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SUBJECT: Special Sentencing for Felony and Misdemeanor Offenses

Colorado law recognizes several categories of crimes, including felonies, misdemeanors,
petty offenses, traffic offenses, and traffic infractions.  The most serious crimes are categorized as
felonies, and they are the only offenses for which a sentence to a state prison is possible.  Felonies
are further classified as class 1 through 6, and misdemeanors are further classified as
class 1 through 3, although there are some unclassified felonies and misdemeanors.  Class 1 felonies
are the most serious crimes, and include offenses such as first degree murder, treason, and
kidnapping. 

For each class of felony and misdemeanor, Colorado law specifies a presumptive sentencing
range.  However, the General Assembly has adopted several special sentencing categories that
provide the court with the discretion to impose a sentence that is shorter or longer than the
presumptive range if certain circumstances exist.  This memorandum provides an overview of the
special sentencing categories in state law for felony and misdemeanor offenses, and also explains
Colorado's habitual offender and special offender sentencing laws.  A summary of recent legislative
changes to habitual offender laws and sentencing for certain misdemeanors is included.

Sentencing for Felonies

Presumptive sentencing ranges for felonies.  Table 1 summarizes the presumptive
sentencing for felonies under current law.1
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Table 1
Presumptive Sentencing Ranges for Felonies

Class of Felony Minimum Sentence Maximum Sentence

Class 1 Life imprisonment Death

Class 2 8 years 24 years

Class 3 4 years 12 years

Class 4 2 years 6 years

Class 5 1 year 3 years

Class 6 1 year 18 months

It is important to note that not all persons convicted of a felony receive a sentence to prison.
State law authorizes many alternatives to prison, including deferred prosecution, deferred sentencing,
probation, and community corrections.  In addition, persons convicted of a felony may be required
to pay a fine, either in lieu of or in addition to a prison sentence.  Fines range from $1,000 to
$100,000 for a class 6 felony, and from $5,000 to $1,000,000 for a class 2 felony.

There are five special sentencing categories for felonies that affect the presumptive
sentencing range:

• crimes with extraordinary aggravating or mitigating circumstances (no specific
circumstances listed);

• crimes of violence;
• crimes with specific extraordinary aggravating circumstances;
• crimes with sentencing-enhancing circumstances; and
• crimes presenting an extraordinary risk of harm to society.

In addition, the presumptive sentencing range may be increased if offenders are deemed
"habitual offenders" or "special offenders," a designation that depends on the circumstances of their
crime and their past criminal history.  Further detail on each special sentencing category is provided
below.  Table 3 in the memorandum summarizes all of the possible sentencing ranges for normal
felonies and special sentencing categories.

Crimes with extraordinary mitigating or aggravating circumstances.  The court may
impose a sentence that is lesser or greater than the presumptive range when it finds that extraordinary
mitigating or aggravating circumstances are present.   The factors may be determined by the court2

based on evidence in the record at the sentencing hearing and information contained in a presentence
investigation report.  The court may not impose a sentence that is less than one-half of the minimum
or more than twice the maximum of the presumptive range.  For example, for a class 3 felony, the
sentencing range for crimes with extraordinary mitigating or aggravating circumstances is
2 to 24 years.  In this special sentencing category, state law does not list specific mitigating or
aggravating circumstances; such factors are at the court's discretion.  However, the separate special

Section 18-1.3-401 (6), C.R.S.2
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sentencing category of crimes with extraordinary aggravating circumstances does list specific
circumstances that require a longer sentence.

Crimes of violence.  Any offender convicted of a crime of violence must be sentenced to a
prison term which is at least at the midpoint in the presumptive range but not more than twice the
maximum term.   The following offenses are defined in state law as crimes of violence when a3

person: 1) used, or possessed and threatened the use of, a deadly weapon; or 2) caused serious bodily
injury or death:

• a crime against an at-risk adult or an at-risk juvenile;
• murder;
• first or second degree assault;
• kidnapping;
• a sexual offense;
• aggravated robbery;
• first degree arson;
• first degree burglary;
• escape;
• criminal extortion; and
• any unlawful sexual offense in which the defendant caused bodily injury to the victim or

in which the defendant used threat, intimidation, or force against the victim.

