve
financial consideration if both vehicles are subject to licensing in Colorado;

neat cattle, sheep, lambs, poultry, swine, goats, and mares and stallions for
breeding;

live fish for stocking;

farm close-oﬁt sale when an operation is being abandoned;

livestock feed, seed, and orchard trees;

straw and other bedding for livestock use and for the care of poultry;

leases of personal property for three years or less if tax is paid upon
original acquisition;

commodities and services to any occupant who is a permanent resident of
a hotel under written agreement for occupancy of at least 30 consecutive
days;

forty-eight percent of the purchase price of a factory built home on the
purchase of a new home only;

retail sales within a distance of 20 miles within the boundaries of this state
to residents of adjoining states if the adjoining state has no sales tax (note:
all adjacent states currently impose a sales tax);

sales in vending machines and honor boxes in excess of 15 cents;

direct mail advertising materials distributed in Colorado by a person
engaged solely in that business;

new or used trailers, semitrailers, trucks, truck tractors, or truck bodies
manufactured within this state when used in interstate commerce or outside
Colorado, dealer delivery authorized;
aircraft used in interstate commerce;

aircraft parts;

meals to employees which are considered part of their salary;
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— precious metal bullion and coins sold in transactions substantially equivalent
to certain sales of securities and commodities;

— property affixed to railroad rolling stock and locomotives.

Collections:
Sales Tax Receipts

($ in Millions)
Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year | Collections | Change Year | Collections | Change
1983 $566.4 1988 $669.0 3.3%
1984 731.9 29.2% 1989 694.8 3.9%
1985 673.8 -7.9% 1990 768.1 10.5%
1986 662.9 -1.6% 1991 779.8 1.5%
1987 648.3 2.2% 1992 837.0 1.3%

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

Other States: Currently, 45 states impose sales taxes; 26 states exempt food and
all but two states exempt prescription drugs from the tax. The lowest sales tax rate for
the 50 states is 3 percent (Colorado, North Carolina, and Wyoming). The highest
state-imposed rate is 8 percent in Connecticut. Thirty-four states, including Colorado,
allow for local sales taxes. The five states without a state sales tax are Alaska,
Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.

State Sales Tax Rates and Food and Prescription Drug
Exemptions in Neighboring States

State Sales Tax | Local Food Prescription
State Rate ! Taxes | Exemption | Drugs Exemption

Arizona 5.00% Yes Yes (exempt) | Yes (exempt)
Kansas 4.25% Yes No Yes

Nebraska 5.00% Yes Yes Yes

New Mexico 5.00% Yes No No

Oklahoma 4.50% Yes Yes Yes

Utah 5.00% Yes No Yes

Wyoming 3.00% Yes No Yes

1. Use tax rate is the same as the sales tax rate in these states.
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II. Use Tax

Enacted: 1937.

- Statutory Citations: Title 39, Article 26, Part 2, C.R.S. — State Use Tax. Title
29, Article 2, Part 1, C.R.S. — County or Municipal Sales or Use Tax.

Tax Base: Use taxes are collected on receipts from charges or costs of storing,
using, or consuming articles of tangible personal property purchased at retail.

Present Rate: The state rate is 3 percent. Local governments may impose, with
voter approval, additional taxes as long as the combined state, county, and city rate
does not exceed 7 percent. However, the 7 percent limitation cannot prohibit a county
from levying a 1 percent tax.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.
Collection Period: Taxes are collected monthly when the cumulative tax due

at the end of a month is in excess of $300. The tax is due before the twentieth day of
" the following month.

History of Tax Rates:

May 1, 1983

through Since
1937 1965 | July 31, 1984 | August 1, 1984
2% 3% 3.5% 3%

Disposition_of Revenue: After the requirements of the old age pension fund
have been satisfied, the remainder is credited to the general fund.

Exemptions: Items exempt from state sales tax are also exempt from the state
use tax (sec sales tax exemptions, beginning on page 59).
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Collections:
Use Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)
e —

Fiscal Percent Fiscal Percent
Year | Collections | Change Year | Collections | Change
1983 $66.1 1988 $55.6 -19.0%
1984 66.8 1.1% 1989 54.7 -1.6%
1985 73.0 9.3% 1990 62.5 14.3%
1986 76.1 4.2% 1991 66.9 7.0%
1987 68.6 -9.9% 1992 69.0 3.1%

SOURCE: Division of Accounts and Control.

Other States: See "Other States" discussion of sales tax on page 63.




SEVERANCE TAX

Enacted: 1977.
Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 29, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The severance tax is imposed on the production or extraction of
metallic minerals, molybdenum, oil and gas, oil shale, and coal.

Present Rate: The tax rates, their methods of application, and any exemptions
or credits vary with the different types of materials extracted.

Metallic minerals. The tax is based on the gross income, defined as the value
of the mineral upon extraction. It does not include any value added by processing. The
rate is as follows:

Gross Income Tax Rate
Ist $11 million exempt
over $11 million 2.25%

A credit of up to 50 percent of the tax liability is allowed for payment of
property tax.

Molybdenum. The severance tax on molybdenum ore is as follows:

Date Tax

January 1, 1988 through June 30, 1994 | S cents per ton
Beginning July 1, 1994 10 cents per ton

Oil and gas. Crude oil, natural gas, carbon dioxide, and oil and gas are also
taxed on the net gains of the producer for the sale of the oil or gas. Net gains are
defined as gross lease revenues less transportation, manufacturing and processing costs.
Adjustment of the calculation is allowed for cases in which the producer sells the oil
or gas to a related party resulting in a sales price which is lower than the market rate.

Gross Income Rate

Under $25,000 2%

$25,000 but under $100,000 $ 500 plus 3% in excess of $ 25,000
$100,000 but under $300,000 | $ 2,750 plus 4% in excess of $100,000
$300,000 and over $10,750 plus 5% in excess of $300,000

Oil from a well producing 10 barrels of oil or less per day is exempt from the
severance tax. A credit against the severance tax is allowed equal to 87.5 percent of
all property taxes paid, except those imposed on equipment and facilities used for
production, transportation, and storage. This credit is not allowed for wells producing
10 barrels or less per day.
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Coal. The rate of the severance tax on coal is 36 cents per ton until July 1,
1994, at which time the rate will be 60 cents per ton. Until July 1, 2000, the first
25,000 tons extracted in each yearly quarter are exempt from taxation and, after that
date, the first 8,000 tons extracted per quarter will be exempt. (The rate and amount
exempted after July 1, 2000 will return to the same levels as before July 1, 1988.)

A credit of 50 percent of the tax imposed is allowed for coal produced by
underground mines and for lignite coal. Modifications of this tax rate are also specified
in statute. For every 1 1/2 percent decrease or increase in the U.S. Department of
Labor’s Producer Price Index, the rate is correspondingly increased or decreased by 1
percent. Such determinations are made by the executive director of the Department of
Revenue.

Oil shale. Oil shale is taxed at 4 percent of gross proceeds. The term "gross
proceeds” means the value at the point of extraction with direct and indirect
expenditures for equipment, machinery, transportation, refining, and royalties deducted
from the value prior to taxation. The tax is also reduced based upon the length of time
an oil shale facility has been operating.

Years Operating Reduction | Actual Rate
First Year 75% 1%
Second Year 50% 2%
Third Year 25% 3%
Fourth and Succeeding Years None 4%

Also, the first 15,000 tons per day of oil shale or the first 10,000 barrels of
shale oil per day, whichever is greater, is exempt.

Exemption for impact assistance. A credit is allowed against a company’s
severance tax liability for the amount of approved contributions by that company to
local governments toward mitigating the social and economic impact of beginning or
expanding mineral development activities. The credit may not exceed any year’s
severance tax liability but any excess may be carried forward. Additional credits are
allowed for each month such payments to local governments precede their due date.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.
Collection Period: Annually, on or before the fifteenth day of the fourth month

following the end of the taxable year. (Except for molybdenum which must be filed
by the 15th day of the month following the end of a quarter.)

History of Tax Rates: In 1953, an additional income tax was levied on income
derived from the extraction of crude oil and natural gas. The rate was the same as the
current rate under the severance tax. In 1977, the tax was made part of the severance
tax article.
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Disposition of Revenue:

pages 14 and 15 for discussions of these funds.)

Revenues are dedicated 50 percent to the state
severance tax fund and 50 percent to the local government severance tax fund. (See

Collections:
Total Severance Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)
Metallic

Fiscal | Oil and Gas Minerals and Total

Year Production Coal Molybdenum | Collections | Change
1983 $14.7 $11.2 $.4 $26.3

1984 18.1 10.4 3 28.8 9.5%
1985 12.6 8.8 24 23.8 -17.4%
1986 11.6 9.1 1.0 21.7 -8.8%
1987 5.0 6.1 S 11.6 -46.5%
1988 7.3 7.8 2 15.3 31.9%
1989 15.2 6.0 4 21.6 41.2%
1990 8.5 54 .5 14.4 -33.3%
1991 15.6 5.8 S5 21.9 52.1%
1992 10.4 53 4 16.1 -26.5%
SOURCE: Department of Revenue.

Other States: Thirty-three states impose some form of a severance tax. These
taxes are imposed on a variety of natural resources including coal, timber, and mineral
resources. The tax may also apply to resources that are unusual or limited to certain
states, e.g., fish in Alaska, salt in Kansas, or molybdenum in Colorado and New

Mexico.

According to the Department of Commerce, State Government Tax Collections
in 1990, Colorado ranks 22nd in severance tax revenue collections. Alaska collected
the most revenue, followed by Texas. These two states collected almost half of all
severance tax revenue in the United States in 1989, a total of $4.7 billion for all states.
Colorado collected $14.4 million during the same period. The 1990 revenue collection

figures for adjacent states are listed below.

State Collections State Collections
Kansas $86,620,000 Oklahoma $395,292,000
Nebraska 2,729,000 Utah 30,096,000
New Mexico 292,690,000 Wyoming 254,024,000

Collections in 1990.

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, State Government Tax
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TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX

Enacted: 1986.

Statutory Citation: Title 39, Article 28.5, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The tax on tobacco products applies to smoking and chewing
tobaccos, such as cigars, pipe tobacco, cheroots, stogies, snuff, and plug or twist
tobacco. Cigarettes are not included as they are subject to the cigarette tax. Distributors
are permitted to keep 3.33 percent of the collections to cover the expenses of collection
and reporting.

Present Rate: The tax is 20 percent of manufacturer’s list price, the invoice
price paid by the distributor to. a manufacturer or supplier. These products are also
subject to state and local sales and use taxes.

Administration and Collection: Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Distributors file a return every quarter containing the amount
of tobacco products purchased during the preceding quarter and the amount of tax due.
Taxes are paid by the tenth day of the month following the quarterly report.

History of Tax Rates: Not changed since tax became effective July 1, 1986.

Disposition of Revenue: Fifteen percent of the revenue is credited to the general
fund and 85 percent to the old age pension fund. After the requirements of the old age
pension fund have been satisfied, the remainder is credited to the general fund.

Collections:

Tobacco Products Receipts
($ in Millions)

Fiscal Year | Receipts | Percent Change
1987 $2.7

1988 3.1 14.81%
1989 3.0 -3.23%
1990 3.2 6.67%
1991 3.8 18.75%
1992 4.3 13.15%
SOURCE: Department of Revenue.
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Other States: Thirty-four other states levy a tax on tobacco products in addition
to the cigarette tax. Wyoming is the only neighboring state that does not impose a
tobacco products tax. The rates for neighboring states imposing the tax are listed below.

