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Colorado's sales tax is the state's second largest
General Fund revenue source, generating $2.1 billion in
FY 2011-12, 27.0 percent of all General Fund tax
revenue. Along with property taxes, sales tax revenue is
also one of the largest revenue sources for local
governments like cities, counties, and special districts.
This issue brief discusses the sales and use tax in
Colorado.

Background on Consumption Taxes

Colorado has had a sales tax since 1937, when it was
created to help make up for revenue shortfalls during the
Great Depression.

The sales tax is a form of consumption tax, as
opposed to an income tax or a property tax. The basis
for a consumption tax is to tax the final consumption of
a good or service. Some of the major advantages of
consumption taxes is that there is a large tax base and
consumers have the ability to pay. In general, a large
base is an advantage for a tax because it allows for the
generation of revenue with a low rate. A low tax rate
minimizes economic distortions caused by the tax.
Consumers pay the tax as they purchase goods and
services, so it is typically paid in frequent, small amounts
rather than at a single given time. Other forms of
consumption taxes include the value-added tax and
excise taxes.

Historically, sales taxes in Colorado have been
established in a way that avoids tax pyramiding and the
taxation of necessary purchases. Tax pyramiding occurs
when goods and services are taxed multiple times during

the chain of production of the good. This can cause
distortions in the allocation of resources and the choice of
inputs that may not be economically efficient. Also, tax
pyramiding conflicts with the goal of taxing final
consumption. Policymakers have also historically chosen
not to tax necessary consumer goods like food, heat, and
health care.

Figure 1
History of State and Local Sales and Use Tax
Collections, 2000 to 2012
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Source: Colorado Department of Revenue, U.S. Census Bureau, State and
Local Government Finances.

* No data for local sales taxes is shown in Figure 1 because they have not
yet been published for 2011 and 2012.

The state tax rate is 2.91 percent on the retail price of
taxable goods and services, and local taxing jurisdictions
can levy an additional tax rate. In Colorado, the local sales
tax increases the overall sales tax rate to about 7.75 percent
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of the purchase price of taxable goods and services, but
it varies by location and the type of good purchased.
Tangible personal property is subject to the sales tax
unless it is specifically exempt, and services are exempt
unless specifically included.

The tax is collected by the retailer at the time of
purchase from the consumer. The retailer remits the tax
to the state. Colorado has a complementary use tax that
is required to be paid by the consumer directly to the
state when no sales tax was collected, but would have
been due.

The largest exemptions in the Colorado sales tax are
aimed at addressing tax pyramiding and taxing necessary
goods. Table 1 shows the ten largest sales and use tax
exemptions and where they can be found in statute.

Table 1
10 Largest Sales Tax Exemptions

Sales Tax Exemption Statutory Citation

Goods Used in Manufacturing Section 39-26-102(20)(a), C.R.S.

Food for Home Consumption Section 39-26-707(1)(e), C.R.S.

Gasoline and Fuel Section 39-26-715(1)(a), C.R.S.

Fuel for Residential Heat Section 39-26-715(1)(a)(Il), C.R.S.

Construction Materials Sold to
Contractors

Section 39-26-708(1), C.R.S.

Machinery and Tools Used in
Manufacturing

Section 39-26-709(1), C.R.S.

Sales to Government Section 39-26-704(1), C.R.S.

Sale of Livestock for Breeding Section 39-26-716(3)(a)

and (4)(a), C.R.S.

Prescription Drugs Section 39-26-717(!)(a), C.R.S.

Energy Used for Manufacturing Section 39-26-102(21), C.R.S.

Source: Colorado Department of Revenue.
Trends in the Sales Tax Base

The sales tax base has not changed much since the
sales tax was enacted in 1937, even as the economy has
changed. In the 1970s, Colorado's economy started to
transition to a service economy, meaning that more
consumption was in the form of services than retail

goods. The sales tax base includes only services that are
enumerated in statute, as opposed to goods, which are
included unless they are specifically exempt.

In addition to consumption shifting towards services,
technology is affecting the sales tax base. The Internet has
made purchasing goods from out-of-state retailers easier and
has created digital goods. Out-of-state retailers do not
always collect sales taxes, and many consumers are unaware
that they need to pay use taxes on some of these purchases.
As the share of services, out-of-state purchases, and digital
goods grows relative to the sales tax base, a smaller share of
consumption is taxed.

Other States

Colorado is one of 45 states with a sales tax. In general,
states with a state sales tax also have local sales taxes. The
federal government does not have a sales tax, instead
leaving broad-based consumption taxes to the states. Unlike
the individual and corporate income tax, states do not have
a federal framework on which to base the sales tax, so there
is quite a bit of variation in sales taxes among the states.
Figure 2 shows the state and local sales taxes paid per
$1,000 in personal income in Colorado and surrounding
states for FY 2008-09, the most recent year for which local
data is available.

Figure 2
Total State and Local Sales Tax Collections per $1,000
in Personal Income
Colorado and Surrounding States, FY 2008-09
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Source: U.S. Census Bureau.
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