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The Honorable Mary Hodge, Chair
Joint Budget Committee

200 East 14th Avenue, Third Floor
Denver, CO 80203

Dear Senator Hodge:

The Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (the Department) presents this letter to the Joint
Budget Committee of the Colorado General Assembly in response to Legislative Requests for
Information numbers 6 and 8.

Legislative Request for Information number 6:

The Department is requested to submit a report by November 1, 2011, to the Joint Budget Committee
providing information on the costs and savings of increasing the monthly premium charged to clients
in the Children's Basic Health Plan program for any children and pregnant women enrolled in the
program with incomes over 205 percent of the federal poverty level. In the report, the Department is
requested to provide information about the monthly premiums charged by other states in their
Children's Health Insurance Programs and what similar premium charges would save in the
Colorado program. In the report, the Department is also requested to provide information regarding
the barriers to health care that monthly premiums cause at this income level.

Legislative Request for Information number 8:

The Department is requested to submit a report by November 1, 2011, to the Joint Budget Committee
providing information on the costs and savings of increasing co-payments in the Children's Basic
Health Plan program to the maximum amount allowed under federal law.

If you require further information or have additional questions, please contact the Department’s
Financial & Administrative Services Office Director, John Bartholomew, at 303-866-2854 or
john.bartholomew(@state.co.us.

Please note that the Joint Budget Committee requested that the Department submit a total of 11
different requests for information on November 1. These reports are in addition to the Department’s
FY 2012-13 Budget Request, which is also due on November 1. Due to the volume of information due
concurrently, the Department has not been able to submit all reports simultaneously. The Department
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hopes to work with the Joint Budget Committee in future years to alleviate some of the issues caused
by the concurrent deadlines.
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Susan E. Birch, MBA, BSN, RN
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This report is presented to the Joint Budget Committee of the Colorado General Assembly in
response to two Legislative Requests for Information.

Legislative Request for Information number 6:

The Department is requested to submit a report by November 1, 2011, to the Joint Budget
Committee providing information on the costs and savings of increasing the monthly premium
charged to clients in the Children's Basic Health Plan program for any children and pregnant
women enrolled in the program with incomes over 205 percent of the federal poverty level. In
the report, the Department is requested to provide information about the monthly premiums
charged by other states in their Children's Health Insurance Programs and what similar
premium charges would save in the Colorado program. In the report, the Department is also
requested to provide information regarding the barriers to health care that monthly premiums
cause at this income level.

Legislative Request for Information number 8:

The Department is requested to submit a report by November 1, 2011, to the Joint Budget
Committee providing information on the costs and savings of increasing co-payments in the
Children’s Basic Health Plan program to the maximum amount allowed under federal law.

Background
The Children's Basic Health Plan, marketed in Colorado as the Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+),

is a public-private partnership that provides affordable health insurance to children and pregnant
women with incomes under 250% of the federal poverty level (FPL) who do not have private
insurance and do not qualify for Medicaid. The Department currently requires certain clients to
pay annual enrollment fees and co-payments. Since these types of cost-sharing measures jointly
affect clients’ overall cost burden for enrolling in CHP+, the Department has included responses
to both Legislative Requests for Information in this report.

Federal regulations at 42 C.F.R. §457.530 authorize the Department to vary premiums,
deductibles, coinsurance, co-payments or any other cost sharing in CHP+ based on family
income in a manner that does not favor children from families with higher incomes over children
from families with lower incomes. Per 25.5-8-107 (IV) (b) C.R.S. (2011), the Department does
not assess enrollment fees for pregnant women or children whose family income is at or below
150% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). Families with incomes above 150% FPL are required
to pay an annual enrollment fee before their eligible children can enroll in CHP+. Under this
policy, families with one child pay $25 while families with two or more children pay $35. Co-
payments are also charged on a sliding fee scale for children with family incomes above 100%
FPL. CHP+ imposes no cost-sharing on pregnant women. Children in families with incomes
below 101% FPL only pay a $3 co-payment on emergency and urgent/after-hours care per state
rule at 10 CCR 2505-3, Section 320.1.A. Additionally, the Department does not impose any
cost-sharing charges on children who are American Indians or Alaska Natives per federal
regulations at 42 C.F.R. §457.535.