Tobacco Products Taxes in Neighboring States

State Rate
Arizona ..
-- Tobacco and snuff 2 cents per ounce
-- Cavendish, plug or twist 1/2 cent per ounce
-- Cigars
-- small 4 cents each 20 cigars
-- cigars 5 cents each or less 2 cents each 3 cigars
-- cigars over 5 cents 2 cents each cigar
Kansas 10% of wholesale price
Nebraska 15% of purchase price
New Mexico 25% of product value
Oklahoma
-- cigars under 3 1bs. per 1,000 9 mills per cigar
-- cigars over 3 Ibs. per 1,000 1 cent per cigar
-- all other cigars $20 per 1,000
-- smoking tobacco 40% of factory list price
-- chewing tobacco 30% of factory list price
Utah 35% of sales price
Federal Tax:
Snuff 24 cents per pound
Chewing Tobacco 8 cents per pound
Small Cigars 75 cents per thousand

(weighing less than 3 pounds per 1,000)

Large Cigars 8.5% of wholesale price
(weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000)
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TOURISM PROMOTION FUND TAX

Enacted: 1983.

, Statutory Citations: Title 39, Article 26.1, C.R.S.; Title 24, Article 32, Part 13,
C.R.S.

Tax Base: This tax is imposed on the purchase price charged to any person for
rooms or accommodations, restaurant food and drinks, ski lift or admission tickets,
private tourist attraction admission tickets, rental automobiles, and tour bus or
sightseeing carrier tickets. Beginning June 30, 1992, this fund receives 0.2 percent of
the balance of funds remaining in the limited gaming fund at the end of each fiscal year
(Senate Bill 91-149).

Present Rate: Two-tenths of one percent.

Administration and Collection: Each business is responsible for collection of the
tax and its transmission to the Department of Revenue.

Collection Period: Quarterly.

History of Tax Rates: The tax became effective May 1, 1983. House Bill 1214,
1987 session, increased the rate and extended imposition of the tax until July 1, 1993.

Fiscal Year Rate
1983 0.1%
1987 0.2%

Exemptions: Attractions owned or operated by governmental entities and
attractions operated on an occasional basis by nonprofit charitable organizations.

Disposition of Revenue: Credited to the Colorado tourism promotion fund for
use by the Colorado Tourism Board (Title 24, Article 32, Part 13, C.R.S.).

Collections:
Tourism Promotion Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)
TR =

Fiscal Year Collections Fiscal Year Collections
1983 $ .002 1988 $6.8
1984 2.9 1989 8.2
1985 33 1990 8.7
1986 3.6 1991 9.2
1987 3.9 1992 10.1
SOURCE: Department of Revenue.
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX

Enacted: 1936.
" Statutory Citation: Title 8, Article 76, C.R.S.

Tax Base: The tax is applied to a portion of the wages paid by public and
private employers subject to the act. Exemptions, outlined in statute, exclude a limited
number of types of employers from coverage.

The tax is applicable to the first $10,000 of annual earnings paid each employee.

Present Rate: For new employers the standard rate of taxation is 2.7 percent of
the employees’ taxable wages and the state.average tax rate for experienced employers
was 1.4 percent on taxable payrolls. Employers newly subject to this tax may pay taxes
at the standard rate or at the actual experience rate, .whichever is greater. After a
designated length of time, individual employers become eligible for a computed rate
which is based on the employer’s experience rating and the balance in the
Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.

A tax surcharge may be added based on the amount of benefits paid which are
not effectively charged to any active employer. Benefits are not effectively charged
when they are charged to the account of an employer who is already paying the
maximum rate or who has gone out of business.

Employers are also subject to the federal unemployment tax. Receipts from this
tax are used to pay the administrative costs of unemployment insurance programs.

Administmtiog and ggillecgigg:; Division of Employment and Training,
Department of Labor and Employment.

Collection Period: Taxes are payable quarterly. by each employer for each
calendar year in which the employer is subject to the tax. The funds are credited to the
unemployment insurance trust fund.

History of Tax Rates: The standard employer contribution rate in 1936 was 10.8
percent of one month’s wages, provided the rate was less than 0.9 percent of the annual
payroll for the calendar-year. In 1937, a uniform contribution rate of 1.8 percent per
calendar year on a taxable wage base ($3,500 in 1937) was established; the rate was
raised to 2.7 percent in 1938. In 1972, the rate was lowered to 1 percent, but was
changed back to 2.7 percent in 1976,

Ah experience rating system'Was adopted in 1941 which permits qualifying
employers to pay less than the maximum rate. Effective 1984, employers newly subject
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to the tax could be taxed at the standard rate, at the actual experience rate, or at an
assigned average industry rate, whichever is greatest.

Changes in the taxable wage base are listed below.

Taxable Wage Base for
Colorado Unemployment Insurance Tax
(Changes from 1936 - 1988)

1978
$6,000

1936 1974 1983

$7,000

1984 1987 1988

$10,000 '

$3,500 $4,200 $8,000 $9,000

1. House Bill 1012, 1986 session, provided that the taxable wage would increase from
$9,000 to $10,000 on January 1, 1988, if the trust fund resources were less than $350
million on June 30, 1987. The trust fund was less than the required amount,
resulting in the automatic increase in the taxable wage base.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue credited to the unemployment insurance trust fund
is only withdrawn to pay unemployment benefits.

Collections:
Unemployment Insurance Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)
Calendar Percent Calendar Percent
Year Collections Change Year Collections Change

1983 $122.6 1988 $224.5 8.3%
1984 247.3 101.7% 1989 201.8 -10.1%
1985 259.1 4.8% 1990 179.7 -11.0%
1986 204.8 -21.0% 1991 156.8 -12.7%
1987 207.2 1.2% 1992 167.8 * 7.0%
SOURCE: Division of Employment and Training, Department of Labor and Employment.
* Estimated collections.

Other_States:
government.

All 50 states administer this tax as required by the federal
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IV. LOCAL TAXES

Article X, Section 7, of the Colorado Constitution empowers the General
Assembly to vest the power of taxation in the state’s political subdivisions. Article XX,
Section 6, establishes home rule cities and towns and provides them broader taxation
powers than for statutory cities and towns. County home rule authority was created in
Article XTIV, Section 16 of the Colorado Constitution. Municipalities may not impose
income taxes because the General Assembly has the exclusive power in this area of
taxation (Article X, Section 17).

Specific constitutional and statutory citations have been presented for each tax
where applicable. Brief descriptions of the tax and their rates are also provided.
Information pertaining to the types of taxes levied in cities and the rates imposed is
from the Colorado Municipal League’s Municipal Taxes, 1992 edition. Department of
Revenue data was used for rates of sales and use taxes for the cities and counties; that
information is current as of July 1, 1992.

ACCOMMODATIONS OR LODGER’S TAX

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution.

Description of Tax: This tax is usually applied to the price for renting or
leasing of accommodations for less than 30 consecutive days. Some home rule cities
impose a separate lodger’s tax and others impose their sales tax.

Rates: One hundred eighty-five cities reported imposing the city sales tax or an
equivalent rate, while 27 cities reported levying rates in addition to their sales tax rates.

ADMISSIONS TAX

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution.

Description of Tax: An admissions tax is imposed on the charge for admission
to places or events open to the public. It is usually expressed as a percentage of such
charge. The tax is collected when the ticket is sold to an entertainment, athletic event,
theater, or ski lift. Some cities apply their sales tax to admission fees while others
impose a separate admissions tax. The Supreme Court of Colorado has ruled that
non-home rule (statutory) cities do not have the authority to levy an admissions tax

(City of Sheridan v. City of Englewood, 609 P.2d 108 (1980)).

Rates: Thirty-five municipalities report admissions taxes, ranging from 2 to 15
percent.
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Municipalities Levying Separate Admissions Taxes
(Tax In lieu of city sales tax, unless otherwise indicated)

Municipality Rate Municipality Rate

Arvada 4.0% Glendale 3.5%

Aurora 3.5% Larkspur 6.0%

Boulder 50% Manitou Springs | 5.0%

Colorado Springs | 2.5% movie tickets Northglenn 3.0%

Denver 10% paid entrance to Pueblo 3.0% movie tickets

"city-owned" facility Telluride $1 at music events

Edgewater 15.0% Westminster 3.0% movie tickets
Englewood " 3.0% Wheatridge 4.0%

SOURCE: Municipal Taxes, 1992. Colorado Municipal League

COUNTY LODGING TAX

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution;
Section 30-11-107.5, C.R.S.

Description of Tax: Senate Bill 23, 1987 Session, authorizes counties to impose
a county lodging tax in municipalities and unincorporated parts of a county, subject to
voter approval. The tax does not apply in municipalities already levying a lodging tax
but cities may voluntarily abandon their lodging tax ordinances to create a uniform
county lodging tax. Tax revenues are earmarked for advertising and marketing local
tourism and are exempt from the 7 percent sales tax limitation. Counties may impose
the tax on charges to persons for rooms or accommodations.

Rate: The statutory limit is not more than 2 percent. However, due to the
increase in the state tourism promotion fund tax on lodging accommodations, the
effective rate of a county lodging tax may not exceed 1.9 percent.

LIMITED GAMING

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XVIII, Section 9, Colorado
Constitution; Article 47.1, Title 12, C.R.S. (Senate Bill 91-149).

Description of Tax: A tax is imposed on the adjusted gross proceeds (gaming
revenue after prizes are paid out) of gaming permitted in Central City, Black Hawk,
and Cripple Creek. In addition, gaming establishments are required to pay various fees
and licenses, as well as annual device fees. Gaming has been lawful in these cities
since October 1, 1991.

Rates: Pursuant to 12-47.1-302, C.R.S., the Colorado Limited Gaming Control
Commission is authorized to establish and collect fees and taxes upon persons, licenses,
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and gaming devices used in, or participating in limited gaming. For Fiscal Year 1991-
92, the tax rate upon adjusted gross proceeds was 4.0 percent on the first $440,000
each establishment earned; 8.0 percent on earnings between $440,000 and $1,200,000,
and 15.0 percent on earnings in excess of $1,200,000. In addition, an annual device
fee of $100 per slot machine or gaming table was imposed, as well as additional fees
and licenses of at least $2,500 per gaming establishment.

For Fiscal Year 1992-93, the tax rate upon adjusted gross proceeds has been
changed. The current tax rate is 2.0 percent on the first $1,000,000 an establishment
eamns, and 20.0 percent on eamings in excess of $1,000,000. In addition, all existing
gaming establishments are required to annually renew their outstanding licenses.
Device fees were increased to $150 per slot machine and table, effective October 1st
of each year. Device fees are payable on a semiannual basis.

Revenues: For the fiscal year ending June 30, 1992, total gaming revenues
were $13,458,607. This included $10.8 million in gaming taxes, $806,000 in license
fees, $664,000 in device fees, and $1,178,000 in fees for background investigations,
application fees, and other revenue sources. After expenditures for the Division of
Gaming and other indirect costs and passthrough expenses, a total of $9,114,730 was
available to be distributed.

Disposition of Revenue: As of June 30, 1992, the Division of Gaming had
$9,114,730 available for distribution from the Limited Gaming Fund. These monies
were allocated as follows:

Distribution from the Limited Gaming Fund, FY 1992

—

Dollar Amount Percent of Total

State General Fund $ 4,114,136 45.14 %
Contiguous County Limited Gaming 425,000 4.66 %
Impact Fund

Colorado Tourism Promotion Fund 18,229 0.20 %
State Historical Fund 2,552,124 28.00 %

City of Black Hawk ($263,783)

City of Central City ( 394,629)

City of Cripple Creek ( 253,061)
City Total 911,473 10.00 %

Teller County ($303,673)
Gilpin County ( 790,095)
County Total 1,093,768 12.00 %

Total $.9,114,730 100.00 %

Administration and Collection: Division of Gaming, Department of Revenue.
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OCCUPATIONAL TAXES

I. General

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution;
Section 31-15-501, C.R.S.

