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MEMORANDUM
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TO: Interested Persons

FROM: Kelly Stapleton, Senior Research Assistant, 303-866-4789

SUBJECT: Mandated Health Insurance Benefits

This memorandum provides information on Colorado's mandated health insurance
benefits. The following table, "Health Insurance Mandates in Colorado" provides a
description of current state laws governing insurance benefits, and the effective date for
each law. It is important to keep in mind that state laws apply to fully insured plans only.
Plans that do not fall under the fully insured category include self-funded plans, union
plans, and federal employee benefits plans. These plans are not subject to Colorado's
mandated health insurance benefits laws. Mandates are listed in the table alphabetically.



Colorado Health Insurance Mandates
Updated July 2011

Insurance Benefit

Summary of Current Law

Effective Date

Availability of treatment for
alcoholism
Section 10-16-104 (9), C.R.S.

No hospitalization or medical benefits contract on a group basis may be issued without an
opportunity to purchase coverage for the benefits for the treatment of, and conditions arising
from, alcoholism. Annual policy benefits must include:

* inpatient treatment up to 45 days; and

«  outpatient benefits up to $500 that may be furnished by a licensed hospital, a public
or private facility providing services for the treatment of alcohol, or a mental health
facility.

January 1, 1976

Biologically based mental
iliness
Section 10-16-104 (5.5), C.R.S.

Every group policy, plan certificate, and contract of a carrier must provide coverage for the
treatment of biologically based mental iliness that is no less extensive than the coverage
provided for a physical illness. Every group policy, except for small group plans, must provide
coverage for the treatment of mental disorders that is no less extensive than the coverage
provided for a physical illness. For example, a policy cannot cap visits to a physician for a
mental iliness to 20 visits unless the same cap applies to visits for a physical illness. Small
group plans are exempt from this mandate. Biologically based mental illness includes
schizophrenia, schizoaffective disorder, bipolar affective disorder, major depressive disorder,
specific obsessive-compulsive disorder, and panic disorder. Mental disorder means post-
traumatic stress disorder, drug and alcohol disorders, dysthymia, cyclothymia, social phobia,
agoraphobia with panic disorder, and general anxiety disorder. The term also includes anorexia
nervosa, and bulimia nervosa to the extent that the disorders are treated on an out-patient, day
treatment, and in-patient basis, excluding residential treatment.

January 1, 1998

January 1, 2008 — mental health
parity and anorexia
nervosa/bulmia provision added.

Cervical cancer vaccination
Section 10-16-104 (17), C.R.S.

All individual and group insurance polices, except supplemental polices covering specific
diseases or other limited benefits, must provide coverage for the full cost of cervical cancer
vaccination for all females for whom a vaccine is recommended by the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services.

January 1, 2008

Complications of pregnancy and
childbirth
Section 10-16-104 (2), C.R.S.

Any health insurance policy covering a disability due to sickness must also cover a sickness
or disease which is a complication of pregnancy or childbirth in the same way as any other
similar sickness or disease is otherwise covered under the policy. Any policy providing
coverage for disability due to an accident must also cover accidents that occur during the
course of pregnancy or childbirth in the same way as any other similar accident is covered.

January 1, 1976
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Insurance Benefit

Summary of Current Law

Effective Date

Children

Preventative services including
immunizations

Section 10-16-104 (11), C.R.S.

Dependent children
Section 10-16-104 (6), C.R.S.

Adopted children
Section 10-16-104 (6.5), C.R.S.

Hospitalizations and general
anesthesia for dental procedures
for dependent children

Section 10-16-104 (12), C.R.S.

Newborns
Section 10-16-104 (1), C.R.S.

Cleft lip and cleft palate

Section 10-16-104 (1)(c)(Il), C.R.S.

Preventative services and immunizations must be provided under basic and standard health
benefit plans. In addition, an individual, small group, or large group health benefit plan that
provides coverage for a family member of the insured must provide coverage to such family
member's children up to the age of 13.