Federal regulations at 42 C.F.R. §457.560 (a) limit total cost-sharing for CHP+ clients to a
maximum of 5% of a family's total income for the length of a child's eligibility period in CHP+.
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Any family that reaches this 5% maximum, and demonstrates that it has done so receives a co-
payment waiver and does not incur any additional costs for the remainder of the enrollment
period. Per Colorado’s CHIP State Plan, families are required to record and track their own cost
sharing amounts and notify the Department if this maximum is reached.

Enrollment Fees and Premiums

Due to the Maintenance of Effort under the Affordable Care Act (ACA), the Department is only
allowed to increase enrollment fees for groups that became eligible after March 23, 2010 (the
date of enactment of the ACA). This includes only children with incomes from 206% to 250% FPL.
Funding for this population was procured through the passing of HB 09-1293 “Hospital Provider
Fee,” which created a new fee on hospitals which the Department can use to receive federal matching
funding.

Since the inception of CHP+, the cost-sharing schedule has not been altered other than to add
income categories as the program has expanded eligibility. As a result, Colorado has one of the
lowest cost-sharing structures in the nation for a Children's Health Insurance Program. Sixteen
states and the District of Columbia impose zero premiums on their CHIP program clients. Twelve
states have lower income eligibility levels than CHP+. Of the remaining states, enrollment fees or
premiums range from $25 per year in Colorado to $1,224 per year in Missouri. Please see Table 1 on
the following page for the specific premiums or enrollment fees charged by states.

As requested, the Department has chosen a sample representing the range of monthly premiums
and annual fees charged by other states to model what their effect would be in Colorado.
Utilizing historical caseload and projections from its November 1, 2011 FY 2012-13 Budget
Request, R-3 “Children's Basic Health Plan Medical and Dental Costs,” the Department can
estimate the distribution of families by size to model savings from different monthly premiums.
The Department has assumed that as the premium amounts increase, an increasing number of
families would have difficulty paying these premiums and would choose to drop the program.
Of the clients paying monthly premiums, some whose family income is just over 205% FPL
would move down into a lower income category as higher health care contributions (i.e. in the
form of monthly premiums) are deducted from their incomes and would no longer be required to
pay those increased premiums. Moreover, some of these families may alter their behavior to
decrease their incomes in order to fall into an income group with lower premiums or fees.

The Department has estimated these rates using prior analyses of the experiences of other states
that have increased cost-sharing in their CHIP programs. Due to the complexity of the
calculations, the Department has only included a summary table with the costs and savings from
each monthly premium example as compared to the current annual fee structure. For the
purposes of this report, the Department assumes that these premiums would have been in effect
for all of FY 2011-12 in order to perform a comparison of three full fiscal years.
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Table 1 - Average Premium Charges by State (as of January 2011)

