
COLORADO DRUNK DRIVING LAWS1

Colorado law prohibits a person from driving a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol
or drugs or while the person's ability to drive is impaired by alcohol or drugs.   These2

offenses are often abbreviated as "DUI" and "DWAI", respectively.

Blood tests and breath tests play a prominent role in the enforcement of drunk driving laws,
although DUI or DWAI can be proved by other means.  If at the time of the commission of
an alleged offense, or within a reasonable time thereafter, a defendant's BAC exceeds 0.05
but is less than 0.08, there is a permissible inference that the defendant's ability to operate a
vehicle was impaired by the consumption of alcohol. If at such time the defendant's BAC is
0.08 or more, there is a permissible inference that the defendant was under the influence of
alcohol.3

Similarly, if at the time of an offense, or within a reasonable time thereafter, a defendant's
blood contains 5 nanograms or more of delta-9 THC (the active substance in marijuana) per
milliliter in whole blood, there is a permissible inference that the defendant was under the
influence of one or more drugs.4

A person may be classified as a persistent drunk driver and subject to greater penalties if the
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test shows a blood alcohol level of at least 0.15. 

The law presumes that every driver has consented to take a blood, breath, saliva, or urine test
when requested to do so by a law enforcement officer who has probable cause to believe that
the person is DUI or DWAI .  Refusal to take the test is both admissible in court and a basis5

for revocation of a driver's license.

There are both criminal penalties (fines, imprisonment, and required public service) and
administrative penalties for drunk driving.  Courts impose criminal penalties, and the
Colorado Department of Revenue (the Department) imposes the administrative penalties. 
Administrative penalties include the suspension or revocation of a license due to the
commission of certain offenses or the accumulation of sufficient points assessed for
violations.

Sometimes a driver may reduce his or her criminal penalties through a plea bargain in court
or by undergoing alcohol or drug treatment, but he or she must still face administrative
penalties enforced by the Department.  In most cases, the Department does not have the
authority to reduce or bargain away these penalties.  

The following tables summarize the administrative and criminal penalties  for DUI and6

DWAI as they appear in sections 42-2-125, 42-2-126, 42-2-127, and 42-4-1307, Colorado
Revised Statutes:

ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES

Violation License Suspension Points

BAC test of at least 0.08 9 months

2nd BAC test of at least 0.08 1 year

3rd or subsequent BAC test of at least
0.08

2 years

DWAI None 8 points 

1st DUI 9 months 12 points 

Section 42-4-1301.1, C.R.S.5

Administrative penalties for the same incident are not consecutive.  For example, if a person whose license was6

suspended for a BAC test of at least 0.08 is subsequently convicted of DUI arising out of the same incident, the person's
license is only suspended once.
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ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES

2nd DUI or DWAI 12 months DWAI 8 points
DUI 12 points

3rd DUI or DWAI 24 months DWAI 8 points
DUI 12 points

1st Under 21 drinking and driving (BAC
of at least 0.02 but less than 0.05)

3 months - 1st offense
6 months - 2nd offense
1 year - 3rd or
subsequent offense

4 points 

CRIMINAL PENALTIES

Offense Jail Fine Public Service

1st DWAI 2 days -
180 days

$200-$500 24 hrs -
48 hrs

1st DUI 5 days -
1 year

$600-$1000 48 hrs -
96 hrs

DWAI or DUI with one previous
DWAI or DUI

10 days -
1 year

$600-$1500 48 hrs -
120 hrs

DWAI or DUI with two or more
previous DWAI or DUI

60 days -
 1 year

$600-$1500 48 hrs -
120 hrs

1st Under 21 drinking and
driving (BAC or at least 0.02 but
less than 0.05)

None $100 Up to 24 hrs

In some cases, a portion of the minimum mandatory jail sentence can be suspended if the
person agrees to undergo an alcohol treatment program.

In addition, persons who violate the state's drunk driving laws may have to pay court costs,
penalty surcharges of up to $500 to help pay for programs to address persistent drunk drivers,
surcharges to benefit the crime victim compensation fund, fees to reinstate a driver's license
after suspension or revocation, and other fees, charges, and penalties.

Still other consequences may follow.  If alcohol or drugs are involved in an accident causing
injury or death, the penalties for vehicular assault or vehicular homicide are more stringent. 
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Persons convicted of a third DUI or DWAI offense within seven years also face a mandatory
five-year license revocation under the "habitual traffic offender" statute, section 42-2-202,
Colorado Revised Statutes.

This summary does not include all the details contained in state law and regulations.  For
more information, contact your local Driver's License Office or visit a public library and ask
for title 42 of the Colorado Revised Statutes to review sections 42-2-125 to 42-2-208
(administrative point system and revocation procedures), 42-4-1301 (general DUI statute),
and 42-4-1307 (penalties for traffic offenses involving alcohol and drugs).
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