Description of Tax: Occupational or business taxes are imposed for the
privilege of carrying on certain occupations within the taxing jurisdiction. The tax may
be applied to all or selected types of businesses or professions in a community.
Although the most common form is an annual flat fee, the rate may be based on a
graduated scale, for example, on the number of employees. Specific occupational taxes
may be imposed on businesses selling liquor or on public utilities. However, the state
Supreme Court has held that an occupation tax cannot be based on gross sales as this
tax base would represent an unconstitutional form of an income tax.

Municipalities Levying General Occupations Tax and Tax Rates:

Municipality Rate (Annual Rate Unless Noted)

Alamosa $15 per business

Aspen Firms with:

0-9 employees — $150

10-49 employees — $300

50 or more employees — $600

Aurora $2 per employee per month, matched by employer;
$15 per business; $10 renewal

Avon $75 per business

Basalt $20 per business

Bayfield $25 per business; $5 per employee over 2 employees

Black Hawk $50 per business

Breckenridge $200 plus $10/employee, in-town businesses

$50 in-home occupation
$100 regular vendor
$50 seasonal vendor

Central City $200 per business plus $300 for storefront

Collbran $2 per business
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Municipality

.Rate (Annual Rate Unless Noted)

Crested Butte Firms with:
0-2 employees — $100
3-7 employees — $275
8-15 employees — $475
16-24 employees — $1,000
25 or more employees — $1,500
Regular vendor — $200
Seasonal vendor — $100
Peddlers — $5 a day not to exceed 10 days a year
| Lodging — $10/pillow
Denver Employee Occupational Privilege Tax:
$5.75 per employee per month for employees earning over $500
per month and $4.00 per employee to be paid by employer
Dillon $60 per business
Dinosaur $25 per business
Temporary license: $10 per day
Dolores $10 per business
Dove Creek $15 per business
Durango Firms with:
0-5 employees — $38.50
6-10 employees — $66
11-20 employees — $93.50
Over 20 employees — $110
Eagle $50 per business
Edgewater $50 per business, $2 per employee
Empire $31.50 per business
Erie $25 home occupation
$50 per general business
$100 manufacturing plus $5 per employee
Estes Park $200 per business
Accommodations:
5 units or less — $150
6-20 units — $260
Over 20 units — $375
Evans $25 per business
Fountain $35 per business
Frisco $50 per business
Fruita $25 per business
Gilcrest $15 per business
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Municipality

Rate (Anpual Rate Unless Noted)

Grand Lake

$150 fixed business in commercial zone
$50 non-fixed businesses and home occupations

Green Mountain Falis

$35 per business

Greenwood Village

$2 per employee per month, matched by employer

Keenesburg $5 per business
Larkspur $15 prior to March 31
$30 after March 31
Leadville $50 per business
Louisville $15 per business; $8 sales tax license
Lyons $5 per business license
Marble $10 per business; $2 sales tax license
Morrison $40 per business; $20 short-term business license

Mt. Crested Butte

Per employee:

0-2: $100

3-7: $275

8-15: $475

16-24: $1,000

25 or more: $1,500
Peddlers — $5/day
Lodging — $10/pillow

New Castle $5 per business
$25 trades contractor’s license
$50 transient/seasonal peddler’s license

Palisade $25 per business

Palmer Lake $50 per business

Red CIiff $35 per business

San Luis $20 per business

Sheridan $35 per business plus $2 for each additional owner, partner, or
employee

Silt $25 per business

Silverthorne

$50 per business

Silverton

Firms with:

1-4 employees — $100

5-9 employees — $115

10 or more employees — $145
$50 home occupation license

Snowmass Village

$50 per business
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Municipality ‘ .Rate (Annual Rate Unless Noted)

Telluride $100 to $1,250 based on number of employees
and type of business

Vail $112.50 to $600 based on the number of employees, type of
business, and type of profession

Ward $20 per business

Wellington $10 per business

Wheat Ridge $10 per business

Winter Park $60 per business

Woodland Park $50 per business _

II. Ligquor and Beer Occupation Tax

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution, Section
31-15-501, C.R.S.

Description of tax: Numerous cities impose a privilege tax to permit the sale of
liquor and beer by various establishments and at special events. In 1991, 90 cities
reported imposing this tax. Annual fees ranged from $100 to $3,650.

Number of Municipalities Levying Tax and Range of Taxes:

— ﬁ
No. of Under $100- $500- Over
Type of Business Cities $100 $499 $999 $1,000

Retail liquor store 81 31 41 9 0
Drug store 52 17 26 9 0
Hotel & restaurant 76 26 29 13 8
Club 58 22 28 6 2
Tavern 71 24 25 13 9
Beer & wine 54 17 28 8 1
3.2% beer:

On premises 60 25 23 9 3

Off premises 59 25 29 5 0

On and off 48 19 18 9 2
Arts 19 8 11 0 0
Racetrack 9 5 3 1 0
Extended hours 43 24 18 1 0

-8l -




II. Utility Occupational Tax or Franchise Fee

Constitutional and _Statutory Authority: Article XX, Section 4, Colorado
Constitution; Section 31-32-101, C.R.S.

Description of Tax: A franchise may be required before a public utility may be
permitted to operate in a municipality. The franchise fee for a utility is usually a
percentage of the utility’s gross receipts from business conducted in the municipality.
A municipal occupation tax is sometimes assessed on utilities that are not required to
obtain municipal franchises. These taxes may be based on a flat rate per account or
other flat fee basis.

Number of Municipal Franchises
in Effect During 1991

Number of
Type of Utility Municipalities
Electric 134
Gas 140
Cable TV 148
Telephone 116

Many of the franchise agreements run for 10, 15, or 20 years.
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PROPERTY TAX

Enacted: 1876.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Sections 3, 4, §, 6, 11, and
15, Colorado Constitution; Title 39, Articles | through 13, C.R.S.

1982 Constitutional Amendment: A 1982 constitutional amendment dictates the
three approaches an assessor must use to determine the actual value of a property: 1)
cost, 2) market, 3) income. The actual value for residential property is to be determined
by the cost and market approaches only; agricultural land’s actual value is determined -
by the land’s earning or productive capacity capitalized at a prescribed rate. The
amendment also establishes the rate for the valuation for assessment of residential real
property and all other property, except that the valuation for assessment for producing
mines and lands or leaseholds producing oil and gas is to be determined by a portion’
of annual production. The amendment requires the General Assembly to maintain the
same ratio of statewide valuation of residential property in relation to other taxable
property whenever a change in the level of value occurs. Exemptions for certain types
of property are included in the constitutional amendment. The State Board of
Equalization was given the power to order revaluations for counties and enforce
conformance with the constitution and the statutory provisions concerning property
taxes.

1992 Constitutional Amendment: Amendment No. 1, a constitutional amend-
ment approved by the voters at the November, 1992 general election, requires that all .
local governments must have voter approval in advance for "any new tax, tax rate
increase, mill levy above that for the prior year, valuation for assessment ratio increase
for a property class, or extension of an expiring tax, or a tax policy change directly
causing a net tax revenue gain to any district." The Notice of Valuation (NOV) will
be required to be mailed annually, and may be appealed annually. Additionally, "past
or future sales by a lender or government shall also be considered as comparable
market sales and their sales prices kept as public records. Actual value shall be stated
on all property tax bills and valuation notices and, for residential real property,
determined solely by the market approach to appraisal.” Local governments are also
authorized to enact cumulative uniform exemptions and credits to reduce or end
business personal property taxes. Maximum annual increases in property tax revenues
are limited to prior calendar inflation plus annual local growth, adjusted for property
tax revenue changes approved by the voters after 1991. Emergency property taxes are
prohibited.

Amendment No. 1 also contains provisions which limit the spending authority
of local governments and school districts. The amendment requires that the maximum
annual percentage change in spending for each unit of local government equal inflation
in the prior calendar year plus annual local growth adjusted for revenue changes
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approved by the voters after 1991. Annual local growth for local government is
defined as the net percentage change in actual value of all real property in a district
from construction of taxable real property improvements, minus destruction of similar
improvements, and additions to, minus deletions from, taxable real property. For
school districts, local growth is defined as the percentage change in the school district’s
student enrollment.

Administration;

Property assessment. The county assessor is responsible for the assessment of
most property within the county. Public utilities and railroads, however, are assessed
at the state level. The board of county commissioners, acting as the county board of
equalization, reviews the valuations to raise, lower, or adjust the valuations so that the
valuations are just and equalized within the county. The county board also hears appeals
that have been denied or refused by the county assessor. The assessor must submit an
" Abstract of Assessment” to the state Property Tax Administrator by August 25 of each
year. The abstract lists the property valuations by class and subclass for the county.
The State Board of Equalization reviews and certifies the abstracts of each county by
October 30 of each year. The certified abstract becomes the basis for the tax roll and
is sent to each county treasurer not later than January 10. The county treasurer collects
and disperses the property taxes to all taxing entities.

Property tax administrator. The property tax administrator, through the Division
of Property Taxation, assists and cooperates in administration of property tax laws, and
promotes equalization of property valuation in all 63 counties. The division’s
responsibilities include, but are not limited to:

— investigating taxpayer complaints;

— conducting legislative impact studies;

— providing technical assistance to assessors on valuation and appraisals;

— furnishing expertise to assessors in administration of property tax law;

— providing reappraisal assistance to counties ordered to reappraise;

— conducting an annual assessors school and regional assessment education
programs;

— approving applications for exemptions for school, charitable, and religious
properties;
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— preparing research, manuals, and developing forms and procedures for
assessors; and .

— appraising and apportioning the value of public utility and rail transportation
properties doing business in Colorado.

Uniform valuation assessment enforcement. The 1982 constitutional amendment
establishes procedures to determine whether county assessors have complied with the
amendment and other laws. The General Assembly is required to have an assessment
study conducted every year. Based on this study, if the State Board of Equalization
finds a class of property is not in compliance with the law, the board can require the
county to reappraise the class. The board may order an independent appraisal at the
county’s expense if an assessor fails to comply with a board directive ordering a
reappraisal. The county is also liable for repaying excess moneys the state paid to local
school districts based on reappraised valuations.

Collections:

The county treasurer mails tax bills to all property owners as soon as
practicable after January 1 following the year the property taxes were levied. If the
taxpayer elects to make a single payment for the full amount of taxes, the payment is
due by April 30. If the property tax bill is in excess of $25, two equal installments
may be made in lieu of the single payment. The first installment is due no later than
February 28 and the second is due by June 15. A penalty of one percent per month is
imposed on overdue installment payments until the date of payment or the date of sale
of tax liens.

Prepayment of taxes. Energy development operations and mineral extraction
or conversion operations are authorized to prepay property taxes for credit against
property taxes to be levied in the future. These prepaid taxes are to be expended on
capital improvements which are related to the additional public service demands created
by the operations. The taxing entity and the property owner jointly determine the:

1) amount of prepayment, not to exceed statutory limits; and

2) amounts and intervals of prepayments and credits for prepayments within
statutory limits.

Property Valuation:

Property types. There are two types of property that assessors value for taxing
purposes — real and personal. Real property is property that is permanently fixed, such
as land and buildings. Bverything which is the subject of ownership but is not included
within the term real property is considered personal property. Certain items of personal
property — household furnishings, freestanding appliances, carpet and drapes, other
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personal effects, and personal property rented for 30 days or less — are subject to
taxation only if they are used to produce income. All other types of tangible personal
property are taxable.

