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RETAIL ALCOHOL SALES 

By Erin Reynolds 
 

This issue brief outlines the licensing 
requirements involved in the distribution and 
retail sales of alcohol for off-site consumption.  
It also provides an overview of which states 
permit alcohol sales in grocery stores. 
 
 
Overview of State Liquor Licensing 
 

Colorado regulates alcohol through a 
three-tier system that divides the production, 
distribution, and retail sales of alcohol into 
separate regulatory frameworks.  In general, a 
person or entity having a production or 
distribution interest may not have a retail 
interest.  Licenses for production and 
distribution are issued by the state alone, while 
retail licenses and permits are issued by both 
state and local licensing authorities.   
 
 
Distributors 
 

A wholesale licensee is not limited in the 
amount of alcohol it is permitted to distribute, 
only to the territory in which it is sold, as 
contractually agreed upon by the licensee and 
the manufacturer.  In addition, the following 
license types are permitted to sell alcohol to 
retailers with the following annual limitations: 

 
 Brew pub: May produce up to 

1.86 million gallons of beer; may sell 
300,000 gallons to retailers. 

 Distillery pub (new in 2015): May 
produce up to 45,000 liters of spirituous 
liquor; may sell 2,700 liters to retailers. 

 
 Limited winery: May produce up to 

100,000 gallons of wine; not limited on 
what it may sell to retailers.  

 Vintner’s restaurant:  May produce up 
to 250,000 gallons of wine; may sell 
50,000 gallons to retailers. 

 
Distributors (both wholesalers and the other 

license types outlined above) must follow strict 
regulations governing the sale and marketing of 
their product; monitor the quality and safety of 
their product; and collect, remit, and report state 
excise tax revenue on a monthly basis.  In 
FY 2014-15, the state collected $41.8 million in 
excise tax from alcohol.  

   
 
Retail Liquor Licenses 
 

The state prohibits the sale of all but 
3.2 percent alcohol by volume beer (3.2 beer) in 
licensed grocery and convenience stores, 
except that it allows a liquor-licensed drugstore 
to have a single location where it may sell 
full-strength beer, wine, and spirits.   

 
Liquor stores and liquor-licensed drugstores 

are licensed under the Colorado Liquor Code, 
while grocery and convenience stores 
are licensed under the Colorado Beer Code.  
Both codes require applicants to meet certain 
criteria, pay an annual licensing fee, and to 
obtain licenses from both the state Department 
of Revenue and a local licensing authority —
usually a municipality, unless the location is on 
unicorporated county land, in which case the 
county is the local licensing authority.  
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Liquor stores and liquor-licensed 
drugstores.  Retail liquor stores and 
liquor-licensed drugstores are subject to the 
following state laws: 

 
 alcohol must be purchased from a licensed 

distributor; 
 only one store can be licensed per owner, 

shareholder, or interested party (no 
chains);  

 on-site consumption is limited to tastings;  
 no 3.2 beer may be sold in these stores; 

and 
 only the following food items may be sold: 

garnishes, liquor-filled candy, and 
hangover remedies.   

 
Liquor-licensed drugstore licensees must 

have a licensed pharmacist staffing the 
pharmacy at least 50 percent of the time during 
which alcohol is sold.  As of September 2015, 
there were 1,610 licensed liquor stores and 
16 liquor-licensed drugstores in the state.  

  
Grocery and convenience stores.  

Grocery and convenience stores may sell only 
3.2 beer, but are not otherwise limited in what 
they may sell.  As of September 2015, Colorado 
had 1,522 grocery and convenience stores 
licensed to sell 3.2 beer and for off-premise 
consumption.    

  
Licensing fees.  The annual state licensing 

fee for liquor stores and liquor-licensed 
drugstores is $100, and the local licensing fee 
is $150 in a municipality or $250 in an 
unincorporated county.  For 3.2 beer sales at 
grocery or convenience stores, the annual state 
licensing fee is $75, and the local licensing fee 
is $25 in a municipality or $50 in an 
unincorporated county.  In FY 2014-15, state 
and local goverments collected $6.9 million in 
licensing fees.  
 
 
50-State Overview of Grocery-Sold Liquor 

 
 Table 1 provides an overview of the 
states that allow the sale of beer, wine, and/or 
liquor in a grocery store.  

 

Table 1.  Alcoholic Beverage Types Available at 
Grocery Stores in the U.S.* 

 

State Beer Wine Liquor 

Alabama    
Alaska    
Arizona    
Arkansas    
California    
Colorado 3.2 beer   
Connecticut    
Delaware    
D.C.    
Florida    
Georgia    
Hawaii    
Idaho    
Illinois    
Indiana    
Iowa    
Kansas 3.2 beer   
Kentucky    
Louisiana    
Maine    
Maryland Local option 

Massachussetts    
Michigan    
Minnesota 3.2 beer   
Mississippi    
Missouri    
Montana    
Nebraska    
Nevada    
New Hampshire    
New Jersey Two-license limit; sold in adjacent location 

New Mexico    
New York    
North Carolina    
North Dakota    
Ohio    
Oklahoma 3.2 beer   
Oregon    
Pennsylvania    
Rhode Island    
South Carolina    
South Dakota    
Tennessee    
Texas    
Utah 3.2 beer   
Vermont    
Virginia    
Washington    
West Virginia    
Wisconsin    
Wyoming    

*Fields left blank indicate no authorization to sell the referenced 
type of alcohol in grocery stores in that state.  
Source:  Legislative Council Staff 
 


