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Colorado Department of Revenue 
Taxpayer Service Division 
12/11 

 
FYI General 7 
Property Tax Rebate for the Elderly and/or Disabled 

 
PROPERTY TAX/RENT/HEAT (PTC) REBATE 
If you are a full-year Colorado resident, 65 years of age or older, disabled, or a surviving spouse 58 years of age or 
older, you may qualify for the Property Tax/Rent/Heat Rebate (PTC) and/or the Property Tax Deferral.  
 
Qualified applicants can receive a rebate of up to $600 of the property tax and $192 of their heating expenses paid 
during the year, either directly or as part of their rent payments, by filing the Property Tax/Rent/Heat Rebate 
Application Form (104PTC). [§39-31-101, C.R.S.] 
 
PTC REBATE APPLICATION  
You may obtain a Property Tax/Rent/Heat Rebate Application (104PTC) at www.TaxColorado.com, the Taxation 
Web site.  
 
TIMING OF PTC REBATE 
State law requires the Department to issue PTC rebates in equal installments, rather than in one lump sum payment, 
NO exceptions can be made. The date the rebate is approved will determine when the first payment is issued (see 
chart below). To ensure that you receive the first payment in April you should file the PTC application in January or 
early February. First time applicants should file in early January to allow time for additional processing. The 
installment payments are required by law and exceptions to this process cannot be made. [§39-31-102, C.R.S.] 
 

PTC rebate checks are issued in equal installments as follows: 
 

Application received, 
processed and approved 

by: 

Applicant rebate 
received by: 

Number of equal 
installments: 

March 10 April 15 4 
June 10 July 15 3 

September 10 October 15 2 
December 10 January 15 of the 

following year 
1 

December 31 12 weeks after receipt 1 

 
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR PTC REBATE 
To claim a PTC rebate, you must meet all six of the following eligibility requirements each time you apply. 

1. You (either husband or wife) were 65 or older as of December 31 of the year for which you are applying, or 
You were a surviving spouse at least 58 years of age as of December 31 of the year for which you are 
applying, or 
You (either husband or wife) were disabled, regardless of age, during the entire year. (Recipients of VA and 
Private Pensions must submit an acceptable disability statement). 

2. You resided in Colorado during the entire year for which the claim is filed. If the claim is for both husband 
and wife, then both must have been full-year residents for that year. 

3. You were lawfully present in the United States.  
4. You were not claimed as a dependent on any other person’s federal income tax return. 
5. You met one of the following two income limitations:  

If single: Your total income for calendar year 2011 was less than $12,313. 
If married: Your combined income for calendar year 2011 was less than $16,205. 
You must have paid property tax, rent and/or heating expenses in 2011 to claim a rebate for these amounts. 

 
LAWFUL PRESENCE 
PTC applicants who are 18 years of age or older when applying must be lawfully present in the United States to 
receive the PTC rebate. [§24-76.5-101, C.R.S.]  
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Affidavit 
To prove lawful presence, you must complete and sign an affidavit when applying for the rebate. The affidavit 
appears on the back of the PTC application. If you are married and are submitting a claim for both you and your 
spouse, each spouse must sign and complete the affidavit. If the affidavit is not properly completed, your application 
will be returned. 
 
Identification 
Applicants must also include on the application the number from their valid Colorado driver’s license or Colorado 
identification card (ID). For questions about how to update your driver’s license or ID card, call (303) 205-5600. If an 
applicant is unable to obtain a Colorado driver’s license or ID card, a photo-quality color copy of one of the following 
forms of identification may be provided with the application. (Copies of documents that are business-card size must 
be enlarged to 200% or twice their original size.) 
 
 “Military” — U.S. military card or military dependent’s ID card 
 “Coast” — U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Card 
 “Tribal” — Native American Tribal Document 
 “Other” — Other forms of ID are accepted. See the information below. 
 “Waiver” — In some circumstances an identification waiver may be obtained. 
 
Applicants may obtain additional information regarding Accepted Forms of Identification and the Waiver Process 
either online at www.TaxColorado.com by clicking on PTC or by telephone by calling 303-238-7378. PTC applicants 
who do not have a Colorado driver’s license or ID card number must include with their 104PTC form a photo-quality 
color copy of any one of the other accepted forms of identification. Documents that are business card size must be 
enlarged to 200% or twice their original size. Valid driver’s licenses from other states will not be accepted because 
PTC applicants must be full-year Colorado residents. NOTE: If you have already obtained a waiver from the 
identification requirements, you do not need to obtain another waiver. The waiver is already on file with the Colorado 
Department of Revenue. 
 