Actual value. The actual value of property reflects the property’s worth during
a specified period of time. Actual value is determined by three methods of appraisal:
the market approach, the income approach, and the cost approach. The market approach
compares market sales of similar properties. The cost approach estimates the material
and labor costs to replace a similar property. The income approach converts income
from rent to an estimate of value. Residential property may be valued by cost and
market approaches only. The actual value of farm property is determined by the earning
or productive capacity of the land during a reasonable time.

The time frame for determining the actual value of property is the 18 month
period beginning January 1 and going to July 1 of the next year, the latter date being
six months preceding the next assessment date (January 1). If sufficient data is not
available to compute the level of value of a class of property, the five-year period prior
to the July 1 immediately preceding the assessment date may be used. The level of
value is adjusted to the final day of the data gathering period.

The actual value of property arrived at, using the appropriate
one-and-one-half-year period and appraisal methods, must be within 10 percent of the
current level of value. The assessor must revalue any property that does not meet this
requirement.

Reassessment cycle. The actual value of property is computed based on a
two-year reassessment cycle. Property was revalued in 1989 and again in 1991. The
data gathering period for the 1991 reassessment was the one-and-one-half- year period
prior to July 1, 1990. The two-year reassessment schedule will require revaluation
again in 1993. In 1993, the one-and-one-half-year period will be from January 1, 1991,
to July 1, 1992.

Following the 1996 revaluation, reassessments will occur annually and the 1997
valuations will be based on data collected in the one-and-one-half years prior to July
1, 1996 (House Bill 91-1328).

Assessed value. The assessed value of property is equal to the actual value
multiplied by the appropriate assessment rate. Assessed value for residential real
property is computed by multiplying the actual value by the rate set by the 1982
constitutional amendment. However, the 1982 amendment also required that the General
Assembly insure that, whenever there is a change in the level of value, the percentage
of the total statewide valuation for assessment attributed to residential real property
remain the same as in the preceding year. Rate changes made pursuant to Article X,
Section 3 are summarized below.
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Residential Assessment Rate Adjustments Since 1982
Percent ¢f Actual Value

.
Rate

Calendar
Year Residential Other Reference
1982 21.00% 29% ! Constitution
1987 18.00% H.B. 1003 (1987)
1988 16.00% S.B. 184 (1988)
1989 15.00% H.B. 1288 (1989)
1990 15.00%
1991 14.34% H.B. 1215 (1991)
1992 14.34%

1. For commercial, industrial, state assessed, vacant land,
agricultural land, and natural resources.

Commercial, industrial, vacant land, agricultural land, natural resources, and
state assessed property are to be assessed at 29 percent. Classes of property with
assessment provisions based on production are oil and gas lands and leaseholds, and
producing mines.

Mill. The rate of property taxation for real and personal property is expressed
in mills. One mill will generate one dollar of taxes for each $1,000 of assessed value.

Mill levy. The local taxing authorities — the governing boards of counties,
municipalities, school districts, and special districts — determine a mill levy for their
entity each autumn. Except for school districts, a taxing jurisdiction’s mill levy is
determined by dividing the jurisdiction’s budget by its total assessed value. However,
each levy is subject to maximum levy limitations provided by law. The levies are then
certified by the board of county commissioners.

Each taxpayer is subject to at least two mill levies — county and school district.
However, there are many variations among mill levies due to the variety of taxing
entities that impose the levies. For example, a city, recreation district, fire protection
district, sanitation district, soil conservation district, pest control district, cemetery
district, or other authorized special district or any combination thereof, may levy a tax.
A taxpayer’s property tax bill is determined by the combined mill levy of all the taxing
districts in which his property is located. The amount of tax to be paid is determined
by multiplying the total mill levy by the property’s assessed value.

Communications to taxpayers. A notice of adjusted valuation (NOV) is mailed
to any property owner whose property has changed in value from the prior year. This
notice states the actual, rather than assessed, value in the current and previous year, and
the amount of the adjustment. The NOV will also include the assessment rate to be
applied to the actual value to compute assessed value. A form is included in the NOV
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mailing which, if returned by the property owner, initiates an appeal of the valuation.
Under certain circumstances, an estimate of taxes may be included in the mailing.

Any mill levy amounts communicated to a taxpayer must convert the mill levy
amount into the amount of dollars per $1,000 of assessed value.

Exemptions. Article X, sections 3, 4, 5, and 6, of the Colorado Constitution
provide the following exemptions from property taxation:

— household furnishings and personal effects not used to produce income;
— ditches, canals, and flumes used for irrigation;
— property of the state, its political subdivisions, and public libraries;

— property used for religious worship, school property, property used for
charitable purposes as defined by statute, and nonprofit cemeteries;

— self-propelled construction equipment and motor vehicles (subject to the
specific ownership tax in lieu of the property tax);

— inventories of merchandise held for consumption or sale by a business;
— livestock and agricultural and livestock products;

— agricultural equipment used on a farm or ranch in agricultural production;
— non-producing unpatented mining claims.

Colorado statutes further clarify and define the constitutional exemptions. Some
of the exclusions set forth in statute are:

— nonprofit domestic water companies;
— intangible property, such as stocks and bonds;

— works of art, such as paintings, mosaics, and unique architectural
embellishments loaned to or in the custody of the state or a political
subdivision or to a library, art gallery, or museum owned or operated by a
charitable organization;

— property owned by a non-profit corporation that provides medical and dental
services to needy persons with charges for the services based on the ability
to pay;
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— computer software, which has been defined as intangible personal property;

— transitional housing for homeless or abused persons, or persons whose
incomes are below the poverty line; and

— property used by the state and its political subdivisions under installment
sales or lease purchase agreement under which the public entity will own the
property without further consideration at the end of the agreement.

The statutes also specify the extent to which religious organizations are exempt
from property taxation when their property receives limited rental income or is used for
ancillary activities such as day care for children (Senate Bill 237, 1989 Session; Senate
Bill 91-228).

Residential Property:

As shown on the chart on page 83, the General Assembly set the rate for
assessment of residential property at 15 percent of the actual value for tax years 1989
and 1990. This rate was then changed for 1991 and 1992 to 14.34 percent, although
this number is subject to review by the State Board of Equalization. Mobile homes’
valuation for assessment is the same as for other residential property. Mobile homes
that are part of a licensed dealer’s inventory are exempt.

Public Utilities:

Public utilities are referred to as state-assessed companies. The Property Tax
Administrator determines the actual value of the operating property and plant for each
public utility. Public utilities include airline companies, railroads, electric and rural
electric companies, telephone and telegraph companies, gas and gas pipeline carriers,
domestic water companies selling at retail, pipeline companies, coal slurry pipelines,
and private car line companies conducting business in Colorado. Such companies may
be sole proprietorships, firms, partnerships, associations, companies, or corporations
and the trustees or receivers thereof, elected or appointed.

Factors considered in valuation for assessment. The administrator is to consider

the following factors and weight those factors to obtain a just and fair value of the
property:

— tangible property of the plant whether within or both within and outside the
state, excluding tangible property that is not directly connected to the
utility’s business within the state;

— intangible property such as franchises, contract rights and obligations, and
rights of way;
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— gross and net operating revenues during a time not to exceed the most recent
five-year period, capitalized at indicative rates; and

— average market value of previous year’s outstanding securities, if
determinable.

If the books and records accurately reflect the utility’s tangible and intangible
property and earnings within Colorado during the most recent five-year period, the
administrator may determine the actual value from the records, negating the need to
ascertain the entire value within and outside the state.

Actual value. Public utilities are valued at current value. To establish actual
value, a factor is applied to adjust the current year level of value to the utility’s level
of value on the date used for valuing other properties (the final day of the data
gathering period).

Valuation for assessment. Public utility and railroad properties are valued at
29 percent of actual value.

Administration. Each public utility is to file with the property tax administrator
by April 1 of each year information concerning all property, wherever situated, as may
reasonably be required to determine the actual value and the apportionment among the
several counties.

Apportionment. The property tax administrator allocates to the state that
proportion of assessed value which represents the public utility’s assessed valuation
within the state by using commonly recognized methods of allocation that are just and
equitable. The assessed value of public utility property is normally apportioned to each
county based on the proportion of gross investment cost in a county relative to gross
investment cost statewide. Railroad company property is apportioned based on mainline
track mileage. The administrator notifies each county assessor of the amount of public
utility assessed valuation in the county, and the assessor enters the amount on the tax
rolls.

Natural Resource Property:

Mines. Mines are divided into two classes — producing and non-producing.
Producing mines are metalliferous mines whose gross proceeds during the preceding
calendar year exceeded $5,000. Producing mines are valued for assessment at an
amount equal to 25 percent of the mine’s gross proceeds. If the net proceeds of a mine
exceed 25 percent of the gross proceeds, the valuation for assessment will be the net
proceeds. In accordance with a constitutional amendment approved in 1988,
non-producing unpatented mining claims are exempt from property taxation.
Non-metallic and coal producing mines are assessed in the same manner as other real
property (29 percent of actual value). Machinery and equipment, personal property, and
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improvements other than mining improvements within a mine are valued for assessment
separately.

QOil and gas leaseholds. Oil and gas leaseholds and lands are valued for
assessment at an amount equal to 87.5 percent of the selling price of oil and gas sold
or transported from the wellhead during the preceding calendar year. Qil and gas
leaseholds utilizing secondary recovery, tertiary recovery, or recycling projects to
conserve oil and gas are valued at an amount equal to 75 percent of the selling price

- of production during the preceding calendar year. The selling price of oil and gas

delivered to the United States or the state and its political subdivisions as a royalty is
excluded. Certain surface and subsurface equipment is assessed separately.

Agricultural Property:

The actual value of agricultural lands, exclusive of building improvements, is
determined by considering the productive capacity of the land over a reasonable period
of time, capitalized at a rate of 13 percent.

United States Property Used for Recreational Purposes:

Property owned by the federal government is generally exempt from property
tax. However, if exempt property is leased to an individual or organization to conduct
a for-profit business, the lessee may be subject to taxation as if he was the owner of the
property. In the case of lands owned by the federal government and leased for
recreational activities (ski areas), the possessory interest of the lessee is subject to
taxation. The actual value of the possessory interest is determined by capitalizing the
annual fee paid to the United States by the lessee in the immediately preceding calendar
year. A factor is applied to adjust the actual value to the level of value applicable to
real property.

Tax Deferrals, Credits, and Abatements:

Tax deferral. Persons 65 years or older may defer payment of taxes for an
owner-occupied non-income producing home, townhome, mobile home, condominium,
or similar structure. The deferral is for one calendar year, but may be continued on an
annual basis. The deferred taxes and accrued interest of 8 percent per annum are
required to be paid if:

1) the taxpayer claiming the deferral dies;

2) the property is sold or under contract for sale;

3) the taxpayer moves for reasons other than ill health;
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4) the taxpayer begins to rent the property or otherwise receives income from it;
or

5) the cumulative amount of the deferral plus interest exceeds the market value of
the property less the value of any liens.

Severance tax credit. Oil and gas companies are allowed a credit against the
severance tax equal to 87.5 percent of all property taxes paid except those imposed on
equipment and facilities used for production, transportation, and storage. The credit is
not allowed for wells producing ten barrels or less per day.

Abatements and refunds. Property owners may petition for an abatement or
refund of taxes for the prior two years if they feel the taxes have been levied
erroneously or illegally, due to overvaluation, clerical error, or incorrect levies. If the
petition is approved, the owner is entitled to a tax abatement, or if the taxes have
already been collected, to a refund.

Property Tax/Rent and Heat/Fuel Grants (Rebates) for Elderly and Disabled

Persons:

Colorado residents who meet the age definitions of elderly or who are disabled
may qualify for a property tax/rent grant of up to $500 and a heat/fuel grant of up to
$160. These grants are in the form of rebates filed with Colorado income tax returns
(Title 39, Article 31, C.R.S.).