F Income Level at Annual Annual Annual Annual
requency which State P | S paees 4 Premiums at | Premiums at
of Begins Requiri at 101% at 151% 201% FPL 251% FPL
Payment gins Requiring o ® | (200%FPLif | (250% if
Premiums (FPL) FPL FPL N oy
upper limit) | upper limit)
Colorado Annually 151% $0 $25 $25 $25
Alabama Annually 101% ~$50 $100 $100 $100
Iowa Monthly 151% $0 $120 $120 $240
Vermont Monthly 186% $0 $0 $180 $240
California Monthly 101% $48 $156 $252 $252
Massachusetts Monthly 150% $0 $144 $240 $336
New York Monthly 160% $0 $0 $108 $360
Washington Monthly 201% $0 $0 $240 $360
Wisconsin Monthly 200% $0 $0 $120 $372
New Hampshire Monthly 185% $0 $0 $384 $384
West Virginia Monthly 201% $0 $0 $420 $420
Oregon Monthly 201% $0 $0 $288 $432
Connecticut Monthly 235% $0 $0 $0 $456
Illinois Monthly 151% $0 $180 $180 $480
Pennsylvania Monthly 201% $0 $0 $180 $480
Louisiana Monthly 201% $0 $0 $600 $600
Indiana Monthly 150% $0 $264 $396 $636
Maryland Monthly 200% $0 $0 $576 $720
New Jersey Monthly 201% $0 $0 $480 $948
Rhode Island Monthly 150% $0 $732 $1,104 $1,104
Minnesota Monthly 45% $48 $336 $684 $1,116
Missouri Monthly 150% $0 $156 $504 $1,224
Arizona Monthly 101% $120 $480 $600 NA*
Delaware Monthly 101% $120 $180 $300 NA*
Florida Monthly 101% $180 $240 $240 NA*
Georgia Monthly 101% $120 $240 $348 NA*
Idaho Monthly 133% $0 $180 NA* NA*
Kansas Monthly 151% $0 $240 $360 NA*
Maine Monthly 151% $0 $96 $384 NA*
Michigan Monthly 151% $0 $120 $120 NA*
Nevada Quarterly 36% $100 $200 $320 NA*
North Carolina Annually 151% $0 $50 $50 NA*
Texas Annually 151% $0 $35 $50 NA*
Utah Quarterly 101% $120 $300 $300 NA*

Alaska, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Kentucky, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota,
Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia and Wyoming do not charge premiums.

This table does not include any premiums charged to clients above 250% FPL.

NA: No premiums are required in the program.

NA*: Coverage is not available at this income level.
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Rhode Island

The average monthly premium for clients from 206% to 250% FPL in Rhode Island’s Rlte Care
is $92 per family, or $1,104 total per year per family. As illustrated in Table 2.a below, the
Department estimates that raising premiums to this level would lead almost one third of affected
children to drop CHP+ coverage. Since some of these children would not be able to afford other
insurance, this would result in a greater number of uninsured children in Colorado, although the
exact number is not known at this time. The Department, however, estimates that this would
result in General Fund savings between $1.4 and $1.8 million per year.

Table 2.a - Costs/(Savings) From Rhode Island’s Monthly Premiums in Colorado
FY 2011-12 | FY 2012-13 | FY 2013-14
Estimated Initial Caseload 7,891 9,785 10,737
Caseload Decrease due to Attrition (32%) (2,525) (3,131) (3,436)
Caseload Decrease due to Movement (25%) (1,342) (1,664) (1,825)
Total Medical and Dental Costs/(Savings) ($6,209,606) | ($8,054,121) | ($9,245,279)
Additional Fee Collections $2,495,235 $3,094,693 $3,397,657
Total Hospital Provider Fee Savings ($1,630,895) | ($2,209,531) | ($2,630,761)
Total Federal Funds Savings ($5,658,147) | ($7,246,730) | ($8,217,908)
Total General Fund Savings ($1,415,799) | ($1,692,553) | ($1,794,267)
Vermont

Vermont’s Dr Dynasaur charges monthly premiums of $60 per family for clients from 225% to
300% FPL, so each family contributes $720 per year. As illustrated in Table 2.b below, the
Department estimates that this level of premiums would result in a 25% attrition rate. This
would result in a greater number of uninsured children in Colorado, although the exact number is
not known at this time. The lower premium amount, combined with the lower attrition rate,
would result in General Fund savings between $0.9 and $1.2 million per year.

Table 2.b - Costs/(Savings) From Vermont’s Monthly Premiums in Colorado
FY 2011-12 | FY 2012-13 | FY 2013-14
Estimated Initial Caseload 7,891 9,785 10,737
Caseload Decrease due to Attrition (25%) (1,973) (2,446) (2,684)
Caseload Decrease due to Movement (20%) (1,184) (1,468) (1,611)
Total Medical and Dental Costs/(Savings) ($4,852,100) | (86,292,041) | ($7,221,865)
Additional Fee Collections $1,881,325 $2,333,816 $2,561,431
Total Hospital Provider Fee Savings ($1,427,722) | ($1,922,218) | ($2,278,098)
Total Federal Funds Savings (34,376,727) | (85,606,807) | ($6,359,143)
Total General Fund Savings ($928,976) | ($1,096,832) | ($1,146,055)
Oregon

