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In 2000, voters approved Amendment 20,
allowing the possession and use of medical
marijuana in Colorado. In 2012, voters approved
Amendment 64, legalizing marijuana for use by
adults aged 21 and older. Sales of retail marijuana
for adult use began on January 1, 2014.

Three taxes apply to marijuana, but medical and
retail marijuana are taxed differently. Both medical
and retail marijuana are subject to the 2.9 percent
state sales tax, which is applied to most purchases
in the state. Additionally, retail marijuana is subject
to a 10 percent special sales tax, levied on retail
sales, and a 15 percent excise tax, levied on the
first transfer of marijuana from a wholesaler to a
processor or retailer. These additional taxes on
retail marijuana were approved by voters with the
passage of Proposition AAin 2013. Table 1 shows
the state taxes that apply to medical and retail
marijuana.

Table 1
State Taxes on Medical and
Retail Marijuana

Medical Retail
Marijuana Marijuana
State Sales Tax (2.9%) v 4
Special Sales Tax (10.0%) v
Excise Tax (15.0%) v

State Sales Tax

The state collects a 2.9 percent sales tax on the
sale of retail and medical marijuana. The sales tax
applies to the retail sale of tangible property, unless

there is a specific exemption. Because there is no
exemption for marijuana, the tax s collected from the
consumer by the retailer. The retailer then remits
the tax to the Department of Revenue each month.

The sales tax exemption for prescription drugs
does not apply to medical marijuana. Medical
marijuana use requires a doctor's recommendation
rather than a prescription.

State sales tax revenue from the sale of most
products are deposited in the state General Fund.
However, sales tax revenue from medical and retail
marijuana is deposited in the Marijuana Tax Cash
Fund, described later in this issue brief.

Proposition AA Taxes

Amendment 64 directed the legislature to create
an excise tax on retail marijuana to fund school
construction. Because the state constitution requires
new taxes to be approved by voters in a separate
election,” this tax was not instituted until the passage
of Proposition AA in 2013. Proposition AA included
two taxes on retail marijuana: an excise tax and a
special sales tax.

Excise tax. An excise tax is a tax on the use or
consumption of certain products, such as gasoline,
alcohol, or cigarettes. The tax is generally collected
at the wholesale level and passed on to consumers
in the retail price. Retail marijuana cultivators are
responsible for remitting a 15 percent excise tax
when they first sell or transfer marijuana to a
processor, store, or other cultivator. For the purpose

1Colo. Const. art X, § 20 (4)(a).

The Legislative Council is the research arm of the Colorado General Assembly
The Council provides non-partisan information services and staff support to the Colorado Legislature



of computing excise taxes, the wholesale price of
unprocessed retail marijuana is determined
according to a per-pound rate for flowers, a
per-pound rate for trim, and a per-unit rate for
immature plants. Every six months, the Department
of Revenue determines average wholesale prices
for unprocessed marijuana in these categories, and
all unprocessed retail marijuana is taxed
accordingly. Medical marijuana is not subject to the
state excise tax.

Under Amendment 64, the state excise tax rate
is limited to 15 percent until January 1, 2017. The
state legislature may seek voter approval to raise
the excise tax rate on or after that date. The first
$40 million in revenue raised by the excise tax each
year is credited to the Building Excellent Schools
Today program, which is used for the construction
of public schools. Excise tax revenue is estimated
at $11.2 million in FY 2014-15 and $11.7 million in
FY 2015-16. If the amount collected is greater than
$40.0 million, the excess will be deposited in the
Marijuana Tax Cash Fund, described later in this
issue brief.

Retail marijuana cultivators were not licensed to
begin growing marijuana until January 1, 2014, the
same date retail sales began. Until plants grown by
licensed retail cultivators matured, stores relied on
medical marijuana cultivation facilities to supply
their inventory. For this reason, producers are
allowed a single transfer of unprocessed marijuana
grown by a medical cultivator to a retail marijuana
processor or store. The state excise tax is not
levied on this one-time transfer.

Special sales tax. Proposition AA added a
special state sales tax to be applied when a
consumer purchases retail marijuana from a
licensed store. The special sales tax rate is initially
set at 10 percent. The legislature can raise or lower
the tax rate at any time through legislation;
however, this rate cannot exceed 15 percent without
further voter approval. The special sales tax is
levied in addition to taxes applied to other retail
purchases, including the 2.9 percent state sales tax
and local sales taxes. All sales taxes are applied to
the retail price paid by the consumer, which
includes the state excise tax when it is passed
through to consumers. Medical marijuana is not
subject to the special sales tax, but remains subject
to the preexisting 2.9 percent state sales tax.

Amendment 64 allows cities and counties to
enact local bans against the cultivation, processing,
and sale of retail marijuana. Per Proposition AA,
cities and counties that allow retail marijuana sales
receive 15 percent of state revenue collected from
the special sales tax. Tax revenue distributions are
proportional to the percentage of retail marijuana
sales within each jurisdiction. Cities and counties
may use this revenue at their discretion. On April 1,
the state legislature is required to determine whether
the percentage of revenue allocated to cities and
counties is set at an appropriate level. The
remaining share of special sales tax revenue,
currently 85 percent, is deposited in the Marijuana
Tax Cash Fund.

Marijuana Tax Cash Fund

In 2014, the legislature created the Marijuana
Tax Cash Fund (MTCF) to collect marijuana tax
revenue not already designated for another use.?
State sales tax revenue collected on medical and
retail marijuana sales is paid to the fund, along with
85 percent of special sales tax revenue and any
excise tax revenue in excess of the first $40 million
each year.

MTCF revenue is appropriated annually to health
care, health education, and substance abuse
prevention and treatment programs at the discretion
of the legislature. Revenue is appropriated from the
MTCF for distribution during the fiscal year after it is
received. For FY 2014-15, $18.5 million was
appropriated from the MTCF to fund programs in the
Department of Human Services, the Department of
Public Health and Environment, the Department of
Education, the Department of Law, and the
Governor's Office.

Local Taxes

Cities and counties across the state collect their
own sales taxes. Local tax rates apply to sales of
both medical and retail marijuana. In addition,
Proposition AA allowed counties and statutory cities
to apply a special sales tax to retail marijuana.
Home-rule cities may also levy a special sales tax on
retail marijuana.

2Senate Bill 14-215.
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