PTC applications will be denied until the required identification information is submitted and/or the affidavit 
(DR 4679 PTC) is completed and submitted. 
 
Driver’s license/ID number box 
Every PTC applicant must complete the Colorado driver’s license/ID number box on the PTC application. If this box 
is left blank, the application will be returned. If you do not have a number and use a different form of identification to 
prove legal presence, information is still required in the box. Applicants submitting a military ID must write “military” in 
the box. Applicants submitting a merchant mariner card must write “coast” in the box. Applicants submitting tribal 
documents must write “tribal” in the box. Applicants submitting some other form of accepted identification must write 
"Other" in the box. Applicants who obtained an identification waiver must write "Waiver" in the box. 
 
ADDRESS ON APPLICATION   
The address you enter on the PTC application must match the address on record for your Colorado driver's license 
or Colorado identification card or other identifying documents. If the address is not the same, you must update your 
address with the Motor Vehicle Department before you file your PTC application. Use the Change of Address Form 
(DR 2285), located on the Web site at www.TaxColorado.com under the PTC link. The address on the application 
must match at least one spouse's address on a joint application. We cannot send the rebate to a different address. If 
you do not want your rebate checks sent to that address, you must use direct deposit to have your rebate deposited 
directly into a bank account.     
 
INCOME REPORTED ON THE APPLICATION  
 wages, salary and tips 
 interest and dividends 
 Social Security and SSI benefits 
 amounts paid for Medicare premiums. Do not include premiums paid by Medicaid [§39-31-101(3)(b)(II) and  §39-

31-104(3)(b)(II), C.R.S.] 
 aid to the needy disabled and payments 
 Colorado Old Age pension payments 
 private and VA pension benefits 
 alimony 
 inheritance 
 Worker’s Compensation 
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 commissions 
 royalties 
 veteran’s benefits 
 capital gains 
 railroad retirement (Tier 1 and 2) 
 disability insurance settlements 
 lottery and gambling winnings 
 life insurance minus funeral expenses 
 rental income minus expenses (except depreciation) 
 farm income minus expenses (except depreciation) 
 welfare ADC payments minus income designated for dependents 
 stock dividend or stock rights if included on federal income tax return 
 business income minus expenses (except depreciation) 
 disability payments 
 all taxable income 
 
EXPENSES REPORTED ON THE APPLICATION 
 Property tax paid during the year. For example, on your 2011 application enter the amount of property tax you 

paid in early 2011 for 2010 taxes. Include property taxes that are paid on your behalf under the Elderly Property 
Tax Deferral Program. Do not include property tax not actually paid under the Senior Property Tax Exemption. 
 
Some cities refund a portion of the municipal property tax to senior citizens or disabled persons.  Check with the 
city in which you live to see if they provide such a refund. This refund does not reduce the property tax you report 
as paid when determining the PTC rebate. 
 

 Heat or fuel bills paid during the year. 
 
 Rent paid during the year.  Include rent paid for a mobile home lot.  Do not include rent paid to a nursing home.  

Specify whether the rent includes meals, heat, or payment for a tax-exempt unit. The rebate will be computed 
using the amount of property tax and heating expenses included in your rental payments. 

 
HOW TO CALCULATE THE REBATE 
The application requests income and expense information needed to calculate the rebate. Although the maximum 
rebate is $792, this amount is reduced if the property tax or heat expenses for the year are less than the maximum 
rebate amounts allowed or if the total income is more than $6,133 (single) or $9,913 (married). The Department of 
Revenue will calculate the rebate amount based on information provided on the application.  If you wish to calculate 
your 2011 rebate follow the instructions below: 
 

STEP 1:  Total Income.  
Add your total income. Include Medicare benefits if you are on Medicare. Include $1,384.80 for premiums 
that were paid on your behalf for 2011. If you only received Medicare benefits for part of the year, multiply 
the number of months you received benefits times $115.40 for the amount of the premiums to include in your 
total income. Do not include Medicare premiums paid by Medicaid. 
 
STEP 2:  Property tax, rent, and heat expenses for the year. 
The property tax amount used in the rebate computation is the actual amount you paid during the year for 
the prior year's taxes. 
 
The property tax paid through rent payments is computed by taking 20% of the qualified rent payments made 
during the year.  If your meals are included in the rent, the rent payments must be reduced by 50% for the 
cost of the meals.  If your rent is paid on an apartment in a building that is exempt from local property tax, the 
rent payments must not be included since there was no property tax paid through rent.  If heat expenses are 
included in your rent, the rent payments must be reduced by 10% for the cost of the heat expenses. 
 