Eligibility. To qualify as an elderly couple, either the husband or wife must
be 65 years of age or older or an individual must be 58 years of age or older. A
disabled person does not need to meet the age requirements but must have been disabled
for the entire year and shall have received full disability payments from a bona fide
public or private plan such as Social Security. A person claiming a grant must have
paid property taxes on his personal residence or have paid rent on his living quarters
or for a mobile home space. An applicant for a grant may not be claimed as a
dependent by any other person for Colorado income tax purposes.

Income eligibility. The following income limitations apply to this program:

‘ " Single person less than $ 7,500 ”

|| Married couple less than $11,200 II

Other limitations. A grant is not to exceed either the total amount of property
taxes paid or 20 percent of the rent actually paid on the residence. Residents of nursing
homes are not eligible for a grant for nursing home payments.
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Property tax/rent grant. The maximum grant is $500. This amount is reduced
by 20 percent for income above $5,000. for a single person and by 20 percent for
income over $8,700 for a married couple.

Examples for single person:

(a) Income of $5,000 equals a grant of $500.

(b) Income of $6,000 equals a grant of $300. ($500 less
$200 or 20% of the $1,000 of income over $5,000)

Examples for a married couple:

(a) Income of $8,700 equals a grant of $500.

(b) Income of $10,000 equals a grant of $240. ($500 less
$260 or 20% of the $1,300 of income over $8,700)

Heat/fuel grants. The maximum heat/fuel grant is $160 per year and may not
exceed the actual amount paid for heat and fuel. If the heating bill is included as part
of the rental payments, the grant is based on 10 percent of the total rent. For persons
who pay their own heating expense, the grant is based on the actual expenses for that
year up to the $160 maximum. Percentage reductions are made for individuals whose
income is over $5,000 and for couples whose incomes exceed $8,700.

Administration. Department of Revenue. Request "Colorado Property
Tax/Rent/Heat Rebate Form 104 PTC".

Local refunds. A number of municipalities refund a part of the municipal
property taxes to senior citizens or to disabled citizens. Interested persons should check

with the municipality in which they live concerning the availability of this refund.

Amount of grants. The amount refunded in FY 1992 was $14.4 million. Over
43,000 income tax returns requested grants and the average credit allowed was $336.

Property Tax Work-off Program:

This program, enacted in the 1991 session, permits a taxing entity to establish
a work-off program whereby persons 60 years of age and older perform work for the
entity in lieu of payment of property taxes. The property taxes due must be on the
homestead of the taxpayer making application and the property shall not produce
income. A local ordinance or resolution to adopt this program shall include procedures
for application for the program, the maximum number of persons that may participate,
and work verification procedures. The number of hours to be worked is determined
by the amount of property taxes divided by the federal minimum wage (House Bill
91-1258).
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venue Limitations:

Colorado law limits taxing entities to revenue increases of 5.5 percent above
the previous year’s revenue for taxes collected. The limitation may be exceeded for
capital expenditures that have been approved by two-thirds of the governing board
voting at a public hearing. The public hearing must be advertised in conformance with
requirements contained in statute. Qther property tax revenues excluded from the
limitation include those for payment of bonds, interest, and contractual obligations,
reappraisal expenses, repayment of state equalization payments, and county assessor
offices.

All taxing entities may obtain approval for an excess levy increase from the
electorate. Special districts have an additional option; they may submit an excess levy
increase to the Division of Local Government for approval.

Property valuations that are excluded when computing the 5.5 percent revenue
limitation are:

1) annexation or inclusion of additional land and property;
2) new construction;

3) increased production by a mine if the increase in production causes an
increase in the level of services provided; and

4) previously legally exempt federal property that becomes taxable, if an
increase in services is required.

History of Property Tax Revenyes: The state has not imposed a statewide
property tax since 1964 although the Colorado Constitution allows a maximum rate of

four mills.
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TABLE V
Property Tax Revenue for Selected Years
by Types of Governmental Units
and
Total State Assessed Valuation

1930-1991 !
(in millions)

County Total State

Public General Special Total Asseased
Year State County * Municipal School School 2 District 3 Revenue Valuation
1930 $5.7 $10.1 $9.4 $5.8 §$18.3 - $49.2 $1,586.5
1935 33 1.7 7.8 4.8 13.5 - 37.0 1,088.4
1940 4.8 7.1 10.3 3.9 15.5 - 41.7 1,113.0
1945 43 10.2 10.1 3.5 19.1 -- 47.2 1,219.2
1950 6.4 18.7 14.2 4.5 37.5 - 81.3 1,644.6
1955 10.4 26.0 20.0 8.6 66.2 $2.4 133.7 2,870.7
1960 7.9 38.0 26.5 25.7 99.2 6.8 204.1 3,582.1
1961 54 394 25.4 26.7 111.5 7.2 215.5 3,699.7
1962 53 35.8 32.3 24.4 126.4 8.1 232.2 38104
1963 5.1 46.2 31.8 25.6 140.5 9.0 258.2 3,924.7
1964 5.2 48.3 33.2 26.7 155.4 9.7 278.5 3,989.8
1965 - 53.3 343 27.8 158.4 10.3 284.2 4,087.5
1966 - 55.3 36.0 28.8 174.7 11.2 306.0 4,235.8
1967 -- 58.6 37.3 30.5 194.9 12.7 334.0 4,432.6
1968 -- 61.7 38.7 32.9 213.9 13.9 361.1 4,661.2
1969 - 63.4 40.9 -- 267.1 15.6 387.1 4,908.9
1970 - 72.3 43.6 -- 304.1 19.0 439.1 5,158.7
1971 - 83.9 45.3 - 341.6 21.2 492.0 5,464.3
1972 -- 87.3 48.9 - 371.7 24.1 532.0 5,984.8
1973 - 104.5 52.9 - 328.8 29.2 515.4 6,688.0
1974 -- 122.1 60.6 -- 395.1 36.6 614.4 7,490.1
1975 - 143.4 66.5 -- 447.2 46.8 703.8 8,435.9
1976 - 155.4 70.9 - 517.3 47.5 791.1 10,058.8
1977 - 165.0 733 - 553.3 54.9 846.4 10,689.6
1978 - 180.7 71.9 - 570.1 59.2 888.0 11,586.3
1979 - 202.7 84.5 -- 620.9 69.3 977.4 12,460.5
1980 - 239.5 92.4 -- 705.4 83.2 1,120.6 13,717.8
1981 - 264.2 99.1 -- 757.3 96.8 1,217.4 14,7771
1982 -- 292.5 105.5 -- 835.9 116.5 1,350.4 15,730.5
1983 - 347.2 115.5 - 945.1 135.3 1,543.2 17,185.7
1984 -- 371.2 121.8 - 996.3 148.8 1,638.1 17,905.1
1985 - 410.9 129.5 - 1,114.4 162.6 1,817.3 18,730.1
1986 - 435.8 138.1 - 1,181.4 187.9 1,943.1 19,215.7
1987 - 445.3 145.5 - 1,251.8 210.2 2,052.7 36,261.1
1988 -- 479.5 153.7 - 1,309.8 235.2 2,178.2 31,660.6
1989 - 551.9 113.7 - 1,319.1 246.9 2,231.5 29,138.6
1990 -- 560.2 118.0 - 1,315.7 257.9 2,251.8 29,082.0
1991 - 598.4 116.9 - 1,355.1 2714 2,341.8 28,285.4
1. Division of Property Taxation, Twenty-First Annual Report, 1991.
2. Includes General, Capital Reserve, Bond Redemption, and Junior College funds.
3. Special district totals are included in county totals until 1955.
4. City and County of Denver revenucs are shown under County totals beginning in 1989,

- 95 -




REAL ESTATE TRANSFER TAX

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution.

Description of Tax: The real estate transfer tax is levied at the time real
property is conveyed to a purchaser. The tax is analogous to a sales tax on the purchase
of real property.

Rates:

Municipality Rate Municipality Rate
Aspen 1.5% Glendale 1.0%
Avon 2.0% Gypsum 1.0%
Breckenridge 1.0% Snowmass Village 0.5%
Crested Butte 1.5% Telluride 3.0%
Cripple Creek 3.0% Vail 1.0%
Frisco 1.0% Winter Park 1.0%
SOURCE: Municipal Taxes, 1992 Edition, Colorado Municipal League.

Effective December 31, 1992, new or increased transfer tax rates on real
property are prohibited.
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SALES AND USE TAXES

Constitutional and Statutory Authority: Article XX, Colorado Constitution;
Title 29, Article 2, C.R.S.

Description of Tax: Many counties and municipalities in Colorado levy a sales
tax on the retail sales of tangible personal property and on some services. Colorado law
vests with statutory cities and counties the power to impose a sales tax by ordinance.
The ordinance must state that the personal property and services taxable are to be the
same as those taxed by the state. With three exceptions — machinery or machine tools,
residential power, and sales of food for off-premise consumption — counties and
statutory cities must exempt the same items as the state. The state Department of
Revenue is responsible for the collection, administration, and enforcement of these
countywide or municipal sales taxes.

Statutory municipalities and counties are also authorized to levy a use tax. This
tax, however, may be imposed only on the storage, use, or consumption of con-
struction and building materials and motor and other vehicles on which registration is
required. The collection, administration, and enforcement of a city or county use tax
is the responsibility of the local entity. Not all localities impose a use tax.

The imposition of a sales or use tax by a home rule city and the administration
and collection thereof has generally been considered a matter of local concern. Home
rule cities are required to conform sales tax ordinances or procedures to state law in the
following areas:

1) statute of limitations relating to the enforcement of sales and use tax
collections;

2) statute of limitations applicable to refunds of sales and use taxes;

3) the amount of penalties and interest payable on delinquent remittances of
such taxes;

4) the posting of bonds;
5) the use of a standard reporting form;
6) the dispute resolution process for deficient taxes; and

7) use of the same definition of food that the state uses if food is exempted
from the local sales tax.
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The Department of Revenue, at the request of a home rule city, may administer,
collect, and distribute the sales tax of the home rule city. For this to occur, the home
~ rule city’s sales tax ordinance must tax and exempt the same items as the state, except
for the options noted above of machinery and machine tools, residential power, and
food.

State statutes (29-2-108, C.R.S.) limit the total state, county, and municipal
sales tax to 7 percent except that the rate may be 8 percent if necessary to allow a
county to impose a 1 percent sales tax. Thus, a 4 percent municipal levy, in conjunction
with the 3 percent state levy, could not prohibit a county from levying a 1 percent tax.
The statutory limit does not apply to home rule municipalities. The sales tax of the
Cultural and Scientific Facilities District (CSFD), state and local tourism taxes, and
county local improvement districts are not included in the statutory limit on sales taxes.