The monthly premiums charged for clients between 200% and 300% FPL in Oregon’s Healthy
KidsConnect program vary by family size and health plan. The average premiums are $27 for
families with one child, $46 for families with two to four children and $66 for families with five
or more children. This averages to approximately $432 per family per year. The Department
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estimates that this level of premiums would result in an attrition rate 0of 20%. A number of these
children would become uninsured although the exact amount is not known at this time. As
illustrated in Table 2.c, this would result in General Fund savings of between $450,000 and
$600,000 per year.

Table 2.c - Costs/(Savings) From Oregon’s Monthly Premiums in Colorado
FY 2011-12 | FY 2012-13 | FY 2013-14
Estimated Initial Caseload 7,891 9,785 10,737
Caseload Decrease due to Attrition (20%) (1,578) (1,957) (2,147)
Caseload Decrease due to Movement (15%) (947) (1,174) (1,289)
Total Medical and Dental Costs/(Savings) ($3,880,697) | ($5,034,147) | (85,776,954)
Additional Fee Collections $1,249,129 $1,548,534 $1,699,796
Total Hospital Provider Fee Savings ($1,308,029) | ($1,744,654) | ($2,049,544)
Total Federal Funds Savings ($3,334,387) | ($4,278,743) | ($4,859,887)
Total General Fund Savings ($487,410) ($559,284) ($567,319)
Alabama

Alabama charges annual fees for its clients above 150% FPL in its All Kids program based on
family size. Families with one child pay $100, families with 2 children pay $200 and families
with three or more children pay $300 per year. At this level of annual fees, the Department
estimates that 8% of children would drop CHP+ coverage. This would result in a greater number
of uninsured children in Colorado, although this number is not known at this time. Overall,
Alabama’s annual fees are estimated to result in less than $200,000 General Fund savings per
year. Please see Table 2.d below for more details.

Table 2.d - Costs/(Savings) From Alabama’s Monthly Premiums in Colorado
FY 2011-12 | FY 2012-13 | FY 2013-14
Estimated Initial Caseload 7,891 9,785 10,737
Caseload Decrease due to Attrition (8%) (631) (783) (859)
Caseload Decrease due to Movement (6%) (436) (540) (593)
Total Medical and Dental Costs/(Savings) ($1,551,787) | ($2,014,173) | ($2,311,320)
Additional Fee Collections $519,203 $643,847 $706,470
Total Hospital Provider Fee Savings ($556,339) ($741,481) ($870,749)
Total Federal Funds Savings (51,346,144) | ($1,727,713) | (81,961,563)
Total General Fund Savings ($168,507) ($188,826) ($185,478)

Barriers to Health Care due to Monthly Premiums

Historical Experience with Monthly Premiums

The Department’s experience with monthly premiums in the past has been unfavorable. When
the Department instituted its initial cost-sharing rules for CHP+ on December 1, 1998, following
new state legislation at 26-19-107 C.R.S., it included nominal co-payments and monthly
premiums. In FY 1999-00, the CHP+ cost-sharing schedule required monthly premiums of up to
$30 per family. By April 2000, close to 53% of families required to pay premiums, or 37% of all
families enrolled in CHP+, were more than 30 days past due. At the same time, an audit by the
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Office of the State Auditor dated July 14, 2000 found several examples of families that had left
CHP+ during the previous 4 to 16 months that were still owed refunds or monthly premiums
ranging from almost $60 to over $170.!