An entity subject to regulation under Colorado's mandated health benefit law cannot refuse to
cover a dependent child for any of the following reasons:

» the child's claim was filed by a custodial parent who is not the insured under the policy;

» the child does not live in the home of the parent applying for the policy;

. the child does not live in the insurer's service area;

. the child was born out of wedlock; or

» the childis not claimed as a dependent child on the federal or state income tax returns
of the child's parent.

Whenever an entity subject to regulation under Colorado's mandated health benefit law offers
coverage for dependent children, the entity must provide benefits to a child placed for adoption
and adopted children under the same terms and conditions that apply to a natural dependent
child, regardless of whether the adoption of the child is final.

All individual and group insurance policies, except supplemental polices that cover specific
diseases or other limited benefits, must provide coverage for general anesthesia, when
rendered in a hospital, outpatient surgical facility, or other licensed facility, and for associated
hospital or facility charges for dental care provided to a child when the treating dentist's opinion
satisfies specific criteria defined in Colorado law, such as the child has a physical, mental, or
medically compromising condition.

All group and individual insurance policies must provide coverage for a dependent newborn of
the insured from the moment of birth.

All group and individual insurance polices must provide coverage for a dependent child born
with cleft lip or cleft palate, including oral and facial surgery, surgical management, follow-up
care by a plastic and/or oral surgeon, any medically necessary orthodontic, prosthodontic
treatment, habilitative speech therapy, and audiological assessments and treatments. There
is no age limit to receive benefits for coverage.

May 22, 1995

June 5, 1991

July 1, 1994

September 1, 1998

July 1, 1975

July 1, 1975
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Insurance Benefit

Summary of Current Law

Effective Date

Children (Cont.)
Congenital defects and birth
abnormalities

Section 10-16-104 (1)(c)(I), C.R.S.

Section 10-16-104 (1.7), C.R.S.

Early intervention services
Section 10-16-104 (1.3), C.R.S.

Phenylketonuria (PKU)
Section 10-16-104 (1)(c)(lll),
C.RS.

Hearing aids for children
10-16-104 (19), C.R.S.

All group and individual insurance polices must provide coverage for medically necessary
treatment and care of medically diagnosed congenital defects and birth abnormalities for the
first 31 days of the newborn's life. After the first 31 days of life, all individual and group health
benefit plans must provide medically necessary physical, occupational, and speech therapy for
the care and treatment of congenital defects and birth abnormalities for a covered child from
the child's third birthday to the child's sixth birthday.

Allindividual and group insurance policies must provide coverage for early intervention services
delivered by a qualified early intervention service provider. Services must be available from
birth up to the eligible child's third birthday and are limited to $5,725 annual coverage (the
coverage amount is adjusted annually for inflation). Early intervention services means services,
defined by the Colorado Department of Human Services, that are authorized through an eligible
child's Individual Family Service Plan.

All group and individual insurance polices must provide coverage for a dependent child born
with an inherited enzymatic disorder caused by single gene defects involved in the metabolism
of amino, organic, and fatty acids including the following diagnoses: phenylketonuria, maternal
phenylketonuria, maple syrup urine disease, tyrosinemia, homocystinuria, hisidinemia, urea
cycle disorder, hyperlysinemia, glutaric acidemias, methylmalonic acidemia, and propionic
acidemia. Coverage must include medical foods for home use prescribed by a physician.

Any health benefit plan that offers hospital, surgical, or medical expense insurance, must
provide coverage for hearing aids for minor children who have a hearing loss that has been
verified by a licensed physician or audiologist. Coverage includes:

» initial hearing aids and replacement hearing aids not more frequently than every five
years;

* anew hearing aid when alterations to the existing hearing aid cannot adequately meet
the needs of the child; and

» services and supplies including the intimal assessment, fitting adjustments, and
auditory training.

