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VOTER REGISTRATION AND IDENTIFICATION
by Julia Jackson

Colorado elections are open to any U.S. citizen
over the age of 18 who has resided in the state for at
least 30 days, and who is not serving a sentence for a
felony conviction.1  Individuals must register to vote
at least 29 days before an election.2  As long as a
registered voter's information remains current, he or
she only needs to register once.

Registering to Vote

Eligible voters may register online or by
completing and signing a paper form.  Voter
registration is the responsibility of county clerks,
although the online registration system is operated by
the Secretary of State.  Paper registration forms can be
downloaded from county and state websites, and are
also available at Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV)
offices, various public assistance program offices,
military recruitment offices, and other locations.

When registering, voters must indicate that they
are citizens of the United States and will be at least
18 years of age before the next election.  Other
required information includes first and last name, birth
date, and home address.

Voters have the option of providing their gender,
phone number, e-mail address, and chosen political
party affiliation.  A voter may choose to be designated

as a mail-in voter, either for a single statewide election
or permanently.  The registration form also allows
voters to indicate their interest in serving as an election
judge or poll worker.

Identification.  State law requires that individuals
who have a driver's license or state-issued
identification card (ID) must provide the ID number on
their application.3  Individuals who do not have such
an ID number may still register to vote, but must use
the paper form.  They are asked to provide the last four
digits of their social security number, if available.

Because  legal  residents  who  are  not  citizens
(such as green card holders) may obtain driver's
licenses, the forms of identification used for voter
registration prove legal residence in Colorado, but do
not necessarily prove U.S. citizenship.  Past legislative
efforts to require proof of citizenship as part of the
registration process have been unsuccessful.

By signing their voter registration record, voters
are affirming the information contained in the record. 
Online registration uses an electronic affirmation
process.  Misrepresentation of anything in the voter
registration record is considered false registration and
is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, imprisonment
of up to 18 months, or both.4

1
Section 1-2-101, et seq., C.R.S.

2
Section 1-2-202, C.R.S.

3
Section 1-2-204 (2)(f.5), C.R.S.

4
Section 1-13-203, C.R.S.
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Voter Identification

Voters in Colorado are required to show
identification when they vote in person.  State law
allows the following forms of identification5 for this
purpose:

• a valid Colorado driver's license;
• a valid state-issued ID card;
• a valid U.S. passport;
• a valid government employee ID card with a

photograph of the voter;
• a valid pilot's license issued by the Federal

Aviation Administration or other authorized
agency of the United States;

• a valid U.S. military ID card with a
photograph of the voter;

• a copy of a current utility bill, bank statement,
government check, paycheck, or other
government document that shows the name
and address of the voter;

• a valid Medicare or Medicaid card issued by
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services;

• a certified copy of a U.S. birth certificate;
• certified documentation of naturalization;
• a valid student ID card with a photograph of

the voter, issued by an institution of higher
education in Colorado;

• a valid veteran ID card issued by the U.S.
Department of Veterans Affairs with a
photograph of the voter; or

• a valid ID card issued by a federally
recognized tribal government certifying tribal
membership.

Individuals who are voting by mail for the first time
may be required to provide a photocopy of their
identification.  If a form of identification includes an
address, the address must be in Colorado.

Individuals who are unable to produce one of the
required forms of identification when voting must be

allowed to cast a provisional ballot.6  In reviewing the
provisional ballots, county clerks must verify that the
information and signature provided by the voter
matches the information provided at the time of
registration, but voters are not asked to return with ID. 
In this way, it is possible in Colorado for an individual
to register and vote without ever providing
identification. 

Voter fraud.  State law establishes consequences
for voter fraud.  Falsely impersonating a voter is
punishable by a fine of up to $5,000, imprisonment of
up to 18 months, or both.7  Knowingly voting when
not legally entitled to do so is a Class 5 felony.8

Legislative history.  Identification requirements
were added to state statute in 2003 as part of the
implementation of the federal Help America Vote Act
(HAVA) of 2002.  Legislation in subsequent years has
added types of acceptable voter identification to the
list.  Legislation requiring voter identification that
includes a photograph has been proposed on several
occasions, but has been defeated each time.

Voter Identification Nationwide

According to the National Conference of State
Legislatures, 33 states have passed laws requiring
voters  to  show  ID  at  the  polls  (although  3  of
those laws are currently being challenged).  Of these,
four states — Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, and Tennessee
— have strict photo ID laws in effect in 2012,
requiring voters to return with ID in order for their
provisional ballots to be counted.  Colorado's law is
classified as non strict, because voters have an option
to cast their ballots without ID.
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Section 1-1-104 (19.5), C.R.S.
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Section 1-7-110 (4), C.R.S.
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Section 1-13-705, C.R.S.

8
Section 1-13-704.5, C.R.S.
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