Extraordinary aggravating circumstances.  Any offender convicted of a crime with
extraordinary aggravating circumstances must be sentenced to a term of at least the midpoint in the
presumptive range but not more than twice the maximum term.   The scenarios under which  an4

offender may be charged with a crime that has extraordinary aggravating circumstances are:

• the defendant is convicted of a crime of violence (see category above);
• the defendant was on parole for another felony at the time that he or she committed the

felony offense;
• the defendant was on probation or was on bond while awaiting sentencing following

revocation of probation for another felony when he or she committed the felony offense;
• the defendant was under confinement, in prison, or in any correctional institution as a

convicted felon, or was an escapee from confinement in any correctional institution for
another felony when he or she committed the felony offense;

• the defendant was on appeal bond following a conviction for a previous felony when he
or she committed the felony offense; or

• at the time he or she committed the offense, the defendant was on probation for or on
bond while awaiting sentencing following revocation of probation for a delinquent act
that would have been a felony if committed by an adult.

Colorado law further specifies that the following offenders must be sentenced for a term of
at least the midpoint in the presumptive range but not more than twice the maximum term:

Section 18-1.3-406, C.R.S.3
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• offenders convicted of class 2 or class 3 felony child abuse;
• offenders convicted of class 2 felony sexual assault that occurred prior to

November 1, 1998; and
• offenders convicted of class 3 or class 4 felony vehicular homicide who were, while

committing vehicular homicide, in flight from the commission of another felony.

Offenders convicted of class 2 felony sexual assault that occurred after November 1, 1998,
must be sentenced for an indeterminate sentence of at least the midpoint of the presumptive range
and up to the offender's natural life.

It should be noted that nothing precludes the court from considering aggravating
circumstances other than those listed in law as the basis for sentencing a defendant to a term greater
than the presumptive range.

Sentence-enhancing circumstances.  Offenders convicted of a crime with
sentence-enhancing circumstances must be sentenced to at least the minimum but not more than
twice the maximum of the presumptive range.   Sentencing-enhancing circumstances include the5

following:

• at the time of the commission of the felony, the defendant was charged with or was on
bond for a previous felony and was subsequently convicted of that previous felony;

• at the time of the commission of the felony, the defendant was charged with or was on
bond for a delinquent act that would have constituted a felony if committed by an adult;

• when the defendant committed the felony, he or she was on bond for having pled guilty
to a lesser offense when the original offense charged was a felony;

• the defendant was under a deferred judgement and sentence for another felony when he
or she committed the felony;

• at the time of the commission of the felony, the defendant was on bond in a juvenile
prosecution for having pled guilty to a lesser offense when the original offense charged
was an offense that would have constituted a felony if committed by an adult;

• at the time the felony was committed, the defendant was under a deferred judgement and
sentence for another offense that would have constituted a felony if committed by an
adult; and

• when the defendant committed the felony, he or she was on parole for having been
adjudicated a delinquent child for an offense which would constitute a felony if
committed by an adult.

Crimes presenting an extraordinary risk of harm to society.  Maximum sentences for
offenders convicted of crimes presenting an extraordinary risk of harm to society are increased as
explained in Table 2.6

Section 18-1.3-401 (9), C.R.S.5

Section 18-1.3-401 (10), C.R.S.6
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Table 2
Presumptive Sentencing Ranges for Extraordinary Risk of Harm Crimes

Class of

Felony Sentencing Ranges for Extraordinary Risk of Harm Crimes

Class 3 4 to 16 years (maximum increased by 4 years)

Class 4 2 to 8 years (maximum increased by 2 years)

Class 5 1 to 4 years (maximum increased by 1 year)

Class 6 1 to 2 years (maximum increased by 6 months)

Felonies that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society are the following:

• aggravated robbery;
• child abuse;
• unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, sale, or possession of a controlled

substance with the intent to sell, distribute, manufacture, or dispense;
• any crime of violence;
• stalking; 
• sale or distribution of materials to manufacture controlled substances; and 
• invasion of privacy for sexual gratification.