Counties and Municipalities Levying Tax: Presented below are the sales and use

tax rates in the cities and counties of the state. The Regional Transportation District
(RTD), Cultural and Scientific Facilities District (CSFD), and baseball stadium taxes
are included where applicable.
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TABLE VI
SALES TAX IN COLORADO
Rates for Counties, Municipalities, RTD,
Culturzal and Scientific Facilities District (CFSD),
Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District, and State
RTD, 1/ RTD, 1/
' CSFD, Total CSFD, Total
County City Stadium, & Including County City Stadium, & [ncluding
4 — City Rate County Rate | State Rate — City Rate | County Rate | State Rate
ADAMS 2/ 0.80% 3.80%
Arvada (part) 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% CLEAR CREEK 1.00% 4.00%
Aurora (part) 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% Empire 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Bennett 2.00% 0.00% 5.00% Georgetown 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
X Brighton 3.75% | 0.80% 7.55% \daho Springs 3.00% | 1.00% 7.00%
Broomfield (part) 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% Silver Plume 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Cominerce City 3.50% 0.80% 7.30%
. Federal Heights 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% CONEJOS 0.00% 3.00%
’ Northglenn 3.50% | 0.80% 7.30% Antonito 4.00% | 0.00% 7.00%
. Thorton 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% La Jara 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Westminster (part) 3.25% 0.80% 7.05% Manassa 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
. Romeo 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
ALAMOSA 2.00% 5.00%
Alamosa 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% COSTILLA 1.00% 4.00%
Blanca 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
ARAPAHOE 2/ 0.80% 3.80% San Luis 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Aurora (part) 3.50% 0.80% 7.30%
Cherry Hills Village 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% CROWLEY 2.00% 5.00%
Columbine Valley 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% Ordway 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Englewood 3.50% | 0.80% 7.30%
Glendale 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% CUSTER 1.00% 4.00%
Greenwood Village 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% Silver Cliff 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Littleton 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% Westcliffe 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Sheridan 3.50% 0.80% 7.30%
DELTA 2.00% 5.00%
ARCHULETA 4.00% 7.00% Cedaredge 1.50% 2.00% 6.50%
Crawford 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
BACA 0.00% 3.00% Delta 3.00% 2.00% 8.00%
Springfield 2.00% 0.00% 5.00% Hotchkiss 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Paonia 1.00% | 2.00% 6.00%
BENT 1.00% 4.00%
Las Animas 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% DENVER, City&Co 3.50% 0.80% 7.30%
2/
BOULDER 2/ 0.80% 3.80%
Boulder 2.86% 0.80% 6.66% DOLORES 0.00% 3.00%
Broomficld (part) 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% Dove Creek 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Eric (part) 3.50% 0.80% 7.30% Rico 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Lafayctte 3.00% 0.80% 6.80%
Longmont 2.75% 0.80% 6.55% DOUGLAS 2/ 0.80% 3.80%
Louisville 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% Castle Rock 3.25% 0.00% 6.25%
Lyons 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% Larkspur 4.00% 0.00% 7.00%
Nederland 3.00% 0.80% 6.80% Parker 3.00% 0.80% 6.80%
Superior 2.00% 0.80% 5.80%
Ward 2.00% 0.80% 5.80% EAGLE 1.00% 4.00%
Avon 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
CHAFFEE 2.00% 5.00% Basalt (Part) 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Buena Vista 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% Eagle 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
Poncha Springs 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% Gypsuin 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Salida 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% Minturmn 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
Red CIiff 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
CHEYENNE 0.00% 3.00% Vail 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
Cheyenne Wells 2.00% | 0.00% 5.00%
Kit Caraon 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
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RTD, 1/ RTD, 1/
CSFD, Total 9 CSFD, Total
County City Stadium, & {ncluding County City Stadium, & Including
— City Rate County Rate State Rate — City Rate County Rate State Rate
ELBERT 0.00% 3.00% KlIOwa 0.00% 3.00%
Elizabeth 1.50% 0.00% 4.50% Eads 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Simla 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
KIT CARSON 0.00% 3.00%
EL PASO 1.00% 4.00% Burlington 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Calhan 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Flagler 2.00% | 0.00% 5.00%
Colorado Springs 2.50% 1.00% 6.50%
FPountain 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% LAKE 4.00% 7.00%
Green Mtn. Falls 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Manitou Springs 3.50% 1.00% 7.50% LA PLATA 2.00% 5.00%
Monument 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Bayfield 2.00% [ 2.00% 7.00%
Palmer Lake 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Durango 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Ignacio 2.00% | 2.00% 7.00%
FREMONT 1.50% 4.50%
Canon City 2.00% 1.50% 6.50% LARIMER 0.00% 3.00%
Florence 2.00% 1.50% 6.50% Berthoud 3.00% | 0.00% 6.00%
Estes Park 4.00% 0.00% 7.00%
GARFIELD 0.25% 3.25% Fort Collins 2.75% 0.00% 5.75%
Carbondale 3.00% 0.25% 6.25% Loveland 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Glenwood Springs 2.75% 0.25% 6.00% Wellington 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
New Castle 3.00% 0.25% 6.25%
Parachute 3.00% | 0.25% 6.25% LAS ANIMAS 0.00% 3.00%
Rifle 2.50% 0.25% 5.75% Trinidad 4.00% 0.00% 7.00%
Silt 3.00% 0.25% 6.25%
LINCOLN 2.00% 5.00%
GILPIN 0.00% 3.00% Hugo 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Black Hawk 4.00% 0.00% 7.00% Limon 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Central City 4.00% 0.00% 7.00%
LOGAN 0.00% 3.00%
GRAND 1.00% 4.00% Sterling 3.00% | 0.00% 6.00%
Fraser 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
Granby 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% MESA 2.00% 5.00%
Grand Lake 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% Collbran 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Hot Sulphur Springs | 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% De Beque 2.00% | 2.00% 7.00%
Kremmling 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% Fruita 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Winter Park 5.00% 1.00% 9.00% Grand Junction 2.75% 2.00% 7.75%
Palisade 1.00% 2.00% 6.00%
GUNNISON 1.00% 4.00%
Crested Butte 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% MINERAL 2.00% 5.00%
Gunnison 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Creede 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
Marble 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Mt. Crested Butte 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% MOFFAT 2.00% 5.00%
Pitkin 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Craig 2.00% 2.00% 7.00%
HINSDALE 4.00% 7.00% MONTEZUMA 0.00% 3.00%
Cortez 3.50% | 0.00% 6.50%
HUERFANO 1.00% 4.00% Dolores 3.50% 0.00% 6.50%
La Veta 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Mancos 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Walsenburg 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
MONTROSE 1.00% 4.00%
JACKSON 3.00% 6.00% Montrose 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
Naturita 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
JEFFERSON 2/ 1.30% 4.30% Nucla 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Arvada (part) 3.00% 1.30% 7.30% Olathe 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Broomficld (part) 3.50% 1.30% 7.80%
Edgewater 3.50% 1.30% 7.80% MORGAN 0.00% 3.00%
Golden 3.00% 1.30% 7.30% Brush 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Lakewood 2.00% 1.30% 6.30% Fort Morgan 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Morrison 3.00% 1.30% 7.30% Log Lane Village 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Mountain View 3.00% 1.30% 7.30% Wiggins 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Westminster (part) | 3.25% | 1.30% 7.55%
Wheat Ridge 2.00% 1.30% 6.30%
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RTD, 1/ RTD, 1/
CSFD, Total - CSFD, Total
County City Stadium, & Including County City Stadium, & Including
-— City Rate County Rate State Rate — City Rate County Rate State Rate
OTERO 1.00% 4.00% SEDGWICK 1.00% 4.00%
Fowler 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Juleaburg 1.00% 1.00% 5.00%
La Junta 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Ovid 1.00% 1.00% 5.00%
Manzanola 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Sedgwick 1.00% 1.00% 5.00%
Rocky Ford 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
. SUMMIT 2.50% 3/ 5.50% 3/
OURAY 1.00% 4.00% Breckenridge 2.00% 2.50% 7.50%
- k Ouray 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Dillon 2.00% 2.50% 7.50%
. Ridgway 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Frisco 2.00% 2.50% 7.50%
[« Silverthorne 2.00% | 2.50% 7.50%
PARK 0.00% 3.00%
S Alma 3.00% 0.00% 6.00% TELLER 1.00% 4.00%
Fairplay 3.00% | 0.00% 6.00% Cripple Creek 2.00% | 1.00% 6.00%
b Woodland Park 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
PHILLIPS 0.00% 3.00% Victor 3.00% 1.00% 7.00%
Huxtun 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
Holyoke 1.50% 0.00% 4.50% WASHINGTON 0.00% 3.00%
. Akron 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
PITKIN 3.00% 6.00% Otis 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
- Aspen 1.70% | 3.00% 7.70%
Basalt (Part) 2.00% 2.00% 7.00% WELD 0.00% 3.00%
. Snowmass Village 1.00% | 3.00% 7.00% Ault 2.00% | 0.00% 5.00%
Dacono 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
PROWERS 1.00% 4.00% Eaton 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Granada 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Erie (part) 3.50% 0.00% 6.50%
Holly 1.00% 1.00% 5.00% Evans 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Lamar 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Firestone 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Frederick 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
PUEBLO 1.00% 4.00% Fort Lupton 4.00% 0.00% 7.00%
N Pueblo 3.50% 1.00% 7.50% Garden City 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
’ Gilcrest 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
RIO BLANCO 2.00% 5.00% Greeley 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Hudson 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
RIO GRANDE 1.00% 4.00% Johnstown 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Del Norte 2.00% 1.00% 6.00% Keenesburg 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Monte Vista 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Kemey 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
La Salle 3.50% 0.00% 6.50%
ROUTT 1.00% 4.00% Lochbuie 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Hayden 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% Mead 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Oak Creek 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Milliken 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Steamboat Springs 4.00% 1.00% 8.00% Pierce 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Plattevitle 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
SAGUACHE 0.00% 3.00% Severance 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
Center 2.00% 0.00% 5.00% Windsor 3.00% 0.00% 6.00%
Sagunche 3.00% | 0.00% 6.00%
YUMA 0.00% 3.00%
SAN JUAN 1.00% 4.00% Wray 1.00% 0.00% 4.00%
Silverton 3.00% 1.00% 7.00% Yuma 2.00% 0.00% 5.00%
SAN MIGUEL 1.00% 4.00%
Norwood 2.00% 1.00% 6.00%
Telluride 4.00% 1.00% 8.00%
SOURCE: Department of Revenue. Rates in effect July 1, 1992.
1. Total includes the combined sales tax rate for the municipalities, the counties, the Regional Transportation District (RTD),
Cultural and Scientific Facilities District (CSFD), and Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District where applicable,
and the state. Beginning July 1, 1987, a sales tax of two-tenths of one percent (.2%) is levied on the sales of taxable food,
drink, lodging services, skiing, auto rentals, and admissions to tourist attractions until June 30, 1993.
2. Total for these counties, or parts of counties, includes RTD sales tax of .6 of 1 percent (32-9-119 (2), C.R.S.) and a sales
tax of .1 of 1 percent for the Denver Metropolitan Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (32-13-107, C.R.S.), and a sales
tax of .1 of 1 percent for the Denver Metropolitan Major League Baseball Stadium District (32-14-114, C.R.S.).
3. County total includes .S percent for county mass transit system.
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District Sales Taxes:

The General Assembly has authorized the collection of sales taxes for specific
purposes in certain areas of the state. The Regional Transportation District levies a
sales tax of .6 of 1 percent (32-9-119 (2), C.R.S.) in the following counties: Boulder
and Jefferson counties, the metropolitan areas of Adams and Arapahoe counties, the
northeast portion of Douglas County, and the City and County of Denver. Food for
home consumption and gas and electricity for home use are exempt from the tax.

House Bill 1138, 1987 session, established a "Denver Metropolitan Scientific
and Cultural Facilities District” which comprises the same boundaries as the RTD. The
bill authorizes the district to impose a sales tax of one-tenth of one percent (.1%). The
voters approved the imposition of this tax during the 1988 General Election for
collection beginning January 1, 1989.

The Denver metropolitan major league baseball stadium district was created in
1989 (House Bill 1341) and is authorized to levy one-tenth of 1 percent (0.1%) sales
tax upon the awarding of a major league franchise in the area. Monies collected shall
be used to plan and design a stadium, site acquisition, stadium construction, and for
payment of any special obligation bonds. The stadium district boundaries are the same
as the RTD boundaries. Voters approved this additional tax in August, 1990.

