For community and home based services funding is structured as follows:

- Private insurance (if applicable)
- Parental fee
- State funds will cover the remaining balance

WHERE DO I FIND OUT MORE INFORMATION?

Community mental health center contact info: <a href="http://www.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/Documents/">http://www.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/Documents/</a> cmhta contacts.doc

**CMHTA Home Page:** 

www.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/CMHTA.htm

#### Family advocacy/support:

The federation of families –Marjorie Grimsley 303-455-5928 m grimsley@msn.com

For general questions about the CMHTA program please contact:

Division of Behavioral Health Andrew Gabor, MA, LPC 303-866-7400



#### Colorado Department of Human Services Division of Behavioral Health

3824 W. Princeton Circle Denver, CO 80236 Phone (303) 866-7400 Fax (303) 866-7428

# THE CHILD MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT ACT



"Lending a hand to Colorado's families"



### WHAT IS THE CHILD MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT ACT?

The Child Mental Health Treatment Act (CMHTA) was enacted to address the nationwide issue of families struggling to access mental health services for their children. The CMHTA program:

- Provides access to mental health services for eligible children and their families
- Assists families with the cost of care when necessary

## WHAT SERVICES ARE COVERED UNDER CMHTA?

- Mental health assessments
- Community based services
- Care management services
- Residential treatment services

## WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR THE CMHTA?

- Medicaid eligible children with a covered diagnosis
- "Children at-risk of out-ofhome placement"

WHO ARE "CHILDREN AT-RISK OF OUT-OF HOME PLACEMENT"?

They are children who:

- have significant mental health needs
- require intensive services
- are eligible for Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
- do not require a dependency and neglect action through the child welfare system

IF I BELIEVE MY CHILD IS ELIGIBLE, WHERE DO I GO FROM HERE?

For non-Medicaid eligible children, please contact your county community mental health center CMHTA liaison and request information regarding the Child Mental Health Treatment Act. (Please see resource list at the end of this brochure)

For Medicaid eligible children, please contact the Behavioral Health Organization (BHO) contact person for CMHTA found at: <a href="http://www.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/Documents/cmhta\_contacts.doc">http://www.cdhs.state.co.us/dmh/Documents/cmhta\_contacts.doc</a>

Managing BHO information can be found on the child's Medicaid card.

WAIT....MY CHILD IS NOT MEDICAID ELIGIBLE, HOW DOES THE FUNDING WORK?

On all services, parents are responsible for a small portion of the costs based on the State of Colorado's "schedule of basic child support guidelines", which is determined by the community mental health center.

For residential services, the state will pay for the 1<sup>st</sup> 30 days of treatment minus the monthly child support payment. After the 1<sup>st</sup> 30 days, funding for residential services is structured as follows:

- Private insurance (if applicable)
- Parental fee
- Supplemental Security Income (SSI)
- Medicaid
- State funds (for costs not covered by above)