The property tax paid during the year for computing this rebate is the total of the property tax paid to the 
county during the year and the amount paid through rent payments during the year. 
 
The heat expenses paid during the year for computing this rebate are the total of the heating bills you paid, 
and 10% of the rent you paid if heat expenses were included in the rent. 
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STEP 3:  Calculate your rebate.  
The maximum rebate is $792. Although the income limitations for this rebate are $12,313 for single 
individuals and $16,205 for married couples, there are other limits to the maximum credits allowed.  As your 
income increases, the rebate decreases.  Your maximum rebate will be less if your income exceeds $6,313 
(single person) or $10,205 (married).  [§39-31-101 (3)(b), C.R.S]. 

 
Property tax rebate limit: $600 minus 10% of the amount your total income exceeds $6,313 if single, or 
$10,205 if married. 
 
Heat rebate limit:  $192 minus 3.2% of the amount your total income exceeds $6,313 if single, or $10,205 if 
married. 
 
The Property Tax/Rent Rebate is the lesser of the total of the property tax paid during the year (either directly 
or through rent payments)  or the property tax rebate limit.  The Heat Rebate is the lesser of the total heat 
expenses paid during the year (either directly or through rent payments) or the heat rebate limit. 
 
The total of the Property Tax/Rent Rebate and Heat Rebate amounts will be the total PTC Rebate for the 
year. 
 
Example:  single person with total income of $7,000, rent paid $3,600 (heat included). 
1. The property tax paid is 20% of the $3,240 rent (90% of $3,600) = $648  
2. The heat expenses paid are 10% of $3,600 = $360 
3. Determine the amount by which your income exceeds the income limit.  $7,000 - $6,313 = $687 
4. The property tax rebate limit is $600 - $69 (10% of $687) = $531 
5. The heat rebate limit is $192 - $22 (3.2% of $898) = $170 
6. The PTC Rebate is $701 (the lesser of line 1, $648, or line 4, $531, plus the lesser of line 2, $360, or line 5, 

$170). 
 

HOW TO CALCULATE YOUR EXPENSES WHEN MORE THAN ONE PERSON LIVE TOGETHER (OTHER THAN 
A MARRIED COUPLE). 
In the case of a disabled child who qualifies for the rebate, the child's total income must be divided by the income of 
all members of the household to determine the percentage of expenses that were paid by the child. Example:  Joe, 
disabled child age 6, received $6,000 in SSI during the year.  His parents, not qualified for the rebate, had total 
income of $8,000.  They paid rent of $3,600 and heat of $300 for the year. $6,000/$14,000 = 42.9%   
 
Joe can claim 42.9% of the rent ($1,544) and 42.9% of the heat ($129) on his 104 PTC form to calculate his rebate. 
In the case of two adults who live together but are not married, the expenses paid by each individual would be 
calculated as follows: 
 If one of the adults is the owner of the property, the owner (if eligible) will claim the rebate using the property tax 

and heating expenses he/she pays.  If the owner receives rent from the other tenant, the rent must be reported 
as income on the 104PTC application.  The tenant (if eligible) will claim the rent paid to compute the rebate as 
well as any heating expenses he/she actually pays. 

 If the adults jointly own the property, each owner (if eligible) may claim either the property tax he/she actually 
paid or the percentage of the tax based on the percentage of ownership in the property.  Each owner will claim 
the heat expenses he/she actually pays. 

 If both adults rent the property, each renter must claim the rent and heat expenses paid according to his/her 
percentage of the household income (see example above). 

 
ELDERLY PROPERTY TAX DEFERRAL PROGRAM 
Colorado residents 65 years of age or older may defer or postpone the payment of property taxes on their residence. 
For information on property tax deferrals, contact your local county treasurer or go to www.treasurer.state.co.us. 
 
SENIOR PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION 
The homestead exemption for property tax for qualifying senior citizens is available to qualifying seniors and the 
surviving spouses of seniors who previously qualified. For information on the senior property tax exemption contact 
your county assessor or go to www.dola.state.co.us 

FYIs provide general information concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and straightforward language. Although the FYIs represent 
a good faith effort to provide accurate and complete tax information, the information is not binding on the Colorado Department of Revenue, nor 
does it replace, alter, or supersede Colorado law and regulations. The Executive Director, who by statute is the only person having the authority to 
bind the Department, has not formally reviewed and/or approved these FYIs. 


