HELP IS AVAILABLE

Foreclosures can be complex and con-
fusing. Contact the agencies below for
additional information:

Public Trustee

HUD Housing Counselors
1-800-569-4287

Colorado Legal Services
Consumer Credit Counseling

Colorado Housing Coalition
www.housingcounseling.com

HUD
www.hud.gov

Bar Association
If you suspect fraud:
Local District Attorney

Colorado Attorney General
1-800-222-4444

HUD
1-800-543-9378, ext. 1005

This brochure has been created as an
educational tool - it is not intended to serve as
legal advice. You are encouraged to contact a
HUD-approved housing counselor or a private

attorney.

This important information is brought to
you by:

John W. Suthers

Colorado Attorney General
1525 Sherman Street, 5th Floor
Denver, Colorado 80203
303-866-4500
www.ago.state.co.us

County Public Trustee

John W. Suthers
Colorado Attorney General

SOMEONE MAY
TRY TO TAKE
ADVANTAGE OF
YOU DURING
FORECLOSURE




FRAUD WARNING

Although the foreclosure process begun on your
home is now a matter of public record, this does
not mean that you have lost your home. You
may receive offers of “help” from complete
strangers in the mail, over the telephone, and at
your door. Some of these people may attempt to
steal the equity you have built up in your home.
Be on the lookout for some of these COMMON
SCHEMES:

o Offers to “Fix” or “Stop” your foreclosure
or other promises to “save” your home

o Claims of “foreclosure solutions”

* Promises to “cure” your default or “repair”
your credit

* A “guaranteed buy out” or quick “cash for
your home”

o Sale and lease-back schemes — a scheme
in which you are encouraged to sell your
home for a fraction of its current value
and then rent it back until you can afford
to buy it again

WHAT TO DO

There are simple things you can do to avoid

becoming a victim of a foreclosure scam.

o Don’t sign any documents until you have

had time to review them carefully.

o Contacta HUD-approvedhousing counselor
or a private attorney to help you review and

understand the documents.

* Remember-Any kind of “Deed” (warranty
deed or quit claim deed) means you are
selling your home. Be especially careful of
programs that lease your home back to you
with a promise that you can repurchase it at

a later date.

o Contact your lender, explain your financial
situation, and work out a payment plan.
You might be surprised at how reasonable
lenders can be if you talk to them and

honestly explain your financial problems.

FORECLOSURE BASICS

A FORECLOSURE DOES NOT MEAN YOUR
HOME IS LOST. BUT YOU MUST ACT
QUICKLY. Contact your Public Trustee to learn
more about foreclosure procedures, including:
CURE

The law gives you the right to bring your loan
current to stop the foreclosure. You must file
a Notice of Intent to Cure with your Public
Trustee AT LEAST 15 days before the scheduled
sale date. This payment is due before noon on
the day before the sale.

REDEEM

You still own your property for 75 days after
the foreclosure sale, or 6 months for certain
agricultural property and may sell or refinance
your property during that time. Contact the
Public Trustee to confirm the amount required
to redeem. However, you must file a Notice of
Intent to Redeem with your Public Trustee
AT LEAST 15 days before the end of this
redemption period. This payment is due by the

end of business on the last day of this period.