In late August 2000, Governor Bill Owens requested that the legislature declare a “premium
holiday,” suspending premium payments through the end of the year and cancelling any
outstanding payments in response to the difficulties families faced in paying CHP+ monthly
premiums, as well as the high costs to the Department of attempting to collect those premiums.
The Governor also recommended that the State eliminate monthly premiums for CHP+ and
charge only those families with incomes above 150% FPL an annual enrollment fee of $25 for
one child and $35 for two or more children. Since January 2001, CHP+ has charged the annual
enroliment fees recommended by the Governor in fall 2000, along with the co-payments that
were established by the Department and the policy board at the start of the program.2

Historical caseload data indicates that the enrollment growth in 2000, up to the time when the
monthly premiums were replaced by annual enrollment fees in January 2001, was low. The
average monthly caseload increased by only 1.4%. Moreover, from May 2000 to July 2000, the
caseload actually decreased by 0.5%. From September 2000 when the premiums holiday was in
place, to the end of that fiscal year in June 2001, CHP+ caseload grew by an average of 2.8% per
month, nearly twice the average monthly growth rate of the period in which the monthly
premiums were in effect. By June 2001, the program had enrolled 33,091 children, compared to
25,186 in August 2000 when the premiums holiday was declared, a 31.4% increase.

Other State Experiences

Existing published research literature on increasing premiums and other cost-sharing in public
health care programs supports the idea that these changes can have a significant and immediate
impact on the coverage for low-income families’ coverage and access to care. These low-
income families live on slim margins and find it difficult to afford even nominal increases in
their out-of-pocket costs. Despite being at relatively higher income levels, families from 206%
to 250% FPL are still financially vulnerable and sensitive to increases in their cost-sharing
obligations. According to a study of premiums increases of $5 per month per child for enrollees
between 185% and 300% FPL in the New Hampshire CHIP program, children’s enrollment was
still sensitive to premiums increases until family incomes were greater than 250% FPL.>

Several states have experienced decreased enrollment due to increased premiums in their CHIP
programs. In January 2004, for example, Vermont’s CHIP program increased the sliding-scale
premiums for families from 185% to 300% FPL from $20-$50 to $25-$70 every three months.
In the following month, 6% of children affected by the increased premiums disenrolled from the

! State of Colorado, “Report of the State Auditor: Children’s Basic Health Plan, Department of Health Care Policy
and Financing Performance Audit,” July 2000.

? Bajaj, Ruchika and Fasciano, Nancy, “Congressionally Mandated Evaluation of the State Children’s Health
Insurance Program, Site Visit Report: The State of Colorado’s Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+),” from Mathematica
Policy Research, Inc., March 2002.

3 Genevieve Kenney, R, Andrew Allison, Julia F. Costich, James Marton and Joshua McFeeters, “Effects of
Premium Increases on Enrollment in SCHIP: Findings from Three States,” from Inquiry, December 2006.
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program, and 26% of disenrollees stated this cost increase as their reason for disenrollment.* In
January 2002, Rhode Island’s RIte Care began charging monthly premiums ranging between $43
and $58 for families above 150% FPL. In the first three months that the policy was enforced,
about 18% of families subject to these premiums were disenrolled due to nonpayment. Half of
these families stated that they could not afford the new premiums.’

The use of monthly premiums, compared to fees collected less frequently, has unique challenges
to access to health care. Monthly premiums present families with 12 decisions each year to
decide whether they would like their children to remain in CHP+ or drop out of the program.
This may result in children moving on and off of CHP+ as their families’ financial situation
varies throughout the year, or even monthly. Of those children who disenroll from CHP+, some
of them may obtain private insurance, while others may not. Surveys of individuals who have
disenrolled from public health care programs in various states have shown that up to two thirds
of disenrollees remain uninsured. Although most of these surveys are on individuals below
205% FPL, 51% of individuals who disenrolled due to Rhode Island’s premiums increase on
higher income groups remained uninsured.® Hence, despite the fact that families between 206%
and 250% FPL have higher incomes relative to other CHP+ clients, they still face difficulties
affording higher monthly premiums beyond a certain point.

The use of monthly premiums presents a very unique challenge in Colorado. Because children in
CHP+ receive 12-month guaranteed eligibility, the family has to pay only the first month of
premium in order to become eligible for the program. After that, the child is guaranteed
eligibility for a full year regardless of whether they continue to pay the monthly premium. This
would result in lower revenue collected by the State. Families may have to be sent to collections
for any unpaid fees depending on the length of time from the last tax season. In addition, the
Department would have to develop policies and procedures to prevent families from re-enrolling
in CHP+ if they have outstanding premiums owed from the prior year.

