



A Young Person's Guide to **Employment**



Directory of Government Agencies

G Federal Labor Laws: U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division (303) 318-8000

- \bigcirc Colorado Labor Laws: Colorado Division of Labor. Labor Standards (303) 572-2241
- Federal Employment \mathbf{O} **Discrimination Laws:** Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (303) 866-1300
- **Colorado Employment Discrimination Laws:** Colorado Division of Civil Rights (303) 894-2997

Colorado laws do not require nor prohibit:

Paid time off or vacations, severance, holiday or sick pay.

Advance notice for layoff or termination.

Advance notice to quit or resign.

Advance notice of work schedule changes.

Premium pay for weekends, holiday or night work.

Pay raises, bonuses or other fringe benefits.

Colorado is an "Employment at Will" state which means an employer or employee can terminate an employment relationship at any time with or without cause and with or without notice and with no penalty in most cases.

OCTOBER 1997

COLORADO

School-to-Career Partnership

1 Minimum wage required in most instances:

Federal:

\$5.15 per hour

\$2.13 per hour plus tips using the tip credit formula

Colorado:

\$5.15 per hour \$2.13 per hour plus tips using the tip credit formula

Call Labor Standards for exceptions to minimum wage requirements.

2 Your employer **MAY NOT** deduct from your wages for breakage, cash shortages, tools and uniforms. Some exceptions to this rule are allowed. Call Labor Standards.

3Employers must pay you regularly, either weekly, every other week or monthly. You must be given a statement listing any deductions from your paycheck, like taxes, etc. ...

4 Keep good records of hours worked. If there's a difference between your records and your employer's, review your records together. If you still have a dispute, call Labor Standards.

5You must be given at least a 30-minute unpaid meal period after no more than 5 hours of working. Some exceptions to this rule are allowed.

6If your employer calls you into work, but has no work for you when you arrive and ends up sending you home, your employer is only required to pay you for actual hours you are required to be present and/or working.

7 If you are fired or laid off, your employer must immediately pay you all the wages you have earned. If you quit or resign, your final paycheck should be paid on the next regular payday.

8You have a right to a safe workplace! You can't be required to perform dangerous jobs. Contact the Labor Standards Unit to find out which jobs you are NOT allowed to do if you are a minor under 18 years of age.

914 and 15 year olds may be employed no more than-

- 3 hours on a school day or 18 hours in a school week.
- 8 hours on a non-school day or 40 hours in a non-school week.

Also, work may not begin before 7 A.M. or end after 7 P.M. except from June 1 through Labor Day when evening hours are extended to 9 P.M.

16 and 17 year olds cannot be involved with— Manufacturing or storing explosives; driving a motor vehicle and being an outside helper, except under certain conditions; coal mining with certain exceptions; logging and sawmilling; power-driven wood working machines; exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiations; power-driven hoisting apparatus; power-driven metal forming, punching and shearing machines; mining other than coal mining; slaughtering, meat packing, processing, or rendering; power-driven bakery machines; power-driven paper products machines; manufacturing brick, tile, and kindred products; power-driven circular saws, band saws, and guillotine shears; wrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operations; roofing operations; excavating operations.

18 year olds-

Can work in any job for unlimited hours.

10 If your employer requires an age certificate (Colorado does not have a work permit), then you must get one from your school office or school district office.

1 If you are injured on the job, tell your employer right away. Your employer has an obligation to provide you with employer-paid medical treatment, according to State Workers Compensation. Call (303) 575-8854 if you have questions.

12A minor is any person under 18 years of age, who may work as an adult in most cases if they have graduated from high school or received a passing score on the General Education Development (GED) examination.

13The minimum age for employment in most industries is fourteen (14) years of age. Youths 14 and 15 years of age may work outside school hours in various non-manufacturing, non-mining, non-hazardous jobs.

14You have a right to be free from physical, racial, sexual, or religious harassment and/or abuse at your work.