Counties outside of the jurisdiction of RTD are authorized, on approval of the
voters, to impose a sales or use tax of up to .5 percent for the purpose of building mass
transportation systems. This tax is exempt from the 7 percent limitation on total sales
or use taxes imposed by a county (House Bill 90-108; 29-2-103.5, C.R.S.). Summit
County approved this tax in 1990 with a .5 percent rate.

The southeastern portion of Jefferson County has formed a local improvement
district in which a sales tax of .5 cents is imposed. Section 30-20-604, C.R.S., permits
a tax of up to this amount in counties having a population of over 100,000 on approval
of the voters in the area.
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SPECIFIC OWNERSHIP TAX

Enacted: 1937.

Constitutional and Statutory Citations: Article X, Section 6, Colorado
Constitution; Title 42, Article 3, C.R.S.

Tax Base: Factory list price provides the basis for this tax imposed on every
motor vehicle, trailer, semitrailer, or vehicle which is operated or drawn upon any

highway in the state. For taxation purposes, motor vehicles are divided into the
following classes:

Class Motor Vehicle Type

A Every motor vehicle, truck, truck tractor, semitrailer, and
trailer used over any public highway as an interstate carrier
whether or not under contract (state collected tax)

B Every truck, truck tractor, trailer, and semitrailer not included
in class A (county collected)

C Every motor vehicle not included in class A or B (county
collected)

D Every utility trailer, camper trailer, and trailer coach (county
collected)

F All mobile machinery and self-propelled construction

equipment (county collected).

NOTE: There is no longer a class E category.

Tax Rate: The taxable value for class A and B vehicles is 75 percent of the
manufacturer’s suggested retail price. The taxable value for class C and D vehicles is

85 percent of the manufacturer’s suggested retail price. Class F vehicles’ taxable value
is either:

1) the factory list price and, if equipment has been mounted on the vehicle, the
factory list price and 75 percent of the original price of mounted equipment,
or

2) when the factory list price is not available, 75 percent of original retail

delivery price plus 75 percent of original retail delivery price of mounted
equipment, or

3) when (1) and (2) are not ascertainable, then the value is determined by the
property tax administrator.
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The tax is computed using the following schedule:

Years of Service Class " Fee or Percent of Taxable Value
1st A,B,C,D,F| 2.10%
2nd A,B,C.D,F | 1.50%
3rd AB,C,D | 1.20%
Fl| 1.25%
4th AB,C,D | 0.90%
F| 1.00%
5th F| 0.75%
5th - 9th A,B | 0.45% or $10.00 whichever is greater
C,D | 0.45%
6th and over F | 0.50% but not less than $5.00
10th and over A | $10.00
B,C | $3.00
D | 0.45% or $3.00 whichever is greater

In lieu of taxes, equipment dealers that rent or lease class F vehicles may
purchase a decal for $5.00 for each item of equipment to be rented or leased. The
owner collects from the user and transmits to the county a specific ownership tax of 2
percent of the rental or lease payment. Also, the owner of class B and C vehicles who
rents such vehicles may, after receiving authority from the county, collect an amount
equal to 2 percent of the rental payment. The owner must report the amount of tax
collections with payment of the taxes collected in the previous month by the twentieth
of the following month.

Exemptions:

— Mobile homes;

— Vehicles displaying plates issued by the U.S. armed forces in a foreign
country (45 day exemption);

— U.S. and Colorado government vehicles including vehicles leased by the
state;

— Firefighting and police ambulances and patrol wagons;

— Mobile machinery and self-propelled construction equipment not operated on
highways if the equipment is listed with and assessed by the county assessor;

— Farm tractors and implements used in agricultural operations;

— One class B and one class C vehicle weighing less than 6,500 pounds owned
by a disabled vetetan or P.O.W.

Administration and Collection: Class A taxes are collected by the Department
of Revenue and are due no later than January 1 of each year. Counties collect taxes for
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class B, C, D, and F vehicles, and the taxes are due at the time of registration each
year.

History of Tax Rates: The 1937 law that created the tax had two classes of
motor vehicles. The tax rates follow:

Year Rate

1st 3% of 710% of factory list price

2nd 3% of 50% of factory list price

3rd 3% of 40% of factory list price

4th 3% of 30% of factory list price

5th 3% of 15% of factory list price

6th and succeeding years | Not more than $3.50 per year for class A,
and a $1.50 flat rate for class B.

The taxable value was set at 75 percent of the retail delivery price in 1953. The
rate of tax was amended in 1953 and in 1969. In 1981 the taxable value for class C and
D vehicles was set at 85 percent.

Disposition of Revenue: Revenue from class A vehicles is apportioned to the
counties according to the number of miles of state highways within their jurisdiction.
Class B, C, D, and F moneys are deposited with the county tredsurers. Fifty cents of
each collection is kept by the county as reimbursement for the cost of collection and 50
cents is credited to a special fund for a statewide data processing system (42-1-210.1,
C.R.S.). The remaining moneys are apportioned annually among the county and each
political and governmental subdivision located within the boundaries of the county based
upon the proportionate ad valorem taxes levied within the county during the preceding
calendar year.

Collections:

Specific Ownership Tax Receipts
($ in Millions)

Calendar Percent Calendar Percent
Year Collection Change Year Collection Change
1982 $ 105.1 1987 $138.7 3.2%
1983 118.6 12.8% 1988 154.1 11.1%
1984 129.4 9.1% 1989 148.6 -3.6%
1985 131.9 1.9% 1990 160.6 8.1%
1986 143.3 8.6% 1991 163.2 1.6%

SOURCE: Department of Revenue and Division of Property Taxation.
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APPENDIX

The appendix to this report contains eight tables taken from How Colorado
Compares: State and Local Taxes, Colorado Public Expenditure Council, 1992
Edition. The Council (CPEC) derives its data from the Bureau of the Census, U.S.
Department of Commerce, and use 1990 data, the latest available data. The tables
presented are as follows:

Page

Percentage of State and Local Tax Revenue

Table I - State Government . . . ... . .. . . v v i v v vt v v ieenn. 109

Table IT -- Local Government . . . . . . . . . . . it i vt v ens .. 109
Tax Collections Per Capita

Table III -- State Government . . . . . . . . . . v v v v v v v e et v s e e 110

Table IV -- Local Government . . . . . . . . . . . i v v it ittt et e e 110
Tax Collections Per $1,000 of Personal Income

Table V -- State Government . . . . . . . . . . i i v v vt e e e e e 111

Table VI -- Local Government . . . . . . . . . . o v v vt ettt e e 111
Tax Collections Per Capita

Table VII -- State and Local Government . . .. ... ... ... ...... 112
Tax Collections Per $1,000 of Personal Income

Table VIII -- State and Local Government . . . ... ............ 112

The reason for selecting these tables for this publication is to show the
proportion of the state tax collections compared with local taxes in Colorado and other
states. The following quotations from the CPEC publication summarize the Colorado
and other state comparisons in regard to: (a) the mix of state and local taxes; and (b)
the total collections by state and local governments:

As CPEC has reported in the past, Colorado is one of the most
fiscally decentralized states in the nation. The comparative figures for
fiscal year 1990 bear this out. TABLE I placed Colorado’s state
government 45th in its percentage of state and local tax revenue. Less
than one-half (48.4 %) of the total tax receipts were collected at the state
level in Colorado. Nationwide, more than three-fifths of such revenue
was collected by state governments. Conversely, TABLE II placed
Colorado’s local governments 2nd in the percentage of tax revenue
collected at the local level. Local governments in Colorado have
received more revenue than the state in each of the last six fiscal years.
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As a result of this decentralized structure, Colorado’s state
government ranks low and its logal governments place high when
compared with other states. TABLE III ranked Colorado 45th in per
capita state government taxes. Colorado’s $932 in per capita state taxes
was 23 % below the national average of $1,208. However, as shown on
TABLE 1V, Colorado placed 6th in per capita local government taxes.
Colorado’s $994 in per capita local taxes was considerably higher than
the national average of $801.

When tax receipts were related to personal income, Colorado
placed 48th in state government tax revenue (TABLE V), and 6th in
local government tax revenue (TABLE VI).

Colorado placed 22nd in its combined per capita state and local
taxes as shown on TABLE VII. Colorado’s per capita total of $1,925
was 5% below the national average of $2,017. Colorado ranked 34th
when state and local taxes were related to personal income (TABLE
VIII). Nationally, state and local taxes accounted for $115 per $1,000
of personal income and $109 in Colorado. These two tables are the
most significant when making interstate comparisons, as they depict the
total state and local government tax burden.
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TABLE]

STATE GOVERNMENT PERCENTAGE OF
STATE AND LOCAL TAX REVENUE

FISCAL YEAR 1990

Rank_ State S;ﬂg@
1. Delaware .
2. Hawaii 81.18%
3. West Virginia 79.59%
4. New Mexico 78.66%
5. Kentucky 77.31%
6. Arkansas 75.53%
7. Mississippi 73.68%
8. ldaho 72.48%
9. South Carolina 72.24%
10. Washington 71.85%
11. Alabama 71.17%
12. North Carolina 70.83%
13. Oklahoma 70.18%
14. Alaska 69.11%
15. Nevada 68.41%
16. Minnesota 67.64%
17. North Dakota 67.57%
18. Indiana 67.47%
19. Massachusetts 66.00%
20. California 65.53%
21. Utah 64.86%
22. Maine 64.39%
23. Wisconsin 64.15%
24. lowa 63.41%
25. Missouri 62.22%
26. Tennessee 62.22%
27. Arizona 62.17%
28. Louisiana 62.01%
29. Wyoming 61.13%
30. Geo(rfna 60.67%
31. Rhode Island 60.35%
United States Average * 60.18%
32. Connecticut 359.92%
3. Pennsy!vania 59.86%
4. Montana 59.80%
35. Michigan 59.02%
36. Vermont 58.87%
37. Florida 58.82%
38. Maryland 58.52%
39. Kansas 58.29%
40. Ohio 58.15%
4]1. Virginia 56.28%
42. lilinois 53.66%
43. New Jersey 53.58%
44, Nebraska 52.82%
45. Texas 52.11%
46. Oregon 50.68%
47. South Dakota 49.67%
48. New York 48.29‘9;;

49, ﬁQL%RADQ 4
. New Hampshire

* Excludes District of Columbia

< | nk
(988 49.0% 48 60.9%
1987 48.5% 49 612%
1986 483% 49 61.4%

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau
of the Census, Government Finances in 1989-90
(GF/90-5), pp. 45 to 96.
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TABLE 1l
LOCAL GOVERNMENT PERCENTAGE OF

STATE AND LOCAL TAX REVENUE
FISCAL YEAR 1990

Rﬂi. New ham shire %gi%%
E: ; ApE ) EI f”

. INew Yor

b

4. South Dakota 50.33%
5. Oregon 49.32%
6. Texas 47.89%
7. Nebraska 47.18%
8. New Jersey 46.42%
9. lllinois 46.34%
10. Virginia 43.72%
11. Ohio 4]1.85%
12. Kansas 41.71%
13. Maryland 41.48%
14. Florida 4]1.18%
15. Vermont 41.13%
16. Michigan 40.98%
17. Montana 40.20%
18. Pennsylvania 40.14%
19. Connecticut 40.08%

United States Average * 39.82%
20. Rhode Island 39.65%
21. Georgia 39.33%
22. Wyoming 318.87%
23. Louisiana 317.99%
24. Arizona 37.83%
25. Tennessee 37.78%
26. Missouri 37.78%
27. lowa 36.59%
28. Wisconsin 15.85%
29. Maine 35.61%
30. Utah 35.14%
31. California 447%
32. Massachusetts 34.00%
33. Indiana 32.53%
34. North Dakota 32.43%
35. Minnesota 32.36%
36. Nevada 31.59%
37. Alaska 30.89%
38. Oklahoma 29.82%
39. North Carolina 29.17%
40. Alabama 28.83%
41. Washington 28.15%
42. South Carolina 27.76%
43. ldaho 27.52%
44. Mississippi 26.32%
45. Arkansas 24.47%
46. Kentucky 22.69%
47. New Mexico 21.34%
48, West Virginia 20.41%
49, Hawaii 18.82%
50. Delaware 17.60%

* Excludes District of Columbia

| nk
1988 51.0% 3 39.1%
1987 51.5% 2 38.8%
1986 51.7% 2 38.6%

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau
of the Census, Government Finances in 1989-90
(GF/90-5), pp. 45 to 96.