Habitual offenders.  Sentencing for offenders deemed "habitual offenders" bypasses the
presumptive sentencing ranges and requires courts to impose a sentence that is significantly higher
than the maximum in the presumptive range.   There are four levels of habitual offender sentencing7

in state law, each of which is explained below.

The "little habitual."  Any offender convicted of a class 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5 felony who, within
ten years of the date of the commission of the offense, has twice previously been convicted of a
felony, is adjudicated as a "little habitual" offender.  The court is required to sentence such offenders
to a term of imprisonment which is three times the maximum of the presumptive range for the felony
class for which the person is convicted.

The "big habitual."  Any offender convicted of a fourth felony, regardless of the felony class,
is adjudicated as a "big habitual" offender.  The court is required to sentence such offenders to a term
of imprisonment which is four times the maximum in the presumptive range for the class of felony
for which the person is convicted.

The "bigger habitual."  Any offender convicted and sentenced under the big habitual statute
who is subsequently convicted of a felony that is a crime of violence is adjudicated as a "bigger
habitual" offender. Such offenders must be sentenced to a term of life imprisonment and are
ineligible for parole until they have served at least 40 years.

Section 18-1.3-801, C.R.S.7
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The "three strikes you're out habitual."  This level of habitual offender sentencing applies
to any offender convicted of any third class 1 or 2 felony or class 3 felony that is a crime of violence.
Such offenders must be sentenced to a term of life imprisonment and are ineligible for parole until
they have served at least 40 years.

Special offenders.  Offenders convicted of felony drug offenses may be designated as
"special offenders" if extraordinary aggravating circumstances exist.   The court must sentence8

special offenders to a term of at least the minimum and no more than twice the maximum of the
presumptive range for a class 2 felony.  Therefore, the presumptive range for special offenders is 8 to
48 years.  A defendant is required to be designated a special offender if he or she:

• was previously convicted of two ore more offenses which were punishable by one year
or more of imprisonment and involved the manufacture, sale, dispensing, or distribution
of controlled substances;

• committed an offense as part of a pattern of manufacturing, selling, dispensing, or
distributing controlled substances, which constituted a substantial source of the
defendant's income and in which he or she exhibited special skill or expertise;

• committed a felony which was a conspiracy with one or more persons to engage in a
pattern of manufacturing, selling, dispensing, or distributing a controlled substance, and
the defendant did or agreed to initiate, organize, plan, finance, direct, manage, or
supervise all or part of the conspiracy, or gave or received a bribe, or used force; 

• unlawfully introduced, distributed, or imported into Colorado more than four grams of
any schedule I or II controlled substance, or more than two grams of methamphetamine;

• unlawfully sold, dispensed, distributed, possessed, or imported into Colorado a quantity
in excess of 100 pounds of marijuana or marijuana concentrate;

• used, displayed, or possessed a deadly weapon at the time of the commission of the
offense, or the defendant or a confederate possessed a firearm in a manner that posed a
risk to others or in a vehicle used during the commission of a drug offense;

• solicited, induced, encouraged, intimidated, employed, hired, or procured a child to act
as his or her agent to assist in the unlawful distribution, manufacturing, dispensing, sale,
or possession for the purposes of sale of any controlled substance;

• engaged in a continuing criminal enterprise by committing a drug offense and the offense
is part of a continuing series of two or more drug offenses undertaken by the defendant
in concert with five or more other persons that the defendant supervised, and the
defendant obtained substantial income or resources; and

• is convicted of selling, distributing, possessing with the intent to distribute,
manufacturing, or attempting to manufacture any controlled substance either within or
upon the grounds of any public or private school or public housing development, or
within 1,000 feet of any school or public housing development, or within any private
dwelling that is accessible to the public, or in any school vehicle while the vehicle is
transporting students.

It should be noted that the court may consider aggravating sentences other than those listed
previously, and any defendants deemed special offenders who are subject to a greater sentence
pursuant to another state law may be sentenced to the greater sentence.

