For community and home based
services funding is structured as
follows:

> Private insurance (if applicable)
» Parental fee

» State funds will cover the
remaining balance

WHERE DO | FIND OUT MORE
INFORMATION?

Community mental health center contact info:
http://www.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/Documents/
cmhta_contacts.doc

CMHTA Home Page:

www.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/CMHTA.htm

Family advocacy/support:

The federation of families —Marjorie Grimsley
303-455-5928
m_grimsley@msn.com

For general questions about the
CMHTA program please
contact:

Division of Behavioral Health
Andrew Gabor, MA, LPC
303-866-7400

Colorado Department of Human Services

Division of Behavioral Health
3824 W. Princeton Circle
Denver, CO 80236
Phone (303) 866-7400
Fax (303) 866-7428
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WHAT IS THE CHILD
MENTAL HEALTH
TREATMENT ACT?

The Child Mental Health Treatment
Act (CMHTA) was enacted to
address the nationwide issue of
families struggling to access mental
health services for their children. The
CMHTA program:

> Provides access to mental
health services for eligible
children and their families

> Assists families with the cost of
care when necessary

WHAT SERVICES ARE
COVERED UNDER CMHTA?

Mental health assessments
Community based services
Care management services
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Residential treatment services

WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR THE
CMHTA?

» Medicaid eligible children with
a covered diagnosis

» “Children at-risk of out-of-
home placement”

WHO ARE ‘CHILDREN AT-
RISK OF OUT-OF HOME
PLACEMENT™?

They are children who:

» have significant mental health
needs

» require intensive services

» are eligible for Supplemental
Security Income (SSI)

» do not require a dependency
and neglect action through the
child welfare system

IF [ BELIEVE MY CHILD IS
ELIGIBLE, WHERE DO | GO
FROM HERE?

For non-Medicaid eligible children,
please contact your county community
mental health center CMHTA liaison
and request information regarding the
Child Mental Health Treatment Act.
(Please see resource list at the end of
this brochure)

For Medicaid eligible children, please
contact the Behavioral Health
Organization (BHO) contact person for
CMHTA found at:
http:/Amwww.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/Docu
ments/cmhta_contacts.doc

Managing BHO information can be
found on the child’s Medicaid card.

WAIT...MY CHILD IS NOT
MEDICAID ELIGIBLE, HOW
DOES THE FUNDING WORK?

On all services, parents are
responsible for a small portion of the
costs based on the State of Colorado’s
“schedule of basic child support
guidelines”, which is determined by the
community mental health center.

For residential services, the state will
pay for the 1% 30 days of treatment
minus the monthly child support
payment. After the 1% 30 days, funding
for residential services is structured as
follows:

» Private insurance (if applicable)
» Parental fee

» Supplemental Security Income
(SSl)

> Medicaid

» State funds (for costs not covered
by above)
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