July 1, 1975

(Up to 31 days coverage for
newborn)

January 1, 2000

(treatment and care)

January 1, 2008

(treatment and care ages 3 to 5)

January 1, 2008

January 1, 2002

January 1, 2009
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Insurance Benefit

Summary of Current Law

Effective Date

Children (Cont.)
Autism spectrum disorder
Section 10-16-104 (1.4), C.R.S.

Child-only health benefit plans
Section 10-16-104.4, C.R.S.

All health insurance policies that are subject to state regulation, excluding individual health
benefit plans, are required to provide coverage to assess, diagnose, and treat autism spectrum
disorder (ASD). Treatment covered includes:

. evaluation and assessment services;

*  behavior training and management;

*  psychiatric care;

»  psychological care, including family counseling;

» therapeutic care, which includes applied behavioral analysis;

* habilitative or rehabilitative care, which includes speech, occupational, and physical
therapies. Speech, occupation, and physical therapies may exceed 20 visits if
deemed medically necessary; and

+  pharmacy and medication if covered by the individual's health plan.

Any treatment for ASD must be deemed medically necessary. The annual maximum benefit
for applied behavior analysis is $34,000 for children from birth to 8 years of age, and $12,000
for individuals from age 9 to 19 years old. The law specifies that early intervention services,
which are currently mandated under law, are not to supplant services provided under the law,
but are to act as a wrap around service, or in addition to the services provided under the law.

All insurance carriers selling individual health benefit plans in Colorado are required to provide
at least one child-only health benefit plan for children up to age 19, without regard to preexisting
conditions, during two specified month-long enrollment periods per year.

July 1, 2010

April 29, 2011

Clinical trials and studies
10-16-104 (20), C.R.S.

All individual and group health benefits plans are required to provide coverage for routine
patient care costs while the covered person participates in a clinical trial or study as long as the
coverage is a benefit that the covered person would receive if he or she were receiving
standard chronic disease treatment outside of the clinical trial or study. The clinical trials must
meet specific requirements as to review board approvals and patient care.

August 5, 2010

Contraception
10-16-104 (3)(a)(l), C.R.S.

All individual and group health insurance policies must provide coverage for contraception in
the same manner as any other sickness, disease, or condition that is otherwise covered by that
policy.

January 1, 2011

Dependent health coverage for
persons under 25 years of age
Section 10-16-104.3

Allindividual and group health benefit plans that offer dependent coverage must offer the same
dependent coverage for an unmarried child who is under 25 years of age if the child either has
the same residence as the parent or is financially dependent upon the parent.

January 1, 2006

_5—




Colorado Health Insurance Mandates
Updated July 2011 (Cont.)

Insurance Benefit
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Effective Date

Diabetes Any health benefit plan, except supplemental policies covering a specified disease or other | July 1, 1998
Section 10-16-104 (13), C.R.S. limited benefits, that provides hospital, surgical, or medical expense insurance must provide

coverage for diabetes that includes equipment, supplies, and outpatient self-management

training and education, including nutritional therapy if prescribed.
Hospice care availability No individual or group policy that provides hospital, surgical, or major medical coverage on an | July 1, 1985

Section 10-16-104 (8), C.R.S.

expense-incurred basis can be sold in Colorado unless the policyholder has the opportunity to
purchase coverage for benefits for the costs of home health services and hospice care.

Maternity coverage
Section 10-16-104 (3), C.R.S.

All individual and group health insurance policies must cover normal pregnancy and childbirth
in the same manner as any other condition, sickness, injury, or disease that is otherwise
covered. Coverage for a hospital stay following a normal vaginal birth must be for at least
48 hours. Coverage for a hospital stay following a cesarean section must be for at least 96
hours. Individual health policies may exclude coverage on the grounds that pregnancy was a
preexisting condition, but the exclusion may not apply to subsequent pregnancies.

January 1, 1976

Individual coverage added
January 1, 2011.

Mental iliness
Section 10-16-104 (5), C.R.S.