Section 18-18-407, C.R.S.8
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Recent legislation concerning special sentencing for felonies.  In 2011, the General
Assembly passed Senate Bill 11-096, which removed the option of sentencing an individual
convicted of the class 6 felony of unlawful possession of a controlled substance as a habitual
offender.  In 2012, the General Assembly adopted House Bill 12-1213, which exempted charges of
felony escape or attempt to escape from a place other than a county jail or a correctional facility from
criteria used to designate a person as a habitual criminal.

The list of felonies that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society has remained
generally the same over the past decade, with the exception of sale or distribution of materials to
manufacture controlled substances, which was added in 2003 by HB 03-1317, and invasion of
privacy for sexual gratification, which was added to the list in 2010 by SB 10-128.

Offenders subject to multiple special sentencing categories.  Table 3 on the next page lists
all of the ranges for normal presumptive sentencing, special sentencing categories, and habitual
offender sentencing.  Sentences for special offenders are not included because the classification of
a drug offense may vary, and all special offenders are sentenced within a range of 8 to 48 years.  

When an offender is charged with a crime that involves more than one special sentencing
category, the sentencing range is first increased to account for a crime that presents an extraordinary
risk of harm to society, and is then further adjusted according to any other special sentencing
categories that apply.  For example, because a class 3 felony crime of violence is also a crime that
presents an extraordinary risk of harm to society, an offender charged with such a crime is first 
subject to an extraordinary risk of harm sentence of 4 to 16 years (4 years longer than the maximum
range for a class 3 felony), and then must be sentenced to at least the midpoint and up to twice the
maximum of the extraordinary risk presumptive range, for an overall range for 10 to 32 years.
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Table 3
Felony Sentencing Ranges including Special Sentencing Categories and Habitual Offender Laws

Class of Felony

Normal

Presumptive

Range

Extraordinary

Aggravating or

Mitigating

Circumstances 

Sentence-

Enhancing

Circumstances 

Extraordinary

Aggravating

Circumstances / 

Crime of Violence Little Habitual Big Habitual 

Class 1 Life to Death Life Life Life Life Life

Class 2 8 to 24 years 4 to 48 years 8 to 48 years 16 to 48 years 72 years 96 years

Class 3

[Extraordinary

Risk of Harm]

4 to 16 years 2 to 32 years 4 to 32 years 10 to 32 years 48 years 64 years

Class 3 4 to 12 years 2 to 24 years 4 to 24 years 8 to 24 years 36 years 48 years

Class 4

[Extraordinary

Risk of Harm]

2 to 8 years 1 to 16 years 2 to 16 years 5 to 16 years 24 years 32 years

Class 4 2 to 6 years 1 to 12 years 2 to 12 years 4 to 12 years 18 years 24 years

Class 5

[Extraordinary

Risk of Harm]

1 to 4 years
6 months to

8 years
1 to 8 years 2.5 to 8 years 12 years 16 years

Class 5 1 to 3 years
6 months to

6 years
1 to 6 years 2 to 6 years 9 years 12 years

Class 6

[Extraordinary

Risk of Harm]

1 to 2 years
6 months to

4 years 
1 to 4 years

18 months to

4 years
Not Applicable 8 years

Class 6
1 year to

18 months

6 months to

3 years
1 to 3 years

15 months to

3 years
Not Applicable 6 years
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Sentencing for Misdemeanors

Presumptive sentencing ranges for misdemeanors.  Table 4 summarizes the presumptive
sentencing for misdemeanors under current law.9

Table 4
Presumptive Sentencing Ranges for Misdemeanors

Class of Misdemeanor Minimum Sentence Maximum Sentence

Class 1 6 months in jail 18 months in jail

Class 2 3 months in jail 12 months in jail

Class 3 No jail time, $50 fine only 6 months in jail

It is important to note that not all persons convicted of a misdemeanor receive a sentence to
jail. Many offenders receive a sentence to probation.  In addition, persons convicted of a
misdemeanor may be required to pay a fine, either in lieu of or in addition to a jail sentence.  Fines
range from $50 to $750 for a class 3 misdemeanor, and from $500 to $5,000 for a
class 1 misdemeanor.