TABLE U :

LOCAL GOVERNMENT TAX COLLECTIONS

STATE GOVERNMENT TAX COLLECTIONS PER CAPITA --- FISCAL YEAR 1990

PER CAPITA --- FISCAL YEAR 1990
. New Yor ,07).

. Alaska 11, 2. Alaska 1,256.94
2. Hawaii 2,107.22 3. New jersey |,169.26
2- CDC|3W81',C }.gggg% 4. New Hampshire }%ﬁgg

. Connecticut 002, 5. Connecticut U7l
5. New York 1,590.58
6. Minnesota 1,558.69 . Iilinois .
7. Massachusetts 1,557.37 8. Maryland 956.29
8. Wa;hmgton 1,525.19 9. Orcgon 953.94
9. California 1,458.98 10. Wyoming 856.64
10. New Jersey 1,349.79 11. Nébraska 856.36
11. Maryland 1,349.12 12. Michigan 847.33
12. Wyoming 1,347.17 13. Virginia 828.70
13. Wisconsin 1,340.50 14. Vermont 826.32
{g. gewgdexlco H%ggtl) 15. Rhode Island gg%%

. Nevada 217, . Massachuselts .
5 g i 1.3

. West Virginia &43. United States Average * .

18, Rhode Island 1122062 8
19. Michigan 1,220.38 17. Texas 796.31
. 18. Kansas 770.56
United States Average * 1,208.19 19. California 761.36
. 20. Ohio 758.71
20. Arizona 1,194.20 21. Wisconsin 749.27
21. lowa . 1,193.05 22. Pennsylvania 746.08
22. North Carolina 1,186.41 23. Minnesota 745.83
23. Vermont 1,182.49 24. South Dakota 728.02
24 Kentucky 1,156.23 25. Arizona 726.77
25. ldaho . 1,130.83 26. Montana 721.49
26. South Carolina 1,128.30 27. Florida 719.13
27. Nlinois ] 1,127.68 28. Georgia 708.37
28. Pennsylvania 1,112.58 29. Maine 702.85
29. Oklahoma 1,105.17 30. lowa 688.38
30. Indiana 1,100.58 31. Nevada 608.35
31. Georgia 1,092.65 32. Washington 597.69
32. Kansas 1,077.08 33. Louisiana 593.36
33. Montana 1,073.45 34. Missouri 586.07
34. Virginia 1,066.83 35. Utah 555.94
35. North Dakota 1,059.64 36. Indiana 530.63
36. Ohio 1,054.33 37. Tennessee 528.59
37. Florida 1,027.17 38. North Dakota 508.52
38. Utah 1,026.11 39. North Carolina 488.58
39, Oregon 980.26 40. Hawaii 488.44
40. Louisiana 968.41 41. Oklahoma 469.65
41. Missouri 965.25 42. South Carolina 433.66
42. Arkansas 961.69 43. Idaho 429.40
43. Nebraska 958.76 44. Alabama 382.97
44. Alabama 945.19 45. Delaware 362.22
45. COLORADO 931,82 46. New Mexico 360.65
46.  Mississippi 931.16 47. Kentucky 339.30
47. Tennessee 870.42 48. Mississippi 332.55
48. Texas 866.34 49, West Virginia 318.87
49. South Dakota_ 718.52 50. Arkansas 311.52
50. New Hampshire 536.79 )
. * Excludes District of Columbia
* Excludes District of Columbia
S_Ilo Ran
) 1988 860 6 691
1988 826 43 1,077 1987 825 7 644
1987 177 41 1,017 1986 768 5 596
1986 718 43 948 CETUS c B
SOURCE: U.S. Dcpartment of Commerce, Bureau
SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, Govr;rmnem Finances in 1989-90
of the Census, Government Finances: 1989-90 }G F/90-5), pp. 45 to 96; population estimates
?GF;’\%"?)NDO% 45 to 96; population estimates or April fQDJb
or Apri .
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TABLE V

STATE GOVERNMENT TAX COLLECTIONS
PER $1,000 OF PERSONAL INCOME
FISCAL YEAR 1990

Bl gme g
. aska .

2. Hawai 113.65
3. New Mexico 100.30
4. West Virginia 97.28
5. Delaware 90.82
6 Wyoming 88.85
7. Minnesola 88.72
8. Washington 88.36
9. Kentucky 83.19
10. South Carolina 82.17
11. Idaho 81.94
12. Wisconsin 81.92
13. Utah ) 79.19
14. North Carolina 78.76
15. Maine 78.59
16. Mississippi 717.96
17. Arizona 77.88
18. Oklahoma 76.18
19. New York 75.65
20. North Dakota 75.63
21. Montana 75.62
22. lowa 75.34
23. California 74.97
24. Nevada 73.97
25. Arkansas 72.85
26. Louisiana 72.18
27. Vermont 71.72
28. Massachusetts 71.46
29. Michigan 70.12
30. Indiana 69.14
United States Average * 69.02
31. Rhode Island 68.83
32. Georgia 68.51
33. Alabama 68.07
34. Connecticut 65.90
35. Maryland 65.40
36. Kansas 64.38
37. Ohio ) 64.
38. Pennsylvania 63.58
39. Oregon 62.06
40. Nebraska 60.80
4]. Florida 59.43
42. Missouri 58.76
43. lllinois 58.74
44. Tennessee 58.48
45. Virginia 57.19
46. New Jersey 56.72
47 55.16

48._COLORADO .72
outh Dakota

50. New Hampshire 26.53
* Excludes District of Columbia
Colo Rank
A4 .
1988 53.06 49 70.32
1987 51.47 47 70.20
1986 48.99 49 69.12

SOURCE: U.S. Dcpartiment of Commerce, Burcau
of the Census, Government Finances: 1989-90
(GF/90-5), pp. 45-96; Bureau of Economic
Analysis, Survey of Current Business, August
1990; personal income for 1989.
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TABLE VI
LOCAL GOVERNMENT TAX COLLECTIONS

PER $1,000 OF PERSONAL INCOME
FISCAL YEAR 1990

?. New :York

2. Alaska 60.60
3. Oregon ) .39
4. New Hampshire 57.01
5. Wyoming 56.50
6. COLORADO 56.21
7. Nebraska 34.30
8. South Dakota 51.79
9. Montana 50.83
10. Illinois 50.73
11. Texas 50.70
12. Vermont 50.12
13. New Jersey 49.14
14. Michigan 48.69
15. Arizona 47.40
16. Maryland 46.36
17. Ohio 46.08
18. Kansas 46.06
19. Wisconsin 45.79

United States Average * 45.66
20. Rhode Istand 45.21
21. Virginia 44 .43
22. Georgia 44 .42
23. Louisiana 4423
24. Connecticut 44 .08
25. lowa 43.47
26. Maine 43.46
27. Utah 42.90
28. Pennsylvania 42.64
29. Minnesota 42.45
30. Florida 41.61
31. California 39.43
32. Massachusctts 36.81
33. North Dakota 36.29
34. Missouri 35.68
35. Tennessce 35.52
J6. Washington 34.63
37. Nevada 34.16
38. Indiana 33.33
39. North Carolina 32.43
40. Oklahoma 32.37
4]. South Carolina 31.58
42. Ildaho 31.11
43, Mississippi 27.84
44. Alabama 27.58
45. New Mexico 27.21
46. Hawaii 26.34
47. West Virginia 24.94
48. Kentucky 24 .41
49. Arkansas 23.60
50. Delaware 19.40

* Excludes District of Columbia

| n

1988 55.26 S 45.14

1987 54.63 6 44 .44

1986 52.40 6 43.43

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau
of the Census, Government Finances: 1989-90
(GF/90-5),

?8 45-96; and BEA, personal
income for 1989.




TABLE Vi

STATE AND LOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS
PER CAPITA --- FISCAL YEAR 1990

. aska
2. District of Columbia 3.806.12
3. New York 3,266.53
4. Connecticut 2,674.57
5. Hawaii 2.595.66
6. New Jersey 2,519.05
7. Massachusetts 2,359.67
8. Maryland 2,305.40
9. Minnesota 2,304.52
10. California 2,226.33
1. Wyoming 2,203.80
12. Washington 2,122.87
13. Hlinois 2,101.56
I4. Wisconsin 2,089.77
15. Michigan 2,067.70
16. Delaware 2.058.24
17. Rhode Island 2.037.32
United States Average 2,016.88
18. Vermont
19. Maine %89%3}
20. Oregon 1,934.19
21. Nevada 1,925.55
2 OLORADQ 1,925.,41
- Anzona 1,920.97
% . Virginia 1,895.53
%% lowa . 1,881.43
. Pennsylvania 1,858.66
27. Kansas 1,847.63
28. Nebraska 1,815.12
29. Ohio 1,813.05
30. Georgia 1.801.02
31. Montana 1,794.93
32. Florida 1.746.30
33, New Hampshire 11690.39
34, New Mexico 1,690.05
35. North Carolina 1.674.99
36. Texas 1,662.65
37. Indiana 1,631.22
38. Utah 1.582.05
39. Oklahoma 1.574.82
40. North Dakota 1.568.16
41. West Virginia 1,562.45
42. South Carolina 1,561.96
43. Louisiana 1.561.77
44. Idaho 1,560.23
45. Missouri 1,551.32
46. Kentucky 1,495.52
47. South Dakota 1,446.54
48. Tennessee 1.399.01
49. Alabama 1:1328.16
50. Arkansas 1127321
51. Mississippi 1,263.71
. | Rank .
98931 5y
loa] 1o 3%
. 2 1,665
1986 1,485 19 1.547

SOURTE UX. Department of Commerce, Bureau
o(( the Census, Government Finances. 1989-%)
} ;l'IOO-S)M)dE). 45-96; population estimates

or April
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TABLE V1

STATE AND LLOCAL TAX COLLECTIONS
PER $1,000 OF PERSONAL INCOME

FISCAL YEAR 1990

Rank State

1. Alaska

2. District of Columbia
3. New York

4. Wyoming

5. Hawaii

6. Minnesota

7. Wisconsin

8. New Mexico
9. Montana

0. Arizona

1. Washington
2. Oregon
3. West Virginia
4. Utah

5. Maine

6. Vermont

17. Michigan

18. lowa

19. Louisiana
20. Nebraska

United States Average

21. California

22. Rhode Island
23. South Carolina
24. Idaho

25. Georgia

26. North Dakota
27. Maryland

28. North Carolina
29. Kansas

30. Delaware

31. Ohio

32. Connecticut
33. lilinois

1
|
1
1
|
|
]

>
V.- -1
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4. COLORADQ
—% . Oklahoma
36. Massachusetts
37. Nevada

38. Kentucky

39. Pennsylvania
40. Texas

4]. New Jersey
42. Mississip[(n
43. South Dakota
44. Indiana

45. Virginia

46. Flonda

47. Arkansas

48. Alabama

49. Missourl

50. Tcnnessece
51. New lampshire

i
1988 108.32
1987 106.09
1986 101.39

SOURCE: U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau
of the Census, Government Finances in 1 9_89—90
}GF/‘)O—S), pp- 45-96; and BEA, personal income

or 1989.




