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STATE CONSUMER USE TAX
By Greg Sobetski

Colorado levies a 2.9 percent sales tax on
purchases of most goods and some services.
A complementary use tax is levied when sales
tax is due but was not collected. This issue
brief provides information on the state use tax
and its collection.

State Use Tax

The state use tax was enacted in 1937, two
years after the state sales tax. Under Colorado
law, the use tax is assessed:

for the privilege of storing, using, or
consuming in this state any articles of
tangible personal property purchased at
retail (Section 39-26-202 (1)(b), C.R.S.).

Together, the sales and use taxes operate as a
tax on the consumption of most goods and
some services. The two taxes apply to the
same tax base, meaning that they apply to the
same set of taxable purchases. Furthermore,
use tax is assessed only on purchases for
which sales tax was not collected, meaning that
no consumer is required to pay sales and use
taxes on the same purchase.

Sales tax is collected by a retailer at the
time of sale and remitted to the Department of
Revenue, usually on a monthly basis. If sales
tax is owed but was not collected, the consumer
has the responsibility to pay use taxes to the
state.

Common scenarios. Use tax is most
frequently owed because a good or service was
purchased from a seller not authorized to
collect Colorado sales tax. Sellers in this
category often include:

e individuals without a licensed retail
business, such as individuals selling
used property at a garage sale, an
estate sale, or over the internet; and

¢ businesses without a physical presence
in Colorado, including many internet,
catalog, and mail-order retailers.

Use tax is also due when property worth at
least $100 is purchased in another state and
brought to Colorado for use or consumption.
With proof of payment, sales tax paid to another
state may be credited against state use tax due
in Colorado for a particular item.

Collection. Reporting and remitting
consumer use tax is the responsibility of the
purchaser. For individuals, tax is due by
April 15 for purchases made during the prior
calendar year. Taxes may be remitted in one of
three ways: via a consumer use tax return,
through the Department of Revenue’s e-filing
system, or via an individual income tax return.

Consumer use tax return. Taxpayers may
file a consumer use tax return using form
DR0252. This form and its filing instructions
are available online at http://www.colorado.gov/
pacific/sites/default/files/DR0252.pdf.
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E-filing system. Consumer use tax returns
can also be filed using Revenue Online, the
Department of Revenue’s electronic filing
system. The system can be accessed at
http://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline.

Individual income tax return. Beginning with
tax forms for 2015, taxpayers may now remit
consumer use tax payments when filing a
Colorado individual income tax return. Income
tax forms now include lines to report state and
special district use tax liability. For 2015,
taxpayers remitted $2.2 million in state use tax
payments using this mechanism.

Tax base. The state use tax applies to the
same set of purchases as the state sales tax.
In general, goods are subject to the taxes
unless specifically exempted, while services are
exempt unless specifically taxed.

There are 86 sales and use tax exemptions
in state law. Many of these exist to avoid “tax
pyramiding,” whereby individual products are
taxed multiple times at multiple stages of the
production cycle. Other exemptions are in
place to avoid taxing necessities or collecting
taxes from governments. The ten largest
exemptions are for:

e wholesale sales;

e component parts in a manufactured
product;

o food for domestic home consumption;
gasoline, diesel, natural gas, propane,
and kerosene;

o livestock used for breeding purposes;

o sales to federal, state, and local
governments;

o fuel for residential heat, lighting, and
power;

e construction materials  used by
contractors on public works projects;

e livestock feed, seeds, and orchard trees;
and

e machinery used in manufacturing.

Services subject to the sales and use tax
include food and drinking services, lodging,
leasing and rental of goods, and
telecommunication services.

Tax rate. The state use tax is assessed at
a rate of 2.9 percent, identical to the state sales
tax rate. A history of tax rates is available in the
Legislative Council Staff's Colorado Online Tax
Handbook.

Revenue. Use tax revenue is allocated to
the General Fund for spending on state
operations at the discretion of the
General Assembly. Preliminary, unaudited data
indicate that the state collected $243.8 million in
use taxes in FY 2015-16. Use tax revenue is
subject to the state’s constitutional revenue
limit.

Local Government Use Taxes

Under Colorado law, counties and
municipalities may establish their own use tax
ordinances or resolutions. State law directly
imposes use taxes for certain special districts.

If imposed, a local government use tax is
usually assessed at the same rate as that local
government's sales tax, and applies to the
same tax base. Under the Colorado
Constitution, a home rule county or municipality
may establish its own tax base. State law
requires  that statutory counties and
municipalities allow certain use tax exemptions,
including exemptions for sales to governments
and component parts. State law also includes
specific requirements governing where an item
may be taxed if it is purchased in one
jurisdiction and stored, used, or consumed in
another.

Use tax revenue is subject to the local
government’s constitutional revenue limit unless
specifically exempted by voters. Some
individual counties and municipalities have
received voter authorization to exempt all use
tax revenue from their revenue limits.

A list of county, municipality, and special
district sales and use tax rates is provided at
http://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/
files/DR1002.pdf.
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