There are three special sentencing categories for misdemeanors that affect the presumptive
sentencing range:

• crimes presenting an extraordinary risk of harm to society;
• third degree assault against certain victims; and
• reckless endangerment against a victim who is a mental health professional engaged in

the performance of his or her duties for the Colorado Department of Human Services.

Further detail on each special sentencing category is provided below.

Misdemeanors that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society.  Maximum sentences
for offenders convicted of misdemeanors presenting an extraordinary risk of harm to society are
increased by six months.   Such crimes, which are all class 1 misdemeanors, are the following:10

• third degree assault;
• class 1 misdemeanor sexual assault when the victim is at least 15 years old but less than

17 years old and the actor is at least 10 years older than the victim and is not the victim's
spouse;

• class 1 misdemeanor unlawful sexual contact;
• knowing or reckless child abuse resulting in injury other than serious bodily injury;
• violation of a protection order (second and subsequent offenses);

Section 18-1.3-501 (1)(a), C.R.S.9

Section 18-1.3-501 (3)(a), C.R.S.10
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• class 1 misdemeanor failure to register as a sex offender; and
• class 1misdemeanor invasion of privacy for sexual gratification.11

Enhanced sentencing for crimes against certain victims.  If the victim of third degree
assault is a peace officer, emergency medical service provider, emergency medical care provider, or
firefighter engaged in the performance of his or her duties, the penalties for an extraordinary risk
crime are increased further.   Offenders convicted of such crimes must be sentenced to at least the12

maximum sentence for third degree assault, and no more than twice the maximum sentence.
Because third degree assault is already an extraordinary risk crime, offenders convicted of third
degree assault against specified victims must be sentenced to a term of 24 to 48 months in jail.

If the victim of class 1 misdemeanor third degree assault or class 3 misdemeanor reckless
endangerment is a mental health professional who is engaged in the performance of his or her duties
and is employed by or under contract with the Department of Human Services, the offender must be
sentenced to at least the maximum sentence but not more than twice the maximum sentence for third
degree assault or reckless endangerment.   For third degree assault, the sentence must be13

24 to 48 months in jail; for reckless endangerment, the sentence must be 6 to 12 months in jail.

Table 5 summarizes how the sentencing range for third degree assault against specified
victims and for reckless endangerment against Department of Human Services' mental health
professionals differs from the sentencing ranges for standard class 1 misdemeanor third degree
assault (an extraordinary risk crime), and from the ranges for standard
class 1, 2, and 3 misdemeanors (including class 3 misdemeanor reckless endangerment). 

Section 18-1.3-501 (3)(b), C.R.S.11

Section 18-1.3-501 (1.5)(a), C.R.S.12

Section 18-1.3-501 (1.7)(a), C.R.S.13
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Table 5
 Enhanced Sentencing Ranges for Certain Misdemeanors Compared to Normal

Presumptive Sentencing Ranges

Offense or Class of Misdemeanor Sentencing Range

Third degree assault when the victim  is a peace officer,

emergency medical service provider, emergency medical care

provider, firefighter, or mental health professional at the

Department of Human Services 

(class 1 misdemeanor and an extraordinary risk crime)

• 24 to 48 months in jail

Third degree assault 

(class 1 misdemeanor and an extraordinary risk crime)

• 6 to 24 months in jail

Class 1 misdemeanor • 6 to 18 months in jail

Reckless endangerment when the victim is a mental health

professional at the Department of Human Services 

(class 3 misdemeanor) 

• 6 to 12 months in jail

Class 2 misdemeanor • 3 to 12 months in jail

Class 3 misdemeanor (e.g., reckless endangerment) • 0 to 6 months in jail

Recent legislation concerning special sentencing for misdemeanors.  Peace officers and
firefighters have been included in the list of victims of third degree assault who trigger enhanced
sentencing since 1988.  Emergency medical technicians were added to the list in 2009 by
HB 09-1120, and emergency medical care providers were added in 2011 by HB 11-1105.  In 2012,
HB 12-1059 replaced the term "emergency medical technician" with "emergency medical service
provider."

The list of misdemeanors that present an extraordinary risk of harm to society has remained
the same over the past decade, with the exception of invasion of privacy for sexual gratification,
which was added to the list in 2010 by SB 10-128.
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