Per Governor John Hickenlooper’s directive in his letter vetoing SB 11-213 “Concerning
Enrollee Cost-Sharing for Children Enrolled in the Children’s Basic Health Plan,” the
Department has actively engaged stakeholders to determine what level of increases to CHP+ cost
sharing would result in the lowest attrition of clients and maintain affordability for families while
still increasing clients’ responsibility in their personal and family health care while realizing
savings to the State. The Department’s proposal includes increases in annual enrollment fees for
children over 205% FPL and various co-payment increases. Details of the Department’s
proposal can be found in the Department’s November 1, 2011 FY 2012-13 Budget Request, R-7
“Cost-Sharing for Medicaid and CHP+.”

4 Vermont Department of Prevention Assistance, Transition and Health Access, “Impact of Premiums on the
Medicaid Program,” April 2004.

3 Center of Child and Family Health, “Results of Rlte Care Premium Follow-up Survey,” Rhode Island Department
of Human Services, January 2003.

® Artiga, Samantha and O’Malley, Molly, “Increasing Premiums and Cost Sharing in Medicaid and SCHIP: Recent
State experiences,” The Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the Uninsured, May 2005.
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Co-payments

Federal regulations at 42 C.F.R. § 457.540 limit co-payments charged in CHP+ for children with
family incomes at or below 150% FPL. Co-payments for children whose family incomes are at
or below 100% FPL must be less than or equal to the amounts permitted under 42 C.F.R.
§447.54, which outlines limits for co-payments for Medicaid. Cost-sharing for children with
family incomes between 101% and 150% FPL must be less than or equal to the amounts
permitted under 42 C.F.R. §457.555. Please see Tables 3.a and 3.b below for these co-payment
limits.

Table 3.a - Maximum Co-payments for Table 3.b - Maximum Co-payments for
Children Below 100% FPL Children between 101% to 150% FPL
State Payment for Service | Maximum Co-payment State Payment for Service | Maximum Co-payment
$10 or less $0.60 $15 or less $1.15
$10.01 to $25 $1.15 $15.01 to $40 $2.30
$25.01 to $50 $2.30 $40.01 to $80 $3.40
$50.01 or more $3.40 $80.01 or more $5.70

Co-payments for CHP+ clients are collected by providers at the point of service. Currently,
CHP+ charges co-payments for various services on a sliding fee scale. The Department does not
collect these co-payments, but rather pays its managed care organizations a capitation rate
calculated by its contracted actuary. This actuary estimates co-payment collections using CHP+
service utilization data and assumes that co-payments are collected by providers and become part
of their compensation for the services they provide to CHP+ clients. This allows the actuary to
incorporate these co-payments into lower capitation rates, which result in savings to the
Department. At the point of service, however, providers may waive these co-payments if
families are unable to pay them. Since the Department is unable to determine whether or not a
client actually pays the co-payment amount, the full impact of the cost sharing proposal on
providers and clients is difficult to determine.

Since the federally mandated maximum allowable co-payments are tied to the costs of services to
the state, the Department would require data on the costs of individual services in order to
calculate the maximum allowable co-payments for clients at or below 150% FPL. The
calculation of the maximum allowable co-payments for this group is further complicated by the
fact that different providers may charge different prices for the same services. However, since
the Department contracts with several managed care organizations and pays these monthly
capitations, the Department does not have access to the data necessary to estimate these co-

payments.

As described above, the Department has worked with stakeholders to increase co-payments in
CHP+ in a manner that is as minimally disruptive to families enrolled in CHP+ while increasing
clients’ responsibility and realizing savings to the State. Details of the Department’s proposed
co-payment structure can be found in its November 1, 2011 FY 2012-13 Budget Request, R-7
“Cost-Sharing in Medicaid and CHP+.”