Every small group policy or contract providing hospitalization or medical benefits must provide
benefits for conditions arising from mental iliness. In the case of a basic coverage benefits
plan, coverage must include up to 45 days inpatient care, or 90 days for partial hospitalization
in any one 12-month period. In the case of a major medical benefits plan, coverage must cover
outpatient services furnished by a comprehensive health care service corporation, hospital, or
a community mental health center, or other mental health clinic approved by the Department
of Human Services.

August 1, 1976

Off-label use of cancer drugs
Section 10-16-104.6, C.R.S.

A health benefit plan that provides coverage for prescription drugs may not limit or exclude
coverage for any drug approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration for the use in
treatment for cancer on the basis that the drug has not been approved for the specific type of
cancer being treated

August 11, 2010

Oral anticancer medication
Section 10-16-104 (21), C.R.S.

Any health benefit plan that provides coverage for cancer chemotherapy treatment must cover
orally administered anticancer medication at a cost not to exceed the coinsurance percentage
or relative copayment amount that is applied to intravenously administered or injected
anticancer medication. Oral medication is covered if it is approved by the federal Food and
Drug Administration, determined to be medically necessary to kill or slow the growth of
cancerous cells, and not prescribed primarily for the convenience of the patient or physician.

January 1, 2011
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Preventative health care
services
Section 10-16-104 (18), C.R.S.

All individual and group insurance policies must provide coverage for preventative health care
services. Preventative care services are determined according to recommendations by the
U.S. Preventative Services Task Force. Preventative services include:

+ alcohol misuse screening and behavioral counseling interventions;

. cervical cancer screening;

. cholesterol screening;

*  breast cancer screening with mammography, including an annual screening for all
individuals with at least one risk factor including a family history of breast cancer, being
40 years of age or older, or a genetic predisposition to breast cancer;

. colorectal cancer screening;

. childhood immunizations;

. annual influenza vaccination;

. pneumococcal vaccination; and

* tobacco use screening and cessation programs.

Coverage for preventative care is not subject to a policy deductible or coinsurance.

January 1, 2010

Prostate cancer screening
Section 10-16-104 (10), C.R.S.

All individual and group health insurance policies must cover annual screenings for men over
the age of 50 years and men over 40 years who are in high-risk categories. The coverage is
limited to $65 per screening or the actual cost of the screening, whichever is less. The
screening must be performed by a qualified medical professional and include at a minimum a
prostate-specific antigen (PSA) blood test and a digital rectal exam.

June 9, 1993

Prosthetic devices
Section 10-16-104 (14), C.R.S.

Any health benefit plan that provides hospital, surgical, or medical expense insurance, except
supplemental policies covering a specified disease or other limited benefit, must provide
coverage for benefits for prosthetic devices that equal the benefits provided for under federal
laws for health insurance for the aged and disabled. Repairs and replacements of prosthetic
devices are also covered, subject to copayments and deductibles, unless necessitated by
misuse or loss.

January 1, 2001

Reimbursement for providers
Section 10-16-104 (7)(a)(1)(A),
C.R.S.

All sickness and accident insurance policies and all prepaid dental care plans must pay for
covered services performed by a person licensed in this state for the practice of osteopathy,
medicine, dentistry, dental hygiene, optometry, psychology, chiropractic, podiatry, and
acupuncture. The law does not mandate health insurance companies to provide coverage for
these services, only to provide reimbursement for services that are covered under the plans.

July 1, 1973
Acupuncturists added
January 1, 2012
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Insurance Benefit Summary of Current Law Effective Date
Reproductive health and Managed care plans that cover reproductive health or gynecological care must either: (1) allow | January 31, 1997
gynecological care enrolled women direct access to a participating obstetrician, gynecologist, or a certified nurse
Section 10-16-107 (5), C.R.S. midwife; or (2) have procedures in place to ensure that, if an enrolled woman requests a referral

to a participating obstetrician, gynecologist, or a certified nurse midwife, the referral is not
unreasonably withheld.
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